Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 – $100 rental?
$750 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
623 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(522)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2014
I was so thankful for RenttheRunway! I had no time to shop for a dress, so I am very thankful!
I am usually an 8 or 10, and both fit fine, but in the end I chose to go with the more comfortable dress, it was still tight, but it gave my large tatas room to breathe. I wish I would have had the time and money to buy a new strapless bra and some spanks, but I got a pair of good tights and that worked. I felt like it was a great fit and fun, but I also felt that it didn't give me the best shape, or I think a different dress would have accented my curve and huge breasts better. But overall, I felt classy and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 9, 2014
Too large for a petite body!
I loved this dress on the website but unfortunately it just did not fit properly and was too large/loose across the shoulders, back and chest. I have a short torso so it might work better on a petite body but with a longer torso. The fabric was great and the shimmer over the shoulders was lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
This dress looks amazing on!
I first ordered a completely different dress, but couldn't zip it around the chest! I was in a panic and RTR sent me this dress and it was so much better than the first!!! It's so comfortable. I ate a ton and still looked fabulous at the event. I am usually a size 4 and I could have worn the size 4, but the 6 was just more comfortable. I highly recommend this dress. It looks even better on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2014
This dress was absolutely breathtaking! I was so in love from the moment I put it on :)
There were absolutely no cons to this dress. It was worn for a military ball and the compliments were never ending. The fit in the waist area is a little snug and the length runs a little short. The long fit me perfectly with 3" heels (normally I would go with a regular). It hugged all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
The photo does not do this dress justice. It is a stunning gown and I received a ton of compliments
Fit like a glove, didn't need to wear a bra which was nice. The material does not wrinkle which was great since I needed to put it in a suitcase.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
March 4, 2014
I got compliment after compliment all night long.
The in-store dress I tried on was an 8. I don't know who stretched it out like that, but the in-store 8 I tried on was much looser and more comfortable than the 10 they sent. I had to adjust the dress whenever I stood up. It wasn't bad though, just unexpected..
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
simple and stunning!
I wore this dress for an Oscar party that I hosted, and it could not have been more perfect! Paired with a pair of blingy earrings and a chunky, sparkly bangle, it was simple and elegant and totally comfortable. I loved the sequin accents on the shoulders and back, too!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
March 3, 2014
Perfect fit...extremely comfortable! 5 stars!
I have no faults with this dress!!! It looked gorgeous, fit like a glove, and was incredibly comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 3, 2014
Beautiful fit, but too short
I rented this for a Mardi Gras ball. I am not tall, however, the dress was too short with heels on. I ended up wearing it anyway, but if you plan on wearing heels I would rent the long. Overall, the dress fit like a glove, and was extremely flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2014
Didn't end up receiving the dress, wore a different replacement.
Didn't end up receiving the dress, wore a different replacement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 24, 2014
Great night at the opera!
Wore this beautiful dress for a girl's night at the opera. It fit wonderfully and I felt amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2014
Great black dress!
This was my backup dress but I ended up wearing it because the boning was poking out of my first choice dress - ouch! I'm usually between a size 4 and 6 so, against my better judgment after practically studying the reviews, I conservatively went with the 6L. If I order this again I will size DOWN to the 4L because I could have gone for a tighter fit. Since the 6L wasn't quite hugging my body the way I wanted (I'm pretty straight and curve-less), I wore spanx under the dress and a strapless bra to help hold my shape (otherwise I could see my belly button, which bothers me) and fill out the chest. I'm also just shy of 5'7" and I love tall heels. I wore 4 1/2-5" inch heels and the bottom of the dress just touched the ground, which was perfect. Other than that, the dress was in great condition and I got plenty of compliments. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Stunning dress for a black tie optional winter wedding!
I wore this dress to my best friend's black tie optional winter wedding in Boston. It runs on the small side, I'm usually a 10 in dresses and the 12 was a snug fit. It's so beautiful and slimming on. I danced the whole night and it was so comfortable. When I took the dress off I realized the sequins caused a little chafing around the arms but nothing too terrible. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 170lbs
February 21, 2014
Very flattering, very comfortable, simple & classic
This is a simple, classic dress that is super comfortable and easy to wear. I got a ton of complements, and felt it was very figure flattering. The material was a little wrinkled, but that's not as noticeable in the dark at your event. It touched the ground in back but not in front with my 1.5" heels. (I'm just shy of 6') I wore it to a gala for the charitable foundation of my local Bar Association and it was great as it was fun, but conservative enough to wear to an event where the other guests are my fellow attorneys I see in court.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2014
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding in Miami and it was absolutely perfect!
