Blue Violet Cocktail Dress

$35 rental
$1298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this vibrant one shoulder Preen dress. Your ultimate cocktail dress for that fancy dinner party or charity event. Also, great for a wedding at anytime of the year. Pair with a bold cuff like the AV Max's Gold Hammered Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey(64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with pleating detail on shoulder. Ruched body. Exposed side zip. 38"" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
135 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size21
Small107
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2015
Beautiful dress but runs small
I was unable to wear the dress because it was too small for my broad shoulders and my backup size wasn't available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 29, 2015
Funnest wedding ever!
The dress fits very snug but has stretch. I needed help zipping it up, but once it was on, it was comfortable. The length hit right above my knee. The color is beautiful! There is some side boob, but I think it adds to the sexiness and gives the dress some edge!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 18, 2015
This was my first time using RTR and I loved it! Very easy to order and return.
This dress does run small but it is stretchy and thick enough material that it doesn't matter too much. I did need an extra set of hands to zip me in, but once zipped up it fit like a glove. It was very comfortable and I felt awesome in it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
August 1, 2015
Gorgeous dress, extremely flattering fit!
This was my first RTR experience and I was thrilled! I rented 2 dresses for my high school reunion to increase my chances of having one work. The other dress was a Herve Leger, but this one was far superior! The color is beautiful, and the fit is so flattering. It's very sexy in a subtle and classy way. It does run small, as I'm always an XS, but the S was perfect. It did take an extra set of hands to help zip up, but it wasn't a big deal. The material was very thick and stretchy and sucks you in, but it was also very comfortable, through sitting at dinner and dancing for a few hours. I wore a Nu-bra with it and a little garment tape on the side just to be safe. Received numerous compliments and felt great. Love love love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 31, 2015
I could not get this dress on. It was so small.
Definitely size up. I wash't able to get the M due to availability and I couldn't get the S zippered. It also was very wrinkled - needed steaming. Not a winner for me. Looks beautiful on others in the photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 17, 2015
Beautiful Dress!
Loved this dress! Unfortunately, I didn't get any pictures of me in it on the actual night of the event, only this goofy one of me trying it on to make sure it fit! The other reviews were dead on when they said you need two people to zip it up. This picture was taken right after the battle I had putting it on by myself. I practically dislocated my shoulder trying! But once it was on, it was gorgeous and very comfortable! I was getting compliments from strangers all night :) I'm debating renting it again sometime!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
July 6, 2015
This dress made me feel AMAZING! I've never received so many compliments.
The color is gorgeous. I've eyed this dress for a while and almost cried when there was only a small available. When I pulled it out of the bag, I almost didn't even bother trying it on; it looked so tiny. It took two wonderful girlfriends to zip me up, and a safety pin was necessary to hold the zipper in place. But after some squeezing and sucking, the dress was zipped and it looked and felt great. I'm 5'4" and about 130 lbs. I'm small chested, so I had no sideboob issues. My frame is small up top - can wear A-line dresses in 0 to 2, but my hips, butt and thighs are large and in charge - usually 4, 6, or 8 for dresses fitted in hips. I definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2015
The dress was great! only 4 stars because of the zipper, plan to have friends help
Zipper is tough! Great dress otherwise
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2015
Runs REALLY Small
Based on the reviews, and that the only size available for my dates was a small, I decided that's what I would order. The small was more like an XXS. It was so tight I couldn't even zip the side zipper a few inches, so unfortunately I didn't get to wear the dress. The dress has no give to it whatsoever. I am not even sure a medium would have fit. If I were to order this dress again, I'd probably order a large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 21, 2015
Flattering and elegant
Was sophisticated and elegant enough for a formal wedding, but the bright color and gorgeous back gave it a young, subtle sexiness.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
April 8, 2015
The body looks great!
This dress fits small, the zipper is on the lateral, so if you have big boobs (like me) will be a little problem to close it, so will need a help!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 8, 2015
Gorgeous Dress, Tons of Compliments
I really loved this dress and it was perfect for my boyfriend's sister's wedding. It was absolutely a struggle to get into, especially because per the reviews, it sounded like a medium would be the better size. I usually wear a 2 or 4 in designer dresses. I did however, manage to get into the small, but had to sew in a hook clasp at the top to get it zipped by myself. Also, it kept unzipping even with the clasp (just an inch or two) all night, so thank goodness I put it in! The dress definitely stretched out as the night went on, so if you can get into a smaller size, I'd recommend it. I probably wouldn't rent again though because honestly the trouble wasn't worth the effort that I put into it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 8, 2015
Pretty but small
The dress was way too tight. It was a nice dress though so next time I will order the medium.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
March 2, 2015
Wanted this for a charity gala.
