Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
360 reviews
Fit
Large
(144)
True to Size
(172)
Small
(10)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 21, 2013
Best idea ever - never buying a formal dress again!
Like the previous reviewers said, the dress runs large and long. I ended up wearing the 8, although I may have been able to go a size smaller. The dress was gorgeous and both arrived in mint condition. I usually have problems in the chest department, but it fit perfectly there! I will say the side zipper bubbled a bit on both sizes, due to the weight of the fabric, but I was told no one else would notice it. I wore 3" heals and the dress skimmed the floor nicely. All in all a great process - the mail return bag doesn't fit in all mail slots well ( I ended up jamming up our box so the post office may not be too happy with me).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
This dress runs large! I would definitely recommend getting your typical size, and then going down a size for the free back up. The length was also great for me. I was wearing a pair of 4in heels and it still hit the ground. It is also darker in person. I would also recommend this for someone with a larger bust as well. A great gown for any black tie event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 24, 2013
Awesome Awesome Awesome
This dress was so comfortable that I completely focused on the event at hand. My only problem was that since I'm a petite 5'1'' there was a little drag with my 4'' heels. I could have avoided it by wearing a higher platform but I opted for comfort and picking up the dress all night. It was cold out but I didn't notice. Overall I felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2012
Love love love!
This dress was a big hit for my black tie event! It was very comfortable and easy to wear. It's a little shorter in front and longer in back so you need to wear super high heels (I'm short 5'2"). It was a showstopper. It's darker than it's pictured almost black but so beautiful. I would rent it again in a heartbeat! Oh and true to size, perfect!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2012
valentine dance
This is a great dress and fits true to size. I got a lot of compliments at the party. The only minor issue is that it rubbed under my armpit since it was a heavier dress.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
February 17, 2012
Stunning!
Such a classic dress - a flattering fit! The color is darker than the photo, but is still a beautiful navy blue. The fabric is fairly heavy, but still wearable. The length is appropriate and the ruffle isn't at all overwhelming like I was worried it would be. I am 5' 4" and wore ~3" heels... the shoes would only poke out when I would walk.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 26, 2012
The feeling of walking into the room fully confident in my appearance.
This is the most beautiful, elegant dress. I ordered this dress and the Precious Saphire dress for a military ball. Both arrived in perfect condition. If they had been worn before, you couldn't tell. Both dress were absolutely gorgeous, fit perfectly (I usually where an 8 or a 10 for the chest). I order the 8L and 10L. The 8L looked like it was made for me. It skimmed over the parts I don't like and with 3.5 in heals it still went all the way to the floor given the illusion of a taller, thinner silhouette. This was my first experience with RTR. I usually purchase a $125-$200 dress for these balls. From now on I will rent a more expensive dress because the difference was immediately clear. The fabric was so much more luxurious and the construction and cut were superior. Plus, being able to fold the dress up in the morning, pop it in the envelope and never worry about it again was fantastic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 27, 2012
lovely!
This was just a fabulous fit and oh so pretty! It honestly couldn't have fit any better. I am 5"6 and the long fit perfectly with 2 1/2 3 inch shoes. The color is a very deep navy (almost black).
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
March 9, 2012
Such a classic, grown up evening gown - I felt like Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffanys :-)
The dress fit true to size and was a beautiful fitted shape. The one shoulder detail is very glamorous - I felt wonderful!
shellyMarch 17, 2012
Sarah looks stunning!
FerJune 20, 2012
you look stunning!!
TeresaAugust 14, 2012
Stunning. You wore it beautifully!
ChrissieDecember 21, 2012
You need to buy this dress!!!! Gorgeous. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 25, 2012
Easy process & felt like a million bucks for just $150!
I rented this dress for a black tie work gala. I wanted to something elegant and not have to worry about too much decollete/cleavage showing. I normally am a size 10 but I ended up fitting perfectly into the size 8L. I recommend going down a size for your back up dress size. I am 5' 9" and the long was perfect with my 4 inch heels. The dress is a dark blue but most of my photos make it look like it's black. It was so comfortable and I highly recommend renting this dress if you want to go for a more elegant look.
SaraAugust 15, 2012
Hi Anne Marie - I am basically the same size you are - wondering how it fit in the hip and butt since this is where I normally need a 10. In the photos, it looks like it has an easy fit in that area. Wondered what your experience was.
AnnemarieAugust 18, 2012
I missed this question in time for Sara, but will answer in the hopes it helps someone else with the same question! This dress is great for anyone concerned with their hips and/or butt. It really is so flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2012
Classy, elegant gown!
