Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(152)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2013
Great color, length, fit. So many compliments on this dress!
I wore this dress to our annual formal for my sorority. It was gorgeous! It was a great fit and fell perfectly especially in the side drape. I wore it with black and gold heels as well as gold jewelry which looked great with the rich blue color! I loved this dress and got compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 24, 2013
Made a pregnant chick feel pretty!
I wore this for a work cocktail party at around 5 1/2 months pregnant. The neckline was beautiful, it fel just right, and it was so comfortable. All night, people complimented me and said they could barely even tell I was pregnant. Based on other reviewers' pics, I was worried it would be a bit too long on me, but it was perfect - hit a couple of inches above my knee. Since it fit so well, I worry that if I were my normal size, it would have been a little too big. I completely forgot to take a picture, but if you have a baby bump, definitely try this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2013
Loved the color!!
I love this dress, I ordered the small and the medium. I wore the medium but it was on the big side, I normally wear an 8. I tried on the small and it was a little tight across the chest where the zipper meets. It was also very short, which is why I chose not to wear it. Overall it was a great experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2013
Classy and comfortable
I wore this dress to a wedding and loved it. The fabric is a bit heavy, but it really helps to keep the draped shoulder in place. It was extremely comfortable, and the color is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
Compliments and comfort all night long!
The dress is pretty much flawless. I got the S and M and thought the small fit better. I felt sexy and classy in it all night. I wore it to a sorority formal and could easily move and dance. I'm so impressed with this dress and in love with my RTR experience. If you're on the fence about this dress don't be! But also note the back of the dress does not have the flowy part. It will show off some booty but is a great length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
February 16, 2013
Everyone complemented me on how beautiful I looked and I felt like a model!
The medium was a little short on me so the large fit my taller figure. I would stick to whatever size you prefer. Either way it'll look good on anyone!!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 15, 2013
It fit but it didn't cover my butt, 5'10" it should be worn as a top, not dress.
I'm not a conservative dress wearing person, but this dress was so short my fiancé thought I was wearing a top as a dress and asked if I was going to wear pants. I'm 5'10" (not a giant) and in shape, this was just so unflattering I had to send back and go buy something instead.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 14, 2013
This dress was a comfortable fit, not too loose but just right!
I wore this dress to a Marine Ball and felt very comfortable with the flow of the dress. This was a nice choice for me since since I had recently had a baby!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
Gorgeous color, flattering, and great fit!
This dress was perfect for the bachelorette weekend! The color was perfect and so was the fit. It was a little short, but it was ok. This was actually my second choice that I rented and my first time to rent from RTR! I LOVE RTR! I am so happy with my whole RTR experience!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
Loved the overall fit of the dress.
perfect one shoulder blue dress for weddings, cocktail parties, or girls night out.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
This dress was comfortable and very fun to wear!
I usually wear a medium (or size 6), but I had read that this dress runs a little bit big so I ordered both the medium and the small as my extra size. I am really glad that I did because for some reason the medium was actually quite a bit shorter than the small. They were virtually the same dress, but the lining colors were different and the fabric felt a little bit different. The small definitely fit better, especially given the extra length. I really liked wearing the dress and received quite a few compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2013
Baby Shower Chic at 36 weeks pregnant!
I was dubious I could find something fun to wear to my baby shower 36 weeks pregnant, but this fit the bill! It was super comfortable and managed to make me feel sexy and glam. I usually wear a size 8 but I've gained about 40 pounds with the pregnancy so Lord knows what 'normal' size I am now but the Large fit great.
LauraApril 5, 2013
Thanks for posting! As a PG woman entering wedding/shower season I am freaked out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2013
A fabulous dress!
I ordered this dress in two sizes, but wore the smaller version. It is truly a supremely flattering dress; it shows off the shoulders, the draping hides any bit of belly, and its short length is flattering for those who like their legs. I did not wear a necklace but did add a sparkly pin along the shoulder which I felt really stood out nicely. My only complaint was the inner slip/lining tended to ride up in an irritating manner. It actually helped that I wore a shaping slip underneath b/c it gave the lining something to "stick" to (for the record, the way the dress is made hides any flaws and no slip was really necessary). All in all, I loved this dress, the RTR process (this was my first rental) and plan to use the site in the future instead of buying fancy dresses I only wear once anyway. Hopefully I'll get a good photo back from the event and can upload it in the future.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2013
Perfect
This dress fit so well and was incredibly flattering. Perfect for the cocktail party that I went to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2013
Wore this dress to a wedding when I was 10 weeks pregnant. I felt amazing wearing it!
