Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$60 – $90 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
388 reviews
Fit
Large
(147)
True to Size
(186)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
April 26, 2017
Great dress! Is navy in color. Wore the 4P versus 4R as I am 5-2" and wore 3 inch wedge heels.
Was a little loose in the waist but I preferred it that way. It was a very comfortable dress. Loved it and received a lot of compliments. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 174lbs
April 23, 2017
I didn't love it.
This dress wasn't bad. But I just didn't feel like it did anything for me. I also felt like the zipper fell kind of funny on the side, and as a result the dress wasn't smooth. I chose not to wear the dress, but think that it could look better on someone else.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 18, 2017
Made me feel like a queen 4 months postpartum.
First time renting the Runway. Can't believe how easy and beautiful the gown was. Came to the rescue for my dad's wedding. True to size, wore w/o bra and with shape wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
April 17, 2017
Wearing this dress at a NYC Wedding was great!
Pros: Very comfortable and flattering Cons: Should have gotten petite as the dress dragged a bit for me because I dont like to wear high heels
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2017
Having a dress delivered right to me in time for the event was a life-saver!
I ordered this dress as a backup after the first two dresses I ordered didn't work out. It arrived exactly when they said it would arrive the day of the event so I had no idea if this would work out. To my surprise it fit like a glove! Added benefit - I unfortunately got a sunburn on my right arm earlier in the day that this dress perfect covered up! Being only 5'2" I needed to make sure I wasn't tripping over my dress all night and this was a great length for me. I only had 2.5" shoes so the dress came about 3" off the ground which was a little higher than I wanted but it wasn't detrimental to the whole outfit. I got so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162lbs
April 12, 2017
It was a beautiful wedding
This was my back up dress for a wedding I planned to attend. I did not wear this dress for a number of reasons. I'm 5'8", 36C, 166 lbs, and a pear shape. Unfortunately, this did not drape across my hips the way I would have preferred as there were creases and a horrible side zip seam that distorted the appearance of my hips. The dress was also too big in the top. I also found the dress to be a little too short (without shoes on). I imagine this flatters more straight body types. I wouldn't recommend this for pear shapes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
April 9, 2017
The perfect dress!
This dress was a back up to my back up, which was unavailable at the last minute. I picked this dress on a whim, and I'm so glad I did! It fit like a glove! The cut of the mid section is very flattering. I ended up wearing a corset underneath to give me a better profile, but honestly it would have been fine with regular spanx. I'm a little small up top, but a VS bombshell bra filled it out fine. If you're very chesty, this may not be the dress for you. I loved the color, which is a dark navy. My only very minor complaint is that I wish it were slightly longer. I'm 5'6" and wore a 1 1/2 inch heel and it was about an inch too short in the front. Very comfortable, no slipping on the top. Was able to mingle and dance all night without having to constantly readjust the dress. Overall, great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2017
Showing up in this dress to an Oscar Gala was an unforgettable experience!
This dress is gorgeous on and off the hanger. It's elegant and comfortable. It's a deep, rich navy color. I normally wear a size 6 but ended up wearing the size 4 with no problems. It definitely fits a little looser through the mid section. I have that mom tummy and this dress was very flattering. I'm 5'1" and with 2.5 inch heels, the dress hung perfectly. The fabric has a silky feel so it feels as luxurious as it looks.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
March 31, 2017
The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable!
I'm 43 years old and wore this dress to a black-tie gala for a charity. The dress was so comfortable and I received so many compliments. I loved the color too. I would definitely rent this dress again. I ordered the 8R and wore the back-up size 6R. I'm 144 lbs, 34DDD and 5'6" tall. I wore 3.5 inch heels and the length was perfect. I thought the dress was slimming too. The specialist I worked with too was very helpful in helping me choose the right size dress to order and the previous reviews that I read through. Thank you for a great experience!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 26, 2017
Stunning dress. Received tons of comments.
Wore this to a NYC ballet gala, and received compliments from everyone. Super slim and fitting. Really shows off curves. I'm 5'4 and had to wear 4" heels with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2017
Fancy
Too fitted for me around my hips and stomach area but cute dress
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 20, 2017
Perfect for the occasion
This dress was so pretty and I'm perfect condition. I ordered the 6 and 8 regular. The 6 fit great, just a little roomy in the waist. I wore this to a St. Patrick's Day ball. I got compliments all night. Great first experience and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect fit
I could not have asked for the dress to fit any better. It was perfect. This was my fist time to rent and I will be doing it again soon.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
March 13, 2017
I wore this for a black tie optional charity gala and it was perfect!
