Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
475 reviews
Fit
Large
(153)
True to Size
(297)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
June 21, 2011

LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress. I ordered a S and a XS and they both fit. The XS showed off the body a little bit more but it was a little tight for me under the arm. I wore the S and loved it. I really recommend this dress to anyone no matter what body shape you have. It hides any imperfections without having to wear spanx.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
June 27, 2011

I wore this to my 28th birthday party... And I stole their breath. Not only did I feel special because I thought I looked glamorous, but there is nothing more appealing than stealing someone's breath and having them say "wow! you look.... wow." Love this style and dress!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2011

This dress is absolutely perfect except for one minor issue. It is SHORT SHORT SHORT.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2011

LOVED this dress. Will order it again! Runs big. Perfect for summer wedding

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 5, 2011

I wore this to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments. The color is wonderful and was super flattering with my fair skin. As others have mentioned it is very comfortable and easy to move in. While this dress looked great in person, I definitely ended up with a couple of unflattering photos due to how loose it is around the middle in combination with my larger bust so definitely pose like the model in the picture to show some shape in photos! The length was perfect for my height - not too short at all. One of my fave rentals until I saw the photos...

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2011

I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress in my life. I wore this to a wedding this weekend and it felt great, flowly and loose but a solid structure. I ordered an XS and a S, ended up wearing the S because the XS felt tighter under my arm.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 1, 2011

LOVE THIS DRESS! I wore it to a wedding and got so many compliments! I rented the M and got the L as a back up. The M fit almost perfectly, so I would say that the dress runs true to size. Like other reviewers have said, the dress is short - and the M was just a little too short for my comfort. The L was only slightly bigger and just a little longer, so I wore it instead. Great dress - very comfortable and flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 9, 2011
The dress is a beautiful color!

It runs a little large; while I normally wear size 10 dresses, the medium sized dress here fit perfectly. It was so fun to wear, it was great to dance in, and I got a TON of compliments. It is a great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 116
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 6, 2011
perfect dress post baby

I rented this dress for a wedding. I had a baby a few months ago and still have about 10-15 pounds to lose. Although I am usually a size 6, I am a 10 now. The medium fit well and was very flattering. It hid the belly and showed off the legs. A great recommendation.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2011

This dress was a total hit! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received compliments all night. The material is heavy which is perfect because it doesn't cling to your body. The color is bright yet appropriate for a night event. The way is the fabric drapes across is very flattering!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 12, 2011

This dress was perfect! I'm petite, so I was worried this dress would be too big, but it fit really well. For me, it was the best of both worlds – I felt elegant, but it was also extremely comfortable! I received many compliments on the dress and necklace (I paired it with the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace, which looked awesome with the dress)! I wish I could have kept both…

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 13, 2011
Great service

I wore this to a vineyard wedding and received tons of compliments. I paired it with silver/grey tones and it worked well. It's super comfortable without compromising beauty. I usually wear a L because of my chest but was able to wear a M comfortably. GET IT! :) I tried to upload a picture but it didn't work.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011

I absolutely loved this dress! The draping makes it appealing to multiple body types, and hides the areas most women dislike. The color definitely stood out, and I received compliments all night long.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2011

In LOVE with this dress and you will be too. I got this dress for a grab-a-date and got so many compliments. Ordered the medium and large and wore the medium, fit perfect. May be a little longer than the picture just depending on your height. Also the arm with the shoulder, when you lift it has a black under arm ( you cannot see unless your arm is up ). Super elegant dress and easy to wear!!! You will be pleased and love the designer! :o)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2011
I felt like a movie star!

This dress is gorgeous! I ordered the medium and large and wore the medium. It fit fine around my hips (my problem area), and was very flattering. I didn't even bother with the spanx. I got so many compliments on it. This was my first rental and I'll definitely do it again. Thanks!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2011

I got so many compliments from friends and random people in this dress! I paired it with a chunky Betsy Johnson necklace and black Michael Kors heels and everybody love it! SO comfy too...I wish I could have kept it :) Even men were telling me how great I looked in the dress -- can't get much better than that!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 5, 2011

I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received compliments from so many people all through out the night. I am a small build and usually wear size small. Since this dress is a drap dress I ordered a XS for the extra size and actually wore that. I tried the XS on first and it was a perfect fit - I didn't even try the small. I definitely recommend this dress for an event that you want to wear something fun, but classy. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2011

