Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
612 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(397)
Small
(50)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 17, 2014
Showstopper!
I wore this for a black tie wedding in January. The dress is gorgeous. It really gathers a lot of attention so be prepared for the compliments!! You'll want to wear a strapless bra because of the cut up top. The sequins rub your skin underneath your arms, so be careful. I went with the long length so I could wear tall heels (4 inch) and it looked amazing. I would rent this one again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 20, 2014
Eye catching dress!
This dress has a very nice fit. The fabric is stretchy, so I suggest going a size down. I ordered the 2 and the 4 based on other reviews and ended up wearing the 2. I'm 5'0 and the length was not an issue with 3" heels. The shoulders were a little big, but that was easily fixed with a safety pin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 21, 2014
Sadly, it didn't work for me, BUT, RTR customer service is great!
This is a beautiful gown, but sadly, the sizes I ordered made me feel like a stuffed sausage. I received the size 2R and 4R. The 4R was the size that fit the best, however, it runs pretty small through the waist and hips, so on someone like me who has a small bust (34A), it REALLY draws attention to your lower half if it doesn't fit correctly. Also, I found the length to be entirely too short. Not wearing heels, you could see my feet sticking out from under the gown, and in a modest heel (close to 3"), it just looked ridiculous. If I had to pick this gown again, I would definitely go up to at least the 6 or possibly the 8 (even though I would have to pad my bust significantly to get those sizes to work), and definitely select the long length. RTR is awesome though, and my back up dress should be on my porch tonight. Fingers crossed! Thanks, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2014
Pretty dress, too flashy for me
Pretty dress, flattering to figure, but the bust is cut weird. Shoulders were too large for me. Didn't end up wearing this.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
February 25, 2014
The dress was stunning! I loved it!
The dress ran a little bit short even though I got a 4L. Also the sequins really scratch the inside of your arms. But those issues are minor compared to how gorgeous the dress looked. It was extremely flattering. Everyone loved it. I'd definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2014
Didn't get to wear
This dress is beautiful, I didn't get to wear it to my event due to a UPS issue so that's why it only has 2 stars. Once I did receive it I took it out of the box and the color was stunning and I did try it on and it look great! I wish I could have worn it to my event but RTR worked with me externally well and I will use them again
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 26, 2014
Beautiful gown! Perfect for the black tie event I attended. Fit was great, color was on trend.
Form fitting with the perfect amount of roughing to cover the "mommy bulge". The dress was long enough, but fitted at the bottom so my shoes were very visible. The sequins rubbed the inside of my arm after dancing the night away. I received a ton of compliments, someone even said I was giving them Beyoncé!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
March 2, 2014
I fit right in at a black tie affair! I received many compliments about this dress.
Great color and beautiful design!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Didn't wear this one but it was gorgeous.
This dress was my back up and was pretty tight in a 2 when the other dress was loose in a 2. Dress is very flattering but cannot imagine wearing it with breasts any bigger than a B, chest room is small and front cuts into breasts which is not a flattering look.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2014
Oscar party 2014
The lining on the neckline kept rolling up and showing, and the sequins were scratchy but other than that it was awesome.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
March 6, 2014
Great night with great friends
Loved the dress...fit like a glove.. The dress was beautiful. Funny, or not so funny story...wore dress for a Mardi Gras ball....look one table away and see a person with the SAME dress...we are actually a guest of the same person. What are the odds....?????? That aside, I would definitely order from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on this dress. It sparkles and hugs your curves.
This dress would work best for a smaller chested woman. I wear a 32DD and felt like the dress was too low on me and was worried I would fall out of the dress. I ordered a 6R as back up but the shoulders were way too baggy so I stuck with the 4R. I should have went with a 4L as the dress was just a tad too short on me. It was so sparkly and everyone loved the dress. The sequins did rub my arm raw but it was worth it to feel pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
It was the perfect shade of purple for my Mardi Gras gala. Gorgeous dress. So comfortable!!
