Knight in Shining Armor Dress

$125 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have nothing to wear in your closet? Rent this fabulous Sachin + Babi beaded shift for the big night out ahead with your girlfriends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size70
Small23
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
This dress was comfy and subtle, yet stunning. It was perfect for the rehearsal dinner.
The detail on the bottom was great but made it a little snug for me - but I tend to be a bit bigger on the bottom anyway. Felt more comfortable sizing up with the 6 rather than the 4 I normally wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2012
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding. It got a lot of compliments!
This dress has a very flattering shape . If you are busty, you may need to go a size up from your normal size. I am 5'8 and the dress was shorter on me than the model, so it may not work for taller girls as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2012
Classy
This dress is beautiful. I didn't want to return it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress for the wedding I rented it for.
I liked the dress, but I'm wider in the hip area so even the larger size seemed to tight around the hips for me to enjoy a night of eating, drinking, and dancing. It was very pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
high impact but fits very snug
i originally ordered this dress in yellow, however, the backup size was not available in that color so i received it with the blue skirt. And thank god! The yellow dress in size 8 wouldnt even zip! the blue one in also a size 8 fit but was a little tight especially int he bust and im only a B cup...im thinking there was a wrong label somewhere. i ended up having a great night in this dress; it is very flattering, i got lots of compliments and felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 14, 2012
Its an eyecatcher!
I loved this dress. I got a zero and it fit well definitely shorter than the picture on the model, which I was hoping for. I got so many compliments on it. There so much going on at once but it works. I gave it four stars just because I don't think it would be good for a classier occasion or someone who like simpler things.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
Birthday date with my fiance: romantic dinner then the theater!
PROS: The beautiful detailing of the dress were well reflected in all the photos - especially the beading on the top. The color combination was great as well. The fit was very flattering, which is what I expected after viewing the multiple pics posted showing the dress looks great on most any type of figure. CONS: The skirt fit a bit snug, although my bottom half is on the curvier side. However a size 8 is typically a good fit, so I would say it runs a bit small. The dress also looked VERY WORN. It has apparently been worn and cleaned many times and probably was ready for retirement a few rentals ago. Fortunately the details hid those flaws from afar.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 3, 2012
I wasn't able to wear the dress because it didn't fit me correctly. Both sizes were too large.
The detail on the top is what caught my eye. As well as the more conservative neckline because I was going to around my boyfriend's family for a wedding event. The dress ran too large for me (0 and 2). A 0 could have possibly worked but still wasn't as flattering as I wanted. Overall great, pretty dress.. just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
I loved this dress so much that I wished I owned it
I wore this dress to a wedding with patent black pumps. I found the size 6 to be only slightly tight for my comfort but I don't think it was noticeable to anyone else. The length of the dress seemed to be appropriate and overall the dress was very flattering. There were some bugle beads missing and some picks/piling on the back of the dress, otherwise, the dress seemed to be in good condition. This dress is much prettier in person. The a beads looked expensive and the texture on the skirt was amazing. I wish though that for a dress with such amazing details that they designers had put in bra strap holders.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2012
My moment was memorable because I did not have to stress out about what to wear!
Fit was perfect, the beading detail is gorgeous.The color was so flattering for my fair skin. A perfect dress that can be dressed up and down--I wore it with a blazer and flats to a friend's birthday party.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Rent The Runway never fails to impress!
I had originally rented the Love Me In Lemon dress but one of the sizes I ordered had been damaged. Rent The Runway sent me this dress as a replacement and it actually fit the best. The first dress I ever rented was this same designer and I rented a 6 and an 8. I wore the size 6 but it was a little big through the hips. This time I rented the 4 and the 6 and the 6 fit again. The bottom of the dress is a great blue color that doesn't come across well in the picture. This dress can definitely be dressed up or down for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved it! Got so many compliments!
I rented the 4 and the 6, since I have a larger bust, I had to size up to the 6 because there is absolutely no stretch in the fabric. Received many compliments and was comfortable all night! Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
September 19, 2012
Completely wowed the party with this dress. I needed to make a statement, and I definitely did!
It gives you a great waist, and it looks better if you go for the smaller that you fit into. Otherwise, it just looks all sorts of baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
September 17, 2012
Great for the wedding! So fun and flirty. Fit great
Love the sparkle. Would rent again
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Beautiful dress!!
LOVED this dress! Fit perfect and I got compliments all night. From the photo I thought the bottom of the dress was black but it is actually navy. I will be renting this dress again very soon!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
I L-O-V-E-D this dress! Perfect for my rehearsal dinner!
