Minya Dress

$40 rental
$258 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this Yumi Kim one shoulder, cobalt blue dress. Easy fit and great for a casual date or beach party! Pair with light and colorful accessories like the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8. Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; some pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8. Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; some pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cobalt silk. One shoulder neckline with flower detail at shoulder. Front pockets. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2012
Casual and cute, fantastic vibrant color for the summer!
I loved this dress, while it ran a bit short, the fit was true to size - the color was bright and fun and was perfect for a dinner at the beach club!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
September 19, 2012
Dress was perfect shade of royal blue I had to find as a bridesmaid dress for best friend's wedding.
This dress was VERY comfortable. Although the material is thin, it did not seem to wrinkle easy as all. The reception was about an hour from the wedding site and I can honestly say that I had no problems trying to smooth it out any of the wrinkles. The picture of the model truly demonstrates how the dress will fit you. It is very true to size, however, it you are big-busted (like me), you may need to consider going a size up. Rent the Runway did send fashion tape with my order (for FREE!) and I did use it for peace of mind and security reasons - although, I am sure I would have been fine without it. My only complaint is that the slip would tend to show at the bottom of the dress (see photo 2). It really didn't bother me, but to some it might. In the end, Rent the Runway will receive repeated business from me. It took me FOREVER to find a dress in the Royal Blue category as a bridesmaid dress for my best friend's wedding. Rent the Runway was the ONLY store (flagship and online) that had an attractive and appropriate dress for the event (AND, might I add REASONABLY priced!!). Thank you for making my night fun and enjoyable since I did not have to worry about any slip-ups!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2012
My first RTR disappointment :(
The dress was beautiful, the color and material were great, but unfortunately, the dress was totally un-wearable. The inner lining hung down about a half inch below the dress, in both sizes that I ordered (XS and S). I think maybe all the dry cleaning had shrunk the main dress material, but not the lining. But it looked bad and I couldn't wear it the wedding I had rented it for. RTR was great about letting me return the dress and giving me a credit for the rental cost, though. I think I will stick to the designers I know and the newer dresses to make sure this doesn't happen again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2012
Great Color. Awful Cut.
The liner on this dress was awful! It was an inch too long all the way around and stuck out. I had to safety pin it under the dress. The color was beautiful, though the top was very loose fitting. I should have gotten the extra small and then maybe I wouldn't have had to pin it in around the arm holes to keep from flashing people!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 7, 2012
Fun and flattering!
Yet again, I scored a home-run with RTR. This dress received SO many compliments allllll night. The color is gorgeous. The material is so comfortable and beautiful. My only problems were a) my small chest and b) my big rear. The dress ended up being just a little snug across my hips, but it wasn't so uncomfortable I couldn't sit, stand and dance. And a little bit of fashion tape took care of the sagging top. I was very happy once again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 24, 2012
Thin dress, but very forgiving
Got this as a substitute dress when the other one I rented was too small. It's very thin--I wouldn't wear it unless it's very hot out--but not see-through. Very comfortable and cute, got lots of compliments. Good for girls who either have small busts or small ribcages.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Body type: Pear
Weight: 101lbs
August 24, 2012
Great Dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding I was going to, it was my first rental from RTR. I got a XS and a S. The XS was too small for me, but the S fit perfectly! it was a simple little dress, thats dressy but not TOO dressy. I got several compliments on it! I was nervous that I was going to rent a dress that was too long on me, because im so short (5'1), but this dress was just the perfect length on me. It isnt too short or too long, it hits mid thighs. I definitley recommend this dress, its an appropiate dress for teens and young women as well. Thanks RTR for the great rental, will definitely rent again. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 20, 2012
This was my first RTR dress - I can't wait until I get to wear the next one!!
This was the first dress that I rented from RTR and I was very impressed. The only small problem I had with the dress was that the ruffles were not as "ruffley" as they appear in this picture; it could be due to the number of times that the dress has been mailed. Overall, it fit great and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
August 5, 2012
This is my second RTR dress and it just keeps getting better
I loved this dress! The color and fabric were great! This dress is perfect for a summer wedding or event. The color made me feel bright and alive. I only had 2 problems with the dress... 1) the ruffles were flat. 2) I cant keep the dress! I loved it alot!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 29, 2012
Too short!
I rented this for a wedding and got both the small and the medium. The small was a little too big around my waist/back but I probably could have gotten away with it- if it wasn't so short! I didn't end up wearing it so that was a bummer! Otherwise, the color was beautiful and I'm sure it would look good on some people if the fit was correct.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2012
This dress is the perfect Cobalt Blue! Received compliments all night!
