Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
302 reviews
Fit
Large131
True to Size151
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
April 28, 2014
Classic dress!
The dress was a nice fit. I'm 5'10 and rented the Long length, it was plenty long enough. Fabric was a little on the heavy side. The layering on the neckline added that something extra the dress needed.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
April 25, 2014
Wore this to a formal wedding and felt great in it!
I usually wear a size 6 sometimes a size 8 because of my hips, so I ordered a size a 6R and a 8R for back up. I wish I would have ordered a 6R and the 4R for backup. While the 6 fit well, I think the top was just a little loose. However, the elegance, weight of the fabric and cut of the silhouette more than made up for it! If you don't have a large chest I suggest sizing down or ordering the the smaller backup. Loved the dress and have already considered ordering it again!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 24, 2014
L
It fit very well, could have been a little tighter but very comfortable for the evening. This was my first rental and I will definitely rent again! I wish the dress had more color, it is a very dark navy.
ReneeMay 20, 2014
I am 5'3" as well. Was the length okay on this? What height were your heels?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
A perfect formal dress
Best dress I've ever rented on RTR. Comfortable, beautiful fabric, conservative enough for a donor event but still made me feel beautiful. I wore this with big drop earrings and it was perfect. I can't handle bracelets but it if you're into those, that one would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2014
Very comfortable, but short!
It worked just fine, but it was big in the waist, and just short enough that 4inch heels made it fall at a weird length.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2014
Great dress for a black tie event.
Like others have said - this dress is NOT blue as it appears in the photo. It is a very dark navy. In reading the reviews, it sounded like I could go down a size, so I rented a 4 and a 6. But, because I have a larger bust, I couldn't get the 4 to hook and zip all the way up. So I would suggest going down a size only if you have a smaller bust! For the length, regular was fine with my 3 inch heels. But if they were any higher, I would have needed a long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 16, 2014
perfect and classy for a military formal
My Fiance and I attend military formals fairly regularly, and this dress fit the bill! it was classy, fun, and a perfect color! I'm 5'10" and the long was perfect with 3' heels. The bust was right on, size-wise, but the darts were a little bit low for my frame. Overall, it was a very flattering dress, and I receive LOTS of compliments! The fabric was forgiving, but still form fitting. The lining is super comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2014
This was my backup dress and was beautiful, I decided against wearing it.
I would highly recommend planning in a belt if you're more slender. The fabric is pretty thick, and the dress wasn't very fitted. It just didn't work with my body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2014
It was a last minute dress, but it saved the day!
I didn't actually wear this dress for my event; there was a mix up with my order and RTR was AWESOME and sent this dress as a back up. My original dress came in on time, and was better suited for my event, but I still tried this dress on just in case. It fit like a dream, and looked incredible on my body! Even without Spanx, it smoothed over my curves and give me an incredible hourglass figure. I would definitely rent it again for a formal event! It was flattering, timeless, and beautiful. I felt like it was a very sophisticated dress that would be even more of a showstopper with the right jewelry!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2014
Simple, but classy.
I ordered the 14 and 12L (I read from a few other reviews to go for the long if you're over 5"6) but they didn't have the 14L. Tried both on and the 12L was actually perfect! As much as I'd like to think I'm skinnier than I think, I'm pretty sure it just ran a bit large. It is a little bit of a high-low style (the front is shorter than the back) but not terribly noticeably, but you will definitely see your shoes, so keep that in mind. The style is really flattering. This was my first time using RTR and it was a great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
April 12, 2014
Lovely dress, but didn't fit like I would have liked it too.
It's a gorgeous dress. I usually wear a size 8 regular, but there were no dresses of my size for the date I needed it by so I rented the 6L and 10R. Both fit me but not in the way I would have liked it too. The dress is very forgiving meaning that it will hide things you want it to hide but for me it was too loose. I wanted something a little tighter. I would have wore it if I didn't have another dress. The other thing was that the back is longer than the front so you have to be careful with stepping on the back. It is darker than it looks in the picture but it's really elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 11, 2014
Didn't wear this dress
I selected this as my backup dress but wound up wearing my original selection. This dress didn't do anything for my figure it just hung straight down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 2, 2014
Lovely dress but a little big
First I want to emphasize two things other customers said that are really very very true: 1. This is dress is so dark blue it really does almost look black in pictures and 2. The inner hanging strap on the side without the shoulder tends to pop out all the time so make sure to tape or pin it or something so it isn't bothersome. I am normally a 0, with varying success, and this dress was very large on me - enough where I could pull out the side and have over 1-2 inches of free space. That being said, the material is not very stretchy so don't overestimate that when sizing either. I think another factor for me was that the strap was a little long on my short torso. However, I wore it anyway and overall it was a good experience. I even recommended RTR to a stranger who asked where my dress was from. ;)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
March 31, 2014
Dress was ill-fitting and too short. Would not recommend.
