MSGM

Giverny Gardens Sheath

$30 – $35 rental?
$875 retail
Stylist Notes

Be a doll in this marvelous MSGM emerald lace dress! Perfect to wear to a bridal shower or your next brunch date with the girls. Shown with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-46.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curiver women should consider sizing up for comfort
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Evergreen lace over nude lining (83% cotton, 10% viscose, 7% polyamide,). Short sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 34” shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
186 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 8, 2013
Perfect
You could wear this dress for anything, and it's great for all body types. I had no idea what size came in the mail but it fit perfectly. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments (per usual when I RTR). It is very sophisticated and preppy but you can make it fit your style with accessories and hair styles. I tried to turn the preppy into "hippie chic" by doing a heidi hair style and using KiraKira's beautiful jewelry and handbag. My one caution would be that if when you sit or raise your arms, it can get a bit short... otherwise, this dress is 100% perfect for any occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2013
Too Short
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner but it was way too short! I'm 5'8" and a size 4. There was maybe two inches below my butt and if I bent over it looked too short. It also didn't go with the look. I would only recommend if you are less than 5'5"!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
Did not wear this dress
I rented this dress for a wedding, the 38 was too small & the 40 was too baggy. I love the lace design & color, it was too short and not fitted in the waist which made it look weird on. If it were a little longer I may have worn it for like a work function or to work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 15, 2013
Sexy, summery
This dress is very comfortable and nice - a little smaller on me than I expected (made it tight in the sleeves and at the bottom) and ultimately didn't wear because the weather was much chillier and I went with a longer dress. It is short (as shown on the model) and would be perfect for a garden party or summer wedding! My husband thought it was very sexy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2013
Was not quite what I expected...
I was so excited for this dress, especially based on the reviews I read, but it just did not work well for my shape. I rented it for my friend's bridal shower- the color was stunning and the dress on the hanger was stunning. When I looked at the dress online I did not realize how puckered the shoulders are on the sleeves, which I am not a big fan of on myself. Also, like other reviewers have said, it just wasn't very flattering on my figure. It honestly does not have any sort of waistline and I couldn't do anything with a belt to make it look better. I would have worn the 44, but am wondering if maybe I had ordered the size down it would have worked better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2013
Perfect Engagement Party Dress
I wore this dress to my engagement party (adorable husband-to-be not shown) and our engagement photos and received compliments all night long on how cute it was. I even had friends yanking on the back to find the name of the designer. I LOVE this dress so much I would totally buy it used - I'd like to find it in white for our rehearsal dinner or to change into at the tail-end of our reception. The dress felt short but I was assured by everyone that it looked ok. I paired it with nude heels and simple earrings because I didn't want to take away from the beautiful lace detail. The color is just STUNNING.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2013
I was complimented all day at the wedding!
The fit was perfect and was pretty true to size, I first thought it was a little bit too short, but turned out it was a perfect length to go with my nude heels. I felt very pretty in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 8, 2013
Comfortable and cute
I wore this to a before noon bridal shower. I wore it with flats to make it more appropriate for the time of day. The hem hit mid thigh but it didn't rise too much when I sat down, which is a problem I tend to run into when I wear short dresses. This dress was super cute and very comfortable. Since this dress is supposed to have a little room, there is no issue with the lace not being stretchy. I loved this dress for a casual event, but I'm sure it could be dressed up as well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 10, 2013
I wore this for a pool-side pre-wedding event on an island, and it was great. Rented a 2nd time!
Fit was good, leaning toward tight across the chest even for a 34B, but fine. My fiancé loved it. Dress is classy but since it's so short, it still looks sexy. Loved the color. I rented it again for an indoor wedding in NYC and loved it then, too
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
August 3, 2013
cuter in person
holy short!
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2014
Got this for my birthday, and it was perfect! Pretty, pretty, pretty!
The fit was comfortable, though perhaps a little short to do certain movements. The colour was gorgeous! No complaints with this one :) I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 6, 2014
Lots of compliments!
I got tons of compliments when I wore this dress to a brunch wedding. I could have worn either the size 38 or 40. It is pretty short so beware if you are tall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 3, 2014
Perfect for a Bachtelorette party at the Phoenix Open!
It was a little loose in the mid section, but I liked that it made the dress casual enough to pair with boots! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 14, 2014
Compliments galore on the color!
I rent this dress for a charity event that I am on the committee for. It's not a "formal" event, but people definitely dress to impress. I was receiving compliments all night on the color of the dress - it's a beautiful green color that really stands out in a crowd. (Side note: I was 4 months post-baby, so I rented this dress hoping for a tiny bit of give/shift in the tummy region and it worked out perfectly.)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2014
Beautiful color, very short
I ordered the dress in a 40 and 42. For length purposes, I went with the 42. The color is a beautiful green. I paired it with black tights and pumps to "winterize" it. I will say the 42 showed signs of wear and tear, especially around the hemline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 27, 2014
Bright and fun!
Love the dress! Only issue is that I'm a 32 on top and it tended to bunch a bit in the mid back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
March 6, 2014
Not for those with bigger hips...
I rented this dress as a possible option for a date night and ended up not wearing it. Shift dresses are generally not very flattering on my body type (bigger hips), and this dress was no exception.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 9, 2014
Sweet + sexy!
The lace of this dress makes it sweet, but its short length balances that sweetness with some sexiness. The color is stunning, and it's perfect for all sorts of events. Like other RTR rentals, I received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
The dress was very beautiful color.
The dress was a beautiful color of green. Unfortunately, the dress was too short so I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 22, 2014
Love lace! Everyone loved it!
Colors a little darker than I expected, but I still liked it. It was a little short but I had expected that so I made sure to wear flats. I wore it to a bridal shower, cute and comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful dress, really short!
