Theia

Dipped in Vanilla Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

A glittering goddess in gold. This show stopper by Theia deserves to be out until morning. Shine on... you beautiful thing! Pair with Gerard Yosca's Emerald Eye Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very stretchy and highlights bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - stretchy fabric is comfortable but may highlight lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very stretchy and highlights bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - stretchy fabric is comfortable but may highlight lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Champagne sequins. V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

141 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 116
Large 21
Photos 74
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 28, 2011

this was my first time using the site and everything went flawlessly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a gala fundraiser and received many compliments! I paired it with emerald drop earrings by Kenneth Jay Lane that were stunning. I am very pale, so I got a light spray tan before wearing the dress and I am very glad I did. The color is lighter than pictured and I would have looked washed out. One little complaint: I am very curvy for a size 2 and some dresses accentuate curves while also tucking them in in all the right places... this dress didn't offer that kind of support, so my curves were highlighted in all their glory. Luckily, I wore Spanx. :)
Taressa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 11, 2011

My boyfriend's face when he saw me in my dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my backup dress, but I ended up wearing it because it fit so comfortably and was non-restricting. Great for dancing!
Mirah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

I danced all night in this dress and felt gorgeous the whole time!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my backup dress for a black tie New Year's party, but I loved it so much I changed into it for the after-party. Thank you RTR for sending me two stunning dresses! It fit perfectly and was much more flattering than I imagined it would be. The color is gorgeous - much richer in person than in photos - and it looked great with my skin even though nudes and golds usually wash me out. I wore it with really high nude platform pumps, and I got loads of compliments. The dress it so comfortable and well-fitting that I danced all night in it without ever having to adjust or feeling uncomfortable. This is a dress I would definitely rent again - if I don't end up buying it first!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 2, 2012

Dress fit perfectly!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! It fit perfectly, conforms to your shape, and is really flattering. Great for those who are larger on top. It's true to size, maybe runs a little large so I would go a size down for the second dress.
Eroica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

AMAZING!! This dress made me feel like a million bucks.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. I received compliments all night and felt like a million bucks wearing it. I normally wear a 6 in dresses but ordered and 8 in this one just in case, but ended up wearing the 6. It was perfect and wish I actually owned it!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Everyone complimented my dress :)

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was extremely forgiving, I've gained weight recently and I was so afraid that a dress I'd order for RTR wouldn't fit, especially with my large (extra extra large!) chest. With a pair of spanx, I felt comfortable in this dress all night! I could of worn the smaller size, but I mean -- wedding cake, I needed some room.
Karin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

This dress is spectacular - wish I owned it! Compliments ALL NIGHT LONG. Movie star worthy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hung perfectly on my hourglass figure and because it was sequins, I didn't have to worry about bulges showing. The slit is high in the back, which look awesome, and I just wore my Spanx up a bitter higher than normal and they never showed. I also got to wear a normal bra, which was a pleasant surprise, as this heavy sequins from sitting/bunching on top of a strapless. My bra strap did not show one time, and I didn't even pin them. I spoke on stage in front of 600 people, and I am SO GLAD I wore this dress. It was classy, just a peek of feminine bustline without worrying about showing cleavage, and it came almost to the knee, which was a very elongating, flattering cut. I LOVED IT, as did my husband. I kept getting this compliment: "You look like a movie star!" (Even from my 4 year old son.) Only wear it if you enjoy attention :)
Deborah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

You know your dress is perfect when women come up to you all night complimenting your dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't want to wear black again this year to the VCU Athletics Dept. Black & Gold Ball (that's the ESPY that the VCU Rams won for the 2010-2011 basketball season) so rented this one. Truly one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I'm glad I read the previous reviews about ordering the extra one a size smaller b/c even though I've put on a few pounds over the summer and would normally have ordered a 6 and then 8 to cover the pounds, I ordered a 4 and that one fit perfectly. Women came up all night long commenting on how beautiful the dress was and one finally asked me where I got it (this was her 3rd time coming up to me). Now that I see the pictures I can see how it really looked and it was fabulous! Wore black heels with it for most of the night but had my cowboy boots on standby when my feet started hurting.... they looked pretty hot with it, too. You cannot go wrong renting this dress. It stands out in the crowd b/c most people wear black.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

The dress was perfect and I got so many compliments! Everyone wanted to know about Rent the Runway!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 4 was a little tight through my hips, but the size 6 was definitely too big. The 6 didn't lay correctly across my chest; I'm very glad to have had the 4. The fabric is quite stretchy, so be ready to show off some CURVES! I was disappointed because there were areas on the dress where sequins were missing - entire patches - but thankfully no one noticed. The color is more gold than vanilla. I wore nude heels and had a black purse. I would highly recommend you get this dress! I want to wear it again and again!
DanielleJoyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

