Sachin & Babi

Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 21, 2011
Cute, but runs large!
I was going to wear this to our company holiday party but ended up wearing something else from RTR because: 1) it was short (I'm 5'5) and 2) it ran large around the waist area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 26, 2012
great dress, great details
great dress! great color, love the beading, but if you like your dresses to fit snug and show off your body this is not the dress for you. i wished it was a little more fitted of a dress but otherwise gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
loved dress but bad fit
I ordered in both a 6 & 8, the 8 was perfect through the hips but too big on top and the 6 was perfect on top but too small through the hips. Would love to buy the 8 and have tailored for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 1, 2012
Loved the color and detail
I'm petite and small-busted so found the top to be a bit big but not so big that I couldn't wear it. I loved the detailing on top and the color on the bottom so much that I figured it would hide the fact that it was just slightly loose. Great to dance in. I wore bright red lipstick and felt great all evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Great for 30th!
I absolutely love how the yellow contrasts with the top! such a unique dress! And so eye catching! It was perfect for my 30th! The sz 6 fit better up top, but I went with the sz 8 because I was already self-concious about how short the dress is. That is why I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5... because I would have like better if not quite so short. And as before, customer service was outstanding!! P.S./FYI (went with bigger sizes because I still had some baby weight on!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 16, 2013
Cute dress
I ordered a 2 and a 4. The 2 fit my body but the 4 was a better length. I wore this to a wedding rehearsal.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 9, 2011
Love it!
I ordered a size 10 and a backup size 8. They fit similarly, but the 10 was 2-3 inches longer than the 8. I'm 5'4" so I went with the 8. It was super cute on and very comfortable. I was nervous about the tummy area as I still have a little post-baby chub there but it was quite flattering (even without Spanx). The hubby loved it and so did I! I wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
November 10, 2011
Very stylish, feminine, cute!
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding and felt perfectly dressed. Because of the delicately balanced black accents on the waist and shoulders, the dress pairs nicely with sheer black tights, which felt needed since the wedding was in the Northeast, and in November. The top has a blousy fit, but the skirt is more fitted than meets the eye (underneath all the ruffles). The rich metallic beading on the top looks great in person; it lends a lot of visual interest and lets you complete the outfit with minimal accessorizing. Due to the price point, this isn't the dress I originally rented (I do my best to stay sub-$100, lest this become too expensive of a habit!). I had planned on getting the Trina Turk Purple Bow Shoulder Dress, but RentTheRunway called the day before my rental was scheduled to arrive to inform me that they had received it at their warehouse. To help make the last-minute replacement easier, they said to pick any dress that was still available. Although this dress was not available in a size 0, which is what I usually wear, the helpful RTR stylist told me that she herself wore this dress in a 2 since it ran small. So, all things said and done, the little mishap worked out in the best way it could have for me. I was lucky that this dress was available on such short notice, since I actually liked it more than the one I had initially settled on. Guess you get what you pay for--if you're looking to splurge a little this isn't a bad way to do it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 1, 2012
I really felt great in this dress, it was super fun! I received a lot of compliments.
This dress fit perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Feeling elegant and fun while giving a toast at my best friend's rehearsal dinner!
Flirty, attention grabbing, elegant, fun! This dress was perfect for an awards event I attended, got many compliments. Loved it so much, I rented it again for my friend's rehearsal dinner. Runs a little snug along the black band in the middle and comfortable fit everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 31, 2011
ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS!! i usually wear a size 0. thankfully i ordered the size 2 as well. the size 0 was snug around the armpits. i paired this dress back with black booties! i'd def rent this again!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2011
Awesome!
I wore this dress to my best friends bridal shower. The dress was perfect. I got this dress super last min because the dress I had previously ordered was not available. The only reason this dress did not get 5 stars was because the dress was a little tight throughout the hips. Overall this dress was great and got many compliments on it! Way more Beautiful in person than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2011
hearing that my dress was beautiful!
