Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
323 reviews
Fit
Large
(138)
True to Size
(155)
Small
(9)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2014
SO COMFORTABLE!!
I normally wear a 14, but the 16 was available. However, I made it work once I tried the dress on. It is super, super flattering for a full figured woman. It floated over those problem areas, but also flattered the shoulders and breast area. I received several compliments. The other reviewers are correct, this dress is very, very dark blue (almost black.) It is also roomy, so go down a size. I loved dress so much, though that I made it work with some double sided tape and pins. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress, not to mention how accommodating RTR was with making my experience wonderful. I will use this for all my formal events in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 29, 2014
Loved the dress
The dress could have been a bit more right around my belly. But if I were to go down a size my chest wouldn't fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
June 18, 2014
Beautiful formal gown!
I attended a wedding that was black-tie. This was my backup dress but when I wore it I felt totally glamourous. This gown was gorgeous and hung beautifully, although it was a tad big in the hips. However, if it had been any smaller it probably would have been uncomfortable. My favorite part besides the beautiful neckline was the train - really upped the wow factor. I have no waist, so it's difficult finding dresses that work on me, would definitely rent this again. Make sure you fashion tape as the hanger straps were a pain.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2014
Compliments all night
This was my first RTR experience, and wore this to a black tie wedding. I was a little nervous, as my package didn't arrive until almost 7:00 on delivery day, but that was the only issue, and not RTR's fault. The 6L was too big, but the 4L fit almost perfectly. It tugged slightly to the side with the one-shoulder style, but I was the only one who noticed. There is no stretch to the fabric, but the fit is very flattering. Definitely more navy than it appears in pictures, it was nice to not wear the typical black. I wore 3" nude heels, and the length was perfect. I received compliments all night long- I was sad to return it. I would absolutely rent this dress again, and will be using RTR in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
June 10, 2014
Gorgeous
I wanted something comfortable and flattering and this was the perfect dress. Unlike strapless dresses where you spend the night pulling your dress up, this one shoulder look rested comfortably enough that the end of the night we were playing cornhole at a local bar and I felt just as beautiful as I did at the ball. Overall fit was perfect, simple elegant lines, would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 9, 2014
Pretty color
Did not wear it, because it fit awkwardly. The zipper created a bulge. Very heavy fabric. I and 5'5 and ordered the R and it was too short for my taste. I could not have worn any size heels with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2014
Great basic dress
This dress was true to size and is a great classic fit. It was a little baggie in the stomach area but otherwise a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 5, 2014
Another work event
I was most concerned about the 12L fitting my bust (36DDD), but it worked out fine! The dress is a bit heavy, so I would've been hot and uncomfortable if my event had been outside. The dress would be great for winter black-tie events, though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 4, 2014
Felt like a movie star.
This dress was incredibly flattering on an hourglass figure and made me feel super special for my friend's black tie wedding.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 28, 2014
A black tie gala for a wonderful cause.
The dress and color were beautiful. My only complaint was that I wished the waist was more fitted. There seemed to be a lot of extra fabric in that area and my waist isn't overly thin. Because of that, I didn't feel like the dress was very slimming. Also, the arm hole for the side with a strap was pretty tight in my arm pit, so I probably wouldn't have been able to fit in a smaller size. I was happy with the way I looked that night, but it's not a dress I would buy due to the fit. The whole experience with RTR was a very positive one and I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 24, 2014
This dress is great
I rented this dress for my cousins wedding and because I am both busty and hippy I was a bit skeptical of the fit, but the dress worked out fine. It was a bit big in the bust but it still worked out well. My only regret is that it doesn't come in petites, being that I am a petite curvy woman it would have helped tremendously had the dress been available in petite, but I loved it all the same. Great rental, great time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 24, 2014
I wore this dress to prom
Very nice fit, not too tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 20, 2014
Flattering and wonderful dress, runs large
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding I attended in January. I am always nervous to order a size down but did based on the other reviews. I ended up wearing the smaller size and I probably could have even worn the next size down but the 6 fit pretty well. I would recommend this dress to anyone. It is a great material, thicker so it was nice for the winter when i wore a shawl for my shoulders but I would definitely wear this dress in the spring/summer as well. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2014
This dress was fabulous! It was so comfortable. I loved the feel and everything about it!
