Theory

Mad Crushing On You Dress

$52 to buy
$285 retail
Stylist Notes

Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
145 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(98)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 9, 2014
Dress was too long and loose to wear.
Had to order a different dress. It was too long and fit way too loose on my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 24, 2014
Perfect holiday dress!
I loved the "twirl" of this dress from the pleated details! I couldnt wear a bra, just a cami underneath so if youre large chested you may want to size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2014
Lightweight figure flattering dress
Tight in the chest and a bit longer than I'd hopes but comfortable and figure flattering. Runs small so size up especially if you are larger in the chest area. I added a belt but it was pretty without too
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 22, 2015
So flattering!
I would love to own this dress and will absolutely rent again at some point. The fit is so flattering, the material is lovely and the skirt is perfect for dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2015
Great dress for a bridal shower
Wore this to a friends Old Hollywood themed bridal party. The dress fit perfectly. Not too swingy, just right. It arrived a bit wrinkled. And it tended to get wrinkled every time you touched it. I'd rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 32D
October 12, 2015
Love the color
Great dress, awesome color. Necklace I originally picked was damaged, so RTR picked an alternate for me. I was nervous, but it ended up being perfect and better than what I picked. Great customer service and experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 16, 2015
Never arrived
I noticed at 8:30pm that my dress had not arrived. I went on to the RTR app and saw on the tracking that it wasn't going to arrive until Monday (Friday was the original date). I called and was informed that the dress got held up due to bad weather. While I realize RTR can't control the weather, I would have appreciated an email or phone call about the delay as I was stuck without a dress for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 18, 2015
Couldn't wear it - it was too small
Not great for bigger bust, the fabric was flimsier than I thought. I rented this to wear to a job interview but I couldn't even wear it. Disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 13, 2017
Great dress that was my replacement
I ended up being SUPER happy when I got this dress instead of what I ordered when I couldn't fit my boobs in the dress. Extremely flattering and so comfy to dance in
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2012
Too plain, too long for my event (homecoming)
It was too long for my height and too casual for homecoming but I loved the color and the skirt shape
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
You need a long torso
I am 5'3 and it the flare of the skirt just hit me in the wrong place making this very unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 29, 2012
A Gorgeous RED!
This was my first rental with RTR. The overall experience was exceptional. I was in need of a daytime lunch dress. It would have been a perfect choice. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit. I ordered the 6 & 8 after reading the reviews & consulting with a stylist. I needed the 4. It was very roomy in the torso/bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Classic holiday dress
Size-wise this fit pretty perfect. I'm usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 worked well. I wish it was an inch or two shorter because I felt a bit too covered with the high neck and back. The dress definitely needs a big necklace to dress it up because it is kind of plain. The necklace I wore wasn't chunky enough to stand out. I used to be a figure skater, and this kind of felt like a skating dress to me, haha! The fabric looked nicer in the picture, it felt kind of cheap. Also, the red on the model was darker in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
Runs very, very large!
I rented this for a work event thinking it would be cute and form-fitting yet classy and conservative. But even the 2 was WAY too big on me (I dont think a 0 would have worked either) and it simply looked frumpy. I ended up buying another dress for the evening and was very grateful that RTR has a WONDERFUL return policy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
March 2, 2013
Classic silhouette
The bust fit was large... annoyed that the vertical lines down the dress would shift and look awkward. I loved how the dress flowed as i walked. I would recommend this dress for someone with a large chest and a tiny waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 15, 2013
Great comfortable dress!
This dress was very comfy and fun! It looked great without a belt, but I added one to cinch in the waist a little. I did wear my back up smaller size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2013
The dress is way prettier on the model....
It was large and longer than I thought...not very slimming either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2013
Very classic, conservative dress
Thicker fabric than expected made for a more forgiving fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2013
Simple but nice
I normally wear a 4 or 2 and the size 2 was a little too big. Nice dress to wear with a big necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2013
Cute dress, but too big!
I ordered my usual size and a size up as other women suggested, and they were both too large in the mid-section. Made me look large. If I were to rent again I would definitely go for a smaller size as my backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Perfect little Dress!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner! Got tons of compliments felt really pretty. Very slimming!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2014
Loved this dress.
I loved this dress. It ran a little large on me, but not so large that it didn't work. Was perfect for a Christmas party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2014
Gorgeous color, runs big-ish
Originally ordered 0 and 2. 0 was unavailable so I wore the 2 because I love this dress. The 2 was a little too large and runs big in the chest and stomach so i'd size down and wear a padded bra if you are more flat chested. The skirt is the perfect length and is great for dancing. Fabric is opaque but thin so I'd say best for a summer wedding or formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2016
Elegant, runs large
I read reviews that said this dress ran small, so I ordered one size up from my usual (4) and I wish I hadn't. Overall, the dress was very sleek and flattering for a summer wedding. The skirt had great flair, especially while dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2012
A nice dress but not for formal events.
The dress is a matte fabric that falls pretty flat. Reminded me of the jumpers I would wear as a little girl - though cute. The seams that run vertically also contribute to a less-formal look. The red is a brick color, and not as bold as I would probably have preferred. Could be cute for a business casual event, casual dinner, or for work under a jacket, but would be tough to dress up for any fancier event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2015
