Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
523 reviews
Fit
Large33
True to Size352
Small41
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2015
So comfortable and glamorous
Fit was true to size and good for a bigger bust. Fabric was surprisingly stretchy and it was actually super warm which was great for a December holiday gala. Loved almost everything, only downside was the sequins sort of rubbed a rash on my arms but that's a very small nuisance compared to the overall impact of the dress. Totally worth it. Wish I could've kept it. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
December 9, 2015
This was the perfect dress for a formal winter wedding!
This dress was so glam! I loved the sequins, even though they were a little uncomfortable on the dance floor. This dress was not as long as I hoped, even though I ordered the long. It was stretchy and had extra room where I needed it in the hips. It was pretty low cut, so I had a hard time keeping the backless bra from showing. Overall, it was very flattering and elegant, and I'm so glad to have worn this elegant dress for an even more elegant event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 8, 2015
Fun and comfortable! Perfect for my event.
This dress looked great and was fun to wear BUT the lining rode up so that it often peaked out the top of the neckline. I found myself adjusting it a lot--probably more than needed. That was the only drawback. Otherwise, I liked it more than I thought I would (it was the best option available last minute). Great color, loved the train. Looked great with my friend's gold sequin rental!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
December 7, 2015
This is my most favorite and the best fitting dress I've ever ordered from RTR!
This dress hugged all of the right places. It fit better than I could have ever imagined. This pic doesn't show the true purple of the dress due to our lighting--so don't be fooled and think it's this dark. The sequins can be a little bothersome under the arms, but it was worth it for the great fit. I am pretty busty and didn't feel like I was going to fall out of the dress at all. I would wear this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Dancing
The tall size would have fit better and allowed for heels but the dress was gorgeous and I was comfortable all night! Highly recommended.
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 6, 2015
Overall good experience
This dress fit great and was comfortable. I'm 5'6" and wore a 2L. It wasn't as long as I expected and I was only able to wear kitten heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 2, 2015
Very Stunning, Elegant, Classy, and Sexy all at the same time!!!
I had a ball to attend to and ended up ordering a size bigger due to how many girls were saying the size 2 was for little boobies. I have size D tattas and the 4 held them up nicely. I have an athletic frame so it hugged me in all the right curves. I'm 5'3" and wore 3' heels. Nice enough to where you only saw them if I was walking. I didn't have any scratching issues under the arms with the dress. Honestly I think it depends if you're power walking through out the night or have bigger arms that end up rubbing against the dress 0_o
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
December 1, 2015
I received multiple compliments on the dress. Couldn't be happier.
The fit was perfect. It was a little long, but nothing I couldn't manage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2015
I received soooooo many compliments. People loved the color and the design!
Perfect fit <3
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
November 24, 2015
Beautiful dress to wear while transitioning sizes!
I have a 3 month old and wasn't sure of what size to wear as I'm not quite back to my fighting weight. I wore the 12L because it had more chest coverage (and yet still showed quite a bit of cleavage). I'm so glad I got the long...I think the regular would have been too short with my heels! The dress was pretty and I got compliments...it was definitely out of my comfort zone but it worked. The back was too loose but I know it's because I wore the larger size for chest coverage. The lining did ride up as other reviewers noted but it wasn't terrible. Overall I was happy with the rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 23, 2015
Amazing dress
I ended up wearing the back up size (6L) because the size I normally wear (4L) was too tight in the chest. If you are busty I suggest going up a size. The sequins were a little irritating but the dress looked so good I didnt even mind. Pictures dont do the color justice it is a beautiful deep purple. I loved this dress and felt great in it all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2015
The dress was stunning on and the service was impeccable. I was complimented all night at the ball.
Based on reviews, I ordered a 4R and 2L. I am normally a 0 or 2 and I wanted it to be long enough for heels. I'm glad I ordered a long in the 2... It fit perfect! There was a hole in the train when it arrived and RTR overnighted me a new 2L... It was perfect. The whole experience was wonderful. This dress was stunning and I was complimented all night. If you want to stand out and look amazing, this is the perfect dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 23, 2015
The dress was perfect for the margarita ball.
