Rent the Runway

Yumi Kim

Girl Next Door Dress

$40 rental
$248 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Perfect for your beach vacation or girl's brunch! Rent this summer fun Yumi Kim dress and pair with accessories like a chunky bangle!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - straps are adjustable
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with belt, pleated detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - straps are adjustable
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist with belt, pleated detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Fuchsia and navy floral printed silk. Surplice neckline. Tie waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip with black trim. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

55 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 46
Large 4
Photos 11
SLR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jul 5, 2011

Lots of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This a great casual spring/summer dress. It is flattering & versatile. I am a size 6/8 and ordered a M, it fit perfectly. I tend to have a large bust but once I adjusted the straps, it was fine (didn't even need a bra!).
ozzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

Definitely the reason the team I was rooting for won the polo match

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to a polo match and it was perfect - classy and comfortable. I wore an xs, it does run a bit large in the chest area.
Lyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 30, 2011

I got tons of compliments at a casual rehearsal dinner and felt like a million bucks!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! Both the medium and large fit, but I ended up wearing the large for a blousier look.
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Jun 19, 2012

Super Cute outfit!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress. I wear it for a quick lunch with family. I ordered a large and it fit me perfectly. I'm usually between an 8 and a 10. Very accomodating on the belly :) I love the adjustable strap. Really helps to customize fit.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 23, 2012

Lovely summer dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The picture doesnt do this dress justice. It is very comfortable and flattering. I recently had a baby and it is flowy enough in the right places yet body skimming in others so it looks great. The pockets are barely noticeable, dont stick out or detract from the dress but add a cute casual feature.am a 34D and the top was very comfortable and had just enough support that I didn't need to wear a bra. Can be dressed up or down, very versatile and pretty color and fabric..
JL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Great for a fun, casual party

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower, and it was very cute and flattering. I was a little surprised at how thin the material was and that it wasn't lined at all. I felt a little exposed when the wind blew, but I eventually got used to it. It was comfortable and nice and cool for an outdoor summer party. The colors are pretty and bright.
Arielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Perfect for a summer getaway!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a weekend at the beach, and it was perfect. The color and print is so fun, and it's very light and breezy. Easy to dress up with accessories for a casual night out, or just by itself for daytime. Love it!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Cute and good for summer

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress worked really well for a casual summer dress. I usually wear a size 4 and I got the small and it worked perfectly.
naomi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Aug 14, 2012

Flattering and comfortable!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress during my birthday weekend and fell in love with it for its cute pattern, flattering fit and comfortable style (pockets included). Yumi does it again. You can dress this up or down depending on the shoes and jewelry you wear, as well as whether you pair it with a cardigan or blazer. However, I wore it casually and it didn't look too dressy.
Shoppergirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Fun Party Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a summer luncheon. Great fit super comfortable and everyone loved it.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fits true to size. Great color. Wore to bridal shower and received lots of compliments. Pockets are fun too.
Ang
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Pretty dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Did not get to wear dress, only ordered the small and it was to tight in the bag and sides but big in the bust. I think I could have pulled it off with the M.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 31, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a crawfish social at the country club and recieved a bunch of compliments. the colors are beautiful and the dress is easy to dress up or down. i loved the pockets! would definetly reccomend
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Great colors for a end of the summer wedding

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a end of the summer wedding in mid september on the Eastern shore in maryland. The wedding was outside on the water and the reception was in a tent in the backyard. I rented both the S and the M, however, I went with the M for a bit more length and comfort. The dress has great colors and was a nice transition dress into cooler weather.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Perfect dress for Birthday day activities.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered the large and it fit a little snug, especially in the chest area. Over all thought It was a beautiful and very comfortable dress. I am 5'5 and the dress was the perfect length.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Comfortable, & Forgiving

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding a few months after the birth of my daughter. It is very forgiving and easy, yet very flattering. My only negative is that any water spot shows was visible to me but probably not to others because of the pattern. Its silk, so be prepared for a few wrinkles and the thinness of the material. I wore some spanx underneath which I would suggest for others.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

Dress is great for any event

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit wonderfully. The adjustable straps ensured a great fit. The pockets were an added bonus. Great dress to go casual or dressy.
kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

cute

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a nice brunch outside, perfect for a warm summer afternoon!! Fit a bit tighter in the rib area which is why i wore the Medium. I love the adjustable straps!
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 4, 2012

Cute - Perfect for a summer day.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This little number was classy and comfortable. I just wore it for a regular summer day but could easily wear for something more formal like a bridal shower, etc. This dress is much more flattering than it looks on the model too.
Nicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Awesome dress, never got a chance to wear it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress. It was so cute and perfect for the event I was headed to but unfortunately due to a mix up the dresses I ordered never got to me in time so I was stuck dress-less. :( would have loved to wear it though!
Jaryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Dec 14, 2012

