Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$605 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
677 reviews
Fit
Large
(34)
True to Size
(426)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 18, 2018
Didn't wear, itchy and looked terrible on my frame

I was so excited to wear this gown to a black tie NYE party. I am typically a size 4, and ordered a 6 and 4 based on the reviews, but both were far too big to wear. The 4 had extra fabric hanging almost in wads. It looked like I had a life size glittery trash bag on that itched. And the sparkles were so itchy, I would not have worn this even if it had fit. No bueno.

Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 15, 2018
Loved this dress!!!

I usually wear an 8 but I needed a 10 for the larger bust

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 15, 2018
Perfect dress for the charity event we attended, received so many compliments.

Fit like a glove and the length was great. Received so many compliments. The top chest area did fold over every so often. My husband loved me in it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32DD
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2018
timeless dress

fit great but straps were so long making it very low cut i couldn’t wear sticky bra because it showed

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 2, 2018
Beautiful dress, felt so glam!!!

Beautiful dress, snug, not much stretch, so glad it fit!!! Sequins barely scratched. Received so many compliments, felt so glamorous!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
March 21, 2018
It was a family event

The dress was too tight. Not a regular size 6. After the ceremony and during the dance, I had to change it. The dress material hurt my inner biceps. I decided to take it off before it hurt even more my skin. By the time I took it off, my skin was scratched and very red.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 18, 2018
Love this dress

This dress was so beautiful it sparkled all night long compliments was non stop. The fit was true to size, the length could of been a little longer i am 5'8 with a little more length it would of been better. The only down side is that this dress is for someone with a little more boobs im 34B although i didnt spill over I was very aware of it all night making sure that my boobs wasnt exposed. Other than that i must say that this dress was everything and then some..

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2018
I felt gorgeous in this dress. Absolutely loved it and got many compliments!

The fit was great, I sucked it in and wore my spanx ;) Chose the 2R over 4R because they both fit but the 2 was much more vibrant in color and the 4 was obviously more worn & dull w/ repairs evident. The length was great w/ my 3.5" heals, couldn't see my shoes at all really. The back design was stunning too. I chose to wear a strapless bra, but could've gone without as well. I did have to somewhat hold up the tiny train but it didn't bother me and at times the inside fabric showed itself in the bust area so I would have to adjust it for photos. Overall this dress was amazing, so much so that I didn't want to take it off :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 28AA
March 16, 2018
The dress is very very lovely & true size.

Super classy & perfect to go wedding. Too bad my friend's wedding turn out to be rain/cold day. Im very sad that i cant not able to wear it for the event & going to return it back.

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 14, 2018
Good fit and beautiful!

It was a tad short for my 5in heels (being 5'10"). The bust was a bit small (by I'm breastfeeding so that's expected). Overall, it hid my post-baby better than most dresses! Got several compliments on the dress! 5'10" 150lbs 35D

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2018
Gorgeous, glitzy gown for a formal affair

Fit nicely. I was sent the wrong back up size but luckily the first one fit like a glove. Form fitting but lined on the inside so flattering on all the curves.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2018
The color was beautiful and the sequins did not itch, or both me at all.

The dress was a little tight in the waist while sitting down.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2018
Perfect for the Governor's Ball

I loved this gown. It was very comfortable to wear and fit perfectly. Purple sequins is a nice change from basic black. The gown was very elegant and I received lots of compliments. I did not have any issue with the sequins bothering my arms; however, the zipper could be a challenge at times.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 36B
February 25, 2018
Perfect dress for Las Vegas themed gala

I rented a 10R and an 8R, wore the 10. Dress is true to size, and perfect length for me (5"2') with heels. The top was a little big in the shoulders so I had to safety pin it. It was fairly comfortable to sit through two hours of awards and dance afterwards. I got compliments all night! I wish I had more places to wear the dress. Definitely recommend! If you're on the leggy side, I suggest getting a tall.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
February 20, 2018
I thought I looked pretty bomb at prom

It was much more purple than I thought it would be and fairly heavy due to the sequins. The sequins irritated my underarms because of friction but otherwise totally wonderful

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 14, 2018
Pretty in purple

I ordered a 2 and and a 0. Unfortunately the 2 went missing. I probably needed the 2. The 0 was a "sausage dress" but the dress has a lot of stretch if you're comfortable wearing it slightly small. As compared to the Badgley Mischka Emerald Sequin dress (which was sent to me as another option) this dress was more worn out (the sequins at the bottom were turning silver). Also in the green one the size 2 was too big in the chest so I probably need a 4. The green was also more comfortable (sequins seemed to lay flatter). If I were to rent this type of dress again, I'd go for the Badley Mischka in a size 0.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2018
Although I didn't wear it it was beautiful and fit well!

