Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple, purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

534 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 469
Large 28
Photos 341
Sara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Perfect fit, scrunched middle

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Glamorous, best dressed besides bride, scrunched middle so no need to suck in, beautiful and elegant fits perfectly !!!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Sexy and classy !

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful and comfortable! I wore it to a military ball and got compliments all night. I'm usually between 2-4 and the 2 fur like a glove. I have an average size bust (34c) but if you're more gifted in the chest area I recommend a size up (:
Dina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Absolutely stunning! Perfect fit, sexy back, classy and super comfortable! Hide everything i wanted!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a safe "go-to". Being that Im a little busty and have a wide back, the 8L was the perfect fit for me. It was floor length while wearing 3inch heels. The beading on the shoulder's are subtle but noticeable which is why I kept my hair swept up. I wore minimal jewelry to make sure I didn't take away from the dress...Its simple yet classic! Hands down, one of the best dresses I've worn thus far.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Oct 18, 2014

The dress was absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. LOVED it and will be renting this again

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Fit like a glove and extremely comfortable!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I originally rented a different dress and was worried when it didn't fit right and I had to have another dress over nighted to me. This dress was so perfect! It ran true to size, the material is very soft and the length just hit the tops of my toes and the train hung a little in back. It is clingy. I didn't mind but just a reference. The back detail is stunning.
Lacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Gorgeous gown!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Material was very comfortable and movable. The regular length on my 5'2" with 3.5" heels was perfect. The slight bunching around the mid section and the the rear end were so flattering! I would recommend this dress!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

This dress is stunning & comfortable !

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a formal charity event. The dress is just beautiful- especially the back. It hugs in all the right places and I felt was very slimming. I am 5'4/138 pounds/34C - I ordered the 2R and 4R and the 4 was perfect. I wore shorter heels as I wanted the dress to hit the floor. Would highly recommend this dress for a formal event !
Rachel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

The sequin detail is very nice and makes it stand out from a typical black dress.

Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress for a formal event. The petite length was perfect. The dress was a bit tight in the chest and was low in the front.
Jerrica
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

The purse and dress went perfectly together. I loved it!!!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. The dress also extenuated my shape. The only con would be the sequins were scratchy.
Samm
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was easy to order, receive and return!
sharri
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

I had so many compliments on my dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit so incredibly perfect. I wore three inch heels and the dress touched the floor perfectly, no tripping what so ever. I was able to wear a strapless bra without it showing as well. The sequins under the arm scratch a teensy bit, but were never bothersome. I would wear this dress again and again if i could. We sat through a couple of hours at a military ball & then danced all night and the dress was never uncomfortable, and i never had to pull it up, down, sideways. it was just so perfect.
Lyndsay
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Nov 5, 2014

Wore this dress to the Chicago Emmy's. Absolutely loved it. I'd recommend it to anyone. Thanks, RTR!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Extremely comfortable. Fit beautifully. Sad to return it. I'd rent it again in a heartbeat. Gorgeous dress!
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
In a sea of black dresses, this one stood out. The fit was great, tight, but comfortable. It moved easily both walking and standing for an hour for cocktails and was still comfortable being seated for dinner and an auction. The only thing that was annoying was the sequins on the shoulders folded in a little, but that's me being very picky. Didn't need Spanx as the weight of the fabric and rushing was forgiving. Will not hesitate to rent again!
Meg
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Great gown for a formal wedding

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using RTR, and it was super easy. I needed a dress that fit into 3 buckets - long enough so I could wear heels (I'm 5'10"), not too much cleavage, and NOT strapless. This dress fit all three perfectly! I was able to wear 2/2.5 inch heels and felt great. I got a lot of compliments and felt really pretty. It is a tight fit, so I wore spanx - I wanted the 8L, but they didn't have it, so I went 6L. I probably would have worn the size up if I had had it, but still was a great dress.
Erin
Age: 27
Nov 12, 2014

So comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing fit! Tight in the hips but very flattering! So easy to move in!
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2014

