Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Geometric Colorblock Shoulder Dress

$48 rental
$540 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This body conscious Nicole Miller dress is outrageously sexy and the hook and eye trim adds an unexpected rock n' roll touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching cinches in waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching cinches in waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Pewter and black stretch metallic taffeta. Asymmetric neckline with right shoulder strap. All over ruching on body. Hook and eye trim detail. Angled exposed back zip. About 38" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 64
Large 0
Photos 45
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 1, 2011

...being spotted on TV at the 2011 VMAs wearing this awesome dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for my event. Perfect size and length. No other girl there had anything like it! I ordered my true size which is a 6 and got the size 4 as a backup. Both sizes actually fit well but the 4 was a bit tighter and I didn't want to be uncomfortable for the night tugging at the dress. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that the size 6 I wore was a bit too worn for my liking. The size 4 was fresher and newer in appearance. I could see the physical difference looking at the dresses side by side. I understand that I'm renting a dress but it would've been great if the size 6 also looked fresh and new. Perhaps some dresses should 'retire' after lenghty rental periods. This will not discourage me from future rentals. I'm pleased with this service :)
joinicole03
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

RTR is awesome!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my mom birthday party. It was on December 30, 2011 and i receive rave reviews wearing this dress. I am small person so the 0 was great it fit me like a glove. I have a big chest for my body (wear a 32D) and it didn't smash and make my chest looks weird.
SR
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 30, 2011

Rented this for a Charity Date Auction. It defintely turned heads!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is sharp and edgy! I loved the way it hugged all my curves. Would definitely rent it again!
Heaven
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 5, 2011

amazing customer service

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
it was my back-up back-up lol. it was very short on me because of my curves so I couldn't wear it to my formal but it was great to go to the club in. it was form-fitting but comfortable all night. received many compliments and turned a lot of heads. did get the hooks on the dress stuck to 2 guys when I was walking by, but it was a great conversation starter! haha
Christen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

When the promoter from Tao nightclub pulled me and my friends from the back of the line to go through the VIP, I knew it had to be because of the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove! It was so sexy and I got several compliments throughout the night! I wear a size 4 but I suggest to go up a size for your back up dress. It was extremely snug but I had room to move around because the fabric does stretch. No spanx or bra is needed with this dress, I suggest wearing a thong or pantyline-less underwear. A bright color shoe will pop with this dress because of the dark colors. Everyone loved that I paired yellow shoes and jewelry with this dress, I thought it would be stylish and different. I was 100% satisfied, can't wait to rent again! :-)
Rosslyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

The 80 year old sharing our shuttle who said I looked gorgeous.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is hot hot hot. I wore it to New Years Eve and got a million compliments. I'm usually a 0-2, and the 2 fit perfectly. Not an inch to spare. It was shorter than I expected...around mid-thigh and I'm 5'4". The hooks are super fun too. My fiancee zipped me up the back, then started hooking everything together. Hilarious. One note though....I gave this 4 stars because my dress had little tears in it. The seams on the bottom were unraveling. I know this is one of RTR's earliest dresses, so guess that's not surprising. I paired it with Crislu crystals hoops and Wrapped in Elegance bracelet. Perfect!
Fay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 18, 2012

All the compliments that I got throughout the whole night...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. The dress was FANTASTIC!! The size I ordered fit perfectly and the dress was incredibly flattering. The entire process was so easy - the dress arrived on time and it was so easy to send back. Overall great experience!
Licia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 9, 2012

All the compliments that I received, and the way it made me feel!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the way this dress looked. I ordered an 8 and 10, and ended up wearing the 8. I love the way it fit on my thighs, it showed off every curve of my body for the perfect hourglass figure. The only complaint that I have is that it was wayyy too long on a 5'0" frame. I would order it again if I needed a back up though.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152 lbs
Mar 22, 2012

Loooved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress and it fit perfectly! I was a little concerned that all the ruching would make me look wide....but it came out great.
Thais
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 10, 2012