I LOVED THIS DRESS! Beautiful, classy--it is super flattering and because it's not too fitted across the stomach, it was very comfortable all night. I wore 3 in heels with it and they were a good height for the length of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2017
This dress was comfortable, beautiful, and flattering! I got compliments all night! It is a classic!
The fit was great, however there was a little bit of room in my ribcage/stomach area (which truthfully was nice!). I loved the deep navy color and the shoulder accent was just the right amount of detail without being too much. The look is very classic and the fit is comfortable!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2017
Mardi Gras 2017
I selected this dress at the last minute. It's not my typical style; I am a bit more "flashy" and with it being the Mardi Gras season here, I usually like something with flair. I liked the style of this dress but was unsure that it would work for Mardi Gras. When the dress arrived, I tried both sizes on and they fit relatively the same; although the 12 was probably the better fit, I decided to go with the 14 for the night of the ball. (There's lots of dancing, drinks and food at a Mardi Gras ball and I wanted to make sure I had enough "wiggle room" to last through the evening!). I chose correctly! This dress was comfortable and very pretty. I received lots of compliments. When I put it on, I noticed that it was "understated" but the ruffle on the one shoulder gave it just enough "flair". Since the dress was flat and the color was dark, I paired it with some sparkly jewelry and a sequined clutch so I'd have the shine I'm used to having for Mardi Gras. This was a perfect dress and I enjoyed wearing it and how I looked wearing it. I wish I was able to upload pictures; I will try to do so at a later time, if possible.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 19, 2017
Beautiful dress.
I ordered the 4R and the 6R. I typically wear 6-8. The 4R fit best. Only thing was I had to go buy shorter heels. Typically wear 3 1/2 -4" but with the 4R I could see too much of my shoes. I would rent this dress again.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
February 8, 2017
This event was so amazing! I was celebrating a friend being introduced into society.
The dress fit true to size. I was comfortable dancing in it, and I loved the way it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2017
Elegant
The color was darker in person than I expected (true navy). I'm 5'3 and with 3.5 inch heels - length was perfect.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 6, 2017
Loved the dress! Could have downsized.
I thought the dress was elegant and beautiful. I wore it for Barrister's Ball at my law school and it was my first rental at rent the runway. I am glad that I ordered a backup size 2P because the 4P (which I thought was my size) was wayyy too big. I could have sized down for a tighter fit (the dress was a little loose around the midsection, but normal at the bottom). The dress is a lot darker than the the photo online - I would describe the dress as being a dark navy blue. Either way, I thought that, for my event, the darker blue was nicer. I would recommend this dress and I will definitely be ordering from here again! My measurements are: 5ft 2.5 inches; 34B; pear shaped (smaller top/ midsection and bigger bottom); 128lbs.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2017
Great dress for a work gala
I rented this dress for my work Christmas gala. It was true to the size, though it did bunch around the zipper. I really didn't notice it though. It's made of a great material and I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Weight: 185lbs
November 21, 2016
I wore this dress to a ball and I loved it.
We rented the Navy Tuxedo and paired with this dress was perfect. I am 5'4 and I wore 3 inch heels which was perfect. This dress allowed me to dance the night away with our tugging the top because there is good coverage if you are a little more modest. My back up size was a 12 and it fit better but seem to be made different and that caused a bulk in the back so I went with the 14 because it laid better. I loved the comfort and class that this dress gave me . I was 100% happy with this choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2016
Classic sophistication in comfort
Dress was perfect length! I'm 5'9'' and wore heels. Fabric is nice mid-heavy weight, so no pantylines! Comfy enough for sit-down dinner and dancing. Will definitely order again.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 12, 2016
Elegant
I originally ordered was another dress with a backup size. A couple of days before the dresses were to arrive, RTR emailed me saying that one of the dresses was no longer available. I was able to order another dress and I choose this one which I ended up wearing! I received so many compliments. My only Con about this dress is that it wasn't long enough for me. From the model in the photos, it shows the heim doesn't go straight, but with an angle. It was still up too high for my liking.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 25, 2016
Perfect fit!
First time trying Rent the Runway and I couldn't be happier. This dress was sent to me after my original dress became unavailable at the last minute. This dress was super flattering as the material drapes beautifully due to the satin liner. Received so many compliments and danced the night away as it was so comfortable. The petite size was about an inch too short (I'm 5'4") and I didn't wear a bra. Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2016
Classic & Elegant!
