Nicole Miller

Midnight Fever Dress

$47 to buy
$440 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this simple but chic Nicole Miller one shoulder, navy dress. It is perfect if you are attending a wedding, a social event, or homecoming! Jazz it up with trendy accessories like Crislu's Teardrop Sparkle Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning is fitted so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist, ruching inserts help to conceal midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and support in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9")

Product Details

Navy stretch silk. One shoulder sweetheart neckline with ruffle detail at shoulder. Ruching inserts. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(39)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2014
Runs small
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it runs so small. Not great for someone with a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2014
SO many compliments!
This dress was amazing! I chose this for a true southern wedding and it didn't disappoint! The fit is definitely snug, I suggest sizing up if you're an awkward in between size like myself. It had little to no signs of wear and tear and I had women complimenting me all night on the color. (A very deep navy) paired it with nude heels and pearls, and it was stunning. I will mention that in the picture you can't really tell how much rouching is in the center, but there is enough to hide a little stomach bulge. Also, as a small busted woman I will suggest a double sided tape to hold up the side without a strap as it kept falling down on me. For a larger chested woman this may not be the most flattering. Overall, I would rent this dress again in an instant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
I didn't get to wear this dress, but my other from RTR worked beautifully!
I ordered the dress in two sizes, neither fit my bust or hips well. Better suited for a more straight/athletic shape. Very cute color and style though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2014
Did not wear. Too small
Small and very tight
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2014
I ordered for my birthday night dinner/date with my boyfriend.
The reviews said this this dress runs small and it absolutely does. I'm usually a 2/4 and I order a 6 as recommended by other women. The 6 was a bit big but the 4 would never have fit. So go upa size!! I ordered this dress and was delivered one that was completely stretched out (someone obviously didn't order up). I called immediately and was sent a second. The neckline is really beautiful but that's about the only thing I loved about it. My boyfriend liked it (it enhances the girls quite a bit) but over all I thought the dress was just ok.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
June 30, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it
I normally wear an 8, occasionally a 10. An 8 wasn't available so I ordered the 10 and 12 but didn't end up wearing either. The 10 was much tighter and showed more chest than I was comfortable with, but the 12 was too big. The description says it's good for any cup size, but as a 36D, I didn't think it was great for me (with or without a strapless bra) -- one side was very VERY covered, and the other was...well, not. It's a pretty dress, so I was hoping one of my friends would wear it, but it just didn't end up working out for anyone who tried it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, just not for me.
I tend to like more conservative dresses, I took a risk with this rental. It fit a little too low-cut for my taste so I ended up returning it without wearing it to an event. Also, the boning in the rib cage didn't fit me correctly, but I have a pretty athletic build. The fabric and color were very nice however, I wanted to love it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2015
Perfect dress for my sorority formal!
runs small, went with the larger size. Wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 29, 2011
Love the dress but I wish I had gotten a size up. The dress hugs your hips so if you're curvy or tall, definitely order a size larger than usual!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 31, 2011
The dress and earrings were a perfect combination!
Absolutely loved this dress! Wore it to a black tie optional wedding with the Silver Flower Earrings and it was perfect. My dress didn't have the removable pads some people mentioned but I wore a strapless bra with it and it worked out great. I did end up pinning the strapless side to my bra just to keep it from sliding down. I usually wear a 4 but the 4 was VERY short on me and the 6 ended up working much better length-wise since I'm pretty tall- definitely a good idea to order the extra size one size up. Also, the bust area is pretty small so may not work on bustier girls. All in all, a great dress and I'm very happy I tried Rent the Runway! *UPDATE* I rented this dress again (2 yrs later) and I did still love it, but it definitely has some more wear and tear on it now. The wires in the bust were completely bent out of shape and I tried my best to re-shape them but they were still a little crooked. Other than that, it is a very flattering and fun dress.
StashaNovember 13, 2014
Thanks for updating your review!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2012
I felt like I was going to the Emmy's in this this dress I wore to Homecoming!
