Nicole Miller

Bold Bright Beauty

$100 rental
$550 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller cobalt blue gown wows with a fabulous color statement. Pair it with silver accessories to complete the look. Shown here with the Crystal Cluster Necklace by Badgley Mischka and the Anya Cuff by Dannijo.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller (Regular measures 59.5" from the top of shoulder to hem. Long measures 62" from the top of shoulder to hem. )

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cobalt stretch silk crepe de chine. Square neckline. Cut out detail on back. Side ruching detail. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
107 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2010
I loved this dress. It is very comfortable and i got a lot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 10, 2011
Stood out in the formal crowd in a luscious blue.
Even in considerable heels, the hem tends to drag. I didn't notice the train when I ordered it, but it turned out to be very pretty. Also, there was some extra slack around the tummy that seemed unnecessary. Lots of compliments. The color really pops!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 12, 2011
the dress was too big for me and too long. i am a size zero. the badgley mischka gowns run smaller. usually nicole miller's 0 fits but this one was too big. i had to return it and not wear it.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2011
This dress was a great choice for me. I wore it to my senior prom. I ordered it in a size 4 and got the size 2 as back up. According to the chart i'm a size 4, but the dress was loose on me so i'm glad i got the back up size. The color is not as bright as in the picture, it is more of a royal blue which I liked better. The stomach and back area has some ruching in it. I thought it looked a little weird, but my mom thought it added to it. It's an overall beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
June 9, 2011
comfortable, light-weight, elegant. LOVE IT!!!
i used this dress for engagement photos about one year ago. i have never put on a dress that was this body conforming, yet comfortable. it accentuated my curves without making me feel like i was being overly revealing. the details of the dress that i can vividly remember is that the fabric was light in weight and the train was a lot of fun to play with and reposition :) it's an elegant, vibrant dress that i would strongly recommend to anyone that wants to feel like kate middleton for an evening.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 15, 2011
I got this in a 0 and it fit perfectly. Normally I am a 2 or xs. The fabric is a little dull but in pics it looked great. Also it is long and the train does make it annoying if you have a lot of dancing. But, I was happy with it and it fit my curves perfect. Also the RTR staff is very helpful with accesories.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2011
This dress was lovely. It was snug in all the right places...except my waist. I have a small waist and the synching around that area did not pull properly simply because my waist was too small. Regardless, the gown was still beautiful and I felt great in it. Nicole Miller makes wonderful dresses! If I had worn the dress again, though, I would have found a better bra. The time when I wore it I decided not to sport one but I ended up looking like I had no support so...I wouldn't do that again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
I read all of the reviews for this dress and the others which were different colors. I ordered this one and the red to see which I would like more. The pleats on the dress are awkward, they didn't compliment me at all. The blue dress was a size smaller than the red but was longer in height. The back was really pretty, but the front ruined it. I don't know who was wearing this dress in the previous reviews, but they did not relate to my experience. I sent it back an hour after I got them. **side note - if you have a chest, it ain't gonna work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
The dress showed up before expected and the return process was so easy.
This dress was actually my second choice, but when I tried it on it quickly became my first. I wore it to my husband's Marine Corps ball in San Diego and I was getting more compliments from strangers than he was in his dress blue uniform during Veteran's Day weekend. The color popped on my skin tone and hugged all the right places. I paired it with some silver strappy heels, a diamond tennis bracelet, and some diamond pear shaped earrings. I skipped a necklace and went for a giant royal blue poinsettia flower hairpiece I made myself to put in my updo. I give this dress a 10, and will suggest this site to everyone. Great experience.
ElizabethOctober 28, 2012
you look amazing!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2011
The dress was mis-shipped by UPS and RTR staff worked to have it re-routed overnight so I had this amazing dress in time for the black- tie wedding!! Amazing customer service.
This dress was amazing. Fit beautifully with a little extra material in the mid section so there were no spanx needed!! I'm 5'8 138 pounds and with 3.5 inch heels, the 6L was perfect. Beautiful neck line and interesting back opening.. I got TONS of compliments!! Highly recommend! Perfect for the black tie wedding I wore it to.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2011
I was repeatably told I looked beautiful and that the dress was amazing ! I was very happy and it made my night that every thing went well with the rental .
I loved the way the dress fit. It is simple, classy, and timeless. I was skeptical at first because I had never ordered anything online, but this dress certainly exceeded my expectations.The second size they allow you to choose makes you a little less nervous about it not fitting because if the first one doesn't fit you have a back up. I was complimented all night long on how beautiful the dress was. Thank you RTR! I will definitely be renting again in the future :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 14, 2011
The color brought out my eyes!
While formfitting, this dress was comfortable and as forgiving as a column dress can be. I would recommend the long - at 5'5" with heels, it wast just a touch on the shorter side. Has a really nice little train and gathers at the back. I accessorized with a belt to accentuate the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
Gorgeous Dress
This is a gorgeous dress -- the color is spectacular. My only caveat is that I'm 5'2" and the 6R was pretty long, even with 3" heels. I bought the hemming tape, as suggested, but the silk is so delicate, it was really hard to use it, without it looking obvious. I'd say I had to take it up a good 4" -- so maybe that's a stretch with tape. Anyway -- gorgeous dress. Got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
Gorgeous!!
