Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
369 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(58)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2011
I got tons of comments on this dress. It looked great and was fun to wear. I wore a twisted pearl necklace that I got from forever 21 and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 8, 2011
This dress is very pretty, but I think only true hourglasses can pull this off, since it really shows every single curve. You need to be fairly tall and have bigger boobs to wear this.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2011
Usually I wear a size 4-6, so I ordered the size 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the size 2. The dress came to about 2" above my knees, but did ride up a bit throughout the night, though not to the point of annoyance. I did more dancing in this dress and had a great time in comfort. I received a ton of compliments and felt great! The color is a bit darker than shown on the model, which was perfect for the wedding I attended. My only complaint, should I find one at all, is that the front of my arm straps rubbed a bit raw from all my dancing and prolly my larger shoulder/chest muscles. The dresses were shipped to my hotel no problem, and the return process is a cinch! Overall this dress rocked!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2011
It's more like true to size/large. My only issue is that the metal fabric chafed inside my upper arms. I rented this for my wedding reception and it was a knockout. The Ivanka Trump gold peeptoes they have at macy's right now match the dress perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 3, 2012
Amazing
I wore this dress to my engagement party. It is stunning. I had strangers coming up to me telling me that it was georgeous! The fit runs true to size. The neck line is also not to short for someone who has a larger cup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
Runs a little big
I ordered the 6 and 4. I tried on the 6 first and am so glad that I had the 4. The fit was great but the fabric was a little on the itchy side and while dancing it did seem to get shorter and shorter. But overall happy with the rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 1, 2012
Amazing times with my friends and didn't blow a ton of money on the dress that made my night AMAZING!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and the only con was that it may have been a little too long. Truthfully though, all I did was pull it up and roll it up. It was amazing. I felt perfect and got tons of compliments. The rest of the reviews were right. I REALLLY want to buy this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress!
This fabric definitely stretches so I would recommend going down a size. I'm usually a size 8 however the 6 was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Great dress
I am in between sizes and the fit was great, gave me great room.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2012
Pretty
This was my first RTR rental. I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal. It was a very pretty dress, the material a little weird, but gorgeous just the same. Unfortunately neither the 4 or the 6 fit me so I wasn't able to wear it, and couldn't return it in time to credit with my wedding and honeymoon immediately following :( Otherwise, the process was smooth and dress arrived on time and in good condition, I will probably rent again
ReneeOctober 21, 2012
To be more specific, I recently lost 50 lbs so it may not so much run large as I was unsure what would fit. Considering the last dress I purchased was a size 12 I certainly would not have guessed I'd wear smaller than a 4, curves and all. Having that been said, if it had fit, I'm sure the dress would have been lovely. The shape is flattering and the material felt comfortable. However, even being just a tad too big made it look like a bag on me, and the texture look wrinkled, unintentionally. I would recommend the dress, but don't play it safe with the sizing. This dress is meant to be worn as a second skin! Also, if you are fair skinned with rosy undertones like me, the color may wash you out. Overall, so pretty. Wish it had worked out!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 5, 2012
Everyone loved the dress!
Amazing dress! Runs a little large so I'd order a size down to be sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
January 15, 2012
I was complimented so many times by men and women alike! One guy told me my dress was "Boom!" lol
I read the reviews about this dress and looked at all the pictures before finally choosing this dress. The reviews made me think this dress would be more gold than what it actually turned out to be. Even though it wasn't as gold as I expected, it was BEAUTIFUL!! Ridiculously comfortable and so easy to move in! My only issue was that this particular dress had been worn enough that the bottom hem kept flipping up to show the underside of the dress. Not enough to cause any notice (maybe a half an inch), that's just my OCD. I ordered a 6 and a 10 because they were out of 8's. I fit into both but the 6 was just a smudge tighter under the arms than I wanted to deal with so I wore the 10. I absolutely loved this dress and am considering going out and buying one!!!! Also, this being my first time renting from RTR, I was very nervous. I flew from NC out to Phoenix AZ for NYE and had to have my dress delivered to me in AZ but it came right on time, RTR emailed me every time the status changed (updated) so I was never left wondering. They also included goodies in with my order like a NYE hat, garment tape (to keep things in place), and other pamphlets and coupons and I found out the garment bag was mine to keep.....I was surprised by the effort that RTR put into servicing their customers! Definitely a customer for life and plan to return again and again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
I loved this dress so much I rented it again for the night after my wedding this fall! I can't wait to wear it again!
