Falling Rose Petals Sheath

$42 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

For your next engagement party go for a look that is elegant with a sultry flair in this lace sheath by ML Monique Lhuillier. A ladylike style with a bit of intrigue, this dress is sure to get you compliments all night long! Go with colorful accessories like Oscar de la Renta’s Tres Chic Ring to complete your ensemble.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Rose lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline. Trumpet skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
103 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 3, 2013
The compliments were endless
I rented this for my Barrister's Ball. I absolutely loved everything about the fit of this dress. The length was good. The structure through the waist was comfortable but stable enough that I didn't need to wear a bra with the dress. All in all, very comfortable, even for dancing. The compliments were endless. I loved everything about the dress and will definitely be renting again in the future!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 6, 2013
Surrounded by stars, and I fit right in!
I wore this dress to the Awards Ceremony for First Time Fest in NYC, and felt so pretty while mixing and mingling with the other filmmakers and VIPS! There is nothing better than feeling confident, and this dress made my night! Highly recommended. Sexy, pretty, and so easy to wear!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2013
My Fiance Loved it!!
This dress was stunning. The fit, bright red color, and great fabric were perfect for our date night and I was so so pleased. I normally wear a size 6 and occasionally a size 8. I ordered the 6 and it was perfect, and even slightly big around the hips. (I'm 135lbs, a 36B and a size 28 or 29 in jeans). I felt like the dress fit my bust perfectly, but my younger sister (34DD) saw the dress hanging in my room later the next day and tried it on to see if she would want to rent it in the future and it miraculously fit her too! I am 5'3" and the dress hit me right at the knee in 3.5in heels. Overall I loved this dress and can't wait to either rent it again or buy it when it goes on sale at Neiman Marcus. Thanks!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2013
Loved it, perfect dress & perfect lace!!
I rented this dress for a good friend's wedding in Lubbock. The dress was brand new, even with the tags still on it so the lace was perfect! I absolutely loved the color. The open lower back was gorgeous and I should have followed the reviewer's advice on wearing a NuBra instead of a strapless.. I was constantly adjusting and making sure my bra wasn't showing in the back. The ribbing & lining was great. However, my chest looked odd and smushed without a bra on. I probably could have used a 10 in my bust, but the 8 fit the rest of my body perfectly! Overall, amazing dress that I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 20, 2013
I had so many compliments on this dress.
A backless bra is a smart move for this little bitty.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 21, 2013
Gorgeous, flattering dress
This dress is exquisite, I got compliments on it all night. It's extremely flattering. Unfortunately, both this dress and the back-up size they sent to me were in bad condition and looked really worn. RTR was super nice about it and promised they would take the dresses out of circuit. However, it does worry me slightly that both dresses were damaged- the outer layer is made of lace, so perhaps it has the ability to wear out more quickly. I'm sure it's a popular dress, since it's such a knock-out. However, you might consider having a back-up dress handy or renting it a couple days early so that you can make sure it's in good shape!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
Loved it!
It was soooo pretty! Love, love, loved it! Received endless compliments all night long Only change: should have ordered a 2 and 4 instead of 4 and 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2013
The lace and detail were stunning.
The dress is very well made, though it was a challenge to get all the back clasps closed on my own. I felt a bit restricted in the dress throughout the evening, but that was mostly due to sizing. Note that it really does not stretch, so I wouldn't suggest it for a night involving dancing. Perhaps I read the instructions wrong, but ordering down was a huge mistake. I've been able to wear smaller sizes in other dresses from RTR, but this one was a tight fit in my usual size. I would suggest to any other women with athletic body types or muscular backs/shoulders to order up instead.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 15, 2013
The dress was perfect !
I ordered this dress after i spoke with one of the stylists since i was not happy with the first dress that i ordered. The dress came in the next day and it was so pretty. the color was a vibrant red and the detail on the lace was so exquisite and delicate; the dress also has an open back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 17, 2013
This dress is beautiful up close - the lace is a beautiful shade of red and very delicate.
However, for those of us who are large chested, this dress is hard to wear. There is a big, low cut keyhole in the back that requires wearing a special bra. A bustier cannot be concealed in the front since the sheath is low cut. I could not wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
So comfortable, and the color is phenomenal in person.
