Runway Purple Bandit Gown

$100 rental
$415 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt purple gown at the black tie affair by Theory. An edgy but sexy choice for the event. Go with similar color toned accessories like the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings, Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Gold Links Cuff, and kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - room at bust but a NuBra is recommended due to the exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full length skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - One length available. Measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to the exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch except for the black banding
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - room at bust but a NuBra is recommended due to the exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full length skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - One length available. Measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to the exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch except for the black banding
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Purple crepe. Ruched scoop neckline. Low back with black cross straps. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(49)
Small
(0)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
beautiful dress!
I got this dress for my senior Prom, and though I didn't end up wearing it, I loved it. I didn't wear it because the waist line hit just above my natural waist, so it was slightly uncomfortable (that is something that really bothers me, for some reason), but I wish that I could have worn it. The color and cut is so beautiful and flattering. Sexy, but not too sexy.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 28, 2013
loved the simplicity of the dress and it was very comfortable for a long night
I am 5'10" and the long dress was almost too short. everything else fit great
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2013
It came on time, fit!
Fit perfectly, super light, and I wore it to prom, everyone loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
September 26, 2013
Beautiful color, fabric not my favorite.
The pros - the dress is a very pretty color, is lightweight and overall very comfortable. Another pro - although ANY liquid will show, it doesn't stain. Someone spilled a drink down my back, it dried quickly and you couldn't tell at all. The cons - the fabric is not forgiving, at all. Panty lines will show so wear the right ones! Also, because the fabric is on the thinner side, I bought a sticky boob strapless bra - which was pricey but necessary for my chest to look good under the dress. The back didn't go down as deeply as I had hoped either.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 8, 2013
Flowing and fun! This dress felt young and fresh, but also elegant.
I am 5'3 and 118 lbs. I thought the 0R fit perfectly. The dress is very forgiving if you are larger on the bottom. The back is not as low cut as I thought it would be. I wore a Nubra because the dress is not lined, so without some coverage it would be inappropriate. Overall, the dress was comfortable and I could easily dance all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 22, 2013
it was gorgeous!!
fit so well, so flowy and comfortable but not see thru, i could wear nipple cups with it. the exposed back was gorgeous and i loved that the gown was adjustable so you can slightly change how low the neck line is and the drop in the back. wish i owned it!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2013
Disappointing :(
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding in June. When I pulled it out of the bag I was surprised by how wrinkled and thin the material was. It wasnt as bad once I had the dress on, but it was too big and way too long. Although the dress was cute it just didnt work for my event. I ended up wearing my back-up dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2013
Everyone was wearing short dresses, and I stood out.
This dress is beautiful. I wore it to a summer/fall wedding in Breckenridge. It's light and airy, and made well. The back was my favorite part. You can't wear a bra with it so if you're larger chested it may not be the right dress for you. The waist band gives you a figure. As a whole this dress was extremely comfortable and flattering. I'd recommend it to anyone with my same body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Loved this Theory dress. Great color, great fit. Only issue is that it wrinkles very easily. Just sitting in it will wrinkle it. Looked a little less polished than I would have liked, but it was still very chic, modern and comfortable. Beautiful cut in the back. Not for busty girls at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 6, 2013
Very fun dress!
The color of this dress is beautiful! The material is pretty thin and almost sheer but not in a bad way. The dress was very flattering and didn't show any flaws. It's very static-y so make sure you buy a can of static guard. I bought a NuBra but almost wanted to go braless as you could see the sides of the NuBra tape...The dress was a little big on me. Overall, the dress was a lot of fun.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2013
effortless, comfortable and elegant.
Great dress, incredibly comfortable and the color is beautiful. Very long, I'm 5'4" and with 4 inch heels I still had to pick it up to walk and dance. I wore the smaller size 2R since it was a bit shorter than the 4. The elastic waistband is adjustable which helped with managing the length.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
GORGEOUS COLOR!
It is a beautiful dress, but the fabric is very thin! and the dress was a little worn out. Besides that it is a beautiful dress and gorgeous color. Also if you are tall i recommend a size bigger since it does run a little short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a bit casual for a black tie event
I really loved the color and fabric of this dress. It was incredibly comfortable and lightweight. And the fit was great - because of the flowy design and elastic band in the middle, I think it would look good on a lot of girls. I rented this as my backup for a NYE formal event. My other dress seemed much dressier in comparison, so I didn't end up wearing this one. I would definitely consider it again for a party or wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 109lbs
December 29, 2012
The open crisscross back really makes you feel super sexy without revealing too much skin. Beautiful
I wore this dress to a November wedding. Between the Petite and the Small sizes, I ended up wearing the Small. It fits beautifully, not tight, but not loose enough to add pounds either. Its an empire waist and is really flattering on lots of body types. The crisscross design on the back is a stretchy elastic material and really makes the dress. The only complaint I have is the material is quite thin and you might want to wear a slip. Its also very very static-y. The more you walk the worse it gets. I bought a cheap can of static eliminator from Target and it solved the problem. All in all I received lots of compliments and felt beautiful in this dress. I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2012
I wound up going with my 2nd choice but I loved this dress and would rent again!