This gown was beautiful!! I ordered it as a back up for my company’s formal Christmas party. The only reason why I didn’t wear this dress.. I’m “Jessica Rabbit curvy” and it just wasn’t appropriate on my body for this event.. though the color was gorgeous!! The best advice I can give to a new renter as I was… Go to the big expensive store and try on the specific Designers’ gowns to get a feel for sizing.. The entire process was super easy and seamless. Thanks RTR .. and I’ll be back!!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 19, 2011
When I put the dress on and my mom's face just lit up. I had ordered another dress just in case, but we both knew this was the one.
I wore this to a Christmas Tree Gala last year and LOVED it!!! The dress is gorgeous and really slims you down. The design seems to make your body go on forever and the fabric is beautiful! Very well made. Plus, the color really pops! It's sexy without revealing anything, and I loved the little cutout in the back!!! With 2.5'' heels this dress dropped perfectly to the ground (I'm 5'5'' and ordered the shortened version). Rent this now!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 24, 2011
Beautiful Dress!
This was truly a beautiful dress and a great fit! I wore it to a wedding and I loved it! It has a nice small train, the fit around the shoulders and back is great- for all bust sizes! I would highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
January 2, 2012
Perfect dress for a formal occasion!
I wore this dress to a New Years Eve wedding. The color is beautiful! I felt very glamorous and was able to stand out amongst the many black dresses. The dress is extremely comfortable too. I am only 5'2 so the dress was a little long even in my highest heels. Also, note there is a bit of a train to this dress, so it wasn't very hora friendly, but I made the most out of it. I usually wear a 2 , but it was unavailable so I went with the 4. It was a little loose so this dress definitely runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 9, 2012
Great color!
The color of this dress (which is slightly less bright than the RTR picture) was a hit! A lot of compliments on the color, not exactly the dress itself. The dress fit true to size and was a little long for my height (5'4") but I wore tall heels to help compensate. The material is slightly stretchy and very forgiving. My only complaint was the train on the back. If you will be sitting most of the event, it should be great. For me, I spent quite some time walking around and dancing, and no less than 10 people stepped on the train (again, thank goodness for the stretchy material). I would recommend for a formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
March 20, 2012
The nonstop compliments!
The color of this dress caught my eye and I loved the back. I wore this to a black tie wedding and I received compliments all night long. I wore with silver shoes and a pair of sapphire/diamond drop earrings. I felt like I was ready for the red carpet! I'm tall so I went with the long and it was the right decision. Runs true to size (I wear between a 6/8) and the fit is so flattering. Took the picture with no makeup/accessories but had to share!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 13, 2012
Easy to dress in designer gowns for less and shipping is quick! (:
So I was invited to go to Mo-Prom which required to wear modest clothing. I had to order the dress in one day and hope it would work. Unfortunately, I had to cover the dress because of my shoulders were showing, but the gown looked beautiful on. If you are looking for a last minute dress and worried about it fitting you. This might be the dress, because of the gorgeous stretchy material! They didn't have a 2 so I had to cross my fingers and order a 0L and 4L. The dress's material was very easy to wear, form fitting and danceable in. I'm 5'10, wore flats with this dress and I could have wore short heels with it still, but I didn't want to be even taller then my date. (: Oh and the color it AMAZING!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2012
It worked perfect as a houseparty dress
This dress is very flattering and the color was great. It fits snug through the waist but not too tight. It was very easy to move around in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 7, 2012
I was definitely the Belle of the ball in this dress. The color was so beautiful, it stood out from the entire crowd. I felt extremely comfortable wearing it all night. It was the perfect combination of elegance with simplicity for the occasion, yet utterly gorgeous and fun at the same time!
I was 5'3" 97lbs at the time of my event so naturally it's difficult to judge if something will fit me based on photos online. I wore the 0R and managed to pull it off without swimming in it, though it was a little loose. I'm sure if it had been a brand new dress, and never stretched out it would've fit nice and snug. Either way it was still beautiful. I wore 4 inch heels with a 1 inch platform and the length just hit the floor, without tripping over it. The color and material was absolutely stunning. It was the perfect last minute dress for a Barristers' Ball (law school prom). Overall, would highly recommend for us tiny people :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2012
Very original, great dress!
I wore this dress to my senior prom and it was absolutely great! No one else had anything like it both style and color wise. I really stood out from all the strapless and one shoulder dresses. I have gotten compliments for days about how original, classy and beautiful the dress was. I wore 2.5 inch heels and the dress was a perfect length, just showing my shoes and not difficult to walk in. The bust was a little tight but nothing unbearable. If you are thinking about this dress in red beware that the two DO NOT fit the same. The fabric is much stiffer and the dress much shorter beyond this the dress just did not fit as well, but maybe that's just me! The color was like the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 28, 2012
I had two people come up and tell me they couldn't believe I had a baby because of how great I looked, which is all thanks to the flattering dress!