I wore this amazing dress for formal wedding and got nothing but compliments on it!! It is a classic dress and fit a formal wedding to a tee without taking attention away from the beautiful bride!! I absolutely loved this gown (and so did my husband)! I ordered an 8R, but I may have been able to get away with a 6R. I had some extra room, especially is the waist and chest area (which is a surprise because I'm a 34DD). However, with the one shoulder style, no one noticed it being a tab bit big besides me. The fabric laid so smooth on the body and moved with me throughout a night full of dancing! I'm 5'5" and wore 3" heels and probably had about a 1/2" to spare. I got caught under a couple of people's heels during the night, but it's a small price to pay for my feet not killing me all night long. The one big annoyance with this dress is that the loops sewn on the inside of the dress on the strapless side are sewn at the top seam so it was almost near to impossible to keep them tucked in. I even safety-pinned them down and they still made several appearances throughout the night. I will definitely rent this dress again and will more than likely being trying the red one for another black tie wedding in a couple of weeks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 1, 2016
The dress was SO COMFORTABLE! It was sleek and classic.
I tend to wear a 6P in everything, but the 4P fit like a glove.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 26, 2016
Husband couldn't stop with the compliments!
LOVED this dress. Felt so comfortable and super sexy at the same time. Dress was a little shorter than I thought (I am 5'6" and a 34DDD) so I should have rented the long and not the regular. I also rented the Lulu Frost Nicandra drop earring so add a little edge to the outfit. Overall this was a WINNER!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
May 24, 2016
Dress was beautiful, very comfortable.
Was not as long as I would have liked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
May 18, 2016
Wonderful service! Beautiful dress!
I originally ordered a different dress that didn't fit when it came in so RTR overnighted this dress and gave me credit for the difference between the 2 prices. The dress fit true to size and was comfortable except for a little pulling under the armpit. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2016
Classic and elegant dress
The dress fit well. It drapes beautifully and I loved how it moved. I am 5'4" tall and with 3" heels the length was perfect. It just skimmed the floor. I felt that the dress worked well for my body type. I carry weight in my middle and this dress was very flattering. Loved it!
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2016
Very comfortable dress!! Everyone liked it!
Very flattering, not too hot, runs larger through abdomen
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 26, 2016
Gorgeous, slimming, amazing!
I rented this dress to wear to a gala I attended and I absolutely loved it! I'm always nervous about getting a full-length gown, being that I'm not even quite 5 feet tall, but this dress worked out beautifully. It was just a BIT wide in the waist, so I used a long string of pearls as a belt, which complimented the rich navy hue very well. I loved the one-shoulder aspect of the dress, and the shoulder ruffle gave it that little something "extra". I paired it with gold accessories and nude heels. I loved this dress so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 19, 2016
Runs very large!
I ordered this as a back-up dress for my law school formal event but unfortunately could not wear it because it was entirely too big. I ordered 3 total dresses: two were size 10R (including the one I ended up wearing) and this one I ordered in an 8L based on all the reviews I read that suggested sizing down because the dress ran big. Well, I did size down but apparently not enough--the 8 was just way too big...so Yes, the other reviewers are right--definitely order this in at least 1 or 2 sizes down from your normal size. Other than that, it was a great material and gorgeous style dress. Just wish it would've fit!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
April 4, 2016
This one shoulder look was different yet still classic!
This dress felt amazing on and fit perfectly. It hid the lumps and made everything look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 230lbs
April 3, 2016
Classy and understated
This dress fit very nicely with a simple long-line smoother underneath- surprisingly roomy through the hips even though it comes across as form fitting. The strapless side is cut high enough, so I never had any moments where I worried about needing to pull it up or adjust it. Very comfortable and lined, which I love. Only problem is what others have mentioned, that the zipper side is very bunched up all along the seam; I suppose the fabric and zipper are just too bulky to lay flat and flow nicely. Overall, I didn't feel that it ruined the line of the dress or felt strange/annoying. Lots of compliments on the style and found it to be a flattering dress that allowed a little sexy with good coverage on a larger size girl. ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 28, 2016
Beautiful dress, but I didn't wear it because it was too big and too long.
Great dress! I decided to go with a different dress after trying this one on. The smaller back up sizes wasn't available so I actually ended up wearing a different dress in a sizes 0. I am 5'7 and ordered a long. I wish I had ordered a regular length as well because I do not wear more than 3 inch heels. Overall, my RTR was great, and I would do it again :)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 23, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was perfect for the Red Shoe Gala.
I was able to wear a size down and it fit like a glove. The only negative is that it puckered a lot along the zipper area and was somewhat unflattering on the left side. I'm glad I ordered a long because it was the perfect length with and without a 3'inch heel. The regular would have been way too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2016
Gorgeous dress for a black tie wedding!
Loved this dress! I got so many complements at the wedding we attended. It definitely runs big, I typically wear a 2 but would have wanted to wear a 0. I'm about 5'5 and wore flats and the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 20, 2016
Glamorous dress
I normally wear an 8 but easily fit into the 6. I felt very glamorous in this dress and received so many compliments. The color is classic and the fabric/cut was flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×