Nicole Miller

Such A Knockout Gown

$155 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
864 reviews
Fit
Large
(39)
True to Size
(650)
Small
(61)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 7, 2016
Perfect combination of elegant and sultry

Beautiful dress with intricate design. Had a very Spanish feel. I received tons of compliments throughout the night and felt very elegant. This dress is very fitted and hugs everything, so I would keep that in mind when choosing it for your next formal affair.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
October 9, 2016
Looked great but super tight

The dress was beautiful. But if you are even slightly self conscious of your body, might not be the best choice. The bodice is very tight, stretchy material. I wore spanx, by the end of the night I felt like I couldn't breathe. But it looked great and got tons of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 11, 2016
simple yet different

Sneaky sexy. Not gonna lie, kinda felt like my boobs were going to fall out at any given moment. But I'm a size DD with very small shoulders so my guess is most other girls with normal proportions would be fine :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
October 12, 2016
Not worrying about getting a dress!

It fit perfect. I have large breasts but they stayed in just fine. The dress was also very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 13, 2016
Felt gorg

This dress holds it all in and flatters all the right places--was perfect for a winter wedding

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
October 19, 2016
Perfect classic black formal dress for Air Force Ball.

Nice fit, stretchy lace. Can wear normal bra. Very sexy but still classy. Wore 1 1/2 open toe heel with regular length and it was perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 19, 2016
Absolutely beautiful dress

The fit was perfect, it was very comfortable to dance around in. I got so many compliments on the dress, it was perfect for a night time wedding! The straps were a pretty touch too

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2016
I wore this dress to a formal wedding at 9 months pregnant. It was incredibly comfortable.

The only issue I had was the lining kept sliding down to reveal more of my bust than I would have liked. I solved this problem by wearing a full coverage black satin bra. It looked like a part of the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
November 1, 2016
Amazing gown for black-tie wedding!

Since this wedding was my first time meeting my boyfriend's mom's family, I wanted to be classy while still feeling sexy - and this dress made that happen! I was nervous as I'm small on top, thick on the bottom & pretty short - but the best thing about Nicole Miller's dresses are the give they provide. The material is so stretchy that you can go down or up a size to cater to whatever parts of your body you want to accentuate. I knew I wanted the top half to be tight so I got a 2R (usually a 4 but the 4 was too long), and the length ended up being perfect with a 4" heel. It was comfortable, stretchy & easy to dance in. ONLY flaw is that it smelled a little stale/smoky but nothing a little perfume couldn't fix. Would rent again!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36DD
November 5, 2016
I wore this gown to the Marine Ball this year and I loved it!

The length was perfect! I'm only 5'2" so I normally have to have my gowns hemmed, or trip all night; but this was perfect in the petit size. I also am pretty large chested but there was plenty of room for the girls and I didn't feel like I was going to bust out of it all night. It was a little tight around the waist, and the straps were a little too long but I wore my hair down to cover them. Only other thing that was super minor was the zipper. Even when it wasn't on I had trouble getting the zipper to move. Other than that it was amazing! I was comfortable all night and got tons of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 6, 2016
Kind of a dated look and was too close to Halloween to wear a witchy type dress

The dress is flattering but the material and cut and proximity of my event to Halloween made me think this was a little too "witchy" for the wedding I was going to. The other thing was that the top neckline was kind of flipping out so you could see the lining of the dress. Didn't end up wearing.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2016
This dress was really amazing!!

This dress was gorgeous! It fit like a glove, had beautiful lace detailing. I didn't even have to wear a bra or spanx. It was SUPER comfortable. I wore the 8R which is my normal daily size- but in dresses I can be a 10. Got the 10 R for back up and didn't even need to try on. I am 5'6 and 140 lbs and I almost ordered the long length, but the regular ended up fine, with a 3" heel. If you are 5'7 I would go to long length, as I was on the cusp of needing it too. I received so many compliments and this was my first time using RTR and I am so excited to rent more dresses in the near future.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
November 14, 2016
Flattering fit!

