Nicole Miller

Teal Tart Dress

$40 to buy
$450 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this feminine Nicole Miller one shoulder cocktail dress for that romantic night out with your special someone! Wear a fab pair of earrings like the Kara Ross' Multi Stone Geo Earrings. To pump up the volume on this fitted A-line, try a smokey eye with the help of Lancome's Color Design 5 Shadow and Liner Palette in Midnight Rush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - should be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; ruching detail conceals midsection, yet consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal crepe de chine. One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 29, 2011
Beautiful dress and great quality fabric but way too big. I usually wear a 2 or 4 in Nicole Miller but even the zero was baggy. Too much fabric around the torso :/
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 5, 2011
Great dress! Tight in the butt and legs (but I have a big butt and legs) and not as perfectly fitted in the waist as I would have wanted, but overall I enjoyed it! That fabric is really nice, and I was comfortable wearing it the whole evening.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 11, 2011
This is a really cute dress. More of a dark blue color than teal as it looks online. Fit-wise, I like the flattering fabric around the waist. It was a bit tighter and shorter than I expected around the legs and butt, but it was still appropriate for a wedding. I was sad to see it go but look forward to renting another dress for the next wedding I go to!
RTR CustomerNovember 29, 2011
Hi Lani - thanks so much for your feedback. We have re-shot the dress to better portray the accurate color of the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and it worked out well. It was very comfortable and I didn't have to constantly adjust it the whole night. I don't think the color is totally accurate in the picture, it's a little darker and greener in person, but very pretty. The material is stretchy, and I would size down in this if you are between sizes. The side without the strap comes down pretty low under the armpit but I was able to tape it to my bra and it was fine. I don't think this dress would work very well for someone with a very large bust. My only complaint is the ruching around the waist made me look a little thicker in the middle than I actually am. I'm about 110lbs and the size 0 fit perfectly.
RTR CustomerNovember 29, 2011
Hi Sarah - thanks so much for your feedback. We have re-shot the dress to better portray the accurate color of the dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2011
Very pretty dress that covers up the right spots! Wore it to a wedding and was comfortable all night. Only thing was that strap was too large but I was able to adjust it by pinning it in the back of the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2011
I'm 5'9", 155lbs, and had a baby in the last year, so I was looking for a dress to cover my mommy tummy. I ordered a 10 and a 12. As others have mentioned, it was a bit tighter and shorter than I expected around the legs and butt. I went with the 12 for that reason and used the fashion tape to hold the top in place since the girls didn't quite fill out the top on the larger size.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
November 1, 2011
I wore this dress to a late October wedding and received tons of compliments. The color is fabulous and the material is forgiving. I wear a size 6 in "street clothes" and ordered the 8 to be safe which fit well. I was able to get a normal strapless bar under the dress and applied a little fabric tape to be safe. I do have two complaints against the dress. The front panel of ruching does not lay properly. It seems to be stretched out and shapeless in some sections. Also, the end of the zipper in the back did not lay flat...it bunched up at times. RTR may want to consider fixing the front panel. Given the color, it is a great dress for the holidays.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2011
Curves? This dress is a no
The color is a beautiful teal blue (more blue than in the picture), but the detailing panel of pleating ( thats what I'll call it) sits right on your hips/love handles area and makes them look three times their actual size. If you have hips/love handles/ or extremely self conscious about this area, do not rent this dress. It will not work for your figure. Also, the bust area was a bit bigger, but that can be fixed with fashion tape. If you want to accentuate your hips and look curvier, you should try this dress. Overall, not a good rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 15, 2011
Makes your tushie flat :(
I love the fabric texture, but the color of this dress is definetly darker than what it shows. The top (bust part) looks great and overall it is a very comfortable dress, but it made my tushie really flat.
RTR CustomerNovember 29, 2011
Hi Raquel - thank you very much for your feedback. We have re-shot the dress to better portray the accurate color of the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2011
Great dress!!
