Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$81 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
570 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(390)
Small
(144)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2014
Super cute dress! Amazing fabric! Classy!
Great dress for a formal dinner! Loved it! Material is beautiful although the belt could have been nicer... Overall great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 12, 2014
Lovely lace dress for office holiday party
Wore this to my husband's company holiday party and felt great all night. The belt band has no give, like other reviewers have mentioned, so standing was better than sitting, but still a comfortable, conservative dress perfect for an office party. The lining near one of the shoulders was a bit messed up, but that is really my only complaint. Great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 14, 2014
Great dress, the zero fit, but it was tight so I went with the 2.
It's tight like everyone said in the bust area, but besides that it's great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2014
The dress got here on time and fits perfect
I'm usually a size 2 but I wore a size 0 on this one. Felt slightly tight on the bust but I think it looks perfect anyway. I wanted to keep it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 26, 2014
Loved the sparkle and fit !
The dress fit perfectly. Was not too itchy under the arms. The leg movement is very restricting so small steps and not getting into a tall vehicle are recommended ! Otherwise this was one of my favorite rentals !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
December 29, 2014
Beautiful dress & perfect for X-mas time!
I ended up wearing the 8 because the zipper was broken on the 6. The 8 was a bit big on my chest. Would have worn the 6 if it wasn't for the zipper! The lace does get a bit itchy but it wasn't at all annoying!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32D
December 30, 2014
I ended up returning.
I ended up returning the dress and not wearing it to my event. It was very pretty and the detail was gorgeous, but I ran into an issue that I'm sure other short gals are familiar with. The length was really off for me. It hit me about mid calf only exposing a couple inches of leg before my ankles. I found the length to be very unflattering and made me look frumpy. It's always challenging with these things when you're not the average height so I took a gamble but unfortunately this dress was a bust for me. Think twice if you're a shorty like me, but otherwise it's gorgeous.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Weight: 152lbs
January 2, 2015
Both sizes to small.
I was unable to fit in this dress because it would not close in the back. It zipped up my bottom half but when it got to around my bust and shoulders it did not fit. I am athletic and have a broad chest and muscular back I would not recommend this dress if you have that body type.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
January 14, 2015
Great Dress. Received tons of compliments even from complete strangers!
As several others have said, there is no give in the middle bow. However, I loved this dress and the look. Wore it to my husbands corporate holiday party, very comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2015
A sophisticated and subtly glamorous dress!
I loved wearing this dress! I thought it looked classic and subtly glamorous. The size 2 fit, but I wore the 4, as it gave me a little more room to breathe and dance. The fabric rubbed against my arms, which was uncomfortable by the end of the night, but bearable. The lace was frayed slightly at the bottom hem, but I don't think it was noticeable to anyone but me. I received complements throughout the night, and loved my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 14, 2015
Great dress for holiday party.
Great fit. Looks good without showing the goods, which is what I look for in a work party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2015
Beautiful dress...would rent again!
This dress is gorgeous, especially the back! I wore it to an out of town wedding welcome reception, and I got a lot of compliments. I think it runs a bit small...normally I wear size 4-6. I wore a 6, and it was a little tight but not too bad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2015
Absolutely stunning dress!
I fell in love with this dress and knew I needed to find an event to wear it to. Thankfully the opportunity came up and I was able to rent for a formal office party. The top doesn't stretch much but overall the dress was gorgeous, it fit well, and looked great all night. I was so sad to have to return this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2015
My dress came exactly when RTR said it would come, and the return process was simple!!
The dress was perfect. My only complaint is that the fabric around the underarms was a little annoying. Other than that, it was a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
December 16, 2015
Dress damaged, couldn't wear it
This dress is absolutely stunning. I was really upset I couldn't wear it but the zipper was broken and it wouldn't zip up. The gold and black combo is really beautiful and the waist belt is very flattering. I hope to have occasion to rent it again and hopefully get one that isn't damaged. The rtr process is outstanding and I got another dress which turned out perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 29, 2015
Didn't fit in waist
As others mentioned bust area runs large but waist runs small. Couldn't wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
March 23, 2016
New Years Wedding
If sequins aren't your thing this dress is the perfect amount of shine for New Years Wedding. Comfortable fit, true to size and easy to dance in. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Age: 39
April 5, 2016
Dealing w/ an injury & felt finally people were looking at what I had on not the big boot on my foot
Love this dress! In fact there have been several events I wanted to rent it for but it just wasn't right or my size wasn't available. I wore this dress to a cocktail dinner at a Convention. I usually wear a size 6 but based on reviews I got the 6 & the 8 and I'm glad I did! The 6 fit but there was no give for sitting! So I wore the 8 which fit more comfortably so that I could sit for dinner. The bust area was a little loose but it wasn't noticeable at all other than to me. The lace was a bit itchy not nothing too bad. I would def rent this dress again! In fact I didn't want to send it back so if it becomes one they sell I would probably but it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2014
Wore this to a Christmas party and received numerous compliments!
Ordered the 4 with a 6 as back up but the under slip was a little tight so the 6 fit perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Pretty dress for a holiday party.
I ended up wearing the 0, although much more of the time I wear a 2. It fit well, but the fabric has no give or stretch to it, so when I sat down it felt really tight. Not altogether uncomfortable just tight. The lace under the arms is a little itchy I'm glad I wasn't dancing in it. Beautiful dress! Really great for a holiday party and really nice dressed up with statement jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect dress for holiday party or wedding!
