Lace Surprise Gown

$179 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Have a black tie affair to attend? Rent this lady like Robert Rodriguez Black Label lace gown. Simple and chic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
212 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(162)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 25, 2012
Great dress for a great evening

This dress is perfect for someone like me who is tall (5'10"), but short-waisted. I can wear petite tops, but I wear long pants. Fit great, looked stunning, go so many compliments. The slit is kind of high and I had to use my napkin to stay decent while we ate dinner, but I'd rent it again in a heartbeat. It's also great for small-busted women. The gathers hide the fact that you're not quite filling it up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2012
Beautifully simple and elegant!

I rented this dress for a carnival ball. It was stunning!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
Amazing dress

This dress fit perfect, very elegant and I received so many compliments! Would absolutely recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
One of the most beautiful dresses I've ever worn!

This dress was absolutely stunning! I have a very petite upper body and a bigger lower body (pear shape) and this dress was SO flattering for my shape. The slit extends quite high on the right leg, but it was sexy and people didn’t even notice it until I walked by. When you sit, just make sure you drape the fabric over the slit (that’s what I did to avoid so much thigh showing when sitting). When I tried it on, I thought it felt slightly heavy, but on the hot day we went to the wedding it was still very comfortable and breathable. I didn’t want to send it back at all :(

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2012
People are always amazed that I'm wearing famous designers... I tell them RTR is my go-to!

This dress was gorgeous. The lace and the side slit is just enough sexy but not inappropriate. I did find that the belt was a little annoying as it got later into the night, but it kind of makes the dress, so going without isn't an option! This dress has no give or stretch, and runs pretty true to size! I love it, would totally order it again!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2012
Feeling absolutely gorgeous when 6mo pregnant!

I was pregnant when I wore this dress and it made me feel absolutely incredible and beautiful.

LillyOctober 19, 2012
This is the Lace Surprise Gown? My sister in law is 6 months pregnant and looking for a long black dress. You looked beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2012
I felt amazing in the dress! Rent the Runway is fabulous!

I needed a gown for a wedding, black tie affair. I looked at dresses in stores and couldn't get myself to pay $1,000 for one night! I knew there were places to rent fabulous purses but didn't know about gowns. I searched for Rental Gowns and up popped Rent The Runway. I couldn't believe it, so many perfect dresses to choose from. However, I was nervous about getting the dress only 2 days before the event. What if it didn't work? I had no backup plan. No backup plan was needed, the dress was perfect! RTR sent 2 sizes, either of which would've worked but the 4 fit so well. The description of the dress was perfect, it fit exactly as described. I had originally been afraid that I would need new shoes (2 days before the event!) but RTR tells you what height heels you need for the length to be perfect. I felt absolutely amazing in this dress, thank you RTR. I just hope I get invited to more formal affairs, RTR could get addictive.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2012
Loved this dress -- so comfortable and elegant.

The 8 L was perfect and ran true to size. This dress was so comfortable and I received many compliments. I would rent this dress again in a second.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2012
Elegant and easy

I rented this dress to wear as a bridesmaid in a recent wedding. It definitely fit the bill, and was perfect for an active day of picture-taking and a long night on the dance floor. The dress is true-to-size, and even offered more room in the hips than I was expecting. It's also great for shorter women--the regular length was perfect on me with 3" heels. My only issues with the dress were matters of personal taste: The lace edging doesn't stand up quite as perfectly as it does on the model, and required some attention throughout the night to ensure it was pulled up (it tended to scrunch down at the edge of the dress, and looked a little funny--sometimes like hair coming off the edge of the dress). I didn't love the long velvet belt/bow, which felt disproportionately long on my short frame, so I styled the dress with a vintage brooch covering the snap where the belt would ordinarily clip in. And one big caveat: There is a side slit in the dress that isn't really visible in the photos; it's very high. Not inappropriately high, but high enough that my usual, thigh-length Spanx were very visible and I had to find shorter, boy-short style shapewear. All told though, a fabulous and super comfortable dress for a black-tie affair...and most importantly, the bride was thrilled!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 2, 2012
Simple and elegant!

