Nicole Miller

Pitch Black Sheath

$30 – $40 rental
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

Get dance party ready in this sizzling LBD by Nicole Miller. Bling out your look by going with gold jewelry and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (95% Polyester, 5% Spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Ruched body. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
255 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(141)
Small
(64)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 9, 2017
Not all that flattering on anyone with hips.
The dress, while very sturdy and well made, looked awkward on my hips. It was too loose in the rib cage and too tight on my hips. I'm so glad I got a back up dress, but was bummed since I really wanted to like it. But...I was wow'ed by my back up dress, luckily ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2017
Very tight
Beautiful dress, but I wish I could have gone up a size
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 152lbs
April 4, 2017
I rented this dress for one of the many opening nights we have at work.
This dress was super comfortable and easy to move around in. Just the right amount of skin and very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
A very sexy LBD!
This dress is amazing and so sexy!! The cut flatters an hourglass shape so well- it shows off some sexy cleavage and hugs your booty. It's a gorgeous little black dress with thick, nice fabric and ruching that hides any flaws . You can wear a bra with it if the padding in the dress isn't enough. My only complaints were the annoying zipper- it's a pain to pull up!, and the little bit of under arm flab this dress can create since the top is snug. My boyfriend thought this dress looked amazing. I got it as a backup dress for a holiday party and wish I could have worn it, but decided to go with the other one because it was more festive. I will be renting it for a future event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 14, 2013
Gorgeous, comfortable dress - very sexy
This dress was a great pick for new year's - I prefer a little more room to move, so I ended up wearing the larger size (6), although the degree of stretch means that you can be a bit flexible on the sizing. I found that the 4 (my usual size) was both very fitted and (because of the fitted-ness) a bit shorter, and I was more comfortable in the 6. The stretch makes the dress really comfy, but it's a heavy fabric, so it's not too revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
The perfect dress for a night out with the girls, or a first date! It does have some stretch so I would stick with your typical dress size, but would definitely size up for the free back up, especially if you are bustier. You can wear a standard bra with it as well. An overall great fit, and fun dress! Put this in your hearted section now!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 4, 2013
amazing dress! got sooooo many compliments
the fit was great, hugged me in all the right places. wore spanx with it but wasnt totally necessary. only problem was it had a tendency to ride up on me a bit so i was pulling the bottom down a lot but that may just be my body type since i am pear shaped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2013
Super sexy but good for a wedding - loved it but busty
I really loved this dress and felt so amazing in it. Only problem was my boobs were busting out! It felt a little inappropriate for per se my parents. It run SUPER small so absolutely get a size up. I NEVER wear larger than a 6 and the 8 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
Sexy dress!
This dress took me a day to warm up to because right out of the box I was a bit disappointed. First of all, it is MUCH more heavily ruched than the model's photo makes it appear. Second, it runs a little small and can come off as a bit "mature." But by the time I actually wore the dress, I had become basically happy with it. The bustline is very flattering (but very showy) and the tight fit makes for a sexy silhouette. Overall, fine, but not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 15, 2013
Classy Date-Night Dress
This dress was so well-made! The cut is beautiful, and it will definitely create some cleavage if you're bigger than a B cup, but the dress itself came with removable bra pads in the lining, which is a really nice feature. The fabric is a beautiful crepe-like material, and the ruching on the dress is very flattering. I am only 5'1, so it's hard to find dresses that fit a petite frame. This one fit perfectly everywhere, but the hem hit at my knee (or slightly below if I tugged it down a bit). It still worked for me, but if you are on the short side, be aware that this will not hit mid-thigh like in the picture. I ordered a 2 and a 4, and ended up wearing the 2. It was snug, but the ruching hides imperfections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 18, 2013
This dress fit like a glove and I felt great in it!
The dress went on a little tight over my hips/thighs, but was just stretchy enough to be comfortable to dance in. The straps were not stretchy though, and one side of the top of the dress kept slipping down to show my bra. You could probably not wear a bra with this, but I felt better with the extra padding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 20, 2013
I wore this dress to the Grammys this year and it was beyond perfect!
Fit perfect, very flattering and comfortable. Could have gone a size down. The rouching made it easier for more sliders and vodkas at the after party :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
I received so many wonderful comments from people about this dress & it fit incredibly well!
This is such a great little black dress. It fit fantastically & I was so glad that I could wear a regular bra with it. The underneath slip rides up a little bit every now and again, so just make sure that it's straight and pulled down when you first put it on. I received so many compliments on this dress. I highly recommend it. It's definitely a dress that I would rent again :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Great LBD!
