Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$605 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
677 reviews
Fit
Large
(34)
True to Size
(426)
Small
(57)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2015
Loved the sparkle!!! Tons of compliments!

Loved this dress. The deep purple sequin is really flattering on me. The shape was really fitting but not unbearable tight. A little long to dance with if you don't have high enough heels. My only compliant on the dress is that the top chest part kept flipping over and showing about an inch of fabric from the inside. I tried to safety pin it done but really don't work.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
August 25, 2015
Rent the runway is a genius idea! I will always rent for special occasion from now on.

Dress for snug but was stretchy so it didn't bother me. I felt elegant and received many compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 18, 2015
I wore this to the Hispanic Heritage Awards and received compliments all night!

Overall the dress was true to size. I'm petite (4'10") and a 34C. I usually wear size 2, but had to go a size up for my chest. The dress was absolutely gorgeous in any light. It was a bit scratchy, but it really didn't start bothering me until the end of the night. It was very comfortable and easy to move in. The open back was a very nice detail and I was able to wear a strapless bra with no problem.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2015
Beautiful gown-disappointing 1st time rental experience

Beautiful dress! It hugs your body without being restrictive. You can get away without wearing a bra but I wore a padded push-up strapless one to give the illusion that I have somewhat of a chest. The shoulder straps were loose fitting but not so much that I had to worry about them falling off my shoulders. The dress photographs well but I feel that the pictures do not capture the true gorgeous purple color that it is. I accessorized with silver shoes and a silver sequin clutch. I received countless compliments at the Medal of Honor Patriot Awards Gala that I wore this to. This was not the dress I had originally ordered for my event. My advice for others is not to fall in love with the dress you order, like I did, or you will be devastated when you receive an EMAIL at 12noon the day before it's due to arrive that informs you that the dress was damaged and you now have only a few hours to get back to them with more dress options. (If they didn't hear back from me that day by 4PM then they were just going to pick one for me-surprise!) Now that's a difficult request as there is very limited availability of dresses (that you actually like and in your size) to chose from 2 days before an event. To be prepared for such a circumstance I recommend having at least 15 dresses saved in your "hearts" because as this being my 1st RTR experience I only had 3 saved (I had found the dress I loved and didn't really look much after that.) Of course they weren't available so naturally I felt rushed to find a new dress. My experience with RTR customer service about this was disappointing. I had called 3 times before being able to speak with someone. The 1st 2 phone calls I was on hold for 15 minutes each time before I opted to leave my phone # to be called back at instead of waiting. After 4 hours and no phone call I called again and waited 25 minutes before I spoke with someone. My advice to RTR with situations such as mine is to go the extra mile and throw in an accessory with the order. I had already purchased shoes, clutch and a shawl to go with my original dress-even had my toe nails painted to match. Finding myself the morning of my event shopping (mind you with my 2 small children in tote) to find new accessories to match my new unexpected dress that Im now wearing is not an ideal experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
October 3, 2015
This dress fit like a glove!

This dress fit me perfect!! I'm typically a size 6/8 and I think I could have fit into a 6 just right but the 8 gave me room to breathe so I am completely happy overall. The dress was not scratchy as other ladies mentioned but I did have an issue with the sequences were sharp and jammed up my right thumb when I was trying to adjust the dress after sitting and standing numerous times during several toasts. Just to help other ladies out: I'm about 5'7, 148 lbs, I'm more bottom heavy, e.g., hips and butt I ordered the long version of this dress and wore about 3 in heels and the length was perfect! Not too long and definitely not short. Definitely recommend!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
October 5, 2015
A nice dress after a stressful ordering process

Thank goodness I loved this dress, because it was my backup dress and after my original selection suddenly wasn't available and the replacement they sent me was not my style, it was my only option! I got compliments all night long and it's very easy to wear. I recommend spanx if you're going to be eating and drinking all night, and a strapless bra to keep some definition. A note to my taller ladies, I'm 5'10" and the long style barely touched the ground so I had to wear flats. I'm not sure if they sent me a regular and didn't tell, or if this is the shortest long ever made, but keep it in mind. Overall this is a great dress, but some elements like the zipper and button at the top are obviously very worn, and should be replaced

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 18, 2015
Awesome dress!

Beautiful I'm 5'7 and should've done the R instead of L (less worry on the dance flr) but I loved it. It fit really well in all the right places.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2015
Gorgeous dress, got so many compliments!