The dress fits true to size. The 12 was a little too long but the 10 was perfect in length. The only issue I had was that the zipper puckered in the back on both dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 21, 2015
The dress was BEAUTIFUL! I received SO many compliments. I have never rented a dress. It was Perfect
Dress fit great. It was a little short. I am glad that I ordered a Long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
I ordered this as my back up style, and I would've worn it (because I actually preferred it to my other dress) except that my boyfriend thought it was a little bit too much for his work event. I usually wear a 2 and ordered a 2R and 0R. Both fit, although on my 5'1" frame and with 3-4" heels, the 2R was a little bit long. It hugs your curves in the best way but is also very comfortable. Also - absolutely love the neckline. Super flattering!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
November 18, 2015
Stunning, curve hugging dress
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended! I got SO many compliments on it ALL night long, and it was totally an eye catcher. The dark, muted purple was GORGEOUS and the sparkle added just the right amount of fun. I was worried it would be too gaudy or over the top, but it definitely wasn't. People raved over it, and I felt amazing. My boyfriend was a huge fan of it as well! ;) The zipper is difficult and I needed my boyfriend's help to get it up, but it that's to be expected with a sequined dress. It was difficult to move the zipper when the dress was just hanging on the hanger too. The sequins were itchy on the back of my arms, but again that's to be expected with a sequined dress and it wasn't that bad. The arm holes are really small/tight so having toned arms would have been helpful. I wear a 36DD and it was REAL snug up top (part of the zipper difficulties). I had some definite cleavage going on that I had to keep an eye on, but it wasn't too bad. I'm just under 5'4" (5'3.75") and I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. It kept the train high enough off the ground so people didn't step on it and still grazed the floor in front. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
November 18, 2015
I received so many compliments on the dress!
It was a bit long but safe to say I didn't fall.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2015
This dress made me feel like an old Hollywood glamour queen!
The size 6 long fit like a glove and was long enough to wear 3" heels. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2015
No one else had a dress quite like it - the color was beautiful and unique, and fit was beautiful.
It does fall down a little bit in the front and reveal a strapless bra if you're wearing one. I had to hike the top up throughout the night - however, I am very busty (30G) so that experience will only likely replicate itself if you're similarly busty. It was a beautiful, beautiful dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
November 5, 2015
I actually came down with a stomach virus and was a practical zombie the entire night.
It runs true to size, except for in the sleeve caps and around the bust. I suppose if you have a more generous supply of boobs then it would fill out quite nice. I am, however, blessed with the chest of a 12 year old boy and so it kept slouching down to reveal the top crest of my hungry bra. The sleeve caps also took a hike from shoulders the second I dare slouch my shoulders. It was an exercise in sitting elegantly all evening. I felt great standing up. I received many compliments on it and the sequins barely irritated me. There was some minor chafing around the arm pit area, but nothing that left me regretting my decision in wearing the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
October 29, 2015
beautiful dress
Had someone with the same gown on, but it was a beautiful dress. Loved it and felt beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 26, 2015
Rented gown for contemporary glamour portrait session.
I'm a boudoir and contemporary glamour portrait photographer located in Central PA and I rented this stunning gown for my client's session. She wore the size 8 and it fit her perfectly, and that color looked amazing on her! She usually wears only black but I was able to get her to trust me on this dress and she was thrilled how she looked. The fabric had just enough stretch and had a luxurious feel to it. She didn't wear a bra with it but we did place cutlets in to give her just a bit more of a boost. http://shannonhemauerphotography.com/
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2015
Gorgeous dress, got so many compliments!
This dress is super gorgeous! I am normally a 4L but have wider hips, so I was concerned that this type of column dress would be too tight on my hips, so I ordered a 6L as my backup size. The 4L actually wasn't too bad, but it ended up being too short with the heels I was wearing. I ended up wearing the 6L because it just barely touched the floor, and it was a little more comfortable in the hips. I'm 5'8 and my heels were about 3 inches, so I was surprised that the 4L and 6L weren't actually that long. However, the dress was stunning, I got compliments all night, and I did not want to take it off. I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2015
Black tie night
I believed my hips were far too larger for this style dress and was not going to wear it. My man, on the other hand loved the dress and begged me to wear it. It was comfortable and very elegant looking. It does show cleavage (my event was pretty conservative) so I was a bit cautious. Also, I had to pin the top as the button kept coming undone. Over all, I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 22, 2015
The dress was amazing and I got so many compliments on it. It was perfect for the black tie wedding.
The dress fit well and it was comfortable. I didn't wear a bracelet because I was afraid of catching and pulling the fabric. The dress is so fancy it doesn't call for a lot of accessories. It is definitely on the longer side, but my heels were at least 3& 1/2 inches, which worked out fine. While I was dancing I had to lift it up a little bit. I got so many compliments on it, I was very pleased with it overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 21, 2015
This is a show stopper!
This was a back up dress for me. I'm 5'5", 122 lbs, this dress was very tight. It was very pretty, however, I wore my original gown. I wish I would have gotten a picture taken. I would rent this one again but in a 4R.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 18, 2015
Such a great form fitting dress
Fit was true to size. The color is great and the fit is amazing! I rented this as a extra option for a military ball but ended up not wearing this as I liked another dress in my order more. Also the zipper on my dress would not go up because it seemed to be stuck so I cousins have worn it even if I wanted to. But definitely a gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 18, 2015
Show stopper
Rented as my backup but fell in love! Great plum color is a fun alternative to black. Felt great all night. Gads of compliments!! Small train was perfect length. Wore with 3" heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 18, 2015
Awesome dress!
