Erin Bow Sheath

$94 to buy
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

This Shoshanna sheath is for the grown up girly girl! A classic look for semi-formal evening events where you'll dance the night away with your family and friends. Go with a fab clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace and black silk satin. Crew neckline. Front bow. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
189 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(30)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
July 3, 2014
I got so many compliments on this cute dress!
I wore this to a gala that we attended for my husband's job. It fit perfectly! I love the bow detail, and the pockets meant I didn't even need an evening bag ... so convenient! The cut of the dress is very flattering on someone (like me) who has a bit of a tummy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2014
wore for black tie work event. fit very true to size and was perfect for the type of occasion.
wore for black tie work event. fit very true to size and was perfect for the type of occasion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2014
This dress is fantastic! I loved the details on the top, the pictures do not do it justice!
The fit was perfect and I loved the pockets!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2014
Loved it! Classic Dress for a Wedding
So this was not the first dress I had chosen. Unfortunately my first pick came back damaged, however after some great customer service with RTR they made my first experience a memorable one. They even sent extra options to arrive at my hotel for a wedding. Im glad I got two sizes in this because the 0 just seemed a tad too tight because of the arm holes. This dress made me feel so beautiful at a very fancy Jersey wedding. Thanks again RTR for making every effort for my first experience to make me want to come back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 20, 2014
True to size, elegant and simple.
I was pretty happy with this dress overall - cute, simple design. If you're smaller busted it's comfortably loose yet still fitted throughout the top and pretty forgiving on the bottom. I don't know that I loved the pockets as they did make the dress come out a bit on the sides. I would consider wearing this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 27, 2014
The quick and easy return process
This dress was amazing!! It fit like a glove, was comfortable, easy to dance in, and I received compliments all night. By far my favorite rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
July 28, 2014
Got so many compliments
Its a very classy looking dress and I got alot of compliments. It fits true to size but I usually wear a zero and this was just a little on the tight side but it looked like it fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 5, 2014
The dress is as the picture shows - very cute but be careful, definitely runs small.
Loved this dress so much, it was very pretty. Unfortunately I could not wear it, though. I am typically a size 8 to 9 and although I ordered the size 10, the fit was just too tight around the hips for a comfortable wear all evening. I definitely suggest ordering at least a size larger than you normally would.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 6, 2014
The dress was perfect for my piano recital
The dress fit perfect and looked expensive and elegant
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2014
very elegant dress...love the bow
you may need to go a size up its a bit snug in the bodice....very flattering and pretty!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
October 2, 2014
Backup dress - didn't fit
This was my backup dress. Luckily, I loved the other dress as this one did not fit. It is very cute and extremely lightweight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2014
RTR customer service saved the day...again!
I ordered this dress after a different Shoshanna dress I had ordered didn't fit well... RTR had it at my door the next day! I loved the tight-fitting waist, as that was where the other dress was too big, and it had pockets! The quality of the dress was flawless and the material was heavy enough to be comfortable for an early fall outdoor wedding, but light enough to dance with the girls without sweating like crazy! Everyone I spoke to complemented me on this dress, and I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
October 16, 2014
Beautiful dress, flattering and forgiving
A very nice dress with pockets (that didn't stick out or add unnecessary bulk!) to boot. My boyfriend actually picked this one and we both really liked it for his formal work event. A classy, elegant dress! The materials is just a tad thin but not too bad at all, and on someone who is just under 5'7" I had to be mindful of bending over because it was a little short on me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
October 16, 2014
Loved this dress! It fit perfectly and was the perfect length - top of the knee
I couldn't have asked for a better dress or experience. Will absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 21, 2014
Beautiful dress received tons of compliments
This dress is perfect for any event that you want to feel beautiful for. I wore it to a wedding and received a lot of compliments on the dress. It has pockets which are great to put your phone in while you go dance. I felt that the dress ran a little small...cramming my ribcage/chest in to the dress was a little difficult and the zipper didn't help. Additionally the dress got pretty tight around my legs when I sat down, which wasn't ideal for the wedding or dinner. Luckily I spent most of my time dancing rather than sitting down. I am also a swimmer so I also have broad shoulders and the arm holes were pretty tight. Overall it's a great dress but I'd strongly advise ordering your typical size and a size larger to cover your bases.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
November 8, 2014
This was my first rental, but everything worked out great.
It was a little tight across the bust so I wore the 12 instead of the 10 (like I usually would). Everyone complemented me on the dress all night. It was a beautiful dress. I would rent this again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 26, 2014
Dress was perfect. Great Experience.
The material was great, shiny but not too thin. The length was perfect and there were pockets! My first rental and the process was so easy. The dress arrived the night before and I dropped it off on the Monday after in the convenient ups bag. No muss no fuss. Great experience.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
it was great!
great dress for a holiday party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Many, many compliments
Dress was effortless to wear. It was extremely comfortable & forgiving to the problem areas. It is just a gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2014
Very Audrey Hepburn. I got a ton of compliments
I wore it to my husband's Holiday Party. It was very classic and comfortable. It is tight in the bodice. I would recommend sizing up for backup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
Great for a winter wedding
I wore this dress with tights and a sweater and it looked very nice. However, I was disappointed because when I received the dress the lace was torn in a couple places. Small tears, but still noticeable to me. I have a larger bust and it was a bit tight under the arms, but still easy to move in. The pockets were great for keeping track of my things all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2014
LOVED this dress!
Wore it to my holiday party. It fit perfectly! Had a tone of compliments on it. Even rented the purse in the picture - loved that as well
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2014
Glamorous!
