Geometric Colorblock Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$540 retail
Stylist Notes

This body conscious Nicole Miller dress is outrageously sexy and the hook and eye trim adds an unexpected rock n' roll touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching cinches in waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching cinches in waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Pewter and black stretch metallic taffeta. Asymmetric neckline with right shoulder strap. All over ruching on body. Hook and eye trim detail. Angled exposed back zip. About 38" from shoulder to hem.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 6, 2014
Smokin' HOT dress awesome for Mötley Crüe concert!
I got TONS of compliments wearing this dress! I am tall: 6'0 with an athletic build, flat chest, long legs. It was perfect for the Mötley Crüe and Alice Cooper concert! This was also my very first experience with Rent The Runway and I couldn't have been more pleased with customer service, quality, promptness, packaging, and overall experience - thank you! I was so happy that RTR sent a second size for me because I ended up fitting better in the Size 12; my original pick was the 10. Since I'm so tall, I have issues with dresses being too short. However, this was a concert and I could get away with a little "too short" - but it fit well and I felt very comfortable wearing it. I have a flat chest so, of course, I had to pump it up with some "cutlets" stuck inside a strapless bra - that worked very well. The dress was stretchy so it moved and conformed to my body - very comfortable in that way. The only complaint I have is that the fabric on the sides of the dress can cause some chafing when you walk swinging your arms, like I do. The dress is VERY high quality and looks expensive. I would highly recommend to anybody looking for a rockin', yet classy, look!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2014
I rented this dress for a Concert and I felt completely comfortable in this dress the entire night.
The fit was excellent! It hugged perfectly around my curves and the material was very comfortable.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2014
Ended up not wearing it and going with the other one I ordered.
It was pretty short and tight at the bottom which I wasn't crazy about. Was worried about it riding up. Overall it just didn't look flattering on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
September 9, 2014
This dress is edgy and fun to wear!
My sense is that the 10 was small, because usually I can wear a 10 but this one was a bit tight. The 12 was a good fit, though.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
September 12, 2010
I love this dress, it was perfect!! Very flattering and comfortable at the same time.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 8, 2010
Great rental! I think this dress would be flattering on most body types. It was a good lenghth for me, so it might be a little long on shorter women.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
October 1, 2010
I loved this dress. I felt so sexy!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 18, 2010
Very nice dress, tight and ruched throughout the body so it hides flaws, probably will flatter most body types. I'm 5'2" and it came just above my knee in a size 0. The only problem was I couldn't wear it to the rehearsal dinner I planned to because the material is like a rough cotton and it was too casual for the dinner. The studded appearance along the black is hooks and eyes, which also makes it look more casual. This would've been perfect for a night out, but too casual for a more formal event.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2010
This dress was awesome. I received sooooo many compliments and it was very comfortable. Also, I have a little pooch (muffin top/gut) and it minimized and camouflaged it very well!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
November 17, 2010
The 1-shoulder fit well & I have a short torso. Fit well throughout the body. Forgiving ruching is fabulous! Pair w/a great bracelet & earrings!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 22, 2010
Loved this dress!! I'm 5'1", 110lbs, petite with a straight, athletic body. This dress gave me some shape and the ruching is very flattering. I usually wear a size 0, but wore a size 2 in this dress because it's pretty tight.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 21, 2011
I absolutely love this dress!!!! It fit perfectly!!! I rented the dress for my 28th birthday and I was extremely happy!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
March 9, 2011
I am a size 8, this dress fit like a glove. My mother called me days after I wore it just to tell me how "stunning" I looked. I've had children and this dress hugged in all the right places- it wasn't unflattering in the midsection at all.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 18, 2011
I rented this dress for a Gala event and was really happy I did. It was super sexy and I got a lot of compliments on it. I usually rent/buy dresses in the 6 to 8 size range but because of the snugness in the hips, I rented an 8 and 10. I was really happy I did that because the 8 fit, but was definitely too tight in the hips. This dress certainly shows off the curves!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
June 7, 2011
This dress is GORGEOUS!!! I rented this for a bachelorette party and I loved the fit and color was amazing. I normally wear a 6 and I ordered a 6 and an 8 as my backup. The 6 fit like a glove and the 8 fit great as well but was a bit longer. I went with the 8 because I didn't want to be too vivacious. This dress is great for girls that have a little booty and a fuller chest. I would definitely recommend this dress for petite girls with a curvy figure!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2011
This dress was so cute, but I couldn't wear it, unfortunately. I ordered my size and a size larger and I fit into the larger size, but it was so tight around my legs that I could barely walk in it. I would honestly love to rent it again in a larger size because it really is cute, just not flattering on curvy types!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
September 1, 2011
...being spotted on TV at the 2011 VMAs wearing this awesome dress!
