Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
370 reviews
Fit
Large
(147)
True to Size
(177)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2012
Great choice - elegant and understated
This is a great choice for a black tie optional wedding. The color is deeper than pictured - a true navy, and is less expected than black. I normally wear a 14, but after having a baby I have no idea what is "normal" anymore, so I ordered a 12R and a 16R (the 14 was unavailable). The 16 was way too big, but the perfect length for me (I'm barely 5'7). The 12 fit great - the top was very slightly snug, but it was very short. I wore 3.5 inch heels, and I had to embrace really showing my shoes. The dress is cut pretty straight through the top and waist, which can create a bit of puckering along the side zipper if you have a larger bust, but I attribute this to the fact that I probably would have fit the 14 a bit better. I was worried about returns on Sunday, but the return was SO easy - just pop the dresses back in the enclosed bags and drop them in the blue USPS post boxes. I will definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2012
I got many compliments on the dress! Even in a sea of sparkles the timeless shape really stood out.
The dress fit really well. I was a little worried that the ruffle would be overwhelming, but it was a perfect accent to the style. The RTR staff was super helpful and so friendly; all the good things I've heard about their customer service is definitely true! My only issue was that the material was pretty thick and it was really hot underneath. Other than that I was very happy with the dress and will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
Extremely comfortable, fit perfectly, looks great on curvy figures, had compliments all night. LOVE!
I wore this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. Like some of the other reviews the dress is a little tighter under the right arm but it isn't uncomfortable. I had people comment on it all night long. It felt awesome! The dress is form fitting in all of the right places and hides those areas we aren't all exactly "slim" in. My ball was in a different state and I was able to pack it in my carry-on and there were no wrinkles in it when I arrived. *Amazing* Overall, my experience with this dress and RTR was phenomenal. I will definitely be ordering through them again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2012
Great dress for a formal affair
This was my back up dress for a black tie wedding I was attending. The 4R fit well overall - it was perfect at my bust and great length (I wore the dress with 4" heels). It was a bit loose in the waist/hip area though, which is why I belted it, which turned out fine I think. It's definitely a bit on the heavier side as far as material goes - so better for a cold weather affair. The dress was comfortable, but I kept finding myself adjusting the shoulder strap because it was digging into my skin at times which was a little annoying. Otherwise it's a beautiful, classic dress that's great for any formal affair where you don't want to stand out too much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I got so many complements wearing this dress to a Navy ball! Perfect.
The dress was originally my "back up" but when i got it in the mail i immediately knew it was the one! I ordered a size 2L because I like to wear tall heels and it couldn't have fit me any better. I got many complements and it was the perfect gown for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
flattering
I am a true size 6. In this case I ended up calling RTR in a panic. I didn't have a backup size and had ordered the 6R. They ended up sending me the 4R in black overnight. It's a great dress but does run very big. I could have probably worn the 2 if my bust were a little smaller or if I wanted a more fitted look. The dress looked great though and I received lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2012
I wore this dress to the wedding of a friend's son.
The dress fit beautifully and was very flattering. My tummy was hidden. The dress was comfortable. I received many compliments. I would wear it again! Note that we needed to tape the hem so I would not trip over the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful dress; very high quality!
The dress was a little long for my height (5'-2") with 1.5" heels. Used the hem tape and it worked out fine. The material is very nice, high quality. The dress is lined which is great as well. Dress did not need to be steamed or pressed - straight from the box it was ready to go. Wore the size 6; the size 4 was too tight in the arm pit. Loved this dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178lbs
November 20, 2012
I felt glamorous!
Heavy fabric with a nice volume to make you look like you are on the catwalk as you glide across the room!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
November 26, 2012
Nice dress
Fit well but the zipper puckered. The dress arrived a day late, I was already gone for my event -- first time with RTRW and will think twice next time.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
November 27, 2012
I love wearing beautiful gowns only once!!!
I don't like owning too many long gowns because they are so memorable once you wear them. I like something new all the time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
November 30, 2012
Someone said it made me look like Kate Winslet--best compliment ever!
Very forgiving, runs true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2012
Great dress but runs a tad long!
I received so many compliments on this dress! It did run a tad big and should have went down a size but overall the dress fit well. It is a tad long on the bottom and had to put in some hem tape so it's not ideal for shorter women. I'm 5'2 and was wearing 4 inch heels and the dress still dragged to the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2012
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding!
I am 5'3" but still ordered the regular length because I love to wear very high heels. I actually only ended up wearing three-inch heels and if I had wanted to wear taller shoes, I would've needed the long length to make sure the dress touched the floor. I received so many compliments! I recommend wearing your hair because of the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 8, 2012
Fantastic!
