Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
Nicer night out in Vegas.
It runs a little tight in the hips/butt area- so if you have more of a pear shape, I would get a size up as your second size. The length is great and very flattering. I loved this dress. It is a little thicker, so I wouldn't wear it to an outdoor event in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
Holiday Party Possibility
I knew this dress was going to be short on me because I have a long torso, but I was planning on wearing black opaque tights with it for a holiday party. It was way way shorter than I imagined. Even my back up size (which was larger) hugged my butt too much and if I bent over slightly you could see my underwear for sure. So only rent this one if you are shorter. Other than the length it was an adorable dress. I wish it could have worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
Rent the Runway made it so easy to get a great dress for my event! It came straight to my door and I had plenty of options so I was sure to find a dress that fit.
Got so many compliments when wearing the dress. Fitted great. Wasn't too short or awkwardly too long. Classy and had just enough texture that it wasn't too plain. The red made a great statement! Pairs great with gold jewelry and shoes. Worked well for a person with smaller boobs and a straight figure. It could've been uncomfortable/tight otherwise.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2012
Wasn't able to wear.
I love this dress. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear it to the wedding I planned un because the zipper was broken. However, Customer service was AMAZING! They were not he phone immediately trying to help me fix the situation. They credited my account right away (It was the day of the wedding when I found the zipper wasn't working) and i was able to rent a dress for a GNO that I loved.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
The shipping was fast and easy to order! I was getting compliments on my dress all night long.
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday celebrations and loved it! I read that it could run a little small so I got a 2 & a 4 (normally wear a 2/3). The 2 fit but was a little tight and I wanted to be able to move around comfortably so I wore the 4. The dress is also short short short! Thank goodness my legs are pretty short so it wasn't too bad but be careful if your legs are long. I DEFINITELY recommend this dress for something that wants to stand out on a special day, my boyfriend says I was getting double-takes all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 25, 2012
Intresting dress, hard to pull
This dress's scallops didn't lay down correctly, and I'm rather short so it looked much longer on me than it would on most women. Also with how the sleeves were cut and how my boobs were squished in them, my armpit looked really fleshy and fat. (I am above average in breast size as well.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 29, 2012
zero stretch to the fabric
Definitely didn't do this girl any favors. The fabric is pretty tight, not tight to the body, but as it has zero stretch, and it was surprisingly heavier than expected. Ended up returning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2012
Run small but great dress
I rented this dress for a charity event and it looked great but ran very small. I typically wear a size 4 but I had to wear a size 6 and it was still a bit tight. Besides the sizing issues the detail was even prettier in person (it doesn't photograph as well as it looks in person) and I got a lot of compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress if ordered in a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 4, 2012
Short and tight
Gorgeous dress - no stretch!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Perfect Rehersal Dinner Dress
Wore this to a rehersal dinner. It was beautiful and fit very well. I got so many compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Perfect Rehersal Dinner Dress
Wore this to a rehersal dinner. It was beautiful and fit very well. I got so many compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2012
Too short, way too tight
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner but decided not to wear it. The fabric has absolutely no give and as such was very tight. In addition, the fit was strange. I expect the dress to be more fitted to my waist. Instead, it was tight at my hips and bust, but baggy around my waist. Also, the extreme shortness of the dress made me uncomfortable. Taking two steps in it made slide right up and reveal my bottom. Not at all appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful but tight.
This dress was really really beautiful but it was tight for a 2. Also VERY VERY short. I mean Sitting in it was inappropriate.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
I loved this dress! I actually was able to wear it twice!
I was able to wear this for a big work event and my friends wedding (which were within 2 days of each other), The dress is a beautiful vibrant red that is super comfortable and really flattering on. I would rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2012
Flattering and eye catching color!
The dress is tight but the scalloping hides any flaws. I didnt end up wearing this dress to the event, as it was a little to fancy for the event. But it would definitely wear it to something else!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 5, 2012
Fantastic dress! Does run very small though - I was surprised.
I wore this for my birthday party and it was perfect - dressed up enough but also not overdone. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 17, 2012
Perfect party outfit.
great red color - great snug fit: comfortable but very flattering. ordered the black and the red version and loved the red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
This dress is so pretty. The color and scalloped details really make this dress something special.
The only issue I had was how small and tight it ran. I had to go up a size larger than my normal larger back up size for this one. The material is very thick and doesn't show much of your shape and it's VERY short. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and felt a little uncomfortable at times. It's perfect if you plan on standing the whole night but sitting and walking can cause issues at times.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 29, 2012
sexy color sophisticated style
I was pleased with this dress. However, it was almost thick like one of those patchwork quilts. It felt like a quilt anyway. I didn't expect that from this dress. The dress left me with no shape b/c of the fabric. I didn't think it was too short as other reviews stated. I thought it was a perfect length. Definitely ran small. I was pleased with the dress and felt great wearing it. The fabric was not what I expected
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2012
Great for the occasion, got so many compliments on how it accentuated my curves!
