Midnight Fever Dress

$47 to buy
$440 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this simple but chic Nicole Miller one shoulder, navy dress. It is perfect if you are attending a wedding, a social event, or homecoming! Jazz it up with trendy accessories like Crislu's Teardrop Sparkle Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy stretch silk. One shoulder sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail at shoulder. Ruching inserts. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress, very form fitting
The dress is really pretty, but it was much more form fitting than I thought it was going to be. The material has a little stretch to it, but not much. I would recommend ordering your normal dress size and a size up. I usually order my normal dress size and a size down, but when I tried this dress on in my normal size it was really tight. I wouldn't recommend this dress to a curvy girl because of all of the cris-cross detail on the dress. The color is a really pretty navy, not too dark. I will probably order this dress again in a bigger size :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress. Wish I had gotten the 8 not the 6.
I actually did not end up wearing this dress, but another RTR dress that I had ordered. I did LOVE this dress however. It was really cute and I probably would have picked it to wear over the other dress had I ordered the size 8 instead. I ordered the size 6 because I wasnt sure which one I would lke and there was not a size 8 available to order at the time. Very cute. Love the neckline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2012
Fantastic! Classy! Great Service! Beautiful well made dress!
This dress was absolutely amazing! I really had no time to go dress shopping for a homecoming dress at the local mall and decided to take the gamble and try this service. And it really paid off! The service was fantastic! I ordered the dress a week before my homecoing and scheduled it to arrive the day before the dance, and it did just that. The dress fit me pefectly with the exception of it being slightly longer than true to fit, but being 5'2, it was only expected. I wanted to look really classy for this event, and this dress did just that. I got many compliments and felt very comfortable in this dress. Be warned it is the darkest shade of blue i've seen, but looks good with sliver metallic nail polish and nude pumps. Another tip if ur thinking about wearing this to a dance or an event if your going to move a lot, wear double sided tape on the side thats strapless. I was close to a nip slip a couple times. Overall, this was a great dress and i highly recommend this to anybody looking to look classy and this service to everyone!
GabeeNovember 26, 2012
I love that dress! It's so simple but elegant!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Loved the navy color of this dress.
The dress fit well but on the snug side. So if you're unsure of a second size to get, I'd go with a size up. The only flaw that I had with this dress was that it kept riding up so I had to keep tugging at it for most of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
A little tight
It fit well but was a little tight around the hips. Looks amazing on!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 28, 2012
Definitely the nicest dress I ever wore. I felt like a celebrity.
The dress fit perfectly. I really have nothing bad to say about it. I was so sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2012
This was a really great dress, I got tons of compliments!
I was worried about this dress not fitting up top because I'm on the small side, but it actually fit very well! It was comfortable and flattering, definitely a good choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Petite
January 4, 2013
It was the perfect dress for the rehearsal dinner.
The fit was a little snug, I usually wear a size 0 in dresses and thank goodness I ordered two sizes because I definitely needed the 2. It was pretty tight in the bust area and as someone who is not busty, it could be an issue for most.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2013
Cute dress, runs WAY too small
The dress was cute, but I was unable to wear it because it was WAY to small. I ordered both a 6 and a 8, but they fit more like a 0 or a 2.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
January 22, 2013
Great dress, got tons of compliments from my friends.
Fabric has a nice stretch to it, but the dress runs small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Loved this dress, but too short for an office Xmas party
I absolutely loved this dress! If you love your back and have toned arms this will definitely highlight those features! The only issue was that it was too short to wear to the office Christmas party. I was obsessed with this dress though and wish I could have!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
Classy, chic, and fit perfectly!