Such a cute dress! Very flattering.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress and received so many compliments! It was a great length. I'm tall and don't love my legs, so a lot of dresses are borderline too short for my taste. This hit just above the knee. The color stood out, and it really was very flattering. In fact, someone asked me if I had lost weight. And I most definitely had not! haha Any dress that gets that reaction gets 5 stars in my book!
Jess
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Loved the dress but it was a but big in the top area was a bit scared I would show the goods.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit is a bit big overall in areas, LOVED the pockets, color was great, material was a bit cheap. I did get lots of complements but don't know if I would get it again.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

Great bridal shower dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to a friend's bridal shower and it worked really well. The bridal shower was at a hotel on the beach in NH in August. The reviews I read were very accurate in terms of sizing.
Anna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 2, 2013

Overall great dress and got tones of compliments

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress and so did everyone else. It was a great dress to dance in. It didn't have to worry about it. It fit well but was a little tight in the chest but most things do on me. I highly recommend this dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

So cute! Great colors!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding rehearsal in Montana in September. Great fit, flattering style and love the pockets!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

LOVE IT

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Would rent it again...loved it! Brought to a girls' vacation and it fit the bill for nights out and late night!
erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2013

Comfortable and feminine!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding during the summertime. It was light and flowy, which was perfect for the weather. I got several compliments and loved the dress. It ran kind of big, so I would opt for a smaller size if you are borderline.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 30, 2013

Very flattering and feminine dress, perfect for wedding shower or daytime event!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was vibrant and beautiful in person and very flattering, especially in the stomach area which I am very self conscious about. The whole rent the runway experience could not have been easier and I will surely do it again! I would say this dress is true to size, although it runs slightly smaller in the torso/ bust area so if you have a full bust or broad torso I would consider sizing up for your second size.
rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

I loved this dress! I wore it for a summer wedding. It was so comfortable and fit true to size.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Causal but can be dressed up with the right accessories. Its light weight so it is good for summer and spring events.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
May 10, 2013

Fun Date

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
got this for an anniversary date with my BF. ended up wearing the larger size for a flowier feel, but it ran true and would have been fine with a medium. the fit was great and so was the length. LOVED this dress, and so did my man!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2013

loved.loved.loved this dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved wearing this dress. The colors are so pretty and it was a perfect for a daytime bridal shower. It fit pretty true to size, I usually wear small and sometimes medium - but I wore the medium with this dress.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

A bit too childlike (and small)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Sadly this dress really didn't work. I thought it would be nice for a breezy beach party, but other than the fabric (which felt lovely and draped beautifully), this was all wrong. The bust was MUCH too small (couldn't even zip it) and even if it had zipped it did terrible things to the top of me. It was also too short, which made it look like I was wearing the dress in a child's size. I think this would look great on someone more pear-shaped (or generally smaller on top), and under 5'6".
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Cute and Comfy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a Bridal Shower. It was very comfortable for a hot summer day. However, the dress was very big so I had to add a belt. Wish I would have gone down a size.
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Perfect for a summer day.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really liked this dress! The lightweight material was perfect for a hot summer day, yet not too sheer that I was uncomfortable wearing it too Mass. I got lots of compliments on it; I just wish that I had thought to get someone to take my picture while I was wearing it! Since I am not very busty, the top of the dress was pretty loose, so I adjusted the straps to make it better, but that only made it shorter and dig into my under arms. I wore this dress all day: to Mass in the morning and while I worked at a music festival in the afternoon. I paired it with some a pair of teal sandals, and a mint and navy cardigan.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

I haven't seen my boyfriend a lot this summer so I wanted to look cute on our date!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is AMAZING! Seriously! I wore it to work the next morning and my boss asked if I had lost weight (Not that I know of but an awesome thing to hear!). The colors are seriously perfect! If I ever need a dress for a summer wedding I'm totally renting this again (I wish I could have kept it I loved it that much!)
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 4, 2013

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved loved loved this dress. The material feels very lux. It fit well, came about 2 inches above the knee. It was a little tight in the chest, but came in helpful as I did not need to wear a bra. I would definitely recommend renting this dress.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Print of this dress matched the Hawaiian-theme shower perfectly

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size and for being on the shorter side at 5'2"ish, the dress hit above the knee. I was attending a Hawaiian-theme bridal shower and this dress fit the bill perfectly without looking too costumey or cheap.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Fun sundress for a casual event

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress on a booze cruise and it was adorable. It's very casual, but was flattering and cute. I would buy this dress because it seemed perfect to throw on in the summer and look put together but not trying too hard. The front is a little low cut but I wore a strapless bra and it was fine.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Comfortable and bright!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this on my wedding day while we were getting ready. It's super comfortable, light weight and bright and the v-neck is great - not too deep. The length was perfect too.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

Fun and casual

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore it to an outdoor concert. It was a fun sundress. Something I would buy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×