You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Mad Crushing On You Dress
Rental $40 Retail $285
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch and Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Decadent Deco Necklace.
Chat with a Stylist
Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos40

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5323
Apr 7, 2014
Perfect dress for any occasion!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit is slim in the waist but the 8 fit perfectly. It was conservative enough to wear to my interview but stylish enough that it wasn't at all boring!! Loved this dress so much.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8634
Feb 24, 2014
I loved the color. Can be dressed "up" or "down"
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is flattering and the color is great. I think the arm holes were too big for my bust size. A jacket would make it perfect.
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7444
Dec 18, 2013
Perfect for engagement pictures in Central Park!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was absolutely perfect for my engagement pictures in Central Park. It fits like a glove, it is slimming but not too tight and the material is structured enough that it doesn't cling. The color is a gorgeous deep red. I'm so glad I went with this dress!
Anjoli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Dec 1, 2013
Really comfortable fabric for any occasion
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented two sizes of this dress: the 0 and the 2. The size 0 fit better than the size 2, but I wore the 2 because it was for Thanksgiving dinner. There isn't stretch in the dress, so the fit through the waist is important to get correct. If I rented this dress again, I would probably go with the 2 instead of the 0. Even though the 2 hung a little looser, it didn't look "too big."
Lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7334
Oct 31, 2013
I got plenty of compliments while wearing this dress!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I don't normally wear red, especially not a red dress! But this dress fit perfectly, even with my over-sized chest! There was enough room for my bigger chest but didn't make my midsection look big, in fact it made me look slimmer! If you don't like dresses that are short in length, this dress is perfect for you!
Channing
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7424
Oct 15, 2013
LOVED this dress. Perfect for a cocktail party!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Overall fit was good (literally skims the body as it should) but it's definitely a little tight in the bust so I went up a size after reading the reviews on it. Lots of compliments and perfect for a big necklace.
Alana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Jun 22, 2013
Perfect for a Christmas Tea!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress runs true to size. I tried the size 4 and the size 6. Both fit well, but I thought the size 4 was a bit short for my age and for the event. I wore it to a Christmas Tea. The color was perfect. The fabric of the dress has a little give and was very comfortable.
Caro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
May 29, 2013
Classic with a modern edge.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my engagement photo session. The fabric hangs very nicely and adds a bit of shape to my narrow frame. The color photographs beautifully, and I felt incredibly comfortable running around for photos in it.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Apr 26, 2013
fit beautifully and my husband LOVED it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was uber flattering! The fit and flare shape hid all my trouble spots so that I felt comfortable and could enjoy a huge Valentine's Day dinner with my hubs! The only thing I wasn't super stoked about was the feel of the fabric, but aesthetically it was pretty pleasing.
landmmom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Mar 15, 2013
Great comfortable dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress was very comfy and fun! It looked great without a belt, but I added one to cinch in the waist a little. I did wear my back up smaller size!
Katlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 4, 2013
Great dress! Great for dancing!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great.
TXHolly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8624
Feb 25, 2013
Lovely Dress!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a rich, wine-colored dress, very simple and very elegant. Emphasis on the simple, so the reviewers noting you should bling it up are right. I wore it to an engagement party (there I am, pictured with the Bride-to-be, who also wore a RTR dress), where I was serving as co-host. I spent most of the night with an apron over this, so I didn't mind the plainness of the dress. Otheres will want dressier earrings or jewelry to liven it up. The color is stunning and I liked the cut. It's quite fitted at the top, though and I found it to be somewhat small around the lower bust and mid-section. The overall fit is beautiful, though and, being short, I liked the length quite a lot. This is a great after-work drinks or date dress, it's easy and comfortable to wear. I didn't wear SPANX or anything underneath because the midsection was so fitted and fabric so thin you'd see the outline of the waistband. But, no matter. I think the fit is pretty flattering all the same and covers a multitude of sins for us pear shapes. I did find the sizing slightly small, however. I usually wear between a 10-12 and lately I've been wearing more 10s. The 10 I rented was almost too tight, and the 12 I wore still didn't give me as much give as I'd normally like. But the effect was great and it wore like a dream all night.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Feb 18, 2013
Perfect for a Luncheon!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress at a Bridesmaid Luncheon. It was a cold day so I paired it with a cardi and black tights. It was a little tight, but not to tight. It hugged the body in all the right areas. It was has a great twirl!
