Nicole Miller

Pitch Black Sheath

$40 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get dance party ready in this sizzling LBD by Nicole Miller. Bling out your look by going with accessories like Alexis Bittar's Gold Pave Tear Drop Earring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (95% polyester, 5% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Ruched body. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

174 reviews

Fit
Small 52
True to Size 102
Large 1
Photos 99
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 24, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Slimming fit even though it was form fitting. Easy to move around in.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 19, 2015

I loved this dress! It shows all your curves.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered the 6 and the 8 and tried on the 8 first. It was a tight squeeze so I didn't even bother trying the 6 on. The dress is awesome if you like cleavage, We were in Vegas going to a club so it was perfect for that. Only thing I didn't like is the sides of the dress near your arms show your bra a bit in the front, luckily I was wearing a black bra so no one else noticed. It was a little clingier than I liked or am used to but was good for Vegas! I would recommend this dress but size up as there is not much give to the material.
Rae
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
May 12, 2015

Rented for a date event, and sooo many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm 4th from the right... yea. It ran a liiittle snug (barely), but I was able to do everything I normally would have and I was comfortable. I usually wear an 8-10, and had to go with the 10. I'm wide hipped, broad shouldered, barrel chested, and I'm not well endowed, but seriously- you do not need a lot to work with to wear this dress. Throw in a bombshell VS bra if you're like me and this dress is perfect (I know it doesn't look like it in this picture, but trust me it's all the dress + VS combo ). Hugs the curves but doesn't make them look bigger!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 5, 2015

Fits better than any dress I've ever worn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits wonderfully! If you have an hourglass figure, rent this dress! It gives you lots of cleavage, and it accentuates all the right curves!
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 3, 2015

Great dress if you wanna show 'em off!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I think the dress is a great LBD. For me, the level of 'boob' up top was a lot. This was a flattering dress and would be on most people. I was just a little uncomfortable with how bare it was. If you're anything in the C or D area, I'd definitely size up, or maybe rent something else.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Gorgeous fit!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR purchase and I couldn't be more impressed! The dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I would recommend sizing up for your back up if you're curvy. I was able to squeeze into my usual size but it was super snug on my hips and butt.
SAS
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Very flattering and classic.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2 and the 4, and ended up wearing the 4. I think I could have worn the 2 if I decided to not wear a bra (which you could definitely do in this dress - thick material and good support), so if you are in between sizes I would recommend sizing up. The dress gives you a very classic silhouette, and overall worked really well for the event I was attending. I would recommend it.
RTR Customer
Apr 24, 2015

Dress was wonderful!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Date
The dress was prefect, fit was snug but still comfortable.
Kathi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Amazing dress!!!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
The dress fit a little snug in the chest and I'm not that large... Just put the girls on display more than I intended but it was ok. The folds are amazing - they conceal waist and hip areas and also left room to eat dinner with no issues.. Very good :) all in all, great dress!!
Keren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 15, 2015

Would Recommend

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would definitely recommend this dress! The reviews said it was extremely figure flattering and it did not disappoint. I have an hourglass figure with a small waist and significantly wider hips, and usually can't do tight dresses due to the muffin top effect. I did wear spanx with this dress and felt more comfortable that way, but the ruching smoothed out all of my curves in all the right places. :) I am usually a large 6 or a small 8 and I could have pulled both sizes off, but the 6 was a little tight around the chest and shoulders so I opted for the 8 which had a little more wiggle room. Both sizes looked great. :) The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was the straps -- they were a little too long and caused the dress to fall down VERY easily in the front. I took many pictures in which my bra was exposed and I didn't even know it. I would definitely recommend investing in some fashion tape and using it before heading out -- I didn't have any times when I first put it on at home, but the dress quickly started to fall down as I moved around in it. All in all highly recommended though and would rent again. :)
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