Sparkled for my 30th Birthday!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented the 4 and the 6. I was sure I was going to wear the 4, but when I walked around in it at home I noticed the under arm area was slightly constricting. I sized up to the 6 and felt a lot better. All night I recieved many compliments on the dress. I was happy to have chosen this dress, not only because it looked great but it was so comfortable.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Compliments, compliments, compliments! Everyone loved this dress, boyfriend included.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Worn to a "vintage mystery" themed corporate holiday party. It did run a bit larger than I expected - I'm pretty petite, so I had to wear a padded bra to make it look like I had something going on in that area. The dress seemed a bit loose, but it's not supposed to be extremely tight, so it still worked out. I felt gorgeous; this dress is really stunning in person and looks elegant in photos. I was stopped by strangers all night asking where the dress was from, and when I told them I rented it, they didn't believe me!
Jess
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Dress ran true to size. Really enjoyed wearing this beautiful dress on stage.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
As many have said, being able to wear a regular bra with such an stunning dress was a bonus. I would highly recommend a body shaper, as I felt bumps and lumps were very obvious under this dress when the lights weren't catching the sequins. I also think this dress would be best on a hourglass shape and well suited for a fuller bust. I wore light gold shoes and was very happy with the look. Some scratches around the arm hole from beading occured.
jacke
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159 lbs
Dec 25, 2012

Loved the way the dress fit!! Got compliments all night

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is very comfortable and the fit was perfect. A bit shorter than I wanted. I would recommend this dress to anyone. Definite head turner. I wore bone colored shoes. Danced in it all night !
Tracie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

Loved This Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so beautiful in person. The color and sequins are gorgeous. The simple A-line style was very flattering. It was very comfortable and I could wear a normal bra. The dress hit me right above the knee with a tiny slit in the back. I was happy that I could find a sequin dress that was also age appropriate (50), not to revealing and not to short, but still sexy. This is a winner.
Kiara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 21, 2013

A real head-turner!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This isn't the dress for a shy girl - you will be noticed and complimented all night! I wore this for my birthday night party (read: club) and it was a big hit. The lining makes the dress very comfortable to wear (and protects your tights!), and the sequins under the arms did not bother me at all. It does have a little give, which is perfect after a few cocktails and dinner. I wore this dress with nude hosiery and nude pumps, which definitely ramped up the sexy factor. It could also be toned down a little with darker or opaque tights and black heels. I accessorized with purple and gold statement earrings and a matching necklace. If you are considering this dress - GO FOR IT!
Allyson
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Mar 5, 2013

Beautiful dress - received compliments all night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is truly beautiful and flattering. I wore it for my brother in law's wedding and received so many compliments from our family and friends all night. The color is glamorous and eye catching without being gaudy.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

Almost...

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was looking for something really glam for my bachelorette party in NYC, and this was ALMOST it! I've lost weight, so I thought I could squeeze into a 14. I did, but it was a tad too snug. Maybe down the line!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Fun dress for dancing!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Only downside - sequins are a bit itchy around the armholes...wore larger size to alleviate fabric contact!
Susan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Beautiful dress but I didn't like it on me

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beutiful. The tank style gold dress skims your body and doesn't have a waist line - I didn't lilke the way it hit me.It fit fine but I felt that I needed more structure. I ended up wearing a different dress. I would highly recommend rent the runway and this dress.
ga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Subtle but beautiful...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as a bridesmaid dress, and the pictures are so spectacular. The sequins are subtle but awesome. My only caveat-though I wouldn't have changed anything-was this dress shows everything... You can't hide in it. But it was beautiful!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

I do love a sparkle....

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Just wish it was a bit longer... I can't wear the short dresses for work formal events...
kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Holiday Party Sparkle!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit loosely, but still showed off figure. I'm short so it was about knee-length (good for me - didn't want it too short for a business holiday party.). It's a beautiful gold/white sparkly dress. I wore with nude heels and it looked great.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Definitely felt like the center of attention in this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. Exactly how it looks in the pictures. Hit me just above the knee.
Susan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Lots of comments at 20's theme party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was fun and worked perfectly with some accessories at the 1920's themed party. Lots of compliments and questions about where I got the dress. One previous reviewer mentioned that the dress was a bit unflattering in the stomach area which I would tend to agree with although that is a "problem" spot for me anyway. I am normally in the 4-6 range, the 4 fit but was a little tighter than I wanted so the 6 worked best for a looser more 20's flapper look. Overall great, comfortable dress and excellent experience with RTR.
cindy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156 lbs
May 1, 2014

tons of compliment and so comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
stretchy.. above knee and very comfortable. Could have worn the 6 but 8 was more roomy in chest.
Marnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 7, 2014

