Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

467 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 292
Large 151
Photos 182
tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Beautiful Color

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress! Very flattering received tons of compliments.
LNF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 5, 2013

From the moment I walked into the Gala, I received non-stop compliments! RTR helped me nail it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material is stretchy and very comfortable! I have a 34-C bust, and the bust section of the dress was still a little loose for the size M. This was easily remedied by wearing black undergarments. I am 5'4", and the length came just above the knee for me. This helped me to feel comfortable and appropriate around co-workers at a fundraising gala.
whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful color and fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I am 16 weeks pregnant and it is perfect for making you feel elegant and beautiful even when you are gaining weight. Iam usually a 6-8 and the small fit great! I would def. go down a size! I had lots of compliments with the color! Great dress and will rent again!
Carol
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

Super comfortable and great color!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Color looks great if you have fair skin (I think would look good in anyone), flattering shape, specially if you have gain some weight and want to hide it.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

3 stars for color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a wedding. I typically wear a size M, size 8 and ordered a M and L. The M was obscenely short (I am 5'4"). The L was big all over. I have a small chest so that could've been why. I ended up not wearing either. Stars for color and the draping is pretty. Wish it had fit!
melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

I didn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is gorgeous and the draping pretty but at 5' 7" it is just too short to look classy. I did not feel the length was appropriate for a wedding.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2013

The dress was comfortable, especially for a wedding.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the dress a lot. It is flowy, but the fabric helps it cling a little. The one shoulder part runs higher than it looks in the picture- the fabric comes up to your neck on that side. I wore it with a gold necklace. Good rental. I would order down unless you want it to be very loose.
ahb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2013

I love the idea of renting a dress instead of buying one I will probably never wear again. Fabulous!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect for all body types! Totally hid my tummy that has gotten slightly pudgy. I felt fabulous and looked amazing in all pictures. I received so many compliments all night and was sad when I had to return it. The color is such a pretty blue! May have to rent this one again!
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

comfy, bump friendly, super cute

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding and received so many compliments! I was almost 5 months pregnant and the dress was perfect! I'm short but thought the length was just right (hit just above the knees) The blue is deeper than what the photo shows. I wish my photos came out but they were all blurry :( Super comfy, elegant, classic look- I would rent again for another event (pregnant or not!!)
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 14, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, can't go wrong!
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2013

I loved this dress. It was so comfortable however I would have liked it to be a little longer.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The small was too short and the medium was a bit big around the waist area. However. I still received many compliments on it all night.
kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

fabulous fit!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The last dress I wore I ended up with a 12 and it was too large in the bust - this was awesome as a medium and it fit perfectly! Great stretch and a well made heavy jersey knit fabric - I got tons of compliments and the color was gorgeous! I would totally buy this dress, it is a winner! Its also great to hide that mommy pooch that I am still stuck with, boo!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 24, 2013

Dress was delivered on time with a return shipping package!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up dress from the Badgley Mischka Manhattan Socialite Dress. The dress was very pretty and I loved the color of it. But the fit wasn't right. It fit everywhere but in the length. However, my sister who is about 4 inches shorter than I am ended up wearing it to the gala we were attending and it looked fantastic on her. The fit and the length complimented her body type (5'3" tall).
Andrea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

I couldn't even wear the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Usually I wear an 8 or medium's in dresses or jeans and after reading all the reviews I thought I had it figured out. Upon receiving the dress I realized it was rather baggy and large. It gave me no shape and hung like a heavy sac (the fabric was extremely heavy) and was too large in the bust area. Needless to say I had to come up with a backup plan because I couldn't wear this.
Aliya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

SO flattering.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a Fundraising Gala and I wore three weeks postpartum. People were complimenting me left and right and saying how great I looked after just having a baby, but the dress really hid it ALL (ha!) :) The drapery was super flattering and the nice, thick material was comfortable and flowy. Definitely recommend!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 12, 2013

My first RTR experience - would definitely rent again!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit great - a smidge shorter than I usually would wear but I got lots of compliments and my boyfriend loved it!
Allison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

Loved this dress,,,received many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was 6 months pregnant and wore this dress and it was a perfect fit!, I had to safety pin under the arm pit a little bit but no one noticed. :). I have a large bust AND large hips, thighs and butt. I was so nervous to order this dress and couldn't believe it worked!!!
L
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

The dress was very comfortable!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit very well, true to size.
Y3K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

I wore it for a charity event out in the Hamptons.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly. I loved the weight of the fabric and how easy it was to wear the dress.
jess g.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 7, 2013

Felt beautiful just three weeks after I had a baby,

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous color, loose flows fit concealed my mid section, the one shoulder draping and shorter length made it fun and sexy, even though it was loose and hiding all the bad parts:)
Letrice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Dec 9, 2013

Nice dress and it was a solid heavy material.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Same as picture!
Molly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 16, 2013

I got tons of compliments on the color (since so many others wore black).

