Carmen Marc Valvo

All Eyes On You Gown

$70 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Pair this gown with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting and Davis’ Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and the red carpet will roll out for you at the party. This breathtaking Carmen Marc Valvo is for sure a showstopper.

Also available in navy and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

513 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 306
Large 178
Photos 365
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Customer Service, complimentary garment bag and Hollywood tape are nice touches. I have already ordered my next dress! Love it!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to attend the Marine Corps Ball and it was perfect for this event! I paired this with http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/bacallearrings and I must say as stunning as the dress was, the earrings were just as gorgeous! The dress is very comfortable and just the right length. The red color is gorgeous. If you are looking at this dress, it is definitely one you should go with.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

This dress was amazing! I was stopped all night by people wanting to comment on the dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very true to size, and the length was perfect for me at 5'6" with 4" heels. The dress looked amazing. I was happier than I had expected to be. I was being stopped all night for people to comment about the dress. Thank you!
Franki
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

Company is amazing! managed to get me my dress even during Hurricane Sandy!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was very nervous about ordering a dress online, seeing other women's pictures really helped me. I am normally in between and 10 and a 12 thanks to my thick field hockey thighs. The 10 fit beautiful, I felt like a million dollars and my date had such a WOW look on his face, was totally worth it and I can not wait to rent again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2013

This dress was perfect for a red carpet event in which I was receiving an award!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect, and not too tight. I'm only 5'6" but needed a Long and had to buy shorter heels with no platforms so the dress wouldn't be too short. I received compliments all night and was really happy that I rented such a spectacular dress for a fashion awards ceremony.
McKenzie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

I feel like a movie star!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so so beautiful! I got this as a back up since my other dress was too short, and i tried it on last night and it took my breath away! I think I could have gotten a zeroL and gotten away with it, as it is a little big around my mid section... but it doesnt look bad. I recommend going a size smaller. The long is perfect for taller girls who want to wear taller heals. I am so excited to wear this tomorrow night! I finally got to wear this, and it is seriously the most beautiful dress on! I got soo many compliments!
Lenni
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Classy, comfortable, and fun

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a WestPoint founders day dinner. Everyone gave me compliments on how elegant my dress was. The ruffled collar is the best part.
Elena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Mar 18, 2014

Just perfect!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got these dress for 2 singers for a show I had this weekend. RTRW saved my life sending me overnight these dresses in exchange of short ones that didn't work. The girls wore a 4L and a 6L which is true to size and looked gorgeous!!! They got a lot of compliment and it was just PERFECT!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Gorgeous Color & Comfortable Fit!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a fun engagement photo shoot with my fiance. We were outside on a very hot and humid Georgia morning, but this dress is sooo comfortable that I didn't feel overheated, and the temperatures were in the mid 70s. I loved how it fit, but I do wish the waist was tighter. I normally wear a 6 or an 8 so I ordered both for my rental. The 6 fit, but I added a belt to make the waist more fitted.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Lovely dress and I got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall it was a good fit and hangs well because of the fabric weight. It fit me a little large in the waist area and the fabric has no stretch in it. The length was perfect and it was easy to wear. I have a large bust and it fit just fine. The dress arrived with a hole in the side seam. I am a good seamstress so I fixed it and was able to wear it. Customer service was very helpful with this issue so it will not stop me from renting again. My husband was thrilled with the whole rental concept since I don't like to wear the same dress more than a few times.
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2014

This dress is STUNNING!

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful, very feminine dress you will not want to take off. I felt so fabulous all night wearing this , I love this dress! Showstopper. Ordered my size long because regular length was unavailable- didn't need the extra length.
Alicia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Perfect dress for a black tie affair!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way that this dress fit and I received many compliments throughout the night! The length was perfect for short nude pumps. I was hesitant to choose the red color at first, but I am so happy that I did. Thanks Rent the Runway!
RTR Customer
Dec 17, 2014

Best compliments on a dress ever!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress and accessories were a perfect combo! The dress is true red, hourglass flattering and overall just stunning. It was perfectly elegant and conservative for my firm's annual holiday party, yet I still felt foxy! Be prepared -- You can't hide anything under this dress other than gel adhesives. I'm 5'1 and planned to wear a 4.5" heel, so I ordered the 4R with a 6R backup size. I ended up going with a 3" heel, which made it a tad long. Overall A+!!!
Stefanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Amazing dress! I wore it to my military ball and I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
RUNS LARGE. I probably wear a size 8-10 dress and I wore the 6 in this.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 20, 2014