Dress is really plain, needs jewelry to spice it up. The red is a bit dull. The fabric was soft. Ok
Runs a bit large, good hemline. Neckline is boring, wear with a chunky necklace to spice it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 10, 2015
Too long
It hit at an frumpy length so I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Great dress - but not flattering on me!
This is a beautiful dress, but in the bigger sizes for us curvier women, it's pretty tight around the middle - doesn't hide anything! I ended up not wearing it because it was too tight, but for girls with a smaller mid-section it would be a wonderful and flattering dress. Conservative but with flair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2012
So classy and flattering!
This dress is gorgeous!! I normally wear between a size 8 and a size 10. The 10 fit fine-- was a little snug but looked great... the dress definitely runs a little small so order up. It's not short so it was a perfect, classy dress. Highly, highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2012
Loved this dress. Gorgeous color and love the A-line!
This dress was very comfortable but is definitely snug in the midsection. It also is a little on the conservative side - so I would wear it if you were going to an event where you can't show much cleavage/leg, etc. I would definitely go up a size for back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 1, 2012
Dress has no stretch in it!
I usually wear an 8 in this type of dress (fitted in the bust and not fitted in the hips), so I rented an 8 and a 10. The 8 was a bit snug so I figured the 10 would fit. Nope - the 10 fit exactly like the 8! If there had been some stretch in the fabric, I wouldn't have had a problem wearing either size, but it was so uncomfortable! I did not wear the dress and shipped it back early. Disappointed.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
February 24, 2013
N/A
I loved the dress. I planned on wearing it for my birthday party. It was very pretty. Came in a nice bag. I just couldn't wear it. I tried both sizes, but unfortunately both were too small. Maybe next time I might have to go up another size or shop another brand. I do plan on renting from here again. The overall process was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 25, 2013
Lovely Dress!
This is a rich, wine-colored dress, very simple and very elegant. Emphasis on the simple, so the reviewers noting you should bling it up are right. I wore it to an engagement party (there I am, pictured with the Bride-to-be, who also wore a RTR dress), where I was serving as co-host. I spent most of the night with an apron over this, so I didn't mind the plainness of the dress. Otheres will want dressier earrings or jewelry to liven it up. The color is stunning and I liked the cut. It's quite fitted at the top, though and I found it to be somewhat small around the lower bust and mid-section. The overall fit is beautiful, though and, being short, I liked the length quite a lot. This is a great after-work drinks or date dress, it's easy and comfortable to wear. I didn't wear SPANX or anything underneath because the midsection was so fitted and fabric so thin you'd see the outline of the waistband. But, no matter. I think the fit is pretty flattering all the same and covers a multitude of sins for us pear shapes. I did find the sizing slightly small, however. I usually wear between a 10-12 and lately I've been wearing more 10s. The 10 I rented was almost too tight, and the 12 I wore still didn't give me as much give as I'd normally like. But the effect was great and it wore like a dream all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Not for me
Very very cute dress but made me look heavy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2013
LOVED this dress. Perfect for a cocktail party!
Overall fit was good (literally skims the body as it should) but it's definitely a little tight in the bust so I went up a size after reading the reviews on it. Lots of compliments and perfect for a big necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 21, 2014
Wonderful dark red dress that stands out in a sea of black.
Loved the color of this dress although it was darker than in the pictures. It's definitely a "blue" red which worked wonderfully with my skin tone. Definitely needed a high-waisted shapers. It is very fitted through the torso and shows every bump. Work with nude patterned hose and nude shoes. Very classy.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2014
Just didn't work.
I really wanted to like this dress, but I just couldn't. It does run a tad small in the chest, so definitely order up if you have a large chest. The problems I had with it were three.. 1) the armholes really limit the bra you can wear, and, again, if you have a large chest, your bra selections are limited anyway. I finally found a bra that would have worked, but it looks really sloppy if you can't find one. 2) it's just not very well made, or perhaps the 10 I had was just at the end of it's life, but the fabric had snagged, the seams were all pulled, and the fabric was very informal and not appropriate for my cocktail event. 3) kinda related to 2, the dress isn't lined. With the fabric being thin and it being unlined, it's almost impossible to wear slimming garments underneath, even when you size up. If you don't mind a line from your pantyhose, spanx, underwear, etc, or if you can wear a jacket or shrug over it, go for it. All of my shape wear options underneath just looked sloppy and unpolished. In the end, I just went with a lbd in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 15, 2014
Not made for girls with big busts!
The dress looked amazing... but it did not fit. It wouldn't zipper up my back. My boobs were too squished! Great color though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2014
Pretty color
This was a back up dress as my original order came and there was an issue with it. While the color was gorgeous- the dress was not flattering at all. It made me look bigger than I was. I normally a size 8 in Ann Taylor Dresses and a size 10 in jeans (depending on what it is). I sized up on this dress to the 10 and 12. Which I normally don't do. If you have broad shoulders and back its not a flattering dress either and the size would have to go up. To wear this dress- you need to be more in the range of 2-4 and tall and not have hips. I didn't end up wearing this dress to the party I had which was a bummer but wore a dress in my closet. The customer service at RTR is fantastic though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 17, 2015
Simple and form-fitting
The dress is simple elegance in itself, fits like a glove. Though I could not wear even a light push up bra with it (or i couldn't zip it across my chest). It's fitted across the mid-section and flows out nicely (but not puffy) to flatter your hips. I think I need to lose a couple of pounds to be able to go to dinner and eat in this dress. Definitely recommend it for a date night though!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×