Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
530 reviews
Fit
Large33
True to Size355
Small41
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
May 26, 2016
The dress just sparkled & wowed everyone!
This dress received so many compliments & photographed really well. I'm 5'7" and wore the long, which worked well with 2" heels. The regular length would have been too short. The dress was very comfortable, with the exception of the material right under my arms. The sequins scratched me all night, so I felt like I couldn't put my arms down. Other than that, it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 56
May 23, 2016
Gorgeous, compliments all night long!
I wore this outfit for my sweet 16, everyone complimented me all night long. Very flattering, unless you have much of a stomach. It hugs in all the right places!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2016
I felt like a bombshell!
I wore this dress for a white-tie wedding and it brought in tons of compliments. The fabric had the right amount of give and I felt it was true to size. I am 5'9 and wore the long length with 3-4" heels and it just barely skimmed the ground. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 184lbs
May 15, 2016
I felt like a movie star!
I loved the fit! Everyone told me all night that they loved my dress. Only downside is that the sequence kept getting caught on my boyfriend's pants when we were dancing. But, the dress was super comfortable to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
May 15, 2016
Perfect black tie dress
Fit well. Normally wear an 8, but 6 fit better. Easy dress to accessorize. I got a lot of compliments throughout the night. Perfect length with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2016
RTR delivered my dress just in time for my prom! No problems whatsoever, I'm so happy I found RTR
I don't know if the dress ran big or if it's true to size, it was the first time I had to select a dress size for myself but it did fit me perfectly! I only wish I choose this dress 6L instead but I absolutely loved this dress, it sparkles and it's so beautiful #prom
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 11, 2016
Felt like a movie star in this dress!
Really loved wearing this dress. I wore the 8L and had a backup size of 10R (10L wasn't available). The long length was necessary since I'm tall so I went with the 8L, although I would have done better a size up. Other reviewers had remarked that the fabric lining kept creeping out and I had the same thing happen. My bust is a 34DDD and I often have a hard time with fit so I wasn't surprised this happened. I actually didn't mind adjusting every now and again because I felt great otherwise. This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely order again.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 1, 2016
I love this dress. It pops in photos and I received compliments all night!!
Only problem I had was the chaffing against my skin under the arm.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2016
Perfect fit! "Stunning" and "beautiful" were the 2 primary compliments :)
This dress fit very true to size for me, and it was comfortable and even stretched a little. And thankfully the 6L fit because the 8L was about 4 inches shorter than the 6L and would have never worked! Other women commented that the sequins rubbed their arms but I did not experience that at all. I will definitely be getting more dresses from RTR in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
April 19, 2016
I had a million compliments on the dress & color. Everyone loved that I matched my date! :)
I normally wear an 8, but heard a few women describe the fit as snug. I wound up wearing the 10 and it was still a bit tight in the hips. The lining had a tendency to ride up and stick out above the bust line. I wore a strapless bra and it was covered perfectly in the back. Height: 5'6", Bust: 36C
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
April 18, 2016
This dress fit fabulously! It was a huge hit! It is a beautiful shade of purple.
This dress fit fabulously! It was a huge hit! It is a beautiful shade of purple.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 13, 2016
Many many compliments -was told it was the best dress at the 850+ person event!
Fit perfectly. Flattering at midsection. Wore spanx to smooth things out, and also the Nu Bra, as recommended in a previous review. It was helpful as I am not as busty and a regular bra would have been visible. Sequins did not bother my inner arms at all. Color was true to picture. Wore with 2" heels as I don't do well in higher heels, and the long was perfect - grazed the floor and laid beautifully. Great experience with RTR, came on Thursday afternoon, wore it Saturday night, returned before noon on Monday.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 12, 2016
Loved this dress!
II rented this dress for a gala. I received many compliments. I am a true size 10 and It fit beautifully. Although I did wear a strapless bra, I could have gone without one. The only negative was that the zipper was very hard to pull up. ( It was the zipper not the size that made it difficult.). I needed help with the zipper. Highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2016
Great Rental!
Fit very true to size; got tons of compliments on this even though I was a bit worried about it being "too dressy" or "too flashy" for the wedding I attended. It's definitely "purple" so if you're shy with color this might not be for you. The sequins under the arm did scratch a bit. Overall very very happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
April 7, 2016
Great night with a beautiful dress for my last sorority formal!
The dress fits very well and is comfortable. I am 5'6" so I got the long dress, which worked perfect with the heels I wore (around 5 inches). I would definitely recommend this dress for formal occasions!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 5, 2016
Felt so glamorous in this gown!
#glamoous so many compliments. Just slightly Irritating under arms from sequins. But loved it over all!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2016
This dress was absolutely beautiful!
I chose this as a back up dress to my first pick. I am just shy of 5'7 and most of the regular length dresses fit me, but this one was too short. It fit great with no shoes on, but once I put my shoes on it wouldn't have looked right to me. This dress was also extremely low cut, and wasn't extremely comfortable due to the sequence. Had this been not as low cut, and if I ordered a long I would've definitely worn this for my Ball. It was beautifully sequenced, and a beautiful shade of purple.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
March 23, 2016
A Vibrant, classy dress to highlight your curves!