I had originally ordered the TIBI orange crush sheath dress and when it did not fit, RTR was kind enough to express ship this item as a backup. Thank goodness my size was available because it was absolutely perfect! My wedding was January 28, and this dress was the perfect rehearsal dinner dress. I ordered both the size 4 and the size 6. The 4 ended up being perfect. I had to rack my brain to come up with a complaint - BUT I can see how some people might think the arm holes are a little small, however I wore it all evening and it did not bother me a bit. Got so many compliments! Hated to return :(
MadeleineSeptember 30, 2012
Hey! I'm thinking about getting this dress for my High School Homecoming. I'm worried it may be a little long. What do you think?
RTR CustomerOctober 9, 2012
Hi Madeleine! The length of the dress depends on how tall you are- if you're pretty tall it'll be around mid thigh length, if you're around 5'5 it'll be a few inches closer to your knee!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Wedding rental
I got this dress in and 4 and a 6 and I've worn a 4 in all of the other dresses I've rented. Many reviewers complained the dress was tight in the hips, but I found it was very tight up top and really cinched my back and shoulder area creating an unflattering look. When I sized up to the 6 it was a bit loose in the waist and hips area. It was a pretty dress and I got a lot of compliments on it. The bottom half is a really pretty blue which isn't really captured on the model's photo.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
September 3, 2012
Love this dress so much!
Rented this dress for a black tie fundraiser in April 2012. Ordered the 2 and the 4. I am usually a 2, but the 4 just hung better on me. The skirt is shorter, hit me mid-thigh. The top fit perfectly, and it is a really comfortable dress. (you can wear a regular bra!) My body type is bigger on top (36C) and straight down on the bottom, so the texture of this skirt balanced me out well. I got tons of compliments and have searched all over the internet to try to buy this dress! But no luck!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 2, 2012
I loved the look of this dress, and wearing something in the room unlike anybody else. That is what made me feel so beautiful all evening.
I originally rented the Jackie O Dress by Black Halo in a Size 10. Long story, but I ended up renting this dress instead. I have to say, the Black Halo dress runs really small- I couldn't even get it to zip up the whole way. Anyway, this Knight in Shining Armor dress looks so nice in person! Very pretty, the skirt is comfortable and the design is so neat. I have a larger bust, and the top was only slightly snug, but was not at all uncomfortable through dancing etc. The only minor complaint about the dress would be the black band at the top of the skirt. It isn't completely sewn onto the dress, and the band will fold (like after you've been sitting a while), so you can see the material underneath. I was fixing it throughout the evening, but don't think anyone noticed. Also rented the earrings, which weren't heavy at all- despite the appearance. They were quite comfortable and definitely complimented the dress. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
August 29, 2012
Shaking it in sparkles!!
I rented this dress for a wedding in Vermont. The sparkles made me so happy and put me in a party mode despite rainy weather! The dress is super comfortable, and I danced the night away in it! I got the dress in the 0 and the 2. The 0 fit better on top, but the 2 fit better on the bottom (not as tight) which made me feel really comfortable and gave some room to dance. Having it be slightly loose on top made sense with the style. I got lots of compliments on this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Cute dress
If you are large on top, go up a size, it was tough to zip up the back. Cute dress otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Great Cocktail/Wedding Dress
The dress is very pretty but did not fit my body type properly. The 0 was a little too tight around the waist and a little too baggy on top for my small bust. The 2 was a little too baggy around the waist and extremely baggy in the chest area so I decided not to wear the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Great dress
This dress was unique and classy. The belt part was a little snug, but overall was a great fit. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
August 14, 2012
Beautiful dress
Loved this dress for my best friend's birthday party! The only issue I had was that I ordered both a size 2 and a size 4, and the 4 was smaller than the 2!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 13, 2012
I got plenty of compliments while wearing this dress to a wedding - most people commented that I looked like a starlet. I am so in love with this dress and would absolutely rent it again!
I was so looking forward to wearing this dress to a wedding and it did not disappoint. I rented a 6 and 8 (I normally wear an 8) and both sizes fit. The 8 had a little more room up top, but I ended up going with the 6 because upon close inspection a lot of the beading was missing on the size 8. Also want to call out that I had to use some of the sample fashion tape that came with my order to secure the black fabric flaps on the shoulders - one of them had lost the stitching when it arrived at my door. I got so many compliments on this dress and really wish it had a permanent home in my closet. A word of caution though when renting this dress - some of the beading may be missing, but I truly believe that someone would only notice if they looked really hard.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
August 13, 2012
Sexy sophisticated
Beautiful dress, I am 49 and wanted something sexy but age appropriate too, the length was perfect, just above the knee ( I'm 5.4) and the dress was actually better looking than I expected, it looks expensive and I got lots of compliments. The top is a pale taupe but the embellishments are silver/ gray so I wore a pale gray suede shoe and carried a taupe clutch, you could wear a silver or taupe shoe too.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 9, 2012
Loved the blinged out look without breaking the bank!