The fit was perfect, although the zipper kept getting jammed. Otherwise, fantastic dress all around. The detail in the dress was so much prettier than I expected. Definitely a perfect rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
November 16, 2012
Loved the dress. Great fit, Very comfortable
It's very thick material so I got really hot during the night. It also was shorter than I thought so when I sat down it was interesting, but while dancing and walking I was fine. But I got a ton of complements on it! Loved Loved LOVED this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
November 25, 2012
I loved this dress!
The fit was great - the texture helps hide any extra love handles. it is a perfect winter dress as the material is very thick and somewhat heavy. Overall, it is flattering and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
Great material, a little loose in the waist
I rented this dress for my sorrority formal and it looks and felt amazing i was so sad i didnt get to wear it. It was a little big in my waist because i have a tiny waist but if you have a normal waist line this dress would look stunning on you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2012
The look my boyfriend gave me after zipping me up!
Originally I rented this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal, but the event was pushed off to another weekend so instead we got dressed up and went out to dinner. This dress was so well made & very thick, which I liked for a chilly night in the beginning of December. It would probably be too much for a summer event. The dress was very form fitting, and the length was perfect on my 5'1" frame. I was so sad when I had to return this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Stunning RED and beautiful fabric
Love this dress... but didn't end up wearing it because it was too tight in both sizes I ordered. I'm pretty straight and narrow, aside from my generous backside, which came nowhere near fitting into this dress. Gorgeous color and the fabric is luxurious. I'll probably rent again in the correct size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 6, 2012
How beautiful I felt in this dress
I am petite at 5'4 with a tight athletic body, hips and butt, but this dress is made beautifully. I really like it and is flattering on a tight athletic body and runs short, definately makes people look twice. more classy than fun
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2012
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 24, 2012
too short and too small
I have large shoulders and not so long legs and this dress wasnt right for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 27, 2012
Had to send this one back...
I've never had any issues with my RTR rentals until this dress, and had to send it back. I'm 5'10" and thought that it would be long enough if I ordered a size up, but I as wrong. It was super short (too short to even wear tights under) and was super tight through the hips. I'm usually a 6 or 8 and even the 10 didn't fit in this dress. Its a beautiful dress, but I would definitely go with a different style if you're tall or have any sort of hips at all since the fabric has zero give to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Super short and tight!
I got this dress in a 2 which was obviously a mistake. It was way too short and tight. Other than that, it's a really cute dress that has a bit of stretch to it (or I wouldn't have been able to get it off). I ended up going with another dress because of the fit but I def would have gone with this one if I'd had the foresight to get the 4.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
January 4, 2013
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, it fit amazing and I got so many compliments!
The only thing is there isn't much stretch in the fabric, so I had to size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
This dress is beautiful. I love the thick material for the winter and it hides any questionable areas, but it runs so small! I would recommend getting one, if not two sizes bigger depending on how tight you want it! I have a larger butt and chest, so it was tight on me one size up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 12, 2013
It's a great pop of color for the holidays! Simple dress.. the pattern makes it unique and flatterin
Pros: so many compliments. Pattern on the dress was amazing and flattering. It was the perfect red in a sea of black holiday dresses. Cons: Could be a little short if that's not your style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
February 13, 2013
The boy, who is otherwise not effusive with compliments, was in awe.
Great for petite girls. Great color. Fits like a glove (no bra needed). I wore it in Paris and felt pretty good to represent America ;) The French boy stared the second I walked out and kept saying "you look amazing" all night. But my girl best friend thinks it's too formal looking (thick material, not revealing, and I don't have the legs). I probably wouldn't have bought this for myself but it was a perfect rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
April 7, 2013
It was Valentines Day!
Definitely order atleast one size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 13, 2013
So cute but so short
This dress has great style but I am 5'8". It was barely long enough to be more than a top! Not sure that getting a larger size would have helped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
April 14, 2013
Unfortunate fit
I have had this dress saved for a long time in my liked dresses... unfortunately, it was very, very small and extremely short! I normally wear a size four and am not very tall, so I was surprised how tiny the size 4 was on me! Darn! The dress is undeniably gorgeous, so if you are going to rent it, I would suggest sizing up for your backup size!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
I rented this dress for a homecoming event. I was thrilled to wear such a unique and gorgeous dress!
The size 6 fit perfectly but it was too short. I wore the size 8 instead. The scalloped edges had been dry cleaned and did not lay flat so needed ironed. I called RTR for advice and they advised me how to safely iron it. The dress was a great quality...the "thickness" of the material made me look and feel "thin".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 14, 2013
I didn't get to wear the dress because I only received size 4
If I had received the size 2 I'd requested I'm sure it would have fit perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
July 19, 2013
First rental great quality
Good fit, usually wear a 6 but went for the 8 just to be comfortable.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×