Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$81 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
571 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(391)
Small
(144)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2012
fitted through hips

I have a tiny waist and larger hips. This dress fit, but it was a little snug in the hips. The dress arrived in perfect condition. Everyone loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
January 22, 2012
LOVE this dress!

What a gorgeous dress! The photo of the model doesn't do it justice as it's much more beautiful in person. I wore this for a medical staff cocktail party and received so many compliments! I'm 5' 7 1/2 and 133 pounds with small hips. I usually wear a size small, or 4 or 6 in dresses but wore a size 6 for this particular dress. The size 4 fit, but was a bit snug around my rib cages so I wore the size 6 and it was much more comfortable. It's a little big on top so it's a great dress for women with bigger busts. I'm a 34B so there was definitely some extra room for bustier ladies! But, nonetheless, I LOVE this dress and highly recommend it to anyone who has a more conservative cocktail party to attend. Just beautiful!!!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
July 12, 2012
Amazing Dress!

I just received the dress and I am not only impressed by the quality of the dress but also by the customer survive. It was delivered on the day the site promised and in a great shape. The only cons of the dress is that with both the sizes (I ordered both 2 and 4) the zippers had troubles working so I had to be very careful. I ordered it for a summer wedding but I could say I will be very warm in it. As the other reviews have mentioned there is a lot of space in the bust area but I had no troubles because I have pretty big bust for my body. You have to be aware that the upper part of the dress is not made for woman with wide upper torso. So if you have wide torso you should size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2012
For slim body types

This dress was stunning but I did not ultimately wear it because it was too tight in the bust area, perfect otherwise. It as a truly beautiful dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 25, 2012
Great for the holidays.

Wore this dress for a Christmas dinner and a post-dinner play at a downtown theater. Beautiful, high quality fabric but no no no stretch. The center ribbon is a bit snug, so size up when renting this one.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
September 7, 2012
Super fancy cocktail dress

This Milly dress runs a bit tight, and the lace is kinda itchy, so its not really comfortable to wear day-to-night. But its great for a really fancy night out, I wore it for my birthday cocktails at the Waldorf Astoria and the Plaza.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 28, 2012
Wow - what a great first experience. More compliments than I have ever gotten before!

I was down out out with back pain and knew i had no time to shop before a corporate awards ceremony. I logged on to Rent The Runway, found a dress and the order was fast and simple. My order arrived professionally boxed and in garment bags the day before the event. Felt stunning last night. And today's return was slipped into the postage paid envelope and brought to the post office. Fast, easy, beautiful - no malls and no dry cleaning. You have a customer for LIFE. Thank you for such a great cyber fashion experience. Can't wait until next time. XXXOOO

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2012
Beautiful dress! Received compliments all night!

I normally wear a 6, but sized up to 8 per the other reviews. The dress fit beautifully! I did wear spanx, but even without those, the dress fit very well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2012
Looks great!

I rented this dress for a fall wedding. The dress looked great, and was very comfortable. The top was a little bit big but not a problem. I received many compliments and felt great in this dress all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2012
Pretty dress

But apparently I can't wear size 12's in Milly's dresses. :( and I hated the way the fabric felt

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 7, 2012
Not pleased...

Did not work. Don't suggest renting this dress. You will be disappointed.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 14, 2012
Very appropriate for a wedding or any semi-formal affair.

This dress looked great. It is very nicely made and arrived in perfect condition. It was a tiny bit small but I still went with the smaller of the two sizes I got. It looked better in the 2. If I was buying it I would have gotten the 4 to be safe, but the great thing about RTW is you don't have to think about how long something is going to fit. Cons were that I couldn't dance that well in it due to the slim skirt. It was also quite itchy under my arms and the zipper is hard to zip.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Felt so elegant and classy!

I ordered both a size 8 and 10. The 10 did not arrive so I wore the 8. It was pretty snug, a bit tough to zip on the side and I definitely agree with others that the lace around the armpits can be itchy. I have a very athletic build and the skirt was a bit tight around the seat/legs. Would've been nice to have the 10. Overall though I felt amazing in this dress and received tons of compliments. One person told me I looked "modelesque"!!