While I did get a lot of compliments on this dress I didn't love it. The fabric was really heavy (polyester?) and I thought the drapey-ness was a bit much and my arm would get lost in it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2011

I felt like a princess. It was fun dress to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2011
Loved this dress

This dress is well made and comfortable. I wore it for my birthday party and got many, many compliments. I would also suggest ordering a size down so it provides more shape. I would definitely rent again! I also rented with necklace shown.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 31, 2011

I'm not usually a fan of jersey, but the color and texture of this dress were both spot-on and nice for an event on a cold Boston evening (actually pretty warm when you consider the lining and weight of the jersey). Much prefer the blue to this season's red in the same/very similar style. Dressed it down a bit with black/crystal accessories and closed-toe snake-print Jimmy Choos. Runs a little short for an XS, but at 5'4" I wear a 32 inch inseam, so unlikely to be an issue for most people.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011

I rented this dress for a wedding; I ordered the medium and large for backup. While many of the reviews commented on the shortness of this dress I decided to take a risk since the description said that the model in the picture was 5'10". I should have listened to the reviews. The medium fit perfectly in the body but was WAY TOO SHORT (practically a shirt on me), oddly the large was almost too long...I’m not sure why there is such a big difference in length between the medium and the large but there is. I ended up making the large work, I usually wear a 6/8 and while I think the dress ended up looking ok I definitely felt like I was swimming in it. Another weird thing was the lining; the medium had blue lining to match the outside fabric while the large had black lining. This was a bit of an issue b/c the lining can be seen under the arm of the draped shoulder. While I liked the dress overall, I would not recommend to skinny tall girls.

RTR CustomerNovember 2, 2011
We are sorry to hear this dress didn't work out for you. We are updating the fit notes to reflect the length of this dress. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2011

Everyone loved the dress and it was so comfortable to wear all night. Great deal and style

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 14, 2011
Love!! I'd buy it if I could!!

I wore this to my brother-in-law's wedding and it was pitch perfect. I had to do a reading so I wanted something fun but classy. I'm almost 5' 8" and it was short enough to be fun for the evening, but appropriate for the ceremony. I'm an A cup and I was able to wear a convertible bra with one strap attached diagonally which gave it nice shape (and I have some booty for a skinny girl). Even though it's drapey, it's not shapeless. I got to tell everyone about RTR because of how many compliments I received!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
November 15, 2011
The service at RTR is fantastic! I was able to have my dresses delivered to my hotel in Vegas so when I arrived they were waiting for me at check in :-) Not having to worry about traveling with them was a lifesaver!!

This dress is beyond! Not only was the color amazing but the fit was fantastic! It was extremely comfortable and made me feel like a goddess! I had to package it up as soon as I took it off for fear of keeping it, that's how much I loved it <3. Love RTR!!

TamaraNovember 15, 2011
I love how you accessorized this dress! So cute.
AlexaNovember 15, 2011
This is the perfect dress for a fabulous night out in Vegas! Great choice, not to mention accessories pairing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2011
Stunning and so comfortable

I wore this to a Fall wedding in OK and it was stunning. I got tons of compliments. This is perfect if you have a little belly to hide. It is a little short but I am 5'5 and it was absolutely wedding appropriate. Update: wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah @ 4 months pregnant and I got a zillion compliments. Very flattering and cute for a baby bump.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
I still receive compliments even when people see pictures from the event. It photographs beautifully.

I rented this dress along with the necklace for a spring wedding. I received so many compliments on both! The color stands out in a crowd!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
December 14, 2011
Great

I rented a dress for a party bec. I just had a baby and did not want to buy a dress in a size that I would hopefully not be in the future. I was a little nervous about it arriving on time and how it would look. It was great! I got a lot of compliments an I ordered the necklace that was in the picture and it also look great! I got so many compliments that night! Will defiantly order again and btw....so will my friends who saw me that night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 22, 2011
I had a dress that fit!

I was 16 weeks pregnant when I wore this dress to a wedding and it worked SO well. You can slightly see my bump and it fit perfectly around my neck. Highly recommend!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
Great customer service ... even received an email about how to return over the holiday!