Got tons of compliments all night in this beautiful red dress.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely wear spanx if you have them, but this dress was comfortable and beautiful!
Ruth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Rented for a military ball.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress photographs beautifully! I love the way it felt on my skin. The fabric was so smooth and comfortable. It fit slightly big, but it is forgiving and hides belly fat while complimenting my curves. It is a little long too, but it works for people like me that need a place to put their hands so at least one of my hands was normally busy gathering it to the front and side so I wouldn't trip on it, but it looked natural and elegant. The zipper was a little temperamental and bunched a little under my arm where it zipped up. This was enough for me to decide not to wear it, but when I sent the "trying-it-on" pics to my friends to help me decide, they all said I looked fierce in it and had to go with this dress. So I trusted my friends, went with this one, loved the endless compliments I got all night, forgot about the bunching of the zipper since it's not like I had my hands up in the air all night anyway, and got great pics to always remember the event.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

I wore the 2R!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing. I wore the 2R by the way but the system isn't showing htat as a size right now for some reason. Anyway, it fit absolutely perfectly. It might have been a smidgen long and I was wearing 5 inch heels, but was ok. The fabric is gorgeous and the dress is lined and very well made. Super comfortable. Danced the whole night. Tons of compliments and I really felt I could hold my own with all the ladies there with designers gowns running in the $thousands of dollars.
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Absolutely Stunning Dress!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color and material of this dress are awesome. I got so many compliments throughout the night. If you are over 5'6" I would order the LONG. I am 5'8 and had to wear flats because the 0L barely hit the floor. I could have worn the 2L for extra length but then it was too loose in the bodice. The waist is a little bit looser than I would have liked, but it ended up being comfortable because I didn't have to worry after eating and drinking all night. I would 100% rent this dress again--I didn't want to send it back. (side note: the other girls in the picture are also wearing RTR if you want an idea of how those fit as well)
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up size but it ended up fitting perfectly. It was a little roomy in the waist and it worked out great for me because I could comfortably eat and dance all evening. The crepe is a heavy, high quality fabric and the color is lovely. The length was just right with 4 inch heels. Overall, the dress was perfect for me.
Kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Got so many compliments at our State Capitol's Ball!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the 6L, I'm 5'7'' and wore 3 inch heels and it still ended up being a little long. Fit was perfect in the bust and hips, but was a little loose in the waist.
Mara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 15, 2015

Perfect for holiday gala

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR is awesome! My stylist came to the rescue with this hot little number when my first choice did not fit. I went with the 4R and it was perfect. I am typically a size 6, so believe this dress runs a little big. I have broad shoulders and was pleasantly surprised that it did not cut into me. I received a lot of compliments and felt like amazing all night. Did not stretch out or lose shape at all.
Victoria
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Great dress, tons of compliments, and fits well for dancing/moving around.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Length was a little long- I'm 5'4 and had to wear 4 inch wedges. The bust runs a little small, but other parts of the dress run true to size.
Neefah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

Stunning! Couldn't have asked for a better gown!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This gown runs slightly on the large side. I normally wear a 10 but the 8 R fitted like a glove. I'm 5 ft 7 inches. it appears this gown was made for me. I felt confident all night plus, it wasn't too long to the point that I'll be tripping all over it. I was very pleased.
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Love!!

Size worn: 4P
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was perfect for me to wear with flats! The only part I didn't love was the zipper on the side. The fabric in that area didn't lay flat. I ironed it well and that helped some.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Perfect for a classy, formal event.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Marine Corps ball, and it was absolutely perfect. It's classy and elegant, with just the right amount of flair. The material is very luxurious, and thick enough to be flattering on curves. I was worried about the ruffling on the shoulder being more limp than in the photos, but the pictures are completely accurate. The pleating in the back train is very slimming and flattering. While I loved the dress and was very happy with it, the fit is a little odd if you have a larger chest in proportion to the rest of your body. I wore the 6R (my usual size) to the event, but it was a little loose around the waist, making my waist seem larger than it actually is. The 4R fit perfectly around the waist and was more slimming, but was too tight in the bust. (I'm a 32D). So, regardless of how curvy you are, it will look great if you have a bit of a smaller chest, but you might have some difficulty if you have an extreme hourglass shape like me. It is gorgeous though! I got so many compliments. The red is a perfect mix of striking, but not too garish. Highly recommend.
Shannon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

I felt confident and was ready to have fun!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a fundraiser for the daughter's school. Normal strapless bra worked well with no concerns. I'm 5'7" and it was a little long with just two inch heels but it didn't slow me down. I did pick it up when walking up stairs out of cab etc. It was a February night in Chicago but I did not feel cold. I have reddish hair and was always told not to wear red. I did it anyway and I'm glad I finally tested the waters!
RTR Customer
Feb 11, 2015

Loved the dress, color and weight of the material! Very pleased.

