Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
302 reviews
Fit
Large131
True to Size151
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2015
This dress was elegant and comfortable while running around all night!
As the event planner, I wore flats and this dress hit the ground perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 186lbs
March 7, 2015
Perfectly comfortable
Pro. Fits true to size. Fabric was free flowing which made a perfect fit
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2015
Gorgeous dress for a perfect night!
I wore this dress for the 2014 submarine ball with my fiancé. It was gorgeous! The fit was very nice, and the length was just right with 4' heels (I'm 5'2) I loved it & was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 23, 2015
Dress fit try to size really elegant minimizes larger bust great dress
loved this dress I am 51 age appropriate showed just the right amount of skin flattering on arms minimizes the bust which is my case is a good thing really elegant perfect for the Oscars!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2015
This is a beautiful navy blue dress with classic lines and is very comfortable to wear.
This dress fit perfectly! The length was just right with 3 inch heels. The dress came in perfect condition. I was on my feet a lot during the event and am glad I did not go with the long length. I would definitely rent another dress by this designer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!
A gorgeous dress. I ordered a 12R and 8L, the size 10 wasn't available. Both sizes fit, but the 12 offered more room through the bust. The dress is a heavy fabric and is cut on the bias, so it skims over the figure and would work for a wide variety of shapes. The regular length was a little short and a 10L probably would have fit best, but because of the cut an exact fit isn't required. I pinned the dress hangers inside with tiny safety pins, otherwise they would have been popping out the whole night. My husband actually asked if I could buy the dress to wear to other events - may have to rent the black or red in the future!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 13, 2015
Felt like the belle of the ball.
This dress fit like a dream. I'm 5'4" 148lbs. It was the perfect length with 3" heels, it didn't drag on the ground or rose too high. I wore shape wear underneath because I'm self conscious about my stomach. But the dress was easy to sit/dance/eat/drink in. Highly recommend!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
February 10, 2015
Formal Dance
Beautiful dress! I normally wear a 4, and ordered that and the 2 for backup. Ended up wearing the 2 - It fit better in the bust/stomach. A little longer in the back, so I had to hold it up a bit out of fear of stepping on it, even with 3 inch heels! Overall great dress!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2015
Lots of compliments!
I did select runs large, but I personally did not mind! It created a little bit of a draped effect on the side without the shoulder, and I kinda liked it! It was beautiful and I got compliments at and after my school's formal Sweetheart dance! Lovely dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2015
Perfect for my black tie ball! Simple and stunning!
This dress is stunning! Photos don't do it justice. Such a flattering fit! This was my first time using RTR and it was such an amazing experience! Will definitely use again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2015
I wore this for my work gala and it was perfect!
I got compliments all night on the dress and it was super comfortable and fit perfectly. Not a single complaint! (Wore ~2 inch heels and it was just the right length. Anything taller than 3 inch heels and it would have been a bit too short.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 28, 2015
Loved the fit, I recieved many compliments on the gown.
The length (R) was perfect for a small heel.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 28, 2015
Dress is a great material and so classic.
It definitely fit too big. I would recommend going down at least 1 if not 2 sizes. If you are small in the waist go down two sizes. It was too big for me so I wasn't able to wear it to the event but if you get the right size I think you will love it. Next time I have an event I will try to order the 0R.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
January 22, 2015
Fabulous Dress
This dress is very flattering. The photo does not do it justice. I got compliments all night long. The color is a navy blue. The weight of the fabric is just right. I think I could have gone a size smaller so size down for your backup size. I had ordered a size 14 for backup (I'd put on some weight over the holidays) but it was not available so RTR got in touch with me and helped me pick out another dress for backup. But this one was better. I cannot imagine anyone who would not be flattered wearing it. It comes in red and black and some day I hope to rent the red one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
January 2, 2015
Kind of plain
I fit like a glove but was a little plain jane for the wedding I ordered it for. Spanx would have been necessary for sure.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 24, 2014
first time ever to wear a formal and attend a formal event
this was my first time ordering from rtr. wanted an elegant, no glitter dress for a formal military ball, this dress was perfect. husband said i looked gorgeous. ordered the size 14 with 12 (i am normally a size 14 in dresses) as the backup. wore the 12. probably could have worn a 10 in the top, but i tend to be a little bottom heavy and didn't want to have the skirt be too tight. this dress was exactly like the the reviews said. will rent again!
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2014
Gorgeous! I did not want to take it off!!
This dress was so great! It hugged me in all of the right places. I really liked the small train that flowed in the back. It was a little loose for me in the hip area, but it was still okay for me. I could have worn a belt with if, but I thought it might take away from its elegance. It was a great rental and I was somewhat sad to take it off! Love, Love,Love!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2014
Beautiful fabric but zipper bunches
Perhaps it was just the exact dress that I received, but the zipper bunched on the side (looked like it had been replaced poorly), which made the dress lose its shape around the waist. I didn't end up wearing it. Otherwise, the fabric is lovely, heavy, high quality and a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
December 16, 2014
Stunning, Flattering, Classy
I absolutely loved this dress. Although it looks like a relatively bright blue in photos with a flash, the dress is actually a deep navy. The fabric was comfortable, not too heavy or light, and was very flattering. I felt it was slightly tight under the arms, but that could just be a personal problem. The long length was perfect with a two inch dress sandal, and I am glad I did not order the regular length. Overall, I said it runs large because I am typically a 6, but the 6 did not stay up on top, a problem I never have. I would definitely rent this again if I had more formal occasions and if there weren't so many other fabulous dresses I wanted to try on here!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 16, 2014
Wore it to a wedding, danced all night. Felt super comfortable and loved very elegant,
Fit was good, wore 3in heels to keep my toes from poking out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 196lbs
December 11, 2014
Not as rich in person
Ran small on top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 10, 2014
Beautiful holiday ball with a elegant dress.