My only complaint is it sometimes hurt under my arms when the dress material would rub against it. But wasn't horrible.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 23, 2015
I got so many compliments on my dress!
I ordered the 0 and the 2. Originally I had trouble zipping the 0 by myself so put the 2 on, which fit perfectly fine. My husband was able to get the 0 zipper and it fit a lot better for me. I am pretty small up top so I had no issues- however if you're bigger it might be snug. The part of the dress that has the band was fairly tight, but I was never uncomfortable. The dress is overall very comfortable and would buy it if I could. Loved my experience with RTR and will be renting again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2016
Very fancy holiday dress!
Pros: Very beautiful, lots of details that make it stand out. Cons: Uncomfortable everytime I put my arms down, the fabric was beautiful but irritated my skin on my arms. The zipper is on the side and it was troublesome to get the zipper through the belt area on the dress because the fabric was different. At first I thought I was to fat for the dress but realized I had a lot of loose fabric in that section so I feel that this was just a flaw in design. Overall I felt this was a nice dress for a holiday occasion party or if you have a formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
May 24, 2016
I love this Milly dress! It was comfortable, flattering, and I received so mayb compliments on it!
Perfect for an evening wedding!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 28, 2016
Gatsby theme wedding
Wore this for a gatsby themed wedding. It was perfect for the occasion. Fit well, good length. Gold colors were brighter than I thought it'd be from the pictures
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2016
Great fit
Were it to a library auction event. Nice for holiday parties with the pretty gold.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2016
Beautiful, but itchy!
I'll be honest, I absolutely loved the fit and style of this dress. However, be prepared to be itchy under your arms! The material is not skin-friendly (or maybe my skin is ultra sensitive) though I did I plenty of compliments. I would love to rent this again IF I didn't have to worry about being itchy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
March 31, 2017
Pretty dress for holiday party
I rented this dress for our company holiday party. Got lots of compliments. Was different from the many all black dresses. Because I'm only 5'2" it landed just below the knee but still worked well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
December 2, 2017
Pretty cute, but scratchy
It fit well, however the zipper didnt go all the way which was not a fitting issue but good thing customer service helped. I got away with wearing the dress with a cardigan to cover the side zipper. This dress is long enough and sophisticated for a wedding.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 18, 2012
Pretty, but awkward fit on me.
It wasn't as form-fitting as it looked on the model. I felt a little frumpy in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 28, 2012
I loved having the backup size!
The dress is definitely large up top. I'm a 36DD and the 10 was still a little loose in the top, but fitted in the hips. This is super flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2013
Top is too big, bottom too small.
I ended up not wearing this dress b/c the top half was too big - it was baggy and hanging off of me. The bottom half fit very well - almost tight. In addition to to the top being too big, the back didn't look very good. Where there are buttons, the dress was sort of falling open - it's hard to describe, but it looked bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2013
Wore this to see the Book of Mormon (the musical) and looked much classier than anyone else there!
Unfortunately, I seemed to run right between the size 4 I got as my secondary size and the size 6. The 4 was too small in the waist and hips but right on top, and the 6 fit through my midsection but was too large on top. Still looked great though.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2014
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it.
The top of the dress was stretched out so much I could not wear it. I have a medium bust and there was so much extra fabric. Very disappointed at the quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2016
Cute dress, but a little large
Very cute dress, the lace is prettier in person. the top is more gold and the bottom is more silver. Not a huge fan of the black bow in the center of the dress at the waist. hard to see in the pics. Didnt wear because the top was a little big.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
July 1, 2013
Sadly, I ended up returning this dress.
Cute in the photo, but a bit awkward in person. The detailing is beautiful, and the gold is actually more bronze than the white-ish gold in the photo. Unfortunately, the proportions didn't work so well. The waist was quite fitted and matched the overall sizing of the dress, but the bust area was too baggy and the length was too long in proportion to the waist size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
April 1, 2011
I ordered two sizes...one size 10 is my true size...I ordered a 12 to be on the safe size as well. Neither size fit and I was out $50.00!!! Very sad because the dress was truly beautiful.....
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 3, 2011
I'm not sure whether to say this dress runs "small" or "true to size" or "large". I normally wear a size 6 and this dress fit snugly in the skirt and the bodice was too blousy. But the size 4 was way too small and I couldn't even get it zipped, so I don't know whether the top of the 4 would've been more fitted. The lace on the skirt was nice, but the material on the top was a bit scratchy. The size 6 hem came about 2" below my knee (I am 5') so if I had worn this dress, I would've had to tack up the hem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2011
Rehearsal Dinner Hit!
I rented this dress for a wedding rehearsal and dinner and it worked out perfectly! Glad I paid attention to the reviews.. I rented the sizes 10 and 12 and went with the 12. Sizing up was smart because you don't want the lace to look like it is pulling in the hips. I was nervous about renting this dress because my hips are curvy but it actually accented all the right areas. I have worn a 10 in another Milly dress where the bottom half was not as fitted. Got compliments the entire evening and makes you sparkle from across the room! Being that it was such a success makes me even more thankful for RTR. I am always weird about wearing the same dress to big events especially when people will remember :) So now off to the next amazing dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
January 6, 2012
Great
It was a great experience. I loved doing it and i am glad i found this website. it is very easy to do and the choice are unbelievable thank you
See more reviews:
1 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×