Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Passion Twist Dress

$30 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel the beachy winds with a tropical drink in hand by renting this summer fun Mark & James by Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress.

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with strapless bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 92
Large 19
Photos 55
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 21, 2011

Amazing color!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The best dress I ever rented on this site! I wore this for a classy hotel wedding and a lot of people gave me compliments on this dress and the necklace (which i also rented in this picture). Especially if you have caramel skin, the color looks great! The dress flowed perfectly as I danced, and my date couldn't keep his eyes off me :) You might need the size down, as the dress could make you look larger if you don't.
KER
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Perfect color and fit for a summer wedding

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm short and petite, with an athletic figure and large bust (34D). I usually wear a 4-6 in dresses (sometimes even an 8, because of my chest), but I rented both a S and XS. I ended up going with the XS because the S was a little too big and sack-like. Also, the length of the XS was much better; the S was just a little too long for my short legs. The dress definitely runs large, like others have said. The XS fit well, although it was a little tight around the bust, but then again I have a larger chest than most. Other than that, the dress was incredibly comfortable and the color is beautiful. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. I wore it with nude pumps and the Ciner Antique Cascading Crystal Necklace (also from RTR). Although the material was a little heavier than I was expecting, it wasn't too hot for a summer wedding.
LUVNLAF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Nov 9, 2011

Fabulously Passionate

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding over the summer and it was the perfect compliment to my skin tone and blonde hair. I felt like glamorous and like a total rock star-- this fit in well since the wedding was for a local 80s band lead. We rocked all night long and it RAD!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Had the best time in this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
SUCH a flattering dress! Would look great on any body type. Only issue I had was that the dress was a little short for my black tie optional wedding... but I have to admit I had the hardest time returning it because it was just that amazing!
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I want this dress for myself. Loved it! It fit well and was so comfortable,
Mairin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 12, 2012

Extremely flattering dress, love the color!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a friend's wedding this past summer, about three months after I gave birth to my first child (the baby in the pic). Beyonce I am not, and I was still not down to my pre-pregnancy weight so I was super self conscious about being in front of people I haven't seen in a long time looking fat. Enter this amazing dress. I had no idea what size I would be since I was somewhere in between what I wore for maternity clothes and what I used to wear, so I went with a large thinking it would give me some leeway. It totally did. The dress hugged perfectly on top (my bust has been larger than normal due to nursing my baby and I normally find dresses to be too tight on top and too loose on the bottom in general, but this fit nicely and did not squeeze or cut off circulation) and was very forgiving in the middle section where I needed it to be. The dress falls mid-thigh so it drew attention to my legs instead of my middle. I could see it feeling a little short to taller girls, but on me I loved where it fell. I received lots of compliments and I would totally rent this again and highly recommend it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

Beautiful color, easy to wear.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for a fundraiser. I had a broken arm and torn shoulder at the time and I was able to negotiate my cast and sling in the dress and still look elegant. I wish I could have kept it!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

When I added a belt the dress was beautiful and flattering!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for an award ceremony and it was perfect for the occasion! The color is absolutely gorgeous, and is perfect with heels or sandals! I decided to belt the dress since it was a bit shapeless, but with a belt i got tons of compliments! I would say it runs a tad bit bigger, so i wore the XS, but the S looked great too.
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

felt like a celebrity in this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
absolutely obsessed with this dress! I felt so fashionable, and it was so comfortable to dance in! I honestly would buy this dress. don't even think about it, RENT IT!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

I felt so fabulous in this dress. Simple elegance.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I could have worn the small, but the look and feel of the medium was so much better. It was a bit large, but the larger fit just looked better on my body. You don't necessarily need a NuBra with this dress, but I would recommend it. Definitely invest in some accessories. I have never received so many compliments on an outfit! I was so sad to return it, and I hope the chance comes for me to purchase this dress!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

great dress for a friends wedding! easy to eat, dance and be merry in

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the small & medium and ended up going with the small. It was flowy enough that it concealed my hips but still defined my waist (a must for gals with a little something on the bottom).
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

Turning heads at the event!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great color for any skin type. Very comfortable. Would recommend getting a size smaller then what you usually would. I had two events in one weekend. If I knew I wouldn't run into some of the same people at both events I would have worn this two nights in a row. Tons of compliments all night. I would highly recommend this dress and see myself renting it in the future.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Mar 12, 2013