This dress was about 10th on my list as I rented too close to the date I needed it. It fit wonderful and I was complimented all night on it. I ordered a 0L and a 2L as back up. There was almost no difference between sizes except how the straps felt on my shoulders, so I opted for comfort with the 2L as my shoulders are a little broad. Will definitely be renting again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2016
Unfortunate zipper issues on a knockout dress

I rented the 4L with the 6L as my back up. While the 4 fit, it would not zip all the way. I thought maybe that meant that the dress really didn't fit, so I moved on to the 6L. Same zipper issue at exactly the same area of the zipper/dress. The only way for me to wear the dress was to zip it up all the way while off, then slip it over my shoulders and pull down to the ground. I would have loved to wear the size 4, but it was not making it over my shoulders all the way zipped, so I ended up wearing the 6 for the night. My chest did not fill out the size 6, so the top of the bust area sort of fell forward (I've seen this issue in other reviews). Long story short, I think the dresses have been worn so many time that the zippers can't really take it anymore.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2016
This was my first rtr!

The dress looked great and was perfect for a November evening wedding by the ocean! I got so many compliments and felt so comfortable all night. Also to note I am just about 5'10" and ordered the 4L which was just long enough to wear comfy flats but was not been long enough to wear heels,

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 18, 2016
The dress is stunning!

It fits perfect and has a nice stretch. Just wish I would have known how "see-thru" the bottom is. There is like a built in mini skirt and than lace.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 18, 2016
Being elegant and received so many compliments

Really lovely lace. Body skimming fit. Straps were too long so had to pin them up almost 1 inch. I think the weight of the outer lace layer is too heavy for the inner polyester lining, so the lining kept slipping up at the neckline. I wore a Nubra with it. Seems to have a slight train, so dancing was tricky at times. Wore with 3.5-4 in. heels, so toes were visible at times but not unattractively so. Really did not like that it smelled like air freshener.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2016
Felt great all night, tight in my chest - kept the girls in all night! Shows CURVES!

Pretty dress, SO comfortable. I am an hourglass, it was tight in my outter-thigh, rear. Shows curves!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2016
Showstopper!

I rented this for a Mardi Gras ball and it was perfect! Snug and fit in all the right places - even gave me a little extra cleavage. Perfect length with 4" heels. So many compliments that night.

Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
December 27, 2016
Beautiful dress!

Loved the feel of this dress. It had a little stretch to it so it was very comfortable. The long length was perfect.. I'm 5'7 and had 3 inch heels on. The lining peeked out a tiny bit around the neckline but unnoticeable. Gorgeous lace.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 28, 2016
A gorgeous lace stunner

This fit like a glove, and is a very elegant black dress. The zipper is very low quality, so I needed a second person to zip me up. Sizing up may help with the ease of zipping, but then the straps would be too long. Overall, very pretty for a black tie wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 29, 2016
Lacy Elegance

I wore this dress for an Edgar Allen Poe drama event at the end of October. The lace (which isn't easily visible in the photos) fit the atmosphere perfectly. This dress fits nicely in all the right places. It was the right length when worn with heels. (I'm 5'3"). The bust fit well without overexposing anything.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
January 6, 2017
New Year's Eve win

This dress was so comfortable and shaped me so well in all the right places, I loved this dress especially with the sweetheart neckline it was perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2017
Beautiful and Comfortable!

Great fit, but top of dress kept rolling down. Fashion tape wouldn't keep it up.

Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2017
Loved this dress !

Super comfortable to wear- great material- wish I owned it! Loved it!!

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
January 11, 2017
great fit!

wonderful fit, the straps were a little too long but other then that a great black dress :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
January 16, 2017
The dress I did not wear

I wore my back up dress- this dress was ok, but no wow factor for me. It has lots of stretch- which showed every roll and bump! I guess size up if you have curves. The zipper worked ok but the lace straps were a bit loose.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 6, 2017
Classy and sexy!

It has a little bit of stretch to it, which made it comfortable. The dress was very long for me, even with very high heels. But I also think the length of the dress made me appear taller, which is always a plus for me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 29
February 6, 2017
I felt so confident in this dress!

So comfy and really hugs you in all the right places. Im 5'6 and curvy and the fabric and fit was just perfect.

Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
February 21, 2017
WOAH

This dress is amazing. I have a petit frame and long dresses often don't look quite right on me because they don't hug me in the right places. This however fit perfectly. People told me all night that I looked amazing. I felt so confident in this dress. Its hard to see in the pictures but the whole thing has lace detailing that really stands out. Highly, highly recommend!

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
March 15, 2017
The was 8 months pregnant and rented this for a wedding. Didn't even look pregnant front or back.

Great gown, as advertised. I rented it for a black tie wedding when I was 33 weeks pregnant. I'm so glad they send two sizes because I had no idea what size I would be at that point. The lace fabric has a lot of give, which makes the dress great for pregnancy. I received multiple compliments.

Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 27, 2012
I loved having the option for the showroom visit. It made my pick very easy and the ladies at RTR were helpful and knowledgeable to their product lines.

This gown is exquisite in so many ways. The lace work is just gorgeous. I wore this to a wedding at a very fancy venue and I felt the gown did the event justice. The fabric and overall give of the dress had some nice stretch to it allowing me to move about comfortably and to enjoy my meal without having to worry about breathing :) -- Most importantly, the length was PERFECT. I am 5'1 and I wore a 3" heel... but even without the higher heel, the length hit me perfectly. It's often difficult to find a true to size petite length but this gown is just that. -- I definitely suggest going with this pick...

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2012
Stunning

This dress is absolutely beautiful. Note, if you have a larger bust, you need to order a larger size. Careful of the length. The back is a bit longer, not a full train, but you will need to wear appropriate shoes. The dress is very light compared to most lace gowns. The dress is fitted, a good pair of spanx is highly recommended to feel your absolute best. Be sure to have some fashion tape, just in case the straps are a bit large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
"I love that dress" heard that 10 times with in 4 hours!

Gorgeous fit! This dress was slimming but I felt curvy in all the right places! Absolutely love the simplicity! Definitely a favorite rent!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
September 10, 2012
Breathtaking, but short

BEAUTIFUL dress, gorgeous lace and detailing! But, beware: the regular length runs short. Very short. Order a long, especially if you're getting it as a back up dress like I did. I'm average height, 5'5", and it was short even with flats on. Also is slightly small through the bust; I think this is why the lace on the neckline kept turning over itself instead of standing up straight.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
The dress came like "new" and as promised.

The dress fit true to size and needed no adjustments. It would be flattering on all body types, except if you are big busted. I would definatately rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 16, 2012
SUCH A WIN

This dress has stretch...like enough for me to curl up in the backseat of the car and take a nap. It hugs perfectly and definitely has room to breathe and dance. I have a small waist and larger hips so I was worried that the dress would either be too big for my waist or too small for my hips but the incredibly stretch this dress had was awesome. It hugged every curve. I did also rent it in a 12L, but the straps kept falling off, so maybe boob tape? My only hesitation is that since I have big breasts (32DD) the hem for the neckline kept folding over. I was too afraid to iron it out but that may have helped but honestly I was the only one who even noticed.

MariahSeptember 16, 2012
Hello, did you wear heels?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Fit like a glove!

Everything about this dress was perfect. The lace detail is exquisite and gives the dress a nice weight. I was comfortable wearing mine without a bra, but you can definitely wear one if you want. I ordered the petite length and it was perfect with 3.5 inch heels. I would absolutely rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 26, 2012
I tried on this dress, it's beautiful!

I decided not to wear it because it was a tad too short for me. I choose the other gown sent in my order instead. But, I love RTR and the whole process of renting and returning is awesome. Thank you Rent the Runway, I can't wait to rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2012
This dress is absolutely amazing!

I rented this for a black tie wedding, and it was absolutely perfect. I was nervous about how it would look in person, but the lace is gorgeous and the dress is beautifully designed. The fit was perfect for me, although the neckline tended to roll over a bit - not really noticeable at all though. The dress is also extremely comfy, and the 0R was the perfect length for me at 5'6"! I might actually consider buying this because it was so incredibly perfect!

NyiaSeptember 28, 2012
Hello, I am also 5'6, hourglass shape, and wear a 0 but I do have 5in heels. I'm debating on whether or not to get a long or regular, what did you get?
CheriSeptember 28, 2012
The review says she got the zero Regular
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 22

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×