I seriously felt like Kate Middleton in this dress. It is very well made and just as pictured. The fit is very flattering as well.
RTR CustomerJuly 21, 2012
what height shoes did you wear. I am 5'6" and ordered regular length but I'm still trying to figure out what type of shoes I need....
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Regular length measures 58'' from shoulder to hem, so we recommend taking a quick measurement from the top of your shoulder down. This length will probably be best with a 2" heel
RTR CustomerJuly 24, 2012
thank you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 25, 2012
I was in the receiving line at the event and one of the wives, looked at me and said, I love your dress, I'm not just saying that... I LOVE your dress!
I ordered this dress in both the red and the navy thinking I would be a size 6, which is what I wear in pretty much everything. The Red version was my first choice but unfortunately I had ordered the red in the 6 and 8, then the navy in 4 and 6. The 4 in this dress fit perfectly and was just the right length with a 3 inch heel. I am 5 3'. The dress was in perfect condition and is definitely a high quality gown. It moved really well, and was very easy to wear. The whole RTR experience was wonderful. The customer service was incredible as always!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2012
Really fabulous
I felt like a million dollars in this dress. It was elegant yet comfortable and fun yet classic. I would recommend for any age and body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2012
elegant and on-the-money
I rented this for a black-tie fundraiser for a Religious Charity. I didn't want to look dowdy but I needed to be careful about the sex-appeal. This dress did the trick! My husband loved it :) and I felt beautiful in it. The material is very luxurious and hangs just right. The shoulder "ruffle" is graceful, not obnoxious and moves elegantly. I was glad I went a size down as my back-up (which I wore) because it would have been too baggy in the waist and hips. And the blue was a "just-right" alternative to black!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
May 14, 2012
Too big to wear
I'm a 0, and this dress runs big. There was nothing smaller for me to rent, so it was loose and I didn't want to wear it to the event. It was also long for me a 5'3". RTR customer service was supportive and helpful. The dress was good quality, a nice weight, and would look good on most anyone--but depending on your shape, maybe not great for a size 0 :(
JenniferAugust 22, 2012
Thank you for your review!! I'm 5' 1" and 98 lbs and have the exact same concern. Were there any formal dresses/designers you found in a 0 that did work for your petite size?
CarlyAugust 27, 2012
I am having the same problem! Jennifer, I am the exact same height & weight. Did you find anything that worked?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Carly! Reem Acra, Bibhu Mohpatra, and Matthew Williamson tend to run small, so these designers would be great for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
Everyone told me how great the dress looked! No one else had one like it.
I wore this stunning dress to prom and could not have loved it any more. I wore the two, as it was true to size and really showed off my figure(thanks to spanx!). I am 5'4" and with 3 inch heels on you could see my shoes in the front and not the back, but it didn't bother me. I paired this dress with gold chandelier earrings, gold bracelets, gold heels and a gold clutch. Absolutely fabulous and will FOR SURE rent the runway again!
EstherApril 7, 2013
You look gorgeous! Would you mind asking your friend on the right in the light blue dress where she got her dress? Thanks
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 23, 2012
Simple Elegance
This wasn't my first choice....but my first choice was unavailable, so I went with this one. I'm glad I did! I had strangers walk up to me and tell me that my dress was stunning. This runs true to size to slightly large. If you are above 5-7, you need to get the long. The way this dress hangs and flows on your body is so flattering. You just can't tell from the pictures. It's awesome and if you're considering this even as your 2nd choice, you will not be disappointed. Oh, and get the "mystery bling" I am very glad I did...the earrings they sent me were AMAZING with this dress! Perfect look, perfect night.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
I got compliments on the dress all night. I just wish I could afford to buy it!
I rented a 2L and 4L expecting that I would wear the 2L, but not wanting to risk having it too snug (I recently starting wearing a size 2... I've been a size 4/6 for years so have not yet really come around to the idea that I might be a size 2). It turns out that the 2L was still a little roomy, especially in the waist. I do have a really narrow waist for my size so I added a belt and it worked perfectly. I wore with about 3.5 inch heels and the length worked. I'm 5'9" and 135 lbs with a small B cup (the top could have been snugger, but I wasn't pulling it up all night). Also, the original 2L I received had a rip in the seam on the chest and I called RTR that day (they were really helpful and assured me that the dress never should have been sent out that way). They made sure I had a new dress the next morning, in plenty of time for the event.
