Red Lip Smack Dress

$65 rental
$298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel flirty and sexy in this luscious red Parker party dress. A style that is perfect to make that lasting impression at the event. Go with a bold bangle like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Hinged Gold Geo Bangle, a fab clutch like the Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Zebra Tonda Pony Clutch and finish off your look with the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for backup
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for backup
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crepe. Surplice neckline. Three quarter ruched sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size78
Small20
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2012
Beautiful color and draping detail in the front
I recently wore this dress to a 1920's themed wedding and it was perfect! The color is vibrant and gorgeous, and I love the draping detail in the front and on the sleeves. It was very elegant but not too over the top.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
September 12, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!
I wore this dress to a wedding in Miami, it couldn't have been a better fit and I got a ton of compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 7, 2012
I have never received so many compliments before! It was amazing! I was told the color looked great!
I received so many compliments when I wore this dress. It is beautiful and classy and chic and I absolutely love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
September 5, 2012
Birthday Party
Loved it! Not to short and the top was not cut to low. Although I thought the color was more coral on the website and more red in person it was still perfect for my event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 4, 2012
Such a fun night in NYC with a great dress!
This dress makes you look good! It runs short so i paired it with a pair of grey stockings- would definitely rent again! Loved the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2012
All my friends loved the dress, I felt great wearing it! It was sexy yet sophisticated.
The picture does not do the dress justice, it looks STUNNING on! The color is a bright coral/red, basically the same color as it looks in the picture. It fit perfectly and I received many compliments throughout the night. The only thing that bothered me was that all the fabric on the sleeves kept rotating and I had to adjust it on my shoulders. I had a blast wearing this dress and would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2012
Will rent again!
Rented this for my high school graduation & I got so many compliments! The top part is really flowy and was slightly overwhelming but overall it looked really good and I loved the color!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Not quite...
I'm pretty busty, and I thought the drapey fabric on the front would be flattering and more conservative, but the clasp to keep the bust fabric together would not stay closed if I shifted at all. I couldn't wear this to my event in fear of a serious wardrobe malfunction.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
I wore this dress the first weekend back to school at UMD and I was receiving compliments all night! Everyone loved the color and the way it fit. It was a great dress to make my first appearance in!
I absolutely loved this dress!! It fits great and can be worn casually or can be dressed up with a necklace and heels. I wasn't sure I liked the bat-wing style at first, but it looks great on and its very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2012
Girls Night Out
I rented this dress for the first weekend back at school for a night out with the girls and LOVED it! Great color and great fit! I finished the look with the RJ Graziano Gold Scalloped Bangle Set and got so many compliments. An amazing dress for any occasion, highly recommend it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 27, 2012
It was my first time wearing a dress and heels after 3 (amazing) months of hiking boots, leggings, and winter coats in the Andes. What a way to come back with a bang!
I wore this dress to my brother's farewell party before he left for graduate school, and I couldn't have been happier with it! Not only was the orange-red color absolutely stunning - the detail of the sleeves was visually arresting as well. It was a perfect fit in XS (I'm 5'3 and 118 lbs). And as per usual, the RTR service was super easy to use - so easy it seemed effortless! After back-to-back flights from Cuzco to Lima, from Miami to Newark, from Newark to Atlanta, and from Atlanta to Boston, I was exhausted. The arrival of the RTR package made my day and saved me the trouble of having to go through my closet or the racks of countless stores to find something to wear! RTR always knows how to work its magic. A Cinderella moment, indeed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Petite
August 27, 2012
A night downtown.
I wore this dress to a fashion show downtown and it was comfortable, classy, and I was complimented on it several times. You could make this dress casual or wear it to a cocktail party. I wish I had this dress in my closest 24/7, not just for a weekend! It was awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
too short
Loved this dress, but was too short for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
too short
Loved this dress, but was too short for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2012
Great Party Dress
Great dress and a lovely color. It is a little short, but nothing crazy. I ordered a Small and a Medium and the sleeves and top of the Medium were way too loose so I went with the Small. It is loose in the hips, but if you have slightly wider hips just be conscious that it may be a bit more fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 21, 2012
Rocking Red Dress
Wore this for my birthday and LOVED the color. I do have to say though that it was a lot bigger than I expected. I'm really small on top and it didn't fit me that well however when the fabric fell it fell nicely. The sleeves are a little restrictive and the neckline doesn't really stay in place. The length was perfect for a short girl ( not too high and not too long). I would say that if you are looking for something different then this is the dress, however if you are looking for a run of the mill red dress this isn't it. It's constructed beautifully and is really geographically interesting in terms of structure. Do it if you dare!!!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Cute but short
Very Very short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
so easy to use!!
Rented as second option for an outdoor tent wedding, ended up wearing this dress instead of my original first choice. Runs a bit large on top but the button worked just fine, no need for extra pinning,tape, etc. Awesome color for a summer wedding, very comfortable, would rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 14, 2012
Great dress
This dress runs a little large in the chest (I am a 32a) but it is very cute.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
"Great dress!!!" thank you rtr
this was the best dress! I wore it for a girlfriends birthday and got SO many compliments. It was comfortable, short but not TOO short and so flattering. I wished I could keep it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Not for larger chests
I tried this dress as a back up dress but wore the coral Nicole Miller that looks similar to it instead. The shade of coral is more orange than red, which looked heinous on me! And my DD chest kept exposing the snap closure on the top and popping it open. The sleeves also blended with my chest drowning the shape of my bust in fabric and pulling at the fabric on the sleeves in odd ways. It felt like a lesser version of the Nicole Miller Coral Silk Wave Dress, so I would recommend choosing that dress instead if you like this look. And if you have a larger chest as well as a cool skin tone avoid this dress entirely...nothing about it will complement your shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2012
Dress
Great dress! Received tons of compliants, but beware if your are bigger on the bottom.. the top was loose but a safety pin helped but the bottom was thight
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Want to Own It
I absolutely loved this dress for a night out with friends. It was really flattering. I wore it with flat sandals because it was a little short on me. I wanted to keep this one. It was my favorite.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
July 1, 2012
Gorgeous dress
I'm 5'3" and the dress was the perfect length and size- not too long or baggy. The color and the length made the dress really cute and fun without being over the top. Had so much fun in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
June 21, 2012
Can't wait to rent again!