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Flowy and forgiving. Felt comfortable dancing the night away.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Great dress for winter party - careful with length for smaller sizes

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this because it was my backup and I liked the colors of the other dess better, but it is a great dress. I especially liked that it was lined and thus a little heavier, which is nice for winter. Only S and L were available, which was too bad as the M would have fit perfect. I would have worn the L if the orher dress didn't fit, as the small was reeeeeallllly short - and I'm only 5'4". The color is a little closer to purple than the true royal blue shown in the photo.
Holly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2013

Great fit, wonderful vibrant blue color. Received tons of compliments.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable, nice material, easy to move and dance in. Forgiving style and shape.
Dani
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Awkward sizing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've never had a problem renting before on RTR, but the past two dresses I rented didn't fit at all based on the reviews. I ordered the Medium first, but had a good two inches extra on the sides so much that it was gaping. I called and customer service overnighted me a Small, which I truly appreciate! But then the small was too short and way too small for me. I may just be an awkward size :[
Talia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

I felt like a red carpet queen the whole night, everyone had to do with the dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fit was wonderful, it slipped nicely onto my curves. It did run a little big, but only by a tiny bit, so don't go a size smaller just because I chose "runs big". The dress model/shape allows there to be extra fabric, and still look like it's meant to be there! Recommend it, the fabric itself feels amazing, and matches well with a pair of nude pumps.
Sidni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

Perfect!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress so much that I regret not buying it!!!! It was wonderful!! I paired it with nude pumps and a chunky gold necklace for a wedding!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Cute baby bump dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very flattering over my pregnant belly. Lots of compliments all night!
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jan 12, 2014

Wore to a Barrister's Ball

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small, so it's perfect for those of us in the 12/14 range not sure about the sizes of other dresses. I got the medium and the large , and ended up wearing the medium! It was so comfortable, but didn't cling like other jersey dresses can. Would definitely reccommend!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 25, 2014

Far too short!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't actually wear this dress to the affair because it was far too short. I barely got it over my bum and I am a curvy girl but it was far too short to wear to a formal affair. I was so bummed because it is such a cute dress!
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 28, 2014

Never got to wear it...

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this dress, but unfortunately it was entirely too short for me. I am 5'8" and the dress barely hit my upper thigh. I was so disappointed because it looked so great otherwise! I'd recommend this for the shorter ladies. :)
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

beautiful color

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love love love this dress, but I didn't end up wearing it because it was too long on me and all the material sort of swamped my midsection. It still looked really good and the material is extremely good quality
ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 20, 2014

Fantastic dress for a wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs large. I ordered the medium with a small as my back-up size. The medium fit fine, but didn't really give any shape and was really loose. The small fit perfectly and hit right at the knees. I paired the dress with my own gold/diamond bangles and deep blue/gold earrings and no necklace. The dress was a hit!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Feb 26, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was nervous because I was going to be wearing this dress 7 months pregnant for a wedding. But I loved it! I got my normal size (pre pregnancy) and a size up. I ended up wearing the larger size only because of length. So if you are NOT pregnant, I would imagine this dress would run a bit big… being as 7 months pregnant I COULD have worn my normal size if needed (but I'm tall and it would have been a tad short). Love the fabric. LOVE the color.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

This dress runs small - it was so short that I was unable to consider wearing it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color and draping. I was disappointed that I couldn’t wear it
AmyBlan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Great dress. Carmen Marc liked it at our NY cocktail party

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Felt amazing in this dress.
upadab13
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Absolutely stunning dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I wore it to a graduation, and it fit like a dream. The draping is perfect if you're a little shy about your figure and the color is great for any skin tone. The one shoulder neckline shows a bit of skin but the dress wasn't too short. Would definitely suggest for anyone!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Great dress for post-partum, but beware of too short lining!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding 6 weeks after my daughter was born (I weighed 145 lbs at the time instead of my usual weight). I chose it due to the "bump friendly" aspect. Overall, I was pretty pleased with this dress. My one complaint is that while the outer layer of the dress was not too short, the under-layer/lining was way too short, so at certain angles you could see that it was too short underneath (like when the sun shone through the thinner outer layer). Otherwise, I thought this was a flattering dress and felt glamorous in it, despite being 6 weeks post-partum.
Mary Ilene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 9, 2014

Cute but lots of fabric

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
A really cute dress but it runs large causing too much fabric.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

goddess feel!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely love this dress. Have rented this and another color and loved them both times. It's comfortable and dressy at the same time. I love the one shoulder and the draped fabric over the arm.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×