Perfect choice for a black tie wedding in NYC. There isn't much stretch to the fabric but 6L fit perfectly and was a great length w/ 4 inch heels. Slit is high and revealing which sasses up the look a bit :) The belt has wraps around and snaps - a little flimsy but manageble- I suggest a safety pin from the inside to secure it. Overall- great choice and excellent experience for my first RTR dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2012
Absolutely perfect dress for a formal gala!

This dress is completely stunning - I got so many compliments throughout the evening! I have a very classic style and this dress was a perfect compliment to that. The lace along the neckline and slit makes it really feminine. The slit is high, so just be aware of that. It didn't cause any problems until I sat down, then was easily mitigated by strategic leg crossing or napkin placing. When walking, it gives it a bit of sassiness, especially if you have toned legs that you want to show off! As someone else commented, the belt has no give - it is velvet - so be sure to check your measurements or order a size up to be safe. On the length, I'm 5'6" and wore the long with 4-5" heels and the length was right at the floor.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Such a simple process, will definitely rent again!

Loved the dress! As the other reviews said, this dress has a major slit so I had to be careful not to expose too much leg. But overall, I loved the dress and got several complements

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2012
Pretty dress.

The slit on the dress comes up very high, and while sitting I often found it difficult to keep my legs covered. Overall the dress worked well and looked nice. The dress came with only one belt and it was that for the smaller sized dress ordered. I had to end up using pins to keep the belt on.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 16, 2012
This dress was gorgeous, and I received tons of compliments.

It was true to size. The belt was a little too tight though, and because it was secured on with snaps, it popped off a couple of times. Overall, it was great though

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2012
Perfect dress...I was sad to send it back!

I got this dress because my original pick was unavailable due to complications from Hurricane Sandy. I actually ended up liking it even more than my original choice! It fit like a dream and I felt beautiful in it. People were telling me all night that I looked like a celebrity! It was very classy, but the high leg slit made it sexy too. I'm 5'9" and my heels were around 4" tall, and the length of the 6L was perfect. I'd highly recommend this dress for your next formal event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2012
Cute dress, but not formal enough.

This was a beautiful dress, but I didn't feel it was dressy enough for the formal occasion I was going to wear it to. It fit well and true to size, and the bow around the waist was cute.

Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress is so classic. It fit very true to size.

The band around the waist needs to be a clip, not buttons. It kept popping open! But the dress looked and felt great - especially with the Angelina Jolie slit. It was a great dress.

Gaby December 3, 2012
Everyone's comments have been very helpful.. but you seem to be closest to my body type. Difference is that I am 6'1" but was considering getting the same size. Was the L dress long for you at all? Or what height heels did you wear?
RTR CustomerDecember 3, 2012
Hi Gaby! This dress may be a bit short for you if you are 6'1". I would suggest looking for styles that come in our XL length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 3, 2012
This dress is elegant and comfortable!

I wore the L dress and it was fine for me (5' 11") to wear with very short heels. I wore the smaller belt with it, because they'r'e not adjustable. I got lots of compliments on this dress and it was comfortable to wear to a long wedding and a long reception, but the slit on the left side is SUPER HIGH! You have to be careful when you sit down, stand up, and even a little bit while you're walking. I should have pinned it a litter further down on my leg so I wouldn't have to worry too much about it! That's the only reason I'm giving this dress 4 stars and not 5.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
December 10, 2012
This dress was a hit, I got a lot of compliments and felt great all night.

This dress is called "Lace Surprise". If you are wondering what the surprise is, it is that the slit in this dress runs REALLY high. We are talking to the hip bone. I had to be extremely conscious of how I was sitting and moving the whole night (I ended up safety pinning it shut a little lower down my leg, but still very revealing!). Just be prepared! The belt that came with it didn't really fit, so I left it off. The cut of the top of the dress is extremely flattering, and I got a lot of compliments on the lace details!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 10, 2012
Great for a black tie wedding!

Overall, I liked the dress, but there were two things that drove me crazy. First of all, the slit was extremely high. I am 5'10 and it came almost up to my underwear line - I can't imagine what it would look like on someone with shorter legs. Secondly, the sash around the middle snaps on the dress and doesn't stay. Every time I sat down or stood up it came undone, not because it was too small, but because it was in an awkward place. I eventually just took the sash off. Overall, i liked the material of the dress and thought the lace was really pretty. I don't think I'd rent it again because it didn't work well for me, but it was a pretty dress and would maybe work for a different body type.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 27, 2013
Wearing this elegant dress made my night!