This was my first RTR rental, and I had a great experience with the staff and the dress. I got so many compliments all night. What I love about this dress is the embellishments on the top part--it is so detailed and eye catching! The only annoying thing was that the black ribbon that runs along the waist would often fold up (like you can see in the picture). I don't know if many people noticed, but it was slightly annoying to keep checking all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 9, 2012
LOVE this dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! It was a big hit... I received compliments all night long. Even my husband was obsessed with it. The top of the dress is not that fitted, almost a little blouse-y how it hang it a little over the sash. I found the dress to be a little snug in the rear, but not uncomfortable. I am not sure if that's just me though b/c I have an unusually large bottom compared to the rest of my body.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2012
Beautiful, but...
This dress was so beautiful, and I wanted so badly to be able to wear it. However, at nearly 5'11", it was not happening. I usually wear a size 6, but I also got the 8 thinking that it might be a little longer. Both were just way too short, but I can't really fault the dress at all for that. RTR was great about crediting my account back immediately!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2012
Great dress very beautiful
The most beatuiful adress I rent so far. Every one ask me for where I got
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 14, 2012
The dress was in great condition, and ready to go! :) Thank you!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's sister's wedding, and I felt beautiful but also felt that it was appropriately modest enough for church and talking with his family. I'm between a 4 and a 6, but smaller on top so went with the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
April 23, 2012
Sophisticated and Fun!
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it for a work event, and it was just the right amount of wow on top of sophistication. I usually wear a size 0 and it fit me, but I decided to go with the 2 since it didn't bunch up on me the way the 0 did. Gorgeous and I received a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 5, 2012
Great customer service!! The original dress I ordered came with a hole so RTR overnighted this Sachin + Babi dress to me. The dress was perfect for the countryclub wedding I attended and I very much appreciated the excellent customer service. Thank you RTR!!
The beading on the dress is very pretty and creates interest without being over the top. The black band creates a waistline which is great because it is not super fitted on top. The material does not have any stretch; however, fit true to size. This dress can be worn with a regular bra. I loved the navy on the bottom half (as I love blue) - black bottom half would make the dress a bit more formal. I received tons of compliments and would highly recommend this dress for a wedding or formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2012
Love this dress!
I wore this dress to my law school formal and absolutely loved it- and I got compliments on the dress all night! The details both on top and in the fabric of the dress are intricate and beautiful. It is comfortable and easy to dance in. You barely need accessories because the dress is so interesting. Plus, the cinched waist is very flattering. The only thing I didn't like was the weird black flaps on the shoulder but I barely noticed them after a few minutes. Would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2012
You need to be slim
The dress looked lovely on the hanger and I had high hopes for it to fit. I am a size 10 or 12 usually in other dresses that fit me perfectly, even those that are slim fitting. However, I could not even zip the 12 upon this dress as it seemed to be made for someone with a much smaller bone structure or narrower lower waist (2 pregnancies probably widened me out a bit.) The ribbon area of the dress just didn't give way at all whereas some dresses do allow for a bit of stretch when zipping. When the dress did almost begin to zip, it looked like it was taking up a lot of the length of the dress and therefore it was beginning to look entirely too short for my height and age. Based on my measurements the stylists thought this might fit, but I think it's best for those with really tiny waists for their size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 18, 2012
cute and conservative
i actually didn't wear this dress because it was a backup for the one i actually wore. but... i did try it on and wear it around my house. :) very cute and conservative. i am around 128 pounds and 5'6" and the 4 fit perfectly. if i remember correctly, i think the top was a tad big on me (my bust is 34A), so if you have a bit more up top it would fit even better i'm sure.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 17, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I can't even begin to explain how stunning this dress is in person. I received so many compliments when I wore it. The dress is a bit shorter than it appears, but I'm pretty petite so it wasn't a huge problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2012
fashion holiday party
Love the dress! I received many compliments on it. I will most likely rent again. I usually wear a size 4... but ended up wearing the 6.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 6, 2012
The time, the place, and the DRESS all combined made my RTR moment unforgettable!
It definitely runs true to size. I currently have a size 12 upper half and a size 8 lower half, so I usually go in between and it feels a little tight up top. The skirt was beautiful; I loved the unique pleating. The top part of it was just a perfect amount of sparkle.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
January 6, 2012
walking into the party and having everyone stare . . . :)
This was my first RTR rental. I rented this dress for a NYE party and was so pleased with this dress. I got a million compliments and everyone said it looked so sophisticated on. I had absolutely no issues with this dress, it was so easy and comfortable, I could sit and dance. It was amazing I would definetely rent it again. I usually wear a 2 but I got a 4 for a backup, I wore the 4 because I like a looser fit. But overall, this dress was a perfect 10!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×