KristyOctober 22, 2012
You look great. Love the neclace, where is the necklace from?
LindseyOctober 22, 2012
Thanks Kristy! I borrowed it from my friend in the pic and she got it at H&M!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Gorgeous dress! Everyone thought the dress was right off the runway!

I usually wear a size 2 in dresses. Good thing I got a 4 in this! Love the two size option. Great first experience with RTR! No hassel, simply awesome!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2012
I got so many compliments on my dress. The sparkle made me feel so festive and fun!

This was the perfect dress for a formal benefit dinner. It was classy, feminine and beautiful! The size 0 had a higher slit up the back than the size 2. So even though I tend to wear the smaller size normally, I went up. It's not tight, it's fitted. And not short even on me who is close to 6"!! Loved it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2012
Lovely dress, but small in the bust

I rented this as a "back up" dress and was very excited when it came -- it was really pretty. I ordered up to a size 12 but I couldn't get it zipped past my rib cage. I wear a 38D bra and there was no way it was going to zip closed. it was a bummer b/c it is stunning! I highly recommend to someone who is smaller on top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2012
Incredibly beautiful dress!

This dress was amazing and even better than I expected. I felt beautiful in it all night. It was amazingly well made with a gorgeous lining and lovely lace detail in both the top and the bottom. A really classy dress. I wore it to a nice dinner and play with my boyfriend; I was overdressed at both (Chicago’s a pretty casual city) but didn’t care because I looked great. I was worried it would be itchy on top because of the other reviews, but it was actually the bottom that was a little itchy to me (sitting on the lace for a 3 hour play got a little irritating). I have super sensitive skin so if I made it with minor irritation I’m sure it would be fine for anyone else. I usually wear a size 4 and am petite and pear shaped. The 4 fit better in the top but was too tight in the hips so I went with the 6. It was maybe a little big on top but I don’t think it was too noticeable. I would recommend it to anyone and it was a great first rental with RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 16, 2012
I love this dress - very classy and sophisticated!

I wore this dress for two black tie occasions, a charity event and a party, and it was perfect for both. The skirt definitely has a slim fit and no stretch, so it would be good to keep that in mind when choosing sizes. This dress would be appropriate for pretty much any formal (or even not-so-formal) occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 18, 2012
Beautiful Dress, Great Service! I may never buy another dress!

I wore this dress to a holiday cocktail party. Even though RTR suggested ordering a size up, I ordered a size down for my extra size. The 2 was fitted through the hips and a little loose on top and the 0 was very tight all over, so I went with the 2 so I could breath. Very beautiful dress. As far as service, the dresses arrived on time, well packaged so they weren't wrinkled. The bad thing, is I may never want to buy another dress when I can come on RTR and pick out the perfect dress and get it in two sizes delivered directly to my door. Plus, now you never have to worry about repeating a look!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2012
Felt like a million bucks!

I usually wear a size 4, but I got a 4 and a 6. While I could probably have worn the 4 in an emergency situation, I would have felt self-conscious all night so I opted for the 6. If you're not bigger-busted, I think you'll find a lot of extra space to fill in the top. But I really loved this dress and felt comfortable and elegant all night. I got a lot of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2012
All of the compliments I got and my boyfriend couldn't stop telling me how gorgeous I looked!

I typically wear an 8 and had to go with the 10. I'm just happy I got a bigger backup size! The dress is classy and perfect for the holiday season.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Got tons of compliments on this dress!! Unique and flattering without being over the top.

Beautiful lace texture and a very flattering fit, very comfortable (only issue being the lace rubbed under my arms, but small price to pay). Bust was a bit big on my small chest, but you couldn't tell at all due to the fabric. Overall a very lovely dress for a fancy work party. I got tons of compliments all night!!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2012
Classy dress with a sliming fit

Rented this for a holiday work party. I am usually between a 6 and 8 but the 8 fit like a glove in the hips. The top is a little baggier than I’d like since the fabric is heavy. It photographs great but the fabric is a little rough on the arms. Overall, I was happy with it. It was the right length and coverage for a work event with a little sparkle to make it festive.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
It was elegant but comfortable dress for dancing.