When my date saw me in the dress; the look on his face was the biggest confidence boost!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm about 5'3"-5'4" and the dress was longer than expected, but I wore heels and that balanced it out. The straps were also a bit long- don't count on being able to wear a bra with this (I wore a stick-on) because the dress falls pretty low. I ADORED this dress and got a ton of compliments!
RTR Customer
Apr 13, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a normal bra and didn't need any fashion tape to keep the dress in place. I'm 5'3" and 115 lbs. I wore the 0 but I could have worn the 2 as well. The 0 fit better but any differences were minor. All in all, Great dress! It was comfortable and I got lots of compliments! I really can't remember anything negative about it.
Annemarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a date and it is the perfect LBD!!! Fits true to size and the fabric has a nice ruching effect to it so as to hide any belly issues. I will most likely rent this one again! 5 stars for sure...
krysten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

Such a flattering shape!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size, I have a larger chest so the heart shaped neckline was a little more revealing that it would be on others. It is extremely comfortable.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Sexy curve huggin thing

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Sized down to hug curves, otherwise billowing style at waist bunches in a slightly unflattering way. But the dress was well received. If you are smaller in the bust you can probably get away with no bra. Unfortunately, I wore one that kept creeping out. Great for a black tie cocktail party! Definitely will turn heads.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Fun and sexy!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear as part of an eighties costume--it was perfect! The dress hugs your body in all the right places, and the fabric is stretchy/comfortable. Adorable dress for a night out!
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Got compliments all night!!!!!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Date
This dress is elegant, sophisticated and very figure flattering, I felt so sexy and attractive. My date loved it!!! It was a total hit!
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

It was a great night and got tons of compliments on the dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect! I wore it for a date party for my sorority and it fit very well and was super comfortable!
Larissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

Wore this dress to a work Christmas party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was a perfect fit, I could even wear a regular bra which was a major plus for me! It was a nice thick, stretchy fabric and was very comfortable to dance in. The neckline and ruching made it a unique, classy LBD. Really the only con was that it rode up a little and the slip on the inside also rode up and got bunched up from time to time. Other than that it was great, I got a lot of compliments on it throughout the night.
Marley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

Hot black dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress! Had free bday credit from RTR so ordered it just for a fun date night. Ran a little small but I think just because it's meant to be fitted. Loved the top especially. I've worn size 2/4 dresses from this site but definitely wouldn't have wanted to go smaller than a 6 for this.
Ari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Gorgeous & Comfortable dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely fabulous. The neckline is extremely flattering, and the dress was comfortable enough to enjoy a night of swing dancing! This is the perfect LBD. Wish I could have bought it instead of renting it! Rental was true to size, great quality.
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Great dress with just enough stretch in the fabric to hug all the right curves!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved wearing this dress! It was perfect for a Bachelorette Party in Vegas. I used some skin tape to secure the top, and even though I wasn't able to wear a bra, it wasn't a problem.
Denise
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Best Get Ready for Big Party Experience Ever!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Having discovered Rent the Runway has changed the way I will get ready for special occasions from now on. Admittedly a little skeptical at first, I trusted the many positive reviews I had read. From the available selection, with all of the helpful comments, to the placing of the order, to delivery and return packaging and instructions, this was a very pleasant and easy experience. I wore this to a holiday office party and received many, many compliments from the time I stepped on the elevator. The dress was comfortable and easy to move about in. I went up a size based on all of the comments that suggested doing so and I'm glad I did. I will definitely be a returning customer.
mercedes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

The dress was perfect and made me look amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked fantastic and was great for the formal I attended! The dress is tight but i expected that. I was able to wear my usual size of a 2, and i got a 4 as my backup. This dress is amazing!
Vera
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Extremely flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress and I got tons of compliments. The only con is that I had to pin my bra to the top to make sure the bra didnt slip out of the top as I moved around
Erin
Age: 45
Dec 11, 2014

I felt very sexy in this dress and it was comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
If you are busty you may want to order a size up for your second size. I loved it and didn't have to wear spanx just regular panties and bra. It's a great little black dress super feminine. Reminds me of a dress a bombshell would wear - like Marilyn Monroe or Sophia Loren.
Tracey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