The dress fit great and really highlighted my curves without making me self conscious. It is a bit of a cleavage dress so be prepared. I felt like the neck line was a stunning frame that drew attention to my face. The color is a more vibrant purple than the photo shows. The sequins do rub so I would recommend an anti chafe cream on the underside of your arms. The other negative is that the lining in the chest area does not may flat and pops out. I finally gave up fighting it and danced the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 20, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress!
The top was little big for me but everything else was great
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 11, 2016
Purple; sequins; gorgeous!
This dress was so beautiful and definitely stood out in the crowd! I got so many compliments on it and the cut out back is amazing! I wore a topaz necklace with this and it was perfect. The long is definitely long, but since I'm 5'8" it fit pretty well length wise with tall enough heels. Only con: rubs on the underarms and shoulders a bit (that's why the 4 stars). Overall, a very great dress and very flattering.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 9, 2016
I threw a fancy party, most people wore cocktail attire but some upgraded to floor-length and tuxes.
I'm a large 10, so I ordered a backup 12. Fortunately, the 10R fit me perfectly! It was snug in a good way, highlighting my good curves. I could sit down without trouble but thought it might rip if I bent over, I also had to shimmy it on over my head instead of stepping into it (no zipper trouble, though). I tried a strapless bra, which was well-concealed, but I went bra-less anyway. As a result, my bust was slightly droopy, but I just didn't want to deal with adjusting my strapless bra all night (I think the designer expected a size 10 woman would have a larger bust to fill out the top). I wish there was a way I could have made the top snugger to better support my bust. Wearing flats, there was a slight train in the back, and I thought heels brought the dress too far off the ground, so consider a 10L if you wear heels. I would say my body type is more like an Athletic Pear: I wear size 10 jeans, with my waist measuring 32-34" standing up, and a 34B bust. The only major downside with this dress is the sequins irritated my underarms, but I looked and felt so good in this dress that I didn't mind -- I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 6, 2016
It was so flattering!
This was my backup dress. I received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 2, 2016
This dress made me feel absolutely AMAZING!
This dress was a last-minute replacement for the dress I had ordered, but it was absolutely perfect for our Gala. I received so many compliments and could move and dance all night. I wish it came in a 14 as the 12 was really quite tight across my bust, but then again, my bust is not small. Spanx were a must, as well. The regular length was perfect for wearing comfortably short heals and later going barefoot on the dance floor. I definitely recommend a shawl or bolero jacket as the sequins under the arms did rub a bit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148lbs
February 29, 2016
Sexy Sequined Awesome
This dress was amazing! It made me feel gorgeous! It was a little large on the top but with good posture, you can't tell. I ordered this for a wedding in Curaçao, but unfortunately only got to wear it for about 5 minutes. It was soo humid and so hot that this dress, as beautiful as it was, wouldn't be comfortable. Would wear it again for another occasion though!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 25, 2016
This dress is gorgeous!! Very flattering.
I actually thought the 0R fit me better in the rest of the body, but I couldn't zip it up (way to tight around the ribcage (NOT due to my breasts!). The 2R was a little big around the butt/medsection, but fit the top. You can wear this with or without a bra, although if you wear a bra it needs to be a stick on, because the back has a large keyhole. This dress was also VERY long!! I had on 4" heels, and it drug even under the front of my shoes! The back has a bit of a train, with I actually thought was very elegant. I received a TON of compliments, but was a bit hard to dance in because of the length.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
February 24, 2016
The dress was stunning and unique! It definitely stood out & made a statement. I felt so glamorous!
The dress came exactly as pictured. I was so impressed and absolutely loved it! It was comfortable and fit like a glove (I suggest sizing up for your back up size, however). It was very curve-hugging and the neckline was particularly flattering. I felt that the ruching along the waist wasn't extremely flattering on my not-completely-flat tummy, which I didn't like, but overall the dress was such a delight to wear. Highly recommended.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
This dress was awesome! such a great deal! I felt absolutely beautiful AND conformable!
I really could've worn the 10L--and actually gone with the regular length, but I managed. I wanted to eat and not feel (insecure about my mid-section) so I went with the larger size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 22, 2016
This was to a Mistletoe Ball.
The dress came exactly when it said it would be here. I was impressed with the packaging of it and the zipper seal so you know it wasn't tampered with during shipping. I looked on the designer's website for exact sizing of the dress, including the length. The size I wore fit perfectly and the dress was super comfortable. The length was a little long and I wore 5 inch heels, but I am very short and it wasn't even that bad. Shipping the dress out was super easy as well. I just switched the shipping labels and sent it off. The most hassle free dress experience ever!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
February 22, 2016
I adored this dress!