I didn't wind up wearing this and wore my 2nd choice instead so I didn't have to worry about bra issues. But I do love this dress and the open back is very sexy! I would definitely rent again to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2012
I loved this dress - it's simple yet elegant.
The color is regal and the back of the dress is stunning. At 5'2" the regular length was still a little on the long side, but I was able to pull it off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
Great to be worn casual or form. Perfect for an outdoor fall wedding.
This dress ran true to size, but I would say it's rather long. I was thanful I had brought very high sandals to wear with the dress. Gorgeous color and material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2012
I avoided maternity dresses at all costs...
I wore this dress 8 months pregnant and it was perfection...so comfortable, empire fit for my belly and very flattering. I highly recommend even if you're not pregnant, the back is open and the color is beautiful and rich. Fits true to size! I wore 4R with flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 21, 2012
Great dress for a black tie event.
I wore 3 1/2 inch heals and it hit right at the floor. The dress is very thin so beware. I wore a sticky bra and tights underneath since it was November and got a ton of complements. Overall, happy with the purchase.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
November 20, 2012
Will make you feel flawless.
I recently rented this for a formal affair that required to wear floor length gowns. The dress was perfect but had the least amount of flaws. The color is definitely a cobalt/purple. It depends on the light change but is still tricky and will still change from purple to blue.The fabric is really thin and wrinkles easily so be careful and make sure to wear something if you're going braless! Back to it being perfect, the back showed just the right amount of skin and the fit was spot on. This is a MUST wear dress; you will feel perfect.
AlenaApril 5, 2013
We have pretty much the same measurements and i was wondering if the length was okay for you? Did it drag at all? How high were the shoes that you wore as well?
MonicaApril 12, 2013
I wore 2" heels because i was going to be walking all night and the length was still completely okay but i still managed to pick up the dress as i walked because of the fear of accidently ripping the dress due to it being really thin!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress. I am 5'9 so I was worried it was going to be too short, but it was the perfect length! Only issue was that it was a little wrinkled when I received it, but I just hung it up in my bathroom while I ran hot water from my shower to steam it out and it worked perfectly! Definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2012
Extremely comfortable dress! Loved it and got so many compliments!
Fits true to size. Wear a NuBra because the back is so low. DO NOT WORRY about the dress being so sheer when you first get it and look at it in person. When it is on the skin it is fine! Wear spanks too! You will love this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2012
Stunning color!!
I rented this dress as a back up for prom and did not end up needing it. The material is fairly thin and light, but the opened back is to die for!
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Backless and Perfect!
At first, I was nervous about having the petite size and not the small, so I had a medium sent as well, just to be safe. I was pleasantly surprised that the petite fit perfectly. No awkward bumps or anything! My boobs are a little on the bigger size so the front material did keep rising throughout the night, but being mindful of that anyway isn't a bad thing. I'm about 5'5" and the length didn't run the floor any with my shoes! Super comfortable, easy to move around in. I really don't have any complaints about the dress, I loved i!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
Effortless, comfortable and eye-catching color
You definitely need to buy a backless, strapless bra (nu-bra worked perfectly). I absolutely loved the color and the length was perfect with heels. The one con was that it wrinkled pretty easily, so try and put it on at the last second before you go to your event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2012
Not what I expected..
The material of this dress was extremely thin and unflattering. I didn't end up wearing this dress because it fell oddly on my body--as there was minimal structure with the thin fabric.
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Loved wearing this color!
Loved the dress! I would have liked to see it a size up because I think it's supposed to be a little baggy on the top but it looked good tight as well. I felt comfortable in it and got tons of compliments, everyone loved the purple!
LinaFebruary 18, 2013
What bra did you wear with it?
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Hi Lina! You will want to wear a NuBra with this dress, since the back is very open!
HollyMarch 15, 2013
did you wear heels with this dress? if so, was the length appropriate?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 2, 2012
The dress was the perfect amount of classy and cool, and the back was to die for.
