Sweet Madeline Dress

$90 to buy
$405 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
560 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(387)
Small
(142)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
So many people complimented me all night on this dress! I had to share that I rented it!
The dress fit great! I had no problem dancing, no snugness on my hips or thighs. There was a small tear of the lining on the right side of the dress at the seam near the bottom, you couldn't see it though. The zipper was a little hard zipping up but once it was zipped I was completely comfortable and felt no squeezing or tightness. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
November 25, 2015
Stunning dress, perfect for a late afternoon/evening wedding
For some reason, RTR only sent me the larger size (2) and it fit well but there was a moment of panic until the zipper made it all the way up. This may be a real size 2 - I don't feel like these numbers mean anything anymore, but if you are a bustier petite gal as I am, you may want to oder a size from usual for a backup. This dress was in pristine shape and I got compliments all evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
November 20, 2015
I wore this dress for me senior homecoming and I got so many compliments on it!
the dress fit really well around my bust and the length was perfect--i didn't have to spend my night making sure my dress was pulled down enough.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
November 19, 2015
A beautiful dress. Runs small, high waistline.
I tried on the larger of the 2 sizes ordered, but I found that the waistline of the dress pinched into my ribs. I was planning on wearing the dress for a singing performance, but unfortunately could not do it since it didn't allow for much breathing room. The dress is beautiful, though.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 17, 2015
The dress was lovely - I felt very lady-like in it and received a bunch of compliments.
This was my overnighted dress and I liked it better than my original pick. The customer rep was wonderful - willing to stay until 7:30pm to make sure she got me a new dress. It was overnighted and here by noon as promised. Well-done, RTR!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 14, 2015
I was given an award!
After all the awards were given out someone came up to me and said "if there were an award for best dressed, you would have gotten that award hands down!" I loved this dress, very classy and fashionable, easy to style with it, flattering, and a good length. The reviews said the middle band was on the tights side, and I would agree, without that I may have been able to wear a 6, but the 8 was just fine! I loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
November 12, 2015
Pretty dress but not for everyone
As others said, this runs very small. I am normally a 6 and got this is an 8. It's a super straight cut so if you're curvy on bottom, you may want to pass on this one. The 8 bottom fit fine (a bit long, but fine since it's lace) but the top was big and if you know Milly, you know her dress tops are usually more tailored. In the end it worked out ok, but not the ideal dress for a pear-shaped gal.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 9, 2015
Perfect for a dressy work event.
I was looking for something dressy, but not too revealing, for a work function that I was going to. The dress fit really well overall and a regular strapped bra could be worn with it. The chest area was a little big, but I made it work. The material is slightly itchy, but worth dealing with for how nice it looked on. Other than the itchy material, I was very comfortable and covered in this dress and didn’t have to worry about and wardrobe malfunctions in front of coworkers. This dress is perfect for a company holiday party or fall/winter wedding. One tip is to steam the bow – it came a little smashed and with the touch of a steamer, it puffed back up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 2, 2015
N/A Did not wear
As the other reviews said, there wasn't any give to the material so I was not able to fit in the 0 and the 2 was too big. Was not a flattering fit but I wish it was, beautiful dress, nice material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
October 29, 2015
This dress makes you feel very elegant!
Very flattering with the black color block from the waist down. A little scratchy under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 26, 2015
LOVE THIS DRESS - EVERYONE SAID I LOOK SO CLASSY!
Beautiful perfect dress for a fall wedding. Everyone was complimenting me and telling me how great I looked - this dress is definitely an ego booster. It's a pretty tight fit though, so at the beginning of the wedding was feeling great but after dinner I definitely had to stop myself from finishing my plate - I could feel the dress getting tighter around my rib cage! I tend to be pretty narrow and small chested so if you are not so slim or flat on top I would definitely size up. The last thing to note about the dress is that even though the material is beautiful but it did get pretty scratchy on my arms whenever it scratched against the dress - honestly it just meant I was dancing wildly with my arms in the air most of the time :D In spite of that - I actually think I would rent this dress again - that's how amazing I felt in it all night :)))
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 50
October 8, 2015
Needed a dress quickly for a 50th anniversary party at my husband's work. The dress worked well.