The dress was beautiful, very flattering, and very comfortable. I received several compliments on the back and the color definitely stood out in the crowd. Be aware that there is some boning in the ribcage/waist area, which didn't bother me at all but makes that portion of the dress a bit less flexible. I would absolutely rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
Perfect cocktail party dress.
Love this dress- it also looks great in navy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2013
I rented this dress for a City Birthday Party. I wanted something sexy, but conservative.
Dress was super comfortable...it was a bit stretchy too. I never wear a size 8 though, so order bigger as back up size...I'm either a 4 or 6 and I had to call Friday morning to have a size bigger sent to me with a Saturday delivery. RTR did this free of charge. I received lots of compliments and will now be renting the blue dress for another fundraiser this weekend. The purse I chose was the perfect size and held everything I needed, even my phone without looking lumpy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Even the bridesmaids told me I had the cutest dress at the wedding!
Mostly fits true to size, but was tight around the widest part of the rib cage. Because of that, the size 6 was more comfortable (I usually wear a 4). I'm tall, and it wasn't too short! You definitely need to wear a bra that cuts low in the middle, but I just used a safety pin to keep it out of sight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2013
Love is RED!
I'm 5' with 3in heels and the dress fell right below the knees. It was also snug in all the right places. Sophisticated yet sexy and the red made me stand out. Compliments everywhere! Worth renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
May 14, 2013
The dress fit incredibly well and I received compliments throughout the evening.
I have a smaller bust and wide hips, and the dress fit impeccably. The material has some stretch which would allow it to fit on several different body types. The color of the dress worked well with my coloring as I am fair complected with dark brown hair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
Beautiful dress! Also - if you can definitely where a regular bra with this dress.
It is runs slightly small - If you are between sizes, I would size up. Beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2013
I loved this dress! Bold, feminine, well structured and delicate
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments! It fits well and the boning gives you great shape. I wore a Nu Bra with it and that worked really well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
I am very curvy and was in b/w sizes
the smaller size was too tight and the larger too big and long
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Great fit, beautiful color!
This was my first RTR experience and I'm so happy with it! I was very hesitant to try it, but I have 4 weddings with the same group of friends within a year and can't buy new dresses for all of them. This dress is fantastic. The color is just beautiful. My usual size 4 fit like a glove. The skirt is a little restrictive, but it didn't keep me from dancing all night. You're just not going to be doing any crazy leg kicks in it. You can't wear a bra with it, but I used an adhesive bra from Victoria's Secret which worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Spicy & Classy
Love the color - the red is bright and very fun. The lace was perfect and there was a little bit of stretch so it was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 11, 2013
Wore this to an outdoor wedding in Charleston and received so many compliments!
Fit was perfect and the back of the dress was stunning. You can't wear a bra because of the open back, but the support sewn into the dress was enough for me (34B)!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
Loved the dress, it looked awesome and I received tons of compliments!
Fitted and Fashionable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved it! I got so many compliments!
I would have preferred a 10 for my torso and butt, but the 10 smushed my boobs so I went with the 12. It was more comfortable but still very flattering. I didn't need a bra (shockingly) and still felt supported. I was able to dance and sit for dinner comfortably. Overall I'd totally recommend this dress for any size, and know that it def looks great for full busted ladies! Thank you RTR! Also, I didn’t pick this out on my own, Stylist Jessica at the RTR Varick St showroom picked it out and it was a winner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2013
perfect for an outdoor wedding and a night of fun
I had thought previous reviews said this dress ran small, however I found it runs large! I am usually a 6, sometimes an 8 and the 8 was definitely too big. I wore it anyway as I didn't have a backup. I was also worried it would be too thick for an outdoor wedding however it was Perfect because it hid any sweat! : ) Definitely would rent again, probably would even go to a 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2013
Beautiful color!! Received so many compliments!
I wore this to a friend's summer wedding and received so many compliments!! The dress fit perfectly and I opted to wear it with no bra as it was difficult to find one to go with the open back. The only criticism I have is that the front darts bunched a little bit with the lining so I kept having to pull the dress down...I'm not sure if this was just the case with the specific dress I was sent though. I can't wait to RTR again and I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 9, 2013
Loved it!!