The stylist I spoke with recommended this dress and the size. I could not zip it onto my 92 pound 15 year old! My husband used muscles to get it onto me but it was so tight that the zipper didn't lay straight. The color was gorgeous but the neckline was confusing - couldn't figure out how it should lay. Would have had to try the medium or large!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 18, 2015
Loved the red color more
Loved this but the XS fit my few curves better. I also loved the red color more! Would rent for a less formal occasion in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2015
Very easy to rent and return
The dress is not a bright purple as it looks in the pictures, it's more of a dark purple almost blue. Dress runs very small, I normally wear size 0-2 but with this dress I would have been more comfortable in a medium had it been available. The dress does fit snug around the torso region, but once you get in it, it fits like a glove. The zipper does take two people to zip up. The dress does have a little stretch to it, so it may feel tight at first but does loosen. I got many compliments on the dress at the wedding I attended.
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 17, 2015
Cute!
I loved this dress! It was very tight but worked out great. The color was more of a royal blue, loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
February 12, 2015
Gorgeous dress perfect for cruise vacation
I rented this dress to wear for a cruise formal night. The color was a beautiful violet. I received several compliments on the dress. As other reviewers have said this runs very, very small. I usually wear a 0 or XS. Only the size S was available. I decided to try it based on the other reviews and am glad I went with the small. I don't think an XS would have fit; the small was really small (for reference I am 32C-23-35). I was able to zip it up to about my rib cage by myself, but required help to get the zipper up the rest of the way. Once it was on, it was very comfortable and looked great. As usual, customer service was great and the rental process was easy.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Runs SMALL. Order one size up. Super cute, but I was unable wear :(
Small fits like an XS. Order one size up. Would have been cute. Had to find another dress at the last minute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 4, 2015
Did not wear the dress due to small size
Dress looked beautiful and the material seemed comfortable. Overall I did not wear this because the size I ordered was a two and there was no backup available. i normally wear a 2, but in this dress it was just too snug. A size four would have worked better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111lbs
January 4, 2015
Vivid Color--great fit.
Wore this to a holiday work party and I loved it. Gorgeous color. Will rent it again. Even if zipping it up is a challenge.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 21, 2014
Could not wear it , runs extremely small
#supersmall I usually wear a size 4 and even in a 12 I still don't think it would fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2014
I rented this for an office holiday party.
The dress runs small. I did not notice the ruching in the picture when i rented it. The lines going across my bottom did nothing for me. The hem was not pressed down very well and there was a tear in the dress, not really noticeable because of the ruching. I did not wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2014
Very small
Pretty but runs very small
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 7, 2014
Never wore the dress-it does run small,but it just did not sit well on my lower body.
Size up which I did. I was disappointed because there were so many favorable reviews. the color is pretty too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2014
Just OK
I was disappointed when I received this dress. The color is more vibrant in the photos. While the back was beautiful, the front did not fit quite right. The top poked out bit. Even worse, the dress had been folded in such a way that the hem of the dress flipped out and I could not get it to lay flat. The material of the dress was a rougher material than I expected. I returned it for credit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2014
Way too small
This was my "second" dress and I figured it would be too small. It was!! I could not even get it on. The color of the dress is not accurately reflected in the picture. It is purple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2014
Loved the way I looked in this dress! So many compliments!
Beautiful dress!! Looks great on! VERY TIGHT!!! I'm an usually an XS and this Small was SMALL!! Listen to the reviews - the zipper is very difficult, don't try it on your own you'll need someone to help. The dress was tight around my ribs but seemed a bit loose in the chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2014
Darker cobalt color in person.
I have wanted to rent this dress for quite a while, and it always seems to be booked. For good reason, once you squeeze into it, it looks amazing! Note, I received notice that the medium was damaged by a previous renter and no longer available. I am between a 4-6, and I could fit into the S. The dress is a darker cobalt in color and needs simple jewelry. I did not end up wearing this dress, but I would rent it for a different event.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2014
Fabulous dress! If you're thinking about this dress, definitely get it!
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit like a glove and the fabric was amazing. It hit all of the problem areas. I felt fantastic. Plus it was so comfortable! I could get it on by myself but it did take some effort. Another pair of hands is definitely helpful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2014
I had to wear a back up LBD.
Rented this dress for a wedding. Based on reviews from women with my same height, weight and dress size, I ordered a small. The dress arrived timely. Unfortunately it was so small I could not even get the zipper all of the way up. The bottom of the dress did not lay flat either which was weird, as if someone had poorly hemmed it. It kind of bubbled up around the seam. My size for bra fittings is actually 33 (not technically 34) and this dress did not fit over the top of my ribcage. It did not even make it to my boobs which I was concerned about being a DD vs. D. Also, the color was very purple. Based on the picture online I had anticipated closer to a cobalt blue. It was not close to this color. I really did not like the color, and was upset about the fit. I ended up wearing a stand by LBD to the wedding. I will try RR again based on the convenience, cost and overall concept but with a different dress. This was not the dress for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2014
Way way too small
I'm normally a 4-6 and this dress didn't come close to fitting
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2014
Sexy and classy!