This dress does run small from the bust line down. Like other reviews stated, the band under the bust line has no give, which made me go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2015
A dress you don't need to think about, it just goes.
Some renters of this dress commented on the scratchy gold material and they were right, it was a little scratchy but it didnt bother me too much. the dress was tight fitting. I had a little trouble zipping up the side of the dress. But i wore my usual size and wore my "adds 1 cup" bra to make the front fill out more. I opted for dangly gold earrings and a chunkier gold bracelet. I wore strappy black heels. I got a few comments on the dress. People don't believe I rented it. I thought it was perfect for the wedding and I was able to dance and get low in it. The bow in the front was a little frayed though. I snipped the frayed edges and forgot about it. This picture really shows how glittery the front of the dress. It's a darker gold. I wore this for an October wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
October 6, 2015
Received tons of compliments on this dress
Side zipper was a little hard to work with - otherwise, the dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2015
.
.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 21, 2015
Beautiful dress that was very flattering!
I wore this dress for a work christmas party and it was perfect. I wouldn't have gone out and bought a similar dress but it was glitzy enough for a holiday party and still comfortable for the entire night. I received many compliments on the dress throughout the night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 54
September 14, 2015
Perfect dress for an evening out!
This dress was beautiful, I received many compliments on it. I wish I would have ordered the 8 as my back up size. The six was very fitted and a little tight under the arms, but it worked fine. I'm very narrow in the hips, but have broad shoulders and wear a 36 C or 34 D bra.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
September 1, 2015
This dress is more beautiful in person and the quality of the material is better than expected.
The material is quite heavy, so wearing this for an outdoor August wedding ceremony probably wasn't the best choice. Regardless, the dress was great. I am usually a size 6 and it would have look better around my bust area to wear a size 6, but the material does not stretch at all by the ribbon area, so I know it would be more comfortable to sit in with a size 8. Towards the end of the night, my arms started feeling a bit irritated due to the rubbing against the lacing of the material. This was my first RTR experience. RTR mistakingly shipped my dress to their shipping location and not to my address. However, I called when I noticed it the delivery was made to another location and they expedited my dress to the proper address. Customer service deserves 5-stars.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2015
My dress came exactly when RTR said it would come, and the return process was simple!!
The dress was perfect. My only complaint is that the fabric around the underarms was a little annoying. Other than that, it was a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 18, 2015
Wore this to a wedding on NYE!
I loved the buttons up the back and was very comfortable even after eating dinner :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 4, 2015
LOVE LOVE
This could very well be my most favorite dress thus far from RTR. Very comfortable, classy, stands out in a crowd and brought compliments all night long! Would definitely rent this one again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2015
Did not fit didn't get a chance to wear
Great thing I picked the dress up from the store. My breast completely did not fit in the dress. Beautiful dress, I would have probably needed a size 12 or 14. Not sure if that would have worked because then the bottom would have been big. Oh well got a replacement dress at the store.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 14, 2015
Great fabric, too high slit
Slit in the back was a little high for me - may be okay if you go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2015
Absolutely stunning dress!
I fell in love with this dress and knew I needed to find an event to wear it to. Thankfully the opportunity came up and I was able to rent for a formal office party. The top doesn't stretch much but overall the dress was gorgeous, it fit well, and looked great all night. I was so sad to have to return this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2015
The dress was great, I stood out from everyone else, in a good way!
Dress was a little scratchy under the arms, but I felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2015
Both the 6 and the 8 did not fit in this dress. I am normally a 6. This dress is too small.