This is a great black dress for an event where you want to be noticed but not the center of attention. It is tight but flattering and can be arranged to show or not show cleavage. I didn't realize that there was ruching from the photo but it didn't detract from the overall look. It was snug across my back, but this probably isn't an issue for those who are smaller chested. Overall a great black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 27, 2013
This dress was awesome!
I usually wear a size 4, but im glad I got a larger size because I ended up wearing the 6. I got so many compliments the night I word the dress. It was really comfortable. The lining did ride up a little bit, but it didnt have any affect on the comfort or look of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2013
I got this last minute of a College Birthday ball.
Kind of tight, I wore a normal bra as recommended and it kept coming out of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
A nice black dress, but not stunning!
The fabric is very comfortable and has a lot of give, which is a plus because the dress is form-fitting. Also, the neckline is fabulous and really lifts your chest--a bra isn't necessary! However, because the material is stretchy, the dress tends to ride up as you walk. It never got scandalously short, but I did have to pull the hemline down several times during the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
I felt so confident and sexy! I can't count how many amazing compliments I got!!
I wore this to an evening wedding and it was perfect--my boyfriend couldn't keep his hands off me!This dress fit snug but in a good way that flattered my curves. The ruching made me very comfortable with my bloated belly and this dress made my boobs look huge. I was really happy that I could wear a normal bra, too. The only heads up is that the zipper takes some coaxing because of the fabric. I definitely recommend this dress and hated that I had to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2013
Too small.
I wanted to wear this for the rehearsal dinner for a wedding that my husband was in. It was too small and didn't come in a 14, so I had to settle for a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2013
Gorgeous!
I wore this dress for a wedding in early September. I loved it! I felt like it fit perfectly, however, it does run small. I normally wear a size 6, and opted for the 8, just because it allowed me to move more. The 6 fit, but was definitely more fitted than the 8. I found myself having to pull it down occasionally when I walked. Definitely recommend this dress! Have loved both Nicole Miller dresses that I have rented.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2013
Very sexy! I loved this dress, very figure flattering and perfect for a special occasion.
This dress hugs you in all the right places and the ruching camouflages any imperfections. The top has cups sewn in so there's no need to wear a bra. The only downside is that the lining occasionally rides up and needs to be pulled a little, but overall a great dress. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 1, 2013
Perfect LBD!
I wore this dress to the NYC Ballet and a masquerade ball after party. I didn't try it on until right before I walked out the door, but it fit perfectly. It was also an incredibly comfortable dress that was easy to move around in. I also think it's very flattering for girls with a small bust. My favorite rental at RTR so far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2013
Flattering, curve-hugging dress
The ruching on this dress is incredibly flattering, but does cheapen the look a bit. I rented for a wedding and ended up going with another dress. I'd be more likely to wear this for a night out or cocktail party in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2013
EFFORTLESS
This dress hits all the marks. It's flattering, the fabric is a great weight, it's comfortable, you can wear a normal bra. Just overall extremely easy to wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2013
Classic black dress.
Makes your boobs look good, the cinching on the sides is a little too much. It's tight, but it looks good that way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2013
I was called "smoking hot" in this dress, need I say more?
This was not the original dress I rented, more on that below, but it fit perfectly! It has some stretch to it, which made it a comfortable dress to wear all night at a gala. I have NO curves, like my but has been called an "inny" kind of no curves, but this made it look like I did! I paired it with gold strappy heels and chunky gold jewelry. I could not have been happier with the dress and the experience. Now, let me tell you how awesome RTR stylists are. The person that had rented my original dress before me did not return it. I am not a quick decision maker. I spent months deciding which dress I was going to pick. I was called on the Tuesday morning before my event (dress was supposed to arrive on Thursday) and told the dilemma. Every stylist I worked with was amazing. I was told to pick any dress I want, at any price. As the world's slowest decision maker, I could only narrow it to about 6 dresses. They sent me each one they had in my size, which turned out to be 3 of them. This dress was the winner! All who I had help me pick a new dress agree that I looked better in this one than I would have in the original dress I chose, so this worked out in my favor, even if it caused some stress leading up to the gala. In conclusion, return your dresses on time, please!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
November 19, 2013
Great dress for Vegas
I wore this dress for my anniversary dinner in Las Vegas and I loved it! It's the perfect mix of classy and sexy and was super flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 25, 2013
Pretty but small
Loved the whole style of the dress, especially the ruching around the stomach area - but this dress definitely runs small. I typically wear a 10 or 12,and couldn't even get it over my hips! My friend who wears a 4-6 fit into it with a little bit of extra room around the stomach. I wouldn't recommend this for bigger chests like mine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 13, 2013
What a dress!!!