I loved this dress! I thought I would need a 10, but when I read the reviews and learned that the fit runs large, I ordered an 8 for my second size. The 8 fit perfectly! The length was perfect and I felt so comfortable and beautiful.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
The fact that no other woman in the room had a dress like mine!
Fit was absolutely perfect, as if I had it tailor-made for myself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
It's a beautiful dress. Received many compliments!
Upon reading the reviews and noticing that it runs larger I ordered size 6 and size 8. I usually wear 8-10. But even size 8 was too big. Ended up wearing size 6. The color of the dress is not as bright as it is on the picture. It's much darker and looks more black then navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2012
The dress was very elegant and perfect for the formal wedding I attended.
The material is very heavy, but very comfortable. I typically wear an 8 and actually ordered that as my primary size with the 6 as a back up. The 8 was way too big, but the 6 fit perfectly. I would suggest going a size down.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2013
RTR was an amazing experience!
This dress was absolutely beautiful!!! I received so many comliments - even a "you look like you should be on the red carpet in that dress!". I couldn't believe how well it fit me - it's so difficult to find a dress that fits my pear shaped body. Strapless dresses are out of the question unless altered to fit my very smal bust (34 a). I was pleasantly surprised that the 4 was small enough at the top ( with a padded strapless bra) yet still fit my 9 month post baby hips! The color was just gorgeous, a rich deep blue navy and the material vas very thick. Perfect length on me (5'5") with 2" heels. The condition of this dress was brand new. This was a great experience. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
January 13, 2013
Great dress for a work formal event
I had a formal event I needed to attend with co-workers and my boss and this dress was perfect! It was so classy and I felt completely comfortable around my boss. It did run a little short. I am 5'7" and I ended up having to wear a very low kitten heel, so I may recommend ordering the long if you are tall or plan to wear taller heels. It was also a little tight under my arm, but my bust is on the larger size so it would probably be fine on anyone else. Overall really happy with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
Felt like a movie star!
Very very comforable!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 21, 2013
Best idea ever - never buying a formal dress again!
Like the previous reviewers said, the dress runs large and long. I ended up wearing the 8, although I may have been able to go a size smaller. The dress was gorgeous and both arrived in mint condition. I usually have problems in the chest department, but it fit perfectly there! I will say the side zipper bubbled a bit on both sizes, due to the weight of the fabric, but I was told no one else would notice it. I wore 3" heals and the dress skimmed the floor nicely. All in all a great process - the mail return bag doesn't fit in all mail slots well ( I ended up jamming up our box so the post office may not be too happy with me).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
This dress runs large! I would definitely recommend getting your typical size, and then going down a size for the free back up. The length was also great for me. I was wearing a pair of 4in heels and it still hit the ground. It is also darker in person. I would also recommend this for someone with a larger bust as well. A great gown for any black tie event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 24, 2013
Awesome Awesome Awesome
This dress was so comfortable that I completely focused on the event at hand. My only problem was that since I'm a petite 5'1'' there was a little drag with my 4'' heels. I could have avoided it by wearing a higher platform but I opted for comfort and picking up the dress all night. It was cold out but I didn't notice. Overall I felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
This dress hugged and hid in the right places, I felt AMAZING at the Inaugural Ball I wore it to!
This dress looked AMAZING, especially with hair in a swept-to-the-side up-do (down was a little overwhelming). Just be forewarned that it comes out almost black, not navy in most pictures. The length was perfect for a short person wearing tall-ish heels, and it covered my "issue" areas by skimming, not hugging, which made it flattering. The only caution I'd have
MichelleFebruary 18, 2013
Is this photo of you with heels? I'm the same height and I wanted to see how it would fit. Loved how you accessorized!
MichelleFebruary 19, 2013
Hi, this was without heels. It was still a tiny bit long with 3" heels, so I'd say either wear bigger heels, or use some hem tape. Have fun!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 26, 2013
Sadly, the dress did not work.
I will not be able to wear the dress to my formal event because it is too big throughout the chest and waist, and the hem was too short-- up to my ankles even without shoes on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2013
Beautiful, deep navy gown. Very comfortable and easy to wear.
The shoulder makes the gown! It runs very large so keep that in mind when ordering (I am usually a 12 in all designer gowns/dresses but the 10R was perfect in this one and the 12R way too large). Length was great for me (5'7") with low heels. If you're tall or like to wear heels over 2" I would suggest getting the extra length. It was a very comfortable, easy gown to wear. I received several compliments on the gown.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
The dress arrived just on time...RTR made it very easy.
The fit was great. I got the size 4 and wore just 3 inch heels and I'm about 5'6 and the dress was the right length. It was a little big in the waist area so you could add a belt like some others did but I was at a formal event so I just wanted something simple. I paired it with simple gold/diamond studs, gold with diamond pendant, and gold bracelets. Very simple yet elegant. I'm a bit small chested so I had to tape a little bit on the side where I was exposed but minor fix.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2013
Stunning dress for a black tie event
This dress is absolutely stunning. It is flattering in all the right areas and I was getting so many compliments on it. I wish I had more black tie events so that I could rent this dress more often!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2013
Great gown for a formal affair - tons of compliments!
I loved this gown. It was the perfect dress to wear for the presidential inauguration. The material was great but I wish I had ordered a size smaller because it was way too big on me. I also could've used an extra inch or two on my heels because it was a bit long. Still, great dress and I highly recommend it for anyone going to a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
February 15, 2013
Pretty dress, flattering fit
I ordered this dress as a back up for a formal event and didn't end up wearing it out. The color was a very deep blue, I liked the detail on the one shoulder, the lines of the dress were very flattering. The gown was a bit loose all over, especially in the waist and I had ordered one size down. I am 5'8 and ordered a 10R and the dress barely hit the floor with no shoes on so it does run on the short size as well. Overall it is a very pretty and flattering gown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
February 17, 2013
Comfortable and Classic - perfect fit all around!
Loved this dress! I was hesitant about the fit (especially the arm hole) based on other renters' reviews, but it fit like a glove. I generally wear a size 6, but ended up wearing the 4R to the event, so it ran just a little large. It was comfortable, didn't restrict movement, and the length was perfect with 2 1/2 inch heels. I wore the dress to a black tie benefit, pairing it with metallic strappy heels and oversized studded earrings. It had just a little bit of a train in the back that made it a touch more elegant. The color looked brighter in the model picture, but in real life it was a truer navy. Also, the shoulder ruffles seemed very structured in the model picture, but they had much more movement to them in person. I would definitely recommend this dress to other RTR members. All around it was comfortable, classic, and figure flattering!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
Too SHORT!
I wasnt able to wear this dress as it was about 2 inches to short... too bad as it looked fabulous everwhere! was really disappointed :(
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2013
This dress was amazing! It fit almost perfectly. The material was great for wearing in the winter.
I first ordered the size 6 for this dress in black and it was too big around the bust and the waist for me. I called customer service right away and they were super helpful. They overnighted me the size 4R and it fit much better. They only had the 4L in the black and it was still took long even with my 4 1/2-5 inch heels, so I went for the 4R in the blue. The dress is a lot darker than it appears on the website. It is navy blue, but comes out black in most pictures, unless the flash is really good. The dress is a total eye catcher! All night people were coming up to me asking where I got the dress from! Overall, I had a great experience and will totally rent from RTR again!! Maybe next time I will go for the red!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
March 6, 2013
Loved!!!!!
Gorgeous fitting dress. The material is so forgiving, it hides any imperfections. It was so comfortable, so glamorous, and I loved it!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 18, 2013
Great dress! I got compliments on it all night. Use accessories to make it even more elegant.
Fit great. Not too tight and not too loose. I would suggest a short heal for those tall girls who get this dress in long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 21, 2013
The dress was comfortable and ingot a lot of compliments!
Fit perfectly and was easy to dance in.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfectly elegant and simple!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and loved it. I got many compliments on the dress; it really complimented my curvy body and was super sliming. I was nervous that my butt would not fit so I ordered the next size up, too (I usually wear a 6), but the 4 fit perfectly. The R length was perfect for my 4" heels, but the small train dragged a little bit when I took the heels off for dancing (though I wouldn't have it any shorter...just be aware that the back is a bit longer than the front). The other small downsides were that the right-shoulder strap cut into my shoulder just a bit (but I knew that strap wasn't going anywhere!) and the left side bust was the tiniest bit gap-y (so that I had to pull it up a few times). Those were very small inconveniences and really didn't matter in comparison to the overall experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
April 10, 2013
This was my back-up dress.
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress - but felt it was so beautiful when I put it on and worth reviewing. The armhole is the perfect size - the bust area is the tiniest bit big BUT because of the one-shoulder it works out. The material isn't very forgiving, even being dark - it clung to my body a bit more than I would have liked (it highlighted curves or "dents" I'd rather it wouldn't have)- BUT with a pair of Spanx I would have been good to go and it would have hugged it in all the right ways. I would have worn this dress except for having my heart absolutely set on the dress I actually wore which I had to make many adjustments to make it work. This dress is simple, elegant, and great for any formal event because it can be worn on its own or dressed up with accessories.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 11, 2013
Loved it
The size 6 was a little big in the waist but fit everywhere else. The length was perfect and I wore flats. The fabric is thick but it was not too hot or heavy.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×