Milly

Sweet Madeline Dress

$40 rental
$405 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab your date and rent this beautiful dress by Milly for the holiday party. A classic combination of gold and black metallic lace is perfect for a night of dancing with friends! Accessorized with Nicole Romano's Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any bust size-comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow detail
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold and black metallic lace over silk lining. Crew neckline with pleating. Black satin buttons on back with keyhole opening. Grosgrain bow at waist. Hidden back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

484 reviews

Fit
Small 123
True to Size 344
Large 5
Photos 218
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

Appropriate yet fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to my best friend's engagement party, which was held in a very loungy, city atmosphere at night. I wanted something that was fancy and fun, but also appropriate. The reviews I read on this dress were all pretty accurate. The dress doesn't have much give to it, so make sure you pick the right size.
Chantae
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 8, 2013

no thank you

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress had no stretch and was extremely difficult to get on. The 12 is definitely more like an 8 or 10.
Barb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

It was very festive and formal for a dinner party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a tighter fitting size 6, could not have been any smaller.
Rose
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Outfit was one of two that I was debating to wear to the event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress looked great but was a little tight in the mid-section due to my rib cage. Would have looked and worked fine if I hadn't planned on eating or drinking, but because of this option, I went with a different dress from RTR.
nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 19, 2013

i got so many compliments on my dress all night, i kind of stole the show :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a little tough to get on so if your getting an up-do just be warned it might get a little messed up but nothing a few bobby pins won't fix. once the dress is on it looks great and is true to size, the only downside is that if you don't have big tata's the top portion is a little loose but nothing insanely crazy. it also runs longer then i thought, it fell right at my knees, i thought it would be a shorter but i am also short so i usually have this sort of problem. i wore this to an engagement party and it was a hit. definitely worth renting :)
lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

loved it! wore it to a formal event. IT was knee length, i'm normally at 2-4 it ran small. perfec

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
fits small especially around waist. Knee length.
DD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

It was beautiful, comfortable and fit me perfectly

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising event. It was the perfect dress for the event and for me personally. The dress fit beautifully. I ordered the 4 and the 6 (I normally wear the 4) and the 4 was perfect. Note that the band at the waist has no stretch so I had to be careful with my hair while putting it on, but once I got my head and arms through, everything else was easy. I threw on a pair of gold chandelier earrings and golden sandals and I was set. I have a large chest and I was a little concerned that it would look bad on the high waist, but I think it looked great. I got so many compliments all evening long and it looked formal and dressy without being uncomfortable (I am big on being comfortable first and foremost). I use Rent the Runway so I dont need to repeat dresses but I think I might rent this again.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

Prettier in the picture

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you are debating between this dress and another..pick the other! I didn't hate the dress but it was bulkier on top than I expected. It is a bit unflattering but it is definitely conservative.
Christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Great looking dress!! Very classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm sorry I don't have a picture with me in the dress, but I did love it! I wore it to a Sunday evening baptism that was held at a very fancy country club. Its very snug, but not in a bad way at all. It definitely makes you look thinner. I received many compliments throughout the day!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

loved this dress- would buy it if I could!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
arm holes were a little tight but not too bad. Very flattering - perfect for a friends wedding in New Orleans.
robin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

perfect for a holiday party, if i was going to a holiday party :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didnt end up wearing this dress, only because it was a spring event and the lace is very heavy and I felt like the satin covered buttons in the back made it more suitable for a new years or christmas party. the dress is lovely though. there is NO stretch, so order up for your backup size.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

..

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The material looked cheaper than in the photo and it was way too small. Thankfully I ordered a backup!
Julie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

GREAT, comfortable and elegant dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt great wearing this to a black tie affair - not too over the top, just perfect. I ordered the 8 and the 10 - the 8 was just a bit too snug for me in the chest, but the 10 was great - maybe a bit roomy, but super comfortable. For me, being able to wear my own bra was a big plus - and the top easily accomodated that. LOVED the whole Rent the Runway experience, and would definitely do it again.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Gorgeous dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, my only criticism was that the pictures/description do not mention the very long slit in the back. It wasn't bad, just completely unexpected. The lace is gorgeous, and it fit perfectly; very comfortable.
Jeanette
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

The dress was perfect for the occasion! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fit ran small, I am normally a 6 and had to go with the 8. I was comfortable in the dress all night although the top was a little scratchy. Worst CON: the zipper! I tried the 8 and 10. The 8 would not zip up no matter what. I tried on the 10 and the zipper was tough on that as well. Finally I went back to the 8 and was able to zip it up and it fit just right. I was scared I wouldn't be able to unzip it. Last, the top ran a little large for my bust size. It was a great dress though. It looked great and made me feel beautiful.
Pamela
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Apr 28, 2013

Loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect fit but a little snug
Christine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 5, 2013