Rented 6L and 8L - both sizes fit well, but with spanx the 6L was a little more flattering. Length was great, very comfortable and great for dancing. Glad this option worked because there was another girl at the wedding wearing the dress I had rented as a back up (Living A Dream). Overall, the process was incredibly easy and I look forward to using this service again soon.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 15, 2014
Stunning, sexy, will make some heads turn for sure!
Dress was beautiful. I ordered the 2R and 4R. The 4R was more comfortable and easier to dance it. It really is a stunning dress...very classy but still sexy! Received compliments all night on the dress. My husband said I looked like a celebrity!! It fits right to your shape...very flattering. The diamond cuff bracelet looked perfect with it. I wore a backlass Nubra..which gives you some support I am a full c or small d so I like to have some kind of support. The length was perfect with my 4" heels. Wore this to my husbands military ball.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 11, 2014
Very flattering and classic silhouette while also comfortable and forgiving
This dress was beautiful for a black tie wedding I attended. A classic look with a pop of drama from the sequin and cut of the back. Added dramatic chandelier earrings to enhance the look.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2014
The dress has a short train in the back, which is a beautiful detail. I got tons of compliments.
The dress is true to size. I normally wear a 0L, but they were out of that size. The 2L fit, but a 0L would have been the perfect fit. The sequin back is beautiful and added just enough sparkle to make the dress special. The fabric is a light weight crepe - and it made me feel like I was effortlessly gliding around the room. Very elegant! You cannot wear a normal bra with this dress, as the straps will show in the back. I wore a very fitted strapless bra and felt pretty comfortable and secure.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 9, 2014
Having the accessories AND the dress!
This dress was super slimming and glamorous feeling!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
February 9, 2014
The dress looked great on.
The only tiny issue I had was that the elastic on the side of the dress did not allow the dress to hug my waist all the way. I felt like the dress made me look a little curve less. Other than that its a very pretty conservative dress. With the right accessories can look amazing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
My favorite dress from RTR so far!
This dress is incredible! Slimming, very flattering for curves! Only tough thing is finding a bra, you will need a low-cut strapless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
Perfect fit for the ball
The cut of this dress was stunning. Made me feel glamorous and sexy. Showed enough of my curves without looking garish. Received lots of compliments and credited RTR with my success, as always! The only downfall to this dress was that the sequins on the straps did get to be a bit annoying a few hours into wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 6, 2014
I felt like I belonged on a red carpet!
If you want to turn heads, this is your dress. It's classy, glamorous and 100% wearable. It was definitely on the formal side (with a subtle train), but I embraced it and still felt appropriate at the black tie optional fundraiser gala. The sequin accents don't require much for additional accessories and it was overall very flattering. I would definitely rent this again!
MariahAugust 28, 2014
Hello, did you wear a strapless bra?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2014
This was the PERFECT black dress for a formal event! Very slimming fit and super comfortable!
This dress was the perfect black dress. It was very form fitting, but had a stretchy fabric that made it soooo comfortable. It didn't have any flaws. The length was great for my 5'7" height, and the shoulders gave just enough bling to dress it up. I also wore the bracelet the model is wearing - it was all a great selection. Highly recommend.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 28, 2014
My roomie said I looked super skinny!
I wore this to an Army ball and it was perfect. Elegant, classy - I was one of the best dressed. It was a backup dress and thank goodness because my first choice (in 2 sizes) was a fail all around. I got this in a 4L and it was perfect. It's very form fitting but comfortable. The "sleeves" are a very elegant touch, and you can really accessorize with this simple look. I would absolutely wear this again. I have extremely small boobs, a "bubble butt" and hips, so finding something that works for both halves can be challenging, and like more women I'm picky/image conscious. This dress did the trick. FYI, I would not get the regular if you're 5'7" or taller as it will be too short. Wear whatever shoes you need to, but ball gowns should drag and hide your feet (like on the model). If you don't want to step on it take little steps with a kick-glide motion, and hold it up by the train when going up or down stairs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2014
It photographs well and the neckline is really flattering.
I was expecting a thicker material and a silver zipper on the back. The material is very thin. The zipper on the back is not metallic at all. I was able to wear a strapless bra and did not like the Braza that I ordered to wear with the dress. I loved how forgiving the material is. I am 5'6" and wanted to wear heels so I made sure to order the "LONG". The dress has some obvious "prior love". I think it is a popular item so I wasn't that shocked it had a faint smell of smoke and the fabric appeared worn.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2014
Comfortable, lovely, and anything but basic!
