Blue Water Sunset Gown

$128 to buy
$510 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this gorgeous print gown by Nicole Miller for a summer wedding or for your big night at prom. Pair with a retro cuff like the RJ Graziano's Cutting Edge Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in structure and boning is fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - slip and overlay conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in boning and removable padding at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in structure and boning is fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - slip and overlay conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; dress has built-in boning and removable padding at bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue lurex. Strapless neckline. Twist detail at bust. Empire waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(55)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2013
Wore it for my cousins wedding and felt so glamorous!
Loved the dress. I was shocked when the sparkles turned out to be gold colored not silver, but it was still just as gorgeous. I had to go a size up because it ran small in the bust, however, it was a bit long, so I would recommend sizing up and going a bit shorter in the length. Even with heels I was dragging. I loved it though and everyone thought it was gorgeous !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 29, 2013
Fab dress!
the 0 fit better than the 2 except for in the top so I ended up having to go with the 2 but it worked out! got lots of compliments!
JenApril 10, 2013
I am very petite too and i am scared the size 2r will be too long on me. Was it very long on you?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Jenna, As long as you're wearing about a 3-4 inch heel you will be good to go!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2013
Dreamy and polished flowy perfection.
A good review is better late than never. Right? Last year I needed a dress for a charity ball in NYC that evoked some island charm witout a too casual vibe. I paired it with some beaiful gold bubble and crystal Kate spade earrings from RTR and silk blue fabric butterflies from Etsy; the effect was just magical! I got loads of compliments that night and from a picture a friend snapped at the dinner, a date...that led to an engagement last month. Was it the dress? Maybe... but it sure didn't hurt! A note to other renters, this dress runs long but fits pretty true to size. The 10R was out when I rented so I got the 10L and thank goodness I got the 12R too as back up. The 10 fit perfectly except for the length. I am 5,5" and even with 4 inch platform shoes the dress was dragging. The 12R was pretty long but more managable, though big. I had to wear 2 strapless bras and the sticky tape to fill it up and keep it up, I normally am a 36C. All in all a fabulous experience and a lovely dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2013
Amazing!
Absolutely loved this dress! Fit perfectly, comfortable, light weight, and beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2013
Could not wear the dress.
Both sizes I got the bust was way too small and I have a small bust. Had to return both dresses and run out day of wedding and find a new one :(
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2013
Since there was gold on the dress, I was able to make everything gold. Plus, loved the long!
Wonderful! Lots of compliments, etc. I especially loved the gold on it because I could make every part of the outfit go with it. May have been a tad long, but I'm pretty short and I wore 3-4 inch heels so it was fine! Loved being able to get the long dress at a reasonable price :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 28, 2013
I had the most colorful and unique dress at prom!
I ordered the 2R and 4R and the 2 fit perfectly! This dress is so beautiful and vibrant in person! It was kind of tight around the bust and has some pushup inserts in it. I found it falling throughout the night, but that could have been solved with some fashion tape. Great dress overall, I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 19, 2013
perfect for anyone!
great color, fun and comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2013
The dress was gorgeous, but small on top.
The colors of the dress were beautiful. The length was great, but the top was very small. I'm not busty by any means, this dress was very small on top. I rented it for a wedding, wore it to the church, but was so uncomfortable, I changed and wore a back up dress to the reception. I received so many complements on it though. Very disappointed it didn't work out for me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2011
Beautiful dress, great fit and perfect length. The only thing I would mention is that I looked really busty (much more than the model) and felt a little self conscience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149lbs
November 30, 2011
People kept asking "Where did you get that beautiful gown"?!
I rented this dress for an outside black tie wedding. The colors were perfect for June and I love the metallic thread detail. The shape of the dress (empire) suited my body type well and the length was just right with 3.5" heels. The dress was cool and comfortable. I feel like it ran a bit small in the bust. I'm not large chested and was lucky I could zip it up. Overall a great choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2012
People loved loved loved my dress! It was so gorgeous.
I ordered 3 different sizes since I wasn't sure which one would fit. I thought I would have been a 6, but I ended up being an 8, and even that was a little small in the bust, but thats because Im a C cup. The dress is absolutely beautiful though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 6, 2012
Here I am with my adorable boyfriend in front of Baltimore Harbor. This Nicole Miller dress and Kate Spade earrings were perfect for a summer wedding!
