Nicole Miller

Nirvana Sequin Sheath Dress

$30 to buy
$400 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Own the party by walking in wearing this black sequin Nicole Miller off shoulder dancing dress. A stunning number that everyone will want to steal from you! Go with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black sequins. Off the shoulder neckline. Long sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2011
Great Dress. Runs super large!
I loved this dress. I actually rented it in a 4 but it was too big, so I went out and bought it in a 0. Sequins are subtle but noticeable. Length is perfect--short enough to be hot but long enough to not be over the top. Only thing that is kind of annoying is the off the shoulder sleeves make it hard to lift your arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2012
RTR sent me mystery accessory and the earrings they sent were perfect and I think made this dress!!
I rented this dress in a size 0 & a 2. I ended up wearing the siz 0. The arms are a little small, but okay and the dress seems to have too much material. However, the dress was gorgeous! I got so many compliments all night long and the off the shoulders is absolutely sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2012
Everyone had something nice to say about this dress. My husband, who thought it was silly of me to rent a dress for this occasion, loved this dress and was blown away!
This dress is awesome! Comfortable and very flattering. It's not quite as shiny as the model photo suggests but that fact adds to the cool factor of this dress. The fabric has some stretch and as most Nicole Miller dresses, it runs a tad large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 28, 2012
I am glad RTR lets you rent a 2nd dress for $25 because in the event your first choice doesn't work out, you have a backup!
I ordered this dress as a backup to my first choice and good thing I did. I requested the 12 and the 10... thinking I would wear the 12, but to my surprise the 10 fit very well. The dress sat well, did not bunch or fold funny. I thought the shoulders may keep falling all night, but they stayed in place well. I got lots of compliments in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 5, 2012
Runs Large.
I typically wear a size 2. I got the dress in a 0 and 2 and both were loose on me. I thought it was cute, but it was very loose around the waist and hips. I am not sure if the dress was stretched out or if it just runs large, but I had to return because I wanted it to be more form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
March 15, 2012
My friends said I should find a way to buy this dress!
I rented this for a bachelorette party and it ended up being perfect. It was more comfortable that I thought it would be. It also looked less shiny than in the model photo which I was happy about. I wore a 0, my normal size, and it was a bit roomy in the midsection but otherwise fit fine. It was also a bit longer than I expected, but I think that worked well to balance out the off-the-shoulder look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 14, 2012
This dress is form fitting and stretchy with just enough sparkle
Fit is large since the dress is very stretchy- you should order your normal size and a size smaller. It was perfect for my bachelorette party as I was able to dance comfortably while not having to worry about fixing my dress all night. I'm a very curvy lady and this dress was stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Sophisticated and comfotable
This dress runs a bit big, size down for your second dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 12, 2012
Awkward fit
I had ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 was unavailable and so the 2 was still sent to me. I don't think either would have fit. The dress fit seems really hard to fit perfectly. The 2 was really baggy on me and so I don't think the 0 would have fit well either. The material is also really hard to keep looking new. I expected the muted sequins but it just looked really worn. I'm glad I had another backup dress. I would recommend picking a different dress b/c this one is not as glam as the photo of the model.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that your dress wasn't in perfect condition! We will look into this. If your dress is not in pristine condition or doesn't fit please contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 as soon as it arrives and we will get another dress out to you asap for your event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 15, 2013
Super Comfortable!
I loved this dress - didn't get to wear it because of the snow storm, but it was super cute and was tight in all the right places! Would have loved to wear it out :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 1, 2013
Forgiving and great for us "curvelicious" divas!
Stretchy almost leather looking from a distance, although it's sequinned! The one downside was a tiny defect on the right forearm possibly a sewing glitch...still a stunner nonetheless!!! I usually wear a 12, but the 10 fit!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
A review for hourglass shapes
I didn't end up wearing this dress (thankfully had a backup that I loved) but I wanted to comment on the fit of this dress for those with hourglass shapes that are on the fence like I was. There are some beautiful women wearing the dress in the reviews, but most are petite with straight shapes or you can't really see their full shape. I am a full size 12 hourglass shape. This dress has a very odd fit if you have a smaller waist and larger hips. I do believe it runs large, but there was so much room in the waist, I would have had to go down two sizes in that area but probably wouldn't fit in the arms or hips. It did very little to accent my shape and just kind of threw off my proportions, highlighting nothing. I am 5'6 and it is also rather short. One positive thing is that I did like the finish on the sequins (I hate tacky sequins). I really wanted to love this dress but it is probably best for lithier frames.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2014
the dress!
wore for new years. great fit, not too tight. definitely stretchy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2014
Great Party Dress
It's super comfortable but make sure you pick the correct size; The reason--I feel-- the size matters is the ruching along the sides, when the dress is too big, it looks kind of messy. I honestly hated the dress so much when tried on the larger size... The sleeves are great once you get them in the correct/comfortable position, otherwise they're a hassle--they stay up on their own which is lovely, but they need some help. But I love the matte sequins, the stretch, and the length of the dress. And all the compliments made my night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 9, 2014
Great dress, but size down!!