KateNovember 20, 2012
Hi, I am thinking about renting this dress but I also have a narrow waist, where did you get your belt? Thanks!
KerriNovember 27, 2012
Hi.. i have the same question about the belt. Love the combination if you wouldn't mind sharing.
JenDecember 10, 2012
I don't actually remember where I bought the belt. I think it may have been from Express but a few seasons ago. Sorry!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
July 19, 2012
Classic Elegance
I wore this dress to a formal business function. From the moment I put it on I didn’t want to take it off. The fabric hung beautifully and the dress was so comfortable I felt tall and elegant all evening without needing to fuss with it at all. I ordered a 4L and a 2R. I definitely needed the long – I am 5’9” and the regular was too short. This dress is the embodiment of classic elegance – I hope to have another occasion to wear it again! (In terms of body type I am tall and thin, but I do have hips and the dress worked perfectly.)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 3, 2012
Beautiful
Looked great, fit great. I had to wear 2" or lower heels, so the regular length worked best for me (I'm 5'6"). If I wanted higher heels, the long definitely would have been better. The 0R fit and wasn't tight but didn't hang as nicely so I went with the 2. I liked that it has a slight train in the back so that my shoes showed and I didn't trip on the front. I received MANY compliments. My only complaint was that it came wrinkled and they didn't fall out by the second day being hung in a steamy bathroom. But I don't think they were that noticeable. Great "buy"!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Elegant but way too big
I rented this dress for a regional Emmy awards show. I'm a pretty solid 8, but I usually try a 6 too. When I tried the 6L on, I didn't even bother trying the 8 because the 6 hung so loosely on me. The fabric is heavy and just kind of hangs, which I guess can be good if you want to hide curves, but I wish it had done more to flatter curves. Maybe I would have loved it if I had gotten the 4L and it had fit better. It is very a classy and elegant dress though... probably better for a Fall or Winter event since it's very dark (not the color that is pictured, but closer to a navy/midnight blue, almost black).
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Having guests of the wedding, who spent hundreds of dollars on their dresses, comment on my Rent The Runway Dress. I was promoting RTR all night long and proud of it!
I needed to rent a dress for my bosses black tie wedding in CA. I would usually wear a 6, however the reviews stated this dress ran a tad bigger. I rented the 4L, instead of an 8L, for the second size. Fit like a glove! I got comments on it all night long!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 13, 2012
LOVED this dress!
This dress is extremely flattering. I am a solid size 12, which is what I ordered, and it was a little big, but not so much anyone could tell, but me. Flowed nicely, and was extremely comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect for black tie wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding and got so many compliments. It fit perfect - not clingy at all, very comfortable and was very flattering. I added a thin gold belt to define my waist and wore 2.5 " heels, perfect height for the length. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
This dress hugged and hid in the right places, I felt AMAZING at the Inaugural Ball I wore it to!
This dress looked AMAZING, especially with hair in a swept-to-the-side up-do (down was a little overwhelming). Just be forewarned that it comes out almost black, not navy in most pictures. The length was perfect for a short person wearing tall-ish heels, and it covered my "issue" areas by skimming, not hugging, which made it flattering. The only caution I'd have
MichelleFebruary 18, 2013
Is this photo of you with heels? I'm the same height and I wanted to see how it would fit. Loved how you accessorized!
MichelleFebruary 19, 2013
Hi, this was without heels. It was still a tiny bit long with 3" heels, so I'd say either wear bigger heels, or use some hem tape. Have fun!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 26, 2013
Sadly, the dress did not work.
I will not be able to wear the dress to my formal event because it is too big throughout the chest and waist, and the hem was too short-- up to my ankles even without shoes on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2013
Beautiful, deep navy gown. Very comfortable and easy to wear.
The shoulder makes the gown! It runs very large so keep that in mind when ordering (I am usually a 12 in all designer gowns/dresses but the 10R was perfect in this one and the 12R way too large). Length was great for me (5'7") with low heels. If you're tall or like to wear heels over 2" I would suggest getting the extra length. It was a very comfortable, easy gown to wear. I received several compliments on the gown.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
The dress arrived just on time...RTR made it very easy.
The fit was great. I got the size 4 and wore just 3 inch heels and I'm about 5'6 and the dress was the right length. It was a little big in the waist area so you could add a belt like some others did but I was at a formal event so I just wanted something simple. I paired it with simple gold/diamond studs, gold with diamond pendant, and gold bracelets. Very simple yet elegant. I'm a bit small chested so I had to tape a little bit on the side where I was exposed but minor fix.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2013
Stunning dress for a black tie event
This dress is absolutely stunning. It is flattering in all the right areas and I was getting so many compliments on it. I wish I had more black tie events so that I could rent this dress more often!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2013
Great gown for a formal affair - tons of compliments!
