Carmen Marc Valvo

Major Moment Gown

$70 – $85 rental
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Go with this stunning one shoulder ruffle gown by Carmen Marc Valvo. You'll be the center of attention as you'll look radiant at the black tie formal. Go with a classic bracelet like the Crislu's A Girls Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in red and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
426 reviews
Fit
Large
(155)
True to Size
(197)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
October 7, 2017
On time and two sizes to try

Dress is cute fit well but two sizes dresses has some issue with The side zipper . Good thing was dark blue and it is not that obvious

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 36
November 16, 2017
Great dress! Fit wonderful!

Wore to a gala... perfect!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 13, 2018
Perfect!!!!

I love this dress! It fit true to size and was a nice thick material. Looked great on too! I wish I could keep it. This was my first time using RTR and it was such a great experiece.

Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
February 13, 2018
The dress was lovely

The dress was lovely and fit great except it was supposed to be a petite and was 3" too long. Double sided hem tape saved the day!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34D
February 20, 2018
Runs Large, Lacks Definition in Waste

Dress is very classic but still makes a striking statement. However, i felt like the fit was a bit off - I am usually a 4 pushing a 6 and this felt big to me. More importantly, it doesnt have a very defined waste so it doesnt do a whole lot for an hourglass figure.

Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 25, 2018
So beauriful but wirh mior flaws

I wear size 2 in almost all formal dresses i have bought. I am 5'3" with smaller top and waist/ fuller hip. This is a beautiful dress with eye-catching yet elegant sleeve detail. The fabric is heavy. But it did not fit at the bust and there was a bit of gap. Also the waist line was too big. If the fabric had some elasticity and had more fittedd look at the waist, it would have worked better for me. The sleeve was also a bit heavy, and I could not wear it for tne occasion I rented it for (I was going to play a concert in it, but the heaviness and the gap at the bust were too distracting.)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2018
Beautiful,comfortable dress! Lots of compliments!

I was a little nervous to rent a long dress because I'm only 5'2" but this dress worked perfectly with high heels. It has a beautiful deep navy color and the off the shoulder is a classy touch. Would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2018
Runs extremely large

Beware--this dress runs very large. I usually wear 2/4 and the 2 was huge on me. So large i couldnt wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2018
Such a Unique and Beautiful Dress

This dress was so pretty. I loved the single shoulder and frilly sleeve! The length was JUST RIGHT for my 5'4 frame. The side zipper required some assistance to get up but was not didficult. The dress was very comfortable too. As mentioned previously, there is some ruching on the side where the zipper is, which is definitely unique if not a bit odd. It didnt detract feom the lines of the dress and I recieved loads of compliments. I would definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
March 13, 2018
Great dress!

This dress was for a gala. The fit was great and the dress was very comfortable. It was not tight anywhere and the length was great with 3 inch heels. I received a lot of compliments on the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2018
No wrinkles upon arrival!

Got so many compliments about this dress! It was a bit long on me- I'm 5'2 and wore a 3 inch heel and the dress was just hitting the floor. I loved the simplicity of it while still being very classy. The ruffles are what made me fall in love with it. Easy to walk and dance in. I ordered a size 8R and it was too big for me-I should have sized down one. But I made it work and will definitely be renting again!

View photos (1)
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 25, 2018
Classy & Elegant

So thankful for back ups! My first choice came in two sizes and the larger of the two was too tight. This dress does run big… I am a solid 14 and I wore a 12. I could have possibly worn a 10. It was comfortable, forgiving, classy & elegant. The material is a nice quality. It is a little longer in the back than the front which is nice. My overall experience was positive except for the fact that a Nor'easter delayed my delivery by a day and I was very nervous that neither dress would work. But it all worked out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 1, 2018
Love this dress! Got lots of compliments and the fit was perfect! It runs big so I would go 1 down.

Fits big so go one size down .

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 3, 2018
Gorgeous!

The fit was nice, slightly roomy but comfortable. I wore it to a debutante ball.