This dress was really nice. I wore it to a ball during inauguration weekend. It fit great in the waist and I received a lot of compliments on how elegant the dress looked. I do wish the dress was a little bit longer. I'm 5'11'' and once I put on heels the dress shortened a lot. Since the slit was open and high it minimized the short dress look. Also, if you sit down be aware of that slit!

RTR CustomerJanuary 27, 2013
does the slit open easy
RTR CustomerJanuary 27, 2013
Hi! The slit is not too revealing, but simply adds a bit of style to this simple, yet elegant gown!
RTR CustomerJanuary 27, 2013
your gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 5, 2013
Sophisticated and Classic

I absolutely loved wearing this dress. I ordered a 0R and a 2R and didn't even try on the second size because the first fit so well. I wore about 4 inch heels which made the dress was the perfect length. One of my favorite parts about the dress was the black velvet belt. Even though it did unsnap at one point, it added more interest to the dress than just the lace on the top and the side. I was a bit worried about the slit on the leg because I read reviews that it was a bit high but I didn't find it to be a problem. I even thought it made it much easier to walk. It was so hard to send this dress back. I would wear it again for a formal occasion in a heartbeat.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Stunning dress!

I adored this dress! I wore it to a company black tie event. I wanted to look formal without overdoing it. I was a bit nervous about the size and height of the dress (I typically fall somewhere between a 2-4). I decided to go with the 4L (the 2 was not available), with 4" heels and it fit perfectly! It did go right to the ground and I had to pick it up when walking at times, but I actually prefer that over being too short. I was also able to wear a strapless bra which was great! The slit is quite revealing but adds a little spice to the dress! I wouldn't change a thing!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2013
Simple and elegant

The size 4 would have been the perfect fit for me but it was unfortunately not available. With 4 inch heels, the dress just touched the ground. The belt was very wrinkled and made the dress look a bit christmasy (perfect for a fancy holiday party but not really for a March event). Like several other reviewers, I opted to wear it without the belt and put a sparkly pin over the snap on the waist where the belt attaches it is a very flattering silhouette and comfortable.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
March 29, 2013
Short

I tried to order this dress in a long, but they did not end up having it in a long for the week I needed it. The regular was too short, so I ended up wearing another gown. This dress is beautiful and elegant. I believe if you order the correct size, the slit should be tasteful because it is sewn to remain closed unless you stick your leg out. I think that a variety of body styles would look nice in this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2013
Simply elegant!!

The dress fits great. I love the fit and length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
Great formal but simple dress for an Air Force Banquet!

I wore this with 3" heels, and it fit perfectly with them. I got a 0R and a 2R. I decided to wear the 2R because of the slit. The slit is very high up, it goes to about where most short shorts would end. I ended up pinning the slit a bit because an Air Force banquet is more conservative. With the 0R the slit was open and very obvious when I was just standing there, while with the 2R the slit stayed closed when I was just standing there. The only other issue is the velvet bow, it buttons on and it kept popping off. Which got a bit annoying because I kept having to watch it all night. None of these things were a huge deal for me and I would definitely rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
May 7, 2013
Delivery was timely and perfect!

I LOVED this dress! It fit great, though it was a bit short- I could not wear heals with it. It was such a classy dress and very sophisticated for the black tie charity event I attended. My only complaints were: - The smell! The dress smelled very funky initially to a point that I had to air it out and spray it heavily with perfume. - There was a stain on the inside of the dress and there was pilling around the butt on the inside (not visible outside) - I think the bottom had been hemmed (poorly) which is why it was shorter than anticipated These obviously did not ruin my experience and after I got rid of the smell and the stain, it was fine. I got so many compliments! I would definitely rent again- I would just try for a recently added dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress.

