Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
545 reviews
Fit
Large33
True to Size363
Small44
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2016
Showstopper! The most flattering shape!
This dress is amazing! I'm not very curvy, but it made me look like I had shape in all the right spots. It's very form fitting, so grab the spanx. It's a bit long (I'm 5'6" and had 4" heels on) but not unmanageable. The lining on the bust does roll up a bit when dancing, FYI. I got so many compliments on this number, would highly recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 7, 2016
Was a stunner at the party!
I wore this dress to a NYE party and it was amazing! I was a little worried because I gained some weight during the holidays and I was so scared the dress wouldn't fit but I was actually able to wear the smaller size of the two I chose. The material stretches which is good because I have a small top but a wide bottom. It hugs all your curves and gives you a great looking shape. Even though it's covered in sequins it didn't rub or scratch anywhere. The color is a beautiful plum color. The only downside to this dress is if you are pear shaped like me the top of the dress can be a bit big if you get the dress to fit your bottom but a padded strapless bra made the dress work perfect. I was super happy and reviewed so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 6, 2016
I had second thoughts about going to the black tie affair, but RTR made my mind up for me!
The dress fit like a glove. I went for the longer length because I wore 4 inch heels. I rented the 2L and 4L to be certain I had enough room in the dress. I wore the 2L because it was actually much longer than the 4L. The zipper was hard to zip on both dresses, but I had read in other reviews that it would be a challenge. The husband managed to zip it up after about 5 minutes..LOL This was my first experience with RTR and it was fabulous! Thanks Tabby(G'town Store) for all you did to help me find the dress for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
January 6, 2016
LOVE IT
The dress arrived a day before expected, it was a nice surprise... the dress fit perfectly, it was beautiful in length and comfortable. Recommend the whole experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 5, 2016
Perfect dress for a black tie NYE wedding!
I loved this dress! I received compliments throughout the night. The color is much richer in person than I had expected based on the online photos, which was great. I found the fit of this dress to be just right for me, and I was glad I went with the 4L as the length was perfect with 3" heels (I'm 5'7"). The cut of the dress accentuated my curves perfectly for a hip-hugging but comfortable fit, and the neckline and back were very flattering as well. Would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 5, 2016
Wore this dress to the Marine Corps ball. Definitely a success.
I was really nervous about renting because it is so difficult to find a dress that fits me well. But I put faith in to the reviews on RentTheRunway an it really worked out well. I definitely felt glamorous! But let's get down and dirty. A few people mentioned the sequins giving them a rash. I didn't experience that but I was only wearing the dress for a few hours. I'm 5'3", have a boyish/athletic figure, and have A cups. Don't let the boobs fool you, I'm wearing cutlets AND a push up bra. Sneaky. The dress is really flattering, regardless. You can wear it with or without a bra (or two). It does stretch, though! Thats a blessing and a curse -- its easy to zip in to buy but not the most forgiving when you have a few too many helpings for dinner. I was so pleased with RentTheRunway, though. Not only was the dress on time, I had a back up size to choose from which actually fit better than the original size I ordered.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
The ease of this process will DEFINITELY make me a repeat customer. Thank you RTR!!
Wore this to my husband's Christmas military ball. It did not disappoint. Was not any heavier than any other gown of this nature. I also did not find the sequins to be as bothersome as others. I really loved this dress. Will definitely use RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
I work this dress to a NYE Masquerade Ball, it was everything I wanted in a dress!
Fit like a glove, comfortable and easy to move around in! This dress does have a fussy zipper where the ruching is on the back but other than that... AMAZING!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2016
The Ultimate Bond Girl Dress!
Rented this dress for an NYE black tie James Bond 007 themed party and absolutely LOVED it!!! Aside from receiving countless compliments all night long (my date especially loved it), this dress was incredibly lightweight and perfect for a night of dancing into the new year. I'm just about 5'1" and wore about 4" heels and had no issues with the length. Had the 0P been available I would have rented that as my backup - the top on the 0R was slightly bigger in the back than I care for, but was just fine. Rent this dress- you won't be disappointed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2016
Beautiful gown, fit perfectly!
I am 5'11 and 155lbs with a small waist but full hips. I ordered a 8L and 6L and the 6L was actually LONGER than the 8 and it fit better. It was gorgeous! I received so many compliments all night and the dress was very comfortable. The only con was a minor issue with the lining of the dress peaking through at the chest. Other than that, the dress was perfect! Great dress for us tall girls! I easily could have wore 4in heels and still had a beautiful train behind me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
December 31, 2015
Loved this dress and so did everyone else!