Fits like a glove. I am usually a size 6 but wore an 8. It runs small. Very sexy and hugs all your curves. Definitely the best little black dress ever!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2013
very easy process
looked great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 31, 2013
Very sexy dress!
I rented this for my anniversary dinner and I really loved it! It is a very sexy LBD! The only thing I would caution other renters about is that it is a little small in the bust area, so if you are slightly larger chested I would definitely size up for your back-up size. I did end up wearing the 6 (my usual size) however it was a little tight in the bust and was glad I had the 8 to choose from.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2014
felt really hot in this dress! Stood out for sure.
I got a size lower than usual bc the reviews saod to. 115 at 5'6 and the two fit perfectly. very hot little lbd :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 16, 2014
Gorgeous, comfortable dress for bachelorette party!
I ordered this dress as something extra special to wear for my best friend's bachelorette party and it was perfect!! It was so comfortable and sexy! It made me feel amazing the whole night! I have a smaller bust so I usually don't feel that great in dresses like this, but with a little pushup bra and the sweetheart neckline of the dress, I felt very confident without feeling like I was showing too much cleavage. I ordered the 4 and the 6, which both sizes fit similar and like a glove! I chose to wear the 6 though just because it was a little tighter through my hips and butt in the 4 and I could move a little easier in the 6, which was needed since we were going out dancing. I paired it with red heels, the Lauren Merkin Gold Eve Clutch, and the Alexis Bittar Pave Criss Cross Bracelet (both of these items are on RTR as well; check them out too!). I could not have asked for a more perfect dress and experience with Rent the Runway. I loved the dress so much; I wish I could have kept it! But I'll definitely be renting again the next time I need that perfect Little Black Dress :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
Weekend in Florida
Loved this dress, I didn't wear the 8 because I felt it was too short, but this looked great. You can also wear a regular bra with it and the ruching helps hide any mid body problems! I got so many compliments on this dress; it's sexy but very classy. I've rented a few Nicole Millers before, but this was my favorite. I will rent this dress again, loved it! (The picture is dark, but I'm standing in the back and I think you can get the idea of the dress)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
March 30, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress!
I wore this for my sorority formal and it was perfect! I paired it with a nice statement necklace and silver glitter pumps. It was so comfortable!! My only issue was the straps seemed a bit long so I kept having to pull it up so I wouldn't pop out! I wish I could keep this dress because it was just fabulous! Thanks RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Great LBD
This dress was super flattering from top to bottom. It was snug, but just the right length. This dress runs small, so order a size up! The size up fit like a glove :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 31, 2014
Great dress! Hard to miss with Nicole Miller.
I found the dress to be very flattering for my body type, as are most Nicole Miller dresses. The ruching was slightly awkward but I still think even so it was a very flattering. I have worn both 2's and 4's in Nicole Miller dresses in the past but the 4 in this dress was definitely too large, so I went with the 2 that I found fit perfectly. The only issue I had was that all of my bras came up slightly too high so they could be seen a little bit at the top in the front, but I was able to remedy this pretty easily. I definitely recommend checking to make sure you have a bra that works with this dress right away after receiving the dress. Overall, I loved the dress and highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2014
This was worn for my return to the stage (I'm a singer), I felt beautiful and comfortable all night!
PERFECT LBD!! Fit like a glove, extremely flattering, great length, shows plenty of cleavage for the busty girls but would be super flattering for those on the smaller side as well. I wore a regular bra and the fabric is heavy enough to "suck it all in" without spanx. Will definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 5, 2014
Simple and sexy
Simple little black dress. The ruching bunched up a little around my stomach and have me a little extra tummy, but it still looked nice. There is enough play in the dress that you can pull it up a little or pull it down to make the length appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Comfortable dress with extremely flattering fit!
This dress ran a tad small, but was very flattering. Most importantly, though, it was super comfortable. I work it to a formal work event where I was working long hours and doing some physical labor, and it was comfortable all night without even needing spanx. As someone who is average height with a smaller chest, it was definitely still work-appropriate. My only complaint was that the lining did ride up a bit every once in a while.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×