Carmen Marc Valvo

All Eyes On You Gown

$70 rental
$745 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Pair this gown with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting and Davis’ Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and the red carpet will roll out for you at the party. This breathtaking Carmen Marc Valvo is for sure a showstopper.

Also available in navy and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

552 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 320
Large 191
Photos 385
Neefah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

Stunning! Couldn't have asked for a better gown!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This gown runs slightly on the large side. I normally wear a 10 but the 8 R fitted like a glove. I'm 5 ft 7 inches. it appears this gown was made for me. I felt confident all night plus, it wasn't too long to the point that I'll be tripping all over it. I was very pleased.
Victoria
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Great dress, tons of compliments, and fits well for dancing/moving around.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Length was a little long- I'm 5'4 and had to wear 4 inch wedges. The bust runs a little small, but other parts of the dress run true to size.
Mara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 15, 2015

Perfect for holiday gala

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR is awesome! My stylist came to the rescue with this hot little number when my first choice did not fit. I went with the 4R and it was perfect. I am typically a size 6, so believe this dress runs a little big. I have broad shoulders and was pleasantly surprised that it did not cut into me. I received a lot of compliments and felt like amazing all night. Did not stretch out or lose shape at all.
Kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Got so many compliments at our State Capitol's Ball!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the 6L, I'm 5'7'' and wore 3 inch heels and it still ended up being a little long. Fit was perfect in the bust and hips, but was a little loose in the waist.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back up size but it ended up fitting perfectly. It was a little roomy in the waist and it worked out great for me because I could comfortably eat and dance all evening. The crepe is a heavy, high quality fabric and the color is lovely. The length was just right with 4 inch heels. Overall, the dress was perfect for me.
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Absolutely Stunning Dress!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color and material of this dress are awesome. I got so many compliments throughout the night. If you are over 5'6" I would order the LONG. I am 5'8 and had to wear flats because the 0L barely hit the floor. I could have worn the 2L for extra length but then it was too loose in the bodice. The waist is a little bit looser than I would have liked, but it ended up being comfortable because I didn't have to worry after eating and drinking all night. I would 100% rent this dress again--I didn't want to send it back. (side note: the other girls in the picture are also wearing RTR if you want an idea of how those fit as well)
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

I wore the 2R!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing. I wore the 2R by the way but the system isn't showing htat as a size right now for some reason. Anyway, it fit absolutely perfectly. It might have been a smidgen long and I was wearing 5 inch heels, but was ok. The fabric is gorgeous and the dress is lined and very well made. Super comfortable. Danced the whole night. Tons of compliments and I really felt I could hold my own with all the ladies there with designers gowns running in the $thousands of dollars.
Ruth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Rented for a military ball.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress photographs beautifully! I love the way it felt on my skin. The fabric was so smooth and comfortable. It fit slightly big, but it is forgiving and hides belly fat while complimenting my curves. It is a little long too, but it works for people like me that need a place to put their hands so at least one of my hands was normally busy gathering it to the front and side so I wouldn't trip on it, but it looked natural and elegant. The zipper was a little temperamental and bunched a little under my arm where it zipped up. This was enough for me to decide not to wear it, but when I sent the "trying-it-on" pics to my friends to help me decide, they all said I looked fierce in it and had to go with this dress. So I trusted my friends, went with this one, loved the endless compliments I got all night, forgot about the bunching of the zipper since it's not like I had my hands up in the air all night anyway, and got great pics to always remember the event.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Lovely dress and I got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall it was a good fit and hangs well because of the fabric weight. It fit me a little large in the waist area and the fabric has no stretch in it. The length was perfect and it was easy to wear. I have a large bust and it fit just fine. The dress arrived with a hole in the side seam. I am a good seamstress so I fixed it and was able to wear it. Customer service was very helpful with this issue so it will not stop me from renting again. My husband was thrilled with the whole rental concept since I don't like to wear the same dress more than a few times.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 20, 2014

Got tons of compliments all night in this beautiful red dress.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely wear spanx if you have them, but this dress was comfortable and beautiful!
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Amazing dress! I wore it to my military ball and I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
RUNS LARGE. I probably wear a size 8-10 dress and I wore the 6 in this.
RTR Customer
Dec 17, 2014

Best compliments on a dress ever!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress and accessories were a perfect combo! The dress is true red, hourglass flattering and overall just stunning. It was perfectly elegant and conservative for my firm's annual holiday party, yet I still felt foxy! Be prepared -- You can't hide anything under this dress other than gel adhesives. I'm 5'1 and planned to wear a 4.5" heel, so I ordered the 4R with a 6R backup size. I ended up going with a 3" heel, which made it a tad long. Overall A+!!!
Alicia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Perfect dress for a black tie affair!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way that this dress fit and I received many compliments throughout the night! The length was perfect for short nude pumps. I was hesitant to choose the red color at first, but I am so happy that I did. Thanks Rent the Runway!
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2014

This dress is STUNNING!

