Major Moment Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
323 reviews
Fit
Large
(138)
True to Size
(155)
Small
(9)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2015
I received so many compliments on the dress. It fit great. And I felt fancy AF.
Fits true to size and was the perfect length with 4 inch heels and my tall height. It was very comfortable and flattered my figure. I'm small chested and the ruffles on the sleeve played up my upper half—a rarity for me with evening wear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 21, 2015
Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments, felt great in it.
I am 5'4" so I need to wear 3.5-4" heels to get it off the ground. Strapless bra was best undergarment option as well. Heavy weighted fabric so dancing all night long was pretty hot. Would definitely choose this gown again if I selected all over again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2015
The dress is beautiful and I was so comfortable!
I rented this dress to wear to a formal wedding at a waterfront location. My normal size is an 8, so I ordered 8R and 6R. I was able to wear the 6 because there is plenty of room through the hips in this dress. If you are smaller on top, I would definitely order a size down for your backup size, the 8 was much too large for me. I wore 4" heels and the dress just skimmed the floor, but I was not worried about tripping. The dress was very comfortable for dancing, and I felt great about how I looked. My only caution would be that my legs were very hot when I was standing in the sun because of the weight of the material. It was about 80F on the day that I wore it, I would not recommend wearing this in the heat of summer unless you will be in air conditioning all night. I loved everything about this dress and would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Body type: Full Bust
September 4, 2015
This dress was beautiful. I got so many compliments throughout the night.
The dress was true to size. The puddling in the back made dancing a little difficult but not impossible. I will definitely rent this gown again if I have the occasion to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2015
Beautiful dress! Fit wonderfully
I ordered the 8L and the 6R. I am between the two sizes, and wasn't sure how long I would need. I ended up going with the 8L, mostly for the length. I am 5'6" with long legs (I wear a 34" inseam) and wore 4.5" heels. It fit beautifully, with a hint of a train. I would absolutely rent this dress again!!
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2015
Great dress comfy yet still showed your curves
I was surprised that I needed the long length so tall girls be aware this does tend to be a bit short. I wore this with 4 inch heels and length was perfect. Wore this to a charity ball and loved how comfortable the dress was to move and eat a full meal in all evening. I would rent this again, color is very dark blue and the ruffled shoulder was very subtle.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 8, 2015
We attended a black-tie wedding. And this dress was perfect for the event..
I am very busty and was skeptical that I would be able to fit in either of the sizes I ordered. I ordered a 6R, it fit my bust but was too baggy. I also ordered the 4R as as backup, and surprisingly my bust fit in without looking smashed. The rest of the dress fit my curves great. I'm relatively short, and with 3 inch heels the dress rested on the top of my shoes. Would have preferred a bit longer, but what can you do. Overall the dress worked out perfectly and I received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 6, 2015
I felt so glamorous!
Wore this to a black tie wedding and it was the perfect thing -- totally elegant, but not over-the-top. It's a pretty dark blue (darker than I thought it would be -- almost black). It was a little big, but a bit of garment tape did the trick.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2015
Very nice dress
I rented this for a black tie event for my husband's job. It worked out great. I am 5'8", but don't like to wear very high shoes, so I was really debating the regular vs. long length. I ordered long, but there were no indications of long on the dress tags so I'm not completely sure if I got regular or long. The dresses I got fit about like the model photos when I was wearing 2.5" heels: about 1-2" off the floor in front, the "train" just barely puddling behind me. The overall fit is definitely big. I am usually a 14/16, but the 12 fit much better than the 14. The 12 had a little pulling in the bust (and I'm fairly small busted for someone who wears 14/16 at 38C/40B), but the fit through the stomach/hips was too loose in the 14. The zipper (down the left/strapless side) does pucker up some, but it was usually covered by my arm - and much less apparent in the better fitting 12 than in the loose 14. The dress required quite a bit of steaming to remove shipping wrinkles but was otherwise in great shape. I also rented the "Silver Mesh Glam" clutch and "Silver Pave Teardrop" earrings. I bought shoes, Spanx (Super Higher Power worked great for me) and a sparkly bracelet, but all together my clothing expenses were less than my husband's tux rental and new shoes. And FAR less than purchase price for a dress of this quality that would never be worn again. This was my first RTR experience, and I will definitely use it again if I have the occasion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 1, 2015
Memorial for fallen EOD Warriors
Appropriate for a 50+ woman. I felt comfortable and pretty in this dress. Great for a conservative military affair. The 12 was too big for my short frame. The 10 fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
June 1, 2015
My husband danced with me for the first time. :)
The side of the dress where the zipper zips was very bumpy so I tried to put my arms down with any pics. If you are busty or hippy like I am, this dress is a good idea because it flatters those curves and suppresses them a little bit too. The red of this dress is stunning and unforgettable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
May 19, 2015
Classy and comfortable!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. The dress is much roomier than I thought it would be given the silhouette. I would probably have gone down a size if I could. The color was beautiful and everyone told me how elegant I looked. Definitely recommend for girls with curves!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2015
This dress stood out and looked very slimming.
