Grid Lines Dress

$83 to buy
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for a bold stripe pattern in this sculptural fit and flare by Opening Ceremony. Shades of green make a great statement for that first date.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy and turquoise ribbed stretch knit (100% Nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with pleating detail. Circle skirt. Back keyhole. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
347 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(263)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2014
I wore this dress to a formal fund raising event and it worked out perfect!
Great dress, got so many compliments on it. It has some stretch to it so its very comfortable. I would recommend this dress, it can be dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
June 28, 2014
Love the pattern!
I rented this dress for Valentine's Day dinner with my husband. The pattern and the flared skirt are very slimming. The dress is very comfortable and the color is a great alternative to the average red dress for Valentine's Day. The length was perfect for showing off some leg for the hubby! I even wore it again the next day to Sunday church with my grandparents, aunt, uncle and cousins. The length might have been questionable for church, but the high neck made it ok for San Diego.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 29, 2014
Fun experience thanks to Rent the Runway
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. I ordered the size 0 and 2 (wore the 0). For some reason, I wasn't expecting the dress to be quite as short as it was - so just be cautious of that if you're thinking about renting it. The dress always tended to twirl up when dancing which made me a bit uncomfortable. The color and actual fit of the dress itself were perfect! It's a very unique color that will work well with most skin tones. The material of the dress is very tight, yet forgiving at the same time. My only real complaint was that when I originally got the dresses, they both smelled horrible! I don't know if it's just how RTR dresses smell, but I had to wash them because I couldn't stand the smell.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
June 30, 2014
Super fun dress for a bachelorette party!
I LOVED this dress!!! It was so fun to dance in. Since I'm only about 5'5", the hem fell just about 4" above my knee, kind of longer than I was expecting even when wearing the size 4 instead of my usual 6. But it was looked fabulous and felt great. The fabric is very stretchy and soft. This is one to rent again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 1, 2014
Went to a wedding of a friend from college and I was so comfortable in my dress all night.
The fit was perfect! The dress is so comfortable, the material is so soft and I received so many compliments all night. I would definitely recommend this dress. I am 5'0, 110lbs, small chested and wore the size 0.
JessicaJuly 1, 2014
I spelled College wrong! oops
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 8, 2014
Comfortable and got a lot of compliments.
The dress does fit true to size and is stretchy. I love the shape of it and the navy/green lines made it almost look metallic. The only issue was that I have a larger chest and I felt a little suffocated. I think this dress is definitely better suited for someone smaller up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
July 8, 2014
Wedding in Wine Country!
Loved the whole RTR experience (my first!). Rented a 2 and a 4, and didn't even try on the 4 when the 2 fit perfectly. The wedding said "Black Tie Optional" and when I first received the dress I was worried it might be too casual (it has a sporty feel and fabric) but with earrings and nude heels, it was perfect. The dress is in a very forgiving material, and was comfortable the entire night. Couldn't make a necklace work with it (the dress in person is truly teal and navy stripes, not simply teal ribbed as it looks in pictures) and opted for earrings so I didn't look too chaotic. Can't wait to rent my next runway!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 18, 2014
Super Comfortable!
This dress was VERY comfortable! I literally felt like I was wearing workout gear to this wedding! It's a snug fit, with stretchy fabric. The fabric is actually "ribbed" which was cool, and not easily seen in the pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 22, 2014
5-star dress arrived dirty
I wore this dress to dinner on my birthday. It's a great dress with unique fabric and a cool neckline. The fabric has quite a bit of stretch to it and would probably work for a variety of body shapes and sizes. The shoulders are very narrow and I would recommend a racer back bra. The only problem was that the dress arrived dirty! It reeked of perfume and there were two small stains, one on front and one on back. I did learn there is RTR support available after hours by email. By the time I heard from them I'd already washed the dress which turned out fine (and they offered to reimburse me for same day dry cleaning). Next time I'll have the dress arrive two days instead of one day before.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 22, 2014
Beautiful and Comfortable
This dress was perfect for a cocktail party! It was comfortable and flattering and I will definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 31, 2014
Loved this dress! Received compliments on it all night :)
Fit perfectly! The fabric was great. It was very easy to move & dance in & had a nice stretch to it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2014
Great color!
