Such a Doll Dress

$89 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this sparkling bow back dress by Milly for a holiday cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- high neckline so larger busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt conceals hips and backside- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra due to low back; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sparkle matelasse. Crew neckline. Deep scoop back with bow detail. Full skirt with pleating. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
213 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(145)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 27, 2012
I asked the staff for a size recommendation and their advice was spot on.
This dress fit really well. I got a lot of compliments and everyone was asking where I got it. The fit says the back is low and it is, which is why I bought a nubra to wear with it, but I probably could have gotten away with a regular strapless bra. I have wide hips and I still had plenty of room in the dress without looking frumpy. Overall a great fit! I should mention that depending on the size I can usually wear an 8 or a 10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 31, 2012
Not for me
This dress was not flattering at all on me. Would not recommend for anyone with wide hips as it made me look much larger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 4, 2012
Cute dress
I wore this dress out for my friend's birthday to a fancy hotel. This dress was really great, but it was a bit ill-fitting/loose up top (would probably be better for someone who is a bit fuller up top). It was also longer than I had hoped- would have been great for a formal affair, but I was hoping it'd be a bit shorter for a fun night out. All in all, great quality and shine, and the flaws were nothing that some clothes-pins couldn't fix!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 5, 2012
Simple, sweet, and sparkle
I wore this dress with Kate Spade's Solarium Bib necklace and it was the perfect combo of black and color for a wedding rehearsal. The dress was surprisingly comfortable and the back is super cute! The slight undertone of sparkles show up well in pictures. Makes you feel pretty without being over-the-top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
I hosted an engagement party and looked like the perfect hostess without fading into the background.
You will need to wear a NuBra or no bra.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Like the shimmer dressed it up a little from the typical black dress.
It was good for a larger bust but the waist was a little awkward as I am only 5' tall. I think it would have been perfect if I were taller.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2012
Fun for a wedding!
The back of this dress is really cute! I received many compliments on it!
JenniferOctober 16, 2012
How short was it on you? I'm really tall also, and I want to make sure it's not too short, as I'm wearing it for a work event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 24, 2012
Awesome!!
fit SO great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 26, 2012
The perfect LBD!
I wore this to two shows during fashion week and it was perfect for the setting. Stylish enough to wear in the setting yet still simple and comfortable enough to go between shows. I'm usually a size 6, but this fit a bit larger on me. It wasn't a noticeable difference in size just enough for some wiggle room. The shimmer in the dress is not overpowering and helps give off a bit of personality from a standard black dress. Also, the back doesn't scoop down as far as the picture seems so you can still wear spanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 26, 2012
Friend's Wedding
I LOVED this dress. It was a litle big on me, so even though I rented a 0 it ran a little big. But I got a ton of compliments and the bow in the back is just SO cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2012
The secret hot pink lining!
I wore it for my best friends wedding rehearsal and I loved it. The dress was comfortable, the fit was great, and I got a lot of complaints.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2012
I loved the dress and got so many compliments.
It was true to size and really comfortable but looked great at the same time.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 3, 2012
Great dress, versatile for any season, classic but special
I loved the dress but you NEED a fun necklace with it. It's also tough to wear a bra given the cut in the back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 4, 2012
I didn't end up wearing the dress because I rented two, but it is adorable.
The dress is adorable, though with a little poof on the hips it can make you look a little wider. That said, the waist is slimming and it's short so your legs do show (proving that your not as wide as the poof may indicate). I didn't end up wearing the dress because I only needed one and rented two, but when I tried it on I thought it could get a little tight in the waist after a big dinner because there is no give/stretch in the fabric. The back of the dress is awesome and with nice shoes and jewelry it would look great.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
October 6, 2012
The dress was exactly what I wanted
I loved this dress but if you have long legs and a short torso you will have to pin the waist so the waist isn't to loose!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 9, 2012
It runs big, couldn't wear.
This dress looked fun but I ordered a 2 and it was inches too big. I normally wear a 2. Also, the pink slip underlayer showed and didn't lay well under the black. I'm sure it could have been cute--just couldn't wear! I do like the sheen/sparkle of the material. It's a fun version of a black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
The dress was beautiful. Perfect fit!
First the service was wonderful! They didn't have a size I needed and offered me two additional dresses! I had a very difficult time choosing. Loved the dress. Perfect for the wedding or practically any event. I ended up wearing simple jewelry because of the metallic threading woven through the material. And my pictures show two different shoes: black patent and suede nudes. I wore the nudes because it elongated my legs. Unless you have very long legs like the model in the picture, the dress is just a little over the knee. The back is low with a bow which was a nice contrast to the more modest front. Really loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2012
Smaller busts order a smaller size! Customer Service is GREAT though!
The dress is beautiful! However, I ordered the 4 and the 6 (since I normally wear can wear a 4) and both sizes were too big. I feel like this dress requires a larger bust which unfortunately I don't have. RTR customer service was fantastic and helped me to exchange the dress for another! I will definitely try renting this dress again when I have an occasion but will plan on getting the 2 and 0.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2012
I received so many compliments, very Audrey Hepburn- esque!
Very flattering on the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2012
I wore it for my birthday which is also valentines day! Perfect dress and my boyfriend loved it!
Material is shinier in person and it fits great. Space through the hips but not too big on the top. I am a 4 on top and I wore the 6 because of the hips. Overall great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2012
This dress made me feel so elegant, classy, and flirty!
It fit perfectly, short enough to be cute and fun, long enough to be elegant. I loved the high neck in the front and the medium to low back. It's SO comfortable and easy to move in. I wish I could buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 28, 2012
Dress was sent Thursday and arrived 2 days before the event. SO easy, great, and affordable!
