Sachin & Babi

Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2011
I ordered this dress a size up from my jean size. I wear a 4 so I ordered the 6. It fit PERFECTLY!! Good thing I'm not too busty, as the embroidered bodice was snug -- but still comfortable. I wore it to a fancy dinner -- a dinner my ex was also invited to. The setting sun hit the sequins and metal pieces so perfectly. So, if you're looking for some attention, I would recommend this great piece! A flashy top half, a bright bottom half. Together, perfection! Oh, and don't worry about the bottom half of the dress when it comes to being see-through. Even though it looks scheer and possibly revealing, it isn't. Overall, a great dress. Thanks RTR!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
August 9, 2011
this dress is so beautiful. i did not want to take it off. the picture does not show the sparkle that embellishment has. this dress is definitely a show stopper. i chose a size 4 and fit perfectly! i am a size 7 in pants (i have hips!) but i do not have a large bust and pretty small up top; so everything fit and looked perfect!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 16, 2011
This dress was absolute perfection! I wore it out for my friend's Bachelorette party. I have never received so many compliments and stares in my life! Literally 10 people stopped me on the street asking where my dress was from. I am a true zero, and this dress fit great. A little snug under the arm, but nothing uncomfortable. I will definitely rent this one (and the one in black) in the future!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding in Mexico and got so many compliments. People were coming up to me all night to tell me how much they liked it - ended up being a great way to meet people! I got and wore the size 4, which is my normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Feeling elegant and fun while giving a toast at my best friend's rehearsal dinner!
Flirty, attention grabbing, elegant, fun! This dress was perfect for an awards event I attended, got many compliments. Loved it so much, I rented it again for my friend's rehearsal dinner. Runs a little snug along the black band in the middle and comfortable fit everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 31, 2011
ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS!! i usually wear a size 0. thankfully i ordered the size 2 as well. the size 0 was snug around the armpits. i paired this dress back with black booties! i'd def rent this again!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2011
Awesome!
I wore this dress to my best friends bridal shower. The dress was perfect. I got this dress super last min because the dress I had previously ordered was not available. The only reason this dress did not get 5 stars was because the dress was a little tight throughout the hips. Overall this dress was great and got many compliments on it! Way more Beautiful in person than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
November 23, 2011
Gorgeous detailing
I rented this for my sister-in-law's wedding in Montecito and it was great. The beading on the top is beautiful and very expensive looking and the skirt is a lot of fun. And being able to wear a regular bra was great! At only 5'4, the skirt hit mid-thigh and felt a bit short for a wedding where I was surrounded by my husband's family, so I wouldn't recommend if you are taller unless you are looking for something really short. FYI, on my screen the skirt looks canary yellow, but it's a true lemon yellow in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2011
hearing that my dress was beautiful!
I am usually a size 6 in dresses, and ordered the 8 as my backup. Turns out the 8 just fit, and the 6 was way too tight. I'm around a 34C/D cup and have a 28 waist for jeans. but the 8 was perfect. Absolutely LOVED this dress, got a lot of compliments. Also easy to wear bc since it's so loud, you can wear black shoes you probably already own and minimal jewelry. huge hit at my formal :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
Fun!
This dress is the perfect fun party dress. I would say it runs a little small on top. I am always a 4, and rented the 4 and the 6 for this and wore the 6. The 4 would have been harder to zip up and would have "flattened" me in front. The dress is such a perfect mix between, fun, flirty and rocker! Would totally rent it again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 21, 2011
Cute, but runs large!
I was going to wear this to our company holiday party but ended up wearing something else from RTR because: 1) it was short (I'm 5'5) and 2) it ran large around the waist area.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2011
Unique!
I got non-stop compliments in this dress at a debutante ball. I wanted the size 4, but it was unavailable, so I ordered the 6. Other than being a tad baggy in the front, the fit was perfect. I am pretty flat chested, and the sequins are heavy, so the weight of the upper dress bagged between my breasts and waist. Obviously, it didn't matter, because I got tons of compliments! just wish I could learn to keep my mouth shut and not admit to everyone that the dress was rented!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 30, 2011
Feeling amazingly sexy in my dress!