This dress is super gorgeous! I am normally a 4L but have wider hips, so I was concerned that this type of column dress would be too tight on my hips, so I ordered a 6L as my backup size. The 4L actually wasn't too bad, but it ended up being too short with the heels I was wearing. I ended up wearing the 6L because it just barely touched the floor, and it was a little more comfortable in the hips. I'm 5'8 and my heels were about 3 inches, so I was surprised that the 4L and 6L weren't actually that long. However, the dress was stunning, I got compliments all night, and I did not want to take it off. I will definitely be using RTR again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2016
RTR delivered my dress just in time for my prom! No problems whatsoever, I'm so happy I found RTR

I don't know if the dress ran big or if it's true to size, it was the first time I had to select a dress size for myself but it did fit me perfectly! I only wish I choose this dress 6L instead but I absolutely loved this dress, it sparkles and it's so beautiful #prom

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 15, 2015
This dress made me feel like an old Hollywood glamour queen!

The size 6 long fit like a glove and was long enough to wear 3" heels. It was perfect!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2015
The dress was stunning on and the service was impeccable. I was complimented all night at the ball.

Based on reviews, I ordered a 4R and 2L. I am normally a 0 or 2 and I wanted it to be long enough for heels. I'm glad I ordered a long in the 2... It fit perfect! There was a hole in the train when it arrived and RTR overnighted me a new 2L... It was perfect. The whole experience was wonderful. This dress was stunning and I was complimented all night. If you want to stand out and look amazing, this is the perfect dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
November 24, 2015
Beautiful dress to wear while transitioning sizes!

I have a 3 month old and wasn't sure of what size to wear as I'm not quite back to my fighting weight. I wore the 12L because it had more chest coverage (and yet still showed quite a bit of cleavage). I'm so glad I got the long...I think the regular would have been too short with my heels! The dress was pretty and I got compliments...it was definitely out of my comfort zone but it worked. The back was too loose but I know it's because I wore the larger size for chest coverage. The lining did ride up as other reviewers noted but it wasn't terrible. Overall I was happy with the rental!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34C
December 6, 2015
Overall good experience

This dress fit great and was comfortable. I'm 5'6" and wore a 2L. It wasn't as long as I expected and I was only able to wear kitten heels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34DDD/E
December 10, 2015
So comfortable and glamorous

Fit was true to size and good for a bigger bust. Fabric was surprisingly stretchy and it was actually super warm which was great for a December holiday gala. Loved almost everything, only downside was the sequins sort of rubbed a rash on my arms but that's a very small nuisance compared to the overall impact of the dress. Totally worth it. Wish I could've kept it. Would definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 15, 2015
How fast I was able to find a dress

The dress fit prefect it was a bit short from the length with heels but was able to walk and dance the night away loved this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
December 16, 2015
Jaw dropping number!

Beautiful color and design. Very flattering to the figure. A bit loose up top if your bra size is smaller than 34. I recommend dress tape since I tugged at my dress most of the evening to keep my bra covered. Overall, a wonderful experience. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 28B
December 22, 2015
This dress is stunning! I had a great time wearing it to a fun, formal party.

Pros- Beautiful! Loved the color and fit Cons- It's heavy, which made it uncomfortable after a while

Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
December 11, 2015
Stunning dress!

This dress fit perfectly, it was stretchy too! I thought I'd need a size 6 but the 4 fit amazing. Defiantly a great pick.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2016
Beautiful gown, fit perfectly!

I am 5'11 and 155lbs with a small waist but full hips. I ordered a 8L and 6L and the 6L was actually LONGER than the 8 and it fit better. It was gorgeous! I received so many compliments all night and the dress was very comfortable. The only con was a minor issue with the lining of the dress peaking through at the chest. Other than that, the dress was perfect! Great dress for us tall girls! I easily could have wore 4in heels and still had a beautiful train behind me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
I work this dress to a NYE Masquerade Ball, it was everything I wanted in a dress!

Fit like a glove, comfortable and easy to move around in! This dress does have a fussy zipper where the ruching is on the back but other than that... AMAZING!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2016
The ease of this process will DEFINITELY make me a repeat customer. Thank you RTR!!

Wore this to my husband's Christmas military ball. It did not disappoint. Was not any heavier than any other gown of this nature. I also did not find the sequins to be as bothersome as others. I really loved this dress. Will definitely use RTR again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2016
Was a stunner at the party!

I wore this dress to a NYE party and it was amazing! I was a little worried because I gained some weight during the holidays and I was so scared the dress wouldn't fit but I was actually able to wear the smaller size of the two I chose. The material stretches which is good because I have a small top but a wide bottom. It hugs all your curves and gives you a great looking shape. Even though it's covered in sequins it didn't rub or scratch anywhere. The color is a beautiful plum color. The only downside to this dress is if you are pear shaped like me the top of the dress can be a bit big if you get the dress to fit your bottom but a padded strapless bra made the dress work perfect. I was super happy and reviewed so many compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2016
The fit was so flattering and color definitely stood out in a crowd. Successful first rental!