View photos (1)
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 178lbs
April 8, 2018
Customer service was amazing

This dress wasn't even on my radar, but after a issue with my original dress that I ordered, the RTR team sent this gem over. Very simple and elegant to wear and loads of compliments. I have a hard time fitting in dresses mostly due to my "have had a baby" hips and bust. This was a 12 and had enough room I probably could have worn a 10. I loved the one shoulder and it accentuated my back and shoulders just a tad. I actually didn't even have to wear spanx with it because there was a enough room in the middle. I am about 5'5 and found it to be a tad long even with 4" platforms. But otherwise it was a lovely gown to wear. The customer service I received from the RTR was top notch and I can't thank them enough for making a stressful situation work out so well!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 17, 2018
Amazing!

I loved this dress! The color is a little darker than in the stock photo, it's definitely a dark navy. It was a little loose and not super form fitting but you couldn't really tell. It was very comfy and I got a ton of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
April 25, 2018
I felt like a million bucks!

I lost count of how many compliments I received on this gorgeous gown! I'm 5'0", so it was a bit long, but that only added to its elegance, like having a bit of a train in the back. The dress arrived on the scheduled date, and was in perfect condition. I will gladly recommend to anyone!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
April 30, 2018
Loved this dress! Felt stunning in it!

Lovely dress! I would wear this DRESS in EVERY COLOR if I could! I probably could have gone down in a size. But it was fine. I'm 5'5, 36dd, hourglass/athletic build. And I usually don't like one shoulder type dresses but I loved this one! It's very dark navy. Lightweight. And loose in the mid section. And I could breathe very good in this dress. And the zipper was great as well. Some aren't...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2018
So comfortable and received lots of compliments

I'm 5'2" 130 lbs. size 6 fit perfect. Wore three inch heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2018
Lots of compliments but a little too hot and big!

Fun and flirty dress. lots of room to breathe because it was sized wayyyy to big, especially in the arms. Definitely recommend going down one or two sizes for sure. But overall comfortable and easy. Very classy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2018
Just ok

I rented this for a formal affair, but it did nothing for my figure so I wore another dress. Tight around my hips but just dropped in other areas.

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 34
May 21, 2018
Classy dress

The dress fit well, however I normally wear an 8, and even the 6 was a little too big. But the 6 did fit well enough to wear. . It was very comfortable

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2015
Lovely!

Dress was gorgeous! I'm 5'6" and wore it with a 2" heel, and it was just right. I'm a 36DDD and found that the top was just a little bit big, but other than that, no complaints.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2015
This dress was elegant and comfortable for a black tie welcome winter wedding - runs a little big!

Runs a little big, but ordered my size and it was fine. Very comfortable and elegant. I wore a strapless bra with it and it worked great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 1, 2016
The dress was SO COMFORTABLE! It was sleek and classic.

I tend to wear a 6P in everything, but the 4P fit like a glove.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2016
Classic & Elegant!

I wore this amazing dress for formal wedding and got nothing but compliments on it!! It is a classic dress and fit a formal wedding to a tee without taking attention away from the beautiful bride!! I absolutely loved this gown (and so did my husband)! I ordered an 8R, but I may have been able to get away with a 6R. I had some extra room, especially is the waist and chest area (which is a surprise because I'm a 34DD). However, with the one shoulder style, no one noticed it being a tab bit big besides me. The fabric laid so smooth on the body and moved with me throughout a night full of dancing! I'm 5'5" and wore 3" heels and probably had about a 1/2" to spare. I got caught under a couple of people's heels during the night, but it's a small price to pay for my feet not killing me all night long. The one big annoyance with this dress is that the loops sewn on the inside of the dress on the strapless side are sewn at the top seam so it was almost near to impossible to keep them tucked in. I even safety-pinned them down and they still made several appearances throughout the night. I will definitely rent this dress again and will more than likely being trying the red one for another black tie wedding in a couple of weeks.

Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Weight: 185lbs
November 21, 2016
I wore this dress to a ball and I loved it.

We rented the Navy Tuxedo and paired with this dress was perfect. I am 5'4 and I wore 3 inch heels which was perfect. This dress allowed me to dance the night away with our tugging the top because there is good coverage if you are a little more modest. My back up size was a 12 and it fit better but seem to be made different and that caused a bulk in the back so I went with the 14 because it laid better. I loved the comfort and class that this dress gave me . I was 100% happy with this choice.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 6, 2017
Loved the dress! Could have downsized.

I thought the dress was elegant and beautiful. I wore it for Barrister's Ball at my law school and it was my first rental at rent the runway. I am glad that I ordered a backup size 2P because the 4P (which I thought was my size) was wayyy too big. I could have sized down for a tighter fit (the dress was a little loose around the midsection, but normal at the bottom). The dress is a lot darker than the the photo online - I would describe the dress as being a dark navy blue. Either way, I thought that, for my event, the darker blue was nicer. I would recommend this dress and I will definitely be ordering from here again! My measurements are: 5ft 2.5 inches; 34B; pear shaped (smaller top/ midsection and bigger bottom); 128lbs.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 19, 2017
Beautiful dress.

I ordered the 4R and the 6R. I typically wear 6-8. The 4R fit best. Only thing was I had to go buy shorter heels. Typically wear 3 1/2 -4" but with the 4R I could see too much of my shoes. I would rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 207lbs
March 26, 2017
Great dress: Simple and Stylish

I received many compliments in this dress. More importantly, I felt comfortable and very at ease in it. It does run large but while the top was big it stayed up beautifully! The dress runs large so if you're ordering a second size, go down a size. I danced all night with no concerns and very happy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2017
Showing up in this dress to an Oscar Gala was an unforgettable experience!

This dress is gorgeous on and off the hanger. It's elegant and comfortable. It's a deep, rich navy color. I normally wear a size 6 but ended up wearing the size 4 with no problems. It definitely fits a little looser through the mid section. I have that mom tummy and this dress was very flattering. I'm 5'1" and with 2.5 inch heels, the dress hung perfectly. The fabric has a silky feel so it feels as luxurious as it looks.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2012
Easy process & felt like a million bucks for just $150!

I rented this dress for a black tie work gala. I wanted to something elegant and not have to worry about too much decollete/cleavage showing. I normally am a size 10 but I ended up fitting perfectly into the size 8L. I recommend going down a size for your back up dress size. I am 5' 9" and the long was perfect with my 4 inch heels. The dress is a dark blue but most of my photos make it look like it's black. It was so comfortable and I highly recommend renting this dress if you want to go for a more elegant look.

SaraMarch 25, 2012
Hi Anne Marie - I am basically the same size you are - wondering how it fit in the hip and butt since this is where I normally need a 10. In the photos, it looks like it has an easy fit in that area. Wondered what your experience was.
AnnemarieMarch 25, 2012
I missed this question in time for Sara, but will answer in the hopes it helps someone else with the same question! This dress is great for anyone concerned with their hips and/or butt. It really is so flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 25, 2012
I was in the receiving line at the event and one of the wives, looked at me and said, I love your dress, I'm not just saying that... I LOVE your dress!

I ordered this dress in both the red and the navy thinking I would be a size 6, which is what I wear in pretty much everything. The Red version was my first choice but unfortunately I had ordered the red in the 6 and 8, then the navy in 4 and 6. The 4 in this dress fit perfectly and was just the right length with a 3 inch heel. I am 5 3'. The dress was in perfect condition and is definitely a high quality gown. It moved really well, and was very easy to wear. The whole RTR experience was wonderful. The customer service was incredible as always!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
May 14, 2012
Too big to wear

I'm a 0, and this dress runs big. There was nothing smaller for me to rent, so it was loose and I didn't want to wear it to the event. It was also long for me a 5'3". RTR customer service was supportive and helpful. The dress was good quality, a nice weight, and would look good on most anyone--but depending on your shape, maybe not great for a size 0 :(