I ordered this as my backup dress and immediately when I put it on, it was the #1 choice. So fun and sassy and flirty without being too revealing. I adored it. Wore it on a girls night out with black opaque tights and black suede booties and got tons of compliments.
DanaJanuary 6, 2012
I love how you paired the dress with black tights. I think im going to do the same for my rental. I was wondering though what kind of shoes did you wear?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 4, 2012
After the wedding, my cousin told me I was "best dressed."
This dress was a lot of fun to wear at my cousin's wedding. I received a lot of compliments on it. Only reason I couldnt rate it 5 starts is because some of the "bling" on the front had gone missing or was hanging on by a thread...literally. It wasnt anything that anyone at the event noticed, just me. The skirt is almost like a light chartreuse more than yellow, but I liked it. Another perk of the skirt's color: you'll always stood out in pictures, even when you're in the background.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 6, 2012
Stand out dress!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve and got loads of compliments. It really stood out from all the LBD's and sequins. I wore black pumps and minimal jewelry (stud earrings and bangles) as the dress was so bold on its own. I generally wear a 2 in dresses, but the 4 worked fine. It was a tiny bit big in the bust but not noticeably and fit perfectly in the waist. It might run a smidge large but nothing drastic. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 10, 2012
Loved!
I LOVED this dress and got a ton of compliments. It is a little more "conservative" meaning it is not super short/low cut but the sparkles make the top super cute. Definitely would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 19, 2012
From work to play!
I wore this dress with black tights, patented leather black round toe pumps and a black blazer to the office and then took the blazer and tights off for an event that evening (had to roll right from work to the event with no time to change so needed something like this that would work for both). There really wasn't much difference in the sizing between the size 6 and the size 8 (my backup size), as in very little difference, but the overall fit was good. I did not like the purposefully exposed zipper, I thought it made the dress look cheap, but aside from that I thought this was really cute. The skirt portion is definitely not the bright yellow seen in the picture, much more of a mustard color.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2012
HOW EASY IT WAS TO RETURN, HASSLE FREE SHIPPING!
Great stylish dress, got tons of compliments and I would definitely rent for a different occasion, highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
February 7, 2012
While wearing the dress to shoe shop, several women stopped and were eager to get involved with the selection process. I had many strangers compliment the dress while at the park.
I wore this for family photos taken in the winter. I hoped the bright yellow color would help, and it did. A very pretty dress that received many compliments. It was a little large on the top for me, but I am less than 100 lbs. and 5'1. It wasn't a big deal.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
February 21, 2012
FUN!
I wore this dress to a morning television event and it looked great with a blazer for the morning, and even better as a party dress without the blazer at night! The fabric was very soft and comfortable and fit my body type very well (I have a small bust and the dress made it appear bigger.) I would definitely recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2012
I love wearing dresses by designers that are new to me, and I can introduce them to my friends too. Icing on the cake, is when a guy can actually appreciate a high fashion dress!
I ordered this dress to wear to a friend's Dallas Bachelorette Party. I tried on the 0 first, and it was perfection. The tough metallic top paired with the bright wispy bottom was a great combo. I got so many compliments that night, and loved telling everyone that I was smart enough to rent, not buy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2012
This was so easy. You could spend hours shopping to find a dress that is crazy expensive and that you may not wear more than once. So glad I tried it and it worked out so well.
Absolutely loved this dress. Quality fabric and unique look. Looks way better in person than on the model. Definitely achieved the glamourous look I wanted for my 30th birthday. Zipper was a little cumbersome but fine after you got it up. If you are a smaller bust, plan for smaller size. Tried to wear the 2 but was a bit constraining up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2012
Bachelorette fun!
I got this dress for my bachelorette party and loved it. I'm usually a 4 or a 6 in dresses so I would say this was pretty true to size. The 4 was a little tight in the chest and hips. The photo is 3 of us our RTR dresses :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2012
Fits very tight
I loved this dress but it runs VERY small. I am curvy - size 6/8 , 34C and it was very tight and I had to return it :( RTR was very helpful though and sent a size 10 which was still too tight in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
May 7, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this to a friend's wedding in Vegas and loved it. Although the 4 fit better on top than the 6, the bottom was a little snug so I wore the 6 for some extra room. I got a ton of compliments! The yellow bottom is sheer to be sure to wear nude spanx or a slip. I'm tall so it was a little on the short side - which was just fine for Vegas!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
May 9, 2012
How confident I felt, just from a fabulous dress.
