Berry Wild Lace Gown

$70 to buy
$795 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Make a grand entrance to the black tie event wearing this beautiful Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetric gown. It's lace detailing and velvet bow are a stylish choice for such a grand party.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length; dress has high slit to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Berry crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(72)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
February 22, 2016
Perfect for short/petite women looking for a long-gown.
Originally rented a different long gown that was supposed to work for 5'2" women with heels (according to fit notes and other reviews). Unfortunately that didn't work out but I called RTR and one of the stylist quickly helped me find this style and guaranteed it would suit me. Well it fit great and looked amazing! The slit started pretty high on my thigh but a small safety pin remedied that. Overall, I loved the one-shoulder look and simplicity of the dress.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2011
The dress was very flattering for someone with a pear shape as it highlights a smaller waist. I ordered a 4R and a 6R thinking I would wear the 6R (I was over 130lbs at the time). Surprisingly, the 4R fit perfect. If I were to wear this dress again I would order the Long as I had to wear shorter heels than usual.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
January 23, 2013
Great color. Missing sash
Too bulky in the chest
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 21, 2013
pretty dress, was too short
I got this as a backup dress so I did not end up wearing it. however, it was large in the bust and waist and very short. I am 5'4 and it just skimmed the ground without heels on, so with heels it looked silly. I loved the color, and the belt helped cinch the waist in a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 54
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
Good for young person
15 year old daughter wore it. Looked great on her ultra slim body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
Great! The one funny thing about it was that the dress fit perfectly but the belt seemed to small.
looks beautiful on.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2011
small bust
I could zip this dress up to just under my bra line...Made for straight and narrow body type. I wear a 36 D, rest of the dress fit fine, and it was beautiful, but the top is meant to be drapey over the chest, and probably if you wear larger than a B cup, it wouldn't be. The dress was very pretty though, made me sad it didn't fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2012
Very Short, But Very Beautiful
I ordered this in my size in long and regular. the regular was SO short! there was no way i could have worn it in flats. it was very beautiful though!
KaleyJuly 17, 2012
Were you able to wear heels with the long size?
RTRJuly 18, 2012
Hi Kaley, the Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. At 5'8 in the long version you could wear a very short heel that may show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
Too short, even in the long
This was my backup dress for a black tie wedding and I was glad I like my first choice option. This dress was too short, even in the 8L, to wear heels. The color and slit are fun but my husband said the material looked cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
August 24, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
The size fit true to size, but Ted length wasn't long enough. I'm 5"10 and in heels it was almost too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2012
fits like a glove
I wore this dress for a holiday ball, and it was ABSOLUTELY stunning! the purple hue of the dress was an perfect unsuspected holiday tone, and the slit up the leg gave just the right amount of sexy, while still being classy for the more mature crowd. I would rent it again this year for the same event if I could! Maybe bring a safety pin to just fasten the velvet belt a little stronger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 31, 2013
The lace was really nice on this dress
The fit was a little small on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Wound up not wearing this dress.
This dress was more matronly than it appears in the picture. It also has a VERY high slit on one side that I was unaware of when renting. I would up wearing something I already owned instead of this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2011
This dress is really pretty in person. However, the bow is a little strange, and is a little tight, even for someone like me with a tiny waist, I would definitely order a size up. Also, I'm 5'6, and probably needed the longer version. I ordered the regular and it did not touch the floor with my heels on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
December 9, 2011
Not berry, but purple
This dress looks like a plum/berry color on my monitor, but it's more of a true purple in real life. The fit was a little strange... snug at the waist and saggy in the chest (probably my own shortcomings there). I didn't get to wear this dress, but RTR has great customer service. I'll definitely try renting again! Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
June 28, 2014
Not for tall women
The dress was nice put the velvet belt that came with it was too small and the dress was not really long.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 21, 2011
This was my first RTR experience and it was great! I ordered the dress in a 2L and a 4L as my backup size. The 2 fit, but it was a little more snug on the top and you could see the lines of my bra, so I went with the 4. I wore three inch heels and they were the perfect height as the dress just skimmed the floor. It is a really gorgeous color and the slit up the side gave the dress a little added sass.
jenniferFebruary 16, 2012
Hi LJ - read your review, and I think I am similar in body type. I wanted to ask a couple questions about the dress: (1) How high is the slit? I didn't realize there was one until reading the reviews. I'm looking for a dress to wear to a wedding. Don't want anything too scandalous, especially for a Southern black-tie optional affair. (2) Would you mind my asking more about the bust size? I think after reading all the reviews and the sizing details for the dress, I'm more unsure than when I started. I'm 5'6", 125lb, and a 34B. Typically I'm a size 4, but I'm new to RTR and don't want to flub the dress size!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2011
This dress was my first choice and it is beautiful. If you rent this dress and are small chested, you will definitely need to do some temporary alternations. The fit otherwise was great and the dress itself allows you to feel very feminine and chic. I took one star away because the belt is not adjustable and I had two different sizes and only one belt. The belt is far too small.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2011
Beautiful dress. I received compliments on it all evening. If you want the dress to fall like it does on the model in the picture I would recommend renting the long version. I am looking forward to renting the black version of this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 19, 2011
This dress so great! Very pretty color. I really liked that there is a high slit. The only thing I would say is that I ordered the regular length and with my heels it was a little short.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2011
Gorgeous gown
I was very pleased with this gown. It fit perfectly and I received so many compliments on this dress! It was unique and classy. I will say that I was glad I opted for the free back-up dress. The original size I was going to wear came with the wrong size belt (size 12) so I used the belt from the back-up instead. This has been the easiest and best rental experience for me and would highly recommend renttherunway to friends!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
I felt like this dress was made just for me and the dress had a vintage feel to it. I felt so beautiful.