I ordered this as a backup & didn't wind up wearing it. I'm usually a size 8 or 10 & the size 10 in this dress was so baggy, I was swimming in it. I would have needed an 6 or maybe even a 4. It's a very sexy dress, love the off-the-shoulder look, but definitely size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2014
Amazing for my bachelorette in South Beach
Extremely comfortable! It's very stretchy and went with the smaller size. Looks almost like leather from a distance but it's small flat sequins. Very flattering. Got a little warm but to be expected with that many sequins and long sleeves dancing for hours in a club. I was worried at first that I would be restricted lifting my arms but not so. Would totally recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2014
The off-the-shoulder aspect MAKES the dress
The off-the-shoulder cut makes this dress worth the money. Really cute and really flattering design. The dress purposely bunches up, so it is not a tight and smooth fit, but it is still very cute like that. Definitely didn't think the size 0 would fit, so i would recommend sizing down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
May 13, 2014
It was sexy and never needed adjusting. I received a lot of compliments and felt like a million $$!
Arms were tighter than I expected and it definitely ran large as I'm usually a 4 and ended up wearing a 2. But overall it fit me well and I'm a 34DD so that's hard to find.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 23, 2014
This dress makes you a rock star!
Wow! This is one hot dress! I rented for a vacation with my husband and friends in Las Vegas and wore it to the Light nightclub in Mandalay Bay. I felt like a rock star. My husband was speechless when I met him downstairs in the casino after getting ready in our room. In fact, the promoter at the club approached us at a bar and escorted us to a table with free bottle service, so there you go! I did feel like the whole thing was slightly large and could have probably sized down to an 8, but this was my add-on dress and I only got one size. I did wear a strapless bra. I struggled a little with the back closure, but if you have someone to help, that shouldn't be a problem. The neckline looked amazing and didn't slip. As always, RTR was fun and easy to work with. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
October 27, 2014
The perfect LBD for a big night out!
I am tall with large hips and bust, and found this dress to be very flattering and forgiving. It was the perfect length and hit me right at mid-thigh - short enough to be appropriate for the bachelorette party I was at, but long enough that I never felt like I was risking exposure. I love love LOVED this dress and would recommend to ladies of all body types! 10/10!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 29, 2014
First Rental -- Great Dress, Perfect Fit!
I wanted to rent an 8, but that was not available. So I actually rented a 10 and a 6 for my backup. To my surprise, the 6 fit the best! The 10 was big in the stomach area (and this is after 3 kids... my youngest is 18 months--so there is stomach room! ). The only thing I noticed is that a few of the sequences did fall off during the night. The dress did not 'ride up' at all -- and was a great dress to wear for my sister in law's bachelorette party. I received a lot of compliments! I did wear a strapless bra with it and felt comfortable all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
February 2, 2012
Too baggy
Unfortunately, I did not end up wearing this dress. The sleeves and bust looked great but it was too baggy in the midsection. I thought about seeing if they could send me a 2 but was too nervous the sleeves would be too tight. It is a great looking dress, and comfortable, but just didn't fit my body right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 9, 2013
Glamourous!
I got my regular size and a size smaller, I went with the smaller size, and that was still very comfy- definitely not skin tight. I loved the shimmer, but didn't think the off the shoulder neckline flattered my figure as much as I would have liked.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 15, 2011
No one, not even my boyfriend, recognized me at first!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I usually wear a size 2 and the 4 was my back-up size, but when it shipped they didn't have the 2 available. Luckily it ran a bit small and the 4 fit perfectly. The picture is true to life, with the sequins being matte and not shiny at all. I had a ton of people come up to me to compliment me on the dress and then would notice the sequins- so from afar, it simply looks leather-y. Of the 1,000+ people at this event, I was the only one with an off-the-shoulder dress. It really showed off my collar bones and shoulders, which my boyfriend loved. I definitely stood out in the sea of traditional ball gowns. I would recommend this dress 100% and will be renting it again! I accessorized with Givenchy Crystal Long Teardrop Earrings, $58 (http://www.vonmaur.com/Product.aspx?ID=76767&Sale=n&pg=1) and no necklace. I wore my hair up in a slightly messy chignon and went with smokey eyes and pink lipstick. For shoes, I wore Aldo Capecoral pumps in beige, silver and black (http://www.aldoshoes.com/us/trends/moody-nature/women/82972101-capecoral/34).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 24, 2012
A little too confining
I ended up wearing another dress because the sleeves were a little tight. Cute and fun party dress, just didn't work as perfectly as my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 27, 2012
Drop Dead Sexy!