I loved this gown. It was the perfect dress to wear for the presidential inauguration. The material was great but I wish I had ordered a size smaller because it was way too big on me. I also could've used an extra inch or two on my heels because it was a bit long. Still, great dress and I highly recommend it for anyone going to a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
February 15, 2013
Pretty dress, flattering fit
I ordered this dress as a back up for a formal event and didn't end up wearing it out. The color was a very deep blue, I liked the detail on the one shoulder, the lines of the dress were very flattering. The gown was a bit loose all over, especially in the waist and I had ordered one size down. I am 5'8 and ordered a 10R and the dress barely hit the floor with no shoes on so it does run on the short size as well. Overall it is a very pretty and flattering gown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
February 17, 2013
Comfortable and Classic - perfect fit all around!
Loved this dress! I was hesitant about the fit (especially the arm hole) based on other renters' reviews, but it fit like a glove. I generally wear a size 6, but ended up wearing the 4R to the event, so it ran just a little large. It was comfortable, didn't restrict movement, and the length was perfect with 2 1/2 inch heels. I wore the dress to a black tie benefit, pairing it with metallic strappy heels and oversized studded earrings. It had just a little bit of a train in the back that made it a touch more elegant. The color looked brighter in the model picture, but in real life it was a truer navy. Also, the shoulder ruffles seemed very structured in the model picture, but they had much more movement to them in person. I would definitely recommend this dress to other RTR members. All around it was comfortable, classic, and figure flattering!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
Too SHORT!
I wasnt able to wear this dress as it was about 2 inches to short... too bad as it looked fabulous everwhere! was really disappointed :(
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2013
This dress was amazing! It fit almost perfectly. The material was great for wearing in the winter.
I first ordered the size 6 for this dress in black and it was too big around the bust and the waist for me. I called customer service right away and they were super helpful. They overnighted me the size 4R and it fit much better. They only had the 4L in the black and it was still took long even with my 4 1/2-5 inch heels, so I went for the 4R in the blue. The dress is a lot darker than it appears on the website. It is navy blue, but comes out black in most pictures, unless the flash is really good. The dress is a total eye catcher! All night people were coming up to me asking where I got the dress from! Overall, I had a great experience and will totally rent from RTR again!! Maybe next time I will go for the red!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
March 6, 2013
Loved!!!!!
Gorgeous fitting dress. The material is so forgiving, it hides any imperfections. It was so comfortable, so glamorous, and I loved it!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 18, 2013
Great dress! I got compliments on it all night. Use accessories to make it even more elegant.
Fit great. Not too tight and not too loose. I would suggest a short heal for those tall girls who get this dress in long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 21, 2013
The dress was comfortable and ingot a lot of compliments!
Fit perfectly and was easy to dance in.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfectly elegant and simple!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and loved it. I got many compliments on the dress; it really complimented my curvy body and was super sliming. I was nervous that my butt would not fit so I ordered the next size up, too (I usually wear a 6), but the 4 fit perfectly. The R length was perfect for my 4" heels, but the small train dragged a little bit when I took the heels off for dancing (though I wouldn't have it any shorter...just be aware that the back is a bit longer than the front). The other small downsides were that the right-shoulder strap cut into my shoulder just a bit (but I knew that strap wasn't going anywhere!) and the left side bust was the tiniest bit gap-y (so that I had to pull it up a few times). Those were very small inconveniences and really didn't matter in comparison to the overall experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
April 10, 2013
This was my back-up dress.
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress - but felt it was so beautiful when I put it on and worth reviewing. The armhole is the perfect size - the bust area is the tiniest bit big BUT because of the one-shoulder it works out. The material isn't very forgiving, even being dark - it clung to my body a bit more than I would have liked (it highlighted curves or "dents" I'd rather it wouldn't have)- BUT with a pair of Spanx I would have been good to go and it would have hugged it in all the right ways. I would have worn this dress except for having my heart absolutely set on the dress I actually wore which I had to make many adjustments to make it work. This dress is simple, elegant, and great for any formal event because it can be worn on its own or dressed up with accessories.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 11, 2013
Loved it
The size 6 was a little big in the waist but fit everywhere else. The length was perfect and I wore flats. The fabric is thick but it was not too hot or heavy.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×