I am usually a size 6 in dresses, and ordered the 8 as my backup. Turns out the 8 just fit, and the 6 was way too tight. I'm around a 34C/D cup and have a 28 waist for jeans. but the 8 was perfect. Absolutely LOVED this dress, got a lot of compliments. Also easy to wear bc since it's so loud, you can wear black shoes you probably already own and minimal jewelry. huge hit at my formal :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
Fun!
This dress is the perfect fun party dress. I would say it runs a little small on top. I am always a 4, and rented the 4 and the 6 for this and wore the 6. The 4 would have been harder to zip up and would have "flattened" me in front. The dress is such a perfect mix between, fun, flirty and rocker! Would totally rent it again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2012
HOW EASY IT WAS TO RETURN, HASSLE FREE SHIPPING!
Great stylish dress, got tons of compliments and I would definitely rent for a different occasion, highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2012
Fits very tight
I loved this dress but it runs VERY small. I am curvy - size 6/8 , 34C and it was very tight and I had to return it :( RTR was very helpful though and sent a size 10 which was still too tight in the bust.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 20, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party in Vegas and loved it! Great fit, very comfortable and I received several compliments on the style. I definitely recommend it. I went a size up because the size 4 was tight across the backside.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 3, 2012
Pretty dress, runs small
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, but unfortunately it was too tight in the skirt for me to wear. This brand must run small overall. The top fit well for my bust, but the skirt was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 8, 2012
Super cute dress that got compliments from my friend's fiance to randoms at Lolla!
I wore this to a bachelorette party and ended the night at Lollapolooza (where I felt like I fit in with the artists!). Very cute. Like other reviewers, I felt like the rib cage area (around the black band) was really tight but the top area was loose.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Although I was definitely not happy with the quality of one of the dresses I received, I had to change both my rental date and delivery addresses, and RTR could not have been more accommodating! Good customer service is hard to come by and I will not be forgetting the excellent service I received from the RTR staff.
Being new to RTR, I wanted to opt for a dress that got a lot of good ratings, increasing my chances of me liking and looking good in it, so I went with this eye-catching Sachin + Babi number. Definitely runs small. Trying on the 4 was too tight THANKFULLY, because the size 4 dress I received was FRAYING at some parts on the yellow skirt, making me question the whole dress-renting experience. Obviously, people have worn this dress previous to my own rental, but what company has the audacity to send a dress that is literally falling apart at the seams? The size 6 however, was in MUCH better condition, gently used. Very appropriate for a summer day-time wedding! I don't make a habit out of wearing yellow, so this piece is a nice step out of the box if you want to try something different!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
Odd fit for me
This was my back up dress for a wedding. It is stunning in person and I was heart broken I couldn't wear it- it looks like a perfect combo of fun/classy. I'm pear shape, smaller bust, and the reviews said to order a size up- which for me would be a 6, since I normally wear a 4 in this cut dress. The kicker is the lining of the skirt was fitted more like a pencil skirt- there was no give, so while I could get it over my caboose, it looked hooker-tight across my bum. The top was slightly loose (not noticeably so) but I think going up to the 8 would have resulted in the top being too big. While it's recommended for pear shaped gals, I would be conscious of what type of pear you are- if you have a booty, be aware this might be tighter than anticipated. It really is a beautiful dress in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
Great Dress
Does not give in the lower body area at all... if you're curvy, go a size up! Great dress though!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved it!
Basically runs true to size, but a little tight in waste so went with larger size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 29, 2012
Really fun dress with eye-catching pop of color. Good experience overall!
Really fun dress for bachelorette party. I loved the top and the skirt is a fantastic pop of color. Lots of compliments but I must warn to fellow tall girls that it is very short. I stood most of the night but when I sat I did feel like I needed additional coverage. Good experience overall!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
Not A Great Fit...
I wanted to love this dress however it was way too small on bottom:( I ordered this in a 6 & 8 since I'm usually in between sizes, and the 8 fit, however it would have been very uncomfortable for a night out on the town. Overall the dress is very cute, the yellow is a really pretty color and the bead-work on top is gorgeous. Unfortunately the next size was not available the weekend I was looking to rent, so I had to go with another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Great dress for a night out in Vegas!
