Pitch Black Sheath

$40 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get dance party ready in this sizzling LBD by Nicole Miller. Bling out your look by going with gold jewelry and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (95% Polyester, 5% Spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Ruched body. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size125
Small60
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2015
Sweet yet sexy dress, perfect for dancing.
This dress is magical. When I saw it on the hanger I thought no way would it fit. But somehow it stretched to hug every curve while maintaining a bit of mystery with perfectly placed ruching along the front and back. I have a very short waist but this worked great- I would definitely recommend for the petite ladies. I could have done with a 12 instead of a 10 but the 10 really was fine. I wanted something sexy/flattering to wear to a wedding and this dress did the trick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2015
I got several compliments on this dress. It was really comfortable but runs a bit small.
I probably could have squeezed into the 2 if I had rented this dress for a night out in the city. For the wedding, I felt more comfortable in the 4 though. I would definitely rent it again for a dress occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 8, 2015
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding.
Classic dress, very flattering!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 2, 2015
Showstopper.
This dress is a showstopper - hugs your curves in all the right ways and hides any "problem" areas. I thought it ran a bit small - and it gives a great push up. The length is classy enough for more formal events, however, be aware that your cleavage will be on display so bustier ladies might have an issue. Other than that, it is a smokin' hot dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 18, 2015
The dress fit perfectly and the material was stretchy making it comfortable sitting/dancing/eating
The material is slinky and somewhat stretchy so it was able to fit my broad shoulders. This dress is definitely a push up and a bra underneath can show but the material is thick enough to get away without one. I love how the material is ruched in the abdomen to hide any imperfections. Overall excellent dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 16, 2015
Bachelorette party perfection
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the show we went to and dancing after for a bachelorette party. The bust area was a little snug, but it looked great! I loved it so much I want to buy it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 7, 2015
This was for my sister's bachlorette party.
8 was a little snug, 10 was a little looser- I went with the 10 because I knew I would be eating and drinking and knew I would probably bloat out a bit. No one could tell the difference visually, I could just feel the difference. Could wear a regular VS bra, it showed just a little bit, but no one was the wiser except me. Girls will be on display, but it is classy and comfortable. It hit at the perfect length of my thigh to flatter my legs. I love this dress, would defiantly rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 6, 2015
It was a sexy LBD for a bachelorette party that was cut lower in the chest than anticipated.
I wore this dress to my friend's LBD Bachelorette party. I am 10 months postpartum and a breastfeeding mother so I'm still trying to figure out what styles fit my new body that is constantly changing. I originally ordered a different LBD, but it ran small and so this ended up being my second choice. I was extremely happy with the customer support person who helped me make sure this dress arrived to the hotel where the bachelorette party took place. I was flying in from California and this dress was at the front desk of the hotel I stayed at in Lake Geneva, WI. This was a great back up choice because, most importantly, it fit. I wasn't thinking it would smush my girls as much, but it ended up being fun for the party. This is definitely not something I would wear for a work function, unless you're maybe smaller and flat chested then it might fit different. All in all, I'm blown away by another fabulous Rent the Runway experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 177lbs
August 3, 2015
Elegant, sexy and perfect LBD!!
I felt amazing in this dress!!! The shoulder straps and neckline give it a gorgeous look! It was perfect for a night out in Vegas with my guy. He loved this dress. I am normally a 12 but they only had a 10 so I crossed my fingers and gave it a try. It was snug in the chest but the material is stretchy and forgiving so the rest of the fit was fine. I could move and sit in it easily. I didn't wear spanx because the ruching disguises everything and I didn't need a bra because the top pushes the girls up and gives them a nice shape. The slip underneath does cling a bit but not enough to diminish my love of the dress!!! I definitely recommend if you want to look sexy but classy!! This was my first RTR experience and they are fantastic!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2015
Wore to a party.
This is a very sexy, form-fitting dress, and I got tons of compliments. It can be dressed down (I wore it to a casual party) or up (would have worked for cocktails with nice jewelry and fancy shoes). The fabric is high quality and the ruching is really nice. It hit mid-thigh and fit me on length, and I am 5'11", so that is a big plus. I was also able to wear a bra with straps. It is definitely a sexy dress, both tight-fitting and a bit busty - I would not have worn this to a worn or formal event. The one downside is that it definitely runs small - I'm relatively thin and barely squeezed into the size 8. In summary, loved it and would wear it again in a second, but be sure to size up and don't plan to wear it to a professional party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
July 19, 2015
Flattering LBD for night out with the girls
Wore this for a bachelorette party. Definitely busty, so if you're someone with a bigger chest this might be too much. I'm a 36B and was really showing off some cleavage, but it was ok for a night out in the city with the girls. The dress is thick material and is lined which helps cover lumps and bumps. I still wore spanx but just because they made me feel more comfortable. I was able to wear a regular black bra. The only complaint is that the dress was really difficult to zip due to wear and the folds of the fabric on the backside. The tops layer of the dress also seemed to shift around a lot on the under lining, requiring me to grab it and spin it back around when I was dancing. Otherwise it was a good dress for the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 16, 2015
What a great dress!