Wore this dress to a daytime wedding and received tons of compliments on the color. Fit me great too super stretchy and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2014
Wish I would have ordered a size 4!
I ordered size 2 thinking it would be a perfect fit and I felt it ran a little too tight in the top to be appropriate for a wedding rehearsal so I opted to return the dress. I loved the color and would consider ordering this again in a size 4!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
August 12, 2014
It was pretty sweet, but I treated it like a back-up to the other dress I got!
Amazing fabric, design seems to change in every photo which is very cool.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2014
So comfortable
This dress got so many compliments, from the color, to the cut, to the texture. It was also one of the most comfortable dresses I've ever worn with lots of stretch. I had originally ordered a different dress that came without the required belt. i contacted RTR and Sarah was the best! I didn't have time to choose a new dress so the stylist (Sarah) chose this for me and overnighted it to the hotel I was staying in. I loved this more than the original dress. Thanks so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this one, but still very cute/nice!
I loved this dress, however, I didn't end up wearing it because it was slightly more casual than I thought it was. Regardless, it was adorable! Stretchy material so very fitting and flattering. Hoping to rent it for another event! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2014
Great dress for a summer wedding!
Really loved this dress. The material is very soft and stretchy. There are no zippers, so it wasn't the easiest to get on and off but wasn't a big deal. I received a lot of compliments! As to be expected, it was a bit short with my height but didn't have any mishaps :) Would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
August 24, 2014
perfection!
this dress was beautiful! the picture does it no justice. I rented a 0 and a 2, and the 2 was a lot longer and looser on me. not too long even though I'm only 5'3. loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 24, 2014
My first time using RTR, and I was so pleased!
This dress is definitely much nicer in person, the pictures don't do it justice. The fabric is very soft, stretchy, and breathable. I was so pleased with the fit of the dress and how flattering it looked. I'm pretty short, so this length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 3, 2014
Loved this dress
This dress fit amazing on my petite frame. I loved the colors and the dress looks amazing in pictures. I will definitely rent this dress again. I was sad to return it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 3, 2014
Young & casual...
I rented the dress for a broadway show in NYC. I didn't wear it. The dress fit but it didn't accentuate my hourglass figure nor made me feel special. The dress might be better for someone younger and a casual affair.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 4, 2014
Very comfortable and easy to wear.
I am 5' 1" and wore a size 8. It was a little longer than I would have liked but got lots of compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 5, 2014
Cute, classy, and comfortable!
Fits great, true to size. Very comfortable fabric and flattering cut. Love the vibrant color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 8, 2014
Lovely evening filled with lots of eating and good times!
This dress will look good on anyone! It is very flattering! It is also very comfortable!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
September 8, 2014
Dancing in this dress is great. It flows awesome with big twirls.
The fit was great, there is no zipper, so it's a pull over the head dress. Since I am a little busty, it was a little tight around the arms, but the size up, was too baggy. It's a stretch dress, which helps when eating and drinking a lot :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2014
Unique, textured and a great color!
The texture and color this dress are amazing! While it was my backup dress for a wedding (and I chose to wear the other one), it was only because RTR was booked on my true size (8) and I had to choose a 6. It ended up still fitting decently okay, though it was really tight in the chest (I had to wear my minimizer bra) ... so I think the 8 would have been perfect. The dress is very unique, and I still managed to wear it to brunch, where I got several compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 9, 2014
very flattering
I rented this as a backup for my save the dates/engagement pictures. It fit perfectly and was very flattering. it's a thicker soft material. it's hard to tell in the picture but there's navy blue lines through it. If you're taller i can imagine this dress would be pretty short on you
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2014
Comfortable and gorgeous
Loved this dress so much I'm re-renting it. The fabric is thick and the cut form-fitting, which makes you feel smoothed out and tucked in in all the right places. Perfect amount of flare in the skirt. The graphic pattern is beautiful and visually interesting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2014
Favorite RTR dress!