While looking through my closet, I was feeling a little meh about my dress options. Most of my dresses are of the summer variety (this wedding was in November) or I've already worn a dress to events with some of the other wedding attendees. Being 10 weeks pregnant, I wasn't ready to share the news or let my wardrobe do the sharing. And let's be honest, I didn't want to go out and buy a new dress when I knew my belly would be expanding. As I suspected, the convenience was one of the biggest perks. I didn't have to worry about packing a dress, let alone two sizes of the same dress. I tend to shy away from online shopping because I like to try things on in person. I have a short torso and longer legs, so that makes things interesting. Depending on the dress, I usually wear a small or medium (6 or 8). I ended up wearing the medium. I scheduled the dresses and necklace to arrive on a Friday and they arrived at the hotel on that Wednesday. And let's not forget the ease of dropping everything in a mailbox when I was done wearing them. Of course you should know that the dress itself came in perfect condition. And I loved wearing it! I received several complements and got a kick out of sharing my secret that I rented it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
January 28, 2013
Very flattering, elegant, and comfortable
Flatters your curves and the sleeve creates nice drama when you walk.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2013
Great first experience with RTR!
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved the fit and color. Because it is not too form fitting, definitely could get away with wearing the smaller size. Got many compliments and was a fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2013
Incredibly comfortable and gorgeous!!
I wore this dress to my mother in law's wedding. It fit beautifully and was so comfortable. The color is rich and pretty. The cut of the dress was flattering and I received so many compliments on it. His was my jest RTR dress and imm definitely be coming back for more!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 22, 2013
Great cocktail party dress.
I had a baby 3 mos prior to wearing this dress at our Christmas party. I loved it and of course very forgiving. I think it runs big because I still have baby weight on and was able to wear the small. I expected to have to wear the medium, but that was too large. You can wear a strapless bra and it still fit nicely.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 18, 2013
Beautiful color! Fit great for my body shape.
It was perfect!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 16, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Wore it to a wedding in the Bahamas in Oct '10. The color is beautiful!
It hides all of the problems areas! The first time I rented it in Oct '10 I rented a XS and S and the S was falling off. It runs VERY large. The second time I rented it I forgot how big it was and rented the S and M and couldn't wear either of them because they were both too big. I'm usually a S. When I wore it I received so many compliments - it is a nice material and gorgeous color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2013
Summer Pool Party dressed to impress
This is the dress ladies. My husband only likes me to wear tight and neutral colored dresses, but when he saw me in this, he fell in love all over again. The dress is loose and comfortable, but still shows a feminine figure. Highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 13, 2013
Looks good on the website, but looked AMAZING in person.
This was my second choice dress, but I ended up wearing it instead! Fabric was divine, fit like a dream, and was very flattering. I'm pregnant and this dress smoothed, but didn't try to obviously hide my bump. The dress liner is flexible, so I imagine if someone was farther along in their pregnancy this dress would work well. I also have very muscular wide shoulders, so the asymmetrical neck was very softening. I wore a gold cuff, hair in a loose bun, and red suede stilettos. All around fantastic dress that I highly recommend and would rent again. Loads of compliments all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2013
Great $50 pick!
Wore this to a cocktail party event for work... got a lot of compliments. I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2013
Great dress, but shrunk in length since last rental?
I had rented this dress before, but in the green color and LOVED it. No prior problems with fit, but this time the dress seemed much shorter, like it shrunk from being dry cleaned too many times. The color was still beautiful, no fading or any signs of wear. Although shorter than I had liked, still easy to wear and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
Great color! Great fabric! Flattering cut for when your body isn't so flattering or perfect!
This dress is a mini! Don't expect it to go anywhere near your knees. The fabric is heavy so the bottom is not going to fly up if you spin around. However, the draping on the shoulder does fly out. No big deal. Just don't spin so fast. The fabric drapes and covers the midsection really well. It's very comfortable. I'd get it again if I were going to a non-dancing event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
The dress fit amazing! Love the one shoulder
The dress fit great. It was a little short (but I have really long legs). Over all I would get this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
Wore this to a wedding with the necklace as shown. Got compliments all night!
