Draped Dream Dress

$70 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This bright style from Mark & James by Badgley Mischka brings a healthy dose of color to any cocktail party.

Also available in coral and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2 Size S=4; Size M=6; Size L=8,10.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - not fitted throughout
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Indigo matte jersey. One shoulder neckline. Draping detail on body. Split cap sleeve. Hidden side zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large
(153)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2014
Awesome experience.
I am in between sizes right now. Thought the medium would fit but was pleasantly surprised the small fit better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 6, 2015
I wore this dress when I was 6 months pregnant. It was so comfortable for my growing belly!
It does run a bit short though, if you are trying to accommodate a belly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
December 18, 2014
Love love love this dress!!
This dress made me feel like a million bucks!! It was very flattering & I felt very confident in it. I also got a ton of complements!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 21, 2015
The color was so pretty!
Great NYE dress when everyone else wears LBDs!! Really pops in pictures. The M cut too high underneath my armpit so I wore the large. It was a tiny bit large overall but it's such a flow-y dress that I was the only one aware. With this particular dress there was an issue with a black piece of material on the inside of the the diagonal shoulder strap. The rich blue fabric would come down and the black would show. It wasn't the end of the world but it did show up in the closeup pictures. Double stick tape might have worked of I'd caught it before I left the house. Lots of reviewers wore this when they were pregnant and that worried me but it fell nicely and was actually really flattering when walking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
May 22, 2016
Summer Napa Wedding
This dress was very flattering. It draped well and moved beautifully as I danced. The length was great and the hand of the fabric was super soft.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
August 12, 2010
This dress flows over the body and feels super comfortable. It is super drapey so I would order a size down if you want to give it a bit more shape.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
September 2, 2010
Great dress! Got so many compliments on it. It hides just the right places. It's a bit roomy, which can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on what you're looking for. Would definitely wear this again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 8, 2010
For dresses, I vary from 6-10, depending on the maker. While the M looked decent (more drape affect, less form fitting), the S was able to capture just slightly more curvature of the body (but less of the drape). This dress is great for events that require eating (no sucking in! yay!), but it's not ideal during warm weather. Since the fabric is a bit heavy, the gold necklace that is paired with it in the photo felt slightly heavy and burdensome on me-- especially when outside in the summer heat. I would opt for some dangly gold earrings instead. Lastly, I was surprised at how well the piece of fabric that drapes over the arm stays in place. It's a large and heavy enough piece that doesn't fling around just anywhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 27, 2010
Comfy and Cute
I'm peitie, yet curvy and the XS fit perfectly. Had to drop off at the cleaners for steam press to get the draping just right(wrinkled due to shipping)Great color, very comfortable.*See review for necklace*
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
September 29, 2010
Stunning yet comfortable dress!
This dress manages to be extremely flattering while also amazingly comfortable. I received both the S and M sizes and ended up going with the Small because it hugged the body better. The fit is so easy and flowy that it gives you versatility to dress up while also looking great on the dance floor and eating to your hearts content. I wore it to a wedding and received tons of compliments! Another plus: the blue photographs WONDERFULLY!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2010
Beautiful, bold color. Very easy to wear. Not form-fitting, so if you're looking to show off your figure, this is not the dress. The material is heavy--not a negative in my book, but just fyi.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
October 26, 2010
Love this dress. I ended up wearing the XS and it was prefect (I would say i'm typically a 4 in dresses)The dress is very flattering and hugs your curves, so not as tent like in the picture
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Body type: Apple
November 14, 2010
I'm glad I read the reviews before I ordered this dress, it does run a little large. I normally wear an 8-10, so I would have gotten the Large, but the Medium fit better. The dress is a beautiful color, nice fabric and it is very comfortable to wear. I received tons of compliments, very happy with this dress! It does need a substantial necklace, I ordered the one shown and was happy with it too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2010
This dress is very dramatic without being over-the-top. The cut is very forgiving, but was a little too loose for my taste. I'm petite (5'6", 110lbs), and I kind of looked like I was drowning in the zero. I would recommend this dress highly for any girls who don't like things to cling too much around the middle, though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 16, 2010
I'm guessing this dress runs large - because I wore it 6 months pregnant and the medium fit me perfectly. I think I would normally get a small. I got lots of compliments and was pleased that this dress really was bump friendly as advertised, and that I got to have two sizes to try on (s and m - and m fit).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2010
Received so many compliments. Runs very large- glad I have a large chest so that I wasn't swimming in it. Beautiful color, wonderful fabric, and so comfortable!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2010
This is the most perfect, comfortable dress. I wore the small, and I usually wear a 6-8 in dresses, so I would say that this runs a bit big. It was a little longer on me than on the model, but still above my knee. Definitely want to rent this one again!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
I loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and I got so many compliments. It is extremely comfortable, but runs a little big.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
April 18, 2011
I absolultely loved this dress! It was so comfortable and flowed so easily! I wore it to an evening wedding and received so many compliments on it. The color is gorgeous. I paired the dress with nude platform heels and pearl drop earrings and it looked fabulous. I would order a size smaller than you would normally wear, so as to avoid looking a little on the frumpy side. Great rental!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2011
Beautiful -- the modern, draping helps hide trouble spots! LOVED it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2011
Wore this to a formal and it was perfect! I got compliments all evening and I felt beautiful. It was shorter than I anticipated, but I didn't compensate for my height when I ordered my size (small). Most of the reviews had said it ran a bit big, and it did. I would normally order a medium, but the small was perfect - I didn't feel like I was swimming in it, but it draped just in the right way. I didn't want to send it back when I was done! As for accessories - I wore it with a pair of nude pumps (made my already long legs look EVEN longer) and the Southern Plantation earrings (listed in the "complete your look". LOVED IT!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 8, 2011