I adored this dress and got so many compliments on it. I'm 5'2 120lbs and wore the size 4R. I wore a pair of the Steve Madden pumps that are very popular this year and they were a perfect choice for the length. The belt stayed in place and the split int he dress was just the perfect amount of sexiness. I couldn't have made a better choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2011
My husband said he enjoyed showing me off all night, lol
This dress was great and actually very comfortable. I received tons of great compliments all night!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2012
Beautiful dress, but too short
I rented this dress as an alternate for a ballet gala and I found it too short for me. I'm 5'10" and it didn't hit the floor in flat feet. I knew it would probably be too short from the description, but wanted to get a different dress to have a few options as I had just had a baby and wasn't sure what would look good on my body (or whether I would be up for wearing heels). The color was a magenta-ish purple and I LOVED the sexy slit up the side. I wish it was longer and it could have been an option.
CourtneyJuly 31, 2012
Did you order up from the size 8 that you usually wear? It sounds like I am around the same size as you and I really want this dress to work!
RTRAugust 2, 2012
Hi Courtney, it looks like Alice wore the 10L.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
February 7, 2012
everyone loved the dress!
Loved the dress! It was, however, about 1/2" too short, but it still worked, I'd rather it be 1/2" too short, than be tripping all over it on the dance floor. Got a lot of compliments throughout the night. I ordered a size 2 and 0, I chose the 0 because the top in the 2 was a bit baggy, but I am small up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 17, 2012
easy great dress
This dress was a great fit, and because the fabric is gauzy like, it did not require any ironing! Thanks! I am 5'4" and the 0 was the perfect length with 3 " heels.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 18, 2012
Perfect!!
The detailing was fantastic along the neck line and hips. The color is a little brighter than in the picture on the website but it was great! I would recommend this dress if you are small chested and tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 2, 2012
beautiful dress!
I loved this dress. Wore it to a black tie wedding. Great alternative to a black dress. It fit perfectly and I found it to look conservative but having the slit up the side gave it a mysterious sexy edge. I ended up wearing a different belt because it was not shipped with my dress but I loved it just as much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2012
Pretty but Not for Tall Girls
I loved this dress and tried it on at Saks where it was long enough, but sadly even the long size here was not long enough. I called RTR and they explained that the dresses are hemmed and refunded me, but it was not even long enough for flats.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Pretty for cooler months, long
I rented this for a summer wedding and the velvet tie wasn't appropriate for the season. It was too long for me so I didn't wear it. Maybe best for taller ladies and in the winter.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2012
I liked it!
I enjoyed wearing this dress I really liked this dress, and also the slit up the side it showed just enough leg.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 2, 2012
My glam moment finally came!!
When I walked into the party, I got all the attractions. It is such a elegant and sexy gown. I loved lace details and black sash. I'm 5'6'' and wore 4 inch heel, length was perfect with 4L. My husband told me he never saw me that beautiful. And I got tons of compliments!! I rented black and silver bracelet and earring from RTR as recommanded also, It worked perfectly. Thanks to RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect choice for a black-tie wedding.
This is a great dress! The black lace over the purple fabric is a nice detail. It was true to size, but like other reviewers said, it might run a little short. I got the long length, and it was perfect with heels. I would recommend it for a thin frame, very flattering. The only bit of warning I would offer is that the side split, while very sexy, is also cut VERY high. A good gust of wind and this dress becomes very revealing. After the first incident, I secured it a few inches down with a safety pin and was fine for the rest of the night with no worries. The belt shipped was a size 10 belt and was not adjustable...obviously a problem...but again, safety pin to the rescue. I wore it with a cuff bracelet similar to the picture and chandelier earrings and got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2012
High-waisted!
Very pretty dress, with gorgeous thigh-high slit and beautiful lace trim. I didn't end up wearing either the 4L or 6L that I was sent, however, because the "waist" of the dress was well up my ribcage, so the sash/belt would have gone around the bottom of my ribs rather than my actual waist. I'm not particularly long-waisted, so I was a little surprised. I wore the backup dress instead, which was fine, but not nearly as pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
October 8, 2012
it was perfect!
it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2012
Felt like a movie star! Everyone asked where did I get my dress!
Fits true to the size...very delicate lace, just be careful when sitting down, the slip on the size is truly revealing...so sexy. Love it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2012
Quick ship for last minute gala.
This was a very last minute order and I was very happy with the dress. I ordered in the 10R and 12R and wore the 10R. I am 5'8 and was wearing 4 inch heels the L would have been better but was not available on such short notice. The slit is high and when sitting needed to make sure I adjusted but when walking, standing it was fine. The color was great for fall, condition of dress was perfect. I felt great in dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2012
This dress was amazing!
This dress fit perfect, I ordered a size 6L and 8L they both fit very well but I ended up wearing the 8L with the 6 belt because I liked the way it looked better. The dress is a little short, I am 5'6 and i wore 4 inch heels and it was about 1/2 inch off of the ground. The slit is very high but I loved that, the rest of the dress is so conservative the slit really makes up for it and is very sexy. I wish I never had to give back the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 3, 2012
Rich Colors
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. The right size was missing the ribbon at the waist and RTR was really helpful and had it overnighted to me the same day. Although I was still pleased with my selection, this dress wasn't quite as stunning as my other rentals from RTR. I rented this for a dance, but it would have been a better fit for a more sober event like a cocktail party or wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
This dress was beautiful!
Very well maintained. Just a little small in the bust for me. :( I was disappointed, but doesn't have any stretch to adjust for a larger bust line.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×