This dress was perfect for my event. Perfect size and length. No other girl there had anything like it! I ordered my true size which is a 6 and got the size 4 as a backup. Both sizes actually fit well but the 4 was a bit tighter and I didn't want to be uncomfortable for the night tugging at the dress. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that the size 6 I wore was a bit too worn for my liking. The size 4 was fresher and newer in appearance. I could see the physical difference looking at the dresses side by side. I understand that I'm renting a dress but it would've been great if the size 6 also looked fresh and new. Perhaps some dresses should 'retire' after lenghty rental periods. This will not discourage me from future rentals. I'm pleased with this service :)
View photos (3)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
At first this dress appears to be small. The material is very stretchy and flattering. I rented the size 8, and it was perfect. I weigh 141lbs all hips and butt. I got lots of compliments.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2011
This is a nice dress; ended up wear my #2 choice because the cut and design was better however overall nice dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
November 2, 2011
This dress fit PERFECTLY. I wore the size 8 and it was great. It was so flattering and so comfortable to wear all night. It didn't ride up, fall down, etc. The only problem I had was when I gave anyone a hug, it had a tendency to snag on their clothing. Not a huge deal, though. Overall it was just wonderful and I would definitely recommend it! Can't wait to use RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 30, 2011
RTR is awesome!!!
I wore this for my mom birthday party. It was on December 30, 2011 and i receive rave reviews wearing this dress. I am small person so the 0 was great it fit me like a glove. I have a big chest for my body (wear a 32D) and it didn't smash and make my chest looks weird.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
Rented this for a Charity Date Auction. It defintely turned heads!
This dress is sharp and edgy! I loved the way it hugged all my curves. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 7, 2011
awesome
i rented this dress for an office christmas party. i was initially uncomfortable with how much it hugged my curves, but that's because i'm relatively conservative and usually stick with a-line dresses. in any case, my husband LOVED it, and it was perfect for the occasion! the length hit me right around where it hit the model, and if it didn't, then you could probably pull it up to make it the length you want. it also was a good amount of coverage and even stayed in place while i played rock band. because of the hook and eye details (which one girl thought was FABULOUS!), i got caught on a sweater or two, and even myself once... talk about awkward. but it was worth it. this was my first experience with RTR and i'll for sure be renting again. my only customer service issue is that i packed my dress into the return envelope, thinking everything was fine, and THEN i got an email saying to wrap them in plastic. so i just cut the envelope open and then duct taped it back together :) it would have been nice to know beforehand, though.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
When the promoter from Tao nightclub pulled me and my friends from the back of the line to go through the VIP, I knew it had to be because of the dress!
This dress fit like a glove! It was so sexy and I got several compliments throughout the night! I wear a size 4 but I suggest to go up a size for your back up dress. It was extremely snug but I had room to move around because the fabric does stretch. No spanx or bra is needed with this dress, I suggest wearing a thong or pantyline-less underwear. A bright color shoe will pop with this dress because of the dark colors. Everyone loved that I paired yellow shoes and jewelry with this dress, I thought it would be stylish and different. I was 100% satisfied, can't wait to rent again! :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I rented this dress for NYE and it was the perfect party dress! I've always considered NYE a little black dress affair, but this helped me add some spice to my little black dress! The dress runs quite small, I'm normally a 4 and I could barely get the 4 on, but my backup size 6 worked perfectly. The dress was very comfortable (has a bit of stretch) and I was able to dance away bringing in the new year with my friends. I got tons of compliments and felt great all night. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 10, 2012
Having the most unique dress at the party!
