Gold On The Rocks Dress

$46 to buy
$258 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off those gorgeous legs in this Trina Turk gold shimmer dress! Add House of Harlow 1960’s Textured Cut Out Cuff to complete this sassy look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold lace (50% Nylon,48% Polyester, 2% Spandex). Three quarter length sleeves. V-neckline. Straight skirt with blouson. 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share
466 reviews
Fit
Large77
True to Size304
Small58
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 10, 2014
So short!
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was much shorter than I expected, and the top was really big. I wear a 34G, and don't think I've ever found a dress that was too big in the bust before. It kind of seemed like it had just been worn a lot and was stretched out, but it could just be the cut of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2014
Great dress, lots of compliments! Wanted something cute with sleeves for NYE!
Very comfortable and flattering. Ran a little big in the mid-section but I think a 2 would have been a bit short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
January 8, 2014
Too short!
This was a beautiful dress and extremely comfortable but too short for my taste. Thankfully I had another dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2014
Perfect for my work party and New Year's!
I loved this dress so much I rented it twice. It was very flattering and hid all the right places. The only problem is that it was VERY short and I am only 5'2". I ended up having to wear leggings. Since it is so cold, it wasn't a big deal, but something to consider.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 174lbs
January 6, 2014
Comfort and style made for a great NYE
I rented this dress for NYE. It was for a 20's party, but I wanted a modern dress and 20's accessories. This dress worked great for that. The fit of this dress was just as described. If anything, it's slightly short (I'm a short girl and it was pretty short on me), but with tights it worked out perfectly. I'm a bigger gal but I liked how it made me look and it was incredibly comfortable. You should rent this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 6, 2014
Short
As all the other reviews have said, this dress is very short. Because I have shorter legs, I thought I might be an exception. I was disappointed to have not been able to wear this. With tights, the dress was a little better but I am also uncomfortable with a low neckline. Over all a very pretty dress. It's young and fun. As always, an amazing experience with RTR, as they go above and beyond to ensure 100% customer satisfaction.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2014
Fun, comfortable, sexy, but very short.
I loved this dress. It was exactly what I expected (thanks to other customer reviews). It was the shortest dress I've ever worn, thus the black stockings and the inability to raise my arms above my head. I wore this to a NYE party and then changed before we went dancing. There was no way I could get my groove on in this thing, but it looked good. I also appreciated that I could wear this with a regular bra, very comfortably. No need for any machinery in that respect, so that was nice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 4, 2014
This dress is comfortable, but fancy! I wore it for a New Year's Eve party and felt great!
The dress runs a little short, but it doesn't ride up so I wasn't afraid that my bottom was going to show. The top fit well and was not tight. Overall this is a fun dress that you can wear out to a party or dress it up and wear it somewhere fancy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2014
Loved the detail!
I loved the gold lace detail of this dress. It was very pretty. The dress runs true to size but I little tight in the hips and big on top (I have a big booty haha). The dress is also a little short but nothing a pair of tights cant fix. Overall I loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
New Year's Eve party rental
Very short, but because I'm a shorter person, it wasn't as huge a problem as it could have been. Wore it with tights for freezing NYE party night, so being a short dress was also not an issue. Great combination of gold and black, not overly blingy, but just enough for a fancy night out. Problems were only that it was a little itchy and tight in the arms, and any jewelry very easily gets caught in the fabric. Would have loved to have had a skinny black belt to wear with this instead of just the elastic waist, but it still looked fine without.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 2, 2014
Super comfortable, classic dress!
The dress was true to size and I did read the reviews regarding how short it was. I'm tall, but I figured I could get away with it but it was way too short so I had to pair the dress with leggings, as it was way too short to wear without. The cinching at the waist wasn't hitting me in the right spot, as my torso is long. I did play with it a lot during the evening but it was worth it as it was a gorgeous dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2014
Beautiful...but WAAAAAY too short
I rented this dress for my company Christmas party in Montreal. I couldn't wear it because the length was way too short. Even with stockings it would have been too much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2013
Super cute, caught everyone's eye.