I ordered this dress for a rehearsal dinner and I loved it! The dress was beautiful in person with great detailing. The length was great; it hit at the same spot as on the model. A perfect dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 2, 2011
very nice
I normally wear a 6, so I ordered a size up based on other reviews. Both sizes fit me, but the 8 was more comfortable. It was flattering around the tummy which is my problem area. There was a little swatch of the fabric that stuck out on the side where the rouching crosses. However, the dress had a nice amount of stretch and was really fun to wear. The color was a little deeper than the picture
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2011
Not flattering on waist
this dress was as gorgeous on the hanger as it is on the model. The fabric has a verY luxurious feel to it and a little stretch. However once the dress was on there was a lot of extra fabric around the mid section that made that area look very wide. Maybe I just needed a smaller size, but couldn't wear it. My hips and waist are not places that I want to look bigger
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 6, 2012
PERFECT for classy affair!
Adorable 13 y/o wore for NYE wedding and everyone raved over it! Dress is definitely made to be worn by smaller-sized female and not an overly busty woman. She is a perfect 0 and has a very athletic body as a competitive gymnast. Dress is exactly as described and looks even better on/in person than on site. LOVE RENT THE RUNWAY!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2012
Rented for my birthday
I loved the dress and will buy it when it goes on the clearence sale. I bought a back up size since I'm busty but the 10 fit perfectly. I tried on the 12 just to see if I liked it better and it made my waist look three times the size... as the rouching made it look bulky if it wasn't stretched as much. My girls stayed in all night and I've never recieved so many compliments. I thought the color was true to the picture... I don't know if it's monitor settings that made it show different for some people but it matches Sephora's OPI nail polish Tomorrow Detox.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 29, 2012
Great dress
I rented this dress for a dance at my college. It's true that it's darker in person but it was still just a pretty. I'm very small busted but I didn't even need to use the fashion tape with the size 2. It was a really wonderful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 12, 2012
I did not have to sacrifice comfort for style. I got both!
This dress is a beautiful color. It is very comfortable and I was happy I did not have to pull up my dress all night. It provides support in the bust area. The fabric is soft and smooth and it falls nicely. The pleats in the middle cover up any bumps in the midsection. I wore black shoes and a black bag. Overall I loved this dress I felt beautiful and comfortable, 2 thumbs up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2012
Great Fit
I wore this dress for a formal and it was true to size. Overall I was very pleased with this dress and would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 23, 2012
Did not fit well
I was really excited about this dress because it got good reviews. The 6 fit well on my waist but then was way too tight around my hips and legs. The 8 was way too big in the waist and the details in the midsection made me look wider. Maybe it needs to be ironed?? Unless I held my hand on my hip the entire night like the model, this dress would not have worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2012
The best compliment I received was that I was the most beautiful woman at the wedding. Which was weird because it came from more than just my boyfriend.
This dress was perfect. It was almost 90 degrees where the wedding was! I received so many compliments from it and it didn't flatten my bum like the one review said. The length was just perfect for a wedding. I ordered the 2 and a 4 as a back up, but I didn't even need it. It fit great! I got compliments from everyone and the bride and bridesmaid asked me where I got it from! I even managed to get my boyfriend's sisters into RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
June 10, 2012
Cute formal dress
I ordered the 4 and the 6, as I tend to be a bit bigger in the hips. The 4 was snug, but not uncomfortable, however, the 6 was quite large. Color was great, and the dress was very comfortable. I felt very confident in this, and received a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
August 11, 2012
Cute dress
I wore this dress to my husbands work holiday party. The dress fit well but the middle of the dress looks a little chunky because of the fabric. The top was a little big of it was nothing that some fashion tape couldn't fix. Overall a cute look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 15, 2012
Waist is baggy
I usually love Nicole Miller dresses but this one didn't quite fit right. The waist/stomach area was baggy and much too large. Overall I felt the fit was a bit big. The color was gorgeous, but an odd fit. I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2012
Perfect for a holiday party
This is another great Nicole Miller dress - beautiful, comfortable, flattering. I wore it to a holiday party and it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2012
Great customer service!
This dress is a beautiful color and falls at the perfect length above the knee. The fabric around the waist was baggy though and seemed a bit stretched out. Overall it was very comfortable and felt great to dance in all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2012
RTR Life Saver!
