Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

All Eyes On You Gown

$70 rental
$745 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Pair this gown with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting and Davis’ Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and the red carpet will roll out for you at the party. This breathtaking Carmen Marc Valvo is for sure a showstopper.

Also available in navy and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported.

Share
608 reviews
Fit
Large203
True to Size343
Small8
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
February 2, 2015
The red color stood out in a sea of black!
Fit beautifully and was very comfortable to wear. Night started with cocktails, sit down dinner and then dancing. I received TONS of compliments from both male and female party goers. You KNOW its a great dress when you feel beautiful all night. This was actually my stand by dress and so glad I ordered it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 31, 2015
The dress was pretty
So as other reviewers have explained, this dress runs VERY large and baggy through the waist. I am normally a 6 in higher end clothing, but this dress even the 4 was too big. I ended up wearing the 4L even though it was too long, because it had some semblance of a waist and the 4R didn't. Strange dress. At least it was comfortable. If you've got any sort of hips and need to accentuate your waist for a dress to be flattering, this isn't the dress for you. That being said, the color and fabric is gorgeous and if you're more straight up and down, this dress might be great!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
January 29, 2015
OK, color great, fit not so much
This dress fit extremely large. I did not choose to wear it as it was just too big to be flattering. Order a size down and it may be a different story with a more form fitting shape, but on me was just unflattering sack. The color was great.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2015
Great dress, tons of compliments, and fits well for dancing/moving around.
Length was a little long- I'm 5'4 and had to wear 4 inch wedges. The bust runs a little small, but other parts of the dress run true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2015
I felt comfortable and stylish in the dress.
It fit well and was very comfortable. I liked that the dressy had sex appeal, but I wasn't worried about it slipping down, as I do with some strapless gowns. I'm 5'5" and was worried that the dress would be long, but the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 20, 2015
Perfect for an inauguration gala!
Fit perfectly with 3 inch heels!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2015
It's a beautiful red dress, everyone will notice you! Comfortable and easy to wear.
I ordered both the 2R and 4R thinking they would be long enough for me, but they were both short. I ended up wearing the 4R because it was a tad longer than the 2R, even though the 2R fit me better. I had to wear flats which was fine, but it would have been better to order the L. Great dress, I loved it and loved wearing it all night. Very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 15, 2015
Perfect for holiday gala
RTR is awesome! My stylist came to the rescue with this hot little number when my first choice did not fit. I went with the 4R and it was perfect. I am typically a size 6, so believe this dress runs a little big. I have broad shoulders and was pleasantly surprised that it did not cut into me. I received a lot of compliments and felt like amazing all night. Did not stretch out or lose shape at all.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 12, 2015
Got so many compliments at our State Capitol's Ball!
I wore the 6L, I'm 5'7'' and wore 3 inch heels and it still ended up being a little long. Fit was perfect in the bust and hips, but was a little loose in the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2015
Beautiful Dress
This was my back up size but it ended up fitting perfectly. It was a little roomy in the waist and it worked out great for me because I could comfortably eat and dance all evening. The crepe is a heavy, high quality fabric and the color is lovely. The length was just right with 4 inch heels. Overall, the dress was perfect for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2015
Absolutely Stunning Dress!
The color and material of this dress are awesome. I got so many compliments throughout the night. If you are over 5'6" I would order the LONG. I am 5'8 and had to wear flats because the 0L barely hit the floor. I could have worn the 2L for extra length but then it was too loose in the bodice. The waist is a little bit looser than I would have liked, but it ended up being comfortable because I didn't have to worry after eating and drinking all night. I would 100% rent this dress again--I didn't want to send it back. (side note: the other girls in the picture are also wearing RTR if you want an idea of how those fit as well)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 5, 2015
I wore the 2R!!
This dress is amazing. I wore the 2R by the way but the system isn't showing htat as a size right now for some reason. Anyway, it fit absolutely perfectly. It might have been a smidgen long and I was wearing 5 inch heels, but was ok. The fabric is gorgeous and the dress is lined and very well made. Super comfortable. Danced the whole night. Tons of compliments and I really felt I could hold my own with all the ladies there with designers gowns running in the $thousands of dollars.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
January 4, 2015
Rented for a military ball.