What a great service! The dresses were in great condition and I will be renting one again very soon!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went with the large because of the length. Both medium and large fit well except for the length. The medium was a little too short for me. Loved this dress and got lots of complements. The color is beautiful!
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Stylish Fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! I wore it for a sorority Red Dress Affair. I got tons and tons of compliments and people couldn't believe I didn't try this dress on before buying it because it fit so perfectly. I thought I was going to need to wear a belt with it but after trying it on there was nothing that needed to be added! Definitely something you need to invest in!
Amie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

Rented this lovely dress for a wedding rehearsal while I was about 6 months pregnant.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Finding a stylish formal maternity dress that wasn't $500 seemed to be a challeng. I opted to rent this non maternity dress in hopes that I would fit around my growing bump. Since RTW lets you rent two different sizes I felt confident that it would work. I rented a S and a M when my non maternity size is XS. The small was perfect!! The flowy nature of the dress was comfy cozy and easy to move in. I got so many compliments I almost wished I owned this one so I can wear it again! Measurements given on this review are my 6 month maternity and non maternity measurements. The only number that changed wile pregnant was my waist.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 11, 2013

Perfection! I want to buy it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color and draping of this dress are stunning. I received countless compliments and felt great in it. Not to mention it is beyond comfortable. I'd rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 20, 2013

Great dress for a summer wedding

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit well and I got lots of compliments on it at my friend's wedding. I almost belted it, but didn't because it seemed like too much with my jewelry too. The only problem was my husband noticed a little stain on the dress before we left for the wedding. The small was too big and baggy on me so I had to wear the XS (with the stain). Thankfully it wasn't too noticable though, but that was a little disappointing. I love how the dress isn't too tight and is flowy so it hides any tummy (especially after eating all those hor d'eurves before dinner!
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 26, 2013

Grecian Goddess Moment!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is AMAZING! I wish I owned it! It is short in the back and I am only 5'7 so had to wear spanx shorts just in case- but the compliments were rolling in! LOVED IT!
Kathy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Aug 12, 2013

Gorge. Loved this dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great drapery to dress, fun color, really easy to wear. I opted for large earrings and no necklace and that worked well (although I liked the no earrings/necklace look, too). Caution - while the dress is more than roomy and I could have worn the S, the length was too short for me to do so. I am 40 and a little paranoid about dressing like I am 20. I got many compliments on the dress. And, this was the best retail experience ever. I am just mad I was not a company founder/investor! THANK YOU RTR! I will never buy a dress again!
KELLY
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2013

Couldn't feel more comfortable after just having a baby!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great for a new "mommy". Just had our second baby right before the wedding and ordered the medium and small. Dress ran large so went with wearing the small. The dress was able to hide everything I had felt uncomfortable with and yet was still very flattering. Got compliments all night! Would def recommend this dress!
Priscilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Sep 20, 2013

Fun evening at the lake in a chic dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought the sleeve would get in the way, but it didn't! The dress fit perfectly with the right amount of "hang" in the body. Not to mention, the material is soft so it was very comfortable to wear while out on a boat on the lake!
Mirta
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

The first of many rentals! Loved the dress and the ease of obtaining it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size.. a little short (and im 5'3") but still felt great in it!
Rozzlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

I rented this for our Honeymoon. My Husband loved it and I felt amazing

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Very comfortable I can't wait to rent again for a nice Summer Wedding/Event
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 9, 2014

Great dress, but not for me...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress worked for the occasion, however I don’t think I would rent it again. The draping made me look like I had no shape. In retrospect, I think I should have gotten something that cinched at the waist. The color was good, but it is not as vibrant as it looks in the pictures…it looked like it had been worn several times. The lining underneath also wanted to ride up, and I kept having to pull it down. The size XS fit me better through the chest and hips, but the skirt was VERY short. The XS was also uncomfortably tight under my armpit, so I went with the Small instead. It is a great dress, I just don't think it was the right one for me.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Perfect for day-to-evening Cali Wedding

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tons of compliments on this dress, especially with the necklace (also RTR). Was just an inch or so too tight around the opening for my shoulders, so wide-shouldered ladies might want to order a size up to be safe. The rest of the fit was perfect.
Farrah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Colorful cocktail outfit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great little dress for a fancy occasion! It was comfortable, not too short, and was still able to wear a regular bra, just removed one strap. Like others said, it was easy to dance in and stood out in a sea of dark colors. I did gold accessories, but easily could have done a lot of different things with it. In that way, it's really versatile - you can dress up or down or for the occasion.
brenda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Comfort