Based on previous reviews about the fit of the dress, I was nervous about whether the dress would work because the only size available for my event was the small. I'm glad I went with it - it was VERY HARD to get zipped but wasn't too tight or "sausage"-y once it was on. The fabric is thick and drapes well for a very flattering fit. The color is a deep royal blue and would be flattering on any skin tone. The length was mid-thigh; not too short, not too long. I had no issues with the dress riding up. With a small chest, side-boob wasn't an issue at all. Could've gone bra-less but went with a Nu-bra. A word of caution - when I originally tried the dress for fit, I had some significant painful pinching, not when getting the zipper UP but because it would slip DOWN and pinch as I tried to hold together the next part to zip up (seriously, this dress is hard to zip up). I had no issues on the night of the wedding because, based on previous reviews, I used a safety pin to hold the zipper in place - highly recommend doing this! Overall was super happy and felt amazing all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
September 9, 2014
You want to wear this dress! It runs small for sure, but size up and Go Get 'Em Girl !
I originally ordered this dress in the red color, but the XS zipper would not stay up. I am almost always a size 0-2, This dress runs a little small, you should size one size up. Once I had the correct size, it was so comfortable and so flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2014
It was so small that I couldn't wear it to the event.
I read reviews that said that the dress ran small, but wow I was unprepared for just how tight it was going to be. When I first attempted to try it on I ran and jumped on the scale to make sure that I hadn't gained a surprise 15 pounds since I ordered the dress one week prior. The dress was so small I needed an extra person to help me try and fit in it. In the end, the dress was so tight and the zipper digging so hard into my side that I had to wear a different dress to the event. The next time that reviews say that a dress runs small I will order 2 sizes up or not at all!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 1, 2014
Beautiful dress...but runs very small!
This dress is just as beautiful as it shows on the model. There wasn't a medium available so I got the small. Like the other reviewers, I thought that it ran small and I needed the help of someone else to help me zip it up. Once it was zipped up it felt fine but the process of zipping it up was not favorable which is why I rated it 4 out of 5. I wore it to an outdoor wedding in the summer and I got tons of compliments from people.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
August 30, 2014
Fun night in beautiful dress! Strong fabric, fit snugly in all the right places. Lots of compliments
I felt like a star in the dress! It fit beautiful on. The first try it took a while to get on and zippered! The zipper was a nightmare the first time and I had to work it a bit. Like other reviews, I do recommend a safety pin to ensure the zipper stays up. But once on, the dress has a lot of give and I felt comfortable to move around and dance in it! I would rent this dress again. I received compliments all night. #glamorous #wedding #lovethedress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 26, 2014
so comfortable
Loved this dress so much!! I read the reviews about how small the fit was and this dress definitely runs small, but I think I could have gone with an XS if it had been an option. The narrowest part of the dress is around the ribcage, so if you have a smaller upper body like me the small fit is less of an issue. I was worried the chest part would be weirdly baggy on me since I'm pretty flat but it laid in a flattering way. I wore sticky boobs just to feel more covered up but could have gone without a bra. I did use double sided tape along the right side to help with the gapping (I guess where there would be side boob if you have a larger chest) but it was an easy fix. The dress was long on me, hitting right past the knees. The material is sturdy so I was able to safety pin/double-sided tape and then iron the hem. The shoulder strap also gapped a little in the back but only required one safety pin to secure it to the back of the dress. These were just small tweaks and the dress came out looking like it was made for a petite person :) The best part is, it's SUPER comfortable- the dress material is thick and stretchy and I felt like I could have a huge wedding feast without a second thought. Huge fan of this dress- already planning to rent in a different color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 27, 2014
Love this dress! Great color!
Beautiful dress! Difficult to zip on your own, but fit like a glove and was very comfortable. Good length for tall girls.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
July 23, 2014
This dress was more than PERFECT!
I wore this dress to a formal event (sorry the picture is not better, my hubby tried to take one but it was blurry). I received so many compliments from both men and women. The back adds a bit of sass/sexy, but is still classy. Since the back is open a bra would be difficult to wear with this, but I didnt even try as it was super comfortable without one. The dress was tight, but not too tight, I could dance, move, sit/stand, mingle, no problem or ever having to worry about adjusting. It fit perfect and I did not want to give it back. I would love to wear this dress again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×