I wore the 8 due to my bust size, otherwise I could wear the 6 which I normally wear in dresses. So, if you're busty go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2014
very comfortable with lots of pizazz!
the 6R and 8R fit exactly the same. even on the length so i couldnt tell a difference either way. i would say that the Regular length is VERY SHORT. i am 5'8 and wasnt concerned with the length because i knew i would be wearing flats in this dress due to the constant standing and dancing at the event i was going to. however, even with flats on, my shoes were a little visible so i would say that the regular length is really like a short in length. other than the length, it was great! the dress was very flattering with the ruching and on the bust area and insanely comfortable. i felt great all night long. would definitely rent this again but i will order a long if i have to wear any sort of heel!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
March 16, 2014
This dress was perfect! Comfortable and stunning!
Being 5'2" and small chested, I was nervous that this dress would have been too long or big; however it was so perfect. I wore a size 0 and it was comfortable and not too tight. I wore heels and it was the perfect length too. It was comfortable enough to dance in! I received tons of compliments, it is a gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2014
The cut of the dress really turned heads.
This dress was amazing except for how the straps drooped over.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 18, 2014
Playing Dress Up!
This was a beautiful dress to wear and perfect for the black tie event I wore it too. It was comfortable for the most part however, the sequin did irritate my underarm - Beauty is pain. I'm 5'5 and with 3 inch heals the back of the dress was a little long but elegant none the less. It fit well in the chest, I'm 34DDD and would have fit even better with a proper fitting strapless, the gathering in the waist area is great camo for curves in all directions but I wore spanx just to keep it real. This was my first experience with RTR and I truly look forward to the occasion. It so nice to know I have I dress for any event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
March 23, 2014
Beautiful! Glittery! Perfect for a black tie event at a casino!
Beautiful dress! Really makes you feel curvy and sexy!! A couple things to watch out for-- the lining on the bust shows constantly but was improved with some fashion tape. Also the top part that buttons in the back is a little loose- again was improved with some fashion tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 24, 2014
It was way too short and much tighter in the hips than expected.
RTR needs to get more dresses in taller sizes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
March 25, 2014
Comfortable and flattering!
I have never had a bad experience with Nicole Miller! The cut is very slimming and though I did wear a strapless bra, you can probably get away with a traditional bra. The 6R and 4R both fit well, but I've lost a little weight recently and was glad I had the 4R.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2014
RUNS SMALL IN BUST FOR D+ CUPS
The size 6 fit, but the top cut across my breasts. The 8 wasn't that much better and was looser in the waist and hips. Couldn't wear, but luckily, my back up was beautiful!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
March 30, 2014
I wore this dress for my school pageant! I placed and got tons of compliments!
It fit me really well! I wore it with a 2 1/2inch heel, any higher and I would've needed the long. Overall I loved the dress! It was perfect for the event and really sparkled under the stage lights!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
Very feminine and classy!!
Fit perfect. Surprisingly the length was just right for me 5'3 with 4 inch heels, if you are tall order a long. Color was a beautiful deep purple just like I wanted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2014
Getting compliments for days after
This is a gorgeous dress. I wore it to a law school formal, and it was perfectly unique yet not over-the-top flashy. I wanted to look classy and sophisticated, and this dress helped me look exactly that. I was getting compliments even in the days after from classmates saying how beautiful I looked! The only reason I deducted a star is for the fit. I knew, after reading all the reviews, that this dress is perfect for tall/straight bodies. So, the straps were a tiny bit long. They puckered a bit in the back, and the hem was a tiny bit long (even with 4 inch heels on). However, overall a great rental.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 1, 2014
Beautiful color, perfect and comfortable fit! Received many compliments and my fiancé was floored!
Fit was perfect for my body type and was comfortable and easy to move in. Length was a bit long on me and did get caught on my stilettos a few time during the night. Wore very light jewelry, the dress really spoke for itself. Would totally wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2014
amazing dress! another girl did have on the same RTR dress at my event. Shorter than expected.
another girl did have on the same RTR dress at my event. Shorter than expected.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 2, 2014
Very beautiful dress fits like a glove but runs a little large, should have gotten a 0
Fit great as I said runs a little big. Definitely very itchy on the armpit area and arms but that's bound to happen with a sequin dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 3, 2014
Wearing this dress made me feel like a movie star! Compliments of a great fit and perfect color!
