MSGM

Giverny Gardens Sheath

$35 rental
$875 retail
Stylist Notes

Be a doll in this marvelous MSGM emerald lace dress! Perfect to wear to a bridal shower or your next brunch date with the girls. Shown with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-46.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curiver women should consider sizing up for comfort
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Evergreen lace over nude lining (83% cotton, 10% viscose, 7% polyamide,). Short sleeves. Crew neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 34” shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
193 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
Did not wear this dress

I rented this dress for a wedding, the 38 was too small & the 40 was too baggy. I love the lace design & color, it was too short and not fitted in the waist which made it look weird on. If it were a little longer I may have worn it for like a work function or to work.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 15, 2013
Sexy, summery

This dress is very comfortable and nice - a little smaller on me than I expected (made it tight in the sleeves and at the bottom) and ultimately didn't wear because the weather was much chillier and I went with a longer dress. It is short (as shown on the model) and would be perfect for a garden party or summer wedding! My husband thought it was very sexy

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
August 3, 2013
cuter in person

holy short!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 9, 2014
Sweet + sexy!

The lace of this dress makes it sweet, but its short length balances that sweetness with some sexiness. The color is stunning, and it's perfect for all sorts of events. Like other RTR rentals, I received compliments all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
The dress was very beautiful color.

The dress was a beautiful color of green. Unfortunately, the dress was too short so I didn't end up wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful dress, really short!

I rented this dress for my nephew's dedication and I was disappointed that it was much too short to wear to a church! It was a little too from fitting and well above my mid thigh--I was sad to return it unworn as it is a great dress. I do have a bit more curves than the model, perhaps that is why it was too short! I think the stress would be best for someone who has a straight or petite frame... Ladies with a bigger butt (and cannot lie) will probably have the same issue as I encountered.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
April 29, 2014
Awkward - Nice Color, Bad Dress.

Color is gorgeous, but this dress is just awkward. The smaller size (40) is tight in the shoulder area, then really loose in the back, and then tight in the butt area. A size up (42) is just loose-fitting all over and not flattering. The nude underlay hangs out in the front on both dresses I tried and I found myself constantly trying to pull the green lace down over the underlay. I am short, 5'3" and this dress appears long enough, but when you lift your arms up, the whole dress goes with it. Not impressed, although for $35 rental, I guess it could've been WAY worse. I wish I had spent an extra $30 and got something I really would have enjoyed.

Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
Friend's Spring Wedding

This is my first RTR dress and I was very happy! I wore this to one of my good friend's wedding and it was perfect! I originally ordered the 42 with size 44 as a backup and the 44 ended up fitting better. I have wider hips and wear a size 34DD so I would recommending sizing up for a more hourglass figure. The color is to die for! The picture online is much lighter than the actual color. I added a belt for shape and was able to dance all night. Very pleased!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 19, 2014
I wish it would have worked!

It runs small and very short! Returned it and hoping for better luck next time! It was a beautiful dress though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
October 9, 2014
Pretty dress

I thought this dress was really pretty, especially when I first tried it on. Then I looked in the mirror and it looked like I had nothing on underneath the green lace (I'm Asian so my skin tone was pretty close to the nude lining). I'm not that conservative in how I dress, but I really didn't feel comfortable wearing it to a wedding. Fit well overall but it was pretty short and the lining is a little longer than the green lace part. Overall, the negatives outweighed the positives for this dress (especially since I didn't end up wearing it)...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 9, 2014
I LOVED this dress. beautiful color and shape. really stunning! and comfy

it was shorter than i'm used to. and is definitely SHORT so I wish I had gotten a size larger. It was tight in the hips so had some trouble with it riding up. But otherwise, it was gorgeous and i got compliments all night. Especially paired with pink shoes!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 24, 2014
Comfortable!

I wore this for a rehearsal dinner in October and it was really comfortable. The dress is a little too short for tall people, but not ridiculous. I have wide hips so I went with the 44 which helped with the length as well. Was a little baggy/unstructured around the waist, but not a big deal. I'd wear this again in the fall or spring season.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2014
Cousin's wedding!