This dress photographs beautifully! I love the way it felt on my skin. The fabric was so smooth and comfortable. It fit slightly big, but it is forgiving and hides belly fat while complimenting my curves. It is a little long too, but it works for people like me that need a place to put their hands so at least one of my hands was normally busy gathering it to the front and side so I wouldn't trip on it, but it looked natural and elegant. The zipper was a little temperamental and bunched a little under my arm where it zipped up. This was enough for me to decide not to wear it, but when I sent the "trying-it-on" pics to my friends to help me decide, they all said I looked fierce in it and had to go with this dress. So I trusted my friends, went with this one, loved the endless compliments I got all night, forgot about the bunching of the zipper since it's not like I had my hands up in the air all night anyway, and got great pics to always remember the event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2015
classy and elegant
I liked this dress but ended up wearing the other one I rented -the material is heavy and quality, drapes well but it was a bit too loose. I saw someone that had belted it and tried that but still just not quite as flattering. I would size down if you rent this but is lovely if you prefer a less fitted look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2015
Classic Beauty!
Great dress. I ended up not wearing it because I thought it was a bit too formal for my event and I loved the other dress I received from RTR. I hope I have a chance to rent this again. It is stunning. My 13-year-old son told me I looked like a model in it! Be aware that dress is a little on the short side for a full length gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 23, 2014
Fantastic!
Gorgeous dark red dress - so flattering - received many compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
December 20, 2014
Got tons of compliments all night in this beautiful red dress.
Definitely wear spanx if you have them, but this dress was comfortable and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2014
Amazing dress! I wore it to my military ball and I got so many compliments.
RUNS LARGE. I probably wear a size 8-10 dress and I wore the 6 in this.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
December 17, 2014
Really pretty, great fabric, didn't drape well on my body so I didn't wear it
Probably fits best for someone with a straight body; fit the hips and bust was kinda tight, but the waist was too big. Other reviews are right about the length and that it runs a little short for an evening gown; unless you are super short or don't want to wear heels, get the R instead of the P.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 17, 2014
Best compliments on a dress ever!
The dress and accessories were a perfect combo! The dress is true red, hourglass flattering and overall just stunning. It was perfectly elegant and conservative for my firm's annual holiday party, yet I still felt foxy! Be prepared -- You can't hide anything under this dress other than gel adhesives. I'm 5'1 and planned to wear a 4.5" heel, so I ordered the 4R with a 6R backup size. I ended up going with a 3" heel, which made it a tad long. Overall A+!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2014
Service was fast and efficient and customer service and quality was AWESOME. A customer for life!
Dress was of great quality. The dress itself spoke for itself. I truly felt and looked beautiful :)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2014
Perfect dress for a black tie affair!
I loved the way that this dress fit and I received many compliments throughout the night! The length was perfect for short nude pumps. I was hesitant to choose the red color at first, but I am so happy that I did. Thanks Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2014
This dress is STUNNING!
This is a beautiful, very feminine dress you will not want to take off. I felt so fabulous all night wearing this , I love this dress! Showstopper. Ordered my size long because regular length was unavailable- didn't need the extra length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 14, 2014
Lovely dress and I got lots of compliments.
Overall it was a good fit and hangs well because of the fabric weight. It fit me a little large in the waist area and the fabric has no stretch in it. The length was perfect and it was easy to wear. I have a large bust and it fit just fine. The dress arrived with a hole in the side seam. I am a good seamstress so I fixed it and was able to wear it. Customer service was very helpful with this issue so it will not stop me from renting again. My husband was thrilled with the whole rental concept since I don't like to wear the same dress more than a few times.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 13, 2014
Beautiful dress
Got so many compliments! Petite was a little short in the front but that made it easy to walk in. I was nervous about it being too clingy in the wrong areas, but I think it fell very well. Gorgeous, rich red color. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2014
This dress is elegant and bold. It speaks for it itself. I felt like the most beautiful woman there!
I loved this dress! It runs surprisingly short, so plan for that. Im 5'9" and approx 160lbs. I was worried that the fabric would hug or show all curves/underwear lines etc and I was wrong! The fabric was heavy enough that it draped gracefully without highlighting imperfections. It has a very very short train which adds to flair. I would go your normal size and a size up in this dress if you are on the avg-tall size. I wore it with flats bc I didnt want to tower over folks, and it was perfect (you couldnt see them) but if i were wearing heels it would have been too short. No need for spanx or expensive, uncomfortable undergarments... I got away with a normal strapless bra and cheeky panties. This dress is elegant, tasteful; a showstopper!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2014
How beautiful I felt and all the compliments on the dress made my night.