I rented both this Nicole Miller as well as the Eyes of Jasmine Nicole Miller gown for a wedding. They are identical dresses but the shade of the Jasmine one is about 2 shades more purple than this gown. Both look fairly blue, and this gown is a stunning saturated cobalt blue. The dress is extremely comfortable to wear, and there is a decent amount of ruching on the trunk which is flattering. It is easy to wear a strapless bra, and the style of the dress definitely accentuates your rear end, so if you don't want to call attention to that area I would probably choose a different gown. Received TONS of compliments on this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2012
RTR is so easy! I had the dresses shipped to my hotel and popped them in the mail the next morning. Didn't have to worry about packing the dresses or anything.
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I needed something classy and sophisticated for an awards gala for my company. I ordered a similar one in black. I am usually a size 8, but occasionally I wear a 10 to account for my generous rib cage and slight tummy. The length is where this got me. I am 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels. I ended up wearing the 10R in blue (no 8R backup available) and the length was perfect. It was a bit roomy in the tummy, which made it more comfortable, however I tried the black in the 8L and while it was several inches too long, I had more of a waist definition in the smaller size. No matter, the dress was still fabulous. I received so many compliments. This gorgeous electric blue in a sea of black dresses stood out. The back cut out is sexy but not overtly. The train detail is perfect. My boobs looked great and my butt (which is on the flatter side) was nicely shaped by the ruching. I wore spanx with it just to smooth out any bumps. I accessorized with the silver southern plantation earrings, a delicate silver and diamond necklace, a silver sparkly clutch, and silver heels. Perfect! I will definitely rent this style again, just a different color. Thanks RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 11, 2012
Loved all of the compliments I received from my friends and colleagues!
I wore this dress to the first annual live CARA awards in Boston. I received many compliments on the color and cut of the dress and felt super comfortable and confident in this dress! I am 5'7" and wore 2 1/2 heels and wished that the 4R was a little longer (the front did not reach the floor) but the 4L was not available. I was able to go to my local Neiman Marcus to try on this dress before placing my order with RTR, if you are concerned about the fit. However, at the store, they didn't differentiate between the R and L sizes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Liked it a lot!
The color is even more beautiful in person. The dress is a tad thin, but I was very pleased overall and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
Elegant and vibrant
This dress is stunning, lightweight fabric that falls perfectly in a line. It's snug, so make sure you have the proper shapewear. But since it is stretchy, it was quite comfortable to wear all evening. The color is even more stunning in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
August 22, 2012
A beautiful dress for a fun event and a good cause!
I wore this dress for a black tie event in november and I have never received so many compliments! It fits beautifully and is extremely comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2012
Pretty
I made the mistake of not ordering the long length. Otherwise the dress would have been perfect for the occassion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
Beautiful Color
This color is absolutely exquisite. I normally wear a 6 and this was a little big on me, so it does run true to size. fantastic silk material hugs curves in all the right places! Very sexy! Didn't end up wearing it because it was my backup dress & the other dress I got was sensational!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 25, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I went to a wedding party and everyone gave me tens of compliments for the dress. I really loved the dress because the color is very bright, the design is very unique, it fits me perfectly and most importantly it's comfortable. I'll rent this same dress very soon for another event, but this time purple color for a diversity.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
September 4, 2012
Long
I'm 5'1 and even with heels it was too long for me. Had to return but it is a very pretty dress.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2013
This dress was love at first sight. I got so many compliments! I would wear this dress again!
The fit was great and it was just the right height for my 4" heels. I was able to wear a bra underneath and that made me feel so comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
hugs in all the right places
very flattering
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
August 12, 2013
true to size. looked gorg!
I wore this dress for a formal charity event. The dress arrived on time with 2 sizes to ensure the perfect fit. The dress was amazing.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2013
beautiful dress. I didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful!
beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2013
Stunning color and very flattering fit, the perfect long formal dress
The deep blue really pops and the make of the dress is great, so it's very flattering. The rouching along the sides/back really helps to 'smooth' out the silhouette and accentuates your backside, keep in mind. Given the opening on the top of the back, if you need to wear a bra you might need one that goes a little lower on the back. I'm on the shorter side, so it was slightly long on me but wearing ~4 inch heels with a platform made it fine to walk in. I got a lot of complements - it was a great look that didn't "show" too much but was still feminine and a little sexy for a wedding or formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
August 28, 2013
The color was truly amazing!! Tons of compliments all night long.
The shape of the neckline is unique and graceful. It gave the appearance that I actually had cleavage. :) This dress clings to the body, but in all the right areas.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 7, 2013
Beautiful dress and color - got lots of compliments throughout the night!
I was wearing spanx underneath, which made the dress itself shift on the bottom a bit. Had to readjust a bit but other than that, it was great!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×