I was excited to wear such an elegant dress for my friend's wedding. I thought I could wear the 6 but unfortunately not. I'm so glad that Rent The Runway has a second free dress in a different size or else I would've been in trouble.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
Great Party Dress!

I wore this dress to a work Christmas party and it was a total hit! It did run small, and I was so thankful that RTR provides two separate sizes. Great party dress. I would suggest renting it to everyone. Just be advised the top was a bit snug so maybe order one size larger than usual.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 17, 2012
I didn't get to wear it because it fit too tightly in the hips.

The dress has NO give. So order up a size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 25, 2012
great quality dress

a felt a bit frumpy in this dress. Lace is not all that flattering but the quality was fantastic

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect!

Got so many complements , was perfect for my formal office Christmas party!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2013
Comfortable, flattering, beautiful lace dress!

I ordered this dress in a size 10 and 12 because read the reviews that it runs small. I would agree with that assessment and recommend getting a size bigger than what you normally wear. The dress itself is really beautiful! The lace detail is stunning, both the black and gold aspects. If you have a larger bust I would say this dress may not fit well. While the 12 fit, it didn't work well with my 36 C bust and overall didn't flatter me. Therefore my mother borrowed the size 10 (she usually wears an 8) dress and it looked great on her--as you can see in the picture!. Her body is much more condusive for the dress in that she's taller, more slender, and has a smaller bust. It flattered her figure very much and she loved wearing it!! So the dress complements a woman of any age.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
Great NYE Dress

The fit was a little snug in the hips. I ordered both an 8 and a 10 and ended up going with the 10 because it would be more comfortable for dancing. The material was a little itchy and rubbed my under my arms a bit throughout the night. Overall, a great dress and another successful Rent the Runway experience.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Great dress!! very flattering

I loved this dress! I did think it ran just a tad small, but I was able to zip both, just felt more comfortable in the bigger dress. I thought it was very forgiving and flattering. Looked really classy for the winter wedding I went to.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
January 11, 2013
Never wore it

I thought from the picture this was a classy looking dress. In person the gold top looks cheap and the black lace is "too lacy" The lace is just a pattern that looks bad. Ok for a younger person. Not a Nina Ricci or Valentino look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, fun, would wear again

I rented this dress for my company's holiday party. It's a gorgeous dress, perfect for a professional atmosphere. For girls that are heavier on top, it does fit VERY tightly in the chest. You can tell it makes my DD size chest look very small, but it also had the same effect on my waist. Would absolutely recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2013
Love the look, don't like the fit...

The dress is so cute! I don't like that it is a side zipper. I am a busty woman and side zippers are really difficult for busty gals to get up. If the zipper had been in the back I think it would have worked fine. I didn't end up being able to wear the dress at all :(

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
no thank you

This dress had no stretch and was extremely difficult to get on. The 12 is definitely more like an 8 or 10.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Order 1 size up, zipper very sticky. Needed help to zip.

Not quite the quality I expected, but very nice.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2013
Outfit was one of two that I was debating to wear to the event

Dress looked great but was a little tight in the mid-section due to my rib cage. Would have looked and worked fine if I hadn't planned on eating or drinking, but because of this option, I went with a different dress from RTR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
loved it! wore it to a formal event. IT was knee length, i'm normally at 2-4 it ran small. perfec

fits small especially around waist. Knee length.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 27, 2013
The dress was perfect for the occasion! I got so many compliments!

Fit ran small, I am normally a 6 and had to go with the 8. I was comfortable in the dress all night although the top was a little scratchy. Worst CON: the zipper! I tried the 8 and 10. The 8 would not zip up no matter what. I tried on the 10 and the zipper was tough on that as well. Finally I went back to the 8 and was able to zip it up and it fit just right. I was scared I wouldn't be able to unzip it. Last, the top ran a little large for my bust size. It was a great dress though. It looked great and made me feel beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 9, 2013
I didn't get to wear it.

It didn't fit.

See more reviews:
2 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×