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful, very feminine dress you will not want to take off. I felt so fabulous all night wearing this , I love this dress! Showstopper. Ordered my size long because regular length was unavailable- didn't need the extra length.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got so many compliments! Petite was a little short in the front but that made it easy to walk in. I was nervous about it being too clingy in the wrong areas, but I think it fell very well. Gorgeous, rich red color. Highly recommend!
anne taylor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

This dress is elegant and bold. It speaks for it itself. I felt like the most beautiful woman there!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It runs surprisingly short, so plan for that. Im 5'9" and approx 160lbs. I was worried that the fabric would hug or show all curves/underwear lines etc and I was wrong! The fabric was heavy enough that it draped gracefully without highlighting imperfections. It has a very very short train which adds to flair. I would go your normal size and a size up in this dress if you are on the avg-tall size. I wore it with flats bc I didnt want to tower over folks, and it was perfect (you couldnt see them) but if i were wearing heels it would have been too short. No need for spanx or expensive, uncomfortable undergarments... I got away with a normal strapless bra and cheeky panties. This dress is elegant, tasteful; a showstopper!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 36D+
Dec 11, 2014

Perfect for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Wedding
I received many compliments when I wore this dress to a black tie wedding- it made me feel very glamorous- very fun to wear red! I took the advice from other renters and ordered a size 8l and 6l- I always wear size 8 and the 6 actually fit much better- the 8 was baggy in places- LOVED wearing this dress!!!
RTR Customer
Dec 10, 2014

The dress is simply classic and incredibly flattering.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered the 6L and 8R and the 6L fit perfectly with room to walk and sit comfortably although it was a centimeter or two too long even with 3.5" stilettos. The cut of the dress makes it very flattering and I kept receiving compliments all night. Big fan of this gown!
ASHLEY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Graduate School Ball

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a size 6, but went with the size 4 because the 6 was too big. I agree that the fabric was quality, but I did not like that the zipper on the side was sticking out a little (I think I read another review that said the same). I got a lot of compliments on the dress and I thought it was pretty but would have maybe picked something more "special" or distinct in hindsight.
RTR Customer
Dec 8, 2014

comfortable dress

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Party
get the usual size and a size smaller I'm usually a size 14 but the size 12 fit better and even a little more room too! I had so many compliments the whole entire night.. the only thing that the dress wasn't long enough as I would've liked, but overall a beautiful fun dress
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Feeling like Gatsby's date!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
SO. MANY. COMPLIMENTS. I mean, a ton. :) This red stands out beautifully in a sea of black and navy and I had people telling me I looked like a movie star all night. I was a little apprehensive when I first rented this dress especially since it arrived only a day before my event (talk about nerves!) but to quote Fat Amy from Pitch Perfect..."Crushed it." ;) The fit was pretty perfect in the 4R since I'm 5'3'' I'm glad I got the R instead of the L. I tried on the 6R and it swallowed me whole haha so I'm glad I went a size down like others I read about. The only thing I would add is that the mid section doesn't come in as far as I would like so that's why I added the thin black belt to create a waistline. It worked perfectly for this November gala (holidays right around the corner so looking a little Santa Claus was okay haha). PLUS, the back of the dress really accentuates any curves you have and my boyfriend was a big fan of that factor. Overall, a must-rent dress and will definitely consider renting this one again! Thanks RTR!
MC
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Gorgeous dress for a winter wonderland wedding

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitely runs a bit big. I loved the shoulder ruffle in this dress. I saw other pictures of this dress with the belt and I liked that look. Was very happy with the overall effect of the gold belt and shoes.
Allison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

This dress complimented his blues perfectly!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had read other reviews that said it ran short, so I ordered the regular length, but it was way too long. I ended up being able to hem it with fashion tape and everything worked out. I got compliments all night and absolutely loved the dress. I would definitely recommend it for any formal event!
gabi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Beautiful dress!!!!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful! I usually wear a 2, but when I received the dresses they ran a little large so i ended up wearing the 0R ! It was my first time renting a dress and I am very satisfied with my experience and will definitely be renting again ! :)
Alexis
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

