Shoshanna

Its My Birthday Dress

$50 rental
$330 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

It's My Birthday Dress by Shoshanna is the perfect dress for any birthday party, work event, or shopping day with the girls.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Magenta stretch ottoman. Boat neckline. V back. Cap sleeves. Pleated skirt. Exposed back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2012
Pretty But Not for Large Bust
I rented this in two sizes. The smaller size fit best, but there wasn't enough room in the chest... at all! Sadly, the larger size had a rip on the skirt, so I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 14, 2012
LOVE LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress for my birthday party and absolutely loved it! The material is great (a little darker than the photo) and the fit is awesome. It runs a little large; I wore the smaller size no problem. I recommend this dress for anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 7, 2012
Loved wearing this! Got lots of compliments.
I rented this dress for valentine's day and it was perfect. I ordered the 6 and 8 and I went with the six. I would say it runs true to size but size up if you have a fuller bust. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2012
loved this dress
I rented this dress for a my husband's work reception welcoming new employees. It was held at the Renaissance Hotel. I wore black mini chain earrings that brushed my shoulders, no necklace and a wide black belt with mini chain/braided leather inset. Stacked onyx and black enamel bracelets on one arm and black patent platform heels finished the look. The color is fantastic on brunettes with olive skin (me!). It made a fabulous impression
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 17, 2012
My friends all loved the dress. I thought it looked very fun but they assured me it had a "sexy" look to it too. :-) RTR was great to work with! My backup size was no longer available (recently damaged) so they allowed to select ANY other dress in the shop that was still available, regardless of price, as my back up and still had it all to me the next day! GREAT service!!
I wore this to the opening of my portrait studio and think it's a beautiful dress! Color is great! My only complaint was that I'm short waisted and the dress puckered a bit below my chest as a result. Still loved it though!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 19, 2012
Perfect LPD
This dress is just perfect for a formal dinner party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2013
pretty color
This dress is a really pretty color, but it is a little bit shapless. I didnt love how it fit, or the shape of the dress. Might be good for some people but I didn't love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2013
easy, flattering, and a great color!
This was a flattering and easy look for a fall wedding. I wore it with black tights, heels, and a chunky necklace. I loved it !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 2, 2012
Color is deep and beautiful
Fit it great - dress is flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
February 27, 2013
Cute Dress!
I rented this dress for my birthday, it was a little short for me but I have very long legs so I always feel dresses are a bit shorter then they need to be. It was comfortable I I love the color. I would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2013
Cute dress
I thought this was cute, but not quite as nice as the picture. I wore to a work Christmas party with black tights and booties. Fabric is nice and color is bright. I wore the size 8, my only complaint was it was slightly tight in the bust and not quite snug enough around the waist so it could have been more figure flattering but it still looked nice.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
March 13, 2013
It was a beautiful color that popped and made all the pictures very vibrant.
I think the dress fit perfectly for a size 4!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 24, 2013
Many compliments
The color is great! More pinker than purple and it just is really fun. It even has pockets!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2013
pretty color, nice fit, flattering
I can imagine this would be tight for bigger-chested girls -but worked well for me ;-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
Not flattering for girls with ANY cuve
I didn't wear this dress - it was my back up. I really wanted to love it, but as you can see from the two photos, it's not flattering on the waist because it falls on the hips. The color is beautiful, but the dress i got was badly warn, and it wasn't flattering. highly recommend this dress for a size 0-2, and about 5'8" +
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2013
All of the party guests were amazed that I rented the dress and that it looked and fit perfect!
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. Being in NJ, the fabric was warm for the outside event. I typically wear a 6 or an 8, and after reading the reviews, I decided on the 6, which fit perfectly. Although I have large boobs, 34DD, they fit in the dress fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2013
Great for short ladies
This is the dress I was hoping to wear for my graduation, but I actually went with a different dress I ordered instead. This dress is very cute, but is not flattering on long-waisted women. The 2 fit around my body but the waist hit too high on me and looked like a maternity dress, plus I thought the hem was a bit short for what I was going for. I think this dress would be great for a woman with my bust/waist measurements but is 5'3 or under.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 26, 2013
Fun dress for a party!
This is a great dress, and I was pleased with the fit. Given that I have a top-heavy body type, I was surprised at how much room the the bust area had. Could be an issue for smaller women. Overall a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 1, 2013
Great dress
Fit like a glove. I wore the larger size as the smaller size fit but was a bit too short for the wedding I was attending. Overall, a beautiful dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 7, 2013
Great dress, great color, and great fit!
Overall the dress was perfect. I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was true to size. The color is really nice too and the length was perfect for me. Plus the dress has pockets which was awesome since I could take my phone with me and snap random pictures on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