I have had great luck on renting dresses from RTR before, but this was my first bad experience. The dress was tight on the best (I am average chested) and way to loose in the waste/hips/butt. It was so bad, i didn't end up wearing it. At 5'8 and with 3 inch heels the long was too short. I thought the dress was ill-fitting and I would not recommend it for rental. Shame, because I have had such great experiences with RTR before.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable - I received so many compliments!!
I ordered this dress for a black tie event for the charity I work for. I received this dress in a 6r and 8r, since the reviews said it ran large and I hoped to be able to wear flats or low heels. The 6 fit perfectly and the 8 was way too big. Beware -- the dress is significantly shorter in the front than the back ( you could see my ankles!) so I called RTR in the hopes they would have a 6L they could swap for me. They had one and sent it and it was perfect! It did stretch a little at the top and by the end of the night was less snug but I was happy with my purchase!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2014
Great dress and great color!
It was a great dress, and the ruffles on the one shoulder made it really stand out! I also loved the little flare out at the bottom that swished when I walked. I'm 5'7, and 6R was too short for heels but just a bit too long for flats so I wore the 6L with 3 inch heels. It was about an inch above the floor, but with the way the dress flows out at the ends, you couldn't tell that it was an inch shorter than I wanted it. It did pinch a bit at the top which had the unflattering side effect of squishing things, including my arms when I held them at my side, but other than that I'd rent it again.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
Gorgeous color - more royal/navy than dark navy. Color was unique!
Wore this to my husband's black tie event. So comfortable. Material was heavier (but breathable) so it draped really well and hid my mid section which I think is thick. The 4 fit great but was tighter around my arm - the 6 was perfect. I loved that it had a train - an added detail that made it elegant. Would absolutely rent this again. So glad my 1st choice was too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2014
So comfortable
Fit a little bigger than I planned so it lost a little shape. It was really comfortable and really elegant though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2014
What made my night unforgettable was when everyone who rented a dress from RTR did a photo together
The dress was darker than I thought but it actually matched perfectly with my husbands mess dress for his dining out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2014
Very comfortable. Perfect length.
Beautiful dark navy gown. Not too form fitting. Cn wear strapless bra. Could use some sparkle around the waist. Perfect for a black-tie affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 3, 2014
Glamorous Gown Perfect for Awards Season!
I rented this dress for an evening of Oscar parties and I loved it. The 6R was a little short so my shoes showed but the 6L wasn't that much longer and was only available in black so I went with the 6R and loved the Navy blue color. It was very comfortable and flattering, I wore it for over 12 hours and it was never too tight or itchy. I would love to rent again in another color!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
March 2, 2014
Dancing with my friends and wonderful date!
I wish I had gotten a 2L but it was still perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2014
Amazing dress. LOVED wearing it. It was very comfy! It moves very elegantly. True to size.
Fits perfectly! I was very happy with the dress. You'll see in the photos that there is a string that kept coming out. That was annoying. Otherwise, I felt like a movie star!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2014
Very flattering dress!
I'm usually a size 4 and wore the 4L in this dress. It fit really nicely and was really slimming. There was a little bit of room in the waist, but it still looked great. I'm 5'8'' and am SO glad I ordered the long. I wore 3-4 inch heels and you could see my shoes so the regular length definitely would have been too short. Just keep in mind that your shoes will show so have a pair that you like. I wore Spanx with it which was really helpful because I didn't feel like I needed to suck in all night. Overall, it's a very beautiful (and comfortable!) dress. It's a great quality fabric, beautiful dark navy color and is super flattering. I loved it!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
February 25, 2014
Wore to a black tie ball for the Junior League of Dallas. Lovely/Flattering Dress!
I received a ton of compliments on this dress and would recommend it to any woman with tummy issues (apple shape) as I felt is concealed my problem area well. I was disappointed in the color of the dress when it arrived. On the website it was a more vibrant blue and in person (and photos) looked black. Also, there was very strange puckering down the side on the zipper. I thought is may have just been this dress but when I tried on the back-up size it was the same on that dress. This was my first time using RTR and the process of renting and receiving the dress was great and I will definitely be using RTR in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2014
This dress was amazing!