The 12 fit my bottom half perfectly. I was comfortable all night. It was a little big on my top half but not a big issue. Nice material and length was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
December 8, 2014
Glamorous!
I'm so glad I got this second size as the 16R was huge! The 14 was a little big, but not noticeably. I probably could have gone for a 12 and been comfortable. No hemming required with small heels on my 5'3" frame. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2014
Really beautiful dress!
This dress was absolutely beautiful, I received so many compliments on it. The fit was great and pretty true to size. It is a very comfortable dress as well. I am short, so (very) high heels were needed. The only negative I have about the dress is that, the fabric surrounding the zipper isn't very tailored. I could tell that it was probably a sample dress of some sort but, since the zipper runs down your side, your arm covers it and no one else can really notice. Other then that, I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 3, 2014
Dress looked great!
I usually wear a size 8, but the 6L was actually still a bit large, but still looked fine.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
December 3, 2014
The Samuel Heyman Service to America Medals in Washington, DC. AkA "the Oscars of the Government."
I wore this for a formal event my organization puts on every year. I needed something that was classy, yet versatile as throughout the night I was mixing with the guests, ensuring they had what the needed, and also doing some light setup and tear down. I loved how this dress looked in the pictures, and the elegance of it, however it ran very large and long. I am a very full busted woman, and I had to pin up the dress around my bust. All through the night I felt like it was falling down (and I also had to hold it whenever I walked for fear of tripping on it - and i had about 1 1/2 inch heels). It was a gorgeous dress, and I received many compliments on it, but I wished it had fit a bit better. Alas there were no 10s when I ordered it. I would easily say to go a size down on this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
November 20, 2014
This dress was perfect. It was elegant and extremely comfortable.
I with I had ordered a 16L as the dress was surprisingly short in the front, other than that the dress was absolutely wonderful. It is very flattering in all the right places. I would highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
November 17, 2014
I loved this dress! Perfect for a military ball!
Overall, dress fit well. It is not very fitted through the hips, which I liked. It was very comfortable and the fabric was gorgeous. I wore the dress with 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 14, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Nice structure to the dress! Felt beautiful in it. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176lbs
November 10, 2014
AMAZING
OMG - This dress is amazing! It was a little too big but still looked stunning. I am so happy with this! I got complements all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2014
Classy gown with a great shape and material!
Dress runs fairly true to size, although a bit big around the waist, but I was okay with that since it was a long evening of drinks and eating. The fabric is heavy so is better for a fall or winter event. Lots of compliments. The only aspect to note, is it's not overly long. I'm only 5'3" and with heels they still peeked out.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 3, 2014
I was concerned that dress wouldn't be a show-stopper but I was wrong! ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!
Stunning dress! I rented this for a gala and received numerous compliments throughout the night. I typically wear a 2P, but since this dress isn't made in Petites, I opted for a siztss. I'm 5'1, wore 5" heels, and the fabric still dragged about 8" on the ground. I had to pick up the dress every time I was walking because I would have tripped over the fabric. The color is definitely darker than the stock photo -- more of a navy blue, rather than the vibrant blue that's shown. Also, the ruffle on the shoulder isn't as fully shaped as it appears in the stock photo, so keep that in mind. Overall, I would rent this dress again and recommend it to others!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2014
Really elegant and well-fitting dress. Flattering on curves!
Would recommend this for anyone curvy and short like me, it flowed so nicely and flattered!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2014
Felt like I was walking the runway
I rented this dress for a spring wedding. I lost count of the number of complements I received that evening. I ordered both the 4L and 6L and decided upon the 6L because it fit more comfortably around my arm (the arm hole is tight!) The dress was perfect length with 3 inch heels. The color was a pretty, dark navy (almost black). The fabric was thick, but not hot. Overall, an amazing dress that made me look and feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 28, 2014
The dress was HUGE!
I traditionally wear a size 0 but the dress was huge.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2014
This is the most flattering dress I've ever worn!
This dress it absolutely wonderful! The fit was perfect and the color was beautiful. It was an excellent choice for the occasion of a formal wedding and I felt very comfortable wearing this into the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2014
Look very nice on. I received so many complements when I wore it. Very comfortable too!
Good for a black tie affair. Runs big.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 21, 2014
Classy dress and perfect for military balls!
I felt amazing in this dress and like the belle of the ball! It is a classy style which I really like, worked with my curves and wasn't restrictive. After a few hours the fabric by my underarm started rubbing a little but it was manageable, and I forgave it because it looked so great! I am 5'8" so I always get the L's; the length wasn't bad with 3" heels but would've been perfect and touched the ground with ballet slippers (both would've looked great). I'm usually between a 6 and 8 for most RTR dresses but the 6L definitely worked perfectly. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
October 19, 2014
Looked great!
I wore this for my husband's work black tie gala so I wanted something that looked professional but elegant. The dress was a touch too big at the waist, but for my pear shape, fit very well on the bust and hugged my hips. The first dress I rented didn't fit and RTR was great about sending me a second dress overnight. This was my first experience with RTR but I will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2014
Great dress, runs small
Overall, I was very happy with this rental. However, it came in a fairly small box and thus was wrinkled. I was at an out of town wedding but luckily a friend had a handheld steamer. The 2R fit well with 3" heels as the 4R was a bit large in the waist area. It was my first time doing RTR and would do it again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×