Beautiful I'm 5'7 and should've done the R instead of L (less worry on the dance flr) but I loved it. It fit really well in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2015
Perfect dress for the ball
This dress fit true to size the only down side was it was VERY scratchy. It was a very nice gown and perfect for the USMC Ball.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2015
Great dress, definitely an attention getter!
At first I had requested the size 2 and 4 but got a little nervous about the sizing after losing a few more pounds so I called and the extremely helpful lady switched me to a 0 and 2. She made me feel confident that those are the sizes that would work best for me. The two fit ok, but was loose in the back and the straps were too long making the "girls' wanna come out and play a little too much. The 0 was snuck when pulling over the hips but fit like a glove and made me feel super sexy. My hubby said people were staring all night and by the end of the evening I did not want to part with this dress! Nothing has ever made me feel more confident:) I only ordered the long for the heels! If you are 5'5 and going with 3 inch order the regular but 4 inch needs a long to not show the shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
October 7, 2015
A sparkling evening
This was my back up dress after the first was lost by UPS. It was shipped overnight and got there Sat afternoon. A true fit, no stretch but beautiful. Stood out all night. Perfect with heels, but when walking really fast I could feel the train getting tangled in my legs a little so slow down!
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
October 5, 2015
A nice dress after a stressful ordering process
Thank goodness I loved this dress, because it was my backup dress and after my original selection suddenly wasn't available and the replacement they sent me was not my style, it was my only option! I got compliments all night long and it's very easy to wear. I recommend spanx if you're going to be eating and drinking all night, and a strapless bra to keep some definition. A note to my taller ladies, I'm 5'10" and the long style barely touched the ground so I had to wear flats. I'm not sure if they sent me a regular and didn't tell, or if this is the shortest long ever made, but keep it in mind. Overall this is a great dress, but some elements like the zipper and button at the top are obviously very worn, and should be replaced
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
October 3, 2015
This dress fit like a glove!
This dress fit me perfect!! I'm typically a size 6/8 and I think I could have fit into a 6 just right but the 8 gave me room to breathe so I am completely happy overall. The dress was not scratchy as other ladies mentioned but I did have an issue with the sequences were sharp and jammed up my right thumb when I was trying to adjust the dress after sitting and standing numerous times during several toasts. Just to help other ladies out: I'm about 5'7, 148 lbs, I'm more bottom heavy, e.g., hips and butt I ordered the long version of this dress and wore about 3 in heels and the length was perfect! Not too long and definitely not short. Definitely recommend!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
October 1, 2015
The dress was unforgettable. Everyone will adore you in it. It's a gorgeous piece.
Most everything about the dress was perfect. My only complaint was that the sleeves felt a little loose on my shoulders. All in all, the dress was perfect length (I was also wearing 5" tall heels), and I was able to dance comfortably all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2015
Glamorous!
The chest area was a bit small, but the waist and hips were great! The sequins rubbed against my armpits so by the end of the night that was a bit chafed. I got tons of compliments, as always when wearing RTR!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 27, 2015
The sequins are stunning and the fit was gorgeous.
I would highly recommend this dress. Fits like a glove, with a nice heavy fabric. The best part is the mini-bustle in the back (the perfect accent to a round derriere). I could easily wear a strapless bra underneath. I paired with 3in sparkly silver peep-toed pumps. I had no issues with chafing under the arms. Got lots of compliments!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
September 25, 2015
I wore this for an Awards Gala for work and I felt really beautiful in it!!
The dress fit perfectly. In fact, if I had weighed a pound heavier I don't think I could have zipped it up! haha! The length was great for heels so you couldn't see my shoes until I was walking. I was wearing 2.5 in heels. The dress was gorgeous and I got LOTS of compliments on it and I definitely stood out with all the sequence... but one thing drove me nuts right at the bust line. The inside lining kept bunching out the top. So I was constantly retucking it in and making sure it laid correctly. And quite honestly, if I had a larger chest, I'm not sure I would have fit! Other than that, LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 24, 2015
Prettier in person
I found the dress to look best in person, none of my photos of the evening do it justice. I received compliments all night long. I am typically between an 8 and 10, and I ordered the 10L as my back-up and it fit well. However, even in a long I could not wear much of a heel. The gathering of material in the front stomach area was flattering, but I still wore Spanx. The only criticism I have is that the material around my chest kept rolling. I used fashion tape to keep it down and that made it worse. Ultimately I decided to go without a bra and that worked out. I'm a small D cup and the dress gave enough support for me to be comfortable. I would rent this dress again for a similar occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2015
Gorgeous dress that fit me like a glove.
This dress fit me like a glove, is true to size, and the length was perfect for my petite frame. I liked how lightweight it was too. I love Nicole Miller dresses, and will definitely look to her again in the future. I didn't use my size 6 back-up, but it was a good choice since the 2 would have been too small. This was my first time with RTR and it was a success, so I'll be back.
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×