I rented this dress for my birthday. It fit absolutely wonderful!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is wonderful. It fit absolutely perfect. I would rent it again and recommend to anyone! We went out to dinner for my birthday and to a private club to meet friends. Everyone raved at how I looked. Thank you for everyone that posted their picture. I was a bit shy to rent from just the picture of the model but seeing in on real women was what made my decision.
Emmaline
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

This dress gives you an awesome booty :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. It fit like a glove. I took the advice from other users to order a size bigger than what you would usually wear, and I DEFINITELY agree. I usually wear a small-medium or a 4, and I ended up wearing the 6. I love it because I don't usually wear tight things, but this dress was tight in all the right places, and the material over the slip of the dress covers any problem areas that anyone might worry about. I would definitely recommend this dress, I got compliments all night!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 31, 2014

My date LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is killer. It does run a little tight in the chest, but fortunately that wasn't a problem for me. It fits like a glove, has enough stretch to be super comfortable, and looks amazing. The zipper is difficult to do up, thanks to the ruching, so maybe try to have someone on hand to help you zip up. Otherwise, this dress was perfect for the engagement party I went to!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

...When my man looked at me halfway through dinner and told me how beautiful I looked :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm not one to wear form-fitting dresses. I have a little "pooch" if you will, so this dress was definitely out of my comfort zone. After reading all of the reviews, most of the women stated that the rouching of the dress was very flattering and covered up all the right places... THANKFULLY the reviews were right, because I felt amazing in this little number! i paired the dress with a JCrew necklace, some strappy black pumps and a black Tory Burch clutch! Perfect night!
Alissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 21, 2014

I could eat, drink, and dance all night while looking great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As I noticed with all the other reviews, this dress did run small. I wore one size up from my normal size and it was perfect - fitted but not suctioned to me, flattering, and comfortable. I received compliments all night!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

I felt amazing!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was definitely a head turner! The 4 fit great, I usually wear a 6. It is VERY small in the bust (as you can tell from the picture). I'm a small B and I barely got in there! Anyone larger than a B would need to go a size up. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Oct 14, 2014

The perfect LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks much better in person than it does on the model. I wore the 0 and it fit perfectly! The only issue was the zipper was very tough. You have to have someone else zip the dress for you.
Perri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Love the sweetheart top!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classic LBD, hugs your curves in all the right places, easy to dance in.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Little black dress for an evening wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
All of the reviews I read said that this dress ran small, so I ordered both a 0 (my usual size) and a 2 (to be safe) however I didn't think this dress ran small and that it was true to size. The only place it was slightly tight was in the bust, but with 32ddd sized boobs that is almost always expected. The straps are thick enough that you can wear a regular bra and your bra straps will not show which is always a plus.
Kimberly
Age: 27
Oct 11, 2014

Perfect little Black dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fabulous. I listened to the reviews and ordered my extra size a size up. The 6 would be perfect for a girls night out. The 8 was a little longer so perfect for a wedding. This dress really flattered my athletic build. Huge fan, got compliments all night.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Wonderful flattering little black dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so flattering! I wore it to a concert, and it turned a lot of heads! I would absolutely rent this again! It's fitted, but textured perfectly to highlight your assets and hide imperfections. I am 5'3", 125, 32C, and I wore a 2 comfortably.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Sep 27, 2014

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a show stopper I got so many compliments on it! This dress made me feel like a million bucks! Was true to size but fits tight in the bust. Would definitely rent again!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Hot little LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is super flattering, given the stretch and ruching. The thick straps make it comfortable to wear and easy to pull off with an actual bra. For tall folks like myself, it runs a little short, but not excessively! I would definitely rent it again.
ashlee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Love! Love! Love!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
At first I wasn't sure about this dress because it seemed a little unassuming and I wanted something special for my birthday. Then I tried it on and oh my good lord....it was perfection!! You will not be disappointed or regret renting this dress. I don't just want to rent this dress again; I want to own it! I've never felt more beautiful. No complaints whatsoever.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×