Works for someone with large bust, but you will see cleavage. The rouching at waste made it a nice fit even if your stomach isn't in the perfect state of fitness.

Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 33
February 12, 2018
Rented this dress for an event that I didn't end up making it to but I tried it on regardless.

Loved the fit of this dress! I wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did but it was super flattering :)

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 32DD
February 8, 2018
Loved the dress, great expierence

I LOVED this dress! It fit so well, not scratchy and made feel beautiful! I am 5'6, 135-140lbs with broad shoulders and the size 4L fit GREAT! I probably could've gone down to a 2 because the material is stretchy, but didnt want to risk the sleeves cutting into my shoulders. The only problem I had was with the zipper getting stuck but Im sure thats from wear and tear from being worn and cleaned so much.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 4, 2018
Eye Catching Flash of Color

Great color, fabulous sparkle, great fit and, surprisingly easy to move in. Neckline is a little gapey on smaller busts. Got many compliments, especially about the back.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34C
February 3, 2018
Very flattering!

This dress hugged my body in all the right places. I was worried it might be itchy with the sequins, but it was super comfortable! I loved that I could wear a strapless bra with it, and I never had to readjust or tape anything. The straps didn't slip or move all night...not to mention they didn't feel too tight on my broad shoulders. Definitely recommend.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
January 30, 2018
This dress is absolutely stunning... the sparkles make it such a FUN dress to wear!

I ordered the 2R and the 4R (as my backup size)... my original 2R was severely stretched out and fit looser than the 4R but RTR immediately responded to my concerns and sent a new 2R out. It was absolutely perfect and fit beautifully. I am 5'4" and 115lbs. It was just right on the length but if I was just a touch taller it would have been too short to wear with heels. I chose to wear a strapless bra with it for a bit more lift and coverage but it wasn't absolutely necessary. When I tried on the 4R, the sequins rubbed my underarms and really bothered me but when I was wearing the 2R I didn't notice them at all throughout the night. This dress really is so gorgeous... highly recommend!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
January 30, 2018
I got tons of compliments on the dress!

I loved the dress, but it was very tight in the chest, and I don't have a large chest by any means. I'm between a B and a C, and I don't think it would fit an A comfortably. Other than that, it fit well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
January 29, 2018
Beautiful dress!

The purpke sequins were so festive for a Mardi Gras ball!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34D
January 28, 2018
Great dress for the masquerade! 5'1 and abot 130 lbs and the 2R fit perfectly!

This dress was so amazing! It fit just right everywhere and was very comfortable to dance in. Im 5'1 and about 130lbs so I was concerned with the length. I was able to wear it with reasonable heels, not very high.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
January 28, 2018
Tons of compliments!

Got this as a back-up dress for a black tie event, and actually ended up liking it better than my original pick! I got a ton of compliments while wearing it! Can't complain about anything really.. It's sequin, so it does dig at you every now and then. I feel like that is to be expected though, and not nearly as much as other dresses I've worn. Overall a great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 27, 2018
Mardi Gras Ball SUCCESS!

We attend a Mardi Gras ball every year and I spend hours searching and researching the RTR website. I loved my purple sequin choice this year! I am 5'4 and weigh 115, both the 0 and 2 R fit great but I chose the 0 because I wanted a body con type fit. AND also, it may be hard to explain but the size 2 sequins were not as vibrant. They seemed dull and worn. So I made the 0 work because the sequins/color were beautiful and shiny! No bra was needed which was amazing! I wore a 3 inch heel and the length waa perfect. I adore the small train on the dress and when people mention the scratchy sequins, its not a huge deal breaker. I honestly didn't even notice! I would highly recommend this dress! Gorgeous color and flattering fit.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
January 21, 2018
Lots of compliments!

This dress fit like a glove. I got 4L. I am 5'8" and 135lbs. It was a bit long (i wore 3 inch heels) but i feel like the regular length would have been too short. It was easy to dance the night away in this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
January 19, 2018
Dress is very pretty

Fits like a size 2 not a 4, very small compared to other styles/designers.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2018
Perfect Dress for a Masquerade Ball

Wore this for a masquerade new year's party. It was perfect! It hugged in all the right places and really accentuated the ladies! This dress does have some stretch to it, so you can eat a big dinner and still be able to breathe! :) I ended up having to get the long size because all the regular sizes were already reserved, and I am so glad it worked out that way. The long was still a bit short on me, so the regular size would have been way too short on me. The sequins did start to irritate my arms a bit by the end of the night, but not enough to where I needed to end my night early. I got compliments all night, I would definitely wear this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2018
Super Sexy Dress!