I'm bigger in the hips and have a smaller waist and chest (5'7", 130lbs, 34B). I was originally worried bc my backup size (M) wasn't in and reviews kept saying this dress is so short, but the small ended up fitting perfectly and I didn't think the length was an issue at all. I received a lot of compliments and referred quite a few girls to Rent the Runway during my friend's wedding!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
August 24, 2011
Very, very sexy dress. Totally forgiving over poochy belly and other things I like to hide. Fit my DDs with no problem. Great color, very elegant and perfect for fancy wedding I attended.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
I loved this dress! I got so many comments on how nice it was. The color is a bit darker than it looks on here, more of a royal blue, but was beautiful. I wore it with silver heels and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
This dress definitely runs large - which is what most of the reviews already say - but I went with it anyway. I wore this dress to a wedding and truly dont know the last time I had so many compliments in one night. It is a glamorous and comfortable dress. A little weighty due to the draping, but I did not want to put it back in the mail and send it back, that's how much I loved it.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2011
First, the dress is beautiful and in the end it ended up working out. Got lots of compliments and was happy with it. But, thought the sizes ran a little wonky. I'm a consistent 4/6 depending on the dress and the small in this dress fit like a garbage bag. The x-small was better - gave more shape overall - but the opening was really tight under my arm. A trip to the gym + steam room later, it fit okay, but would have been nice to feel more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
This dress was a great color and easy to wear. I wore it to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It runs a bit large, so if you are a 12/14 you'll be fine wearing the 12. Didn't need any shape wear, just a strapless bra (which didn't show at all). Would rent this again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 3, 2011
This dress runs very big. I'm a 10 with a full bust, and was worried the Large would be snug. I ended up wearing the medium very comfortably. The dress is beautiful, the color is more vibrant than the photos give it credit for. It is great for dancing (I wore it to a wedding) and is very forgiving if you're trying to conceal a midsection. it's comfortable and easy to wear.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
The medium size dress fit well for my 38D bra size so I would say it ran a little large. The dress was flattering and slimming.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I LOVED this dress! It was really flattering and I received a TON of compliments. It drapes beautifully and is really comfortable. It does run bigger, I wore the Small (my backup was the Medium).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2011
I usually wear a size 8 jeans and med to lg tops. I ordered med and lg in this dress and ended up wearing the med. There didn't seem to be much difference in the two except the length. My boyfriend actually said the lg looked like it fit better than the med (meaning it was tighter). The med was plenty roomy but it wasn't like a trashbag. The chest area could definately accomodate someone with a larger chest. I am a 34C and it was slighty big although you couldn't tell by looking at me. The lengthy was mid-thigh, not too short at all. I 100% agree with those that said in pictures you definately need to strike a pose. Show off the dress, if you just stand normal, it's not going to look like the most flattering dress although in person, tons of people complimented me about the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 3, 2011
The dress is gorgeous, however it runs very large. I'm 5'1 138 lbs.. I rented the small and the medium and I was swimming in the small. RTR was of course great and issued a credit as I didn't wear it, but would have loved to if it had been a bit more snug!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2011
Great dress!
I am 5'2" and have an athletic build. This is my first time using RTR and I used this dress for 2 weddings I had within one week. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and ordered my usual size (M) and then I ordered a Small as well. The Small fit great. It was a little shorter than I am used to, but I don't usually get dressed up anyway. I was comfortable all night and received many compliments. It was great for the Hindu/Polish wedding I went to where most of the women wore traditional clothing that drapes. It was a great color and in great condition when I got them. It is a heavier material which was nice - no cold weather issues where bras are concerned since it was a one shoulder dress. I wore a bra that had movable straps so I just used one on the one side and I was fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2011
I love the quality of RTR products. Everything always arrives looking fresh and amazing.
I rented this for a holiday party and couldn't be happier! It was fresh and comfortable, I received so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
December 21, 2011
Great Color, Great Fit, 100% recommend this dress!
What a hit! This dress gets an A+ I am 5'5", 125 lbs, and the XS was a perfect fit with room to spare, so it definitely runs big...felt like I was wearing my most comfy t-shirt, but looked like a million bucks. Paired it with black tights and heels, and some chunky jewelry for a fancy holiday cocktail party--received many compliments! I would definitely recommend this dress! Yet another Rent the Runway success--love them!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
January 5, 2012
LOVE!!!
Loved this dress! The other review were really helpful in my deciding. I felt beautiful all night (and comfortable)! Received a lot of compliments too. It ran a bit large so I got to wear the small - love a vanity size! I have a bit of a baby belly still and it hid it all perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't own this one!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2012
Bright Blue for New Year's!
This dress was super comfortable and I got a lot of compliments, however I ordered the large thinking that designer labels usually run small and it ended up being a little big (they didn't have the M in stock to get as a backup). Being a little too big, the fit didn't have much shape, was kind of long and I ended up looking a little "tent-ish" in photos. But at least I had room in my dress to eat a big dinner! ha! Overall though, it was a good pick....just would have been better in my size!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2012
Gorgeous color!!
I wore this dress just recently for a rehearsal dinner over New Year's Eve weekend and loved it!!! I'm so glad I read other reviews because it definitely does run really big. I ordered a S & M and normally wear medium--but wore the small and could've worn the XS comfortably. The dress was very comfortable and the color was my favorite thing about the dress. Definitely recommend!!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2012
Great dress!!
I wore this dress in Vegas and it fit great!! It was very comfortable. I would recommend renting a smaller size in the future, as it does run big Overall Amazing Dress and beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2012
The RTR women were very helpful!
I wore this dress to my homecoming dance and absolutely loved it! Would recommend this dress for any occasion.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×