I wore this to a summer wedding, and it was perfect! I got both the M and L, and ended up wearing the L. The dress is not very fitted, so both fit pretty well, but the M was a little too short for my tastes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2012
Great dress! Great fit! Felt great! Got a ton of compliments.
Fit great, although may be a little bit on the shorter side for some...
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
Looked awesome at 8 months pregnant!
Rented this dress for my baby shower, as I thought it would fit my belly. The XS was a little too tight for my taste, so I'm glad the S worked! It is a bit short though. Got SO many compliments on it and felt great wearing it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2012
Felt like a modern, cobalt-sporting Grecian goddess! Fun dress.
Fit well. I have a smaller waist (24") and a larger set of hips, but the bottom wasn't ridiculously snug and I still felt like the waist fit nicely. Relatively comfortable and nice material (not too shiny or matte/rough). The color is pretty accurate and GORGEOUS with the paired gold necklace!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 23, 2012
So comfortable!
I ordered a small and medium. The top on the medium was a little big but the small was super short. The style of this dress allowed for the top to be a bit big without issue. Love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2012
Amazing dress that's great for formal occassions - especially if our are pregnant!
This dress was amazing. I ordered both a medium and a large and wore the large as I was 7.5 months pregnant at the time. I am 5'9" and normally wear a size 6 or 8. I received so many compliments and yet I was SO comfortable all night. I would totally recommend this dress to anyone - whether you're pregnant or not!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 20, 2012
Great dress! I received a ton of complements.
I wore this to a company Holiday Party. It was perfect for dancing. Gold or jewel toned jewelry is perfect. I wore nude heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
Not a great pick.
Unflattering for what I was looking for + a heavy material (would suggest for a more Fall/Winter affair, rather than Summer or Spring). Did not wear it.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your dress was not perfect for your event! For your next rental please feel free to contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 and we will help you find the perfect fit for your occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 13, 2012
What a difference a designer dress makes! You can just tell the quality when touching it, loved it!
I was 34 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress and every said they couldn't even tell I was pregnant until I turned to the side! The front did a great job at minimizing my belly. I normally wear a size XS or 2, so I ordered both the XS and Small. The small fit great and was comfortable and I got compliments all night long! The color is just gorgeous is person. I'd love to try it on when not pregnant and see how it looks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Pretty color, but a lot of fabric.
I got this as a back up dress for a wedding, and thankfully my first choice was absolutely perfect. I did try it on for maybe the rehearsal, but I felt like a sack of potatoes. I was 6 months pregnant and even then, there was too much fabric. Maybe on a very slender, athletic type. The color is pretty.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We're so sorry to hear that your dress did not fit perfectly! For your next rental please feel free to contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 and we will help you find the perfect fit for your event!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
getting a ton of compliments on the color & style of this dress!
So, I'm 23 weeks pregnant and needed a cute dress that would fit, plain and simple. I've found very few maternity dresses that are stylish, and the cut of this dress seemed like it'd be a great option. I tried the small (my bump's not THAT big yet), and it was crazy small. Way too short (like, vulgar short) and couldn't zip all the way (even though the draping & jersey along my hips & belly felt comfortable). The Medium was way roomier and was the perfect length, although a bit big along the neckline, so I had to keep pulling it up under my right arm. I was pretty surprised that the two sizes differed SO much. I've never felt such a discrepancy between sizes like that before. That said, I got a ridiculous amount of compliments on the dress. I dressed it up with the House of Harlow pendant necklace, which I felt was a little more understated and appropriate for a day wedding, and nude heels. Rent the Runway has great customer service and makes it so easy to return the garments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2012
I love this dress!
This was my second choice when I ordered, but when I received the dresses, this one was my favorite! I felt so glamorous and received lots of compliments. This dress is comfortable and fit perfectly. I might rent it again in the future. This was my first rental with RTR and I am so happy with the service. I definitely recommend RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 6, 2012
Great color, lots of compliments!
I really enjoyed this dress! The color is fantastic and it definitely stands out! The only negative was that the M was a little too short for my liking, I had to keep pulling it down, but the L was overall way to big.
See more reviews:
6 / 12
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×