This was my first rental from RTR and it the whole experience couldn't have been easier! The dress fit perfectly and was so fun to wear in Las Vegas! I will definitely rent for all my future events!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2012
Sexy, but not too sexy
It's pretty short and I'm not that tall. However, the sleeves and not-too-low neckline balance it out and prevent it from being too revealing. The color is great and I wished I didn't have to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2012
I usually don't wear red but this dress changed my mind.
I loved this dress. The material is great it is a tad short and I'm only 5'3. The sleeves are also a bit roomy but other than that I enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 8, 2012
RTR provided a fantastic experience and I will definitely rent again!
This dress looked great all night! I got tons of compliments on the bright red color, which I accented with a turquoise necklace. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not find it too short nor did I feel it needed a belt. However, there is a lot of fabric on top, and it might overwhelm a more petite girl.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
April 24, 2012
The perfect LRD (little red dress) for the party occasion.
I noticed several others wore belts, and I forgot to bring one on my Vegas vacay! Definitely wear a belt - it will give you a waist as the dress seam sits between empire and waist height for a short torso/long leg effect. Regardless, the bright red color was eye-catching and caught me attention. Or maybe it was due to the short length that always kept them wondering if my butt was going to peek out from behind, but it won't - the dress was made to provide good coverage. I wasn't the biggest fan of the long sleeves as they kept rotating, and it probably may be too warm in a hot environment/weather. However, I wouldn't hesitate to rent this dress again for another party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2012
this is the third time I have used RTR and I love it and have never been disapointed I reccomend it to all of my friends
I loved this dress! I ordered the small and extra small and I ended up wearing the small... the xs was a little shorter! my favorite part about the dress was the drapped neckline has a small button so you can keep the girls into play or let them out! works way better than using the tape!
KateApril 19, 2012
it looks like everyone wore a belt. does it need to be belted?
RTRApril 20, 2012
Hi Kate, the dress doesn't come with a belt however it's a great way to accentuate your waist in this style!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
April 9, 2012
The red dress was the perfect way to go out in Vegas!
This was the perfect dress for a night in Vegas. It was a great fit, not uncomfortable, and easy to dance in! I would recommend this dress to anyone who wants to have an amazing evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 6, 2012
I rented this for the Rent the Runway Capstone weekend in NYC! What a blast!
At first, I was not a fan when I put this dress on, but once I belted it and figured out the right accessories, it looked great. I felt like it was a lot of fabric for my petite body, but the short length made it work! I fit in both the small and medium, but the medium just looked a little better. The 'V' front was loose and baggy and I wish I had some double stick tape because the snap kept showing instead of having the fabric cover it up. Overall, it was not my favorite rental, but I did receive compliments and I am glad I rented it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2012
My boyfriend marveled all night at how gorgeous I looked and I even got compliments from other wedding guests and the DJ!
I can't say enough good things about this dress. The color was absolutely stunning. The cut was perfect. It's a bit short, but nothing to worry about. I rented the XS as a backup and that was far too short, although it fit otherwise. I wouldn't recommend this for bustier ladies since it's pretty lowcut, unless that's what you're going for. I ended up safety pinning it on top just below where the snap is to keep it closed, since the snap was just slightly too high and didn't fall right on my chest. I'm not working with much, so the low cut line was a nice contrast to the long sleeves. I accessorized with a leopard belt (would definitely recommend some skinny belt to give it a bit more shape) and nude stilettos. Would definitely rent again (or buy!!). The color of the dress on the website is more accurate than in my photos. It's a beautiful and bright red that really pops and almost has an orange tone to it.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2012
Rent the Runway makes looking amazing an easy process. There's no panic of searching for a fashionable dress or waiting in lines, Rent the Runway does it right... for a fraction of the price.
This dress offered the perfect amounts of fashion, class, and seduction. The length of the dress was perfect, not too short and not too long. I added a gold belt and gold jewelry to accent the bright pop of red color. This dress could have been worn to a semi-formal, on a date, or even to a formal event. This dress was very multi-functional! Great rental! It definitely showed off my best features!
NatalieMarch 23, 2012
Looks amazing on you!
MariannaApril 3, 2012
hello! i was just wondering what type of red this is? i'm getting it for prom will be receiving it a few days earlier and need to tell my date which color tie to get ahead of time!
RTRApril 5, 2012
Hi Marianna, the color on this style is true bright red!
AshleyApril 26, 2012
Nicole, what belt are you wearing? Is it a recent purchase?
VictoriaAugust 20, 2012
Hey Nicole, did you find yourself wishing it were a bit longer? Were you tugging at it at all? The only reason I ask is because I am 5'9 and absolutely love this dress but I am a bit worried that it is going to be too short.
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi! The length of the dress will be absolutely fine for you, do not worry! You will love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2012
Gorgeous dress runs small
This is an absolutely gorgeous and flattering dress! The dress runs small on the bottom, so if you have hips order one size up. Wish I didn't get sick for the party otherwise this dress would have been a hit!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×