Loved this dress! Wore to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments. The size small fit perfectly and no need to rent a second size. Loved that they also included a sample of Hollywood tape, definitely helped the other side of the dress stay up all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 21, 2012
Great for petite frames
I rented this dress for a wedding. It fit perfectly. I am petite and it was not too big or long. The dress hit about 3 inches above my knee. The color was very pretty and the fabric was formal enough for a nice occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2012
WAAAAAY too short for me
This dress is a stunning color. I was very excited about it but it was way too short for me. One of my friends who was 5'3 tried it on and said it was too short on her as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 29, 2012
Very cute!
I wore this dress to a cocktail party in May and received so many compliments. The color is very pretty and I found the cut to be flattering. It fit well across my chest, waist, and hips. My only gripe about the dress is the lining of the skirt was almost hanging down below the hem of the dress itself and was visible at times.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 9, 2012
Loved it!
The dress was such a beautiful color, and rent the runway was perfect. Delivery was on time, dress was clean and ran true to size, and it was super easy to ship back! This was my first RTR experience, and I will definitely do it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 30, 2012
I received MANY compliments on the vibrant color and the fit.
I adore this dress! It's easily my favorite RTR rental to date. I'm petite but also athletic/curvy and the small fit perfectly with plenty of room for a strapless bra underneath.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2012
Great color, funky fit
I rented this for a wedding and loved the color but the medium was really big and the small was just a little too small. Overall, it wasn't my favorite RTR pick but it was a nice dress-- actually the material is much nicer than it looks online.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2012
Pretty Color!
The M was a little short for me but otherwise it fit great! I loved the bright blue color and the pockets!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 7, 2011
The amount of compliments I got across the board!
The small fit perfectly at the top, waist, and hips, but was an inch too short to look good. The medium was a bit big and still a little short, but still looked beautiful! I'm about 5'9" with a tiny waist and big butt/hips, so I was surprised that it fit my body type fairly well. The color is absolutely STUNNING; I got so many compliments! Overall, it was definitely worth the rent.
LilyJuly 19, 2012
what color shoes did you wear?
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Lily, Ashby is wearing silver shoes to dress this Yumi Kim style up a bit. It can also be worn with black or nude heels depending on your event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 4, 2011
Beautiful Color
I wore this to a grad school prom. The top part fit great but the bottom was a little more fitted and shorter than I expected. Also, the under slip was a little longer than the actual dress. I used double stick tape to keep it hidden. Had I tried it on before I probably wouldn't have gotten it, but I got complements on it all night. The color is more of a jewel tone blue than the picture online; much prettier!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
December 1, 2011
Cute, but nothing special
I rented this for a wedding, but ultimately wore a different dress. It's definitely cute on, but its relatively informal. I would only rent for a casual event.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
It was so great to have 2 sizes of the same dress sent...it helped to take the guess work out of ordering a size.
I loved this dress for my high school homecoming dance! Best of all, no one else had a dress like it! The color is really pretty.
amyDecember 6, 2011
thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2011
Beyond disappointed
After much research, I selected this dress for my first (and only to date) RTR experience. I loved the color, have always found one shoulder necklines flattering, and was excited to try an out-of-the-box dress (I often find myself in a LBD rut, never venturing far from the likes of Shoshanna, BCBG, and Milly). I wear a size 2 or 4, so I ordered the XS and S. The XS was incredibly short and tight over my hips and derriere but comfortable on top. The fact that the size small was slightly too large on top could've been corrected with double-sided tape, but the incredibly cheap looking, poorly made lining made the dress impossible to wear. The lining was completely visible at the bottom, hanging out, completely visible beyond the silk of the dress. It would've required stitching to hide. Needless to say, I found myself in a last minute jam, scrambling to find a dress for the wedding. Even worse is that I had a red eye flight that night and thus wasn't able to return the dress in time to get a refund. So $40 gone and no cute outfit. I recommend renting a designer with whom you're already familiar so you know PRECISELY how the dress will fit and can gauge how high (or, in this case, low) its quality will be. That said, RTR shipping was excellent and on time. Had the dress fit, I'd be a fan!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2011
Great dress!