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

I LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually run between a size 2 and 4. I went with the 4L and was glad I did. I am a 34C bra size and I think a size 2 would have been too tight on me. The length was also perfect- I am 5'9" and was able to wear 3 inch heels with the dress. I wore it to a black tie wedding and felt great all night. It is super comfortable and I was never pulling the dress up or adjusting it at all. I highly recommend this dress!
Tonjania
Age: 29
Feb 18, 2015

Gorgeous dress!!!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely fantastic!!! Compliments all night AND the days after! Great experience and I felt beautiful!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

Stunning!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stunning and I received a TON of compliments on it. The style and fit are very flattering and it is extremely comfortable to wear. I would recommend some fashion tape for the side without the sleeve to avoid a possible wardrobe malfunction. As others mentioned the dress does run short which was great for me!
Caroline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

People stopped me just to ask about this dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVE the material of this dress. Not too light so it doesn't show every flaw! I am fairly tall so i ordered the long and it was the perfect length with heels. Great night made even better by a great dress!
JtotheZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Glamorous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was thick and comfortable while still being fun to move and dance in. It was the perfect dress for a black tie event! My only complaint would be the length. The 6R fit better, but was too short. If I had to rent again I would choose the 6L.
Christin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

Beautiful dress for a fun night!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love, love this dress. It fit like a glove and I felt fantastic in it. I'm 5'4" and 110 lbs. and the 0 Regular fit perfectly. The length was perfect with a pair of 3-ish inch heels.
Carol
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

I wore this to a Coast Guard Ball, received tons of compliments.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size 10, but due to recent surgery and lack of exercise, I ordered a 12 and it was perfect. Very comfortable, very pretty.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

This dress was picked for me bc my backup was unavailable. I loved it so much I wore it instead!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was sent as my backup bc the backup dress I ordered was unavailable last minute. When I tried it on I loved it so much I wore it instead of the dress I actually initially ordered. This dress is AMAZING! I felt like a movie star. It did run a little big so I probably could've worn a 4R in it but the length was perfect. It was so comfy, flattering, and hugged all the right spots perfectly. I was complimented all night long. I was able to move and dance the night away and felt like a million bucks doing so!
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 8, 2015

This dress was perfect!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the Heart After Dark Gala and it was absolutely perfect! I was convinced that other girls would be wearing this since everyone in DC uses RTR, but luckily I was the only one in it that night. There were a lot of red dresses at this event, but this one stood out. I got so many compliments on how it fit and how I looked in the dress. I wore a strapless bra and Spanx just to smooth everything out, but it really showed off my curves in a very flattering way. In 4 inch heels, it just slightly skimmed the floor in the back. I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!
Betty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168 lbs
Mar 15, 2015

Never rented a dress before...wasn't confident it would fit. But it fit like a glove! True to size.

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I messed up on the delivery date, but with one call, RTR made it happen. Delivered to my door, didn't skip a beat. Really made my life a whole lot easier!
Cara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

So easy! The dresses came a day early. Easy to order and to ship back! Will definitely use again!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
My only complaint is that I ordered a long and should have ordered a regular! With heals, I was fine... Just had to wear a little higher than normal. Great fit, not too tight and hugs in all the right places! I am normally a 4-6 and wore a 2 very comfortably!
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

This dress was wonderful and easy to accessorize..

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it! fit very well and was comfortable. I got lots of compliments.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

My CEO told me I was the "prom queen"

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had to wear the 2L bc the 4R was so short I could not have worn any heel. Make sure you have a seamless shaper because the seam on the spanx shorts I originally had was very visible. Dress was comfortable and the material is quality and heavy. I wore this to an annual awards recognition event for my company, and my CEO told me I was the prom queen of the night. Got tons of compliments all evening and the red dress really stood out. Great RTR experience!
blakely
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

This dress is WONDERFUL! I previously rented the same dress in black and loved it in red even more!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
One shoulder is very flattering if you are busty and have an hour-glass shape. This dress is very comfortable and moves wonderfully with you. The quality is very good. I am 5'4" and wore medium heels with it. If I were any taller, it would have been too short. This dress really stood out at the event I attended and I received LOADS of compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×