Overall a beautiful, fun, flattering dress. My only problem with this one is that I have very slim hips and still found this dress to run rather tight in that area. The 38 fit perfectly, but I knew dancing in it would be impossible, so I wore the 40. Admittedly, even with the 40 on I was a little uncomfortable with how the dress rode up (and stayed there) when I was dancing with my hands above my head. I ended up just keeping my dancing conservative, but would not recommend this dress if you have curvy hips and/or want to really enjoy the dance floor.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
It was a beautiful dress but I could not wear it due to the small fit.

I would order a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 30, 2015
Two sizes too small

I think the Italian sizing runs smaller - I rented a 38 (normally a 0) and it was wait too tight all over. I returned unfortunately.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2015
Tight in the hips

The dress was tight in the hips. While typically it would not have been too tight to deal with, the tightness combined with the short length made me too self conscious to wear it out.

Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
Unique Dress that received a lot of compliments

A little short

Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2016
Great dress - I was sad to return it!

I rented this dress for a St Patrick's Day work event and it was perfect. It fit well however I wore a size larger than normal so I was glad I went up a size for my backup. My only complaint is that the nude lining was a little too long in front so it hung lower than the green lace layer. But I was able to pin the lining up a little so that it wasn't an issue. Overall I loved this dress! It was perfect for the occasion and I would definitely recommend it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
April 22, 2016
Cute but short

Love this dress, so beautiful and well made. Unfortunately I was unable to wear it as it was too short for the bridal shower brunch I rented it for. I wish I could have kept it longer and maybe have worn it for an evening wedding?

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2014
Are my hips that big?

Seems I must have disproportionately large hips and tiny waist. The larger size was awkwardly blousy in my waist and back and the smaller one was real tight and short but less blousy although still looser than I'd like. Chose the smaller bc was feeling tipsy and overconfident. I think if you have less of an hourglass shape this would be great. Beautiful dress, great color.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 20, 2014
Great dress for a bridal shower

I had to go to a bridal shower in late-November and really struggled with what to wear. This dress fit the bill -- it is fun and colorful (great for a daytime event), it shows off your legs, but it's still good for fall/winter because of the sleeve. I wore it with the RJ Graziano Dress Me Up necklace, black pumps, and a black handbag. A couple things I didn't like about the dress: it is quite short and I was expecting it to be more of a shift due to to the length. Maybe I just needed a different size. Also, the lining is too long for the overlay, which unfortunately I didn't notice until I was looking at the pictures from the event (see the picture attached here).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2014
Super cute and comfortable!

This dress was awesome! I always am weary of shift dresses because they can make you look like a box, but this one was really adorable! I got so many compliments on the color, it was really beautiful in person. I have a larger chest, so I went with the larger size. I would highly recommend this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 28, 2013
Beautiful Lace, Runs a little small

I loved the color and everything about this dress but it was too short. It came down to right underneath my bum! I think I should have ordered a size up because it fit a little snug on my hips and was incredibly short. Otherwise the dress was gorgeous and the lace was perfect. Very elegant for a wedding. Bottom Line: Order up one size with your free second option. It will fit more like a shift dress but is short enough so you can be leggy and classy at the same time ;)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2016
I wore this to a family wedding in October - green for the Eagles! The groom is a Steelers fan!

This dress is a tad short and you might find yourself tugging at it occasionally, but nothing will stick out ever. I don't normally wear short and that's why I felt myself tugging at sometimes. This dress is super comfortable and I would definitely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 23, 2016
Very cute but very short

Cute but super short

Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 15, 2017
I got many compliments on the lace detailing over the nude slip, made the dress look very intricate.

Everything about this dress was perfect, except for the length. It was a bit shorter than I am comfortable with. However, I still wore it to the event and still got lots of compliments. I did end up wearing the larger back up size, only to get some more coverage on my legs.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2017
Didn't love it

I am 5' 9" and the dress was completely too short to even wear. Glad it was my back up dress.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 33
October 23, 2017
.

Ran extremely short. I'm only 5'2" and could not wear this dress, even in the next size up from what I normally wear. I was bummed because I LOVED this dress and its beautiful but way too short.

Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 6, 2017
Way too short!

This dress was super cute however the length was a major problem! I ordered a 4 and while it fit everywhere else, the length was way too short so inappropriate for me! I unfortunately couldn't wear it :(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2012
Love the lace detail!