This dress made everything look flattering. Many people complained about the belt coming undone, but that only happened once and it's fairly easy to get back on. The slit came up to the top of my hip bone, though. With a little hemming tape and a safety pin, that problem was quickly solved. Overall, great dress... Very classy.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 8, 2013
I loved this dress, it was amazing. I'm about 5'2 and around 140. This dress is very sliming

There is a big slit that goes to your thigh. Cant wear spanx

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2013
sophisticated for black tie wedding

I did not wear this dress as the wrong belt was sent and it was a little small. The clasp for the oringal belt made it necessary to include one and the belt sent with the dress just didn't match. The sideways pleating on the dress didn't really look right on me (I think I was too curvy for the 0). The waist hit a little too high - it was above my natural waist, but not quite empire, though that may have been because my chest (a few months post pregnancy and nursing) brought it up some. Also, the length was a little short. I'm only 5'3'', but it only hit just below my ankles. I think the 2 would have been much better (it wasn't available), but the 4 would probably have been too large. The fabric and lace were nice and the dress itself was slimming.

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 24, 2013
I was able to wear a long dress!

Loved this dress! I rented it for a black-tie wedding. I am tall (5' 11") and am never able to find full-length dresses that are long enough for me. I picked this one based on reviews by some other tall ladies on RTR. The 8L did fit well but I ended up wearing the 10L because I was convinced it was a tiny bit longer :) The length was perfect with flats, and the larger size looked fine since the dress is belted at the waist. I wore my own belt though, because the one it came with was too loose. As others have noted, the slit is VERY high. I pinned it about 6 inches down and that worked well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dress. Stylish, sophisticated, and simple.

This was my first time using Rent The Runway and I am in love with it! I rented this dress for a friend's prom I went to and it fit so perfectly. I ordered sizes 2L and 4L; the reason I ended up wearing the 4L was for the extra length. Being 5'10, it's usually very difficult to have enough in my clothing but the 4L gave me the perfect length, even with 3-in heels! The only thing that sometimes bothered me was the high slit on the left side of the dress. I kept having to make sure that I wasn't being "exposed" when I sat down or when I danced, but other than that, the surprise aspect of the slit made me feel very Angelina Joliesque.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
July 3, 2013
The dress is very beautiful. I loved it!

I normally wear size 2. Size 2 dress was a little big on top, so I wore 0R. Regular length looked good, but I wanted the dress to be a little longer.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2013
Perfect dress for my black and white gala!

The dress fit perfectly! Although, I ordered a long based on the size chart but didn't need it. I wish I ordered a regular. People are right about the high slit, I had to safety pin it. Great dress overall. I got so many compliments! Very classy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2013
Elegant & Classy at a NYC Wedding

I didn't have any issues with the belt like others. I did however have to wear 3.5 inch heels to make this work.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2013
Loved the RTR experience!!!

Dress was gorgeous! Fit true to size, it has a long slit on the left side so you show alot of leg when you walk, very sexy. The belt gives it a great touch and its velvet so it gives it a great contrast. The only thing is that the belt is a little more snug and it clips on so at times it would come undone. Toward the end of the night i just ended up taking it off. Overall great dress and amazing lace detail.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2013
This dress is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. Don't let the simplicity fool you! You will LOVE it.

I have an athletic frame, and some dresses bring too much attention to my broad shoulders, but this dress really drew the eye up with the one shoulder, which narrows towards the top seam.. The lace trim was the perfect touch to this otherwise simple black gown, and can either give off a sweet or edgy vibe depending on the accessories you choose. As I wore it in the summer, I left the velvet belt off, and didn't even bother to replace it with anything, as the dress cinches your waist in perfectly on its own. The slit was very high, but I did not need to pin it closed like some other renters, as it only hit me mid thigh. I am 5'9" and with the 6L I was able to wear a 3" heel and the dress was the perfect length. I would absolutely rent this dress again. I was very sad to send it back!!!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2013
First time but definitely not the last!

This was my first time renting a dress from RTR and I loved every minute of it. I was going to a Black Tie event for work and didn't think anything I owned was appropriate. I've since rented another dress and plan to rent more in the future for formal events. This was dress classy but I still felt sexy - word of caution - the slit is quit high. But I loved it. I'm 5'7" and typically a 0-2. I definitely needed the 2L - the regular length may have been short and I could hardly breathe in the 0.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2013
I was glad to not have to spend all my money on a designer dress I would only wear once.

It was a little tight right under the bust but I was fine with that because it actually held up my boobs. The dress is made of a great comfortable material, the long slit was super sexy, and did I mention it held my boobs?? That was absolutely key and I will definitely be turning to Rent the Runway for formal attire in the future.

See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×