I could not even get the zipper to move at all. This dress is too small and is hard to even get on. Did not wear either the 6 or 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2015
Champagne Soiree-Worthy
I rented this dress to wear to an evening soiree featuring champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, petit fors and dancing. The guest's attire ran the gamut from extremely formal full length gowns to day dresses as the event was part of a 3-day workshop. My dress caught everyone's attention as soon as I walked in the room. The gold lace on the upper part of the dress is much richer in person than the website shows. The bottom of the dress is black lace, but it has a little gunmetal sheen that draws the eye. The fit of the size 6 was much better than the 8. It was just a hair snug in the hips, but didn't look funny,nor did I have trouble moving or sitting. The backup size 8 was ill-fitting in the bust and the lining at the neckline flipped over so you could see it. Not a good look at all. Overall it was a great dress, The ribbon below the bust is a little snug, with no give, so if you've got a wide ribcage, you might not do well with the dress or may need a larger size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 27, 2015
I was the only one with a beautiful dress besides the bride.
I loved this dress and my boyfriend liked it on me. The only problem is when you don't have too much on top, it will look a bit big, but overall I was happy I chose this dress to wear at a friend's wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2015
Good for a wedding
Pretty dress, but I felt like it aged me. This dress hit slightly below the knee so it was longer than I would wear normally. I did get some compliments on it but it just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2015
Beautiful dress...would rent again!
This dress is gorgeous, especially the back! I wore it to an out of town wedding welcome reception, and I got a lot of compliments. I think it runs a bit small...normally I wear size 4-6. I wore a 6, and it was a little tight but not too bad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2015
Paired with my husband's garnet tie this dress was perfect for a Florida State wedding!
When the dress first arrived I wasn't sure I was going to love it. The stitching on the black lace overly of the bottom half of the dress was a little silver and and I initially didn't like it because it didn't match the rest of the fabric but it was my only wardrobe option for the wedding I was attending. Once I got ready the day of the event I was surprised to discover that I really loved the dress! It fit perfectly, wasn't tight in the hips and I didn't need my back up size. It is a little itchy when you first put it on but I didn't notice it at all the rest of the evening. The lining is a silk like material which means it doesn't stretch or breathe so I don't think I would recommend this for an outdoor event in the summer. Overall I really enjoyed this dress and would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2015
Was able to wear this dress to a formal gala and a bachelorette party that were the same night!
It was a beautiful dress - I ended up going with the 6 over the 4 - it definitely runs a little small, so I would opt for the next size up when ordering. It was a great dress though - I chose it because I had a formal gala for work and a bachelorette party the same night and I wanted something I could wear to both. It was comfortable although the beading rubs against your arms a little, but not too much to be annoying. Everyone loved it and I even got compliments from strangers! It was a good choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 16, 2015
Great combination of earrings and dress
Classy and elegant dress cocktail dress. Looked and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 14, 2015
Great dress for holiday party.
Great fit. Looks good without showing the goods, which is what I look for in a work party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2015
A sophisticated and subtly glamorous dress!
I loved wearing this dress! I thought it looked classic and subtly glamorous. The size 2 fit, but I wore the 4, as it gave me a little more room to breathe and dance. The fabric rubbed against my arms, which was uncomfortable by the end of the night, but bearable. The lace was frayed slightly at the bottom hem, but I don't think it was noticeable to anyone but me. I received complements throughout the night, and loved my first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 13, 2015
Tight and short!
I usually love all the RTR dresses I've rented, but this one never was worn and sent back. It was way too snug fitting and short. I don't recommend if you have any curves to your body at all.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 10, 2015
Matching everything including my date!
Fit perfectly and like a glove (A good glove). Did not need the back-up size 2, but it was reassuring to have. :) There was more room "up top" for larger boobs on the average female, which I do not carry. but size up if you are "full" busted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
March 1, 2015
I wore this dress for a winter black tie wedding.
I love this dress! It was very comfortable. The heavy lace was great for a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect dress for holiday party or wedding!
My only complaint is it sometimes hurt under my arms when the dress material would rub against it. But wasn't horrible.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 11, 2015
Didn't wear it.
This dress fit ok, but it was not very flattering. It puckered a little bit weird and made me look very hip-y. While I have an athletic build, I have never felt I looked hip-y, so I felt it was very unflattering and underwhelming. I ended up going with something else in my closet as opposed to this dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×