Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$30 – $45 rental
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green lace (100% Nylon; Lining: 100% Silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
663 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(405)
Small
(98)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 30, 2011
LOVE this dress!
This dress was perfect for my family's holiday party but it would be great for dinner and drinks or for a wedding where you want to be a little more conservative but still look cute. In the picture it looks like a dark teal, it's actually a bit greener - still very a pretty color! You can absolutely dress it up or down depending on the accessories you pair it with. The fit is very forgiving so if you have a small waist I would recommend ordering a size down for your back-up. I had a some extra fabric under the bust and around my waist but a skinny belt fixed it right up. Overall I really loved this dress, received TONS of compliments, and am already considering renting it again for a friend's wedding in March!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 3, 2012
Runs tts, if not large.
I ordered this as my first-choice for a New Year's wedding. I ended up wearing a backup dress however, as this one did not fit. I normally wear a 0, but I ordered a 2 and hope, hope, hoped that it would work. It was just too loose throughout the waist/bust/arms. I tried belting it, but I just didn't feel comfortable. Overall, a beautiful dress though. The color is pretty accurate as depicted on site, a teal. Condition was very good- some seams up near the shoulders were a little loose, but not noticably so. Pretty dress, I just needed a different size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
January 17, 2012
Different and Demure
Gorgeous standout dress without being revealing or over the top. The lace and color of the dress are stunning and it was perfect for the holiday party I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2012
Classy and elegant, you can't go wrong.
This dress is very elegant and beautiful. It was my back up dress, but after seeing the dresses I would have chose it regardless. It was a bit long for my short stature, but fit nicely otherwise. The lace along the back opening was folded over while it was shipped so it didn't lay nicely. I would take the time to fix this next time as it would only add to the great detail of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 1, 2012
I felt so beautiful and didn't want the night to be over!
I rented this dress for an anniversary date with my boyfriend and couldn't have been happier. The dress was so comfortable but made me feel so elegant and beautiful. I actually felt this dress fit pretty much true to size for me, but I only rented the one size (my other size choice was out) so I didn't have anything to compare it to. My only regret was that I couldn't wear it longer! I will definitely be renting next time I need a dress, and might even go for this dress again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 15, 2012
Highly recommend!
This dress is so flattering. It's a great color and has pockets! I got tons of compliments. The 6 and 8 both fit me, but I went with the 8 because the 6 was a little shorter than I wanted it to be.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 23, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
I seriously cannot say enough good things about this dress. I wore it for my bridal shower and got tons of compliments. The color is beautiful and the dress is extremely comfortable. The fabric underneath the lace is stretchy so it's nice when you sit and it doesn't bunch up weird. Would highly recommend this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 25, 2012
I have a reputation for wearing Rent the Runway to any event I can! My friends generally assume I rented my stylish look and love to ask which designer I'm wearing this time! Best compliment "Wow, lace is so in right now and you wear it so well!" The sparkle from the Kate Spade 'Putting on the Ritz' bangle drew many the compliment as well.
This was such a fun dress to wear to a wedding in South Florida. The color is a dark teal (not blue like it looks in the model photo and my photo) and I found the size 2 to be rather loose around my waist (I'm an hourglass shape). The lace on the top drooped in a few places and fashion tape didn't seem to help. Also, be aware that the back in a little low and you might need to adjust your bra. Aside from that I had a blast wearing this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 1, 2012
Beautiful and Elegant!
I wore this for my engagement party and got a million compliments! It was surprisingly sexy since the back has a deep V. It definitely looks greener in person than online but it was still beautiful. It runs a little small in the chest, I typically wear a size 6 but with a 34D this is a little tight. I didn't order a backup size so I still wore it and you couldn't really tell it was too snug in the bust because the lace boatneck covered my chest pretty well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
March 12, 2012
Classy and comfy
I wore this dress to dinner and a Cirque du Soleil show. It was classy AND comfortable... the length wasn't too revealing, and a strapless bra worked perfectly. I typically wear a size 4, but the 2 fit perfectly. If you order two sizes I'd order your regular and one smaller. This would be good for a bridal shower, or even a wedding... any event where you are more concerned with making a good impression than showing some skin! I'm "pear shaped" (I have hips and a butt, but no other curves) and it fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 19, 2012
Wanted to Keep It!!!
Absolutely LOVED this dress. It's a more vibrant color than it looks in the photo - hard to describe - but more aqua-colored than forest green, which is really pretty. The chest/top area is quite fitted, which worked perfectly for me, but would probably not work well on a larger-chested girl. The skirt is a bit more flowy and not fitted on your hips. Very flattering! The arms were a bit loose/baggy for me, but length was perfect (and I often have an issue with things being too short). Was the absolute perfect dress for a more formal party! Got TONS of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2012
Perfect
This dress was so nice. I received so many compliments. I wish I could own it! Very classic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2012
Perfect for a formal event!