USMC Ball

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really well, it was just a little small in the bust. I'm a 36DDD so having the extra size up was really beneficial so that I could actually breathe :)
Amy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

My husband loved it, I felt beautiful and sexy. Renting the dress made it so easy.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I tried this dress with multiple different bras. The straps of the dress have no give and offer a lot of support, so a push-up bra made the 8l seem too tight. A simple strapless was perfect!
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Great fit! Very flattering

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was my backup, and it was actually much more flattering than I expected. I wore 4 inch heels, and the length was perfect. There is very subtle ruching across the front which is just enough to camouflage imperfections. Very comfortable and would definitely rent a similar Nicole Miller dress for future events.
Natalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

All the compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely perfect. I love Nicole Miller formal gowns. This dress is slimming, classy, and makes your body look amazing. Tons of compliments all night.
queenofspayeds
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Wore to Charity event

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered 8L because it seemed like a lot of the women who are my height and weight ordered smaller sizes and they didn't have a 10L in this dress. It was pretty tight which I wore spanx for it but REALLY wish I had gotten the 10L or the 12L. If it had been a size bigger it would have been perfect. I never got poked by the sequins and everyone raved about how great it looked. It showed just enough boob without being slutty. Cant wait to rent one for new years!
bekah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Comfortable, classy dress.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits snug but comfy-- I was dancing in it all night long.
Whitney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Beautifully understated gown.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this as a back-up to another dress. That one didn't quite work and in a way, I'm glad. This is a beautifully understated, but glamorous gown. The neckline is very flattering and the open back and sequin shoulders were unique without screaming for attention. I got compliments all night. Would highly recommend!
shawn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'11" so I got both the 6 & 8 in long - ended up wearing the 6L b/c it was a little more sexy - but still fit well and was comfortable all night. Thanks RTR, looking for a dress right now (a year later, for the same event)!
Rachel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

I'm not much of a shopper so I was really excited that this worked out so well.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company holiday party. It worked out perfectly and fit really well. The only problem I had was that the lining kept shifting as I walked so the whole dress kept shifting and I had to constantly straighten it back up.
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Beautiful dress - great service!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I used this dress for a formal military ball. I ordered an 8 and a 10 both long. I am 5'9" - normally a size 8. Both dresses were too short for me with heels. The 10L was perfect when I was in bare feet and it did fit better with heels than the 8. The 10 wasn't quite to the floor in the front, since the back has a train it was not a really big deal. The size 10L fit me fine, but the 8L fit me better in the bust and I had to sort of pad up to fill out the 10! Otherwise, it really is a gorgeous dress - nothing to complain about at all. I am excited I finally delved and tried RTR - and I will DEF order again.
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Compliments, compliments, compliments!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments for this dress!! I picked it out for a black tie wedding (venue not pictured). And I couldn't have been happier! It fit pretty well and I don't think I've received so many nice comments and questions about where I got the dress. Only things that I wish were different.. The zipper buckles a little in the back so I felt like I was constantly checking to make sure it laid flat. The dress also turns, so the seams were not where they were intended and I had to keep going to fix it. The zipper is black! And not silver like in the picture. The sequins also didn't bother me as much as I was expecting. Super happy about my choice for a NYE black tie wedding.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Form-fitted and sparkly

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I tried this on in the store, and I think usually I'd go with a 14, but the stylist zipped up the 12 somehow and it looked great! It was very comfortable for a formal dress, and the sparkles were great for a New Year's party.
Erica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Love, Love, Love! So many compliments!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent the Runway so I was a little nervous to say the least. I read a ton of reviews before deciding on the size and dress. I needed a dress for a NYE black tie affair. Typically I am a size 2P, but I went with the 4P because I felt as though it was a little snug in the chest area and I didn't want to be popping out. The length was perfect; I wore about a 3 inch heel. The dress was STUNNING and I received a ton of compliments. Very comfortable as well. What a great idea Rent the Runway has come up with. It's very rare that I have a formal affair such as this to go to and I didn't want to run out and spend a ton of money on a dress I will probably never wear again (although if I do ever have such an affair I would totally rent this dress again). Also, I was very impressed with the packaging the dress came in. Very professional company and I would most definitely from them again. THANK YOU, RTR!!!!
Marissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. I wanted to keep it I loved it so much!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It contours to your body and is very flattering. It was the perfect length (I'm 5'-2" and wore 3.5" heels) and the sequins did not rub at all. I received so many compliments and felt confident the whole night. The dress has sex appeal while still being classy and very formal. So glad I decided to try Rent the Runway and fell in love with the dress!
Anne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

I wore this dress to my medical school formal. Fit great, super comfy, and true to size.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall the dress fit great. I got eh 6L which was actually a little long (I'm 5'9). I would've been better off with the 6R. I wore high heels but I still hiked up the dress a bit which was fine because the middle section was a little scrunched naturally so it looked normal. The zipper isn't hidden so it will show but other than that the dress was really comfy and I got compliments on it the whole night! My only negative comment about my first RTR experience was about actually getting the dress. The dress finally arrived an hour before my event so unfortunately I didn't have a lot of time to plan how I was going to do my hair, my jewelry, or my shoes.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

This dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress! This was my first RTR but I would absolutely do it again! I normally wear a size 4 and depending on the dress need a 4L. Unfortunately I could not get the 4L for my event, but I actually ended up being super happy I got the 6L. It is a pretty tight/form fitting dress, so I didn't mind having a little more room for dancing in the 6L. The dress was so comfortable and chic! Perfect for the formal Navy wedding that I attended.
Charity
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Arrived on time and a great fit

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit. I wore 3 in heels and had no problem at all.
Devon
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for the formal evening event I attended.

Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable. I am short so the Petite was a perfect length with heels. No complaints, I can't wait to have another even to wear it again!
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

First time to rent from RTR. LOVED the whole process!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Long was long! Pulled on the top the whole night, but just because I'm very self conscience. Really loved renting and will do it again.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

The dress was a showstopper!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect!! The fit, the size, the style, everything was exactly how I would have wanted it. I was getting compliments all night on how the dress looked and how flattering it was. It was also very comfortable. I was worried that the sequins on the arms would be scratchy but I didn't even notice them!
katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

One of my favorite dresses!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love this dress! The fit is very true to size. I wear a size 0 so I decided to go with the 0R. I wore 3 inch heals with the dress and they were perfect. The dress is stretchy where it needs to be and I was able to dance and move very comfortably. I received so many compliments on this dress throughout the night and it was a perfect dress for the black tie wedding that we attended. I was so sad to put it in the mail this morning! I wish I could keep it!
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Walking the red carpet

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size. The 2 would have for better, but the button latch was broken on the size 2 they sent me. But very comfortable. Loved the length and train. Got MANY compliments. Would definitely rent again.
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Loved how this dress made me feel sexy and sophisticated!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit great, has some stretch and ruching around the midsection so is great for hiding any little flaws. Length was perfect with heels on. Didn't have any problems with the sequins scratching at all. And was able to wear a regular strapless bra without anything showing. Would 100% recommend this dress to anyone!
Lourdes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Didn't wear it but it's beautiful!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up going with another dress for my law school's Barrister's Ball but this was a close second! I loved how elegant, simple, and skinny it made me look! Perfect size!
Lisa
Age: 34
Feb 18, 2015

Classy flattering dress for black tie wedding

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I waited until the last minute to rent so this was one of a few options, my first experience with RTR. the dress fit perfectly, the length was perfect with 4 in heels. it was so flattering, it gave me more of shape. the rouching (sp?) was perfectly placed. the material was comfortable. the back has a flattering little bustle, it is subtle. I danced all night! I have another black tie wedding in a month and I may rent this dress again. pictures don't do the details justice, got tons of compliments. the RTR experience is easy, you feel like you are wearing a brand new dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×