I rented this dress for my nephew's dedication and I was disappointed that it was much too short to wear to a church! It was a little too from fitting and well above my mid thigh--I was sad to return it unworn as it is a great dress. I do have a bit more curves than the model, perhaps that is why it was too short! I think the stress would be best for someone who has a straight or petite frame... Ladies with a bigger butt (and cannot lie) will probably have the same issue as I encountered.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2014
The color
I chose this as my second dress option for a wedding i went too. I wasnt too sure if i would like it after i rented it but when i received it i was stuck between dresses. The dress i chose was a size smaller because i knew it would not compliment my figure and i did the right thing! It looked so good . However i did go with my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
April 16, 2014
I received a lot of attention in this dress!
This dress is absolutley stunning! The picture of the model with the dress on makes it look baggy, but it is not at all. It is form fitting and is really short and sexy. The high neckline keeps it classy though. I felt amazing wearing this and may just have to rent it again! This was my first rental from RTR, and it was such an amazing experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2014
Brilliant color and lace that was perfect for my work event!
The dress is short, but I wore it with ballet flats and it was perfect for my cocktail attire work event. It isn't the most flattering dress for a hourglass figure because of the cut, but it was perfect for a work event where I was trying be dressy, yet professional.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 18, 2014
Comfortable and chic. I love the color combo.
I have a longer torso, so the dress ran a little short. Overall very happy with my rental =)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 20, 2014
Love the color!
This dress is gorgeous! It fits pretty straight so I belted it to accentuate my curves. Slightly snug about the bottom half but not too much that it was uncomfortable. Tried on the 42 but it was way too big in the top half. As a short girl, I loved the length on me! The perfect Easter dress :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2014
Color darker than picture!
I was expecting the color to be slightly lighter than it is, but it's more of a darker teal than the picture. I wore this to Easter Sunday church service. It was a little shorter that I would have liked, so I ended up wearing the larger size in hopes I would be more comfortable. I started to feel slightly uncomfortable in this dress after an hour of standing up and sitting down in it. I felt like I had to keep pulling it down/adjusting it to feel comfortable. I don't think I would rent this dress again. It also really doesn't have much shape to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2014
Not for curves
The dress itself is too boxy for my figure (full bust). I had this for a back-up, and was going to wear it to a second birthday dinner, but it didn't work. There was no defined waist, and it's too short to belt.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 28, 2014
Great color, great fit... Perfect for a wedding & got tons of compliments!
Had size 42... Not super tight, but felt comfortable. Perfect length for my height!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
April 29, 2014
Awkward - Nice Color, Bad Dress.
Color is gorgeous, but this dress is just awkward. The smaller size (40) is tight in the shoulder area, then really loose in the back, and then tight in the butt area. A size up (42) is just loose-fitting all over and not flattering. The nude underlay hangs out in the front on both dresses I tried and I found myself constantly trying to pull the green lace down over the underlay. I am short, 5'3" and this dress appears long enough, but when you lift your arms up, the whole dress goes with it. Not impressed, although for $35 rental, I guess it could've been WAY worse. I wish I had spent an extra $30 and got something I really would have enjoyed.
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 29, 2014
I received lots of compliments with this dress. It complimented my red hair and green eyes..
It runs short even on a petite girl like me. That didn't bother me though. However, I wish I would've rented a great gold necklace to accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
Friend's Spring Wedding
This is my first RTR dress and I was very happy! I wore this to one of my good friend's wedding and it was perfect! I originally ordered the 42 with size 44 as a backup and the 44 ended up fitting better. I have wider hips and wear a size 34DD so I would recommending sizing up for a more hourglass figure. The color is to die for! The picture online is much lighter than the actual color. I added a belt for shape and was able to dance all night. Very pleased!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2014
Comfy, cute, and unique
This dress was everything I hoped and expected it to be. I ordered the 40 and the 42, and the 40 would have been ok, but it was a little snug in the hips so I went with the larger size. I wore it to a wedding and received a lot of compliments. It hit the right note: was dressy enough, but also different enough to stand out. The hipster guy wedding photographer even complimented me on my "cool vintage style".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 14, 2014
I loved this dress, and my boyfriend was disappointed when he learned I had to return it!
I wore this to an early evening Communion party. I was nervous because it is a shift dress and didn't want to look boxy, but the dress managed to hug my body in the best way - the fit was perfect! It was really comfortable and didn't stretch out even though I was sitting for a while before reaching the party. The hem was a little short ( I'm only 5'0), it hit about 5" above my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 19, 2014
I wish it would have worked!
It runs small and very short! Returned it and hoping for better luck next time! It was a beautiful dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
May 28, 2014
Classic shift. Perfect for a rehearsal dinner in Sonoma! Comfortable, stylish, bright!
Great dress! Classic shift. Slightly short but worked with wedge heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 1, 2014
Perfect for the occasion!
I wore this dress to my daughters blessing. I really loved it and got many compliments. I feel like the shift dress really needed something, so I did use a thin belt around the waist. I give it 4 stars only because I felt i needed to add the belt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2014
Not memorable
Did not love this dress. It wasn't very form fitting and too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2014
Super easy to wear. Loved the green color too. Not too bright, just enough pop!
Order two dresses from RTR for a wedding. This dress wasn't "dressy" enough for me compared to the other I rented, so I wore this for date night. It was perfect! So ladylike, but not pretentious. Dress doesn't have much stretch to it, so I wouldn't recommend for a night out dancing. A little on the short side, but just enough leg to be classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
June 17, 2014
Beautiful dress and the perfect green
Beautiful dress and the prefect green. The dress is darker in person than the one shown. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received a lot of compliments. The only issue I had with the dress it that it did ride up as I walked and I had to pull it down a lot during the night. Other than that very nice dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×