I love this dress! It's very flattering and really accentuates curves. I am typically a size 4 or 6, but had to go with the 8 due to the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2015
"You didn't rent that did you? Because I want to tear if off of you"
He loved it, I didn't! Overall, very sexy, the fit was fine (I sized up based on most of the previous reviews), but it did ride up on me quite a bit, while walking. My chest looked great, I did wear a strapless bra to enhance them even more. I just didn't love this dress, though. I have rented so many other dresses where I truly felt like a bombshell, but did not feel that way with this one. I had planned to wear it for a big date night as well as a bachelorette party the next night, but chose not to wear it a second time. It's great in a pinch though :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
July 1, 2015
HOT dress that gives you all the right curves in all the right places!
I enjoyed wearing this HOT dress that showed off curves perfectly! I felt like Jessica Rabbit in this one! Note that I wore my back-up size of size 4, as opposed to the size 2, and it was a bit tight in the legs, but luckily, I had very little walking too do - small steps! I comfortably stood during the cocktail party and sat at dinner. I will add this to my list of potential repeat rentals, but perhaps try the size 6 as a back-up to see if is as flattering, but move more easily.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
June 22, 2015
I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner and it fit like a glove!
This dress was truly a size 0 ( a lot of 0's I have rented tend to runner on the bigger size). I received tons of compliments on the dress and it was absolute perfect for the event!! I would definitely recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 16, 2015
I felt very confident. It's a great dress if you want to look badass for an evening.
It's very tight and has a long zipper in the back so if you usually wear a padded bra with low-cut dresses, you may want to go for something lighter--this dress squeezes everything tight as is. Also, have a friend handy to help you zip up. My husband, naturally, disappeared right when I needed him so I had to do some contortionist work to get it zipped. May want to get the next size up as a back-up just in case. I think it's just a body conscious dress and is going to feel tighter than most things initially.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2015
This dress is amazing.
Where do I begin? I've never felt so sexy in my entire life. I'm a 34DD, and even braless the size 6 was a little snug in the chest. But, the cut of the neckline and the way the fabric fell was absolutely gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
June 7, 2015
Dress runs small and fabric has NO stretch
This dress is classic and sexy! Great choice for a night out or a wedding. I rented for a formal wedding at a winery, however was not able to wear because the dress was way too small. I'm typically a 6 or 8 and could barely zip up the size 8, and that's without a bra on! If you are even slightly curvy, I would suggest going a size up for your backup. Wish I would have been able to wear this because it is a beautiful dress. Will have to try a larger size for a future event...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 24, 2015
Great dress!
Slimming fit even though it was form fitting. Easy to move around in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2015
I loved this dress! It shows all your curves.
I ordered the 6 and the 8 and tried on the 8 first. It was a tight squeeze so I didn't even bother trying the 6 on. The dress is awesome if you like cleavage, We were in Vegas going to a club so it was perfect for that. Only thing I didn't like is the sides of the dress near your arms show your bra a bit in the front, luckily I was wearing a black bra so no one else noticed. It was a little clingier than I liked or am used to but was good for Vegas! I would recommend this dress but size up as there is not much give to the material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
May 12, 2015
Rented for a date event, and sooo many compliments!
I'm 4th from the right... yea. It ran a liiittle snug (barely), but I was able to do everything I normally would have and I was comfortable. I usually wear an 8-10, and had to go with the 10. I'm wide hipped, broad shouldered, barrel chested, and I'm not well endowed, but seriously- you do not need a lot to work with to wear this dress. Throw in a bombshell VS bra if you're like me and this dress is perfect (I know it doesn't look like it in this picture, but trust me it's all the dress + VS combo ). Hugs the curves but doesn't make them look bigger!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
May 6, 2015
Super fun dress for a night out with the ladies!
Fit was a bit snug in the hips, but for a night out in Vegas, it was PERFECT! Accentuated my curves without making me feel like I had to suck it in all night :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2015
Fits better than any dress I've ever worn!