I did not have to wear a bra with it! Two layers of fabric so you don't feel exposed! Moves with your body. Classy and elegant and did the job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 14, 2014
Gorgeous Formal Dress that is also comfortable!
Loved this dress! Great classic look and it felt super elegant. It ran just a little large through the body, but not in a way that made it look to large, just made it comfortable. Thick fabric also made it pretty warm.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2014
Beautiful Dress
Great dress, perfect fit! The front runs slightly shorter than the back but it was just long enough.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 5, 2014
Loved it! Great material! Little big in waist and hips
Great dress and my husband loved it. Overall loved the dress design and material. I hate clingy materials because they are so unforgiving, but this fabric was great. The fit was a bit larger than I would have expected though in the hips and waist. I typically have dresses run tight in that area and loose in the chest, but this dress was the opposite. It fit great in the chest but was really loose on the waist and hips. Would have preferred it to fit a little more snug. GREAT DRESS though overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2014
Classy
This dress is really nice - it is a bit of a heavy material, but it's pretty. My only 2 complaints: the dress runs really large; the 2 was actually too big, so I didn't end up wearing it. The zipper was also strange on the side, and it folded in a weird way, but that could be possibly due to the fact that the dress was too large. It's not as form fitting as I would have liked either, but again, the dress runs large. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 4, and the 2 was still too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 1, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress.
So flattering. Material very high end.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2014
Great option
Wore this to a black tie event with colleagues. I didn't want anything revealing or flashy and this dress was perfect. Very understated and elegant. Flattering fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2014
Excellent dress for a black tie event!
I wore this to a black tie wedding in April and it was great!! I rented both the 2L and the 4R (2R was unavailable), and the length was the only problem I had. I am right under 5'5" and even with high heels on, the L length was a bit too long. 4R was too big and ill fitting. The size 2 fit perfectly though, so I just went with the longer length. Found myself holding up the train in the back to keep people from dancing on top of it, but it all worked out just fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
April 28, 2014
Classic dress!
The dress was a nice fit. I'm 5'10 and rented the Long length, it was plenty long enough. Fabric was a little on the heavy side. The layering on the neckline added that something extra the dress needed.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
April 25, 2014
Wore this to a formal wedding and felt great in it!
I usually wear a size 6 sometimes a size 8 because of my hips, so I ordered a size a 6R and a 8R for back up. I wish I would have ordered a 6R and the 4R for backup. While the 6 fit well, I think the top was just a little loose. However, the elegance, weight of the fabric and cut of the silhouette more than made up for it! If you don't have a large chest I suggest sizing down or ordering the the smaller backup. Loved the dress and have already considered ordering it again!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 24, 2014
L
It fit very well, could have been a little tighter but very comfortable for the evening. This was my first rental and I will definitely rent again! I wish the dress had more color, it is a very dark navy.
ReneeMay 20, 2014
I am 5'3" as well. Was the length okay on this? What height were your heels?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
A perfect formal dress
Best dress I've ever rented on RTR. Comfortable, beautiful fabric, conservative enough for a donor event but still made me feel beautiful. I wore this with big drop earrings and it was perfect. I can't handle bracelets but it if you're into those, that one would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2014
Very comfortable, but short!
It worked just fine, but it was big in the waist, and just short enough that 4inch heels made it fall at a weird length.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2014
Great dress for a black tie event.
Like others have said - this dress is NOT blue as it appears in the photo. It is a very dark navy. In reading the reviews, it sounded like I could go down a size, so I rented a 4 and a 6. But, because I have a larger bust, I couldn't get the 4 to hook and zip all the way up. So I would suggest going down a size only if you have a smaller bust! For the length, regular was fine with my 3 inch heels. But if they were any higher, I would have needed a long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
perfect and classy for a military formal
My Fiance and I attend military formals fairly regularly, and this dress fit the bill! it was classy, fun, and a perfect color! I'm 5'10" and the long was perfect with 3' heels. The bust was right on, size-wise, but the darts were a little bit low for my frame. Overall, it was a very flattering dress, and I receive LOTS of compliments! The fabric was forgiving, but still form fitting. The lining is super comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2014
This was my backup dress and was beautiful, I decided against wearing it.
I would highly recommend planning in a belt if you're more slender. The fabric is pretty thick, and the dress wasn't very fitted. It just didn't work with my body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2014
It was a last minute dress, but it saved the day!
