Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Such A Knockout Gown

$80 rental
$960 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

655 reviews

Fit
Small 48
True to Size 531
Large 35
Photos 484
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

This black dress did not blend in at formal, it was gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It's perfect for an hourglass figure - hugs in all the right places. My only complaint would be that the front of the dress folds down and shows the lining. Other than that, it was perfect! It was so comfortable, I could have slept in it after dancing all night. I would highly recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Dec 9, 2012

Gorgeous black gown

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived in a timely fashion, fit well, and was in outstanding condition. The prepackaged return envelope made the process easy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Very elegant and classic - can't go wrong with black lace!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little large in the waist and chest, although very fitted around lower half of body.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

fits like a glove!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very stretchy, fits true to size! Lots of compliments! Can be worn with a strapless bra! Length is kinda short, I am 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and it was about 1 inch too short. Get the longer dress if you are taller than me!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Compliments all night

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove. Got compliments all night and felt extremely sexy!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Feb 9, 2015

Gorgeous dress! Both 8/10R fit, but length of 8 did not skim the ground even with flats on.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
#glamorous #comfortable #sexy
RTR Customer
Feb 9, 2015

I loved this dress. I got compliments all night and felt so good in it.

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to use fashion tape to keep the top of it from folding over and to keep the straps in place because they were very long.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Fit like a glove.

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit. Photo taken without heels on. Ordered as backup for a wedding. Didnt end up wearing but would rent again for a future event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Loved it

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting, hugs your curves, nice lace detail. Dragged a little for me so if you're on the short side you will need 5+ inch shoes otherwise it's a great dress!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Beautiful dress... Comfortable and fun

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the fit... The fabric has a little stretch to it, so it was comfortable all night. The lace detail is really pretty. The length was just right with my heels.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a formal military event that I had to attend. First off, it is a really beautiful dress! Pictures do not do it justice. I am normally a 4R, and ordered this in a 4L based on the reviews. I'm glad I did! The 4R would've been too short. It was the perfect length. I also ordered my backup dress in a sz 6R. I really wish I would've ordered it in a 2 instead. It runs big! So if in doubt, order a sz down from your normal. It is also a little low cut, which can be revealing. The top also tends to roll down and show the lining (see photo). The straps were loose as well, and tape did not help that. Other than these minor hiccups, it was the perfect dress! Very classy and elegant. Comfortable. I got a lot of compliments! Would definitely wear it again. I was sad to have to send it back.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Mar 16, 2015

Classic, elegant, and flattering.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits like a glove, the stretchy fabric makes it pretty forgiving. Zipper sticks a little because of the lace so make sure you have a friend to help you get it on and off. Absolutely beautiful dress, classy and simple. Would definitely recommend it to anyone!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Very Comfortable and easy to dance in.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect, I was able to eat and dance / party all night. I wore this to a wedding on Halloween and the black lace was just the right touch. The bridesmaids ended up being in black as well so I matched the theme!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

First RTR experience and it was great.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
5'4 / 145 lbs and ordered 6L and 8L as backup at the recommendation of others that the dress ran short. Probably could have work a regular, but heels worked great. Straps fit well, not too long. Dress has a little stretch to it, so while the 6 fit, I ended up wearing the 8 so I could enjoy eating and dancing :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 21, 2015

Classy and sexy dress.

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was form fitting, yet very flattering. It hugged my curves in the perfect way and I felt wonderful in it. Although I was scared it would be too tight as I sometimes can wear a 6 and sometimes an 8, the 6 worked perfectly and it was so comfortable. I think it would have been too short if I had not ordered the 6 long, especially with heels, so I would recommend getting the longer length if you're on the taller side. Overall, great first experience with RTR.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

We went to an annual dinner for the Explorers Club at the Museum of Natural History!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great! Sucked everything in in the right places. A little tight across the bust, so I didn't wear a bra. I wore 4" heels and it just barely skimmed the ground. There was a tiny tear/separation from the lace and the lining near the butt, but not noticeable. I will definitely be using Rent the Runway again! Great service at the Flatiron location, but I'll probably preorder next time.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

The dress fit like a glove and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very form fitting, yet the material is stretchy so it's easy to maneuver in. I'm usually a size 10 in dresses since I have an athletic build (broad back and shoulders), but I wore the 12 for a little extra room for my back and chest. Overall the dress was gorgeous and hugged all the right curves, would definitely recommend for any special occasion.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Beautiful dress! Very sexy and classic