Gorgeous, comfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't want to send this dress back. It is beautiful, and fit perfectly. I wore it to a formal event, and was complimented by total strangers all night. Seriously, I would buy this dress.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 173 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

beautiful

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stretchy fit, light enough for an outdoor Texas wedding. Very short with slit in back - i had to tack together in order for my bottom not to show. Plenty of room in bust.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Sparkly and Fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
While this wasn't my favorite rental ever, it was fun and cute for a spring/summer wedding. While the dress was more sequined than I'd expected, it was very lightweight. I'm not sure if the dress I wore was stretched out or just runs big, I'm typically an 8, I wore the 6 but could probably even have worn a 4. Overall a pretty dress at a reasonable price.
jllufcy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Great for Bachelorette party!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The theme for my bachelorette party was "sparkly". This dress was beautiful! It was so comfortable all night long (and it was a loooooong one). Definitely recommend this dress.
Kristine
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Jul 19, 2014

The dress was beautiful and I loved the sequins. But the slit was too high in the back!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR dress and it was beautiful. I was so excited to try it on. And then I tried it on. I am very curvy, hourglass you could say, and maybe that was the reason for this but...the slit in the back went so high you could practically see my butt! I thought maybe I would be OK with stockings, but who wants to 1. wear stockings to a July wedding and 2. worry about relatives seeing her tush while dancing!!! I was pretty surprised to not see anything about the slit on any of the reviews. The customer service was FABULOUS and a new dress should arrive today. Crossing my fingers! But quite frankly, even if this new dress doesn't fit, I will totally rent again because the customer service was so great.
Dayna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Body type: Petite
Aug 5, 2014

Very comfortable and flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful, and fit very well. However, it was a tad long for me because I am shorter. I rented this to try on before actually renting for my son's Las Vegas wedding. Will be getting the size 8 as a back up because the 10 had a little room.
Tracie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 20, 2014

Worked Well for 1920's Theme Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me like a glove with the exception of the length. It was a little shorter than I would have liked for a wedding, but the bigger issue was the slit in the back of the dress. It pretty much bared all. I used a safety pin to try & minimize the exposure, but I still felt like I was hanging out of it. All in all, I felt good in the dress and would recommend it to others.
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 20, 2014

Loved!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! Wore it for a rehearsal party and it was fun against a background of lace and black. The bust fit perfectly and I am very top heavy. Material is pretty thick so although I didn't wear special undergarmets, it would allow for such. Length hit mid thigh (I'm 5'8") overall a great dress
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Perfect gold dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 4 fit great, not too tight - able to eat and dance comfortably!
Martha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Very glamorous

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! Very comfortable and allowed for movement when dancing. I received so many compliments.
Sadie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Glamourous dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little short (I am 5'7") in the back b/c of the slit - I could not bend over but had to crouch my knees, but it want a big deal. A Little tight in my chest but I am a 34 D. Was very happy with it overall. Very comfortable.
Sunny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 13, 2015

I felt great in this dress, and I got compliments the entire night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. It has a little stretch to it, so you can move and be comfortable. The color is different than it shows in the picture, but I liked it more - a few mocha colors sparkles along with some gold and off white. I loved it!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

comfortable and easy to sit and dance in - plenty of coverage up top

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
wore one size up from my usual since it was stretchy and sequins made it pretty tight, especially in the hips and under the arms - very glad I ordered a size bigger, especially since I was going to a dinner/dance and needed the extra room for sitting and dancing. Gold is definitely more bronze - did not work with diamond/silvery accessories or shoes...looked better with black shoes. Nice that you can wear a regular bra underneath - works well for busty women like me - not too much cleavage and also not too short - didn't feel like I was trying to fit into a coed's dress.
CC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

The dress was perfect for the Oscar's-themed formal event I attended.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size. I am 5 ft. 2 inches, 120 lbs. and the size 4 was perfect. It is constructed of a stretchy fabric covered in sequins, so it is very form-fitting yet flattering. It was a comfortable dress to wear as well.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Perfect for a 1920s gala!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
RTR really came to the rescue - I had a 1920s gala to attend at a local theatre, and my original dress didn't fit. RTR jumped into action and sent me a couple options. I ended up with this dress, pairing it with black heels and a black headpiece. It looked great! One of the actors at the gala said my friend (who also wore a flapper-inspired sequin dress) and I were the best-dressed. Would definitely rent this again -- super comfy, flattering, and fun!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×