Chanel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 2, 2013
Classic holiday dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Size-wise this fit pretty perfect. I'm usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 worked well. I wish it was an inch or two shorter because I felt a bit too covered with the high neck and back. The dress definitely needs a big necklace to dress it up because it is kind of plain. The necklace I wore wasn't chunky enough to stand out. I used to be a figure skater, and this kind of felt like a skating dress to me, haha! The fabric looked nicer in the picture, it felt kind of cheap. Also, the red on the model was darker in person.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Jan 1, 2013
Great color, and very tasteful fit!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually an 8 in dresses so ordered both an 8 and a 10 because i read other reviews in which the dress was described as being a little tight in the bust for larger cup sizes. I ended up wearing the 10, just because I found this to be true- the 8 fit, but was just a little too tight so the 10 worked perfectly. I am on the taller side, and the dress did fall just above my knee...I feel like if you are shorter it will end up being way longer. Overall, I was very happy with the dress, it was perfect for the wedding I attended!
melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 22, 2012
Perfect dress for my company holiday party!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very fitted in the top, especially through the bust and tummy and then opens at the waist. I am typically a 4 and the dress was very true to size. The material and fit was so comfortable, I couldn't have asked for a better fit. Great dress to dance in, I highly recommend. Thanks RTR!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Nov 29, 2012
Perfect for Falll/Thanksgiving paired with a statement necklace!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was comfortable and easy to wear. Unlike some of the other reviews, I didn't find it to be too long (I'm 5'5). I paired it with thicker black tights, black ankle boot heels, and a Badgley Mischka Statement Necklace. The necklace added the perfect touch to dress it up a bit. Received multiple compliments and overall was very pleased.
Leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Dec 10, 2012
Got so many compliments on the color. Such a lovely deep crimson red, perfect for the Holidays!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really well, not to snug in the bust which can often be a challenge. The material is a bit thinner than it looks in the picture but still hangs nicely on the body and doesn't cling. I definitely recommend this look!
vicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Dec 9, 2012
Great experience with RTR! Lots of compliments on the dress! Would rent again!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress originally for my family Christmas party and photo, but also was able to wear it to my work party. I loved the cut and feel of the dress. It hit me right at the knees. The size six was a tad tight, but the eight fit perfectly. I enjoyed this experience and would definitely do it again.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Nov 30, 2012
Perfect dress for my sorority semi formal!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit, good coverage for swing dancing (dresses in the past have twirled a little too high). Received a lot of compliments on the color, too. Very pleased with this dress!
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5443
Nov 12, 2012
Sassy Lady in Red Moment for Boyfriend's Family Wedding
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The RTR team was SUPER amazing. With the threat of hurricane sandy, this dress came to me in the nick of time. I'm normally a 6 in everyday clothing so I chose to go 6 & 8 based on past reviews. I thought the 6 was a little big, would have gone 4 & 6 instead. There's definitely give to the dress but its super tailored and comfortable to wear (seriously...like butter). Great outfit for my second impression with the BF's family. THANKS RTR!!! cant wait to rent again.
Kerry
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6343
Nov 11, 2012
I felt like a movie star in the dress. It really makes you stand out.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am so glad I decided to go with Rent The Runway for the party I went to. I agree with what many of the other girls said about the dress, it does fit tight across the chest which made me have to go a size up. But overall the dress fit amazing and I loved the flare out on the bottom.
Mara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3233
Nov 4, 2012
Fantastic experience, will do again! Tons of compliments!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely LOVED this dress for my homecoming, I was the classiest girl at my homecoming dance!(most other girls wore short body-con dresses). The fabric is wonderful on the dress and it is great for dancing. My only issue was with the bust. My bra size recently went up and so I had to go with the 4 instead of the 2 to accommodate, even though the 2 fit better at the midsection and lengthwise. In some pictures my bra was showing because the material comes in farther forward at the armpits, so be aware of that. Besides that, I got tons of compliments and can't wait to rent from here for prom :)
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Oct 29, 2012
Mad about this dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is adorable. Super easy fit - maybe a little bit more fitted in the bust so I'd size up if you're a D+. I paired this with a leather jacket and taupe booties for a night out. A little bit on the longer side and not super short but still a killer dress.