Fit me perfectly. Color is a beautiful red.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 36D+
December 11, 2014
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
I received many compliments when I wore this dress to a black tie wedding- it made me feel very glamorous- very fun to wear red! I took the advice from other renters and ordered a size 8l and 6l- I always wear size 8 and the 6 actually fit much better- the 8 was baggy in places- LOVED wearing this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
December 10, 2014
The dress is simply classic and incredibly flattering.
I ordered the 6L and 8R and the 6L fit perfectly with room to walk and sit comfortably although it was a centimeter or two too long even with 3.5" stilettos. The cut of the dress makes it very flattering and I kept receiving compliments all night. Big fan of this gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Graduate School Ball
I am usually a size 6, but went with the size 4 because the 6 was too big. I agree that the fabric was quality, but I did not like that the zipper on the side was sticking out a little (I think I read another review that said the same). I got a lot of compliments on the dress and I thought it was pretty but would have maybe picked something more "special" or distinct in hindsight.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
I felt absolutely beautiful in this gown, got compliments all night on how great it looked!
I got a long, but even then it was on the shorter side, but still didn't look too awkward. Also, the torso was a bit large, but the bust fit perfectly.
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2014
comfortable dress
get the usual size and a size smaller I'm usually a size 14 but the size 12 fit better and even a little more room too! I had so many compliments the whole entire night.. the only thing that the dress wasn't long enough as I would've liked, but overall a beautiful fun dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 7, 2014
Feeling like Gatsby's date!
SO. MANY. COMPLIMENTS. I mean, a ton. :) This red stands out beautifully in a sea of black and navy and I had people telling me I looked like a movie star all night. I was a little apprehensive when I first rented this dress especially since it arrived only a day before my event (talk about nerves!) but to quote Fat Amy from Pitch Perfect..."Crushed it." ;) The fit was pretty perfect in the 4R since I'm 5'3'' I'm glad I got the R instead of the L. I tried on the 6R and it swallowed me whole haha so I'm glad I went a size down like others I read about. The only thing I would add is that the mid section doesn't come in as far as I would like so that's why I added the thin black belt to create a waistline. It worked perfectly for this November gala (holidays right around the corner so looking a little Santa Claus was okay haha). PLUS, the back of the dress really accentuates any curves you have and my boyfriend was a big fan of that factor. Overall, a must-rent dress and will definitely consider renting this one again! Thanks RTR!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 5, 2014
Beautiful color in a classy and high quality dress!
I got compliments on this dress all night. I wore it to my sorority formal, and though it does run slightly large, it didn't bother me. However the zipper did pucker and no matter how we manipulated the dress it wouldn't stay down. It was kind of frustrating but I didn't let it bother me. I wish I owned this dress. Incredibly beautiful and so fun to dance in!!!
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
December 3, 2014
Gorgeous dress for a winter wonderland wedding
This dress definitely runs a bit big. I loved the shoulder ruffle in this dress. I saw other pictures of this dress with the belt and I liked that look. Was very happy with the overall effect of the gold belt and shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 24, 2014
This dress complimented his blues perfectly!
I had read other reviews that said it ran short, so I ordered the regular length, but it was way too long. I ended up being able to hem it with fashion tape and everything worked out. I got compliments all night and absolutely loved the dress. I would definitely recommend it for any formal event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
November 24, 2014
Beautiful dress!!!!!
The dress was beautiful! I usually wear a 2, but when I received the dresses they ran a little large so i ended up wearing the 0R ! It was my first time renting a dress and I am very satisfied with my experience and will definitely be renting again ! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2014
This gown was absolutely beautiful and made the night one we will never forget!
I normally wear a 2R however the 2R was tight in the shoulders and underarms. The 4R fit perfectly. It wasn't too snug, and flowed very nicely!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
November 21, 2014
The moment I walked out of my room my mom told me I look absolutely beautiful & I felt that way to
Both sizes fit me but the zipper on the one of them was messed up I wore this to a gala and was the best dressed person in attendance! I felt besitiful
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2014
Such a great color for a military ball!
I wore this for a Marine Corps ball, and I got several compliments! The fabric was great- it was not super thin so it was very forgiving. I ordered my typical size (6L) but read on the reviews that this dress runs a little big so I also got one size down (4L) as my back up. Thank goodness I did; I ended up wearing the 4L. The fit was great, except for the length. I would have loved for it to have been maybe 1 inch longer so it still skimmed the floor in heels. (I am 5'9") I also rented the Miller Star Light Star Bright bracelet, and the Nicole Miller Souther Plantation earrings to wear with this dress. They were a perfect pair! Overall I was very pleased with this dress, and will definitely be using Rent the Runway in the future!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×