I wore this dress to a sorority formal and received SO many compliments! The dress fit like a glove and was classy with just the right amount of glam. The draping of the fabric was great for hiding any flaws and I loved the rich navy color, so much better than the sea of black dresses that evening! I paired with silver glittery heels and very simple silver jewelry. I can see this dress being flattering on almost any body type. My only complaint was that the boning in the side of the dress arrived slightly bent, and it dug into my side a little throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this one
I wore this for my sorority semi-formal. I liked how it looked in general but the boning in both the sizes I rented was screwed up and popping out in weird places. It's probably because it was bent out of shape by someone who should have been wearing a larger size. If the boning wasn't screwed up I think that it would have looked even better
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Trust your RTR sisters - this runs SMALL!
I read the reviews and ordered two sizes up as this dress runs small. It runs REALLY small. Its that "OMG-I-couldn't-have-gained-that-much-weight??!!" small. No give whatsoever for curves. And its VERY short (like inappropriate for a wedding short.) Too bad because the color is lovely and the fabric has a nice hand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 4, 2013
Felt amazing in this dress!
I love everything about this dress, it does have boning, which I didn't realize, but it doesn't detract from the dress. Would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 8, 2013
Great dress, runs small and short
I normally wear a size 4 (size 2 in vanity sizing) and the 6 fit but was fairly tight and short. I think that's how it was supposed to fit, and the 8 (the other size I ordered) was too big. It's a great looking dress but be aware that you might feel uncomfortable wearing this around more conservative people. I covered up during the ceremony with a silvery-gray pashmina and it looked nice. I also wore silver heels. The boning is a bit odd, it travels down your ribcage in the front a bit and I couldn't tell if it was supposed to be that way or if someone had bent it out of shape. But it didn't really bother me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2013
Good dress for a nice date or cocktail party
Wore it for my anniversary dinner. Was pretty comfortable. Could feel some of the ribbing in the bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2013
Not the dress for me but very pretty.
The dress has more detail in the fabric than what I could see from the picture. The dress was nice but it just wasnt for me. I felt like I would have to keep pulling up the side without the strap all night. Looked very small on the hanger, but fit fine.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2013
I felt stunning.
It definitely does run small as the other reviews say. I usually wear a 4 but got the 6, and it JUST fit. Not like I was popping out of it, but I didn't want to eat a big dinner either. :-) I got lots of compliments and felt absolutely beautiful. The boning on the right side was a little bent and stuck out a little but not enough that I was tugging at it all night. I am 36D and yes I had to come to terms with having some major cleavage, but it was still acceptable to wear to a wedding even without a bra. I highly recommend it but definitely get one size bigger than usual and maybe a size bigger than that as your backup! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 12, 2013
Loved!
This dress fit perfectly. It looked elegant but fun at the same time. I would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
July 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding and received tons of compliments! The bride loved my dress and plans on renting it for her sister-in-law's wedding. I felt amazing in the dress, but had to wear a larger size due to the face that there is not a lot of room in the bust. I would order a size up for sure if you have a larger chest. Overall, the dress was perfect for the occasion and I felt very glamorous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 29, 2013
Great dress but too short
I am wondering if my dress was miss marked because I am 5'2" and the 6 was super short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2013
First experience with RTR- love the idea, but not the dress
Def would not recommend this dress. When it came in the mail, I was totally thrown off by the material. In the picture on the model it looks like a thick, stretchy material however the dress was very thin and the silk felt very cheap and by the end of the night even had a few snags on it just from sitting on cloth chairs all night. Also, the boning structure at the chest was very uncomfortable and was digging in me all night. I am a 36D cup size and I was pulling on the strapless side of the dress all night to keep it from falling. I also felt as if the dress was a little too short- I am 5'6 and when I sat down the dress rode up a lot. Overall, the dress did the trick but I was not happy with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2013
Too much adjusting...
I felt great in this dress. I love the color and I got a lot of compliments, however, I spent the night pulling it up and adjusting it. The top of the dress on the side thats not over the shoulder kept folding over. It also puckered a little on the hips. I also felt like my boobs might pop out at any moment. Its listed as a dress thats good for large busts and I have to disagree big time! A smaller chested woman would do better in this. Overall just okay....