Beautiful dress! The top gives it an edgy feel while the bright yellow really makes it stand out! The bottom has absolutely no give so if you are bigger on the bottom half, size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2012
This dress fit right in at the museum party - it's a work of art itself!
I originally ordered a 2 and it was a bit tight around my hips. I called RTR and they overnighted me the 4 to have in time for the event (you just pay for the shipping). So easy! I wore this edgy-chic stunner on my birthday to a museum party, and it was perfect. A couple of beads were loose or missing from one side, but no one could tell. Plenty of room in the chest for busty ladies.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2012
The detail on the dress were awesome!
I got the 8 and 10 and they fit nearly the same but the 8 seemed to fit best. Great color and flattering shape. Everyone loved it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 25, 2012
Dress was pretty for a sunny daytime date, but I did not like the fit or style in person.
Dress runs small - particularly in the yellow skirt. Would size up. If you are looking for something a bit more dressy, this is not the dress for you. Originally purchased to wear out to dinner, but it is more of a daytime dress in my opinion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2012
I actually ended up sending this dress back.
This dress just fit awkward on me. In some places the 4 fit me, and in others the 6 fit me, but neither dress flattered my body style what-so-ever. I'm 5'5" and 120lbs. I have bigger boobs and a tiny waist, and this dress just did NOTHING for me. Maybe a tall and slender body would do well with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2012
The yellow skirt made the dress really stand out!
Runs small. I wore 1 size up. The skirt part of the dress has no stretch so fits tight to the hip. The top of the dress was slightly big, since normally I'm a size smaller. Overall dress fit well going 1 size up and was really fun and different.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
RTR came to my rescue just in time for a formal event.
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! I got compliments all night... the color is vibrant and beautiful. If only this dress were for sale, I would buy it! Definitely a winner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2013
Lots of compliments!
I wasn't the most comfortable in this dress. There is no give on the fabric and it was VERY tight on my bottom half (true pear-shape body). The defined waist was helpful, but I just didn't think this was the best dress for a somewhat-curvy girl. But, it must be said that I got a LOT of compliments and people kept coming up to me and saying that they heard I got the dress from RTR and asking about it. So, while I may not have been the most comfortable, it certainly looked great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
May 31, 2013
This dress runs small and I wasn't able to wear it.
It is quite tight in the hips.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 29, 2014
Cute dress
I really liked the dress, but I did feel tight around the back area (bra) and even higher waist area. I don't know if it was due to my bigger chest but I probably could have worn a size higher.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 18, 2012
great dresses!
I wore this dress for my 10 year class reunion. What a total hit. The dress is amazing. Great “bling” on top and a cute, flirty bottom. I wore with metallic strappy shoes. The dress is tight across the hips & behind. I typically wear an 8 and though I could get it zipped it was just too tight for dancing all night. The 10 was a tad big on top and if you have a larger waist, like me, the band across the middle section is tight. Slip on some SPANX and this should help. Great, show stopping dress! Thank RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
July 16, 2012
Nothing better than a dress that you feel great in!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding and it was definitely a stand out! Tons of sparkle and super easy to dance in. I found that this dress ran a bit small in the hips/waist and a little larger in the bust but it still fit well and I thought it was gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2012
Best dress on the site!
This dress is adorable! I wore it to my 30th birthday dinner and it was super flirty and fun. I am usually a 4 and wore a 6 in this one. I only wish I had another event to rent this one again. You will not be dissapointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Cute dress but not for big bus
Loved the dress on RTR and wanted to see if it could work for my engagement shoot. Unfortunately, it was too tight in the chest area but could be an adorable dress on someone else! I went with my back up dress instead!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
August 14, 2012
Vegas Bachelorette
I rented this for one night of a Las Vegas bachelorette party. I actually ended up not even wearing it. I don't think it was the dress as much as it was my body type. I am normally a size 8, but the 8 was SUPER tight in the butt area and way too short for me to fee comfortable. The 10 was then way too big up top, and still a ittle tight in the butt area, but I would have worn it if it hadn't been for it being too big up top. It was such a cute dress though- I was bummed I couldn't wear it!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×