Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 13, 2013
So cute but so short
This dress has great style but I am 5'8". It was barely long enough to be more than a top! Not sure that getting a larger size would have helped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
April 14, 2013
Unfortunate fit
I have had this dress saved for a long time in my liked dresses... unfortunately, it was very, very small and extremely short! I normally wear a size four and am not very tall, so I was surprised how tiny the size 4 was on me! Darn! The dress is undeniably gorgeous, so if you are going to rent it, I would suggest sizing up for your backup size!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
I rented this dress for a homecoming event. I was thrilled to wear such a unique and gorgeous dress!
The size 6 fit perfectly but it was too short. I wore the size 8 instead. The scalloped edges had been dry cleaned and did not lay flat so needed ironed. I called RTR for advice and they advised me how to safely iron it. The dress was a great quality...the "thickness" of the material made me look and feel "thin".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2013
Love the dress, very short though
Overall, the dress is beautiful. The design is fun and the color is great. I didn't end up wearing the dress since it runs very small and was way too short. I wouldn't wear it to a wedding, but would rent for another occassion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2013
Short, Tight and Very Thick Fabric
I ordered this dress with a free dress rental I had, and unfortunately couldn't even wear the dress. My normal size is a 4, so I ordered a 6 as my back up size. The 4 did not fit what so ever and the 6 was stil pretty tight. However, on top of that the dress was extremely short- like so short it was not appropriate to wear out of my apartment. The fabric was also very thick, better for when it is cooler outside and even winter. I was so disappointed because it was cute but runs very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2013
CRAZY SHORT!
So I rented this dress for a wedding and I was really excited. However, it was insanely short. I like short dresses and I couldn't even fathom wearing this. I am just under 5'4 and it barely covered my butt. If it was longer, it would have been awesome. What a shame!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 7, 2013
Cute but short!!
An adorable dress for a party I went to but even after sizing up, it was pretty short. Luckily I didn't have to sit on the floor or in a chair but I might have been in trouble if I had. Looked amazing while standing, hid my dinner well, and the bottom detail is great. Material is thick but comfy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2013
Wiggled a little too high
I ended up returning this dress because although it fit well it shimmied up too high when I walked and I kept having to pull it down. Both the 2 & 4 wouldn't work for me... unfortunate because my friend rented this dress and loved it. She is 5'1 though....
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
February 2, 2014
gorgeous dress.
I usually wear a size 4, however this dress runs slightly small. I was not able to wear it to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2014
Cute dress, but small
Sadly, this dress didn't fit in either size. It was adorable, but the fabric is slightly bulky and I wasn't crazy about the fit on my broad shoulders and larger bust. It's also extremely short and I am barely 5'3"!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2014
Small and very short
This dress is like a short thick quilt with stretch. I'm only 5'3 and it's a mini dress on me. I could have gotten a larger size but then it would not have fit as well. I have an hourglass shape but I feel the fabric is so thick that I ended up looking more boxy than hourglass. Did not accentuate the positive to me. During the night, I kept pulling the dress down to prevent from exposing all my goodies. I still received compliments but wish it was longer and that the fabric wasn't so thick for a form fitting dress
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
April 24, 2014
N/a
Runs small and was shorter than I expected. Beautiful dress and received many compliments. Red is as pictured.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
May 5, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I felt completely in between the two size options, so i could go tight and look inappropriate or up a size a look like i was wearing a shapeless quilt. The fabric is very thick - which is why is doesn't work if you go over your actual size. It's a shame because I like the style overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2014
beautiful color!
I ordered the size 8 and 10 for the weekend, received my order around Wednesday, I usually wear a size 8 and it was a little tight but the size 10 was too big, so I wore the size 8, it was a little bit on the short side which I like short dresses but I was going to a party and had my 2 year old with me and had to be picking her up and leaning so it was a little hard for me, i think it was short on me because it fitted a little tight, the size 10 although a little loose was the right length, the dress is well made, fabric is thick and has a lovely pattern, the bright red color was my favorite part
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2014
This dress was too tight.
The dress was too tight and I didn't get to wear it. The fabric was very thick. The top fit fine but the rest of the dress was too tight so going up a size would not have helped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
Beautiful Color and Detail
I wore this to the annual Red Ball for my local chapter of the Red Cross. In a sea of red dresses I got a ton of compliments and felt great. This did fit very tightly through the hips/thighs and was short but I felt the 6 was baggy in the chest area for me so I went with the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
July 27, 2014
Great color and fabric!
As mentioned in other reviews, it definitely runs on the short side. I felt that the bust area was pretty tight too and had to wear a padded bra to avoid looking completely flat chested. Overall, loved the dress and received multiple compliments throughout the night. Should've taken a better picture to show the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2014
Fun, flattering dress!