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like the other reviews said some fashion tape is necessary to keep the straps in place and the lining from the top of the dress from popping out. Overall the dress made me feel so beautiful, classic and saucy! Highly recommend! If you are on the shorter side some heels are definitely necessary! I rented it for prom and it was perfect and unlike anyone else's dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

PERFECT NYE Wedding dress... Flattering, comfortable, and just overall gorgeous!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 2L and 4L knowing I'd want the fit to be very close. The 2 fit but had longer straps for some reason so it was tight in the chest (which would have been good) but the neckline hit so low I felt like my chest was popping out. I chose to wore the 4 - even though it was a bit looser it was still very form fitting. The stretch in the fabric made it easy to dance in and eat dinner without worrying about sucking my stomach in all night. The black lace made it easy to accessorize - which I went with big statement earrings. Didn't notice much different between the 2 and 4 in length, but both were long enough to wear 3 inch heels but not too long that I was tripping over it at any time
RTR Customer
Age: 26
Apr 10, 2015

Wore for formal engagement shoot & felt so glamorous!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Other
This dress is even more beautiful in person. The lace makes a simple black gown elegant and memorable. It's definitely form fitting and will accentuate all of your curves! It fits pretty true to size but as other reviewers pointed out, it is a little tight in the bust. For women with bigger breasts, it might be a good idea to get one size up for a backup. Also, as a few other reviewers mentioned, the lace on the neckline does seem to fold over some but it wasn't an issue for me. All in all, it's a gorgeous dress and I would definitely recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Great fit and length. Rent the long if you're going to be wearing heels and you're over 5'6 like me!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. The fit, the lace, the length. The flare at the bottom really made the dress and everyone complimented me and asked where I got my amazing dress. I rented both the 4L and 6L in case the smaller size didn't fit but I think it ran perfectly according to size (I normally wear a 4). I would definitely recommend this for a winter wedding or formal affair. My first RTR dress and I can't wait to rent more!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Black Tie Wedding-First RTR Experience...Beyond Perfect!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 0R and the 2P. They fit very similarly other than the length. The 0 was too short for heels--(even with my 5'3 height), so I wore the 2P because the length was great for 3 inch heels. The dress fits like a glove, it's sexy, comfortable, and flattering in all the right places. If you are taller than 5'3, DEFINITELY get the dress in a long size. Overall, this was a perfect first experience. I loved the dress more than words and I cant wait to rent again!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great dress , got several compliments

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
The top lining around the chest area kept rolling over, I used fashion tape and it stayed up All night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Dress fit well and was amazing throughout the whole night

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing I didnt want to return it however i did find that the dress ran a little short i ended up wearing sandals even with the L size I ordered the 10L and the 12L but ended up wearing the 12L to have more room it was comfortable and i was able to wear it all night at my sororities formal without wanting to get out of it. the zipper is a little tricky but just have a friend there when you are getting ready so they can help you. I know a lot of the other reviews talked about the straps being lose or the bust rolling down but i didnt have the strap problem but i simply used dress tape to keep the bust up. Overall this dress is a 10 i was obsessed and got compliments all night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Fabulous dress for a fabulous evening!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! It's amazingly comfortable, the straps were great too. My only complaint is the neckline, not sure if it was stretched out but the lace kept folding over & the lining would show. I'm probably the only one who noticed it. Overall, it was a fabulous dress & I would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Felt beautiful and sexy in this dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish there was a little more room in the bust and I thought the straps were a little bit long, I wish there was a way to tighten them. It's got some stretch to it in the body and spanx did me well!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Age: 29
Apr 28, 2015

Received many compliments throughout the evening - classy with a dash of sex appeal.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove! I'm 5'7" and the L was perfect with 2 inch heels - if you're tall, size up on the length. The gown was gorgeous; the lace and the slight train made for a nice twist on an otherwise straightforward black gown. This dress also made my otherwise small chest seem more va-va-voom, but in the best of ways. Only con was that the zipper was tough. Not because of a tight fit but because of the lace - had to have my husband help out!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Fits like a glove

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'5, 116 lbs. normally wears a 0 or 2. The 0L fit great. This dress is elegant yet sexy, a simple cut yet very intricate lace work, and the fit is incredible. If you want to look like Nicki Minaj this is NOT the dress for you. This dress is more like the styles of Heidi Klum or Angelina Jolie.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

First formal affair as an Army Officer's wife!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous! The picture most definitely does not do this dress justice. The pattern and layout of the lace on this dress is just wonderful. I usually wear a 4 so I ordered that size and a 6 for my back-up size. The 4 fit me like a glove but I'm rather tall so it stopped at my feet and with heels on you could see the bottom of my shoes. The six covered my shoes but was a little too baggy. I decided it wasn't too big of a deal if people could see my shoes and went with the 4. The dress looked stunning and was still extremely comfortable and I was able to move around as freely as I wanted. I felt like this was a very classy dress for my first formal event as an officer's wife and I was even told I looked stunning many times throughout the night.
RTR Customer
May 8, 2015

Beautiful gown , very comfortable. Top rolled over a little but I use fashion tape and it was fine

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Needed 5 inch heels. As dress is long but fit was amazing. I am 5'3 102 lbs 32c and wore a 0R.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 14, 2015

The dress and jewelry were great and everything showed up on time.