I rented this dress for a wedding; when it arrived I gasped when I saw the color and lace in person! It is a beautiful, eye-catching dress. It was just slightly too big for me in the waist area; if it came in a size 0, that probably would have fit me better. However, I wore it anyway because I loved the teal color and lace details! Guests were coming up to me all night to ask where I got it. I was really sad to mail it back!
CarolineJune 11, 2012
I have to ask... was it too short for you? I'm 5'9 and don't want to do a mini for my friend's wedding. Mid thigh would be good but I need to be able to boogie without fear!
RTRJune 13, 2012
Hi Caroline, this style is 37'' from shoulder to hem if you'd like to take a quick measurement. The model is also 5'9 so it should be a similar length on you!
AliJune 21, 2012
I thought the length was just right--it was on the shorter side for me, but not to the point where I felt at all uncomfortable. I think you will be fine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2012
Gorgeous dress in a gorgeous jewel tone!
I rented this dress for my sister to wear to my wedding, but then I loved it so much in person that I ended up wearing the backup size to our first fancy dinner as a married couple! It's a gorgeous dress, and the color in person is a deep, vibrant teal (not a flat green as in the RTR photos). The lace is soft and delicate, not itchy or stiff. I normally wear a 34C and was able to go without a bra with the dress because the lining is substantial.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2012
Perfect dress!
I loved this dress and wore it for our engagement photos (Although I did have to go bra-less to have my D+ chest fit the top properly). I got stopped by multiple women while shooting who complemented the dress. As others have said, it is much more vibrant in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 10, 2012
Great dress
I rented this dress to wear to a semi formal evening wedding. The wedding was very elegant and this dress was the perfect choice. It was comfortable but stood out and I got many complements on the color and style. I wore it with patterned lace sheer grey hose as it hit right above the knee (I am 5'7"). I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 16, 2012
I didn't want to give it back!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. It is gorgeous, and I highly recommend it. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received several compliments. I normally wear a size 6-8 and wore the 8 because of my larger chest. It was a little snug there but it was fine. I really didn't want to return this dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
June 19, 2012
Somewhere in the middle of the night, one of my guy friends looked at me baffled and said- "I don't even know what to say. You just looking so classy! I mean that dress is just...it's just fantastic!"
I have never in my life recieved so many compliments on a dress! people I hardly ever speak to were telling me how classy I looked and how stunning the dress was. Normally I'm a size 4 so I was pleasantly surpised when I fit into the size 2 that I had ordered. The length was perfect, the dress was very flattering (especially in profile), and color was a vibrant teal. Yay for Milly!
AngelaSeptember 19, 2012
and might I say your guy friend was spot on; you look absolutely stunning in this dress. falls on your neck like wonderfully.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 25, 2012
My grandmother (who I consider my style icon) told me I looked gorgeous in the dress.
This dress was such a HUGE hit for a Memorial Day wedding I attended this year. I was a little nervous because it was my first time using RTR but the dress arrived on time and in great condition. I got both a 10 and a 12 and could fit both but found the lace on the top laid better on the 12. I got compliments the whole night! I will definitely be using RTR again for future events!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Perfect dress!
This was a great dress for a black tie wedding. I received so many compliments on this dress. I was sad to give it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
GORGEOUS dress!!!!
I rented this to wear to my 10 year high school reunion but unfortunately I ordered the 6 and 8 and actually needed the size 10. The size 8 zipped easily until it got to my bra line then after my 36DD chest was stuffed in, it looked and felt too tight to be very flattering. I usually wear a 10 but I read that it might be cut a little large in the bust...it is not. The dress fits perfectly true to size. But the dress is beautiful!!! Both my mom and sister just couldn't stop admiring it while I was trying it on. It is even more beautiful in person than it looks on the website. If I could only buy and wear one more dress for the rest of my life, it would be this one. Hopefully I will be able to order it again for my next event. After seeing it and holding it I absolutely MUST wear it somewhere!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
August 14, 2012
Service was provided as promised, and the outfit came exactly as I expected, beautiful and comfortable.
The dress is beautiful, and the lace is very intricate and feminine. The lacy three-quarter length sleeves also help cover the upper arms with just the right amount of camouflage, which is brilliant if you're not too keen on showing less-than-perfectly-toned arms. Finally, the teal color is very different from your usual dresses, so it makes the outfit stand out in a crowd.
DianeOctober 1, 2013
Beautiful picture!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
August 22, 2012
Really appreciated the stylist who worked with me to find more options after my first two options didn't fit!!
I ordered this in a 10 after my other dresses I ordered did not fit in 6 or 8. This was a 10 and the other dress I ordered was a size 8. I would have really been in a jam trying to pick between the two however because I loved both. I think the lace work is so adorable and the color is lovely, especially for an evening wedding. The 10 was just a hair too big though so I ended up going with the 8 in the other dress. However, if I do have another wedding come up, I'll definitely be renting this in the 8!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 25, 2012
RENT THIS NOW!