The dress fits wonderfully! If you have an hourglass figure, rent this dress! It gives you lots of cleavage, and it accentuates all the right curves!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2015
Great dress if you wanna show 'em off!
I think the dress is a great LBD. For me, the level of 'boob' up top was a lot. This was a flattering dress and would be on most people. I was just a little uncomfortable with how bare it was. If you're anything in the C or D area, I'd definitely size up, or maybe rent something else.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 26, 2015
Gorgeous fit!
This was my first RTR purchase and I couldn't be more impressed! The dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I would recommend sizing up for your back up if you're curvy. I was able to squeeze into my usual size but it was super snug on my hips and butt.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2015
Very flattering and classic.
I ordered the 2 and the 4, and ended up wearing the 4. I think I could have worn the 2 if I decided to not wear a bra (which you could definitely do in this dress - thick material and good support), so if you are in between sizes I would recommend sizing up. The dress gives you a very classic silhouette, and overall worked really well for the event I was attending. I would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
April 24, 2015
Dress was wonderful!
The dress was prefect, fit was snug but still comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 20, 2015
Amazing dress!!!!
The dress fit a little snug in the chest and I'm not that large... Just put the girls on display more than I intended but it was ok. The folds are amazing - they conceal waist and hip areas and also left room to eat dinner with no issues.. Very good :) all in all, great dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2015
Beautiful dress!
Very simple and classy. Not too short. Loved it for a late summer wedding!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2015
Would Recommend
I would definitely recommend this dress! The reviews said it was extremely figure flattering and it did not disappoint. I have an hourglass figure with a small waist and significantly wider hips, and usually can't do tight dresses due to the muffin top effect. I did wear spanx with this dress and felt more comfortable that way, but the ruching smoothed out all of my curves in all the right places. :) I am usually a large 6 or a small 8 and I could have pulled both sizes off, but the 6 was a little tight around the chest and shoulders so I opted for the 8 which had a little more wiggle room. Both sizes looked great. :) The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was the straps -- they were a little too long and caused the dress to fall down VERY easily in the front. I took many pictures in which my bra was exposed and I didn't even know it. I would definitely recommend investing in some fashion tape and using it before heading out -- I didn't have any times when I first put it on at home, but the dress quickly started to fall down as I moved around in it. All in all highly recommended though and would rent again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
April 14, 2015
When my date saw me in the dress; the look on his face was the biggest confidence boost!
I'm about 5'3"-5'4" and the dress was longer than expected, but I wore heels and that balanced it out. The straps were also a bit long- don't count on being able to wear a bra with this (I wore a stick-on) because the dress falls pretty low. I ADORED this dress and got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 13, 2015
Compliments all night!
I wore a normal bra and didn't need any fashion tape to keep the dress in place. I'm 5'3" and 115 lbs. I wore the 0 but I could have worn the 2 as well. The 0 fit better but any differences were minor. All in all, Great dress! It was comfortable and I got lots of compliments! I really can't remember anything negative about it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2015
Fit like a glove!
I rented this dress for a date and it is the perfect LBD!!! Fits true to size and the fabric has a nice ruching effect to it so as to hide any belly issues. I will most likely rent this one again! 5 stars for sure...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2015
Such a flattering shape!
Fits true to size, I have a larger chest so the heart shaped neckline was a little more revealing that it would be on others. It is extremely comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2015
Sexy curve huggin thing
Sized down to hug curves, otherwise billowing style at waist bunches in a slightly unflattering way. But the dress was well received. If you are smaller in the bust you can probably get away with no bra. Unfortunately, I wore one that kept creeping out. Great for a black tie cocktail party! Definitely will turn heads.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2015
Fun and sexy!
I rented this dress to wear as part of an eighties costume--it was perfect! The dress hugs your body in all the right places, and the fabric is stretchy/comfortable. Adorable dress for a night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 2, 2015
This dress fit perfectly!!! I absolutely looked fantastic!
It fit perfectly. I would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 2, 2015
Got compliments all night!!!!!
This dress is elegant, sophisticated and very figure flattering, I felt so sexy and attractive. My date loved it!!! It was a total hit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 2, 2015
It was a great night and got tons of compliments on the dress
This dress was perfect! I wore it for a date party for my sorority and it fit very well and was super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
I freakin' LOVE this dress! Hides all the problems and shows off all the good stuff!
It fit wonderfully. Showed off just the right about of cleavage and fit nice and snug, BUT since there is ruching, it hides my tummy (which is always my issue spot). My boyfriend loved it. :)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×