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit of the dress was great. Would have been nice of it was just a bit longer. Great RTR experience.
RTR Customer
Age: 27
May 16, 2015

All the compliments

Size worn: 6P
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I first took the dress out of the garment bag, it seemed like nothing to write home about. Simple black dress, with some. However when, I added the some simple shoes along with a silver bracelet and earrings, it was such a knockout and the definition of the perfect (not so) little black dress! The sheer portion at the bottom really CDs out in pictures! Also, the cleavage area looks great! I wore it to law school prom, received a ton of compliments, and nobody else had it (which is amazing since I live in NYC with two Rent the Runway stores and everyone does RTR). It's definitely underrated. Oh, and it came a day earlier than it was supposed to, but I still got to keep it until the date I asked for. Awesome sauce!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
May 17, 2015

Beautiful, easy dress! Got lots of compliments. Fits like a glove while still being classy.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Size 0 fit me well without being too tight. The length was perfect with 4 inch heels (I'm 5'2), and the bust was fitted without smushing my B's into A's. Straps make the dress easy to wear, I wore a nude bra underneath and taped my bra so it wouldn't show. Beautiful lace-like detail made it more fun than a regular black dress. Would look pretty with a pair of statement earrings. Will rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
May 19, 2015

The dress I selected was returned damage, a stylist picked this and sent it to me, I was so pleased

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is by far my absolute favorite dress I have rented from RTR. The fit was so perfect, it really made me feel sexy and yet classy at the same time. The fabric was beautiful. I loved loved loved this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2015

This dress was stunning!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a million times more flattering than I expected! I felt really confident in this dress and received lots of compliments. Like others said, the lining pokes out at the top, and the straps were way too long. Other than that it was perfect for me!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2015

The dress(es) came in a fashionable manner! I was very comfortable and quite complimented. Thanks!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Moonlight Cruise (semi-formal attire) and chose this dress kinda last minute. I was sorta nervous but the dress was perfect in every way. I'm slim and wasn't sure how the dress would do for my small boobs, but *thumbs up*. My friends loved it on me (and some of the guys on the cruise said so, too). Can't wait rent from RTR again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2015

This dress is sure to give any girl the perfect hourglass shape!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely a knock out gown. It fits true to size and is very easy to wear. My only complaint is that this dress can be a little heavy so you might not want to wear it to a summer event! Have fun!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Perfect for military ball!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered a different RTR dress but was shipped the wrong one. I immediately called customer service and they were very apologetic, saying the dress I originally reserved suddenly became unavailable at the last minute and that I was supposed to have been contacted. The stylist on the other line (Evan) was super helpful saying that she would overnight me 2 dresses of my choice at no additional charge - even though I only reserved the one dress. To help me out with time, she sent me 10 dress choices that fit my criteria. I ended up (somewhat reluctantly, I'll admit) choosing this one- and I could not be more happy with it! I was getting compliments from men and women throughout the night! And it fit like a glove. Gave me curves in all the right places, and was flattering in my not-so-normally-flattering areas. I read some reviews saying the straps were too long, but it seemed to fit me perfectly, though I have somewhat of a longer torso than most. All in all, I would rent this dress again- heck, I'd buy it if I went to more formal affairs! Definitely recommend!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

Simple, yet unforgettable

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was overall very flattering. The lace stretched, so it hugged nicely around my curves. My only complaint is that even though I ordered the longer size, the dress still ran a bit short (about 2 inches of the ground w/o heels).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 18, 2015

Simply a lovely dress; romantic yet a little gothic and all round studding.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress for my junior prom and loved it! The lace was gorgeous and overall it was such a classic, romantic, and timeless gown. I'm 5'8" and wore 3.5" heels and the long fit me perfectly! I'm also 130 pounds and got the size 4L. The 2L also fit pretty well but the 4L was just a bit from roomy (great for dancing and getting in and out of the car and what not).
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×