This dress fit great. I normally wear a 00P in dresses, but this was perfect. It has some stretch to it. I got compliments all night. It was a bit long for me and I get tripping on it even with 4 inch heels, but I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 22, 2015
Loved this dress! Comfortable and beautiful. Fit well. Sequins were a little itchy on arms.
great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 22, 2015
This dress is stunning! I had a great time wearing it to a fun, formal party.
Pros- Beautiful! Loved the color and fit Cons- It's heavy, which made it uncomfortable after a while
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 18, 2015
Perfect fit!
Dress fit like a glove! I received so many compliments!! Perfect for a Christmas party! Comfortable and easy to move and dance in!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 17, 2015
This dress was gorgeous - fit like a glove and wasn't any kind of nuisance to wear. Loved it!
Fit beautifully, I'm small on top and fuller on bottom. The sequins at hem would catch a little once in a while - heels I wore where just 1.5", so I carried the hem a little to protect it. Not too long though. Very comfortable to wear - amazing!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 17, 2015
Looks great in photos.
The chest is pretty tight, everywhere else has a lot of give and stretch. This was a long, Long I think a 6 Regular would have been fine
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
December 16, 2015
Jaw dropping number!
Beautiful color and design. Very flattering to the figure. A bit loose up top if your bra size is smaller than 34. I recommend dress tape since I tugged at my dress most of the evening to keep my bra covered. Overall, a wonderful experience. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 15, 2015
How fast I was able to find a dress
The dress fit prefect it was a bit short from the length with heels but was able to walk and dance the night away loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
December 14, 2015
The theme of the party for the girls is "sparkly" and this dress fit the bill!
Plenty of stretch to the fabric so easy to sit, walk, and climb in and out of a limo; definitely needed the 4-inch heels for the length of the 6L size. The stretchiness also made a better fit for my round hip, small busted frame - I did wear one of those stick-on invisible "bras" to help fill out the top a bit. Super sparkly, and the color is more vibrant than the RTR pictures - so good!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
December 13, 2015
I received many compliments on the day that I wore dress to wedding.
I ordered the 6R and dress fit perfectly. Dress was very flattering. The color was vibrant, length was perfect and fitted well, highlighting my physique. Great choice, loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 11, 2015
Stunning dress!
This dress fit perfectly, it was stretchy too! I thought I'd need a size 6 but the 4 fit amazing. Defiantly a great pick.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 11, 2015
The dress was beautiful. It has a stretchy feel so it's very comfortable.
It's beautiful! Definitely get a strapless bra, as a bra will show in the back and front. The lining under the dress did continue to show around the bust - a bit annoying.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2015
So comfortable and glamorous
Fit was true to size and good for a bigger bust. Fabric was surprisingly stretchy and it was actually super warm which was great for a December holiday gala. Loved almost everything, only downside was the sequins sort of rubbed a rash on my arms but that's a very small nuisance compared to the overall impact of the dress. Totally worth it. Wish I could've kept it. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
December 9, 2015
This was the perfect dress for a formal winter wedding!
This dress was so glam! I loved the sequins, even though they were a little uncomfortable on the dance floor. This dress was not as long as I hoped, even though I ordered the long. It was stretchy and had extra room where I needed it in the hips. It was pretty low cut, so I had a hard time keeping the backless bra from showing. Overall, it was very flattering and elegant, and I'm so glad to have worn this elegant dress for an even more elegant event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 8, 2015
Fun and comfortable! Perfect for my event.
This dress looked great and was fun to wear BUT the lining rode up so that it often peaked out the top of the neckline. I found myself adjusting it a lot--probably more than needed. That was the only drawback. Otherwise, I liked it more than I thought I would (it was the best option available last minute). Great color, loved the train. Looked great with my friend's gold sequin rental!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
December 7, 2015
This is my most favorite and the best fitting dress I've ever ordered from RTR!