JenniferMay 14, 2012
Thank you for your review!! I'm 5' 1" and 98 lbs and have the exact same concern. Were there any formal dresses/designers you found in a 0 that did work for your petite size?
CarlyMay 14, 2012
I am having the same problem! Jennifer, I am the exact same height & weight. Did you find anything that worked?
RTR CustomerMay 14, 2012
Hi Carly! Reem Acra, Bibhu Mohpatra, and Matthew Williamson tend to run small, so these designers would be great for you!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
I got compliments on the dress all night. I just wish I could afford to buy it!

I rented a 2L and 4L expecting that I would wear the 2L, but not wanting to risk having it too snug (I recently starting wearing a size 2... I've been a size 4/6 for years so have not yet really come around to the idea that I might be a size 2). It turns out that the 2L was still a little roomy, especially in the waist. I do have a really narrow waist for my size so I added a belt and it worked perfectly. I wore with about 3.5 inch heels and the length worked. I'm 5'9" and 135 lbs with a small B cup (the top could have been snugger, but I wasn't pulling it up all night). Also, the original 2L I received had a rip in the seam on the chest and I called RTR that day (they were really helpful and assured me that the dress never should have been sent out that way). They made sure I had a new dress the next morning, in plenty of time for the event.

KateJuly 16, 2012
Hi, I am thinking about renting this dress but I also have a narrow waist, where did you get your belt? Thanks!
KerriJuly 16, 2012
Hi.. i have the same question about the belt. Love the combination if you wouldn't mind sharing.
JenJuly 16, 2012
I don't actually remember where I bought the belt. I think it may have been from Express but a few seasons ago. Sorry!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Elegant but way too big

I rented this dress for a regional Emmy awards show. I'm a pretty solid 8, but I usually try a 6 too. When I tried the 6L on, I didn't even bother trying the 8 because the 6 hung so loosely on me. The fabric is heavy and just kind of hangs, which I guess can be good if you want to hide curves, but I wish it had done more to flatter curves. Maybe I would have loved it if I had gotten the 4L and it had fit better. It is very a classy and elegant dress though... probably better for a Fall or Winter event since it's very dark (not the color that is pictured, but closer to a navy/midnight blue, almost black).

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Having guests of the wedding, who spent hundreds of dollars on their dresses, comment on my Rent The Runway Dress. I was promoting RTR all night long and proud of it!

I needed to rent a dress for my bosses black tie wedding in CA. I would usually wear a 6, however the reviews stated this dress ran a tad bigger. I rented the 4L, instead of an 8L, for the second size. Fit like a glove! I got comments on it all night long!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 13, 2012
LOVED this dress!

This dress is extremely flattering. I am a solid size 12, which is what I ordered, and it was a little big, but not so much anyone could tell, but me. Flowed nicely, and was extremely comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 5, 2012
A mix of Elegance and Beauty!

I rented the dress for a black tie wedding. I cannot describe the way this dress flows and hughs your body and at the same time you are able to move around and dance. I do agree and thank the preview girls that posted the reviews saying the dress runs a tad bigger because it does, that's the reason i went for a size smaller as my second option and I'm glad i did!! The items were delivered and wrapped carefully and the delivery date was exactly on time. The return indications were very simple as well. I also rented the accesories from the site!! Unfortunetely, i could only rely on my friends pictures and they do not make justice to the dress, but trust me "If you want to dress to impress... then this is your dress!"

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 9, 2012
Rent the Runway was amazing, I would use them again.

I wore this dress to a formal wedding. It is gorgeous. People commented all night on it. It is very dark blue-almost looks black. It is heavy material-very warm-I wouldn't want to wear it on a really hot summer night. '

RTR CustomerSeptember 9, 2012
Hi! I was wondering, how high were your heels? Where you happy with the length? There are no longs available for my date and i was wondering if i could pull of the regular length? Im 5'6" as well.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×