Loved the color! I ordered the 6 and 8 and went with the 8 because the dress is extremely form fitting and very short. The length definitely made it a little scandalous but I loved the fit, it was very flattering. I would choose a size up as a backup when ordering! When I received my dresses there was a whole in the seam of the dress that was very noticeable when I put it on but after talking with customer service they overnighted me a new dress and it was here by 9am the next day! Excellent customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 2, 2014
It was my second date at a steakhouse. Luckily the cloth napkin covered most of my lap at dinner :0)
The dress fit was fine but the overall length was very, very short. The dress ended right below my bum. I did not feel comfortable in it at all. It would have been better if it was 5 inches longer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2014
Very tight - I couldn't wear it.
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and was unable to wear it because of how tight it was. This dress is not meant for people with full hips! I was very upset that I couldn't wear it - it's beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2014
This was my free birthday dress from purchasing PRO.
The dress was beautiful! It's a lot heavier than it looks. It did run a bit small (and short!) so I sized up for my backup and ended up wearing the 10. This was perfect for a date night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 9, 2016
I wore this for an event for my sorority
I loved the style of this dress, but it was a little box-y for someone who is larger chested. I'm a C-D cup and it was a little unflattering in the chest area and made me seem like a square. However, the material is lovely and it feels great!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2012
My fiance and I were recently engaged at this fundraiser and the photographer took a portrait of us that he ended up giving us rights to and we used it as our engagement announcement in our local papers.
I normally wear an 8 but ordered a 10 as my back-up size and felt much more comfortable in the 10. I loved wearing it and many people told me I should just keep it and not send it back! I did send it back but would not rent it again in a minute!
BriannaNovember 7, 2012
I'm about the same height and weight as you but I have a smaller chest (34B). Did the larger size better accommodate your chest or hips? I was going to order a 6 indefinitely but I was unsure whether to order up or down...
BriannaNovember 7, 2012
other reference point: I typically wear a 7/9 in jeans
RTR CustomerNovember 13, 2012
Hi Brianna! This dress runs a bit small, so I would definitely suggest going a size up for back-up!
LauraNovember 16, 2012
I agree! When I rented this dress I was wearing size 8 pants; the 8 could have worked, but it was snug for sure. I felt much more comfortable in the 10. Sorry for the delayed response! I hope you rented because this has been my favorite of all the RTR dresses I've worn!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2011
I am 5'2 and 33/27/36, and the size 2 was perfect! It hit right at mid-thigh and was absolutely adorable. This dress seems to be made for petites, so if you have long legs, beware.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
Beautiful color and if it wasn't really more of a shift dress I would of liked it better. If you have curves this dress doesn't highlight them like the picture indicates.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2011
Red Beauty
I have never felt so pretty before! I love how different this dress was for me at my school Homecoming. No one else had such a geometrical dress, and I also got compliments from teachers AND students. I am 5'7" so this dress was a little too short for my liking. ( It was shorter than my fingertips)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2012
Short and tight but unique
My hips and thighs are pretty proportionate to the rest of my body, but this dress felt very tight on the bottom, and it would ride up, which was uncomfortable. The color and fabric are pretty, and would be best suited for a winter event. Because this dress was tight on the bottom and loose in the waist, it was not very figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
Wrong Occasion
I ended up in my back-up dress (which I absolutely LOVED), as this one was slightly tighter and shorter than would have been appropriate for the church wedding I attended.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2012
Super cute but didn't wear it because size 2 was too tight around my bum.
Fit is smaller than anticipated as I hardly deviate from a US size 2. Much thicker than I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2012
Weird fit.
I ordered both a 2 and a 4 in this dress. The detail was very pretty but the fit was odd. The dress was fitted on the bottom but baggy in the middle. Not flattering at all. This dress would would be cute on someone that is bigger on top and smaller on the bottom.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2012
To short and not flattering
I am 5'7", small chested and normally wear a size 0. I rented the available size 2 and it was way too short. It barely covered by (small) butt. There was no way I would be able to sit down or dance in this dress. It was very flattering on thin/ boyish shaped woman. I wouldn't recommend this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
The red was stunning
This dress is extremely tight, I usually wear a 4 and the 6 was so tight I almost did not wear it. The top of the dress is tight so if you have a big bust I do not recommend.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
Beautiful color, very comfortable!
Very short, and runs a size small. Overall, great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2014
Loved the color but was super short!
The color and design were amazing, but it was super short and the fabric was not very forgiving. I would only recommend this for people who are straight/narrow and don't have many curves. But it was great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
November 23, 2010
The dress is a standout but narrow through hips. I'd recommend for only for straight & narrows, apples and petites.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2010
Fit pretty true to size, but had to step into it because the hips were so narrow... But the dress was very flattering and really easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 5, 2010
I echo everyone's review re: hip narrowness. Its also a cute mini, great to wear with tights.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
This is a beautiful dress and it looks great on but I actually ended up going with my 2nd opition because it was more flattering. As the other reviews said it is very narrow in the hips and I had to step into it in order to get it on.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
January 22, 2011
Beautiful dress! It fit me odd though, so I was not able to wear it. It was too tight in the bust area and way to big in the waist for me - not flattering on me at all. I think it would work best on people with smaller busts. Gorgeous dress though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
April 10, 2011
Very pretty dress with no give anywhere and super short.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×