Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$68 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
624 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(523)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
October 8, 2013
One word: stunning!
The dress is VERY form fitting, so I opted for a size larger to be more comfortable. It accentuates in all of the right places and has rouging in the front to hide imperfections. It was comfortable enough to dance in all night! I recommend wearing shapewear underneath and adding the Cara Accessories Dress Me Up Bracelet for a sparkly pop. I received so many compliments on this dress! I felt great wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2013
Fabulous dress, great fit.
Would recommend a great strapless bra with this one. Other than that, no complaints!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2013
Absolutely stunning dress. Fitted and elegant. Simple, yet daring.
This dress fit like a glove. But had delicate folds over the stomach and sides if you are conscious about your midsection. The open back was a little bit sexy, but the dress is very classy. Great for a black-tie wedding or event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 11, 2013
Great dress, very form fitting - great for more toned down, formal affairs.
Dress fit well and was true to size. Material and draping were beautiful. Sequins on shoulder straps definitely dressed up the dress, but overall still a very basic, black dress. Probably best for toned down formal affairs with an older crowd. The shape of the shoulder straps also emphasizes width of your arm, making it look larger.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2013
Loved it!
I felt incredible in this dress! I slipped it on and have to worry about a thing except having fun. I didn't have to fuss with it or adjust all night. I received compliments the entire night. I'm 5'11 and 130 lbs, slender, small bust, and somewhat wide hips and the 2L fit me like a glove. I wore 4 inch heals and it was just a tad shorter in the front than I would've liked but with the small train you really could not notice. When I took my shoes off to dance it was just a tad long, so as to give you an idea of the length. I will definitely be renting form RTR again...great experience!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 12, 2013
Perfect fit ... felt amazing!
I was super nervous renting a gown with very little time to come up with plan B if it didn't work out. However, the dress fit perfectly and was better than I expected!! I had so many compliments all night and had a dress that was absolutely stunning for less than I'd normally pay. I ordered the R and L but the R length worked with my 3in heels (and I still had a little train). I was also a bit nervous as I have a hard time finding a dress that will fit my chest (34 C/D) and my small waist/hips. While the top was snug (I did wear a strapless bra), it wasn't obscenely so and I felt very comfortable. Will certainly use RTR in the future!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 13, 2013
Fabulous! I may decide to rent it again!
Fits like a glove! I wore 4-5 inch heels (black Bebe Zaharas) and the length was perfect. I had to wear spanx though, because the material is so smooth you could see the shape of my belly button and it would've been wedged between my butt cheeks lol and ANY underwear will show a line, so spanx are a necessity for coverage and no lines.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
October 14, 2013
Great staple
Overall great staple black tie dress. Fit like a glove though not too tight. Just grazing the floor with 3.5-4" heels. I would consider renting it again in the future in a different color because the fit was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2013
Amazing Dress
Unfortunately my fiance got the details for the event wrong and "black tie" was actually "cockail", so I didn't get to this wear this dress. The dress itself is timeless. The fit is amazing and hugs just right without making you feel self conscious about anything. I will be renting this dress again to actually wear to our next actual formal affair.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
October 20, 2013
Great neckline
Love the neckline of this dress and the fit was true to size. The sequins were bothersome but tolerable. I wasn't a big fan of the silver zipper in the back but I didn't see it so I guess it was ok. It was not as long as I would have liked but I am tall and wore heels/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 22, 2013
Back up dress
It fit great. Snug in all the right places. A little extra in the length made it beautiful. Stunning was the word of the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
October 27, 2013
Lots of compliments and felt very classy and elegant
This was sent by the RTR staff because the dress I wanted was no longer available. It is a little long and the train did get stepped on and dragged even with my heels. It is a stunning dress and I received lots of compliments. Midsection is not forgiving and I had to suck in after the cake! Overall, it is a flattering, sexy but very classy dress.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
This is one very sexy dress and comfortable at the same time.
Too sexy for a corporate law formal affair however which is why I switched it for another dress. If you are a true pear shape this dress is flattering. The only thing is I would order one size up if your dimensions are like mine 1:2 ratio of upper body to lower body. Also, I did not realize the design purposely includes ruching that almost makes the dress look too tight on you even though it does not feel that way. I think it is a lovely dress but just be mindful of where you intend to wear it. I am a little more conservative when it is a work function
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 29, 2013
Red Carpet Worthy
I rented this dress for a formal Charity Gala that my firm sponsored and it was beyond perfect. It was elegant, yet sexy (without being TOO much so for a work event), and fit beautifully. I wish I owned this dress and won't be surprised if I rent it again!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 30, 2013
This dress was beautiful! It was well made and fit well on every part of my body.
