Theia

Navy Taffeta Ruched Gown

$79 rental
$895 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Absolutely breath taking! Rent this chic Theia gown for the formal event of the year. With it's avant garde style, you'll for sure be the talk of the party. Stack classic necklaces like the Ciner's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace and Crislu's Graduated Crystal Necklace. Lancome's Color Design 5 Shadow and Liner Palette in Midnight Rush will give you the perfect smokey eye for this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy stretch tafetta(68% polyester; 24% polymaide;8% spandex). Off the shoulder neckline. Draped back. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

68 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 54
Large 13
Photos 37
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was a tad big on me and I wish I had ordered a 0 but I felt like a million bucks. Considering my petite stature, it was a little long on me but I could hike up the material under the last folds a few inches when commuting to and from the event. The fabric has a little spandex in it so it hugs the curves nicely. I paired the dress with the Ciner crystal necklace which really made the neckline spectacular. I'm considering renting the necklace again for another black tie event next month! Bottom line, the dress and necklace combo was well worth the rental.
deedee
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
It is a stunning dress. Does have generous stretch. Do not need a bra.
Mel
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Stunning. Everyone loved the way it looked. Order a size down. Definitely was very slimming and stretchy.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 5, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Perfect dress for a black tie gala. Loved the mermaid silhouette on my athletic and curvy frame. There is some built in support, which was probably enough to get away without wearing a bra. I am a 36D and I wore a corset style bra for the lift. I normally wear a size 8 or 10, and I rented a size 10 based on what was available. I have a thin waist and the dress was a little big in the waist, it didn't look too big but it could have been tighter. The Length of L was good for me (I'm 5'8"), with 2.5inch heels. Very comfortable and glamorous. I accessorized this dress with this Dannijo Necklace, Bracelet and Earrings: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/omalanecklace, http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/bracelets_jewelry/lenabracelet, http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/cecilelenaearrings and Lauren Merkin Clutch: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/handbags_jewelry/dianaclutch
mary
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 27, 2011

Great Experience

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress. Very Flattering and comfortable. Could have worn either size because it is stretchy.
Maren
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2012

Fabulous

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing and I believe would flatter any body type due to the stretchy/ruched taffeta. I received more than a dozen compliments from strangers who stopped me as I was walking by to tell me how beautiful the dress was and one wedding guest told me it looked "Old Hollywood"! I would recommend ordering your regular size and one down for backup because the fabric is quite stretchy and then you can decide which dress is more flattering for your body type.
Michele
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 7, 2012

Just Fabulous!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits like a second skin, so comfortable and so flattering! I LOVE this dress and it took everything in me to return it. Honestly, can I buy this dress?? I felt like a million bucks and the compliments kept coming all night long. What a dress to bring in the New Year!! Rent the Runway is just brilliant and so user friendly.
Lizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 12, 2012

OSCARS

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this gown for the Scientific and Technical awards show Feb. 11th. The fit was terrific, one of the backup gowns had a small break in the side seam, so I couldn't wear it. Unfortunate. A very comfy gown overall - but it's difficult to keep the wrap down over the arms - it tends to slip up constantly. The stretch fabric is fantastic though - and VERY comfortable. I'd definitely consider renting this one again.
Libby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 19, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love, love, love this dress and was sad to send it back. It fits beautifully, is incredibly flattering and was really comfortable. I received so many complements. I had ordered it in a 4 and 6, and both looked and fit great but the length on the 4 was better so I went with that one, it skimmed the floor with 4" heels. I wish I could keep it!
Emy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

Military Ball

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an Army Military Ball. Dress fit great, got tons of compliments! Was told I looked Old Hollywood Glamor. I usually wear size 8 to 10. 8 fit well because it does have some stretch to it.
Katy
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 1, 2012

Very Good Dress for Large Girl

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am not a small girl...in fact, I am 5' 7 1/2" and I weigh 180 lbs. This dress fit great and looked great. It was also very comfortable. I was able to wear it with 3" heels and then later I took off the heels and wore flats and it worked for those also. Just a great overall dress. The only drawback that I would mention is the sleeves. This part of the dress is only attached at the front and slips over your head and then it keeps slipping up your arms when you move. I wore fashion tape on my back and my arms and that helped it somewhat. I also had my husband pull it down into place quite a few times during the evening.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 28, 2012

Comfortable but not functional

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress ran true to size, and was very stretchy and comfortable. The arm band thing is a little impractile, as I couldn't raise my arms or wear a coat during the evening.
Ryan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 9, 2012

Flattering and elegant

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my boyfriend's office Christmas party and it was the perfect choice -- just the right amount of classy/sexy to both turn heads and not raise eyebrows (I sat next to a partner at his firm during dinner! Good choice!) A couple of issues: I needed to push the dress down every once in a while, particularly during dancing -- the long fitted part tends to ride up. Also, raising your hands over your head is downright impossible without lifting up the shoulder part in an awkard way, and you'll have to readjust it if you want to, say, raise your hand, or throw them into the air like you just don't care.
Olivia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Beautiful dress, very classy and sophisticated. Made my night!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs a little small, order both your size and a size up just in case. The off the shoulder bit doesn't attach anywhere so you have to adjust it every once in awhile, but it wasn't too bad. The dress looks expensive, and it was very flattering on my body type. The color is also great on fair skin (no need to tan before prom!) All in all, loved it, and RTR service in general.
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: Fit well, great at drawing attention to your overall figure (curvy/hourglass) and away from figure flaws (un-toned stomach & arms). Received a few compliments from strangers when I wore it to fiancee's 100-year anniversary gala for work. One caveat: Sleeve thingy does ride up so not sure if this would be a great dress for dancing. Felt like dress needed constant adjustment after I moved my arms much because shoulder shawl was loose (I have a small bone structure). This maybe could have been remedied by a size smaller dress. I think I could have also fit into a 4R but they were out of 4R.
Lissa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 20, 2012

Great customer service, its hard to get good customer service these days, i got it a day earlier.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect for hourglass body shape cause it shows off your waist instead of other dresses being perfect size in the bust but to big anywhere else, this type of dress is perfect if you dont have the normal body type and dimensions. This type of dress would fit any body type but especially perfect for hourglass, i got a lot of compliments so i loved the experience, i will be renting from here again soon
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Needed the 8. I am 5'0" and with about 2" heels it was just barely dragging the ground. This was a great dress but the shoulder straps keep popping up some.
connie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Dec 14, 2012

I ended up having to return it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress definitely runs big so for your second size definitely size down and on top of that there is a lot of stretch in the fabric so don't be worried about getting a smaller size. The length runs pretty true, I'm only 5'3 but with higher heels I would have been okay with the length of the regular length. The off-the-shoulder part isn't attached to anything so it is impossible to keep across your arms even for a second to put it, I think that part runs especially big. The fabric itself makes crinkle noises and personally, I don't think the fabric is very pleasing to the eye. The draping across the tummy is very good for those looking to conceal a large midsection though. I think this dress is best suited for girls with long torsos.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 16, 2012

My bad planning - I ordered dress day before but it arrived 45 minutes before my driver did!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is beautiful - VERY flattering. I'm curvy (waist size 2 and hips size 6-8) and this dress was amazing. Fits beautifully, has lots of give, a gorgeous navy color. My first RTR experience and I couldn't be happier. Ladies, do know that the piece that fits off the shoulder tends to slip upward, so pull it low down on your arms.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Dec 18, 2012

It was a big hit!!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It had a great fit! I loved it!!
Kenni
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 28, 2012

If you're looking for a sophisticated style that compliments the curves... this dress is for you!!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this gown for my Mom to wear to a wedding and she looked absolutely stunning in it! The dress was very flattering and showed off her curves in such an elegant, sophisticated way. She looked so regal! Mom is petite but has curves! She's 5'4, approx 125 lbs., is a 34 DDD and wears a size 6. I would say this dress fits true to size.
Deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 12, 2013

Went to a ball for the Atlanta ballet

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress seemed to grow in length as the night went on. Should have done the 8R but overall was amazing and I wasn't fidgeting with it much at all. Felt very glam for a ball where everyone was in long, dramatic gowns. Fit right in.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Loved the dress. Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Looked small out of the box but definitely true to size. The long was too long even with three inch heels. If I had gotten the 4R as my back-up size I might have chosen that instead. The arm wrap definitely rides up a lot, but it's a beautiful dress.
alice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Easy to send back.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress. I wore it for a hospital gala and everyone loved it. I am looking for a mother of the groom dress and I can not find anything in the dept. stores that even come close to the quality. I will probably rent this dress again for the wedding. It is gathered in just the right places so it hides any bumps.
Kailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Apr 29, 2013

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little big , but it still worked. Very comfortable
donna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Apr 30, 2013

Stunning!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Would def rent again.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

i think i got a compliment from everyone in the room. wore it for my military ball

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
if you want to look professional and elegant, this is your dress
Jeanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Felt great in this dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The piece around the shoulders and back is just great as I do not like just "bare arms" and this handles that issue. The ruching of the dress creates a terrific look. This was my favorite dress of all. I love RTR! Size 8R was ideal - a tight fit to zip but very comfortable all night long.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×