Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

829 reviews

Fit
Small 282
True to Size 497
Large 25
Photos 573
Lexi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super soft and stretchy which made it really comfortable. The zero was a good fit. The only problem was that because the material was so stretchy, the sleeves were a little puffier than I would like because of being on the hanger, but that was an easy fix! Just remember you need either sticky/backless bra or no bra at all because of the open back
megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Fun dress for my birthday dinner date night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is shooooooort!! I'd been eyeing it for a while and it's very fun but I'm glad I didn't wear it to a wedding or a work event. It was fun and sexy but showed a LOT of leg and back! You have been warned! Also, get 2 sizes because while the 10 did fit me better, the 10 and the 12 looked like completely different dresses. The pattern was much bigger and darker on the 12. Also, this is good for smaller chested girls because there's not much you can do in the ways of a bra.
cori
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Loved the colors of this dress, perfect length and style for a fun party. Would rent again.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Only thing weird is it bubbles up at the top of the zipper and in pictures I don't look like my stomach is as flat as it is.
Kaolin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Wore this dress twice in one week to a formal & semiformal! I got COUNTLESS comments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely in love with this dress - the back is my favorite part of this dress! It's simple but fun. I ordered both a 4 and 2 - both fit but the 2 worked so much better! Wish I could have kept it!! This was my first RTR dress, now I'm hooked! If you are looking for comfortable, fresh & fun - look no further!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Age: 30
Dec 14, 2014

I was told I had the best dress of the night!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a holiday party to be have a mode unique look. The dress runs small and is short so go up a size. I usually wear a 4 and wore the 6. The difference between the sizes was minimal.
Becca
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Stood out from all the other girls

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was amazing, it runs a little big in the shoulder/underarm region but everything else was perfect. I probably could've worn a size smaller but thats to no fault of the dress. I wish I could buy this dress to have forever, its so amazing.
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Fun Colorful Dress - Lots of Compliments!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the colors of this dress, and the open back. The sizes are slightly off though. I'm usually a 2/4 and I had to wear the 6 in this.. The 4 was really tight on the bottom, but looser up top, so I choose the 6 to be looser at the bottom. The top was almost too loose, but I made it work. It was too fun not to wear!! :)
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

wore this for artbasel in south beach 2014 and it was a hit! perfect "artsy" dress for artsy event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit great! skirt rides up a bit and it is pretty short. i dressed it "down" by pairing it with a leather jacket, black stockings and knee high flat grey boots. perfect funky artsy look!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

Perfect southern bachelorette party dress! Comfortable, colorful & sexy open back to spice it up!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size. I normally wear a 0 but opted for the 2 for comfort. Great dress for smaller busted women.
kirby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Love the design and open back!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, and it worked out really well! The print is great, and It really stands out in a crowd. The other reviews are accurate regarding the sizing of this dress. The top half is a lot looser than the bottom half, so it's a little tricky. I am usually a 2-4 in dresses but ordered a 4 and a 6 due to other reviews. I wore the 4, but still felt it was too big in areas. But overall, this dress is incredible, and I think the cool design and open back make up for sizing perfections!
Autumn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Attention grabber for sure

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a NYE house party and loved it! Like many other reviewers said it is short and rides up as you walk but it still worked out great for me. The size 2 fit me better on the lower 1/2 and wouldn't had ridden up as much but the top portion was too baggy. I liked the fit of the 0 better overall. I have 34D chest and found these sticky "breast lift" cups at Macys and did not expect them to work, well they were amazing and can be reworn up to 25 times it says. I'll be wearing more open back types of things from now on!!!
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Cute! A little short though.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
Wore this too a brunch during my college senior week. Really adorable but was pretty short. I could only just get away with it. It's also a spandexy material which surprised me.
Karla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Colorful, flirty and fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Slightly more conservative in the front (although this shows some leg!), the wow factor of this dress comes when you twirl around. That back! Grab an adhesive bra or prepare to go braless, as this option wouldn't work with your traditional one. I slipped this dress on with a pair of gray booties for a New Year's Eve dinner and dance party, where I felt super-confident and received countless compliments. I will definitely keep this designer in mind for future rentals!
Kiara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

I popped in the crowd of nothing but GOLD, BLACK, And SILVER :)

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I LOVE COLOR! I saw this dress and the fact that it had the back out was also what sold me (I love showing off my back). I border a 4/6 because of my sporty bum ;) but the 4 hugged better and rode up less. It was a tad loose in the waist for me but that's my body type (12in difference to hips). Fabric is soft and some reviews state it's looser in the top... OBVIOUSLY bc there is NO BACK for support and the lower half is more fitted to show the curves. Braless was my personal preference because the dress was snug enough that it made no difference to me. Thanks for another great dress, I definitely felt like I was on a runway all night!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Perfect NYE dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was fitted in the right places, and loose in the right places. The other reviews are correct, the back is a bit large, which is the reason I wore the size 2, not the size 4. I received SO many compliments on this dress, as it was different than all the other dresses in the room.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Oh - la - la

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Back is great. It is short so I went with the larger size & fashion tape is needed but worth it. I received so many compliments wearing it. It was perfect for my rehearsal dinner. It was a hit!!
Noel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Great dress for a birthday

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The size 4 fit a little tight so I went with the bigger size 6. The low cut back is nice but it was a little baggy around my lower back area so it wasn't very flattering in the buttocks area. Overall it was a really fun dress to wear. It was about 32 degrees but I wore it anyways for my birthday dinner.
Gillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

I don't think I'll ever love a dress more than this one.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my high school dance and got so many compliments, and I stood out in a sea of generic black dresses (I love to stand out). I recommend this dress to anyone who likes to look beautiful. :-)
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 19, 2015

Amazingly unique, show stopper!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Obsessed with this dress, if it was for sale I would buy in a second. I wore this dress for a Welcome Cocktail Party during my wedding weekend, and then rented and wore it again to a friend's wedding two weeks later. Endless comments and incredibly comfortable!
Jenn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

I received so many compliments, I will rent it again in the summer.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
You cant go wrong, order it
Christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

I went out in South Beach and I got a ton of compliments. I wish I could find where I could buy it

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The dress was gorgeous. It did smell like it hadn't been cleaned well (smoke and really strong perfume) so that was a bummer, but it was worth it because I felt like I looked amazing which always makes for a better night. The dress is VERY short but not tacky short, just make sure you have a tan on your legs and wear high shoes.
Breanne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Fun, classy and eye-catching.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a charity yacht party and received a ton of compliments. It photographs well and the open back made the dress. Runs true to size but the sleeves fall down since it is an open back, fashion tape could fix this problem. Would rent for a birthday, bachelorette or summer wedding.
Lyndsie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

I loved this dress! I will definitely be renting it again - the back was beautiful.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore a size down from my normal size because I felt that it was more flattering but I could have easily worn the 6. I would highly recommend using fashion tape on the back because I was fixing that all night. It was also super short. I will definitely be renting this dress again though for a night out in vegas. It is perfect for that occasion.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Pop of color! "wow" factor dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The colors and open back really had a awesome "wow" factor. I got many compliments! It is definitely a form fitting dress, so if you do not like things very tight then I would recommend sizing up for your backup size.
Rini
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Perfect island fun dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Vacation
I received so many compliments with this dress. It was comfortable and not restrictive at all. The dress is short but in a way that makes your leg look long and sexy, not in a way you feel uncomfortable wearing it.
Vykki
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Stood out from the crowd with the vibrant colors and absolutely loved that it was backless

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Only downside was that it tended to ride up while dancing so be careful ladies...
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

Super fun birthday dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I chose this dress for my 30th birthday dinner + afterparties. I loved the vibrant colors and sexy (backless) yet sophisticated (high neckline) factors. The size 4 was loose on my back and falling open quite a bit, so I opted for the size 2, which was still a little loose on top but used the complementary fashion tape to keep the back from shifting too much. A little tight in the caboose but not very noticeably, even though I have an ample bottom. Would definitely rent again...prob for a summer event next time!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

EVERYONE complimented me on this dress! I felt so confident in it all night!

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Other
This dress fit so well! It was sexy and comfortable at the same time. I definitely think it's best for fellow members of the itty bitty titty committee, as you really can't wear a bra. It's a type of fit perfect for a night at a club or trendy restaurant, but not one you'd want to pick for a cocktail party or wedding. It's sassy, sexy, & SHORT!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

Fun dress for a party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I quite liked the look of this dress and it was very comfortable. Fit: I am between a 0 and 2, and I wore the 2 in this dress. It was tight across my thighs (I've got a pretty atheletic body style though) and it was a bit large in the shoulder area (but not to the point of falling down). The length was fine on me, but on a tall person wearing the same size, it would be QUITE short. Fabric: Very stretchy and not as structured as I thought it might be. However with the pattern, the stretchiness does NOT lead to unsightly bulges, like it might in a solid. The pattern helps camoflauge! I felt good in it and got quite a few compliments on it. I did feel like I was pulling it down a lot, because it would rid up my thighs, which is probably the only thing keeping it from being a 5 star review. The open back is very striking and is the reason I rented it!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

Fun dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The first was perfect and the material was light weight. Wonderful print.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Great dress, photographed well

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was shorter than I thought, and it was big around the shoulders
Kelsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Great dress for a formal day party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up choosing the 0 over the 2 because of the upper body fit. The 2 was a little big around the armpit area. Both sizes fit a little snug on my butt, so if you have any butt at all I would plan on ordering a size up. Even though the butt was snug, it didn't pull across the front or make the dress look too small. I wore it with a shawl to avoid feeling uncomfortable with the tight parts. The fabric is a little unforgiving, so prepare for that. Fashion tape would have helped with the sleeves rolling up and with keeping the low back in place. The material also made it easy to travel with because I could make it small enough to fit in a purse and it didn't look wrinkled later. Overall, the dress was perfect. I will definitely be ordering it again.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

I received so many compliments on this dress! One of my favorite rent the runway dresses by far!!!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great! The 0 was perfect and one of my favorite rent the runway dresses by far. The hanging loops came out a couple of times but other than that the dress was amazing. I would definitely rent it again!
Char
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress! It rides up a bit, but the spandex hugged my curves!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'9" so I had to pull the dress down every once in a while from riding up. Other than that, it was a perfect dress for Vegas! So colorful and so much fun! I love the open back!
Brandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 15, 2015

This dress is another headturner from RTR!!!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an NFL player party at the St. Regis Monarch Beach. This dress is amazing! The back is absolutely awesome (it's backless without being all the way backless). It's super colorful so it's great for a spring/summer party. Just like another dress I rented from RTR a couple weeks ago, this dress is a #headturner and stood out in a sea of black dresses.
patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Bright colors and really sexy

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Runs true to size, I wore the size 8, the size 10 was a little loose, it is pretty short, ok for parties, clubbing, I saw reviews saying it would fall from the shoulders, I did not have that issue, it fit prefect, I liked it a lot
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Definitely Made A Statement at Senior Breakfast

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was beautiful, but my first impression of it was a little confusing. I had been eye balling for months and thought I had an idea or how it would feel. I knew it would run a little big at the top, but I think the opening in the back is so wide that the sleeves don't really have anything to hold on to. I thought the material was thicker or more stiff, but the material is very light which gave the sleeves even more reason to slip. The material is almost comparable to a pillow case, but it's not like it really shows your imperfections. The day of the event I put it on and felt better about it. That was the only thing that bothered me, the top falling off. If I pulled on the skirt it would keep the top in place, but obviously with walking around and sitting I had to do it a lot. I'm a little torn as to whether I would get the dress again or not. Altogether it made me stand out, which was my main goal :)
Fabiola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Fabulous! Be ready to be the center of attention.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Compliments all night! I wore this dress for my 28th Bday. It was Fabulous! Fabric is comfortable, photographs well. The colors are so vivid! Great choice for a last minute decision. I wore size 4, the upper part was a bit loose but the back of the dress is super sexy it takes all the attention! This dress fits well on ladies with wider hips and slim waist.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Gorgeous back, but difficult to wear.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was so pretty, but not very functional. I felt like I was constantly tugging it down and adjusting the shoulders. I am 5'5 and it was really short on me. I used fashion tape to keep the shoulders/back on. I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding if you planned on dancing. It would probably work for an event where you stood or sat the entire time.
Alexis
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Birthday Dinner night out on the town

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
My husband and I took a trip to Chicago for my birthday weekend. I rented this as something different from my everyday dresses. I wore this to a fancy dinner night out. Overall the fit was ok. it was a lot shorter than I realized when I ordered it (and I'm only 5'2"). the fabric was comfortable, but I was a bit self conscious when I sat. It was a beautiful dress and I got compliments on how colorful it was. Next time, I would try and pick something a bit longer.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×