You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Major Moment Gown
Rental $70 Retail $745
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with earrings like the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings and a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.
Chat with a Stylist
Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos91

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Carrie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 17, 2012
This dress needs to be retired, it's been washed 10 too many times.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: Nice Material Cons: This dress appears to have been washed too much. The zipper was bunched up as if the material shrunk. The armhole is ridiculously small. It hurt all night and left a red mark. The size is small on top but huge in the waist. I found this dress to be horribly unflattering. I am 5'6", 130lbs and wore a 2R. I couldn't have done a bigger size because it was already big in the waist. I kept my hands on my waist as much as possible to keep from looking like a box. Overall: I felt really bad in this dress, but since I got it the day before, I didn't have time to run out and buy anything new.
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7423
Dec 3, 2012
Great dress but runs a tad long!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on this dress! It did run a tad big and should have went down a size but overall the dress fit well. It is a tad long on the bottom and had to put in some hem tape so it's not ideal for shorter women. I'm 5'2 and was wearing 4 inch heels and the dress still dragged to the floor.
amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Nov 19, 2012
Beautiful dress; very high quality!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little long for my height (5'-2") with 1.5" heels. Used the hem tape and it worked out fine. The material is very nice, high quality. The dress is lined which is great as well. Dress did not need to be steamed or pressed - straight from the box it was ready to go. Wore the size 6; the size 4 was too tight in the arm pit. Loved this dress.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3343
Nov 12, 2012
I got so many complements wearing this dress to a Navy ball! Perfect.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was originally my "back up" but when i got it in the mail i immediately knew it was the one! I ordered a size 2L because I like to wear tall heels and it couldn't have fit me any better. I got many complements and it was the perfect gown for the occasion.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Nov 12, 2012
Perfection! I rented the dress for a corporate black tie event and felt glamorous, yet professional.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way I looked and felt wearing this dress and I received many compliments during the evening. The style is very flattering and gives a beautiful long, lean silhouette. The ruffled shoulder really gives the dress a classy, distinctive look. I normally wear a size 8 dress, so I ordered the size 6 & 8 (Regular) since I'd read that the waist runs a bit big. The 6 fit perfectly through the bustline, and was comfortable through the waist and hips. It was just the right length for my 3 1/2 inch heels. The color is a lovely deep navy shade which complimented my hair color and complextion.The entire experience of renting from Rent the Runway was so positsive and convenient that I will definitely be renting again.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 11, 2012
Beautiful & classic dress!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Quality fabric, the tailoring of the dress was excellent. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress just hit the floor.
DDS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4424
Nov 11, 2012
Great dress for a formal affair
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress for a black tie wedding I was attending. The 4R fit well overall - it was perfect at my bust and great length (I wore the dress with 4" heels). It was a bit loose in the waist/hip area though, which is why I belted it, which turned out fine I think. It's definitely a bit on the heavier side as far as material goes - so better for a cold weather affair. The dress was comfortable, but I kept finding myself adjusting the shoulder strap because it was digging into my skin at times which was a little annoying. Otherwise it's a beautiful, classic dress that's great for any formal affair where you don't want to stand out too much.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 8, 2012
Extremely comfortable, fit perfectly, looks great on curvy figures, had compliments all night. LOVE!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. Like some of the other reviews the dress is a little tighter under the right arm but it isn't uncomfortable. I had people comment on it all night long. It felt awesome! The dress is form fitting in all of the right places and hides those areas we aren't all exactly "slim" in. My ball was in a different state and I was able to pack it in my carry-on and there were no wrinkles in it when I arrived. *Amazing* Overall, my experience with this dress and RTR was phenomenal. I will definitely be ordering through them again. :)
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6424
Sep 11, 2012
Beautiful color, gorgeous one shoulder detail
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'1" and 135-140 lbs. I have a 34D bust and consider myself "hippy". That said, the dress ran large around my bust (at least an inch too big), fit the way I prefer dresses to fit over my hips - not hugging, but skimming. The color of the dress is a beautiful deep blue and the one shoulder detail is gorgeous. The dress is very heavy, though. It is also VERY long. Even with 4 inch heels, I needed the dress hemmed 2 inches. I usually wear an 8, but wore the 10 because of the way the dress fit my hips. The 8 did fit, but would have hugged my body closely - keep in mind when ordering. Paired the dress with Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drop earrings for a Red and Blue Ball.
Nancy
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 9334
Nov 4, 2012
I got many compliments on the dress! Even in a sea of sparkles the timeless shape really stood out.
Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really well. I was a little worried that the ruffle would be overwhelming, but it was a perfect accent to the style. The RTR staff was super helpful and so friendly; all the good things I've heard about their customer service is definitely true! My only issue was that the material was pretty thick and it was really hot underneath. Other than that I was very happy with the dress and will definitely be renting again.
Joyce
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9641
Oct 25, 2012
Perfect fit and received lots of compliments!
Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazingly beautiful dress. This dress my my second choice as my first choice became unavailable 3 days before my event. Tough this was very disappointing, the RTR staff were amazingly helpful. They turned a very negative situation into a positive outcome. I am still an RTR fan. The dress was so well made and the fabric was the finest.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Oct 21, 2012
Dress was awesome - but it runs very large and very long.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is gorgeous and extremely flattering - the color is great. Beware that it runs long and large, so size down. I usually wear an 8 or 10, and i got a 6 and 8 (after reading other reviews about how big it runs). The 6 fit well, but was still a little looser than I'd expect. Length - I'm 5'10" and was wearing 3 inch heels and the back of the dress was still dragging on the ground. The front was fine (it's kind of a 'shorter in the front, longer in the back' situation) though.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 20, 2012
Perfect solution for bridesmaid dresses!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Love love LOVED wearing this dress as the maid of honor in my sisters wedding. I felt like a goddess.
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 11, 2012
Elegant black tie wedding dress
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a fall black tie wedding and could not have been happier! I received compliments on the dress all night. I am usually between a size 4 and 6. The smaller size was definitely a better fit and I would suggest renting a size smaller than usual. I'm a little taller than average and the long was a perfect choice with my 2.5 in. heels. I also added my own belt, which I felt complimented the dress well. Without the belt, there isn't any seeming to define your waist. I would suggest this beautiful dress to anyone for a wedding or formal event!
Tricia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 8, 2012
Very elegant dress, understated glamor. I felt fabulous all night!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric + lining is heavy, which makes it both forgiving and a great choice for a fall/winter event. A belt, as shown by some of the other reviewers, is a great idea, however because the dress was very loose in the waist. Overall this dress was very comfortable and I received many compliments throughout the night!
Jeannette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Oct 7, 2012
This was a beautiful gown--understated and elegant.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am a pretty true size 8 but the size 6 fit me perfectly, including length with 3" heels. This was my backup dress but I ended up wearing it because my first choice was more low cut than I expected. This was my first experience with RTR and they are amazing. I will probably never buy another dress!
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Sep 24, 2012
Comfortable and flattering, but a bit short.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and was so happy it was the one I picked. The material is fairly thick, which made it pretty forgiving. I was planning to wear spanx but didn't need to. Although the thickness means (good or bad) you'll be warm in it too. I ordered the 6L and then the 4L as my backup. I went with the 4 as the 6 seemed like there was too much extra material in the midsection. However, as the night wore on, I noticed the bust felt really tight, as did the arm holes, so maybe the 6 would have been the way to go. Either way, I got a ton of compliments and was really happy with how it looked. The one issue I had was with length. I am 5'8"/5'9"ish and when I stood in bare feet, the dress only came to the top of my feet. For a Long I was expecting much more length. I even called customer service to confirm that they'd send me Longs. The woman I spoke to was very nice and said that the records showed I was sent the Long, but she agreed that sounded really short. She offered for me to select something else but between being short on time and not loving any other the other options that were left last minute, I decided to stick with this. I did have to run out and buy some very low heeled shoes, but in the end it looked fine and my feet probably hurt a lot less than they would have in taller heels.
MPS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 7543
Sep 19, 2012
Stunning gown!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a special date night, and it was even more beautiful than I expected! The color is a deeper navy than in the model photo, and looked beautiful with sparkly bracelet and earrings. I usually wear a size 8 or 10, and decided to go with a 10L based on fitting notes. It worked out, but I actually think an 8 would have fit slightly better as I found this a tad large for me. Anyway, this is a gorgeous, flattering dress that will make you feel like a movie star!
christine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6533
Sep 9, 2012
Rent the Runway was amazing, I would use them again.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a formal wedding. It is gorgeous. People commented all night on it. It is very dark blue-almost looks black. It is heavy material-very warm-I wouldn't want to wear it on a really hot summer night. '
Devin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4523
Aug 13, 2012
That I felt stunning and even more beautiful than I have ever felt in a long time. It was a perfect dress and I wish I could buy it!!!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love this dress. To the point I need to buy it. I received SOO many compliments it felt like my wedding day. I used one of my grandmom's vintage belt to break up the color and add a bit of pop. It runs big because usually I am a 4 and I chose the 2 over the 0 because I wanted it to move more and flow while I danced.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Aug 13, 2012
Having guests of the wedding, who spent hundreds of dollars on their dresses, comment on my Rent The Runway Dress. I was promoting RTR all night long and proud of it!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I needed to rent a dress for my bosses black tie wedding in CA. I would usually wear a 6, however the reviews stated this dress ran a tad bigger. I rented the 4L, instead of an 8L, for the second size. Fit like a glove! I got comments on it all night long!