This dress is absolutely beautiful. It isn't as shiny as the photo shows, however, it does standout! I would suggest a strapless bra if you have a fuller bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 19, 2013
gorgeous, sexy, and sleek
my sister wore this for my bachelorette party four months after she gave birth, and her husband gave her strict instructions not to talk to any men that night. this from a guy who rarely notices anything she wears!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2013
Loved the off the shoulder. I felt super sleek and sexy.
good length, not too short so it was still classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2013
Beware, it's tight!
I wear an 8 in nearly every brand/design in dresses. I ordered the 8 and 10 for backup. Due to some damage from previous renter the 10 was the only one RTR was able to send me (they sent me an additional dress as compensation!) What a blessing in disguise though! The 10 was tight and just not great on a girl my size (and I'm not even big!) I cannot fathom what the 8 would have felt or looked like. Maybe us "curvy" girls should shy away from this dress. Sorry no picture...wasn't gonna do that to myself!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 16, 2014
I did not have a moment
I think this dress was alright, I just should have paid more attention when it said sequin. The arms were a little right whereas the rest was slightly baggy. If I had paid more attention I think I would have liked this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2012
Gutsy, Edgy & Comfy
What made this dress a winner for me was the petite matte sequences that married well with the cut of the dress. The neck line is a winner because it shows just enough to make them wonder. I was sad since the dress had a few sequences missing, but RTR customer service took excellent care of me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2013
I wore this for my 50th birthday, it was great, fit well
I have recommended this site to all my friends, great selection, LOVED it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 7, 2011
Loved it! Wish I owned it! A couple threads sticking out on the side but other than that perfect and kept me warm with long sleeves. Totally comfortable too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
November 14, 2011
PERFECT dress
fit perfect, very flattering! Dress is not as shiny as the picture, mat sequins. almost looks like leather from afar, I got tons of compliments - RENT!!! I wish I owned it too.
AndreaJuly 28, 2015
We have similar body styles... height bust and weight. I can handle the tightness but I don't need the morale bummer if it won't fit. Should I go for it?
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
November 30, 2011
Great dress!
I'm 5'6 and a half about 145lbs with boobs and a size 8 was perfect. Some say the sleeves itch but it's not noticeable by the time you leave your house. If you want to really show off your shape this is the dress, it's not too tight but it fits perfectly! It looks like leather in pictures so some flashy earrings and clutch will do the trick.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
December 23, 2011
Wow
Great dress to wow the crowd and the fit is very comfortable for a dress with open shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2012
Doesn't slip!
Adored this dress. Rented it for NYE out of town with friends and it's super snug but the ruching keeps it flattering. I was a little nervous about the off-the-shoulder, but it stayed in place perfectly all night. I got a ton of compliments and felt great all night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 29, 2012
very sexy ;)
I wore the dress for going out in the city for my bday. It was meant to catch attention, and that it did!! I have a hard time finding dresses that fit well because I have quite a booty, but this dress is very stretchy and fit it all in WITHOUT making my behind look too big. The ruching and sequins hid everything unwanted, despite it being so form-fitting. The only thing that made it ever so slightly less than perfect is the neckline (which sat pretty low on the shoulders) was not stretchy and was at times too tight and a bit constricting with arm-movement. But as the night went on, I noticed it less and less. Great dress, would rent again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 15, 2012
I turned heads all night!
This dress is awesome. This fit is amazing. The flat sequins make it look like leather, but the dress moves well and is not constricting at all. I LOVED IT!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 13, 2012
My bust was too big
The dress was cute, but when I zipped it up, my large bust gave the illusion that the neckline was a fit issue and not the intentional style of the dress! It was like my boobs were pulling the entire neckline down or something! I am a 36D, and the dress zipped up just fine.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×