I didn't actually wear this dress for my event; there was a mix up with my order and RTR was AWESOME and sent this dress as a back up. My original dress came in on time, and was better suited for my event, but I still tried this dress on just in case. It fit like a dream, and looked incredible on my body! Even without Spanx, it smoothed over my curves and give me an incredible hourglass figure. I would definitely rent it again for a formal event! It was flattering, timeless, and beautiful. I felt like it was a very sophisticated dress that would be even more of a showstopper with the right jewelry!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2014
Simple, but classy.
I ordered the 14 and 12L (I read from a few other reviews to go for the long if you're over 5"6) but they didn't have the 14L. Tried both on and the 12L was actually perfect! As much as I'd like to think I'm skinnier than I think, I'm pretty sure it just ran a bit large. It is a little bit of a high-low style (the front is shorter than the back) but not terribly noticeably, but you will definitely see your shoes, so keep that in mind. The style is really flattering. This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
April 12, 2014
Lovely dress, but didn't fit like I would have liked it too.
It's a gorgeous dress. I usually wear a size 8 regular, but there were no dresses of my size for the date I needed it by so I rented the 6L and 10R. Both fit me but not in the way I would have liked it too. The dress is very forgiving meaning that it will hide things you want it to hide but for me it was too loose. I wanted something a little tighter. I would have wore it if I didn't have another dress. The other thing was that the back is longer than the front so you have to be careful with stepping on the back. It is darker than it looks in the picture but it's really elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 11, 2014
Didn't wear this dress
I selected this as my backup dress but wound up wearing my original selection. This dress didn't do anything for my figure it just hung straight down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 2, 2014
Lovely dress but a little big
First I want to emphasize two things other customers said that are really very very true: 1. This is dress is so dark blue it really does almost look black in pictures and 2. The inner hanging strap on the side without the shoulder tends to pop out all the time so make sure to tape or pin it or something so it isn't bothersome. I am normally a 0, with varying success, and this dress was very large on me - enough where I could pull out the side and have over 1-2 inches of free space. That being said, the material is not very stretchy so don't overestimate that when sizing either. I think another factor for me was that the strap was a little long on my short torso. However, I wore it anyway and overall it was a good experience. I even recommended RTR to a stranger who asked where my dress was from. ;)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
March 31, 2014
Dress was ill-fitting and too short. Would not recommend.
I have had great luck on renting dresses from RTR before, but this was my first bad experience. The dress was tight on the best (I am average chested) and way to loose in the waste/hips/butt. It was so bad, i didn't end up wearing it. At 5'8 and with 3 inch heels the long was too short. I thought the dress was ill-fitting and I would not recommend it for rental. Shame, because I have had such great experiences with RTR before.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable - I received so many compliments!!
I ordered this dress for a black tie event for the charity I work for. I received this dress in a 6r and 8r, since the reviews said it ran large and I hoped to be able to wear flats or low heels. The 6 fit perfectly and the 8 was way too big. Beware -- the dress is significantly shorter in the front than the back ( you could see my ankles!) so I called RTR in the hopes they would have a 6L they could swap for me. They had one and sent it and it was perfect! It did stretch a little at the top and by the end of the night was less snug but I was happy with my purchase!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2014
Great dress and great color!
It was a great dress, and the ruffles on the one shoulder made it really stand out! I also loved the little flare out at the bottom that swished when I walked. I'm 5'7, and 6R was too short for heels but just a bit too long for flats so I wore the 6L with 3 inch heels. It was about an inch above the floor, but with the way the dress flows out at the ends, you couldn't tell that it was an inch shorter than I wanted it. It did pinch a bit at the top which had the unflattering side effect of squishing things, including my arms when I held them at my side, but other than that I'd rent it again.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
Gorgeous color - more royal/navy than dark navy. Color was unique!
Wore this to my husband's black tie event. So comfortable. Material was heavier (but breathable) so it draped really well and hid my mid section which I think is thick. The 4 fit great but was tighter around my arm - the 6 was perfect. I loved that it had a train - an added detail that made it elegant. Would absolutely rent this again. So glad my 1st choice was too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2014
So comfortable
Fit a little bigger than I planned so it lost a little shape. It was really comfortable and really elegant though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2014
What made my night unforgettable was when everyone who rented a dress from RTR did a photo together
The dress was darker than I thought but it actually matched perfectly with my husbands mess dress for his dining out!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 9
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×