The fit of this dress was true to size and beautifully made. I wore it to a formal military dinner and it was beautiful but still conservative enough as well. I wore the long and it was just right with 3 inch heels. Highly recommend for any formal occasion!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
February 18, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress; both sizes were too big.
Color is much darker in person, almost black. Can't comment on fit since apparently I am much smaller than a 2 unlike what I originally thought. Simple and elegant, would have been a nice dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
Beautiful Classic Dress!
It was a very tough decision to not wear this dress as I ordered it as a back up style. I would never have thought that a semi-form fitting dress would look so good. It hugged in all the right places, but the fabric gave it a great structure. I did order one size smaller than I normally wear. Maybe next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
Way too large!
I rented this as a backup dress. I ended up basing the sizing and length off of other reviews, and since the 4L was the only one available, I went with that since I'm usually between a 4 and 6. The 4L was HUGE. It felt like I was wearing a sack. I definitely could have gone for a 2 or 0. The material is also very heavy and very coarse. I don't know if I would have worn this even if I had liked the fit. The color is also less of a navy and more of a blackish blue. It was nowhere near the dress I was expecting, and I'm glad my first choice ended up working out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 9, 2014
A little loose
Overall the dress fit very well, except the zipper bunched up and stuck out. I ended up not wearing it, but if I had gotten the 8 I probably would've worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2014
I did not end up wearing this dress.
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding because i loved the vibrant blue. It is not bright, it is navy and its so dark its hard to tell if its navy or black. it fits well, but its really hard to get the clasp at the top to hook by yourself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Beautiful, elegant dress
I had rented this dress as my backup, so I didn't end up wearing it, but it was very elegant and flattering. However, I felt it ran a bit big and a size 4 would have fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
January 8, 2014
Great Dress
Loved the dress, it was a little large in the chest for me but still great
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2014
Great for colder evenings.
I wore it for a black tie wedding after a huge snow storm. I was undecided between dresses then saw that this one is lined. It's perfect for a fall/winter event. The 2Long was my back-up, I usually wear a 4R, but once I put on 3-4 inch heels i needed the longer one. It just barely swept the floor on the back. the hem is slightly higher in the front making it easier to walk (and shows off great shoes). It sways a bit when you walk giving off a model sashay. I didn't notice much of a difference in the 2 and 4, maybe tighter on the arms, it's a very flattering dress, not too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
This dress was gorgeous and comfortable! A perfect combination for a formal event.
I ordered the dress in an 8 and a 10 because formal gowns tend to run small. The 8 was still too big in the top and way too long. I bought 3.5 inch heels and the dress drug the floor. I am broad across the shoulders and have a large chest, so I was very surprised to need a 6. I called RTR and they cold not have been more helpful about over-nighting me the dress in a smaller size. The 6 fit like a glove and I was able to wear my silver sandals with a kitten heel. Much more comfortable for a long night of dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2013
It was comfortable.
My weight has been fluctuating over the last three years (of course as I approach 40) and buying a dress would be depressing. As such I have relied on rent the runway. My instructions for my sister's wedding were to wear navy. I first rented one dress and it did not quite fit. This was my back-up dress, but I ordered the 14. It looked fine but my breasts (actually a 40 DD) made it a little tight. In a panic I called RTR and they immediately overnighted the next size TO my destination wedding. It was so comfortable all night and despite feeling uncomfortable about my weight, I felt that I looked nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2013
This is an amazing dress. My top moment renting with RTR
The side swipe is so beautiful! And the color itself is to die for - especially brunettes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2013
Finding something to wear (and feel great in!) while 5 months pregnant...
Fit a little tight across the chest, but plenty of room at waist and hips. Length was good with 2 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 23, 2013
It was very beautiful in person. Darker than I had expected, almost black.
The arm hole is very tight and was a little uncomfortable to move around. It is also very heavy, I would recommend for colder weather events. I ended up wearing my extra dress because this one made me pretty warm. I got the regular and long, the regular ( with four inch heels ) was about two inches too short. The long went to the floor, I had to be careful not to trip.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
November 20, 2013
Sooooo comfortable.
I chose this dress based on everyone saying it was great for the curvy girl. It. Was ok. The color is not as nice as the picture, it just looked black, which I love black, just not when I order what I thought to be a blue dress. The neckline and ruffle is gorgeous, and the fabric is lovely, super comfortable and luxurious, but the fit is just ehh. It did fit my large chest, but did not hang correctly from there. It didn't do anything for my waist. Not very flattering in the midsection. And I am only 5'6, and thank goodness I got a long, because, it just barely showed my shoes. Although it fits a large chest, you sacrifice fit everywhere else.
See more reviews:
4 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×