LOVE this dress. It's super flattering and comfortable and the sleeves are really cute. On taller girls, it might seem way too short but since I'm 5'2", it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2013
Very short
I ordered a zero and a 2, which were both Iinappropriately short. If you are short, this may be fine, however if you are over 5'6, this may be too short for you.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2013
Great comfortable dress. Wore to a fun holiday dinner with friends.
Dress was very comfortable, elastic waist. pretty lace sleeves and v neckline. Short even on me at 5'2"...but wore with black tights and shoes and it looked good and festive
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 21, 2013
Girls at my boyfriend's company holiday/casino party called me "so hot" and "sexy mama."
I rented the 2 and 4 and went with the 4 because the length was a little more appropriate. I wanted a sleeved dress and wore it with black tights and heels since winter in Chicago is cold. Now about this getup: the fit was perfect and was very forgiving to the waist area and the bust did not reveal too much cleavage (not that I even have much cleavage). The color was great, too, not too much or too little of the gold and fit with the "casino" theme of the party. I did have to push the sleeves up every now and then, but it wasn't annoying by any means. RTR also hooked up the mystery bling, which were Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation earrings, and I LOVED those, too! The after-party was at a nightclub and this dress was perfect for dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2013
Back-up Dress
I ordered this as a back-up dress for a wedding. It wasn't quite the vibe I was going for..it was kind of more "party" than "fancy wedding." I would to have loved to wear this for a fun dinner / night out with black tights in the winter. Ran true to size and is on the shorter side. Looks much darker in real life than it does on the RTR model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2013
wearing a beautiful dress that was new to me
Some other reviews said it ran big but i wore the size i normally wear. no major problems, really loved the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2013
I want to buy it!
I wore this dress at a rehearsal dinner. It worked well with black tights. I read that it was short and it was, but with the tights it worked well. The fit on top is comfortable and loose. The lace is actually see through on the arms, which didn’t show well in the picture. The dress fit well and was fun to accessorize too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2013
Super cute, Super Short!
I'm bigger on top than on bottom, with broad shoulders. This dress fit great, but was so short! I would have been happier with a larger size just so it was a bit longer. However, I wore it to a NYE wedding last year and got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2013
It is such a daring, but acceptable form to dress for a formal occasion.
The dress is shot. the waistband can hug oddly. Overall, the dress was a great fit and looks amazing! I received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2013
Darker than I thought- not as gold or sparkly as I thought
Fit true to size. Nothing super impressive. Nice but not a wowza.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2013
This dress was great - so comfy and easy to wear but also sparkly enough for a more formal event!
I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 but I heard this dress ran big so I ordered the 4 and the 6. The 6 fit great and was a teeny bit loose but when I tried the 4 it was just a little too short. The 3/4 sleeves plus a pair of black tights made it the perfect dress for a winter party. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely rent from Rent The Runway again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2013
I'm short - this dress was really short! Thankfully I was able to wear black tights with it.
Thankfully I was able to wear black tights with this dress. I rented it for a work holiday part. No way I would have felt comfortable wearing it without tights....and I'm only 5'3. The overall fit was a little funny for me. Maybe because I'm somewhat petite, but that being said, for someone who's not I think this dress would definitely run small as well as being short. Just be sure to order up a size for your back up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2013
I wore this dress for my birthday party in Hoboken. Perfect party dress.
I loved the dress, it was perfect to bring in my birthday fun! However, the dress was a little short and I am short to begin with. I constantly had to pull it down. I wore black tights with the dress and black booties, it made me a lot more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2013
I did not get to wear this dress. Ordered a 6. Should have ordered an 8.
If you are bigger on bottom I suggest going up a size. The top fit fine, it was too tight in the hips and butt to be worn to a nice formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2013
Glam, comfortable, but SHORT
Pro: gold shimmer, comfortable fabric, great neckline plunge for cleavage, sleeves Con: fabric felt a bit old fashioned, and holy cow this dress was short So I preface that I am 5'9' and expected this dress to be a bit on the short side but not quite to this level. If you pout this on any of my friends who are 5'2" I'm sure the length would be great. Put on some tights and ended up making it work. Thought about adding a belt but it just didn't look quite right. Also color was great for winter events, but the fabric did remind me a bit of my grandmothers lace. Could just be a personal inference but that definitely clouded my perspective. Used it for a 2nd night holiday party and was grateful for the comfortable fabric because I was still hurting from the festivities the night before
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2013
Perfect winter dress for the holidays that can be dressed up or down!