Being requested to sit in VIP with group of guys at TAO nightclub in Vegas....Yes, dress was that hot!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I'm usually betwene a 4 and 6 with a 6 usually being a necessity for my top half. This dress fit true to size, although squeezing the girls into the top took a little effort, but managed to get it zipped up. Once zipped, it wasn't too tight to move around. I'm 5"10 and length was perfect at mid thigh. Was able to dance all night without having it ride up at all. Tons of compliments and can't wait to rent again!
Dpine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 8, 2012

Being the best dressed guest at the wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This little number is sexy! It is a lot stretchier that you think It will be since the model shown is probably about 100 pounds and 5'11. So size up, especially if you have curves. Wore this to a wedding and it was just the right amount of sexiness to look like I belonged with the best man, yet not too much to take attention away from the people who deserved it. Got a million compliments!
cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173 lbs
Jun 21, 2012

I dont have a closet full of unworn dresses.. who wants to be photographed in the same outfit twice?! ;)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like a million bucks in this dress. The ruching on it made me feel comfortable that I wasnt sucking in all night long. And the black running down the middle is very slimming. Had that little bit of rocker edge that I like. :)
Sharlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

customer service and easy access

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress after UPS failed to deliver my dress. I called RTR and they told me pick a dress (this was my pick)and I had it delivered. This dress is was comfortable and very attractive. I kept getting compliments all night.
Jian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

definitely enjoyed my first rental. paved the way for future rentals!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit snug, but pretty true to size. I am normally a 6, but I also requested to get a 4 and boy was that one small. It may look like a smaller dress but it definitely sucks in everything, at least for me!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 13, 2012

Great for curvy girls!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was excellent and a complete departure from what I normally select. I had nothing but compliments all night! The description on the fit is very accurate. The material is stretchy in a good way and the ruching was really flatter for this chesty girl with curves. My friend (pictured) also loved her RTR dress. Great evening!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Tons of compliments all night.<3

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very form fitting.... It is very forgiving....Paired it with chain silver and onyx earrings and YSL tribute sandal. Thanks RTR!...once again you have made me feel beautiful at an event #ILUVRTR
Lindsay
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

This dress fit like it was intended to fit and my boyfriend thought I looked HOT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt glamours with out the feeling of spending so much money it makes you sick. I go to so many events and I buy dresses all the time. I think this is a great idea and so affordable. Now I can post pics on facebook and not have "repeat outfits" :)!!!
shanice
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

I was turning heads I felt so sexy even tho it made my boobs look small it made mybooty look great

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
*1 tip make sure to keep checkin that its pulled down in the back because it slowly rises ** 1 complaint after a few hours the fabric rubbing on the under side of you arm gets a little irritating.
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Such an easy and affordable way to look great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So comfortable! Absolutely loved this dress!
stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Having everyone say how original the dress looked was amazing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a bit small but overall it was nice. The dress rubbed under the arms on both sides. And if you will be dancing in a crowd I would not recommend this dress. I got stuck on tons of girls dresses with the dress' clasps on the front from brushing up against them while walking by. Nice fit though.
Armelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

21st Birthday dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect. It is a body hugging type of dress so knowing your proper size do make a difference. You can't wear it with a bra so beware! I did not have a problem with length, the material was soft to the touch. I thought it was appropriate to wear for my 21st birthday and wear it I did with black patent pumps! I rocked that dress!
Kristen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

This dress was amazing!! Perfect birthday party dress :D

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was true to size. Excellent fit for a curvy body shape!
Johnnalynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

All I can say is...SEXY!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a birthday party. I got a size 4 with a size 6 as the backup size, but wore the 4 which is my normal size. This is definitely a sexy dress, and it's very comfortable. I did not have the issues you normally have with a tight fitting dress where the dress inches up when you walk. It stays put, which is great! I would absolutely recommend this dress!
Laura Hill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Very fun dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit very well, was flattering!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Feb 26, 2013

This dress was Perfect!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for the P!nk concert in Vegas and it was perfect. I loved the subtle edginess of the hook/eye detail and it fit my curves perfectly. I even managed to find shoes that matched. : ) I would definitely rent this again.
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