Wore to a rehearsal dinner, dress was super comfy and fit perfectly! Loved it!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 24, 2014
The dress I ordered wasn't able to be shipped. The RTR team offered this one and it was better!
Very fun holiday party dress. I'm smaller on top so it would be snug on larger chested women. The pockets are great and it's roomy in the bottom. Accentuates a small waist!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2015
Great dress for NYE and got tons of compliments!
This dress fit amazing! Plenty of room for dancing (even with wider hips). Very comfortable and even has pockets. I would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
January 10, 2015
Great for graduation!
This review is crazy late as I wore this for my college graduation in May 2012, but I still remember it like it was yesterday! This was my first RTR experience and it turned out perfectly. First of all, my size has changed significantly over the years so my sizes then were Weight: 148 lbs and Bust: 34DD/36 D. I wore this under my gown for the ceremony which was held outside, and it was light enough that I did not get overheated in the sun. Also, the pockets! I loved not having to carry anything - I just had my phone, some money, and my keys which fit in the pockets seamlessly. No one had any idea that I had pockets with all that stuff. This dress was also formal enough for the reception afterward and the celebratory dinner with my family later that night. I haven't had the opportunity yet, but I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 21, 2015
Beautifully made dress
So pretty! Rented this for a work presentation. The fabrics were lovely and high quality. Lace and a bow were such cute feminine touches when paired with a blazer to make it more professional. Only complaint is it was very roomy on me, but I am very petite. The length was just perfect though.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 42
January 31, 2015
Super comfortable!!!
Fit true to size. Very comfortable!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 1, 2015
Fugly
I tried this dress on for a friend's wedding and hated it! It looks much cuter on the website. The top was very snug and the bottom was too baggy I looked like a little girl who was forced to wear an ugly Christmas dress. The bow didn't help either. Unless you REALLY don't want your butt and thighs to have any attention whatsoever, I'd skip this one. On the plus side, I got another dress in time for the wedding! Yippee!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2015
Pretty but not pricey!
I wore this to the theater to see a show with my best friend. It was a comfy dress all evening. Because it's black & neutral, it's easy to dress up with any colors you'd like! It has pockets, which is always fun. I got tons of compliments on my outfit. For those of us with a booty, I will say that the back puckered a little when I was sitting. It wasn't much of an issue, but I did have to adjust it a little each time I sat down. The skirt doesn't give much, either, so getting into/out of the car wasn't as easy as I'd have liked, but for the price and how pretty it is ... I would totally recommend it to friends :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
January 9, 2012
This was a great experience from the moment I paid for my rental to the moment I dropped the dress off at the USPS box. I was shocked that not only did RTR send an already addressed return envelop, but they also gave me double sided sticky tape in case of a wardrobe malfunction and a beautiful garment bag to keep! This won't be the last time I rent from RTR.
I loved this dress so much that I didn't want to return it. The fit was absolutely perfect. A bonus feature that I didn't realize- pockets! The dress has two pockets and you would have never guessed it by looking at it. I received so many compliments on this dress this past weekend. This was my first experience using Rent the Runway, but it won't be my last.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 15, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress is perfect for a cocktail party or formal event that might require a little extra coverage. Well tailored. The skirt has a a nice sheen without being too shiny and a bit of an a-line. The bow detailing hides any extra bulge you might have in the tummy area after the holidays! Put your hand in one of the side pockets and look and feel tres confident! I am 5'4, 138 and wore an 8. I could have gotten away with the 6 but am a little hippy so went for the better fit in the skirt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 22, 2012
In love!
This dress fit perfectly true to size. It is so cute on and doesn't require any crazy undergarments (spanx, etc). Its super comfortable and I got so many compliments with it on! Definitely will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
February 2, 2012
Loved this!
Such a great dress! I enjoyed the pockets, and it was perfect for my formal work event. Conservative, yet fun at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2012
I had the dress delivered right to my hotel! Easy and convenient!
I rented this dress for a formal business function and it was just perfect! I'm a 2 on top and a 4 on bottom so I rented both sizes. The 4 fit perfectly everywhere which means it runs a little small in the torso. The fit was very flattering and I received lots of compliments from my coworkers. Loved the pockets!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 9, 2012
The service and delivery!
I loved this classic dress! I usually wear a size 4 and RTR did not have my size available so I went up a size. The dress was a little big, not a big deal and loved the pockets! I am looking forward to using RTR again, keep up the great work!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2012
I got a TON of compliments on this dress!
I wore this dress for a work event. It was comfortable and pretty, but also conservative. I usually wear a 0, but the arm holes were sooo small on this dress, that I had to wear my backup size 2 (thank goodness for the backup dress!). This was perfect for my work event, as I was planning, organizing, and hosting the party. This dress was easy and professional, yet still beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Body type: Petite
February 24, 2012
Great look
The dress looked great; however, I was disappointed to learn that it was polyester satin, not silk satin as claimed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 21, 2012
Great dress
This dress is simply amazing. Beautiful fit, length, detail, and most of all it's comfortable. I felt very elegant in this dress and I kept getting lots of compliments. It runs true to size and on me it hit about .5 in above the knee (I'm 5'4 and a half) and although it rose to about mid thigh when I sat down it wasn't to the point where it became uncomfortable. Great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 30, 2012
The whole process was super easy and such a brilliant idea! Received quite a few compliments on the dress and being that I had just had a baby 10 weeks ago, I was super happy to hear them!
Loved the style of the dress. I'm usually a 4, but I just had a baby so I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 because the 6 was too large in the hips and looked like a balloon. I have a larger bust and the 4 was definitely tighter in the bust, but I preferred the way it looked elsewhere. Overall, it was a gorgeous dress and an great 1st experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×