This dress was for an outdoor wedding and reception. The fabric wasn't too heavy for a Florida/May wedding. It fit perfectly! I'd rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
April 26, 2015
Super slimming and flattering dress!
I chose this dress based on so many reviews that said this was a fitted dress with room in the bust and was slimming. All the reviews were right on! I ordered this in a 0R and a 2R as a backup, but the 2 was out of stock. Since I am breastfeeding and a 34D, I wasn't sure if the 0 would zip. It was not a problem, and I word an underwire molded strapless bra with it. The arm hole for the strap was a little snug under my arm, but the dress was still loose enough at the top that I didn't have a uniboob. The length was too long (of course), but I didn't want to risk ordering the petite because the bust is usually too small on that size. I'm glad I got the regular length because it only was about 1 inch too long. I could walk in it without having to lift it up. I had lots of compliments, and it was the most slimming of all the dresses I ordered. My only complaint is the zipper on this dress was twisted and didn't lay flat. It seemed like it may have been repaired at some point and the lining was twisted. It doesn't look that way on the hanger, but you can see in the picture that it wasn't flat. I felt self-conscious that it looked bunched up, so I ended up keeping that arm down all night and using my other arm to hold my drink, etc. Overall I still would give it 5 stars, but I hope RTR retires that one dress or replaces the 0R with a proper zipper that lays flat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 23, 2015
Fantastic dress!
This dress is absolutely beautiful and extremely flattering! It does run large, I am usually a 12 but wore the 10, which fit like a glove. I am also rather tall, and at 5' 9", the regular length swept the ground perfectly as I was wearing flats. Any heel and I would have had to wear the long. Overall a fantastic dress, it wasn't too tight but did show off my curves. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2015
Ran a little large up top but I loved it!
The regular was surprisingly shorter than I expected (I'm 5'3") but it meant I didn't step on it so I was okay with that. It was a little loose up top but I'm small-chested so I usually expect that. Fit like a glove everywhere else. So comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2015
So classy!
I described the fit as true to size but - the hips run big and the bust is small. Go figure. I had a ton of room in the belly (which never happens with my shape) and hips but my poor boobs were kinda squished. The darts in the bust seemed oddly positioned to me. But, this dress was lovely. I think the color is darker than it looks on the model which worked perfectly for my event. The fabric is heavy and draped really well. I got compliments all night without feeling like I was drawing attention - if that makes sense. Some people had commented on the length but that was not an issue for me. I actually wore lower heels than planned since it wasn't as long as I expected. Very happy with this dress choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2015
I wore this dress to my engagement party. It fit really well.
The size down actually fit me better so I wore a 6 instead of an 8.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195lbs
March 31, 2015
Classy and comfortable dress
This dress is wonderful: black in some lights, dark blue in others, and medium blue in still others. It is perfect for black tie weddings, elegant with plenty of stretch for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 25, 2015
I walked in the room and the whole place quieted, then exploded in compliments!
This dress fit just slightly large, and a perfect fit for me. The fabric is a great weight and hangs very nicely. I received so many compliments and even as the night went on the dress held its shape. It was easy to dance in too. Very slenderizing and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 22, 2015
Simply fabulous!
This dress is gorgeous. The material is a bit thick/heavy, so it was perfect for a chilly formal event. I wore 4" wedges and the length was perfect (there is a short trainthat looked beautiful when I walked but I was careful to lift it up while in a crowd or dancing). Dress runs big, I think a 4R might have fit, but the 6R was comfortable and not too tight, so it hid the areas I don't feel best about. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2015
This dress was elegant and comfortable while running around all night!
As the event planner, I wore flats and this dress hit the ground perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 186lbs
March 7, 2015
Perfectly comfortable
Pro. Fits true to size. Fabric was free flowing which made a perfect fit
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2015
Gorgeous dress for a perfect night!
I wore this dress for the 2014 submarine ball with my fiancé. It was gorgeous! The fit was very nice, and the length was just right with 4' heels (I'm 5'2) I loved it & was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 23, 2015
Dress fit try to size really elegant minimizes larger bust great dress
loved this dress I am 51 age appropriate showed just the right amount of skin flattering on arms minimizes the bust which is my case is a good thing really elegant perfect for the Oscars!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2015
This is a beautiful navy blue dress with classic lines and is very comfortable to wear.