This gown was absolutely beautiful and made the night one we will never forget!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 2R however the 2R was tight in the shoulders and underarms. The 4R fit perfectly. It wasn't too snug, and flowed very nicely!
Jordan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Such a great color for a military ball!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a Marine Corps ball, and I got several compliments! The fabric was great- it was not super thin so it was very forgiving. I ordered my typical size (6L) but read on the reviews that this dress runs a little big so I also got one size down (4L) as my back up. Thank goodness I did; I ended up wearing the 4L. The fit was great, except for the length. I would have loved for it to have been maybe 1 inch longer so it still skimmed the floor in heels. (I am 5'9") I also rented the Miller Star Light Star Bright bracelet, and the Nicole Miller Souther Plantation earrings to wear with this dress. They were a perfect pair! Overall I was very pleased with this dress, and will definitely be using Rent the Runway in the future!
Alex
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2014

As President of Alpha Phi at USC I wanted a beautiful gown for our "Red Dress Gala" Philanthropy

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. The dress is long, so I had to wear 4 inch heels. I got so many compliments and it is more beautiful in real life. I'd highly recommend Rent The Runway to any sorority girl who needs fashionable, designer clothes at a reasonable price. Perfect dress for the Red Dress Gala which raised money for Women's Heart Disease research/cure/treatments.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

I was told 20+ times that I looked like I was on the red carpet! The dress was an absolute hit!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the dress longer because I heard it ran shorter, but it was almost too too long on me. The shoulder strap stayed up nicely and fit great. I am a 34 C and it was not tight at all! I am extremely satisfied with the dress.
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Comfortable, elegant gown

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
RUNS LARGE!! I am normally an 8, so I ordered an 8L and 6L. The 6L had a lot of extra fabric, especially in the midsection that would bunch up. The 4L would have been perfect but didn't have time to order the next smaller size. The fabric was beautiful and the cut very flattering.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Bold dress that makes an elegant statement.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color and architectural design are bold and eye catching. The color is a true red that really pops without being garish. My only comment is that the cut is slightly large right at the waist, but it was still an incredible dress that I'd wear again and highly recommend.
Sarah
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 9, 2014

Fabulous gown! Fit was incredible and it was elegant for a USO Gala.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the 10L and 12L for length, which fit perfectly. I'm 5'6" and needed the long with 4" heels - It would barely touch the floor in the front with a demi-train in the back. I normally wear a 12 because of my large chest and bottom, but the 12L fit was definitely roomy in all areas, especially in the midsection. I would size down with this dress. The material is thick with a silk lining but can show every bump, lump, lining of your shapewear or undergarments. That was my only issue in this gown! Otherwise, it's absolutely gorgeous and timeless with a touch of elegance. I had so many compliments on how this fit on me as an hourglass figure and it felt incredibly comfortable and beautiful on.
Monelle
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Oct 9, 2014

I felt like a million bucks! Everyone complimented the beautiful red.

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit a bit large but still very comfortable. Probably would have get a smaller size.
Savannah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 9, 2014

Everyone that evening was wearing something from RTR because it was a black-tie wedding.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material is thicker so it doesn't show garments worm underneath, but it's light enough that you won't get hot while moving around and dancing. I wore fairly moderate heels which is necessary because the front of the dress is shorter than the train in the back (it's not a long train more like a high-low dress). I absolutely loved this dress and kept getting so many compliments on how nice it looked.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Ruffles! Loved this dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hung perfectly. The material is thicker and has a silky underlay that makes it so comfortable. I felt very Jessica Rabbit. The size 10 was perfect for a lot of designers I wear a 12. This dress was so effortlessly elegant. I got so many compliments.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Great company for 2014 San Francisco Opera Gala.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The weight of the dress and bias cut hung nicely. I didn't really need to wear Spanx (although I did), the fabric was heavy enough to hide most things. The zipper was a problem. It bunched and never laid flat, but I was able to cover it with my arm for photos. I would rent this dress again.
Julia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Wore this for my husbands military ball

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little big, I ended up wearing my backup size (4l) the fit was perfect everywhere, but a tad big through the waist.. I was very comfortable all night!
aubrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

This dress for beautifully. I received compliments all night!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress runs true to size. The fabric is loose. Great material. Love this dress
Carmen Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Lady in Red!!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose red for a pop of color for my husbands USAF Ball. The fit was perfect and the dress was very comfortable. I received many compliments, especially for standing out with such a sexy yet classy dress.
RTR Customer
Jul 24, 2014

Red. Hot. ;)

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my friend's junior prom. The color and the design was absolutely amazing, and I got compliments all night! It does run a bit large though, and my friend kept stepping on my dress... Otherwise, I had a phenomenal time and made memories that I will never forget in this dress!
Kaili
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 11, 2014

A stand out dress, red is a true red, fits like a glove

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits beautify, the material is not really forgiving, so if you wear underwear you will see them. Even spanks with their front seam can show through the material. The size is true, and the long really skims the ground perfectly with me 5'8 frame and 5" heels.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×