Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
My Fiance LOVED this dress on me!
I would say this runs a little bit on the small size. Im usually between a 4-6 and I wore the 6, it was tight but very flattering. The pleats hide everything! The fabric is kind of "frayed" but it is supposed to be - I didnt mind this other than the very top of the dress which kept flapping over. Overall I was pleased and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 10, 2012
Show Stopper
This dress was incredible!! People were ranting and raving about it all night long. The dress is very flattering because it is forgiving yet sexy at the same time. I would definitely wear it again. Just as a heads up, though, if you're tall like I am, it is a little short - so perhaps not the best for an incredibly formal function, but definitely a lot of fun anywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
sexy sexy dress
Like all my other RTR experiences, the fabric was beautiful and the service was great. Agree with other reviewers that the fabric has NO GIVE and for that reason would suggest sizing up. Also folds in the shoulder seem to come out of place easily. Otherwise a great option for a formal fall affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2012
Really Cute!
Looks great with gold jewelry. You will need to use the body tape to keep the dress from showing your bra. This dress is really flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
September 17, 2012
Perfect for a fall wedding!!
I rented this for a fall wedding and loved it! I wore it with a camel cape and it looked amazing! I accessorized it with the Nicole Miller plantation earrings and Nicole Miller star light bracelet and nude heels-- which went perfectly. The form of this dress does not give much room for stretching-- so make sure you order your true size and get a back up in the next size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Wore for a summer event at the Country Club
This dress doesn't have enough stretch so I ended up wearing the larger size and it didn't fit great (was blousy some places like the hips). It was very classy, sharp and I'm glad I rented it. Looks great on, if not incredibly comfortable
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved this dress. Super flattering cut and color- I got compliments all night!
The "layers" of the dress are more ruffly and fringe-y than they appear to be in the picture. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing- it just wasn't exactly as I expected. Also, the shoulder tends to move up and down along your shoulder when you left your arms. This wasn't bad either- you just need to adjust it from time to time. Overall, definitely reccommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
I loved the fabric on this. It was an incredible soft fabric, and the red tone was really fantastic.
It was a bit tight in the hips, but I'm fairly pear shaped, so it was probably me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Beautiful merlot dress! Felt so rich and I received so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my cousin's Bar Mitzvah. The color was gorgeous and the fabric seemed so rich. I had to go with the 2 since I have a larger bust and the 0 was too tight under the arms. The fabric isn't stretchy, so I'd recommend to go with a size up. I wore nude pumps to compliment the look. First experience renting with RTR and I couldn't be happier! Can't wait to rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 24, 2012
Not for double digit sizes :(
Even with two sized (10 and a 12) I ended up not being able to wear this dress. The difference between the 10 and 12 was huge. I have a large bust (36D) and the 10 couldn't fit it but the 12 was like a potato sack on me. It looks so cute on the model, but just didn't work for my body.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
Came right on time and exactly as described!
LOVED this dress! Got LOTS AND LOTS of compliments! The shoulder "flaps" did pop up a lot, but I used a little fashion tape on the top two layers and had no problems the rest of the night. I did not have time to tan, but the color of the dress still looked good on my pale skin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect for winter wedding!
I received many compliments on this dress! I wore it to a December wedding and was able to dance the night away comfortably!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 26, 2012
perfect winter wedding dress!
I wore this to a winter wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Great fit, didn't even need the additional size!
This dress is truely a show stopper. I literally had complements all night. The dress is fitting, but only in the best ways. I have a huge butt, but the dress had enough structure that it didn't wrap around my butt but still made it look great. The pleats are very flattering on the midsection as well. On top of that, I have an athletic build and no waist and this dress made me look like i had a perfectly proportioned hourglass shape. Overall, the dress was incredibly comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 161lbs
October 16, 2012
got lots of compliments
I was excited when this dress came in as my 1st pick wasn't available for the wedding. We lucked out because the weather was beautiful for the October outdoor wedding. I only had 2 gripes. One, was that clearly I'm not a one-shoulder girl as i had to keep messing with the shoulder. The other was that I felt like although I'm not busty girl, it made me look like my entire ribcage was a giant boob. Overall I really liked the dress and would recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2012
Sophisticated Fun
Loved this dress. Wore it to my cousin's evening wedding. I took the route of the model in the photo and wore it with sheer black tights and black heels. It was fun and fabulous, accentuating my curves without being clingy or skintight. Appropriate to wear around all my older relatives. The layers did have a tendency to stick up, especially on the shoulder. Have some fashion tape handy to keep down layers. Wore my standard 4, and the length was perfect on me since I'm so short. Even with a strapless bra, the top was a bit loose but with a a bit of fashion tape it stayed up no problem. I was also surprised by how heavy the dress was—all those layers create a thick garment!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 119lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved it
This dress was great, I wore it for a sunday evening black tie optional wedding and got tons of compliments. After reading other reviews about sizing, I decided to rent a 2 and a 4. The 2 ended up being a little loose but I could have gotten away wearing it and it would have been fine, however I checked with RTR and they had a 0 available and were able to send it over to me same day. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it fit a bit better and got tons of compliments! It's good to know in advance that the dress definitely doesn't have much stretch but it runs true to size or a little large. Also know that the dress doesn't really cinch or get tight around the stomach area, but it still has enough curve so it doesn't look boxy. Would definitely recommend this.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress to wear for a rehearsal dinner in late September. It was just as beautiful as it looks online and true to size, but unfortunately it was a little too short and to form fitting for the look that I wanted. I wasn't able to wear the dress that night, but it would be great for a date or New Years Eve!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 6, 2012
Hated it!