The dresses arrived right on time and the process was very easy. Both sizes would have fit me but I felt the 2R fit me better in the mid section while the 4R was a little more accommodating in the bust. The material wasn't stretchy but it was comfortable. The only con that has been noted before was a little bit of scratching on my arms from the sequins which quickly resolved and only bothered me that night. All in all the dress was fantastic and I would definitely consider renting it or a similar dress again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
January 12, 2016
Best dress of the night! Sparkles galore

Fit was true to size. The dress has some stretch to it which is good. I would prob order a long next time so it hit the floor but was great for dancing all night. So beautiful in person. The color was amazing the the sequins sparkled like crazy. Great dress would rent again and again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
January 13, 2016
This dress is gorgeous!! Hello it's a WOW!!!

This dress fit amazing and is gorgeous, a little bit of a train , but a bit itchy under the arms.. And a little low cut , the zipper does bunch up right above your butt. Again it's a beautiful dress though

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
January 27, 2016
This was my second rental and once again it was amazing and so easy.

This dress was just long enough with flats I loved it and received lots of compliments. Only downfall was that it tore my underarms up. I had a rash the next day. I would wear it again though.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2016
Mardi Gras Glitz!!

This was a terrific dress!! I'm 5'6", 118lbs with a thin frame and this fit me perfectly. It did make me look flat chested but still had a wonderful cut with the shoulder detailing. I got TONS of compliments!! Perfect for a Mardi Gras ball. Note: I rented the 2R and actually contemplated getting them to ship me the 2L. I decided not to chance the L being TOO long and I'm glad, another friend actually wore this dress in the 2L and it drug the floor all night. The 2R showed the tips of my toes. I never tripped once. That's very important to consider when wearing a full sequined dress... The weight will make the fabric grab you as you walk, don't get the dress too long! I'd rent this again!! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 31, 2016
Easy shipping!

5'6 135 lbs I ordered the 4&6 long and the 4 for better ok the straps. The zipper is pretty hard to handle on your own, but other than that a beautiful Gown!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 6, 2016
Perfect!

Awesome dress! Got so many compliments on it! I typically wear a 4 or 6 but the 2 was almost too big. It was also a little long (not surprising since I'm 5'2). Still loved it and it was super comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
February 7, 2016
Pretty but not my favorite

Did not end up wearing this dress, but it was beautiful. Arrived with a button coming off and I didn't have time to sew it back on. Opted to wear another dress. Also this dress is gorgeous but in my opinion would look better on someone who has boobs. I don't! It made me look very flat

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2016
I received so many complements on the color and fit of this dress!

The fit was perfect!!! I am normally a size 0 or 2. So glad I went with the 2! The sequins tend to rub on the inside of your arm a bit but that's a small price to pay for this beauty! I'm 5'2" and the length was also perfect (for the regular).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2016
Loved!!

This dress was so comfortable and flattering. Fit is true to size. If we had one more ball to attend it would have been worn!

Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 17, 2016
The perfect dress to have a "ball"!

I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras ball. It was perfect for the occasion. This was my first time renting from RTR, but it was a great experience and I'm definitely coming back for more!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2016
#LOVE stunning dress!! I got sooooo many compliments on this dress. It was amazing.

The material was a little rough in my arms but it was totally worth it. I have never felt so amazing in a dress before! I will be using RTR for all my special events.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
March 6, 2016
It was so flattering!

This was my backup dress. I received compliments all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 11, 2016
Purple; sequins; gorgeous!

This dress was so beautiful and definitely stood out in the crowd! I got so many compliments on it and the cut out back is amazing! I wore a topaz necklace with this and it was perfect. The long is definitely long, but since I'm 5'8" it fit pretty well length wise with tall enough heels. Only con: rubs on the underarms and shoulders a bit (that's why the 4 stars). Overall, a very great dress and very flattering.

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 20, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress!

The top was little big for me but everything else was great

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2016
A Vibrant, classy dress to highlight your curves!

The dress fit great and really highlighted my curves without making me self conscious. It is a bit of a cleavage dress so be prepared. I felt like the neck line was a stunning frame that drew attention to my face. The color is a more vibrant purple than the photo shows. The sequins do rub so I would recommend an anti chafe cream on the underside of your arms. The other negative is that the lining in the chest area does not may flat and pops out. I finally gave up fighting it and danced the night away!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2016
This dress was absolutely beautiful!

I chose this as a back up dress to my first pick. I am just shy of 5'7 and most of the regular length dresses fit me, but this one was too short. It fit great with no shoes on, but once I put my shoes on it wouldn't have looked right to me. This dress was also extremely low cut, and wasn't extremely comfortable due to the sequence. Had this been not as low cut, and if I ordered a long I would've definitely worn this for my Ball. It was beautifully sequenced, and a beautiful shade of purple.

Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
April 5, 2016
Felt so glamorous in this gown!

#glamoous so many compliments. Just slightly Irritating under arms from sequins. But loved it over all!!!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×