This dress is GORGEOUS!!! I fell in love with it immediately and couldn't wait to wear it. The structure of the one-shoulder/sweetheart neckline is to die for, the color is beautiful, and the panel design is so fashion-y. I truly felt that I was going to the Emmy's or out to dinner with the Obamas - that's how fancy it is! This dress made my senior Homecoming dance very memorable. The only bad thing about it is that it runs SMALL. I had to have help getting into the 2, but once I was in it, I felt great. I think the problem lies with the zipper: it's hard to get the zipper up once it crosses the seam. So for the back-up, I would suggest everyone to size up. In conclusion, this dress is truly exquisite and I was very sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
My boyfriend loved this dress
I normally wear a 2-4 and the 6 fit perfectly. 4 was extremely snug. The boning on the dress was great and kept everything in place for the most part. It was jut a tiny bit roomy up top for me. It was the perfect dress for a black tie optional wedding. Would rent this again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 16, 2011
This dress did not work for me. I have a size 4 Nicole Miller dress at home, which fits. So, I rented a 4 and a 6, both were too small. Also, the boning was in a weird place on my body. Its a gorgeous dress, but just didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 26, 2012
Very pretty, well-made dress.
This dress is very pretty and well-made. The structure cinches the waist. The top flattened my 34c chest and showed a bit more cleavage than I was comfortable with for the wedding I attended. Fortunately, my back up size was unavailable in another dress I ordered and my stylist sent me a beautiful rust-colored dress that I ended up wearing for the wedding and loving. This dress would be perfect for someone with a smaller top. Girls with a C cup might want to opt for a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 9, 2013
This dress would be really nice, but mine was too worn and snagged to wear :-/
This dress has clearly gotten a lot of mileage! It was a really nice dress and I liked the style, but it was faded and had a lot of pulls... It was also pretty snug (snugger than it should have been), So I guess it runs a bit small... I liked the dress, unfortunately, I just couldnt look past the snags and faded color to wear it...I still love RTR, though, and they refunded my money as soon as they received the dress back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 14, 2014
Recieved So many compliments!!!
Definitely runs small.. Size up & go for the backup size!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 8, 2014
Great Dress but runs small
unfortunately I couldnt wear this dress because it was too small. I always wear a 6 in a Nicole Miller and I couldn't zip this up. Absolutely gorgeous dress though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2011
I loved it! There was boning to help everything stay in place and support the structure of the top the dress. There are also little removable pads in the bust so it's customizable to your shape. I couldn't give it five stars because the front of the skirt wrinkled after I sat down and I couldn't smooth it out, but it wasn't really an issue. If it weren't so expensive, I would buy the dress because it was made SO well and fit perfectly. I didn't have to use my second size, but you should definitely get your alternate size bigger. This fits like a gorgeous glove.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 28, 2011
I'm so excited about this dress! I love it! This is my first rental with this site, and I'm so glad it worked out because I didn't have a back up dress. I felt like this dress was made for me, and whats great is the boning like what the other reviews has said. I'm very slender and this puts curves where I don't actually have any! I wore this with nude heels and nicole miller maple leaf necklace and matching bracelet to a black tie party and it was perfect. I will definitely be renting from this site again :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
August 21, 2011
Very chic and modern. I received compliments all night while wearing this dress. The dress fit true to size. As other reviewers have expressed, the strap is a little too loose, so I would advise using double-sided fashion tape. Easy fix!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2011
I absolutely adored this dress! It was perfectly structured and ruched to accentuate a woman's curves. I actually rented the Preen Perfect Plum dress for a different event, and the two dresses have very similar looks. However...this one is actually MUCH more flattering on. And it's less expensive... Score! There is boning and removable padding in the bodice that really accentuates the bust line, but in an elegant, tailored way. Beautiful dress... I would definitely rent it again! My only recommendation is to wear slightly more dazzling accessories, since the material/color can look a bit flat without other embellishments in your outfit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 9, 2011
LOVED this dress! I wore it to my rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments... and continue to receive compliments on it from people seeing pictures from the night. So beautiful, fits true to size, and made of quality material.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 12, 2011
The length was a bit longer than on the model (who is 5'9') so it was just perfect on me (5'5"). The only problem was the right shoulder was too big. I had to pin it under the bow. Also, the bow came creased so I had to pin that down too. The rest of the dress fit well and the strapless side stayed up without a problem. I think that a small chested girl might have a problem with the top. The dark navy color was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2011
I loved it. I wore it to a Friday evening wedding and felt great. It gives in all the right places. The only glitch was that I'm very small in the bust so I started the night wearing a strapless push up bra but it continued to show. I ended up ditching the bra which was fine because of the boning in the dress (mine didn't have padding other people have mentioned). Great dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011
Everybody loved it! Someone said I looked like a princess!