I rented this dress for a NYE wedding, while almost 5 months pregnant and I felt amazing in it! Great color, great fit, and so comfortable! LOVED IT!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 25, 2012
Everything was beautiful

I heard about rent the runway some months ago while reading the wall street journal. I had a formal family birthday party to attend, and I decided to rent because I was looking for something a little different, and I didn't want to buy another one-time- wear dress. I ordered this, and kept thinking how stupid i was, that it was going to be gross, that it was going to not fit, that i would hate it, that it would be late. Boy, was I wrong. The dress was LINED, beautiful fit, beautiful material, on-time. WOW. I am going on vacation soon and just rented two dresses for the trip, how easy to throw them in the mail on the way home. I did wear this with a gold belt, and I rented the necklace too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 31, 2012
This dress was the perfect balance between formal and casual!

This flowing dress was a perfect fit for my college semi-formal. I received so many compliments and I am so glad I rented the recommended necklace with it. My first rental with RTR could not have been better!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 24, 2012
Fast, Easy & great for a one night special occasion.

Wow what a stunning and comfortable way to get all dolled up when your 24 weeks - 6 months pregnant! I ordered xs and small and went with small and have to say that I had no regrets in the dress and fun jewels! Easy return & didnt even have to steam it. Just unboxed it night before event, wore it and returned it all in less than 4 days!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2012
great dress for a wedding

Loved this dress! I got so many compliments all night. Couldn't have been morehappy with the service!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2012
Lots of fun

With so many wonderful options it was hard to pick just one dress to wear, but I chose this to wear to my brother's wedding in SC. The weather was unseasonably warm so the lightweight jersey was a great pick. I got many compliments and was happy to tell them of the rental experience - I think I made a few converts to the renting ways. The lining does run quite small but overall very true to size and very easy to dance in. Can't wait for the next rent-worthy occasion!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2012
Great dress!

This dress is so flattering- especially if you are not feeling terrific about your body. I am 10 wks. pregnant, have put on about 5 lbs., and have a belly that does not in any way look like a cute little baby bump yet. The draping of the fabric falls perfectly to cover the tummy and still manages to look sexy and not at all matronly the way most dresses that are designed to hide "problem areas" are. I was also really happy with the fit on top. I have a petite frame with small shoulders and a lot of the time if I don't get clothes that are specifically petite-sized they will hang too low in the front or I'll have large gaps under my arms but this fit really nicely everywhere.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
Pretty ,but wayyyy to short

I rented this dress for a charity event I was going to. I was so excited to get it in the mail because this is the first dress I've rented through RTR. I ordered an XS and a S. When I tried on the small it fit perfectly ,but it was so short it didn't cover my whole butt. I am tall (5'8) but im not that tall. I wore the small ,but it still showed 3/4 of my up leg. I wore spandex shorts underneath. I thought this dress was going to be sliming but in my opinion I felt like it made me look 2 sizes bigger than I am. I am very impressed with the whole RTR company and would rent a dress again but defiantly not this one.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2012
Stress Free and Wonderful

I wore this dress to a wedding my boss was also invited to, which heightened stress about what to wear. At the bachelorette party in vegas, my friend told me about RTR and decided to give it a try. I was also worried about this dress beause I'm a curvy and slighty bigger girl and my bra size has always hindered my dress wearing abilities. The dress arrived on time. The fit was perfect. I still felt comfortable eating and dancing at the wedding. I also rented the necklace. Leading up to the wedding I felt less stress in having to pick something to wear and it truly came out stress free and very classy. I highly recommend this dress for curvy girls looking for a dress to a classy occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2012
Great price for the look and quality!

I had been nervous to try RTR despite having heard positive feedback. I'm not only glad that I finally did but also sad that I waited so long! This dress was everything I expected and more. The fit was extremely comfortable and the dress was structured enough to avoid being too drapey or sloppy. I received several compliments throughout the night on both the dress and the necklace. I'm looking forward to my next event so that I can rent another great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable

This dress is a rich cobalt blue. It is super comfortable and it looked amazing. I ordered a small and medium because other ladies said this dress ran large. I didn't feel that way. I knew I would be dancing all night and the size small, just felt a little too tight. I think if you flux between a size 8 & 10... go for a medium.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×