This is the first dress I rented from RTR. I wore this to my wedding rehearsal dinner. I got the Small and XS to try and the small was a little baggy on me (I'm 5'0" & about 110 lbs.) So the XS worked perfectly. The dress is a little on the short side (to me & I'm not very tall), but it looked good.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
The dress is great and so many people complimented it! The lining ran a little longer than the dress, but I just fashion-taped it up. The dress also slightly rides up, so its best if your short. Would definitely rent again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
October 9, 2011
I rented this dress for homecoming and it was great! I got tons of compliments on it! Only problem was that it was hard to move around in but besides that, it was great!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 5, 2011
This was the perfect dress for my semi formal!
The dress came in a beautiful dress bag with great samples! The color is true to the picture, a gorgeous royal blue! It was a bit short but fit great, no need for hollywood tape! the pockets stick out a little at the hips but no big deal! So very pleased with my dress for semi-formal!
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2011
Like many of the other reviewers, I found there was a very large discrepancy between size S and M. I rented both sizes hoping one would fit, but the S was way too short for someone my height to be considered acceptable for a wedding. The M was a more proper length, but I was swimming in it! I ended up wearing something else because I was not comfortable with the length of the better fitting S. It was a beautiful color though...I wish I could have worn it. It was my first rental with RTR so I was a little disappointed, but I was very impressed with the service and have since rented again ( a dress I actually wore) and was very pleased.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2011
I'm short- but this dress was TOO SHORT. It hugged in all the wrong places, and I had to return it. If you're on the shorter/thinner side, this dress is a pretty color, and would likely be a huge hit. Sadly for me, it did not work out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 6, 2011
If you are tall, beware of this dress. It runs really short and I couldn't even wear it as a dress. I was able to wear it as a top with white pants. The bottom half of it is much more form fitting than how it looks in the model photo. It is a very pretty color of blue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 22, 2011
Beautiful color and fit. I loved it.
The color is amazing. I didn't think anything about the dress was a "con."
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2011
This dress is gorgeous in person. The color is just beautiful - but there are a few things. I usually wear a 4 so I ordered the small and medium. When I tried on both dresses the hem was showing on both. I had to actually pin up the hem the night I wore the dress. Also - my body type is smaller on top and fuller on bottom. The small really hugged my legs/butt and the medium was really big on top. I pinned the shoulder strap up on the medium so that the top fit a bit more snug. Even with all my "alterations" I received so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
July 25, 2011
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding this past weekend and have never gotten more compliments on a dress. The color is really brilliant, more so than you can tell in the picture, and really sets it apart. It's super comfortable since it's so unstructured. I did use a little bit of tape on the side to make sure the non-strap side stayed up. The dress is definitely short though, so keep that in mind when choosing it. I liked it so much, I was sad to return it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2011
This dress is super cute, however, the sizing was very frustrating. I rented both a small and a medium. The small was too tight in the hips and borderline too tight in the bust. Also, the small was VERY short - way shorter than what it looks in the picture. The medium, on the other hand, was way too loose all over. I almost returned both dresses for a refund, but I ended up being able to wear the medium with the help of a padded bra. Also, the medium is much longer than the small. I felt like the dresses should have been labeled a small and a large and that there was an intermediate size between the two that was missing.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 18, 2011
This dress is very cute and easy to wear. I wore to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect- guys were yelling "hey you in the blue dress" from across the bar later that night! The dress has pockets which I was worried would stick out and look akward but the material is so light it looked perfect. I LOVE RTR and definately got some new customers that night!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2011
Beautiful dress. I wore this to my bridal shower and got so many compliments! The color is way more vibrant than the photo suggests. I usually wear a 4 and the small fit me nicely. The only thing I didn't love was the back poufs up a little and it is pretty short so just remember to cross your legs when you sit down, haha!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
July 7, 2011
Loved this dress! It's a tad more shinny in person, but a really pretty blue. I rented the S and M, thinking I would have to go with the M - but I was able to wear the S and it was still big! I am curvy through the hips, but it fit me perfectly!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 28, 2011
I’m pretty curvy so it was very fitted in my thigh area. Definitely size up if you have larger hips and back side! Beautiful dress, though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
June 22, 2011
ADORABLE DRESS! I wore this to my sister's Bridesmaids Luncheon. It was really great and so cute. I am pretty tall and it was short but not too short on me. Got lots of compliments! I have a smaller waist and chest and usually wear a 4-6, the small fit me well but was not tight across the chest or waist at all, but due to lenght could not have an XS.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 19, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding in Texas, and it fit very well/was appropriate for the occassion. I was expecting it to be tight in the hips/stomach from the picture, but it was actually forgiving in this area. The dress is a little bit short, but not scandalous! I loved the dress and would suggest the rental. The color of the dress is also much more vibrant/bold than it is shown in the picture.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×