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was perfect fit and the jewelry was exactly as described - many compliments. I had been in a major car accident two weeks before and the dress was easy and comfortable to wear.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Beautiful and comfortable!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and wanted to keep it! It's beautiful and comfortable and I had many compliments all night!
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

I got this dress for a charity event I put on called Mamas Night Out

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress could not have been more perfect. I got more compliments on that dress than I have ever gotten on anything. The color was perfect, the fit was perfect, everything was perfect! I may just rent it again for next years event!
Allyson
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

This dress was great!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress overall! Great color for the summer, extremely vibrant and looks great with a tan. He material was a little heavier expected but still very nice. I'm usually a medium but it was out of stock so I went with a small and large. The small was a little too short on me, and the large was just a tad roomier than what I wanted, but still looked great !
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Went to a wedding where I wanted to make a good impression on my fiancees family.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great! I didn't need to wear a belt to cinch it in, but it might have looked nice with one if I had the right color belt. Very comfortable and I felt great in it!
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Sep 24, 2014

So easy to wear, comfortable, and flattering!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding 24 weeks pregnant. The small covered my bump perfectly. It fell a few inches above the knee. It's perfect for an expectant mom who wants to look chic.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

"Hello. Gorgeous. goddess."

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Those were the words of my date when I walked into the room, and it blew me away. I definitely felt the part! Details - I ordered the M and the S; I would have ordered the L with the M but it wasn't available. Other reviewers reported the dress being a little larger than typical, so I wasn't too worried but knew I could do an emergency swap if needed. The M was perfect and fit like it was cut for me. The dress is heavier in weight but felt great on. I loved the dramatic draping and way it moved when I walked and danced. The cut is short and shows a lot of leg, but not too much at all. The color was perfect for a late summer cocktail formal gala, and wow, did I get compliments all night. After some back and forth, I went with gold accessories to go with the "Greek goddess" feel and pulled my hair into a loosely curled side updo over the bare shoulder. This was my second RTR experience, and it was as excellent as the first!
haems
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

A great dress at 6 months pregnant!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A comfortable, roomy dress to wear while 6 months pregnant at a formal company gala. I normally wear a small, but went a size up to M to make more room for the belly. The small fit too, but the belly lifted the dress a bit so that it was shorter than I would have liked. I received a ton of compliments, especially about the color b/c a lot of women were wearing black that night. Fabric had nice weight to it, and didn't cling awkwardly. Great rental price, both dresses came in great condition,, and delivery was on time as usual!
MARIA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Dec 28, 2014

Looked like a star!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Truly made me feel like VIP when I wore this dress in Vegas. Had tons of compliments. Runs rather big but it was perfect for my postpartum belly. Only complaint is that it smelled a little musty; like it had been stored in a cold, damp basement.
Faith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

PERFECT dress as a bridesmaid in my best friend's wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the XS and the S, but found the S fit better in the underarms. The dress was so flattering and I got a ton of compliments. The material is thick, but I still found it suitable in 90 degree Florida-summer weather (granted, I wasn't standing in the sun for hours on end - it was a quick outdoor ceremony). Great quality dress. Fits true to size. Length was conservative, but still flirty (I like to call this "clexy" = classy/sexy). I absolutely loved it!
Sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 15, 2015

Beautiful and comfortable.

Size worn: S
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and it was perfect. I received many compliments.
Brittany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

I wore this dress while 8 months pregnant and IT WAS PERFECT! Stunning on my pregnant figure!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely comfortable because of the thick, luscious fabric. It moved well on the dance floor and was completely opaque. I wore glitter gold sandal heels for the wedding and flat sandals for the reception - I could not be happier with this rental.
Cole
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

I loved this dress! Perfect fit! Very interesting style, received lots of compliments. Comfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
good for large chest, comfortable fit, distracts away from large areas
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

Great dress, highly recommend!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great. Wonderful quality. I'm always nervous when your only options are S, M, L and not numerical sizes, but this worked really well. I was also 19 weeks pregnant in it and you could barely tell I was pregnant. Dress had a nice drape to it but wasn't frumpy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×