This dress was my second choice and the one I wore. My initial rental was ( JAY GODFREY BLACK LACE TRIANGLE GOWN) which didn't fit. Thankfully I was able to snag this dress just in time as it was the last one in my size and I didn't have the option for a backup size. RTR overnighted this dress to me in time for my event and the dress was perfect! I wore 4 inch heels and I am 5'2. The dress brushed the floor and there is a small train in the back. I got compliments all night. The dress was a little big in the shoulders and the back, but that is probably because I am small chested (32A). I just used fashion tape to fix it and it worked fine. I am hourglass shaped and 120lbs. As with any sequin dress, there was chafing and irritation from the sequins on my arms at the end of the night. It didn't bother me too bad. It was worth it. I would definitely rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 30H
January 1, 2018
Stunning and comfortable

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was incredibly comfortable and fit perfectly. I could dance, bend to the ground, and squat easily. The sequins didn't scratch my arms until the end of the night, and only a little. I normally wear a 4 in dresses, and this was true to size. I chose the regular length because it's the first I tried on. It was fine with heels, but most people would projably wear the long length. I didn't want to trip. The straps are a little loose as is commin with this style dress, but this wasn't an issue. I have a large bust, 30H/32G, and I had no problem fitting them into this dress with coverage, which I was very happy about. The zipper is difficult to pull up as many reviews state. You will need someone to help you. I absolutely loves this dress, and my boyfriend did too! I don't normally wear dresses this form fitting or revealing, but it looked incredible and felt great! I would abaolutely recommend it. I wore it for a NYE party.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
December 17, 2017
Stunning....

Stunning dress, it hugs in all the right places and fits amazingly well. For my first time using RTR I can honestly say I was completely satisfied with this gown. Looking forward to my next order.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 11, 2017
Beautiful gown

This gown was beautiful. It had some nice ruching on the sides and fit well. I didn't like the extra fabric at the back, almost like a mini train, it kept catching and I had to lift the dress up the whole night. Also this dress does not really make your boobs look great… Maybe it's just the neckline.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2017
Beautiful dress- you cannot get it on alone.

This dress was beautiful. I would have worn it except that the zipper and button area made it too difficult to put on alone and I was getting ready without anyone else. If you are super busty I would say it might not fit that well. I'm 5'7" and it hit just the tips of my shoes when I was in 3" heels. I would go for a short if you may height and wearing it with anything less than 3" and want to keep it from dragging or want to show off some fancy footwear. The neckline is beautiful and is made to showcase some amazing jewels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2017
Get lots of attention in this dress!

I am 110lbs, 5'1", 34B and this dress fit like a glove! The 2P fit at just the right length with my platform heels (4-5 inches). I wore a strapless bra and did not have any issues with it showing. I rented this dress to wear to the Metropolitan Opera in NYC. I recieved numerous compliments from complete strangers and was very aware of many people staring and admiring the dress. I truly felt like a celebrity in this dress! The only downside is that it is a bit flattening in the chest...it looks great from the front, but from the side, I looked flat. Other than that, this dress was exquisite!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 7, 2017
Get ready for lots of looks!

I'm giving the dress itself 5 stars because it did its job: I wanted to stand out at a holiday gala, and this worked! The experience was more like a 3.5, due to the length. It does create some real cleavage, so be careful if that's not appropriate for your particular event. I was actually feeling a little flat-chested in it until I put some backless, adhesive chicken cutlets on just to shift the girls up. The change was like 0 to 100- there seemed to be no in-between! I got compliments from both men and women, and the stretch was cozy. I did not have any issues with sequins rubbing under the arms, like some others did. As a shorty, this dress was waaaaaaay too long to pull off without hemming it. I used fashion tape and reinforced it with safety pins. I was in a hurry so I only did the front. I was constantly concerned that the tape was going to come off, so I was checking it all night. That made it a bit hard to walk around with confidence, which was annoying, but I held the dress up on the side and was even able to dance a little. Not ideal, though. I wish RTR had a 0P and it would have been absolute perfection. I'm not sure if the designer just doesn't make one, which would be weird because there are other sizes in petite, but if it's available, RTR, buy it!

Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
November 26, 2017
Crisis averted!

I ordered this dress in an 8 and 10, based on other reviews posted. However, when the dress arrived, the 10 was too small to zip. I wear anything from 6-10 in pants and usually a medium top but with this dress I needed a 12. I immediately emailed RTR and the next day they overnighted me the 12. It fit perfectly. I was complimented on my dress so many times throughout the day and evening. It was stunning and super comfortable. However, at 5'3", it was a tad long on me. I made due and it all worked out well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
November 24, 2017
Gorgeous cut!

The fit was looser in the chest, and tight in the arms. Happy I went with the smaller size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 22
November 18, 2017
Sequins galore

I'm typically a zero but my wide shoulders made me need the size 2. So the top part was a little Big but not anything uncomfortable. If I'd known i was gonna wear the size two I probably also would have gotten the shorter one as well. Overall I loved the dress and got so many compliments! 10/10 recommend!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×