Great dress! More impressive in person! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a charity event. I ordered a 0 (my normal size) and a 2. I didn't even need to try the 2. The dress is beautiful and unique...very classy and more for the late 30's and up crowd because of the design and length. It was a tad uncomfortable under the arms as some reviewers said but I didn't really notice until I had it on for 5 hours. This was my first rent the runway dress and it will not be the last!!!
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
May 6, 2013

Pretty dress, easy to wear, received a lot of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 2 and a 4 but wore the 2. I may have been able to fit into a 0 but the 2 was comfortable, slightly big on top but not noticable.
S
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2013

I rented this dress for my son's christening.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was nervous about wearing ANY dress so soon after giving birth, but this dress was so flattering and gorgeous! I am normally a size 2, but I got the dress in a size 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the size 6 because it felt most comfortable with my new curves that hadn't quite left me yet :). The dress was stunning and flattering in all the right places so it made me feel like I looked as thought I hadn't just given birth!
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 9, 2013

I didn't get to wear it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It didn't fit.
marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 13, 2013

Perfect dress for a graduation ceremony

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted a dress for my graduation ceremony, i wanted something that was going to be formal enough and that will cover myself up. It was a nice dress, really delicate, pretty and different. The only problem that i found is that it is a bit too long and i am 5'6. Other than that, it was a good rent.
Bronwen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
May 14, 2013

Very cute dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received compliments on the dress and I did like it. It runs small for sure and I ended up having to wear the bigger size. But then it was very roomy in the bust. Overall a good pick.
Mary
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 14, 2013

The dress was perfect for the wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My sister rented this dress for a wedding. The dress fit great, just a little tight in the waist. The ribbon at the waist gave some definition to the waistline. Very elegant, perfect for the black tie affair. The arm holes were a little tight but still wearable. So if you have big arms, just keep this in mind. My sister is 5' 4" so the dress just hit her right above her knees, a modest length. Her weight is around 125 and she normally wears a size 4 or 6.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 21, 2013

great quality. beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
lace was beautifully detailed. size ran small for my D cups-lol!
lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2013

Felt great in this dress all night.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for a family wedding. Got many compliments. The waist it a bit small, and the gold material is scratchy.
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
May 23, 2013

Perfect Dress for an Amazing Night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit extremely well. Initially concerned as many reviews stated how itchy it was but I had no problems. I received more compliments on that night than any other night in my life. I highly recommend this dress to anyone looking for a great fitting formal dress. Also, top was more gold than it appears in the image.
Minnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
May 27, 2013

Dress was so pretty!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfectly fit. Pretty and beautiful dress. Ran a bit long for 5-feet tall women. In general would recommend it, great for wedding, graduation and party!!
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Classy and festive

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Christmas party and a night at the Nutcracker and I loved it. It fit true to size. It was classy and conservative but the gold made it festive. Only negative was that it was a tiny bit itchy but I thought it was completely worth it.
RFS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Did not wear-returned dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty dress. Gold is shinier than expected. Runs a bit small. I usually wear a 4 petite and the 4 regular was pretty snug through the bottom half but a little too large on top. It also fell below my knee and felt a bit long. Also, the lace is very scratchy and really irritated my arms.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Loved the dress and got lots of compliments on it as well.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit well, but doesn't have any stretch in the material. Was a little difficulty getting in and out of.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Loved it! First dress I rented from RTR and was completely satisfied! Would order again it again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for my rehersal dinner and received numerous compliments! No give in the fabric so was a little tight accros the chest if taking a deep breath but other than that, it fit great!
Maggie H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

Beautiful lace detail, but a touch too small.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as a back up for a wedding - I loved the detail and colors, but it was juuuuust too small - couldn't zip it past my rib cage.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 5, 2013

Great dress - super comfy and perfect for a night out on the town!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I am usually a size 8 in dresses, but for some reason, Milly runs small for me so the 10 (back up) fit better.
Daisy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

This is one elegant and classy dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, very classy. Bust area is a little big but nothing that was noticeable to anyone else. Loved this dress!
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Finding the perfect black and gold dress for my college event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs true to size. Beautiful cut, and the buttons on the back of the dress leave a little room for bustier ladies.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

This was a perfect spring wedding dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little awkward in the chest area, but going with the next size up, fit perfectly.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 9, 2013

Very classy- wore it to my boyfriend's sister's wedding. I did not feel sexy, but I felt comfortabl

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits nicely. Got a lot of compliments on the dress.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful, but wore my other selection

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a truly solid back-up dress, but I didn't end up wearing it.
Hanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 24, 2013

Everyone loved the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It ran small the tightest portion is around the bottom set of ribs and it is very hard to zip. It was an amazing dress though.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Dress was a perfect fit! It was perfect for my best friends rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect. I have large breasts and it was a little tight at the top but most things are. The armpit area did get a little itchy by the end of the night but overall I loved the dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×