Jen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jul 16, 2012
I got compliments on the dress all night. I just wish I could afford to buy it!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented a 2L and 4L expecting that I would wear the 2L, but not wanting to risk having it too snug (I recently starting wearing a size 2... I've been a size 4/6 for years so have not yet really come around to the idea that I might be a size 2). It turns out that the 2L was still a little roomy, especially in the waist. I do have a really narrow waist for my size so I added a belt and it worked perfectly. I wore with about 3.5 inch heels and the length worked. I'm 5'9" and 135 lbs with a small B cup (the top could have been snugger, but I wasn't pulling it up all night). Also, the original 2L I received had a rip in the seam on the chest and I called RTR that day (they were really helpful and assured me that the dress never should have been sent out that way). They made sure I had a new dress the next morning, in plenty of time for the event.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jun 2, 2012
A beautiful gown and a super easy rental process
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as my backup for a black tie gala. It was very pretty, and I loved the shoulder ruffle, but the dress was way too big in the waist and hips. My first choice dress arrived very wrinkled, and I had an "uh oh" moment, where I was worried the wrinkles wouldn't come out and I would have to figure out how to make the backup dress work for the function. I played around with dressy belts to cinch the waist, and this actually worked quite well. Luckily, the wrinkles were removed, and I didn't need to turn to plan B. I really liked this dress, though, and would consider renting it again in a smaller size. A friend, who usually wears a size six, ended up wearing this gown, and it looked beautiful on her! I heard her receiving compliments throughout the evening!
Allyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
May 20, 2012
Everyone told me how great the dress looked! No one else had one like it.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this stunning dress to prom and could not have loved it any more. I wore the two, as it was true to size and really showed off my figure(thanks to spanx!). I am 5'4" and with 3 inch heels on you could see my shoes in the front and not the back, but it didn't bother me. I paired this dress with gold chandelier earrings, gold bracelets, gold heels and a gold clutch. Absolutely fabulous and will FOR SURE rent the runway again!
ssl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5423
Apr 25, 2012
I was in the receiving line at the event and one of the wives, looked at me and said, I love your dress, I'm not just saying that... I LOVE your dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in both the red and the navy thinking I would be a size 6, which is what I wear in pretty much everything. The Red version was my first choice but unfortunately I had ordered the red in the 6 and 8, then the navy in 4 and 6. The 4 in this dress fit perfectly and was just the right length with a 3 inch heel. I am 5 3'. The dress was in perfect condition and is definitely a high quality gown. It moved really well, and was very easy to wear. The whole RTR experience was wonderful. The customer service was incredible as always!
Annemarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Mar 25, 2012
Easy process & felt like a million bucks for just $150!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie work gala. I wanted to something elegant and not have to worry about too much decollete/cleavage showing. I normally am a size 10 but I ended up fitting perfectly into the size 8L. I recommend going down a size for your back up dress size. I am 5' 9" and the long was perfect with my 4 inch heels. The dress is a dark blue but most of my photos make it look like it's black. It was so comfortable and I highly recommend renting this dress if you want to go for a more elegant look.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3531
Mar 9, 2012
Such a classic, grown up evening gown - I felt like Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffanys :-)
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size and was a beautiful fitted shape. The one shoulder detail is very glamorous - I felt wonderful!
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Feb 26, 2012
The feeling of walking into the room fully confident in my appearance.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the most beautiful, elegant dress. I ordered this dress and the Precious Saphire dress for a military ball. Both arrived in perfect condition. If they had been worn before, you couldn't tell. Both dress were absolutely gorgeous, fit perfectly (I usually where an 8 or a 10 for the chest). I order the 8L and 10L. The 8L looked like it was made for me. It skimmed over the parts I don't like and with 3.5 in heals it still went all the way to the floor given the illusion of a taller, thinner silhouette. This was my first experience with RTR. I usually purchase a $125-$200 dress for these balls. From now on I will rent a more expensive dress because the difference was immediately clear. The fabric was so much more luxurious and the construction and cut were superior. Plus, being able to fold the dress up in the morning, pop it in the envelope and never worry about it again was fantastic!
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5442
Apr 15, 2014
This was my backup dress and was beautiful, I decided against wearing it.
Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would highly recommend planning in a belt if you're more slender. The fabric is pretty thick, and the dress wasn't very fitted. It just didn't work with my body type!