Rented this for my birthday party at a cocktail lounge. Very comfortable, would be great for a holiday party or a work party because it's chic and not too scandalous. Also can be worn for a night out especially if you are feeling self-conscious about your arm fat. Subtle gold glitter/lace pattern added something special for this dress. Recommend wearing with tights to solve the issue others have mentioned about it being short. Overall, perfect choice for my occasion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
December 2, 2013
Great but very very short
TOO short to wear even with black tights. If i was 5'4 maybe but i wanted to wear it to a family event would wear for something else though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 2, 2013
Perfect for a Winter Party
The dress hit a few inches above my knees - perfect size for petite girls. I wore it with black tights and booties for a winter engagement party. Perfect dress for the occasion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2013
Awesome!
Perfect length for my petite body...overall a great fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2013
I was told I always have the best dresses...thanks RTR!
This is a great dress for the holidays and the fall/winter season! It's comfortable and is great for showing off your legs. If you are tall, beware, because it might be a bit short on you. I wore it to my sorority semi-formal and got many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2013
The presentation of the dresses when I got it in the mail was so glamorous! Love it!
This dress was amazing, just a little short for my tall frame! Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
Wore it the night before my wedding reception.
Fits very comfortably. The material is a bit itchy because of the rough glittery stitching but other than that, it's a great fit and dress in general.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
This dress was great! Perfect for a black-tie optional affair. Very flattering.
I usually wear between a 2-4 and opted for the 4 for this dress (because it was a little longer, I'm 5'8"). It's very comfortable, elastic waist, no difficult zippers.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress for many occasions.
This was my back up dress but was way better than my original. It fits true to size and is good on a petite frame. It is, as others noted, very short- even on me at 5 feet tall. It is a lose fit on top and then fitted from the waist down. I added a thin black belt but would have been great with a belt with some gold .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2013
Loved this dress.
I wanted a 10 and 12, but there were no 12's available. I think I could have used the 8--the top runs big, and I am "chesty" ;) Wore it to a party and dressed it down with opaque black tights and platform gladiators. It was GREAT!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 14, 2013
Super short, but very comfortable and cute.
I am 5'11" so this dress was very, very short, but with black hose and flat knee high boots I felt comfortable in it. I wore it for my bachelorette party and it was very festive and fun for dancing and having fun. I would NOT have felt comfortable wearing this to a wedding...too short. I think the dress (for a tall girl) is best for a festive party, new years eve, bachelorette, etc. The fit is flattering (gives you a nice waist which makes your legs look long), and is easy to eat and drink in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163lbs
November 13, 2013
Couldn't wear it :(
I had ordered this in my true size (12) and one size up (14) due to the previous reviews that said that the dress was so short. I decided that IF it was in fact too short to wear, even with tights, I would go one size up to get some additional length. Unfortunately, RTR emailed me the night before to let me know that they didn't have my back up size. The customer service people I spoke to the next morning were all nice & apologetic, and did give me the option to have another dress over-nighted after I received my delivery and tried it, but I could not get a chance to try it on and request another dress in time due to a hectic work schedule that day. The dress sent to me (12) was a perfect fit everywhere except the fact that it was so short, it was almost indecent! I just did not feel comfortable wearing it and had to go with something older I owned. Too bad, but I will try to RTR again during another event and hope that the next time around is a better option. The mystery accessory I received were the Kenneth Jay Lane "Jet Black Drop" earrings. They were nice, but I wish they had a gold metal backing/claws instead of silver to better match the gold lace on the dress. Didn't get to wear them, either, though since I went with one of my own dresses & jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2013
WAY TOO SHORT!!!
I would not rent this dress, its very very short, even for going to a club in Las Vegas!!! I did not end up wearing this. :(
See more reviews:
5 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×