I usually wear a size 4 dress and the 2 was a little big on me.. I would definitely recommend getting a smaller size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2012
Got so many compliments on the dress
I normally wouldn't get size 2, but based on the reviews I read I ordered a 2 and a 4 thinking I'd be more of a 4. The 4 was definitely way too big, and the 2 fit well. The waist runs big, it could have fit better around there. But overall the dress was beautiful, textured and sparkly. It came a few inches above my knee, and the back of the dress isn't as low as it looks - my regular bra didn't show. For a plain black dress it was very special and it made me feel very glamorous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2012
Pretty dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding in October. I wore the 2, and while it was very pretty, the dress I wore was stretched out by someone who had worn it before me. It was very pretty, but since it was stretched out, some of the seams were visible on the waist and back of the dress and the lining of the dress was no longer connected on the bottom. So since the lining was pink and the dress was black, it was a little obvious. So while it was very pretty, I unfortunately ended up with a dress that had been worn and stretched out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 30, 2012
na - did not wear it BUT the rental experience was very easy.
I loved the dress however, I have a strange body type as I am very petite but have a large bust. I had to get a larger size for my chest, but then the rest of the dress looked huge, but my chest looked so flat. This dress would look great on anyone with standard proportions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 2, 2012
Lovely little dress
Wore to a black tie optional wine opener party. Nice length for my height and occasion (about 2-3 inches above the knee). Wore with the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace, which worked really well, and did receive compliments on that. It's not a stunner, but it is a versatile, lovely, and comfortable dress. I am 5'3", 118-120 pounds, not curvy, and the 2 fit perfectly. I didn't have issues with the bra- I wore a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 6, 2012
i got so many compliments. The back is just low enough
Very comfortable fabric, dress felt new and clean, a little long but I'm pretty short
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
December 8, 2012
Perfect dress for a Christmas party!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Navy Christmas party and it worked out great. The style was appropriate and I loved the bow detail on the back and the way the material sparkled. The only downfall of this dress was that the top part was a little long. Being only 5'2, I have a shorter torso and this dress probably would've fit someone taller much better. Otherwise, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2012
Classy and elegant
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the occassion. It was flattering and very elegant. I love that RTR gives you two sizes. The package arrived on time. RTR is my secret weapon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 13, 2012
Adorable dress
I'm 5'9", 135 lbs, and ordered the 4 and the 6. The dress was true to size, and I could have worn either (there wasn't much of a difference in the shape), but I went with the 6 because it was slightly longer on my legs, and I was a little worried that if I bent over too much, the bow on the back would become unsnapped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 14, 2012
Lovely party dress
Runs a bit large. Simple front, but the gorgeous back makes the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Perfect dress for a holiday cocktail party!
I was able to squeeze into the size 2 but the 4 was much more comfortable and very flattering. My boyfriend loved it!!! I did have to wear a special, backless bra which wasn't a big deal because I already had it. Love it and would totally rent it again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 22, 2012
Cute and easy to wear!
This dress is easy with just enough sparkle to make it nice for a work Christmas dinner. I don't think this designer fits me well though as the ribs/waist fit just right, but there was too much room in the bust (I'm a 34B). I just kept it pulled down. The back was just low enough I could wear with a regular bra. The little bow in back is cute. The length was just right and the Surprise Bling necklace was great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Felt like pajamas but looked like the runway!
I absolutely am in love with this dress! It was so comfortable, sexy but not overstated, fun with a little bit of sparkle and a low back with a bow (but not so low that I couldn't wear my normal strapless bra). The only negative was that the hot pink satin lining showed sometimes, which didn't bother me in the situation I was in but might have if I was wearing it to a more formal affair. But it's fun! I wish I could keep it forever.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
January 1, 2013
Really enjoyed this dress!!
Fun dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Customer service was amazing
This dress runs very very large- normally a 2 or 4 and the 2 was even too big. Also had a problem where the lining was showing, which im not sure its suposed to. Besides from that a very cute and classy dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
cute dress
I think I was expecting it to be fantastic but was it just cute. The pink lining was coming out the bottom so I had to fold it up and pin it so it wouldnt show. While it was a cute dress, I wish I got another one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
January 3, 2013
Great dress for New Years, Day or Night
I rented this dress for new years eve but with a 5 month old we decided to take a drive up to Jekyll Island, enjoy the pool/hot tub/beach at the hotel and then celebrate New Years Day with a special brunch at the Jekyll Island Club. My husband and I are photographers so we also did a little impromptu photo sesh with my rental. The dress would have been perfect with my sky high studded heels for NYE but also worked well with my black and gold boots for a more casual/comfortable look. The dress has an adorable u back with bow detail. I loved the gold shimmer jacquard fabric. The lining is hot pink and silky but did show at the neckline and at the hem when positioned a certain way (sitting usually) but not a huge deal. Some of the metallic threads were fraying but not really noticeable unless you were inspecting the dress. Metallic threads tend to break easily so it is par for the course with the fabric really. I was told by a RTR rep that this brand ran generous but I found it to run true to size if not a tad small. A lady at the hotel complimented the look and it was comfortable enough to walk around the club grounds. This is a versatile dress I would love to have in my wardrobe!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2013
I wasn't able to wear it.
Too small in chest.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Great service!
I rented this dress for wedding. I have a smaller bust, so the sleeves fell off my arms a bit. Also, the dress had hot pink lining and the lining came out under the hem of the dress about a quarter inch so it definitely showed. I didn't notice this in any of the pictures posted so maybe it was just the dress I received. I ultimately decided to return it to RTR since I didn't like the way I looked. RTR was amazing and gave me a credit for another dress. I can't wait to try RTR out for another event! They have a wonderful customer service team and next time I will definitely use one of their stylists!
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×