August 26, 2013
Classy and sophisticated. Perfect for business.
Rented this dress for a conference and it's very classy and sophisticated. My only qualm was the fabric stains with water. I got a water drop on it and tried to iron it out but it left a slight ring. Other than that, the dress is way appropriate and great for weddings, showers and business functions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 8, 2013
Cute dress for the occasion!
I ordered this dress last minute, because I was invited to a bachelorette party at the last second. Unfortunately I was not able to order my normal size (8) so I requested a 6 and 10 hoping that the 6 would fit. I couldn't get it zipped up all the way so I had to settle for the 10. The fit was okay, I wish it fit a bit tighter, but it was probably because I had no choice but the larger size. The length was great, and the color matched perfectly with a pair of heels I had purchased from Payless for work. I wore it with black tights, the colored heels and a black cardigan because it was a bit chilly. I was a bit overdressed for the group I was with, but I fit perfectly in with the crowd at the party we attended after dinner at the Children's Museum.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2013
Conservative, yet fun look
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding and I really loved it. I am normally between a 4 and 6. I ordered both sizes and ended up wearing the 4. It fit like a glove. This dress is very flattering and there was no need to worry about any trouble spots. I'm 5/2 and it hit about an inch above the knee. I wore a regular bra. The dress is comfortable and the color is gorgeous. I received quite a few compliments and felt totally comfortable to dance the night away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2013
I was too tall!
This dress was beautiful, and made me feel great, but it was way too short for me. Couldn't wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2014
got a lot of compliments at a rehearsal dinner
great color and fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159lbs
April 25, 2014
The Perfect Dress!
I rented this dress to wear for an Easter event and I absolutely loved it! I typically wear a size 8, but it fit a little bit loose in the back. I'm glad I rented the dress a size down because it fit like a glove! The fabric is heavy so I didn't have to worry about it flying in the wind (as I tend to do when wearing this type of silhouette). The color is vibrant and true to the picture. The dress is easy to accessorize. The only problem I had with the dress was that it was a tad bit wrinkled when I received it, and it was hard getting those wrinkles out. It wasn't too big of a deal for me though. Overall, I was very happy with this choice and would rent it again as my go-to dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2011
Beautiful! will definitely be renting it again. I am on the short side and I was happy to see that it still hit me above the knee.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2011
The waist on this dress came in at the middle of my ribs and from there became pretty full. It was not flattering on my body type.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2011
This dress was a perfect fit in a size 6 and I'm 135 lbs and 5'5". I rented another Shoshanna dress and fit perfectly as well. I am definitely a fan of this brand now.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2011
LOVE this dress! I got several compliments and it fit perfectly! I do wish the zipper had been set in the black but other than that perfect!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 9, 2011
Loved this dress! Wore it to my bridal shower and received a ton of compliments. Such a pretty, vibrant color!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
November 22, 2015
Fit well but way too much fabric on the bottom. Color wasn't what I expected either. I didn't end
Fit true to siz
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
A very happy day complimented by a great dress!
This was my first experience of RTR and I loved every second of it. The dress fit perfectly and worked well for a colorful look for my bridal shower. I am not a big shopper and loved the ease of RTR. Delivery was timely and the return was so easy. I loved it so much, I also ordered my bachelorette party and rehearsal dinner dresses from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
Compliments the whole night on how beautiful the dress was and how perfect it fit!
I ordered a size 4 and backup size 6 but wore the 4. It fit like a glove. If anything the bust was slightly a tad too tight but I also have a larger bust. Overall though, LOVED it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Love this dress!
Love this dress! It was so comfortable and I got so many compliments on it. The color was beautiful and the fit was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2012
This dress gave me the conservative but trendy look that I was hoping for!
I wore this for my family engagement dinner for everyone to meet each other. I love the dress because it is so simple and you can wear some really fun jewelry with it!! I wore this with black tights and black booties and it really was a cute, conservative look.
HILCIAFebruary 11, 2013
Love how your date's tie matches the dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
April 19, 2013
I felt royal in this dress!
This dress definitely was true to size. It would also look great with an embellished belt!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2013
This dress was very comfortable!!! I really enjoyed the pockets and just how the dress flowed.
Very comfortable and a really nice purple color. Received a lot of compliments =)
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2010
I wore this dress at a holiday party and absolutely loved it! I have olive skin and dark hair so the bright color was very flattering. I highly recommend this dress - it is flattering, comfortable, cute and trendy. The dress also has pockets for storing cash or something small like a lipstick.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 12, 2011
I rented the 4 and the 6 and am typically a 6 dress size. However, both dresses did fit - I just felt more comfortable in the 6 so I wore that one for one of my bridal showers. I am on the tall side and it hit midway between my thighs and my knees - perfect! I got so many compliments on the dress and as my 1st rent the runway purchase, I was very pleased!!!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×