This dress was not a success! I rented it for a wedding, and when I tried it on the pleats on the dress did not sit properly. It fits well at the bottom, but the built in bra looked terrible!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2012
Fabulous!
The fit was true to size and looked great! Perfect for a dressy occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
didn't like it.
I thought the fabric looked very different in person and somewhat cheap. The one shoulder strap also would not lie flat. I returned without wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
how it arrived, everything it came with, was amazing! & so simple to return
It fit perfectly, not too tight and but not too loose. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a friend and received so many compliments on it! The material was great and there wasn't anything I'd change about it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2012
Great dress for a wedding.
I wore this dress as a guest for a friend's wedding. It was a fantastic choice for a fall wedding. I would recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it!
Fit really well and felt great in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Sexy dress!
Loved the fit of this dress and the deep red color (though it was a little tight on my booty)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Fabulous color, good fit.
The shoulder part came down somewhat easily, so if you have narrow shoulders I would not advise this choice. But for the most part really loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, but frayed layers can be tough to work with
I loved my first RTR rental and will definitely be using RTR again for future events. This dress is a gorgeous color for a fall wedding. I wore this to a November wedding 3 months after having my second son and I felt that was forgiving on my post baby body. What you may or may not be able to tell in the pictures is that this dress has thin tiers or layers. This was a pro and a con for me. I think the layers make for a more flattering look, however, they kept flipping up by my neck line and over my shoulder which was driving me crazy! I used the double sided tape and it helped but it wasn't perfect. Over all great dress, very flattering but take the time before your event to try it on and fix the layers with the double sided fashion tape RTR provides. Ps. Thats my bestie with me in another RTR rental looking gorg! She loved her dress and got a lot of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, beautiful color!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding in August. It is a gorgeous dress and was very flattering. I preferred the size 10 (I normally wear an 8) as this dress runs a little small. I ended up not wearing the dress though because it was pretty heavy and I was worried I'd be too warm. Would be a perfect dress for a winter occasion!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2010
This dress was gorgeous! I wore this to a black-tie optional wedding and got a ton of compliments. Wore it pretty much as shown, sheer black hose, black shoes and gold accessories. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2010
Absolutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it all night! It was very comfortable too. I wore it with the Dannijo Daryn earrings.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2010
Looked absolutely amazing. The dress is incredible comfortable and is super flattering. Wore it with nude Jimmy Choos in Napa for a rehearsal dinner and got many compliments. The color is really gorgeous and brought out my natural tan.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2010
I wore this dress to an evening wedding and received several compliments. I went up a size as my normal size was shorter than I prefer for a wedding and high heels. Paired this classic dress with patent, nude pumps and gold jewelry...dress is a bordeaux/pinot noir color - love it. Has a built in bra padding and very comfy! Great rental.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 25, 2010
I ordered this dress for a black-tie wedding in the mountains in October and it was absolutely perfect! I got so many compliments and everyone agreed it was the perfect fall-winter formal dress. It runs very true to size and looks great with chunky gold bracelets. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2010
The dress is incredibly flattering! I wore it to a fall wedding and it was perfect. The fabric is beautiful but very formal. Beware, however, that it is very body-hugging, especially through the hip and thigh area. So if you have large hips, you may need to order up one size. The bust, on the other hand, runs slightly large.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2010
Absolutely LOVE this dress. The material is thick and flattering, and the color is much more vibrant that in this picture. The dress has built in cups which is fantastic (no bra!) and the one shoulder stayed in place all night. I don't have wide hips at all and the dress clung to me perfectly and was very shapely. If you have wide hips, I would recommend ordering a size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 30, 2010
I was so excited to wear this pretty dress, but the zero was enormous on me, so I couldn't wear it. I think all Robert Rodriguez's are on the larger side though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2010
I am about 5'1" and typically wear a 00 or a 0. This size 0 dress was definitely big on me, and the shoulder was fairly large. I would have loved to wear it, but I would suggest ordering a size down.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2010
well i ordered a size 8 and 10. the size 8 was a little big but not sure i could pull a size 6 over my hips. The dress also was big in the bust and i don't have a problem in that area. I loved the dress it made me feel very pretty and I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2010
Great rental & loved the customer service
I loved this dress and received many compliments on it. This dress is not made for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 5, 2011
This dress was a complete disappointment. I checked the product details, size & fit and read every review. I made sure to really keep in mind every reviewer's body type and height. I wanted to make sure that if I was going to commit to something like renting a dress for an important event, I would do it the right way. The dress looks beautiful in the photo but unfortunately it did not look as good in person. My body type is petite, however I have hourglass curves and usually that works in my benefit- not with this dress though. Maybe it had been worn by too many people and stretched out but the hips and stomach area were both loose. I ordered two sizes, 0 and 2, and that was the 0. All in all, I was unable to wear either size and this experience was money down the drain, not to mention they wanted me to return everything on New Year's day which would have been impossible. I didn't want to get charged with the daily late fee (50% of your order charged per late day) so, I had to send back on NYE... it's a good thing the dress looked horrible because I wouldn't have been able to wear it anyway. TERRIBLE experience, I wish I could get every cent I spent back.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×