I originally rented a Hervé Léger for a formal military function and while it was a pretty dress it was WAY too low cut for my event. RTR came to the rescue! I called on Thursday evening, picked out this as an alternative and I had it by Friday afternoon! The color is gorgeous and I received a ton of compliments. The ruching on one side sits a little oddly, but honestly I think I was the only one who noticed. I ordered a 6 and an 8 both fit, but the 6 was a smidge tight and the 8 was a bit too big. I wore the 6, which fit perfectly after throwing on my Spanx! Everyone was really surprised that I rented the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2012
Nice dress but...
Dress was a nice teal color but liked my second choice back-up dress from RTW better, so I didn't wear this one. My very first RTW dress came with body tape, etc. but none of the dresses I have rented since have come with any. I would have loved it if it had came with this dress. Dress fit snug, true to size, length was just above the knees like on the model but I would have felt more comfortable with a little body tape on the top on the side without a strap. But that is just for my peace of mind.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Sitting at the wedding party table with all the bridesmaids that looked beautiful knowing I looked and felt beautiful also.
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's best friends wedding, where I was going to meet all his high school and college friends. I wanted to make an impression and I think the dress did the job! It fit snuggly in all the right places. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great for a fall wedding! I love the color!
The dress was a little snug on me, but I typically straddle the 4/6 size line. Perfect with a pair of spanx :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 25, 2012
I love this dress! I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
The dress fit perfectly! I am only 5'2 and the length was great! So many people made comments on the dress and I felt great in it. It was a good choice for a wedding. The color is nice because it is so much different from anything else out there, although it was hard to find a tie for my husband that matched. It was more than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
loved it
very comfortable. I got the 0 & 2 - which I usually need the 2 when I rent herve leger - the 0 had plenty of breathing romm yet still felt snug enough to be flattering. color was perfect for a Fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 1, 2012
Got this as a backup dress, didn't end up wearing it.
It was too big on me. I am petite and it was way to long. It just fit awkward. Looks like a pretty dress, just not meant for me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 5, 2012
Soft and comfortable!
The rouching around the middle was odd in both sizes (loose?) and didn't quite hug the waistline like I had hoped. Although both fit fine, I opted for the roomier one after a few days of wedding festivities (boozing and binging). the dresses were pretty well worn and apeared to be a bit stretched out in some places. Beautiful color, but with so many amazing dresses on the site I probably could have picked something more thrilling.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2012
Loads of compliments!
Very tight and form fitting but the midsection is perfect for covering up any insecurities.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
It is very flattering for my body type and I imagine most body types.
I was complimented on the dress all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Great color, fun dress!
Dress was fitted in the right places. I paired it with gold shoes and jewelry and received many compliments. Good thing the 4 fit ( i am 5' 5", 128lbs) and I didn't have to wear the size 6 because the 6 had a huge stain down the front, like someone spilled a drink on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect simple dress.
I loved everything about this dress, especially the detail around the stomach which kind of flattened out my stomach and made it look better than it truly is.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2012
Prettiest Dress on RTR!
I was initially nervous to rent this dress because of all the mixed size reviews. I originally wanted to rent the 2 and get the 4 as a back up, but am I glad I didn't! I absolutely LOVED this dress so much! I wanted to wear this dress 24/7 from the moment I tried it on until I (sadly) had to return it. I have an athletic body style and this dress gave me the curves I never had. I highly recommend renting this dress, and am trying to find another excuse to rent it again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Very nice dress! Beautiful color.
I had to go up a size because the 6 was tight in the hips. The rouching on the one side fell funny on my hip. Not sure if how it was pressed or because it was stretched out. I got compliments on the color which is very different compared to most dresses you see in the stores. Very , VERY comfortable. I didn't feel like it was too tight anywhere, especially when dancing at the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 28, 2012
Color was pretty but I didn't wear it and returned it as the sizes were too big.
Emailed a style representative with my measurements and was advised to order sizes too big (4 & 6). The top of the dress was for someone at least 3 inches taller and the the pleats in the front made me look like a I had a tummy when there wasn't one. I probably needed a size 2 and should've went with my normal size but listened to the style rep since I have large hips I was worried it'd be too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2012
Just Ok
I have rented dresses that I LOVE, but this one I could do with out. I think if you are curvy the midsection layers just add to your hips. The color is amazing.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×