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 15, 2013
Wore my back up dress
I have a fuller bust and this dress could not sufficiently cover them. I probably needed to go 1 or 2 sizes up. I ended up wearing my back up dresses.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2013
Very Cute!
Very Cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
December 25, 2013
Great, but a 2nd choice
This dress fit really well, but unfortunately, my other one looked better! This second choice was a great one though and I may rent it again sometime.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2014
Loved this dress and had it was very comfortable to wear!
The dress was beautiful and I had a lot of fun wearing it. It ran a little large in the bust, but I think some fashion tape would help solve the problem! Beautiful blue and soft fabric as well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal wedding!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional wedding in downtown Chicago. Such an elegant, formal little cocktail dress! I found that it ran small across the hips, and the fabric has no give to it. It was still comfortable enough for lots of dancing though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
February 9, 2014
Went with another dress
This was my first RTR experience, and I didn't read the other reviews. This was not a great choice for someone with a larger chest. My experience with the RTR customer service team was seamless. I explained that neither this dress or the backup fit, and I received a full credit. I didn't use the credit for a full year, but it did not expire. Even though the dress didn't work out RTR gained a loyal customer.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
February 10, 2014
The dress accentuated all of the right parts and made my boyfriend's jaw drop. Amazing experience!
Dress fit like a glove! The strap was a little long, but could easily be pinned up with the pin hidden by the decorative piece at the top. Wasn't necessary to wear a bra with this, but possibly helpful for larger chested women. Would rent from RTR again and, if possible, this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2014
Runs small
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it runs so small. Not great for someone with a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2014
SO many compliments!
This dress was amazing! I chose this for a true southern wedding and it didn't disappoint! The fit is definitely snug, I suggest sizing up if you're an awkward in between size like myself. It had little to no signs of wear and tear and I had women complimenting me all night on the color. (A very deep navy) paired it with nude heels and pearls, and it was stunning. I will mention that in the picture you can't really tell how much rouching is in the center, but there is enough to hide a little stomach bulge. Also, as a small busted woman I will suggest a double sided tape to hold up the side without a strap as it kept falling down on me. For a larger chested woman this may not be the most flattering. Overall, I would rent this dress again in an instant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 1, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
Dress is more blue than navy - fits beautifully and true to size (I am usually a 2-4 and went with the 4). Took a star off because there were some structural issues with both of the dresses I received - the boning had been bent out of shape in one, and there were substantial snags around the zipper in the other. I was the only one who really noticed those details though, and I got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
April 2, 2014
Awkwardly Proportioned
The one shoulder fit a bit weird and skewed to the side, and I ended up not wearing this, because although it 'fit', it made my body, which is heavier on the bottom than the top, look super awkward. But as always, RTR was great in getting me something that flattered me better, and still on time for my event!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 14, 2014
It was my first time using rent the runway, loved the dress!!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal and loved it!! The dress fit well but was hard to zip, I had to zip it first then pull it up and put my arm though. The top was a bit big on me so I had to pull my dress up a lot though out the night. Overall I loved the dress it was easy to dance in and super comfortable! I was worried it was going to be too short as I am pretty tall but the length turned out to be fine! Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2014
I didn't get to wear this dress, but my other from RTR worked beautifully!
I ordered the dress in two sizes, neither fit my bust or hips well. Better suited for a more straight/athletic shape. Very cute color and style though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2014
Did not wear. Too small
Small and very tight
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2014
I ordered for my birthday night dinner/date with my boyfriend.
The reviews said this this dress runs small and it absolutely does. I'm usually a 2/4 and I order a 6 as recommended by other women. The 6 was a bit big but the 4 would never have fit. So go upa size!! I ordered this dress and was delivered one that was completely stretched out (someone obviously didn't order up). I called immediately and was sent a second. The neckline is really beautiful but that's about the only thing I loved about it. My boyfriend liked it (it enhances the girls quite a bit) but over all I thought the dress was just ok.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2015
Perfect dress for my sorority formal!
runs small, went with the larger size. Wish I could have kept it!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×