This dress was beautiful. The color is very true to size, it fits well and hugs in all the right places. And it's comfortable!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2011
I'm usually a size four and I'm really glad that I ordered a size smaller!! I agree that this dress is for taller girls, I'm 5'5" and it was a bit too long for my liking, but it fell above the knee (like the model). The color seemed to be a bit darker than in the picture, more of a tan/beige. Still a knockout dress!! I highly recommend it! It is great for accentuating your good features and hiding your not so great parts too!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2011
This dress was awful, awful, awful. I can't figure out why so many people liked it or what body type it would look good on. The silhouette was the worst part about it - it was so tight over my butt and thighs that it was extremely unflattering, even on a 5'6'', 120 lb. frame. I honestly looked like a hooker. The neckline was equally bad and made my chest look flat and just plain weird. I wanted to wear this to my own bridal shower hoping the length wouldn't be too short and the ruching would be forgiving, but it was truly a mistake. Try another dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2011
Ordered the 2 and 4, thought they both looked tiny, but put on the tiny little 2 and BAM! Perfect fit, great stretch. This dress got SO many compliments, and looked gorgeous in photos. The color is even better in person, and it's insanely comfortable for a cocktail dress...I wish I owned it now!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2012
Great dress, a little long
Good dress, I would have worn the 4, but it was kind of worn out so I settled for the 6. The fabric was beautiful on the 6, but again, worn on the 4. Very comfortable, and I got tons of compliments. It's hard for me to find a dress that can fit my bust, and this one certainly did. It kept riding up around my waist, and was a tad longer than I expected, but this could be because I'm a little on the short side.This was my first rental and I was overall very happy with it.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
This dress is a knockout. Based on the other reviews that said this was very fitted, I ordered a size up for backup, and I am glad I did! I could barely get my usual size on. The fit is very sexy, but flattering as it gives in all the right places. My husband loved it! It did ride up a little when I walked which was a little annoying, but overall it was a hit! Sexy and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
November 11, 2011
Not the best for small chest
I ordered this dress in both a size 4 and a size 6. This dress runs way small. Could not even get into the size 4. Chest-wise, probably best for a C cup. The size 6 fit OK but had a chest flattening effect. Also, the lining on the size 6 kept poking out the bottom of the skirt. Wish that RTR would include a body type of SMALL CHEST, because pear-shape does not necessarily imply a small chest. Had to return both sizes, unworn.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2011
The ease of renting was the best! It was like Christmas opening the dress up for the first time! I also love chatting with your stylists! They are extremely helpful!
I wore this to an evening wedding and it was spectacular! It is very form fitting but the ruching helps hide any flaws. I do have to say if you're dancing a lot it does ride up some. Although it might just be me not used to a shorter dress. It isn't as long in the pictures either and I'm 5'8 more like mid thigh. Lovely color, more gold than the picture but still amazing. I would definitely rent this one again! Although with all the dresses on this site probably not! Thanks RTR for an amazing dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2011
Perfect party dress
This is a great dress! I am usually a 10 but one of the RTR consultants said to order up and she was exactly right. The 12 fitted perfectly, just like most 10s do on me. It is very comfortable (really important to me) and also different and eye catching - there weren't any dresses like it at my 350+ attendee event. It is form fitting but moves and stretches, easy to sit and dance in. I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2011
I rented this dress from New Jersey for a Florida wedding. The dress arrived on time. I received so many compliments. I returned it from Florida without a hitch!! So hooked with RENT THE RUNWAY! Thank you!!
I ordered a size 2 and 4. The dress came and it did run a little small. I wore the size 4 and it fit like a dream. Beautiful fabric. Received so many compliments. I would suggest going up one size from what you usually wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 2, 2012
Had a great NYE and the dress made it even better! My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off me.
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve event. I loved the color, which is a light gold that almost appears to glow in the right light. It stood out from all the other LBD's that were worn that night. It was also very comfortable. The material is very stretchy, so it's easy to move around in. I would say the dress fit fairly true to size however, I have a more athletic build and the 4 was tight around my shoulders and chest. Therefore, I decided to wear the 6 whose length I liked better anyhow. I assume this dress does get rented a lot and there were some signs of wear, mostly on the inside. The material on the inside of the straps were somewhat pilled and a little itchy. Overall though I thought it was a great dress, well worth the rental price.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
January 10, 2012
This was my first rental and have already reserved my next dress for a wedding in May.