Anna
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 9443
Apr 14, 2014
It was a last minute dress, but it saved the day!
Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually wear this dress for my event; there was a mix up with my order and RTR was AWESOME and sent this dress as a back up. My original dress came in on time, and was better suited for my event, but I still tried this dress on just in case. It fit like a dream, and looked incredible on my body! Even without Spanx, it smoothed over my curves and give me an incredible hourglass figure. I would definitely rent it again for a formal event! It was flattering, timeless, and beautiful. I felt like it was a very sophisticated dress that would be even more of a showstopper with the right jewelry!
Lina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6233
Apr 12, 2014
Lovely dress, but didn't fit like I would have liked it too.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a gorgeous dress. I usually wear a size 8 regular, but there were no dresses of my size for the date I needed it by so I rented the 6L and 10R. Both fit me but not in the way I would have liked it too. The dress is very forgiving meaning that it will hide things you want it to hide but for me it was too loose. I wanted something a little tighter. I would have wore it if I didn't have another dress. The other thing was that the back is longer than the front so you have to be careful with stepping on the back. It is darker than it looks in the picture but it's really elegant.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Apr 11, 2014
Didn't wear this dress
Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I selected this as my backup dress but wound up wearing my original selection. This dress didn't do anything for my figure it just hung straight down.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2224
Apr 2, 2014
Lovely dress but a little big
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First I want to emphasize two things other customers said that are really very very true: 1. This is dress is so dark blue it really does almost look black in pictures and 2. The inner hanging strap on the side without the shoulder tends to pop out all the time so make sure to tape or pin it or something so it isn't bothersome. I am normally a 0, with varying success, and this dress was very large on me - enough where I could pull out the side and have over 1-2 inches of free space. That being said, the material is not very stretchy so don't overestimate that when sizing either. I think another factor for me was that the strap was a little long on my short torso. However, I wore it anyway and overall it was a good experience. I even recommended RTR to a stranger who asked where my dress was from. ;)
Lilla
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Mar 31, 2014
Dress was ill-fitting and too short. Would not recommend.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I have had great luck on renting dresses from RTR before, but this was my first bad experience. The dress was tight on the best (I am average chested) and way to loose in the waste/hips/butt. It was so bad, i didn't end up wearing it. At 5'8 and with 3 inch heels the long was too short. I thought the dress was ill-fitting and I would not recommend it for rental. Shame, because I have had such great experiences with RTR before.
rmbr
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6431
Mar 24, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable - I received so many compliments!!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a black tie event for the charity I work for. I received this dress in a 6r and 8r, since the reviews said it ran large and I hoped to be able to wear flats or low heels. The 6 fit perfectly and the 8 was way too big. Beware -- the dress is significantly shorter in the front than the back ( you could see my ankles!) so I called RTR in the hopes they would have a 6L they could swap for me. They had one and sent it and it was perfect! It did stretch a little at the top and by the end of the night was less snug but I was happy with my purchase!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5334
Mar 17, 2014
Great dress and great color!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress, and the ruffles on the one shoulder made it really stand out! I also loved the little flare out at the bottom that swished when I walked. I'm 5'7, and 6R was too short for heels but just a bit too long for flats so I wore the 6L with 3 inch heels. It was about an inch above the floor, but with the way the dress flows out at the ends, you couldn't tell that it was an inch shorter than I wanted it. It did pinch a bit at the top which had the unflattering side effect of squishing things, including my arms when I held them at my side, but other than that I'd rent it again.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4424
Mar 4, 2014
Very comfortable. Perfect length.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dark navy gown. Not too form fitting. Cn wear strapless bra. Could use some sparkle around the waist. Perfect for a black-tie affair!
Kathryn
Age: 19
Canonical User Type: 1311
Mar 2, 2014
Dancing with my friends and wonderful date!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I had gotten a 2L but it was still perfect
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Feb 27, 2014
Very flattering dress!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually a size 4 and wore the 4L in this dress. It fit really nicely and was really slimming. There was a little bit of room in the waist, but it still looked great. I'm 5'8'' and am SO glad I ordered the long. I wore 3-4 inch heels and you could see my shoes so the regular length definitely would have been too short. Just keep in mind that your shoes will show so have a pair that you like. I wore Spanx with it which was really helpful because I didn't feel like I needed to suck in all night. Overall, it's a very beautiful (and comfortable!) dress. It's a great quality fabric, beautiful dark navy color and is super flattering. I loved it!
Jess
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Feb 25, 2014
This dress was amazing!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of this dress was true to size and beautifully made. I wore it to a formal military dinner and it was beautiful but still conservative enough as well. I wore the long and it was just right with 3 inch heels. Highly recommend for any formal occasion!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress