Milly

Sophia Lace Shift

$30 – $45 rental
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the stylish woman in the room wearing this amazing Milly colored lace shift. Perfect for a holiday party, anniversary, or cocktail event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green lace (100% Nylon; Lining: 100% Silk). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Pleating at skirt. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
686 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(415)
Small
(102)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 22, 2014
Great first rental!
The dress fit great! I was comfortable all night, and loved the color! It was darker than the picture appears.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 24, 2014
Gorgeous color and details
Gorgeous teal color. Flattering fit for pear shaped girls. Got compliments all night. Arms were a little tight but they stretched out throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2014
Fits like a glove with a touch of sexy on the back.
The dress is more fitted than I expected. However, it has a great fit overall. The back has a v-neck and the lace on top is very feminine. I wore it to my company's holiday party. The sleeves were a bit snug. The color is beautiful. I received tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 164lbs
December 12, 2014
Many compliments! Perfect for Christmas party!
The color of this dress was beautiful, however there were some areas of the lace that were ripped, but it was very hard to see because of the fabric. It was a bit tight where the seam was near the rib cage but was do-able for the night. I was able to dance the night away freely. Overall really enjoyed the dress and received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2014
Beautiful dress that stands out among black!
I loved this dress! The lace detail was beautiful and the back detail made it even more special. I'm usually a size 8-10 but I've found many of the RTR dresses are so tight in the chest that I need to wear a size 12, which was what I wore in this dress. It was so tight in the chest that I didn't need a bra. Very snug to sit in, but not too uncomfortable. I'd rent it again because the lace details and beautiful color stood out among the other black dresses at a September wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2014
Gorgeous color!
I loved this dress. I usually wear a 6 but that wasn't available so I took a shot & went with an 8. It fit perfectly & the color was so beautiful. I was disappointed that the lace at the neckline was fraying as some had said in reviews but I wore a statement necklace & the neckline lace wasn't noticeable. I would rent it again for the right occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 20, 2014
Love the open back
Got to wear it twice in one weekend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 20, 2014
Great dress
Fit tighter on my pear shape than I expected but was just right. Love the color & shape. Glad I got both the 8 & 6, ended up definitely needing a 8.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2014
Perfect!
Fit like a glove and I could dance all night! Elegant and classy dress. The color was fun for a Christmas Party.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2015
Very flattering on all figures
Didn't end up wearing this dress as my boyfriend likes the other one I chose more. It was a beautiful dress though.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2015
Complements all night!
I ordered a size 4 and size 2. I have an hourglass shaped body – and I usually have a hard time finding clothes that fit me at my waist AND my hips perfectly. I wore the size 2 which was a little snug in my bust but fit everywhere else nicely. The 4 was too big in my waist and a little snug in my hips (which was odd because the 2 wasn't) so it fit kind of awkward. In the end, I was very happy with the dress; I received complements on it all night. I would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
The lace top of this dress is beautiful.
Good fit. True to size. Agrees with many of the reviews about the dress. Some of the edges if the lace seemed worn but I was going to a holiday party with dim lighting. I wore this to my husband's business holiday party. It was classy and festive. I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2015
Subtle but makes a statement!
Great color and texture! Conservative, but also really fun! The dress gives a little bit with wear, so I'm glad I went with the smaller option.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
February 15, 2015
Great dress!
Fits true to size. Pockets are a plus! The lace sleeves do not have any stretch, so they may not work for some arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2015
Beautiful.
Dress is beautiful. I ended up going a size up because the waist of the dress is snug. The dress was longer than expected, and the lining was not cut evenly and was longer in places than the lace overlay. Couldn't fix the length but I did manage to use fashion tap to correct the uneven lining. The dress did snag on everything, I would avoid wearing jewelry with it. The dress didn't really need any jewelry but I paired it with a few bracelets. The neckline was too pretty to be covered up with a necklace. Overall I did like the dress and received dozens of compliments on it the whole night! I would definitely rent this designer again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
March 13, 2015
Compliments all night!
This is the third time I have used RTR and this is my favorite rental yet. The dresses arrived early and were in wonderful condition. The color is absolutely stunning and I felt the cut was really flattering. I have bubble butt (no better way to say that) and usually shy away from "shift" dresses, but the skirt was generous. I will say that I believe the dress relaxed over the evening so if you don't mind starting out your event a little snug I would go with your smaller size as it loosens later. It was and early wedding with a lot of celebrating later and I was comfortable the entire day/night. I can't tell you how much I loved this dress and wish I owned it. Compliments all night long and now on social media from photos. Thanks again RTR, so glad I've started using this service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2015
Loved it!!!
This dress is absolutely fantastic! The bride recommended I wear it to her wedding, and it fit perfectly and I got compliments all night. The sleeves are a little tight, so you can't really put your arms up comfortably, but otherwise this dress was a huge hit and I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2015
Great neckline and a rich color
As others reviewed, this dress runs small across the shoulders, to the point that I was worried the smaller size wouldn't allow me to raise my arms at all. So thankful my backup size arrived. It's a great & very comfortable dress, best worn for any conservative occasion in the day or evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 20, 2015
Comfort + flattering = perfection!
This dress was sent to me as a backup to a backup when my original dress selection was unavailable and the backup dresses selected for me didn't work. After a typically excellent customer service experience, this dress arrived and saved the day! I wore it to an outdoor wedding and indoor reception. Even though it was warm, I wasn't too hot; the lace breathes very well and moved with me all day. I was needlessly worried about the sleeves; they fit perfectly! This is a popular style, so I could see some wear and tear from previous wearers, but no one noticed a thing. I got compliments all day! The lining is a tiny bit longer than the lace (likely due to many washes), but not so much as to be noticeable. 100% satisfied with this choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2015
Gorgeous lace and beautiful color.
This dress was so comfortable and very classy. Was great for a hot outdoor wedding too. I loved the color--beautiful jewel tone. I had 2 weddings that weekend and ended up wearing this dress to both even though I had rented a second dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
June 12, 2015
Did not wear the dress because it did not fit.
This is a very pretty dress and more attractive in person than seen online. I am a pretty solid size 10-12 and this dress fit everywhere except the bust. In a pinch I could have worn it but not comfortably. Fortunately it was a back up dress to the one I really wanted. I liked the length as it fell just above the knee and was not as short as on the model pictured but I am 5'5". I think this is also a nice conservative dress with a little bit of sex appeal if you are looking to not show too much skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2015
Cold weather bridal shower
This dress was very comfortable and flattering. The pin tucking at the waist gave a flattering shape but I didn't feel constricted in my larger tummy area. The lace was beautiful and very flattering. I wore it with black tights and booties and felt dressy but not overdone at my wedding shower.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
June 23, 2015
Felt great in this dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress! A little tight in the sleeves, but overall great fit! The color was super vibrant and I really just felt awesome in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
July 25, 2015
I was unable to wear either dress that arrived.
Silly me didn't realize these dresses would be formally-sized, so I ordered my regular jeans size and both dresses that arrived were tiny. Gorgeous fabric and excellent quality. Unfortunately, they were delivered late so there wasn't time to contact customer service for an overnight exchange. Was disappointed I couldn't wear either dress. Please, please, please consider adding detailed sizing charts.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 15, 2015
Pretty and classy
Loved this dress. Fit well; just FYI no stretch in arms. Great color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2015
Perfect for my bridal shower
Felt so beautiful and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
August 24, 2015
Last minute switch that ended up being a better choice than what I originally wanted.
I originally rented a different dress for this wedding but rent the runway did not get it to me in time and didn't have another one to ship to me at the hotel. So I had to pick another dress and chose this one. The only negative about this dress is that I had to iron The lace around the neck in the back in order to get it standing up straight and in the right place. So if you rent this one make sure you have the ability to do that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2015
Super comfortable! Very flattering! Want to own this dress!
Beautiful material, so flattering and very comfortable. Love the pockets - formal but fun!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
October 7, 2015
Easy to use and dress was perfect!
Gorgeous dress, super comfortable. I am 5'9" and about 125 lb, 36 A chest. Chose to wear the 4 because I have broad shoulders and with the style of the dress, it just gave me a little more room in the arms for dancing! The size 2 fit great otherwise. Length was great, I have long legs and dresses tend to be really short. My only complaint is the edges of the sleeves are a bit stretched out and the bottom of the lining started hanging out at the end of the night. So it's just starting to show its wear. Definitely worth it though. Will use RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2015
Wore as a bridesmaid in a fall wedding.
This was my first experience using RTR and it could not have been more perfect. I wore this dress as a bridesmaid in my brother's Fall wedding. It isn't a conventional bridesmaid dress which is what I loved about it. The color is a very rich teal, the lace detail is gorgeous and the material is actually very soft. I ordered the 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6, which fit comfortably all night. I did not have a problem with the sleeves being too tight as some of the other reviews mention. Looking back I wish I had ordered the 4 to try because the dress was a bit longer on me than I usually like to wear (I'm 5'3"). Overall though, it was a gorgeous dress and I got several compliments and questions about where I got it. Highly recommend RTR and this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
October 14, 2015
I received so many compliments!
I am normally between a 6-8 in dress size. The 6 was a little right across my chest, so I went with the 8. The arms fit me well, and the length was very appropriate for the wedding I attended. Very comfortable overall. The lace top and back are beautiful, and the back cut is lower but I was still able to wear a normal bra! It's not form fitting around the lower tummy, which is nice- however in some pics/angles it made me appear to have a tummy that isn't there (fair warning if you're sensitive about this area).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
October 14, 2015
This dress is so classy and comfy!! Got compliments all night! The pockets are a definite plus!
Runs small, order a larger size or larger for backup. I am usually a size 4 but I ended up wearing the 6 I received for backup. Material is very comfortable and the pockets are the best however the waist is a little high and that's what made the 4 too tight for me (I have a broad rib cage). However overall this dress is great, perfect for a wedding and easy to dance around in. Paired it with nude heels and minimalistic jewelry as the lace really pops with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2015
Pretty rehearsal dinner dress!
Wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner because it matched the bride's colors. It was comfortable and the lace was gorgeous. I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34DDD/E
October 25, 2015
Stylish and comfortable!!
Fit was perfect. Was concerned about the sleeves after reading other reviews but it fit perfectly. His was my first RTR experience and it did not disappoint!! This dress was surprisingly comfortable and was perfect for a long evening. I am large busted (34DD-34DDD) and this was so flattering and classy at the same time. Would highly recommend. Will definitely rent more from RTR in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2015
Elegant dress
I wanted a cocktail dress that was a bit more formal and conservative. This dress wasn't as much fun as some of the other dresses I've rented, but it exactly fit the bill for the event I was attending. In person, the lace looked quite pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 28, 2015
Amazing color!!
The sleeves are a bit small so I had to try the dress on a few times to stretch the sleeves a little bit it fit perfectly and I really didn't want to return it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 2, 2015
Beautiful!
I got this dress in both a 2 and 4. Tried on the 4 first and it looked terrible on me. Hit in all the wrong places, was unflattering, and made me feel large. I tried on the 2 just because, assuming that it would be way too small, but to my delight it fit like a glove! The proportions were much better suited to my body, the waist hit in just the right place and made the rest of the dress lay in a lovely way. So take note - don't just assume an ill-fitting dress is too small. It may just be a poor fit. So glad that RTR offers multiple sizes!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
November 4, 2015
An all around fantastic evening celebrating loved ones
Dress fit perfect (didn't even need spanx!) and looked great. Was able to dance all night and not feel uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
November 7, 2015
RTR made choosing my outfit for a high-class fundraising event fun, affordable, and effortless...
The dress was equal parts elegant, sophisticated, and on trend. Being able to read reviews from other users made my size and dress selection so much easier, and allowed me to choose a dress that would work with my post baby belly while still making me feel beautiful.. A gift! The dress was gorgeous and in great condition, and definitely one that I would recommend to others and would love to use again. RTR definitely has my loyalty and business for future events!y
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2015
Perfect!
This dress was perfect in every way. The fit was great and it was even more beautiful in person. It is more of a pencil fit than pictured on the model. I couldn't be happier with my rental! I received compliments all night !
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×