This dress fit perfectly! The length was just right with 3 inch heels. The dress came in perfect condition. I was on my feet a lot during the event and am glad I did not go with the long length. I would definitely rent another dress by this designer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!
A gorgeous dress. I ordered a 12R and 8L, the size 10 wasn't available. Both sizes fit, but the 12 offered more room through the bust. The dress is a heavy fabric and is cut on the bias, so it skims over the figure and would work for a wide variety of shapes. The regular length was a little short and a 10L probably would have fit best, but because of the cut an exact fit isn't required. I pinned the dress hangers inside with tiny safety pins, otherwise they would have been popping out the whole night. My husband actually asked if I could buy the dress to wear to other events - may have to rent the black or red in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
February 13, 2015
Felt like the belle of the ball.
This dress fit like a dream. I'm 5'4" 148lbs. It was the perfect length with 3" heels, it didn't drag on the ground or rose too high. I wore shape wear underneath because I'm self conscious about my stomach. But the dress was easy to sit/dance/eat/drink in. Highly recommend!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
February 10, 2015
Formal Dance
Beautiful dress! I normally wear a 4, and ordered that and the 2 for backup. Ended up wearing the 2 - It fit better in the bust/stomach. A little longer in the back, so I had to hold it up a bit out of fear of stepping on it, even with 3 inch heels! Overall great dress!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 9, 2015
Lots of compliments!
I did select runs large, but I personally did not mind! It created a little bit of a draped effect on the side without the shoulder, and I kinda liked it! It was beautiful and I got compliments at and after my school's formal Sweetheart dance! Lovely dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 8, 2015
Perfect for my black tie ball! Simple and stunning!
This dress is stunning! Photos don't do it justice. Such a flattering fit! This was my first time using RTR and it was such an amazing experience! Will definitely use again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2015
I wore this for my work gala and it was perfect!
I got compliments all night on the dress and it was super comfortable and fit perfectly. Not a single complaint! (Wore ~2 inch heels and it was just the right length. Anything taller than 3 inch heels and it would have been a bit too short.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 28, 2015
Loved the fit, I recieved many compliments on the gown.
The length (R) was perfect for a small heel.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 28, 2015
Dress is a great material and so classic.
It definitely fit too big. I would recommend going down at least 1 if not 2 sizes. If you are small in the waist go down two sizes. It was too big for me so I wasn't able to wear it to the event but if you get the right size I think you will love it. Next time I have an event I will try to order the 0R.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
January 22, 2015
Fabulous Dress
This dress is very flattering. The photo does not do it justice. I got compliments all night long. The color is a navy blue. The weight of the fabric is just right. I think I could have gone a size smaller so size down for your backup size. I had ordered a size 14 for backup (I'd put on some weight over the holidays) but it was not available so RTR got in touch with me and helped me pick out another dress for backup. But this one was better. I cannot imagine anyone who would not be flattered wearing it. It comes in red and black and some day I hope to rent the red one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
January 2, 2015
Kind of plain
I fit like a glove but was a little plain jane for the wedding I ordered it for. Spanx would have been necessary for sure.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 24, 2014
first time ever to wear a formal and attend a formal event
this was my first time ordering from rtr. wanted an elegant, no glitter dress for a formal military ball, this dress was perfect. husband said i looked gorgeous. ordered the size 14 with 12 (i am normally a size 14 in dresses) as the backup. wore the 12. probably could have worn a 10 in the top, but i tend to be a little bottom heavy and didn't want to have the skirt be too tight. this dress was exactly like the the reviews said. will rent again!
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2014
Gorgeous! I did not want to take it off!!
This dress was so great! It hugged me in all of the right places. I really liked the small train that flowed in the back. It was a little loose for me in the hip area, but it was still okay for me. I could have worn a belt with if, but I thought it might take away from its elegance. It was a great rental and I was somewhat sad to take it off! Love, Love,Love!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2014
Beautiful fabric but zipper bunches
Perhaps it was just the exact dress that I received, but the zipper bunched on the side (looked like it had been replaced poorly), which made the dress lose its shape around the waist. I didn't end up wearing it. Otherwise, the fabric is lovely, heavy, high quality and a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
December 16, 2014
Stunning, Flattering, Classy
I absolutely loved this dress. Although it looks like a relatively bright blue in photos with a flash, the dress is actually a deep navy. The fabric was comfortable, not too heavy or light, and was very flattering. I felt it was slightly tight under the arms, but that could just be a personal problem. The long length was perfect with a two inch dress sandal, and I am glad I did not order the regular length. Overall, I said it runs large because I am typically a 6, but the 6 did not stay up on top, a problem I never have. I would definitely rent this again if I had more formal occasions and if there weren't so many other fabulous dresses I wanted to try on here!
See more reviews:
2 / 9
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×