I was nervous when I put the larger of my two sizes on for the first time...but happy to see this material is very stretchy. It is not, however, forgiving at all! Fits like a glove, I say, and runs true to size. This dress is HOT! My husband loved it, and it was a hit at the New Year's party. I felt great all night. My only complaint are the little hooks that run along the dress. I was continuously hooking myself to my bracelets! Be sure you aren't hanging around with anyone who has on lace or fishnets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 18, 2012
All the compliments that I got throughout the whole night...
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. The dress was FANTASTIC!! The size I ordered fit perfectly and the dress was incredibly flattering. The entire process was so easy - the dress arrived on time and it was so easy to send back. Overall great experience!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2012
hot and sexy
This dress fit perfectly, received a lot of compliment that night. But the small hooks kept sticking to my boyfriend sweater. Needless to say this dress kinda stop from being too touchy to my boyfriend..but he loves the look, at least from afar
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2012
Fun Dress!
I rented this dress a few weeks ago for a Girl's Weekend in Vegas and loved it! I typically wear either a size 4 or 6 in dresses, and in this case the 6 fit much better (less snug in the chest and a bit longer). It's a great party dress; I highly recommend it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
March 22, 2012
Loooved it!
Loved this dress and it fit perfectly! I was a little concerned that all the ruching would make me look wide....but it came out great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
June 21, 2012
I dont have a closet full of unworn dresses.. who wants to be photographed in the same outfit twice?! ;)
I felt like a million bucks in this dress. The ruching on it made me feel comfortable that I wasnt sucking in all night long. And the black running down the middle is very slimming. Had that little bit of rocker edge that I like. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2012
Design: I Felt 1/2 My Size
Oh, I loved this dress. It was a nice, and surprisingly, elegant way to feel a little more daring, edgy, rock-n-roll. I would buy his one. I forgot that, I must order it. It can be a nice cross between a little black dress for the little more bold. The detail is beautiful. The way it is gathered will flatter all, need it or not. This dress does not have a ton of stretch like sequins, however it will have enough if concerned on fitting in to. It definitely wasn't the so structured kind, like the Jacki'O, that it needed to be spot on the money custom fit. I enjoyed that feeling of it holding everything in a bit with just enough, in a comfortable way.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
Nice dress but not for me
I loved the pictures of this dress but it was pretty blah on me when I tried it on. I'm pretty small busted and I think you need a larger bust to make dress this work. The tightness of the dress flattened my bust and made me look even smaller. I didn't wear it for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 13, 2012
Great for curvy girls!
This was excellent and a complete departure from what I normally select. I had nothing but compliments all night! The description on the fit is very accurate. The material is stretchy in a good way and the ruching was really flatter for this chesty girl with curves. My friend (pictured) also loved her RTR dress. Great evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 15, 2012
Tons of compliments all night.<3
Very form fitting.... It is very forgiving....Paired it with chain silver and onyx earrings and YSL tribute sandal. Thanks RTR!...once again you have made me feel beautiful at an event #ILUVRTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress fit like it was intended to fit and my boyfriend thought I looked HOT!
I felt glamours with out the feeling of spending so much money it makes you sick. I go to so many events and I buy dresses all the time. I think this is a great idea and so affordable. Now I can post pics on facebook and not have "repeat outfits" :)!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 14, 2012
I was turning heads I felt so sexy even tho it made my boobs look small it made mybooty look great
*1 tip make sure to keep checkin that its pulled down in the back because it slowly rises ** 1 complaint after a few hours the fabric rubbing on the under side of you arm gets a little irritating.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2012
Such an easy and affordable way to look great!
So comfortable! Absolutely loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2012
21st Birthday dress
The fit was perfect. It is a body hugging type of dress so knowing your proper size do make a difference. You can't wear it with a bra so beware! I did not have a problem with length, the material was soft to the touch. I thought it was appropriate to wear for my 21st birthday and wear it I did with black patent pumps! I rocked that dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2012
I got so many compliments on this!
It fit well and forgave me in places I needed it!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×