The fit of the dress is perfect for curvy women. I am usually a size 10 in dresses, but the eight fit my curves the way that I like, with enough rough to stuff my face with hors d'ouvres. My husband, a self-professed sequin hater, was blown away when I walked into the ballroom at the wedding we were attending. He was in the wedding and wearing a lavender-esque vest and bowtie and this dress complimented it beautifully. I chose to wear the Long version because of my 5 inch heels and I could still see the shoes below the hemline. If you are taller than 5'3", I suggest wearing the long and a MUCH shorter heel.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
February 22, 2016
Great fit, comfortable, lots of compliments all night.
This was my 2nd backup dress and I ordered this one at the recommendation of the RTR stylist. I am so glad she suggested it! The dress fit perfectly and was surprisingly comfortable. I wore the long and it could have been longer but worked ok anyway. The only minor issue is the lining of the dress pops up at the time (as you can see in the picture). In hindsight, I would have used some Hollywood tape to tack it down. Not a big deal. I was afraid that it would be too small at the top, but it was just fine. The top fits tight enough to not wear a strapless bra if you prefer. I was worried this dress would be too small since I am curvy but it was true to size. I would rent this dress again. The color is gorgeous - the pictures don't do it justice. It's a nice deep purple.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
February 21, 2016
Event was actually cancelled.
After trying both the 2P and 4R on, I decided on the 2P. The dress was stretchy enough to be comfortable. Definitely don't need a bra (can't see nips), but makes you look really flat if you don't. The 2 and the 4 were NOT the same color purple however. The 2 was way brighter then the 4. The length of each were really similar which didn't make sense to me, but was nice since I am really short. Overall pleased with this experience.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
February 21, 2016
I received so many compliments on the gown...I had more fun because I felt fabulous.
I measure out to a size 12R (due to the 40 lbs I've gained since the start of law school) but the dress fit great. It is low cut so if you have more than a B cup the girls will stand out. Only down side is the sequence rubs against the inside of your arm and can be a bit painful if you are dancing the night away.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
February 17, 2016
Beautiful dress.
Very flattering
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
February 17, 2016
The perfect dress to have a "ball"!
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras ball. It was perfect for the occasion. This was my first time renting from RTR, but it was a great experience and I'm definitely coming back for more!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
Easy process! Will most def be using RTR again!
Dress was a huge hit! Wore this to a Mardi Gras Ball and felt beautiful in it! Fit great and the whole process was very easy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
February 14, 2016
Loved!!
This dress was so comfortable and flattering. Fit is true to size. If we had one more ball to attend it would have been worn!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2016
#LOVE stunning dress!! I got sooooo many compliments on this dress. It was amazing.
The material was a little rough in my arms but it was totally worth it. I have never felt so amazing in a dress before! I will be using RTR for all my special events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 14, 2016
First 2 dresses arrived damaged, but RTR send me replacements ASAP.
Overall I had a solid experience renting my dresses, but I will caution others to order so the dresses arrive as early as possible. The 0L and 2L in this dress arrived and as I went to try them on I noticed that the 0L had a 2 inch hole in the seam just below the zipper. Then when I put on the 2L I noticed that the purple sequins had lost some of their color and now looked silver in a 3" x 7" band down the front of my left leg. I called RTR mainly just to make sure that I wasn't on the hook for the damage and they offered to send me replacement dresses ASAP. The dresses arrived the next morning, however I decided I still liked my original picks and decided that in the dark ball I was attending, no-one would notice the discoloration. I was right.....I received compliments all night long about how beautiful the dress was. It really is lovely and VERY figure flattering. My only complaint would be that I did not realize how challenging wearing sequin dresses can be. My arms and even the back of my legs ended up very scratched. I look like I had gotten in a fight with a cat. But I would wear it again and suffer through the "pain". I think the dress may run a little small because usually wear a 0 and in this dress the 2 fit much better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 12, 2016
Loved the head to toe sequins
I usually wear a dress size 4, and the 4R fit like a glove. It was actually more busty on me than I've seen in many of the other pictures, but my date had no complaints about that. I had complaints about the lining of the bust rolling over frequently, which I had to adjust several times. Also, the scratching on the arms is legit. I had what a doctor friend in the group that night called "contact dermatitis" - and it was painful and ugly. One other complaint - there were at least 4 other girls at the Mardi Gras ball with this dress. I get it, a purple sequin dress will be popular for a Mardi Gras ball, but I didn't think it'd be this popular. Overall, I was happy with it and it was a super easy experience, but I wasn't over the moon.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
February 9, 2016
Love!
Fit like a glove. I own the same style dress in white linen and short, so I was fairly certain the 0 would fit the same but was appreciative of the free second size just in case! I had been worried about the sequins scratching or irritating my arms like other reviews had mentioned but I didn't notice or feel anything the entire night and no irritation the next day...and I did my fair share of dancing! Had to lift the skirt up a bit to really get down as there is no slit, but it has enough give for easy walking etc. Amazing pick, lots of compliments and I felt so glamorous! Such an easy service with RTR as well! Can't wait for the next opportunity to use the again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×