The fit was great, I had a Small and Medium sent to me, but honestly I liked having the extra breathing room. Unfortunately it was a little chillier than expected that evening, so a jacket was necessary. I would've taken better pictures but the party was my birthday party inside an upscale sushi lounge in Washington D.C. (Terrible Lighting!)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
Comfort and a barrage of compliments- the perfect combination!
Out of the garment bag this dress (my backup for a black-tie gala) looked see-through and I was concerned. It just needed a good steam and when I put it on I knew this was the dress I would wear. The elastic straps and waistband made it so comfortable, and the neckline was really flattering! I got so many compliments about the color (its a vivid royal purple) and the back was a hit with everyone too. Would recommend to anyone!
ZoeDecember 20, 2012
hello, I was just wondering--what did you use for a bra?
AndreaDecember 24, 2012
Zoe, I wore a NuBra, works miracles :)
meghanFebruary 17, 2013
I love your friends dress as well! Do you know where she got it?
AndreaFebruary 19, 2013
Meghan, it's the Sweet Tooth Gown by BCBG
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 30, 2012
Very flowy and comfortable. Overall fit is great but was a little bit long. Color was beautiful!
Because it's a lighter material, there were some parts of the dress (espeically at the bottoms) where it looked a bit worn and used. Since it was for an evening formal affair, you couldn't tell too much because it was lower lighting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2012
great dress for a wedding
Very cool dress, different from everyone else's. Had to wear a sticky bra, and the material was very thin. Chunky necklace completed the look and it was a hit!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 18, 2012
Someone told me that I looked like a Greek Goddess in it, so how could you not rent this one!?
I got the small and the medium in this and the small was the best fit for me because I am small busted and the medium was a little long and the straps were loose in the back. I wore 3.5 inch heels and it was perfect. It was super comfortable and I did not stop receiving compliments all night. I wore it to a formal work event and everyone just kept telling me how pretty and flattering it was. The straps are stretchy material and so it probably wouldn't cut into your shoulders or back if you're worried about that. It is rather revealing in the back, but it didn't make me feel uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2012
Great dress
Super flowy and flattering. A little less formal in person than in the picture, but a gorgeous dress.
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
September 27, 2012
I LOVED this dress!!!!!!
I could not have been happier with this dress. I was so nervous and it was perfect. The reviews i read helped so much! I have a smaller bust and a bigger butt, and this dress was so flattering. I loved it. I wore those stick on bra cups, worked perfect, and like a 4inch heel..perfect. Loved it, just wish i owned it!!
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2012
I rented this dress for a beach wedding and absoutely loved it!
I recieved many compliments on it throughout the evening. The fit was true to size. I would definitely use Rent the Runway again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Not the best photo, but a pretty pretty flowy dress (sorry about the messy room :-p)
I enjoyed this dress - very grecian goddess meets modern day. I am really short so I had to wear my highest heels in order to not trip on this - but I ended up wearing the two I believe because the four was just a tad billowy. I am/was (at the time of the party) a 2-4, 5"3, about 120 (small chest, large butt/thighs).
ArrudaJanuary 3, 2013
Im looking to rent this dress and im very concerned bc i have same body type of a small upper body and larger butt and thighs although im a few sizes bigger, is there a lot of room in the hips? im worried the bottom will be too fitted and be unflattering on me, thanks for any input!
RTR CustomerJanuary 8, 2013
Hi Arruda--This is actually a great style for someone that doesn't want a dress too fitted int he hips/thighs! We highly recommend this option. Please feel free to call us at 1-800-509-0842 with more questions!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2012
Beautiful!
I rented the SR & MR just in case. I wore the SR which is my size, I would say True to size. The dress was so comfortable, no bra, it was perfect. Overall I am so pleased. Thank you rent the runway!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
It's fun to wear a new dress to a party!
I wasn't too thrilled with this dress. There's no lining (it's really thin) and I found the fit to be awkward. I usually wear smalls or mediums, so I ordered both, but the medium was really big, so I went with the small. The regular length fit me fine - I'm 5'5" and wore high (3 in+) heels, and didn't have a problem. The color is pretty - it's more of a blueish purple than a true purple.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 7, 2012
Getting to wear the dress with no bra (;
I wore this dress to our military ball and it was phenomenal. I felt beautiful all night but I was still able to move around comfortably. Felt like I was wearing pajamas! It flows with your body quite nicely. I highly recommend it for girls that aren't big into super fancy dresses. The color is fantastic and the cut is simple, yet sexy (especially the back!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2012
beautiful dress.
this dress is exactly as pictured, which i love! i think it's def more blue than purple but in a good way. the petite regular is long enough for me and fits really well. this is truly a great dress!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×