Jacquard Pleated Bodice Dress

$31 to buy
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shoshanna's Pleated Bodice Strapless Dress cuts a striking cocktail silhouette. Pair with bold accessories for a high volume look. Shown here with Chamak's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - for smaller busts, consider sizing down in back-up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has some room in hips though curvy women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning to support bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - for smaller busts, consider sizing down in back-up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has some room in hips though curvy women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning to support bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk jacquard. Sweetheart neckline. Pleating detail on bodice. Built in bustier for support. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 26" from top of bodice to hem.

Share
64 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size44
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 8, 2015
It was so incredibly comfortable and flattering. Absolutely loved wearing it!
The fabric was cool, which helped during the hotter parts of the day. The bustier type top was very flattering and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 26, 2014
Great "little black dress" for cocktail event!
Dress was a little large in the bust, but everything else for perfect! Loved that it had pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 22, 2014
I loved the neckline in this dress, the soft detail of the bust
So this dress is only4 Stars Because it arrived damaged, the part of the dress that should snap inside the zipped for better support was broken and torn. I did without it because I was at a wedding thousands of miles from home and honestly didn't feel like redoing my look. I would highly recommend this dress as long as it's not damaged. The fabric is very light and silky, a great look overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2014
Great dress, wish they had my size
The fit of this dress would have been perfect if they had the 6 I originally ordered. The top and middle was a bit big so I had to keep pulling it up. Thankfully I have a large chest so that helped. The pockets were great. It was difficult getting in and out of cabs as the dress was a bit tight around the mid thigh area when I walked, or tried to get in a cab. Nothing crazy tho. I rented it for a party in the city and I had no other options so I did use some safety pins. I just wasnt as comfortable as I would have been in the 6. My second time renting, not as happy as the first time, but the customer service was excellent, they tried. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Loved this dress and customer service is incredible!
After being sick for a few months and not realizing I went down a dress size I was in a panic when I received my dresses and both were too big. The 4 could have worked but it was rather large in the bust and I was concerned about a stain on the front of it. I emailed customer service and they over nighted me a smaller size free of charge as well as gave me free samples of a shampoo and conditioner. The dress I received was perfect and seemed like brand new. One of my favorite rentals for sure.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2014
Loved this dress! Little big in the top though.
I wore a 4, but it was a little big for the top- I have a small top and bigger bottom so, not sure if any size of this dress would have worked- dont recommend for anyone pear shaped. But it was beautiful- just wish it was a tad tighter up top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
July 25, 2014
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress to my event, but it's a great dress!
It was tight in the bust (I'm a 34D) and slightly longer than I wanted (I'm 5'3"). I was so sad I couldn't wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2014
Simple LBD, perfect for a night out!
This dress runs large- I usually wear a 2 and went with the 0. But it's very comfortable, has an extra clasp inside the dress to keep it from shifting and sliding down- which I loved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 8, 2014
Great for a night out
Fits true to size. Pretty comfortable ...I loved that it had pockets. The inside lining has wiring so it has a lot of support so I didn't have to wear a strapless bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2014
Size down!
I am typically a 6 or an 8 and had to use fabric tape to keep the 6 in place. Great dress and very flattering but its a larger fit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 17, 2014
Super comfortable and had pockets!
Really comfortable dress and for the most part it fit true to size. I however, have a fairly small bust and tend to be a dancing machine. I did have to keep pulling the top up to keep it from slipping to my waist. I didn't get a back up size but I think that the 0 might have fit me better.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Perfect For Prom
It was way to big at the top! I had to order another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 17, 2014
Loved the pockets!
Great party dress! I rented this for a bachelorette party and it was great. The pockets were nice to have all night. The back of the dress isn't the most flattering as I feel it accentuates love handles but I did get quite a few compliments on the dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2014
So classy and comfortable!!
I wore this dress for my last sorority formal and I was looking for a classic and chic look - I definitely found it! I was worried about the fit because I have wider hips for my frame (32 inch bust, 26 inch waist, 39 inch hips) but they are right when they say there's room for curvy hips! The length was perfect for me and I'm an average height. The bust was a tiny bit too big but not big enough to where I could have gone done a size. Nothing a little dress tape couldn't fix! Plus the built-in belt thing for your waist made a big difference! This dress was so comfortable and the shape was so flattering for my figure. The fabric is gorgeous and I received so many compliments all throughout the night! I love it so much that I don't want to return it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
Nice dress
It fit great. I have a smaller waist and thicker legs. It covered it and made me look so tiny.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 21, 2014
Perfect little black dress! Simple but elegant.
This dress was perfect! Very flattering cut that hides a little tummy perfectly. It's simple but fun and comfy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
March 23, 2014
Law School Formal
For some reason, this dress in a size 0 was huge in the bust but SUPER short. I am only five feet tall, yet the dress was so much shorter than the other user pictures that it was nearly indecent - I could not sit down! The size 2 seemed longer, but was way too large. I think that maybe the size 0 is cut incorrectly? I will say, however, that the staff of RTR are simply wonderful. They not only shipped a panicked me a new dress overnight, but were incredibly helpful. They also promptly refunded an ordering error that I made. Bottom line: RTR is incredible, this dress in a size 0 is not.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 13, 2014
Simple but beautiful
I wore this dress for my Law School graduation. I have a curvy athletic build, and this dress softened me and was very comfortable. I do not have a very big chest however, and the chest area was a little loose. Other than that, it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
November 19, 2013
This dress has POCKETS.
The bodice is a bit tight, there is boning... but the waist is high enough that I could breathe and not have to worry about the muffin-top effect. Simple and elegant. A bit hard to dance in, the leg opening is small. So as long as you aren't "getting down" you're good to go!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 14, 2013
This dress is perfect, flattering and comfortable.
I have rented this dress three times now. It is such a classic black dress, very comfortable, incredibly flattering, and bonus, it has pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
Superb customer service!
I mistakenly ordered only one size (2) that arrived the day before my event (a wedding in NYC). The two didn't fit and I called RTR at 5pm on a Friday in a panic. Their customer service is excellent, and a size 4 was delivered to the hotel where the wedding was held the day of the event. I picked up the dress when I checked in and it was perfect! Comfortable dress with convenient pockets. I was able to wear it without a bra and felt comfortable throughout the night. It paired well with the Slate and Willow, Ladies Who Lunch Necklace. Another successful RTR purchase!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 18, 2013
great dress overall!
this dress was really pretty on, but a little tight in the bust. i ended up sizing up to the 10. the only other issue was the rental was pretty worn & ripped on the inside. otherwise it's a great dress that i would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2013
Great for a formal affair!
This dress was very flattering and great for my company Christmas party! However, the wire in the dress was coming out and was poking me all night, which was uncomfortable. But overall, it was a good dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Great party dress, looks great and the fabric was so cool!
Accentuates the "girls" and I loved that about the dress!! Great material and the dress was so flattering! This dress looked amazing with the turq isle rj grazino necklace!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2013
I rented this last minute for my own birthday party and was psyched with my RTR experience.
This dress is a little less formal than I initially thought from the photos but still works perfectly as your Friday night "little black dress" which was exactly what I was aiming for. My boyfriend loved it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 12, 2013
This dress got me so many compliments!
I have a bigger chest, so I was stuck between the 6 and the 8. I ended up choosing the 6 because I wouldn't have to worry about it falling down since it was a formal event. I was a bit squeezed and it had to adjust because it would twist to one side throughout the night. Super comfortable and the pockets were really convenient!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
The Perfect LBD
I rented this for my birthday in Vegas, and it was perfect for the occasion. It was comfortable and stylish and best of all it had pockets. The length is a little short, but becuase of the shape of the skirt, it stayed in place all night. It was comfortable for dancing, although it did periodically shift to the right and had to be adjusted. But overall, great pick.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
Really nice basic black dress--with pockets!
Fit TTS
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2013
Flattering dress for a fun night!
Fit really well and looks like a really expensive dress. Paired it with a chunky necklace and it was perfect!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
February 21, 2013
this was the perfect dress for a wedding I had to attend. I ended up buying this on sale somewhere
It runs true to size. well proportioned. Not too big or too small on the chest. Was not too too short
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 9, 2013
I loved the dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding I attended.
I thought that I was a size 10 but I'm so happy because I found I lost weight. I fit the size 8, which came with the size 10 dress, with room to spare. I really loved the fact that there was extra security in the bosom area since I'm like an A cup and had to use breast enhancers to fill out the front! lol I'm 5'10" with an athletic build and this dress was the perfect length and suit my body just fine! Thanks Rent the Runway!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Great dress, a little tight on the bottom... If you're curvy, size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
December 24, 2012
I loved having the option of this dress and another one for NYE
I rented this is a backup for NYE. It was a cute dress, but I ended up wearing my first choice instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
Great fit and comfortable!
I loved the extra inner support, no need to wear a bra and it stayed up the whole night! The color and pattern on the dress is even more pretty in person. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2012
Great service.
Received this dress hours before an event, and unfortunately, I was only able to receive one size. It was too big, mostly in the bust :-( so I had to go with something else. Great service, though, and I definitely will be using RTR again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2012
Many events to attend during the holidays in Austin and getting a fab dress w/o having to buy!
Structured like a bustier top, some people may not have needed to wear a bra but I was in between sizes and went up a size to avoid looking squeezed in. With the larger size I needed help holding up the dress so I wore a strapless bra with it. Got so many compliments and felt comfortable and elegant all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 29, 2012
Loved this dress! Fit like a glove and super comfortable
I ordered a 6 and an 8, and both fit, but I felt more comfortable in the bigger size (I didn't want my chest to get smushed). The pockets are an awesome touch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
Sadly, this dress did not work out.
I love Shoshanna dresses! They fit me perfect! I ordered this dress for a wedding. It arrived a bit worn,(boning exposed and color rubbed off the zipper) and I was disappointed. I called RTR, and they immediately shipped another dress that was perfect. It arrived the next morning! Now that's service!!!!! I love RTR!!!!!!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
November 19, 2012
This was the perfect combination of classy and fun for me! Great for my formal!
What a great dress! Wore it to a formal and got lots of compliments. Classy and elegant but short enough to still be fun (even though it was almost too short). I'm 5'4 and usually wear a 2 but it was too big but the 0 fit perfectly. Loved this dress-- perfect for any formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 5, 2012
Great with a statement necklace!
Went with the smaller size as the basic had some stretch to it.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×