It was a little long for a regular. I ordered a 6 and a 4. I normally wear a 4, and except for the length (I am only 5"2), it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 1, 2013
Most amazing dress I have ever worn!
I loved this dress so much! It was my backup dress, but as soon as I put it on, I knew it surpassed my original pick. Hugged my curves perfectly and the length was just right! I wanted a full length dress for a 'black-tie optional' wedding, but wasn't interested in investing $200+ for a dress that I MAY never wear again - but at this price, to rent without the guilt of a high price tag, you get the best of both worlds! It was my first time using RTR and I already placed my second order for a wedding next week. I highly recommend this dress and site!! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 2, 2013
I felt so glamorous! The dress was stunning.
The overall fit was great. Length was absolutely perfect for both the 2R and the 4R in 3.5 inch heels. I am usually a 4 in dresses but had ordered a 2 as well since I read some reviews where others had gone with the smaller size. I was initially leaning towards wearing the 2R because I had no issues with the fit but then tried on the 4R and this time with a strapless bra and immediately knew it would be better for the bust. The difference in the body fit with the 2 and 4 was really no different. The biggest difference is the with the bust. Girls with C cup and under could probably get away without wearing a bra, however I wanted some extra support for dancing, etc. I wore this dress to my boyfriends Marine ball and received so many compliments. It made me feel amazing and so beautiful the whole night. It is very slimming and flatters in the right places It accentuated my curves the right way and I felt great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 2, 2013
Great dress - it fit my body perfectly, and I didn't even need a bra!
I usually wear between a 2 or a 4, and the 2 fit perfectly. I'm busty, and it was tight enough to hold me in. Very flattering all over. Loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
November 4, 2013
Amazing!
This is a truly GORGEOUS dress. It is everything I hoped for in a formal gown... beautifully made, tastefully elegant, flattering, and ... wait, can it be true?... comfortable!! The stretchy fabric felt soft on my skin and the gathering fabric at the hips and waist gave me no need to ever feel the urge to "smooth it" down or adjust it. It fell beautifully to the floor and I loved that I had to lift it a bit to walk up the stairs. The neckline is unique and classic, and the black sequins gave it just enough unexpected shimmer to set it apart in the sea of black gowns at our event. I LOVED the open back, and it was a great excuse to wear my hair in an up-do. I wore it with very simple 2.5 carat (really good fake) diamond drop earrings and a sparkly rhinestone cuff. It truly needed very little in the way of accessories! I received many, many compliments... even at the "after party" at the hip hotel bar, the waitress caught up to me on the way out and whispered, "WHERE did you get that gown? I'm obsessed!" and she was thrilled to hear that it was from RTR - I said, "I return it tomorrow - you can have it by next weekend!" I hope she reads this and rents it herself! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
Classy....
I ordered the 4 and 6 and while both fit, I ended up wearing the 6 as it just fit a little more comfortable at the top. The fit was great, the length was perfect and the condition of the dress was very good. I don't have any complaints about the dress other than its a black dress and lacks a wow factor....but I knew that ordering it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2013
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding.
This dress was super classy but not over the top. It was very easy to move in. I highly recommend the dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 7, 2013
Danced all night!
Super flattering, super comfortable, simple but still glamorous. An all around great dress for a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS - DEFINITELY CONSIDER THE LONG VERSION
Wore this dress to a formal business event and it was awesome! Ordered the purple and the black ones but found that the black one is much more comfortable. I am between a 4 and 6 and liked the size 4 in the purple and size 6 in black. BUT needed the LONG length. I am 5'6" and wore 2" heels. The regular length was at my ankles.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2013
The dress was perfect for night wedding in Vegas.
Even though the dress is fitted, it was very comfortable to wear. The design looks simple in the picture but the dress is very pretty in person. I would rent this again for a formal event.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2013
Great dress! I got tons of compliments.
Tight fit, but tight in all the right places
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2013
The perfect balance of sexy and classy!
The black, stretchy fabric was amazingly slimming, and it's perfect for a girl with a little more curves. The neckline is AMAZING, and couple that with the cutout back, there's just enough skin and just enough cling to make the dress a sexy one, yet you're covered enough to feel modest. I would suggest wearing shapewear to help smooth out the tummy, but other than that the dress lends enough smoothing aspects to your body on its own.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 19, 2013
My boyfriend and I successfully snuck into a Giorgio Armani party in New York because of this dress.
Beautiful dress! The fabric has a lovely sheen to it and a nice stretch so it's pretty comfortable. I tried this dress on at the new showroom at Henri Bendel in NYC. I'm glad I did because I didn't need to order a second size. The 6L fit me really well. The only thing was that it was a teeny tiny bit snug around the arm holes, probably because my bust isn't the smallest and I was wearing a padded bra. Be aware that this dress does have a bit of a train that got stepped on a few times during the night so I had to lift it up when walking. Other than that though, got tons of compliments. I felt like a movie star! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2013
Excellent for black tie!
I rented this for a black tie wedding and it was fabulous! I rented the 4P and 6P. I went with the 4P because the 6 was too big in the waist section. I wore it with 2 inch heels and the length was perfect. I felt great in this dress and got tons of compliments. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 24, 2013
This dress was perfect and I received a lot of compliments!
It fits true to size and is very flattering. I am 5'8 and did notice the long was pretty long and I even wore 4 inch heels. I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal event. It is very classy looking. The dress did arrive very, very wrinkled and I had to spend a good amount of time ironing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2013
Dress was AMAZING!
The dress fit like a glove, it was very form fitting and that is exactly what I was looking for. I would rent this dress again in a second. The chest area did fit a little tight but I would much rather it be tight than loose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2013
Great dress - but a little too popular on RTR!
The stretchy material makes this dress an easy fit. I'm 5'7" and wore a 2L and it was a little short in the front...make sure you have shoes you want to show off. Only negative is if you're going to an event where RTR is popular, look out for other people in this dress! It comes in a lot of colors, and there were 5 other people at my large event wearing it in the long version in different colors, one other black. I saw a few short versions as well. So - if you want a dress that no one else has, don't get this. It did look good on everyone though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2013
Beautiful gown, perfect for black tie event!
This dress is fantastic for an hourglass shape and a full bust. It hugs your curves and hides imperfections, I wore spanx to help smooth, totally undetectable. The sequins are beautiful, wore black and gold earrings because I thought a necklace would be too much. The back is very sexy, perfect for a winter black tie event in Chicago, paired with a mink coat!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2013
This dress made me feel like a Princess!
This was my first time using RTR and I was very nervous. This dress was AMAZING!!! It fit perfectly, hugged in all the right places and fell perfectly to the floor with 3 1/2 inch heels. I received complements all night long, who doesn't love that?!? I highly recommend this dress, at the end of the night I didn't want to take it off :-) Can't wait for our next formal affair to use RTR again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2013
Great dress
I really love this dress. I ended up wearing the 4R although I really wish I would have ordered the 4L. I am really particular about dress length and with heels this was short on me. The 4L would have been better. If you are curvy at all, I suggest getting your size in a R and L. I wore an adhesive bra with this dress. The dress is stretchy and very comfortable and I got complimented all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2013
Didn't fit right
I ended up wearing my back-up instead of this dress. It didn't fit well. Some areas were large and some were small. The straps didn't fit. They were kind of loose and gaped. If you have broad shoulders I wouldn't suggest this dress as the straps also show off the width of the shoulders. I also felt like this dress shows off a tummy if you have one. I don't have a huge tummy (some might even say it's pretty flat) but after having a couple kids my tummy tends to stick out after a meal and I definitely wanted to eat at this wedding so I decided against wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2013
This dress was fabulous! I absolutely loved it and felt great in it. Simple, yet extremely elegant.
This dress fit in all the right places. If you're self conscious about your midsection, I would not recommend this as it fits and shows it all, though. I had to bump up to a size 6 since my usual 4 was a little small, so I recommend keeping that in mind when deciding on a size. Only issue I had for this is I couldn't wear a bra and my boobs were sort of smashed, but I think it still looked okay. There's also a little train in the back that had a tendency to get caught up in my heels, but It was very comfortable overall and I was complimented all night long. Definitely recommend this sexy dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2013
GORGEOUS GORGEOUS!
I actually rented this dress as my backup dress for my friend! She is 5'1" and usually wears a size 2 in dresses. She wore the 2 petite and the length was great and the fit was amazing!! She loved the dress and got compliments all night long! The only con she had was the sequins on the strap could sometimes itch her arms. This dress was stunning!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 18, 2013
Needed a gown for a work black tie gala.
Gorgeous and very flattering, but the 10R was a little too tight to wear around the boss!! I ended up wearing another Nicole Miller gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2013
Very sexy.
Great dress - received lots of compliments on the night. Spanx or other shapewear are a must to make you feel super glamorous. The loop for the button on the back of the dress actually broke while I was at dinner (it was fairly well worn when it arrived) but this was easily fixed with a safety pin. Would be interested in trying this one in the red or purple next time around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 25, 2013
Absolutely stunning and unforgettable
I wore this dress to the ballet. I've rented several dresses and this was by far my favorite! What makes this dress is how its cut. Simplicity is stunning when a cut is flattering and done well. At my height the regular was perfect when I wore my 4" heels. If you want to feel elegant go with this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
7 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×