The coloring of this dress is so unique and the short sleeves are a fun change from the other long sleeve lace styles. It was slightly snug in my hips, so if you are a little curvier I would recommend sizing up for that extra room. Would definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2012
Great Dress, Needs belt for Waist

This was a great dress. However, it was a back up since RTR didn’t have my true backup size in my other dress. I loved this dress but I didn’t have a chance to wear it. The color is GREAT. looks amazing. It could have used a cute belt to cinch in the waist a bit as it was a tad large in that area (says the girl always thinking dresses are too tight in the waist). Overall I loved this and will rent it when some even comes up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
Great green dress!

Fits mostly true to size, if a little small. I normally wear a 2-4 and I wore the 40. It is short and form-fitting, very cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
Perfect for a ladies brunch, bridal shower or birthday! This is a feminine classic!

Nothing beats vibrant colors with feminine lace. This dress was classy with just a hint of sexy from the hemline. I felt comfortable and beautiful. Could not have been happier. I paired it with a pair of Enzo Angiolini nude peep toe pumps! The fabric doesn't give at all but it does fit true to size. Even for bigger busted women like myself. Love this dress!

ElleNovember 19, 2012
Agreed! I wore it for a birthday brunch and it was great:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2012
Adorable

Wore this for a welcome dinner the night before a black tie wedding in palm springs. Was more nervous about this one as it was the 2nd dress of my order and I only ordered one size. Also, I am busty with an hourglass shape, so I was concerned that a more shapeless shift dress may just make me look like I was wearing a tent. Thankfully, it fit really well and was absolutely adorable. I typically wear an 8, and the fit was just right. I'm 5'7" though, and opted for flats (even before I received the dress) as I thought the mini length with heels may be a bit too short for the type of event. Would have gladly worn with heels to a different event though. Super cute. Received many compliments.

Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
The quality of the dress was phenomenal (obvi), the beautiful green lace details made it special!

The fit of the dress is "true to size", but it does not give you any shape. It fit perfectly up top, loose in the stomach (making me lose my waistline) and a bit snug in the hips (and I don't really have hips). Don't get me wrong, I loveddd the dress and it was perfect for the occasion--my birthday brunch--but I wish the cut was a bit more tailored at the waistline. Anyway, I'm usually an xs/s, size 2 (25/26 in jeans) and I fit the 38 so I hope that helps you decide your size! It was great that I could order two sizes though. I did get a lot of compliments on the dress and it was a great dress for my bday! My first time renting from RTR and I would say it was a success! You can see more pics on my blog www.ellechoi.com xo!

IsisDecember 6, 2012
Love the way you wore this dress. The necklace is key!
ElleDecember 6, 2012
Thank you so much, Isis! :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
December 28, 2012
Great dress for a holiday cocktail party!

This dress does run a bit short. I paired it with gold jewelry and patent leather tan heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Show stopper!

Love the dress! It's a darker green in person and complimented my skin tone well. Got compliments all night! I normally wear a size 6/8 but the 6 fit me perfectly. The 8 was a little baggy on me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
Bestie Birthday Bliss

This dress was the perfect dinner dress for my friend's Birthday weekend, which happened to also be St. Patrick's day. It was comfortable and roomy, and the nude fabric underneath the lace is a nice warm tone. The green in the picture is exactly the color of the dress in-person - almost a dark seafoam, which is very in this spring. For larger breasted ladies, size up since the dress is cut as a shift. There is a bit of stretch, and the lace is soft, but you don't want to have a skin-tight look in this dress since it would not give the same classy effect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
April 8, 2013
Was a great dress for the occasion.

Dress kept riding up and was trying to reveal parts that didn't need to be revealed! :) other than that the dress was really comfy and cute.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 15, 2013
Classy Way to Wear Lace Trend

I rented this dress to wear to a family baptism. I am 5'-2" and thought it was the perfect length on me for this more conservative event, short without being too revealing. I loved the color and lace fabric in person even more than the photos online; the color green definitely stood out in the room. The fit of the dress was as described by others, good fit through the chest eventhough I have a full bust, loose at the waistline, and a little less room at the hip. I have an hourglass figure and found that I needed the size four to feel comfortable at my hip. I can often wear a size two moving up to a four at times to accomodate my chest, but decided to size up here for more room in the hips since I would be sitting for a good part of the day. I received many compliments and would rent the dress again. If you are trying to decide whether to size up or down for your backup size I would recommend sizing up especially if you do not have a straight and narrow figure.

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×