I'm curvy and this fit just right with a strapless bra. I wore it with flat sandals to a friend's wedding in Maryland.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
April 26, 2013
Beautiful dress but couldn't keep it up on the dance floor
The dress has gorgeous fabric and flow and fit perfectly during the ceremony and dinner. But once the music and dancing started I couldn't keep it up. It kept falling down. I tried changing my bra, pinning it, and finally just put on a black sports bra. So I would recommend the dress as long as there is no serious dancing involved.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 13, 2013
I received ENDLESS compliments on this dress!!
I needed a dress last minute for prom and once I saw this dress, I instantly fell in love! It came just in time and is great quality. It fit perfectly; however, it was hard to dance in. Because I'm short, I bought hem tape from RTR and hemmed the bottom to the length that felt comfortable. All in all, it is a PERFECT dress for any occasion!!!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
August 31, 2011
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. I'm 5'3" and found it a little too long to wear with flats ~ otherwise it was great. Very flattering in the bust area.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
May 31, 2012
Practically Perfect
I adored this dress! I rented it for my junior prom and countless compliments! I ordered semi last minute so I could only get the long sizes, but the fit was perfect at the bust even if it was a little too long, even with 3 1/2 inch heels. The colors are darker than shown, but it photographs lighter. My date wore a dark periwinkle bowtie and it matched perfectly. Overall, I highly recommend this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2012
Not made for boobs.
I usually wear a 10 in a dress, but ordered a 12 as well just incase. This dress didn't even zip on me in a 12. I have a 36 C cup which apparently is HUGE in Nicole Miller's mind. I'm not sure I would have worn the dress anyway though. It's well made, but it looks very prom. The metallic accents in the fabric give it sort of a high-school look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
Bright and elegant
I wore this to a black tie wedding in the fall. It was tight at the top (couldn't wear a bra) and the front on the dress fell a little longer than the back. It was OK in length with 4 inch heels. Overall, very pretty dress that stood out in a crowd.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 29, 2012
Runs small and long
I rented this dress for a destination wedding rehearsal dinner. Normally, I wear either a 10 or 12 dress size so I ordered the dress in both sizes. The 12 was so tight that I looked like Jessica Rabbit. Granted, I am a D cup but I was still dissapointed that I couldn't wear the dress. Also, I am 5'5" and I ordered a regular length and it was a bit long. If I were to wear heels it probably would have been OK but I was going to wear it with flats so it would have dragged a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2012
Having the dress options
dress is much more sparkly in real life than in photos - definitely wouldn't have rented it if I had known that beforehand. runs large in chest and very roomy in butt
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 12, 2012
the dress was beautiful!
Even though I'm a 32C, I still had to pull it up throughout the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
Lovely dress!
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding... when I was 8 months pregnant! I normally wear a 2 and figured that since it looked roomy in the midsection I would probably be fine with a 4. I was wrong, however. I wish I would have ordered a 6. The 4 was just slightly uncomfortable and I knew I couldn't wear it an entire evening so I had to wear a dress that I alread had. If I had ordered the right size it would have been perfect.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2012
This dress was a standout among a sea of Macys and Nordstroms dresses at my prom!
I wanted a dress that would be beautiful but comfortable for a night of pictures and dancing and whatever might happen later... I got tons of compliments and stood out from the crowd. The only issue was the dress tended to slide down, but thats more due to my body type than the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2012
Such an amazing site!
I got the extra length because I am very tall at 5'10 and wore one inch heels so I was not taller than my date. It didn't drag on the ground and was very easy to dance in. It has some gold flecks that catch the light very nicely. I suggest wearing gold jewlelery to compliment the gold flecks. Very nice qualtiy. Date should wear perinwinkle rather than blue to match.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 9, 2013
It was for my prom and it was absolutely beautiful. I looked like no one there thanks to RTR
I'm 5'3 and without heels this dress definitely touches the ground, so just keep that in mind. I would say I'm very curvy (hourglass) and this dress fit well while also complementing my shape. I'm 140 pounds with a 34d bust, ample amount of booty and the size 6 fit perfectly. Hugging my bust but flowy at the rest of the gown. It's a gorgeous dress.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 5, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The dress fit perfectly with the exception of the bust. The bust area runs very small. I could tell that it wasn't just me because the threading was pulled at the seams from previous wears. But, overall the dress was beautiful and received compliments from the time I pulled it out of the RTR package!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 22, 2013
prettier in person
Bought this dress from RTR and it's still in great condition. It's still a little long for me but I may just have it hemmed since I don't have to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2013
Stunning!
Absolutely gorgeous dress! The colors are stunning!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×