If you love to feel beautiful, sexy, and elegant at the same time- this is for you. I wore this to a college graduation banquet a few months ago and I was definitely (even with my plus size) the best dressed woman there. Hugs the right places, a little stretch for forgiveness.....I've looked everywhere to buy it but unfortunately RTR is the only place to find this beauty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
September 10, 2012
I partnered this dress with bright red lipstick which made for a winning combination.
This dress was a hit on the dance floor. It was so easy to move around in, and I didn't have to worry about any dress malfunctions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
Not the right fit for me
The dress itself was beautiful! It was a little bigger in the waist than the other areas of my body. I thought of this dress as a possibility to a birthday brunch/baby shower. This dress is really geared for someone who is more pear shaped than I am. I am more athletic type with full bust with narrow hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2012
Beautiful, classy dress, perfect for the occasion!
Everything about this dress was nearly perfect - the color, the fit, the details. My only small nitpick was that, being on the short side, it was a tad longer on me than it appears on the model. Other than that, I felt classy, elegant and received multiple compliments on the dress. Thanks for a great first rental experience, RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2012
Gorgeous lace I color, collar would not stand up and it ran a tad small. size up and you'll love it!
definitely add some chunky earrings for a glammed up look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2012
Loved My Backup Dress!
This dress was actually my backup dress and I am so glad I ordered it! I needed a dress that would span the day for an afternoon wedding and evening black tie preferred reception - and this was perfect! The color is a beautiful teal. I normally wear a 4, but ordered the 2 based on others' reviews. The 2 fit perfectly! The dress is very comfortable and easy to wear. It was a good length for the conservative wedding/reception. Wore it with a strapless bra. I received many compliments from young and old. Thanks for another successful rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Never received more compliments in my life!
This dress fit beautifully. I normally wear a 6, but the 4 fit me much better--the lace laid nicer. The dress was so comfortable and I loved the pockets! It hit me right above the knee, so I could sit without worrying about it riding up. I wore this to a wedding and never received so many compliments. People I didn't even know stopped to tell me they loved the dress. The only con was that since it is covered in lace, I did get caught on my purse and other's jewelry about 4 times throughout the day--but I took care not to create a snag. Don't hesitate with this one--just be sure to order a size down for your back-up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 23, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress to my step son's outdoor wedding, and it was perfect! Not too dressy, not too casual. The 3/4 length sleeves were perfect for a late spring evening, and the pockets made it fun and practical. I received tons of compliments all day and night. I would love to own this dress!
DianeJuly 23, 2013
You are a great inspiration! I am similar in age to you, and I have my step-daughter's wedding coming up in the Fall... you looked amazing in this photo and I love the style and color-- going to rent! thanks for photo
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 23, 2012
A friend said, "You look like British royalty!"
This was my first experience with RTR, and I was very pleased. I was going to a small, Sunday evening wedding, and my "look" I wanted was Kate Middleton, so I was excited by the compliment. The dress is very classy and stands alone well. I originally had a necklace on and felt it detracted from the beauty of the lace. Great dress!
DianeJuly 23, 2013
GORgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2012
Everyone was commenting on this dress all night long!
It fit perfectly true to size, I am 5'10'' so it hit right at the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
November 2, 2012
LOVED this dress- favorite rental yet! Wore to a rehearsal dinner and got SO many compliments!
Wore the 2 and fit me like a glove. Great color, pretty back...awesome dress!! Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
November 4, 2012
Stunning dress, but leaves a little room to grow
Wore this for my brother's rehearsal dinner and loved it. Color was beautiful, fabric was soft. I lean on the large side of a 2, and am sometimes a 4, and I had a little wiggle room, so I feel like a small 2 would swim in this. I also wish the hem was shorter; it's so demure that an inch or two shorter could have given it less of a matronly feeling.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
November 14, 2012
Stylish but elegant. Felt a little like Taylor Swift!
This dress is simply beautiful. It feels classy but also of the moment. Perfect for a cold, fall wedding. I loved the way the neckline laid on my skin, I had to wear my hair up to show it off. I was a little worried about the sleeves being too tight (sometimes that's a problem for me), but they fit great. There were a couple small holes, or worn spots in the lace, but I was still able to wear the dress. It is definitely more green than blue in real life. I was so sad to send it back. You won't regret renting this one!
DianeJuly 23, 2013
WOW! great look on you :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
November 24, 2012
Turkey day fun!
Rented this dress from a FB promo for Thanksgiving - the fit was perfect I wore the Small and fit great. Beautiful color and lace perfect for the holidays. The cut in the back was lower than I thought but I loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress!!! It will definitely makes heads turn!
Pros: Very feminine yet edgy. Fits true to size and the color is rich and beautiful. Cons: The back is a deep V in lace and while beautiful, it was hard to keep the lace from flipping out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2012
The color! As a redhead, there isn't a better shade this season
Classy, but unique. Got a ton of compliments and was comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 8, 2012
Beautiful color - photographs very well!
Fit perfectly- would rent again
See more reviews:
1 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×