I wore this to a wedding, and I loved it! Everybody told me I looked like a princess! I am full busted, and wore it without a bra, so it slipped a bit on the side that doesn't have a strap. In retrospect, I would have worn it with a strapless bra, and it probably would have been perfect! I felt perfectly slim and curvy in it otherwise, I always have to size up because of my chest, so it was slightly loose in the mid section, which was actually very flattering. The color is beautiful, slightly darker than it looks in the picture, more of a midnight blue.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 5, 2012
Very nice
I really liked this dress. It was perfect for NYE. I thought it fit well. Good thing I ordered a size up, because I either have gained weight or it runs small. I think I am in between a 2 or 4. I loved the neckline. The dress was almost a little big in the hips, but again I don't have much of those so that might have been why. This dress is definitely classy and would be good for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 28, 2012
Cute and easy to dance in!
Loved this dress - it looked and felt great. It was long and secure enough to dance comfortably. Wore with nude heals and big earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
August 16, 2012
I had a million compliments all night long. I was able to give RTR credit to many girls who were still in the dark! This dress not only fit perfectly but it gave me a new found respect for Navy! I wear the color all the time now!
Loved this dress! I wore it to an outdoor end of summer wedding. It fit perfectly! It was actually my second choice rental! So glad i went with it...i received so many compliments all night long!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 20, 2012
perfect for a holiday party
probably the hottest i've ever looked. beautiful midnight blue color and fits like a glove. highly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 3, 2012
Gorgeous!
The shoulder strap was too long for me but it was pinned shorter easily enough. Very classy, stylish dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Customer service from RTR was great as always!
I rented the 4 and the 6 for my backup but only tried the 4, which fit perfectly. The dress has a little stretch which is nice, and also has boning through the bodice so it stays up. The ruching and pleating are really flattering. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2012
Great dress! It was super comfortable, and perfect for a fall wedding!
The dress fit true to size, although it was a little short (I'm 5'8"). The material was nice and thick, so no Spanx needed! I loved this dress, and would recommend it to anyone for a fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
Beautiful dress in a flattering fit and color! Got so many compliments!
The fit was true to size. If you are a little smaller on top and don't fill out the corset top as well (like myself) the corset may show some small lines but barely noticeable. Very stretchy, so there is some give to it, and was comfortable the whole night. Definitely will rent again from Nicole Miller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2012
This dress was gorgeous on, I got so many compliments. It is very flattering.
I wear in between a 6 and 8 but decided on the 6. It is short but the fit is flattering especially around the waist. The fabric is stretchy and soft. I wore it to a wedding and was able to dance and move with ease. The details on the fabric are beautiful as well. Overall this is a beautiful and comfortable dress I would for sure recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2012
Fantastic! Classy! Great Service! Beautiful well made dress!
This dress was absolutely amazing! I really had no time to go dress shopping for a homecoming dress at the local mall and decided to take the gamble and try this service. And it really paid off! The service was fantastic! I ordered the dress a week before my homecoing and scheduled it to arrive the day before the dance, and it did just that. The dress fit me pefectly with the exception of it being slightly longer than true to fit, but being 5'2, it was only expected. I wanted to look really classy for this event, and this dress did just that. I got many compliments and felt very comfortable in this dress. Be warned it is the darkest shade of blue i've seen, but looks good with sliver metallic nail polish and nude pumps. Another tip if ur thinking about wearing this to a dance or an event if your going to move a lot, wear double sided tape on the side thats strapless. I was close to a nip slip a couple times. Overall, this was a great dress and i highly recommend this to anybody looking to look classy and this service to everyone!
GabeeNovember 26, 2012
I love that dress! It's so simple but elegant!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 28, 2012
Definitely the nicest dress I ever wore. I felt like a celebrity.
The dress fit perfectly. I really have nothing bad to say about it. I was so sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2012
This was a really great dress, I got tons of compliments!
I was worried about this dress not fitting up top because I'm on the small side, but it actually fit very well! It was comfortable and flattering, definitely a good choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
Classy, chic, and fit perfectly!
I wore this dress to a sorority formal and received SO many compliments! The dress fit like a glove and was classy with just the right amount of glam. The draping of the fabric was great for hiding any flaws and I loved the rich navy color, so much better than the sea of black dresses that evening! I paired with silver glittery heels and very simple silver jewelry. I can see this dress being flattering on almost any body type. My only complaint was that the boning in the side of the dress arrived slightly bent, and it dug into my side a little throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 4, 2013
Felt amazing in this dress!
I love everything about this dress, it does have boning, which I didn't realize, but it doesn't detract from the dress. Would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2013
Good dress for a nice date or cocktail party
Wore it for my anniversary dinner. Was pretty comfortable. Could feel some of the ribbing in the bust
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×