I knew I would love this dress just from all the great reviews by others. It is just such a unique dress that commands attention at an event. I recieved many compliments at the wedding and from others who saw pictures from the wedding. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 20, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party in Vegas and loved it! Great fit, very comfortable and I received several compliments on the style. I definitely recommend it. I went a size up because the size 4 was tight across the backside.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2012
Beautiful Dress
This dress is amazing! It will look beautiful on you!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2012
I accidentally ordered my dress 4 days before my event. I called and spoke with Erica on the phone, she was so nice and understanding and arranged so I could send the dress later than expected. It was hassle free, great experience!
I ordered a 6 & 8. The 6 was bit snug on the bottom so I went with the 8. I had to use some fabric tape (that RTR sent as a sample) on the sides of my bra because the top was a little awkward without it. That is my only complaint about this dress. It was gorgeous and unique and received many compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 30, 2012
Fabulous, flirty, gorgeous!
Love, love, love this dress! I wore this dress to a close friend's wedding. I ordered both the size 2 and 4 because I wasn't sure which size would work for me. I am 5'4 and 119lbs. The 4 fit comfortably on the bottom but was loose for me on top, so I went with the 2. It was short, but not too short, and snugger on my rear (I have a booty!) but was still flattering. I got SO many compliments on this dress! Strangers approached me in the bathroom and told me how much they loved it, and how unique it was. My friends also obsessed over it and told me it fit me like a glove. The wedding photographer even asked my friend and I (also wearing a bright color) to pose for a few photos for his website. Just a note, the skirt looks bright yellow in the photo - it is bright yellow but appears a bit darker in person, with an almost greenish hue to it. Still beautiful! This was my first Rent the Runway experience and it went off without a hitch. Am already thinking of what other weddings I have coming up... may rent a 2nd time! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 4, 2012
The RTR experience was great, customer service was excellent!
The dress fit beautifully and was very slimming. It was a nice length on me but I'm 5'3" maybe short on taller girls. Got lots of compliments, and will be renting again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
June 5, 2012
Phenomenal
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore the size 4 because the size 2 fit, but it was a little snug. I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend this dress for a special occasion if you want to stand out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
June 11, 2012
Great dress
I usually wear an 8 but have been inching toward a 10 lately. I ended up wearing the 10 in this dress. I needed the bigger size to fit my curvy rear and bust. I would recommend some nude shorts or spanx underneath since the bottom is slightly sheer. I received many compliments -- this dress is certainly and eye catcher.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 19, 2012
Gorgeous. Wish I owned it!
I wore this to my company's launch party. It was fun and flirty, but not too revealing or sexy. Fit very well -- slightly tight across the top. Would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Everyone kept complimenting the fun beading and colorful skirt! I danced all night!!
I got so many compliments on this dress! So fun and very comfortable! The fabric of the skirt has little give, so if you have a booty consider going a size up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2012
Seeing my best friends light up when I "unveiled" myself at the party!
Absolutely loved the dress, worked perfectly for my going away party and my friends kept commenting how stunning it was on, perfect for a summer evening or bachelorette party. The 8 felt more stretched out and loose than the 10 so I went with wearing that, but the top definitely runs a little big, since it has the metallics and beads to weigh it down. I will definitely be renting again, such a simple process and great looks to go for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2012
My Fiance kept telling me how great the dress was and that I should keep it because it looks so great!
This dress was 1. absolutely gorgeous, 2. totally different and 3. absolutely gorgeous. I wore this this past weekend for an outdoor wedding. Everyone commented on how different and fun the dress was. I felt so great in it as well. I hope I have another occasion to rent this dress for in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 3, 2012
Pretty dress, runs small
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, but unfortunately it was too tight in the skirt for me to wear. This brand must run small overall. The top fit well for my bust, but the skirt was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Loved it!!
Loved this dress - bright fun bottom with the gorgeous sequin top - all one piece. I received so many compliments on this dress the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 25, 2012
Everyone commented on how unique and fun this dress was.
This was such a fun dress! Very fitted in the lower half so I'd say it's true to size or go up one.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×