I was so happy to put this dress on and realize how comfortable it was. The slight ruching down the whole thing is great for camouflaging areas you might be self-conscious about. My favorite part is the back of the dress but I sort of wish the zipper wasn't so exposed. My least favorite part was the chest area-- I wish it had a sweetheart neckline to accentuate smaller chests. It just sort of goes straight across like a tube top and I had a hard time making my chest look "ample" even with padding. The dress is also slightly long but once I had my 3.5" heels on it was great. And nobody stepped on the train all night! I got a lot of compliments when I wore it to my husband's work party and I felt sexier than I've felt in a long time every minute I had it on! Can't wait to use RTR again-- this was my first time but definitely not my last!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2014
AMAZING! A simple black dress that makes a huge statement!
The dress is beautiful! It was elegant, sexy, comfortable, and stylish. I felt incredible in it. The straps were so different than what you typically see… totally made the dress especially with the sequins! The ruching and the fabric were very flattering. I would definitely rent it again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 19, 2014
I wore this for a black tie event. Perfect combo of sexy and classy
Perfect fit. True to size, fit like a glove! Received a lot of compliments. There's a little bit of rouching around stomach/waist line to hide those areas where you may be a little self conscious. Wore 3 inch heel and it was the perfect length both with heels and when I took them off. Overall a great choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 19, 2014
Lovely, understated elegance.
I am small chested and can normally get away with going braless with some formal dresses but this was not one of them. I needed a strapless bra to add some "umph" to this snug dress. Although the dress is quite flattering, it doesn't do much for small chests! Speaking of chests, since the cut of the dress sort of compresses the chest, it didn't do much for the armpit fat. But having a good bra will help. Based off of the reviews, I decided to go with regular length. My toes barely peeked out with a 2.5-3'' heel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2014
Fabulous classic black gown
This dress was a replacement, but I ended up absolutely loving it. The neckline and cut out back elevate it far basic, but I felt comfortable and statuesque all night long. There is some ruching that is hard to detect in the picture, so you will definitely require some spanx to smooth out your tummy. Overall I couldn't be more pleased, especially with rtr's fantastic customer service that overnighted this to me when my original dress' zipper was defective.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2014
Stunning Classic!
Loved this dress! I'm a non-profit event planner and needed something formal but functional for an upcoming fundraiser. I was concerned that the sequins would look tacky, but they're the perfect amount of subtle bling. There's ruching down the sides which hugged my hips perfectly and the material was great - comfortable, forgiving, but clingy in just the right places. Classic gown that will work with any event!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 16, 2014
Hugged all the right curves!
I would definitely rent this dress again. It was classy but sexy too! The regular length was perfect as I was wearing ballet flats... I wore this to a military banquet and felt appropriately dressed. Loved the exposed zipper and that I could show a little without over-doing it. Thanks RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 15, 2014
Received complaints all night!
Pro: it was very comfortable and just felt great. Con: none :)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2014
This was my back up dress
It fit true to size, though I felt the length was too short. This was my backup dress for a formal event and would have work this one because it was not as short as the other dress I ordered, but my date absolutely loved the other dress and I enjoyed seeing his smiling face when he saw me in it.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2014
x
x
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 8, 2014
Perfect for formal affair
Wore it to a wedding and loved it! Very comfortable. Snug for me in the boobage area which I like since I barely fill a B cup. Length was a little shorter than I had hoped. I am nearly 6' and would recommend that anyone over 5'9" order a L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2014
Elegant
I wore this to my boyfriend's company Christmas party in Washington DC. I really loved it - but I sized up to the 10 because it was a little snug in the hips. Usually 8 is a perfect fit for me. My only complaint is that the dress arrived a day late, and delayed my travel plans to DC so I didn't have much time to play with options and get the fit just right. I ended up wearing Spanx under, and was SO uncomfortable all night because of the Spanx. When I got back to the hotel room I took off the Spanx and realized the dress would've looked beautiful and flattering without them and I could've been comfortable all night. The ruching hit me in just the right place...wish I had more time before the event so I could've realized this. Overall, the dress is beautiful and simply elegant and I would recommend it for any black tie affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2014
fit wonderful, very flattering Loved it!
It was very confortable & light. The aterial was very forgiving
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2014
Great dress! Was told many times I looked stunning!
The dress was definitely true to size. The hem was taken out on the first one that shipped so a second was sent right away. The dress was beautiful but the sequence may irritate your arms a little. You will need a strapless bra and shape wear is always a plus if need be. The only thing that bothered me was that the dress seemed like it was worn a million times (understandable with renting) but for someone that likes that new dress feel like me I am not sure I would rent another unless maybe it was a newer style. There were a lot of pulls on it and the backup that most would not be able to see unless up close but I could see them. Overall nice dress, fit the occasion (black tie NYE wedding) and fit nicely in length and size. I am 5'8 and the length was perfect with 2 inch heals.
See more reviews:
7 / 16
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×