I was very happy with how this dress looked! There could be a little more room or give in the under arm area, it seemed a little tight but other than that it was great! It was super comfortable besides the under arm area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
June 8, 2012
Beautiful, but didn't fit
I should have ordered it several days before I needed it in case it didn't fit. I couldn't get this zipped up at the bustline. When I got it all but about an inch away from zipped up, it cut off circulation at the arms. I ended up sending it back. It fit everywhere else but the bustline for me. Such a great looking dress - too bad!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Cute and fun dress
I wore this to a formal event in January, it was simple and elegant. M only complaint would be the armholes cut into my sides just a bit. I'm around 34C so if you have a smaller bsut this should be a problem. It was a perfec dress for the event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this dress for a party. Everything about the dress was great--my only complaint is that the arm holes (for lack of a better word here) were a little on the tight side. I'm pretty petite so I didn't really see that coming. Glad I ordered both the 0 (my typical size) and the 2. Oh yeah, and I guess I should say this was a costume party.
EmilyOctober 16, 2012
What type of shoes did you wear with your dress??
ElizabethDecember 14, 2012
Because this was a super-hero themed costume party, I wore tall brown boots. I don't think that I would do that if I had been wearing it for another occasion. I think you could do gold or a neutral pump though.
nancyDecember 20, 2012
Where did the dress hit on your legs? I want to wear it for NYE and want it to be more on the mini side. I'm 5'0, would fashion tape work to shorten it?
ElizabethDecember 20, 2012
Hi Nancy, the dress hit me roughly mid-thigh, on average. I say "on average" because it did sneak up a bit throughout the night. If I remember correctly, RTR included fashion tape with the shipment (so helpful!). I didn't use it but think it would work if you needed to shorten the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Body type: Apple
August 16, 2012
pretty
didn't fit sending it back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
loved it!
ran just a little small, but I expected that of Nicole Miller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 28, 2012
Never Wore it
The arm holes are sooo small, make sure you go up at least one size if not 2! I never ended up wearing it, but the color was very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
September 4, 2012
Feeling all dressed up and looking A-OK for an old lady!
I wanted a sexy but classic dress for a dinner out with the husband & drinks with friends. This ran a little bit tight, and the dress itself was a bit more worn than others I've rented from RTR, but it worked just fine. I'd give it a B. Probably would've gotten an A- if it hadn't been so popular (& was in better shape!). Hubby loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 19, 2012
Solid rent!
This dress ran a little short/formfitting, but the ruching helped keep it flattering. Great NYE dress- very festive!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
This was the perfect dress for my bachelorette night! Super comfortable and fit all my curves.
I'm very chesty so it was a little tight in the top but the rest of the dress fit perfectly. Typically I wear a size 2 in a dress but stepped up to the 4 with my free back up and it was perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2012
Runs small!
This dress came in a size 6 but looked like a 2. The material does stretch, but for me it stretched too much and buckled along the side where the zipper was. I would highly suggest sizing up with this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Amazing. Still getting compliments on how great (me and) the dress looked.
I'm usually a 2, but I ended up using the 4. It's pretty tight around the arms, and the material is a bit scratchy so I was a bit chafed by the end of the night dancing. Totally 100% worth it for the gorgeous fit. It's very comfortable and stretchy enough through the body, but snug enough I never even thought about adjusting my strapless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
October 14, 2012
Very pretty dress!
I ordered the 4 and 6 (or S and M I can't remember) and wore the bigger size and it was STILL tight!!! Very form fitting, but still comfortable because of the stretchy material. Beautiful color, great for a wedding!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 18, 2012
Doesn't leave much to the imagination
This dress is very form fitting. You definitely have to be comfortable with all of your curves! I don't think I would rent this dress again. It is also more gold than champagne.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
The fit was really off and it looked cheesy and cheap. Not recommended.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2012
z
Beautiful dress. I think it runs a bit small because I usually wear a size 4. I was impressed with the quick delivery and packaging upon arrival. I was disappointed that there were some snags in the dress. They weren't noticeable but nevertheless they were there. Also the hemline hung below the bottom of the dress. I feel that the dress shouldn't have been sent to me like that. Because it was a krinkly type material it wasn't noticeable though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 14, 2012
Disappointed
The dress looked a bit worn when I opened the package. But I rented it for for my husband's firm holiday party, which is an evening event and the rooms can be prety dark (read: forgiving of a less than perfect dress). But despite my best efforts, I couldn't get the dress zipped up around my bust line and ended up not being able to wear the dress. It looks terrific on the model and in the photos of the other women on the website, but just didnt work for me.
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×