Emily M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6444
Oct 23, 2012
Wanted to keep it!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super comfortable but it was pretty tight in the bust. I'm usually a 6/8 but the size 8 fit a lot better in the chest area as the fabric doesn't have any stretch. It I wore it with a statement necklace and a pair of booties - perfect for a fall night!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Oct 22, 2012
Gorgeous color for a fall wedding
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a fall wedding where I was meeting my boyfriend's family for the first time. I wanted to look appropriate so I chose a dress that I felt covered me up enough. Although the dress worked, the fit on top was awkward. It was a little tight in the bust but had extra material in the arm and neck holes that made it gap. Also, the dress was much longer than I expected. These were my minor complaints. Other than that, it was comfortable and the color was perfection.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3432
Oct 15, 2012
Feeling great next to Jennifer Garner and Alicia Silverstone - can't beat it!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE this dress. It is so comfortable and fit like it was made for me. It runs very true to size and is a super easy fit. The pleats at the bottom are fun and give the dress some movement. Gorgeous burgundy color makes it season-less and perfect for any event.
nats
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2523
Oct 8, 2012
So comfortable!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I apologize for the photo; this was the only one taken. At least you can see what the top part looks like. The dress was very comfortable to wear out; the material was awesome. On me, the dress was just above my knees. And, I loved how it just flowed---didn't need to worry about it being too tight or too short. It was just easy. I thought it was a great dress for a night out with the hubby.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5324
Oct 2, 2012
The perfect fit and the perfect shade of red made this dress unforgettable.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was incredibly flattering and photographed great! I sized up because it was too tight through my chest, but the overall fit was true to size, on both sizes. The larger one was noticeably longer. It's not stretchy per se, but does have some give so it's not too stiff, making it very comfortable for a long day of Boulevarding. And the fabric is much smoother and lighter than I had expected. I was extremely impressed with this dress and would rent again. I received compliments all day long despite the pouring rain outside!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Oct 1, 2012
Versatile dress in a great color (but best for taller girls)
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: The color is great, the material has a nice weight to it, and the dress can easily be dressed up or down. Cons: Length is long (the dress hit the top of my knees and the pleating didn't start until right below my hips - I think it would look best on someone who is 5'4+). I also wish the skirt was a little fuller (although steaming the pleats help a little - not done in picture).
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 1, 2012
Super Comfortable and Chic!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great! It is the perfect day to night dress because you can wear it to work with some cute flats and a jacket and then throw on a pair of heels and wear it out! This dress does run true to size; however I would size down for backup, because I wore the 2 comfortably. It hit about -1-2 inches above my knee!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
Apr 15, 2014
Not made for girls with big busts!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked amazing... but it did not fit. It wouldn't zipper up my back. My boobs were too squished! Great color though!
Monique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Mar 31, 2014
Perfect fit and hugged in the best places. It truly fits to size.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It gets a bit wrinkly throughout the night.
LStreck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Mar 17, 2014
Fabric too thin.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back-up dress. The fabric was too thin and the waist sat in a weird place on my 5'3" frame.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6324
Feb 23, 2014
Not A Good Fit
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I had hoped to wear this dress for NYE, and unfortunately neither the 6 nor the 8 fit. I would not recommend this style for busty girls. If the dress had fit it would have been beautiful, especially paired with an adorable belt.
robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Feb 21, 2014
Wonderful dark red dress that stands out in a sea of black.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color of this dress although it was darker than in the pictures. It's definitely a "blue" red which worked wonderfully with my skin tone. Definitely needed a high-waisted shapers. It is very fitted through the torso and shows every bump. Work with nude patterned hose and nude shoes. Very classy.
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jan 17, 2014
Loved this dress.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It ran a little large on me, but not so large that it didn't work. Was perfect for a Christmas party!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6421
Jan 15, 2014
Not incredibly flattering
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress as my backup and was very happy my original choice fit. While it looks like it would be flattering on the site, it's very tight around the stomach area and if your stomach isn't flat you would definitely need shapewear to wear it. However, the color is beautiful and the dress would look great with a big statement necklace.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6431
Dec 30, 2013
Perfect little Dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner! Got tons of compliments felt really pretty. Very slimming!
Kim
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8624
Dec 30, 2013
Cute dress for curvy girls!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really fun and flattering dress. I did have to wear a sweater because the arm openings were a bit big and my bra was visible. But a little black sweater and black boots made a cute outfit for our holiday party!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress