Shoshanna

Its My Birthday Dress

$50 rental
$330 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It's My Birthday Dress by Shoshanna is the perfect dress for any birthday party, work event, or shopping day with the girls.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Magenta stretch ottoman. Boat neckline. V back. Cap sleeves. Pleated skirt. Exposed back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

95 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 82
Large 8
Photos 36
CMed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit like a glove! It was fitted on the top but flared out at the skirt, which was perfect since I have a small waist but am bottom heavy. It was incredibly comfortable and I was able to dance all night.
Jocelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous color, fun dress. Wore with black tights and booties - a great look for a business event where I wanted to make an impression, but not show too much skin. Keep in mind that because of the fabric, you will probably need to iron it a bit before wearing. Also the side seams where the pockets (YAY pockets!!) are starting to fray a little (at least on the size 12) but nothing overtly noticeable.
T
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Very nice dress. Excellent fabric. Pockets are a real plus. Comfortable to wear. The length was perfect hitting me above the knee but not too short. I wore it similar to the model with black shoes, stockings, and jewelry. Only negative was that the waist hit me mid-rib cage which gave it more of an empire waist than it looks on the model. I do not look my best in empire waist style dresses so I wore a cropped black silk knit cardigan with one button buttoned over my waist which seemed to cinch in the look a bit so that I looked less pregnant. At 5'4" and 115 lbs, I don't look chubby, but alas, I fail to maintain continuous tummy control and perfect posture at all times. So the lack of a proper waist can give me a not-so flattering look. Overall, excellent dress. I won't rent it again, but that's because there are so many other great ones to try!
NewMomTake2
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

Great For "4th Trimester"

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a NYC rehearsal dinner. I just had a baby a few weeks ago, and it worked perfectly for me - hid the extra softness around the middle and was forgiving through the hips. Was easy for nursing and also kept the chest appropriately covered (mine is too big for my liking right now). I needed a size 10, but it wasn't available. I went up to a 12, which was not great but fine. Only complaint is that it went all the way to my knee. With this neckline, that length made it more matronly than the model's photo. Also, while the color is very rich and beautiful, I would recommend a statement necklace.
Bethany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2011

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my work Holiday Party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it! The fit was great. I loved the length- it was just a few inches above my knee- Long enough to be work appropriate, but short enough to be fun. I also loved the pockets! This was the first RTR dress I've gotten and was really pleased with the whole process. I was pretty nervous about wearing a dress I've never tried on before, but no need to worry. I got the 2 and the 4, and both sizes actually fit. Oh, one thing to note- in the picture online the dress looked like it was made out of satin, but the actual fabric had a little bit of texture to it, which I actually really liked.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 24, 2011

Cute and Comfy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful! It is a great color, modest but still sexy and flattering. I wore it to my husbands company Christmas party and had many compliments and stood out in a crowd. Loved that it had pockets, and tiny snaps to prevent bra straps from slipping. No spanx, pantyhose or nylons needed. The chest was a bit roomy, but easily fix with bra inserts. My back up dress was great too! Great rental.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5' 2.5" so I made sure to select a dress that wouldn't hit me too low. This dress was just above the knee which made it very flattering. I wear either a 10 or a 12 and rented both. Both fit but the 10 was a bit snug just above my waist so I wore the 12. I do feel that the bust area is a tiny bit on the small side because but it could also be because of my shape. I've lost over 100 pounds and this dress made me feel awesome. It was very comfortable and easy to wear.
RTR fan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Feb 20, 2012

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was such a cute dress and really comfortable and easy to move in. I paired it with black tights, black platform heels, and a black cardigan for a winter birthday party. I got a lot of compliments on the outfit. I would rent this again.
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

I loved my Birthday Dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The name of this dress was perfect for my birthday celebration. It fit like a glove! In person, the color is darker than what you see in the picture but it's still an absolutely adorable dress. I received many compliments on it and even with flats I still felt like a birthday princess! I highly recommend this for any party you have coming up.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 28, 2012

Not flattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress based on the positive reviews and cute pics of others wearing it, but this was just not at all flattering on me..... maybe it was the wide neckline or cap sleeves, but as soon as I put it on, it looked like I had gained about 15 lbs. Sent both sizes back and received a credit from RTR. First time I have not had total succss with a rental, so I was very pleased that the return was so simple! Love RTR, just not this dress!
NC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2012

Pretty But Not for Large Bust

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this in two sizes. The smaller size fit best, but there wasn't enough room in the chest... at all! Sadly, the larger size had a rip on the skirt, so I didn't end up wearing it.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 14, 2012

LOVE LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my birthday party and absolutely loved it! The material is great (a little darker than the photo) and the fit is awesome. It runs a little large; I wore the smaller size no problem. I recommend this dress for anyone!
Carol1na
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

loved this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a my husband's work reception welcoming new employees. It was held at the Renaissance Hotel. I wore black mini chain earrings that brushed my shoulders, no necklace and a wide black belt with mini chain/braided leather inset. Stacked onyx and black enamel bracelets on one arm and black patent platform heels finished the look. The color is fantastic on brunettes with olive skin (me!). It made a fabulous impression
Shani
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Most comfortable dress ever!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress to wear to a summer wedding. I ordered a size 6 and 8. The six fit but was a little too short for my comfort and the height of heel I was planning to wear. The dress was extremely comfortable and as a plus has pockets! The wedding was outside and the temperature was about 85-90 degrees and the material was breathable but not light enough to show perspiration. My only complaint is that the back of the dress is not as low as what is pictured on the model, so the drama that I was anticipating was not really there. I would highly recommend this for any semi formal event!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 17, 2012

LOVE this dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's rehearsal dinner and loved it. The fit was amazingly comfortable and runs true to size. I think the dress would be flattering on most body types and would recommend renting it. I even bought the same dress in gold with green stone embellishments.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Perfect LPD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is just perfect for a formal dinner party.
Miatta
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Body type: Pear
Aug 25, 2012

Nice Fit

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress arrived in a timely fashion. The color was somewhat off from what it looked like on the website, but still a nice dress. I loved the fit and could have wore the size 10 but the 12 was looser and slightly longer, which I preferred. Overall and great dress.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 4, 2012

Spicy!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love love looove this dress! Great color and fun for dancing. Tight across the bust so heads-up to anyone over a B cup.
Kacie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2012

Made me feel confident and everyone loved the color.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran true to size, but was tight in the bust. I am a small C cup, so anyone with a bigger bust would definitely want to go a size up. I like to hide my tummy and hips and it was just the right fit, just full enough in the skirt to hide my problem areas.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Lovely dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It's a lovely dress but unfortunately rent the runway ran out of my second size so I was unable to wear this. I would suggest sizing down. I am 5'4" and 117lbs and the 2 was slightly baggy, I would have done better with the 0.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 27, 2012

First RTR Experience

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first dress I rented from RTR and it did not disappoint! I wore this to a wedding and received compliments all night - I wore it with the Kate Spade "ritz" jewelry and it was a great combo together. The color is a little more of a dark purple than pink though.
jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

The fit and color were great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved how thick the material was, got so many compliments on the color!
jess
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

great dress, nice fabric, and the color is very vibrant!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this was my first RTR experience and it was so easy and affordable. i loved the color of the dress and i got soooo many compliments. i paird it with a statement necklace and black tights and shoes, like the original photo. i would recommend this dress for birthday parties and even formal events. lots of people told me the dress is very "charlotte" from sex and the city.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Color is deep and beautiful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit it great - dress is flattering
Jillian
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Wore this for my sister's wedding rehearsal and everyone loved it! I didn't want to send it back.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I needed a simple dress for my sister's wedding rehearsal and this was the perfect dress for it! I could only rent one dress, the size I normally wear, and thankfully it fit wonderfully! I loved how it was nice and loose on the bottom and tight on top. Plus it was a great dress for the fall. At the end of the night, I didn't want to take it off. And I was really sad that I had to send it back. I would rent this dress again and recommend it to all my friends!
Chesney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 24, 2012

I wore this for recruitment and i loved it!! got so many compliments!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fits true to size and very comfortable.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

This dress fit amazing. It worked for the cocktail party that I was going to and I felt great in it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a bit large in the back, but that made up for the fit in the front due to my large breasts.
Jennine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Got tons of compliments on the color and style!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I usually am a 4 on top and a 6 on bottom. I wound up wearing the size 2. Had no problem fitting my hips because of the flair in the skirt.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

It wasnt as pretty in person as it was in the picture.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was much shorter than I thought and cut right under my boobs so was more of a baby doll type dress. Not appropriate for wedding
Cherelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

very nice dress and comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a little issue with the bust area. The waist of the dress fit perfectly, but I felt like maybe a previous person stretched out the bust. It wasn't that bad though because I worked it out and still got to wear it to my event! And it is a very comfortable dress; I wore it for hours.
Skippie21
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Dec 19, 2012

perfect ladylike dress, great color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
perfect for a party or date
Noelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Great tailoring.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a family wedding. It fit like a glove with great tailoring and I wanted to keep it forever.
elizabethp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

Beautiful color, lovely fabric

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress. I wore it for my cocktail engagement party. I pared it with black panty hose & heels, and pearl statement necklace almost identical to the model. The fit & frabric were goregous. My only complaint is that the dress looked VERY worn...especially under the arms and along the edge of the bottom. Looks like it need to be "retired!"
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

pretty color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is a really pretty color, but it is a little bit shapless. I didnt love how it fit, or the shape of the dress. Might be good for some people but I didn't love it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

The color of this dress was beautiful, but you can tell it had been worn a lot before.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was definitely a worn-in dress, but for good reason! This dress was true to size, and a little stretchy, which was nice in the bust area. Only certain bras will work with it, due to the material in the bust, so if you have the right undergarments, this dress will be perfect. Perfect fit!
Lynn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2013

Cute dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this was cute, but not quite as nice as the picture. I wore to a work Christmas party with black tights and booties. Fabric is nice and color is bright. I wore the size 8, my only complaint was it was slightly tight in the bust and not quite snug enough around the waist so it could have been more figure flattering but it still looked nice.
Valerie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

It was a beautiful color that popped and made all the pictures very vibrant.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I think the dress fit perfectly for a size 4!
April
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Many compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The color is great! More pinker than purple and it just is really fun. It even has pockets!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 13, 2013

Great for short ladies

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This is the dress I was hoping to wear for my graduation, but I actually went with a different dress I ordered instead. This dress is very cute, but is not flattering on long-waisted women. The 2 fit around my body but the waist hit too high on me and looked like a maternity dress, plus I thought the hem was a bit short for what I was going for. I think this dress would be great for a woman with my bust/waist measurements but is 5'3 or under.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Great Classy Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a fall wedding in Florida. It fit well but was a little tight across the bust with a push-up bra. The only downside was that it wrinkled easily - had to re-iron in my hotel room between the ceremony and the reception. I received a lot of compliments and felt comfortable all night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×