Initially I received the wrong size 4 instead of 6, which was too tight. I spoke to Serena and she apologized and guaranteed the size 6 Saturday morning, On Saturday I received it at 9:30 am I was super happy! I wore it to a party and everyone loved the dress. The dress fits great! I was able to wear a strapless bra with it. Thank you RTR and especially Serena! I will definitely rent again from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 27, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it
I really wanted to love this dress, the lace and the color are gorgeous, but it just didn't work for me. I ordered the four and the two and am usually in between those two sizes. The size four was way too big for me on top (I have narrow shoulders and a small-ish bust). The two was brand new, but for some reason the top of the lining wasn't sewn to the lace piece and I was worried it would be flapping over all night, especially since it was still a bit too big on top. I called Rent the runway and they overnighted a second dress so it all worked out. I wouldn't recommend this dress for women who are small on top, but for others the color and lace, and the cutout in the back, are really pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2013
Unfortunately didn't fit...
I usually wear a 4 or 6. I rented the 4 and 6 and both were too small. Not good for a full bust. Really disappointed.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
July 31, 2013
This dress looked amazing! Loved the cut-out in the back.
The dress fit true to size, had boning in the front and the capsleeves were super cute. I loved the back. My husband loved this dress on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2013
Great cocktail dress!
I ordered this as my second dress in a size 4. I think I could have used a 2, but the dress was stretchy and the 4 was good enough. Definitely would prefer to have a low back bra - because my normal strapless showed in the back and I had to pin it down. It really is a beautiful dress and the red was the perfect red - not too flashy but definitely noticeable.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 13, 2013
Great not-your-standard black dress choice!
Found the dress pretty true to size (though women with fuller hips might have more of a squeeze in the bottom). Red was a pretty color without being overwhelming. Looks great with both gold and silver accessories. Was able to wear a regular strapless bra. The dress came to just above my knees (5'2" wearing 3-inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2013
Sexy yet appropriate!
Ordered the size 6 and 4 and the 4 fit almost perfectly! The dress went just past my knees, which may be too long for some, but I felt like the longer length made it more appropriate for the evening wedding I went to. I felt like the lace in the stomach area was a bit stretched out which is why I gave it 4 stars. I was able to wear a strapless bra and it did not show in the back, which I liked. Overall, I received a lot of compliments and really enjoyed the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful lace dress - Size down
I rented this for a wedding but wore the backup style instead. The dress is gorgeous, but ran a little big. I'm normally a 2 but definitely needed the 0. Highly recommend though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 20, 2013
Beautiful dress
I am a lot smaller up top and fuller on the bottom. I don't think I would recommend this dress for pear-shaped people. I had to go with the 8 because of my bottom half, but the top was a bit too big. I don't want to take away from how gorgeous the dress is, though. The color is vibrant and it was perfect for the semi-formal wedding I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2013
Perfect & Sexy
This dress was perfect for a wedding. It says that it's red, but it was definitely more bright pink. Also, a lot of reviews state that you need a backless bra, but a strapless worked fine. I'm busty but ended up not wearing a bra at all, and it was still supportive.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2013
Flattering and fun!
I rented this dress for a fundraiser for Children's Miracle Network of Oklahoma. This dress was a perfect fit, not too dressy but still "cocktail attire". I rented both a 6 and a 10, wished I would have rented an 8 because it definitely runs true to size. However, I recieved many compliments and it is especially flattering for those who have more of a hourglass shape. The back is open, highly recommend sticky boobies. I also wore spanx to complete the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
August 25, 2013
Feminine
The dress is a very beautiful color, but the one I got had been worn a bunch and had some funny lines around the hips. Oh well - it was still very pretty! I went bra-less but sort of wished I had gotten a NuBra
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2013
Beautiful & sexy dress
I rented this dress as my backup and ended up wearing it to a rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable and I felt sexy in it (it really hugs curves!). I got many compliments and would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2013
Beautiful bright dress -- very elegant!
The dress was very nice and definitely a success! I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments. It does run a little big and was loose in the waist area for me. Also, a very popular dress so a bit worn out in the lace at the edges and hem, which you could only see up close. Good for tall women since it is not too short, hit right at the knee for me and I'm 5'8". Very bright, festive dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×