This is hands down my favorite RTR dress ever. I received so many compliments. The color is absolutely beautiful and pictures just don't do it justice. The material is stretchy and so comfortable. I didn't need to wear a bra with it and I never had to adjust. The length was perfect on me. You will be so happy if you rent this dress. I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 16, 2014
This was a great dress for my 30th birthday party. Flirty, fun and not too formal!
I wore this dress for my birthday party with friends. I'm usually in between a 4 and a 6, and the 6 fit well. If you're between sizes, I'd suggest going up! It's also a short hemline, so I wore it with black tights, which looked great. The stretchy fabric was comfortable, too. Overall it was a positive rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
June 9, 2014
Loved this dress
Was perfect for an evening wedding I attended. It is very fitting and also appropriate
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
March 26, 2014
Nice but didn't do anything for my body
The dress was pretty. It didn't do anything for my body type though. Didn't hurt but didn't help!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
September 29, 2014
Super cute, very comfy!
Great dress for a wedding! It was stretchy material, so it was very comfortable and totally flattering. The dress was a little on the short side, but nothing too crazy. I still felt "wedding appropriate" and the high neckline made it somewhat modest. Got several compliments on the dress even though the outdoor wedding got cold and I was wearing my husband's suit jacket over it most the of night! Looks awesome with a statement necklace!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
September 30, 2014
Formal but SO comfortable
I loved this dress from the moment I put it on. The colors are fun but still appropriate and the fabric is thick and expensive looking but feels so soft and has a lot of stretch. I typically chose dresses of this style because I'm wide on the bottom but have a small waist. This dress may be my favorite of all of those dresses. The top has double fabric, so you don't really need a bra if you wanted to go without one. There would definitely be enough support for you. I got compliments all night and my friend even asked me to switch dresses with her! She tried it on and I think I'll be seeing it on her at our next friend's wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
September 30, 2014
Felt great! Received many compliments!
Great colors, material and fit. I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2014
Cute dress, not quite like the pictures and not flattering on me.
This was much stripier than I expected. It's also quite blue, I though it was more black and green. The fabric is super stretchy and comfortable, I wish it had been more flattering! I did not wear it because I found the stripe pattern around the torso to be unflattering, I have an athletic frame and it made my chest and shoulders look even broader.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2014
I didn't end up wearing. Fabric too thick and I had underestimated based on season and event.
Fabric too heavy and thick. I didn't end up wearing. Beautiful dress for a different event and season!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 18, 2014
Nice dress!
I wore this dress to an October wedding. The color of the dress was very vibrant. The quality of the dress was great too, however, I expected since the material was thick it'd hide any "trouble" spots, but it did the opposite! I'd still recommend this dress and think it'd be perfect for any event, party, wedding, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 20, 2014
for a fall wedding!
much nicer in person - i thought it might be thin/jersey like but it was really thick and nice! the navy "grid lines" popped a lot more in person - it made the teal look almost electric. however, this was really wrong on me - i'm pretty straight up and down and the waistline just hit me in a really unflattering spot. instead of pulling me in at the thinnest part of my waist, it basically accentuated my belly. was bummed because the dress was gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2014
Not what I expected but plan to rent again!
I've had my eye on this dress forever so I finally made the move and rented this for a wedding as a back up. I was SO surprised by it in person. It's navy and teal stripes and the fabric is more of a jersey, super soft. It doesn't look that way so I could have totally worn it to the wedding but it shorter than I liked for a wedding. The back and front are fine, it's short on the sides which was odd. Its a very very pretty dress though so I plan to rent it again for something more casual where it's ok to show a little more upper thigh!
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×