I was in MIAMI!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Nice fit. Flattering. Comfortable. Photographed well ;) Fabric gives so get a size smaller for a better fit!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Didn't love it...but it was a great dress for a last minute event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well and true to size...but I felt that it looked a bit cheap in person.
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Loved the dress, many compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR experience. Loved my Nicole Miller Geometric Colorblock Shoulder Dress. It fit a little smaller than my other Nicole Miller dresses, but overall it was pretty true to size. It was extremely comfortable and her dresses are so flattering on women with imperfect bodies.
Tori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Perfect dress for Trend Vision awards in Vegas!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I never ever wear fitted dresses! I was nervous but loved the other pictures of renters so I took the plunge. So glad I did. The size 8 and 10 fit almost the same. I went with the 10 just because it felt more comfortable with my push up strapless. I loved the "edgyness" of this dress! The material was so nice and thick it held everything perfectly in place all night long!
SARAH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Didn't get to wear it :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was so excited when I pulled this dress out of the box. The material was great, the detailing was superb, and I knew it would be just perfect. The material is thick and would likely hide any imperfections. Only bummer: the zipper on my rental was busted and the backup size was too small. So sadly I didn't get to wear this super cute dress. RTR has done a great job of remedying the situation and perhaps I'll rent this again in the future. Perfect for a night on the town!
Taleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Great dress, great fit, great service!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Arrived on time, fit true to size. Got tons of compliments on this dress!
meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Perfect for the Chicago WellaLife Tour stop, I would DEF rent it again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A lot of times I wear 4,s once in awhile I wear a 6. I had a LOT of trouble zipping up the 6 (and II had spanx on) but once I got it up I LOVED it!! At one point through the night it did become COMPLETELY unzipped. (After having so much trouble zipping it, I am surprised this happened, but I was able to zip it right back up without any problems that time. I loved the colors, I loved the feel of the fabric and the overall look. It has a bit of an edgy vibe to it that was PERFECT for the WellaLife tour stop in Chicago that I ordered it for. I think next time I would order a 6 and an 8 instead of the 4 and 6 and see which worked out better, I feel once I got the 6 zipped it was PERFECT. I fear the 8 may be tooo big.
Magda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 14, 2014

Perfect for a wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is super comfortable and VERY flattering.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

I wore this dress out to a fancy bar in Vegas while I was there for a wedding.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great and looked amazing! It was stretchy and tight and held everything in nicely! The black stripe down the middle helps to minimize any stomach issues. The only bad thing about this dress is that the material was kind of itchy and the inside of my upper arms were irritated from rubbing against the dress. Despite this, renting this dress was totally worth it!
morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

Went out to a club for a bachelorette party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress is beautiful but I felt it made me look a bit wide. Probably not the best dress for curvy girls.
Irene
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

The dress made my night amazing!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It fit very good true to size. The only down side is under your arms the way it rubs can irritate them. But over all if you want to step out of the box and wear something shocking this is the dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Smokin' HOT dress awesome for Mötley Crüe concert!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got TONS of compliments wearing this dress! I am tall: 6'0 with an athletic build, flat chest, long legs. It was perfect for the Mötley Crüe and Alice Cooper concert! This was also my very first experience with Rent The Runway and I couldn't have been more pleased with customer service, quality, promptness, packaging, and overall experience - thank you! I was so happy that RTR sent a second size for me because I ended up fitting better in the Size 12; my original pick was the 10. Since I'm so tall, I have issues with dresses being too short. However, this was a concert and I could get away with a little "too short" - but it fit well and I felt very comfortable wearing it. I have a flat chest so, of course, I had to pump it up with some "cutlets" stuck inside a strapless bra - that worked very well. The dress was stretchy so it moved and conformed to my body - very comfortable in that way. The only complaint I have is that the fabric on the sides of the dress can cause some chafing when you walk swinging your arms, like I do. The dress is VERY high quality and looks expensive. I would highly recommend to anybody looking for a rockin', yet classy, look!
Johanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

I rented this dress for a Concert and I felt completely comfortable in this dress the entire night.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was excellent! It hugged perfectly around my curves and the material was very comfortable.
Wearonce
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2014

Ended up not wearing it and going with the other one I ordered.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was pretty short and tight at the bottom which I wasn't crazy about. Was worried about it riding up. Overall it just didn't look flattering on me.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Sep 9, 2014

This dress is edgy and fun to wear!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
My sense is that the 10 was small, because usually I can wear a 10 but this one was a bit tight. The 12 was a good fit, though.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×