This dress hugged all of the right places. It fit better than I could have ever imagined. This pic doesn't show the true purple of the dress due to our lighting--so don't be fooled and think it's this dark. The sequins can be a little bothersome under the arms, but it was worth it for the great fit. I am pretty busty and didn't feel like I was going to fall out of the dress at all. I would wear this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Dancing
The tall size would have fit better and allowed for heels but the dress was gorgeous and I was comfortable all night! Highly recommended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 6, 2015
Overall good experience
This dress fit great and was comfortable. I'm 5'6" and wore a 2L. It wasn't as long as I expected and I was only able to wear kitten heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 2, 2015
Very Stunning, Elegant, Classy, and Sexy all at the same time!!!
I had a ball to attend to and ended up ordering a size bigger due to how many girls were saying the size 2 was for little boobies. I have size D tattas and the 4 held them up nicely. I have an athletic frame so it hugged me in all the right curves. I'm 5'3" and wore 3' heels. Nice enough to where you only saw them if I was walking. I didn't have any scratching issues under the arms with the dress. Honestly I think it depends if you're power walking through out the night or have bigger arms that end up rubbing against the dress 0_o
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
December 1, 2015
I received multiple compliments on the dress. Couldn't be happier.
The fit was perfect. It was a little long, but nothing I couldn't manage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2015
I received soooooo many compliments. People loved the color and the design!
Perfect fit <3
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
November 24, 2015
Beautiful dress to wear while transitioning sizes!
I have a 3 month old and wasn't sure of what size to wear as I'm not quite back to my fighting weight. I wore the 12L because it had more chest coverage (and yet still showed quite a bit of cleavage). I'm so glad I got the long...I think the regular would have been too short with my heels! The dress was pretty and I got compliments...it was definitely out of my comfort zone but it worked. The back was too loose but I know it's because I wore the larger size for chest coverage. The lining did ride up as other reviewers noted but it wasn't terrible. Overall I was happy with the rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 23, 2015
Amazing dress
I ended up wearing the back up size (6L) because the size I normally wear (4L) was too tight in the chest. If you are busty I suggest going up a size. The sequins were a little irritating but the dress looked so good I didnt even mind. Pictures dont do the color justice it is a beautiful deep purple. I loved this dress and felt great in it all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2015
The dress was stunning on and the service was impeccable. I was complimented all night at the ball.
Based on reviews, I ordered a 4R and 2L. I am normally a 0 or 2 and I wanted it to be long enough for heels. I'm glad I ordered a long in the 2... It fit perfect! There was a hole in the train when it arrived and RTR overnighted me a new 2L... It was perfect. The whole experience was wonderful. This dress was stunning and I was complimented all night. If you want to stand out and look amazing, this is the perfect dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 23, 2015
The dress was perfect for the margarita ball.
The dress fits true to size. The 12 was a little too long but the 10 was perfect in length. The only issue I had was that the zipper puckered in the back on both dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 21, 2015
The dress was BEAUTIFUL! I received SO many compliments. I have never rented a dress. It was Perfect
Dress fit great. It was a little short. I am glad that I ordered a Long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
I ordered this as my back up style, and I would've worn it (because I actually preferred it to my other dress) except that my boyfriend thought it was a little bit too much for his work event. I usually wear a 2 and ordered a 2R and 0R. Both fit, although on my 5'1" frame and with 3-4" heels, the 2R was a little bit long. It hugs your curves in the best way but is also very comfortable. Also - absolutely love the neckline. Super flattering!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
November 18, 2015
Stunning, curve hugging dress
This dress was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended! I got SO many compliments on it ALL night long, and it was totally an eye catcher. The dark, muted purple was GORGEOUS and the sparkle added just the right amount of fun. I was worried it would be too gaudy or over the top, but it definitely wasn't. People raved over it, and I felt amazing. My boyfriend was a huge fan of it as well! ;) The zipper is difficult and I needed my boyfriend's help to get it up, but it that's to be expected with a sequined dress. It was difficult to move the zipper when the dress was just hanging on the hanger too. The sequins were itchy on the back of my arms, but again that's to be expected with a sequined dress and it wasn't that bad. The arm holes are really small/tight so having toned arms would have been helpful. I wear a 36DD and it was REAL snug up top (part of the zipper difficulties). I had some definite cleavage going on that I had to keep an eye on, but it wasn't too bad. I'm just under 5'4" (5'3.75") and I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. It kept the train high enough off the ground so people didn't step on it and still grazed the floor in front. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
November 18, 2015
I received so many compliments on the dress!
It was a bit long but safe to say I didn't fall.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2015
This dress made me feel like an old Hollywood glamour queen!
The size 6 long fit like a glove and was long enough to wear 3" heels. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×