Great fit over all my curves. Sequins did not bother me at all. 8R was just the right length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
April 4, 2014
This dress fit me perfectly and I didn't want to take it off! I wish I could buy this dress
In love with the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
April 6, 2014
All the compliments. This is an eye catcher!
I wore 5 inch heels and the dress looked amazing, it was floor length and easy to walk in.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
April 6, 2014
Beautiful dress
Hard to zip up. I am regularly a size 6. I went to the storefront and tried the dress on. The size 0 (to my surprise) fit perfectly. The dress I got had not been stretched out and it was tough to zip. Once on, however, it was beautiful and I had no problem at all. Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 7, 2014
Tons of compliments and great fit!
The straps were slightly larger than I would have liked as I have a small bust and had to adjust throughout the night to ensure that my bra straps did not show. Very lovely fit and I did not need the size up (2). I only lifted the dress to ascend and descend the stairs. I wore four inch heels which kept the dress from dragging while walking. Definitely a show stopper!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
April 7, 2014
perfection!
such an incredible dress. I got so many compliments throughout the night. Fits like a glove. Heels were difficult to find so I suggest going with more like a kitten heel than something too high. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2014
Fits great and is very flattering. Received so many compliments. I felt like a princess.
I should have ordered long. Dress was about an inch and a half off the floor when I wore 3 inch heels. Other than that I loved the dress. It was very comfortable to wear.
MeganSeptember 16, 2014
Did you wear a regular bra or strapless? I read some people wore backless but I don't think that would work for me!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 14, 2014
I felt like I was a celebrity for the evening! My husband loved it and I felt great in it!
Pretty true to size. It looked really small when it arrived but the material is stretchy so don't stress out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 16, 2014
Amazing!
The dress ran really large so I regret not getting the Regular sized one! & underneath my arms were itchy but the dress was gorgeous and I got many compliments on it all night! I didn't wanna give it back, it was gorgeous and a lot purpler then I expected from the picture.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
April 17, 2014
I rented this dress for a black-tie charity gala which was mardi gras themed, and it was a hit!
At first I was very afraid of the fit, I had ordered the 4R because the 4L was not available, and it was way too short, so that one was out. My back-up size was a 2L and I ended up being able to suck-in enough with the help of some "control-top" hose to wear this size. It ended up looking fabulous! Also, I was able to wear a normal strapless bra with this dress which was a bonus, however, I did have to pull up the top a little/ tuck the top of the bra down into the dress each time I went to the bathroom. Overall, pleased with the experience.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2014
Little movie star :)
Let me start by saying, I'm 5'0. What am I going to do with a floor length gown? I used safety pins and hem tape to make it work! I put the picture up, because you can see ruching around the hip/waist area. I made that by putting a safety pin of a fold (inside the dress) right at the waist and right at the thigh (two pins on each side, so 4 total). Then I used a little hem tape on the back so it wouldn't drag. Also, the 6 fit a little loose (because of the fabric? it's stretchy, and gives everywhere except in the bust), which was good, because then the folds/pins were not visible. Someone told me I looked like a movie star in the dress,)and I got compliments the entire night (and even a few texts the following day), so it was an awesome experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 21, 2014
Love the dress. Fit great. Recommend this dress to anyone.
Loved, loved this dress. After weeks of reviewing RTR, I finally decided on this dress. I felt like a princess. I had an over abundant amount of compliments on the dress. I typically would wear a size 2, however, after reading reviews, I luckily opted to get a 0R for my backup. So glad I did. I am pretty flat chested and 0R ended up fitting better in the chest and arms. The dress is stretchy so I couldn't tell a huge difference in the way a 0R and 2R fit in my hips and thighs. Overall, I give this dress a 10!! I also rented the mirror bangle brackets to accessorize the look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2014
This dress stood apart from everyone else's. Definitely unforgettable!
This dress is BEYOND perfect. I wore it to my junior prom and everyone loved it just as much as I did! The dress fit perfectly! I do have to say that I was a little scared that it wasn't going to be long enough because I'm 5'11, but it just reached the floor (no heels worn). The dress wasn't as itchy as I was expecting it to be so that was a plus. And it hugged my curves in all the right places. I was also worried about either spilling out of the dress or not having enough cleavage, but it was tight enough to give me a perfect lift! I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stand out on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×